ClinicalTrials.gg
CompletedNCT00021333Updated Apr 17, 2013

Paclitaxel and Cisplatin Plus Radiation Therapy Followed by Filgrastim in Treating Patients With Recurrent Head and Neck Cancer or Lung Cancer

A Phase 2 interventional study of filgrastim and cisplatin in Head and Neck Cancer and Lung Cancer, sponsored by Fox Chase Cancer Center. Completed at 18 sites in United States. Open to participants aged 18 Years and older. Per ClinicalTrials.gov, last updated 2013-04-17.

Sponsored by Fox Chase Cancer Center · Phase 2, Interventional, and Treatment

Phase
Phase 2
Study type
Interventional
Enrollment
29
Ages
18 Years and older
Sex
All
01

Study summary

RATIONALE: Drugs used in chemotherapy use different ways to stop tumor cells from dividing so they stop growing or die. Radiation therapy uses high-energy x-rays to damage tumor cells. Combining chemotherapy with radiation therapy may make tumor cells more sensitive to radiation therapy.

PURPOSE: Phase II trial to study the effectiveness of paclitaxel and cisplatin plus radiation therapy followed by filgrastim in treating patients who have recurrent head and neck cancer or lung cancer.

Read the detailed description

OBJECTIVES: I. Determine the response rate of patients with locally recurrent carcinoma of the head and neck or lung treated with paclitaxel and cisplatin with concurrent radiotherapy followed by filgrastim (G-CSF). II. Assess the toxicity of this regimen in these patients. III. Determine the time to progression and the sites and pattern of progression in patients treated with this regimen. IV. Determine the median, 1-year, and 2-year survival rates of patients treated with this regimen.

OUTLINE: This is a multicenter study. Patients are stratified according to disease (squamous cell carcinoma of the head and neck vs salivary gland malignancy or other non-squamous cell carcinoma of the head and neck vs lung cancer). Patients receive paclitaxel IV over 1 hour and cisplatin IV over 30-120 minutes on days 1-5. Patients undergo radiotherapy twice daily on days 1-5. Patients receive filgrastim (G-CSF) subcutaneously on days 6-13 or until blood counts recover. Treatment repeats every 2 weeks for a total of 4 courses in the absence of unacceptable toxicity or disease progression. Patients are followed every 2 months.

PROJECTED ACCRUAL: A total of 42-84 patients (14-28 per stratum) will be accrued for this study within 2-4 years.

02

Conditions studied

  • Head and Neck Cancer
  • Lung Cancer

Keywords

  • recurrent non-small cell lung cancer
  • recurrent small cell lung cancer
  • recurrent thyroid cancer
  • recurrent salivary gland cancer
  • recurrent squamous cell carcinoma of the lip and oral cavity
  • recurrent basal cell carcinoma of the lip
  • recurrent verrucous carcinoma of the oral cavity
  • recurrent mucoepidermoid carcinoma of the oral cavity
  • recurrent adenoid cystic carcinoma of the oral cavity
  • recurrent squamous cell carcinoma of the oropharynx
  • recurrent lymphoepithelioma of the oropharynx
  • recurrent squamous cell carcinoma of the nasopharynx
  • recurrent lymphoepithelioma of the nasopharynx
  • recurrent squamous cell carcinoma of the hypopharynx
  • recurrent squamous cell carcinoma of the larynx
  • recurrent verrucous carcinoma of the larynx
  • recurrent squamous cell carcinoma of the paranasal sinus and nasal cavity
  • recurrent inverted papilloma of the paranasal sinus and nasal cavity
  • recurrent midline lethal granuloma of the paranasal sinus and nasal cavity
  • recurrent esthesioneuroblastoma of the paranasal sinus and nasal cavity
03

In context

Head and Neck Neoplasms

2,403 studies on the registry are indexed under Head and Neck Neoplasms; 559 are open to participants now.

This study's enrollment of 29 is below the median of 47 across 1,791 interventional studies indexed under Head and Neck Neoplasms.

Browse Head and Neck Neoplasms studies →

Lead sponsor

Fox Chase Cancer Center is the lead sponsor of 215 studies on the registry; 30 are open to participants now.

Of its 16 completed or terminated interventional studies of FDA-regulated products, 9 (56%) have results posted.

Counted across the registry records on this site, refreshed daily.

04

Who can participate

Ages eligible
18 Years and older
Sexes eligible
All
Accepts healthy volunteers
No

Eligibility criteria

DISEASE CHARACTERISTICS: Diagnosis of 1 of the following: Previously irradiated, locally recurrent squamous cell carcinoma of the head and neck (SCCHN) or head and neck skin/appendages with no distant metastases New second or subsequent primary SCCHN in a previously irradiated field with no distant metastases Salivary gland malignancy or other non-squamous cell primary head and neck cancer Previously irradiated, locally recurrent carcinoma of the lung No clinical evidence of symptomatic bone or brain metastases requiring radiotherapy No leptomeningeal metastases requiring intrathecal therapy

PATIENT CHARACTERISTICS: Age: 18 and over Performance status: ECOG 0-2 Life expectancy: Not specified Hematopoietic: Absolute neutrophil count at least 1,500/mm3 Platelet count at least 100,000/mm3 Hepatic: Bilirubin no greater than 1.5 mg/dL SGOT no greater than 3 times upper limit of normal Renal: Creatinine no greater than 1.5 mg/dL OR Creatinine clearance at least 60 mL/min Cardiovascular: No active, uncontrolled congestive heart failure or arrhythmia within the past 6 months Other: No pre-existing neuropathy grade 2 or greater interfering with daily activities No prior allergy to drugs using Cremophor EL No hypersensitivity to E. coli-derived proteins No significant concurrent medical or psychiatric disorder that would preclude study No other condition that would preclude study Not pregnant or nursing Negative pregnancy test Fertile patients must use effective contraception during and for at least 3 months after study

PRIOR CONCURRENT THERAPY: Biologic therapy: Not specified Chemotherapy: At least 4 weeks since prior chemotherapy Endocrine therapy: Not specified Radiotherapy: See Disease Characteristics At least 3 months since prior radiotherapy Prior or concurrent cumulative radiotherapy dose to spinal cord no greater than 5,000 cGy Surgery: Not specified Other: Concurrent beta-blockers, digitalis derivatives, or calcium-channel blocking agents allowed if cardiac conditions are stable

05

Study design

Phase
Phase 2
Primary purpose
Treatment
Enrollment
29 participants (actual)

Interventions

06

Study locations

18 sites
  • Hunterdon Regional Cancer Center
    Flemington, New Jersey 08822, United States
  • Kimball Medical Center
    Lakewood, New Jersey 08701, United States
  • South Jersey Regional Cancer Center
    Millville, New Jersey 08332, United States
  • Fox Chase Cancer Center at Virtua Memorial Hospital Burlington County
    Mount Holly, New Jersey 08060, United States
  • Riverview Medical Center - Booker Cancer Center
    Red Bank, New Jersey 07701, United States
  • Community Medical Center
    Toms River, New Jersey 08755, United States
  • St. Francis Medical Center
    Trenton, New Jersey 08629, United States
  • Bon Secours-Holy Family Health System
    Altoona, Pennsylvania 16602, United States
  • Delaware County Memorial Hospital
    Drexel Hill, Pennsylvania 19026, United States
  • Pinnacle Health Hospitals
    Harrisburg, Pennsylvania 17105-8700, United States
  • Conemaugh Memorial Hospital
    Johnstown, Pennsylvania 15905, United States
  • Saint Mary Regional Center
    Langhorne, Pennsylvania 19047, United States
  • Central Montgomery Medical Center
    Lansdale, Pennsylvania 19446-1200, United States
  • Paoli Memorial Hospital
    Paoli, Pennsylvania 19301-1792, United States
  • Fox Chase Cancer Center
    Philadelphia, Pennsylvania 19111, United States
  • Pottstown Memorial Regional Cancer Center
    Pottstown, Pennsylvania 19464, United States
  • Reading Hospital and Medical Center
    Reading, Pennsylvania 19612-6052, United States
  • Southern Chester County Medical Center
    West Grove, Pennsylvania 19390, United States
07

Timeline

Tracking since Sep 25, 2026
Not marked actual or estimatedDates not marked actual or estimated

The record gives a start of Sep 1999, a primary completion of Apr 2006 and a completion of May 2008. It does not say whether these dates are actual or estimated.

How these figures are worked out, and which studies are left out of them.

Registered
Jul 11, 2001
First posted
Jan 14, 2004
Start
Sep 1999
Primary completionActual
Apr 2006
CompletionActual
May 2008
Last update
Apr 17, 2013
What these dates mean
Start.
When the first participant enrolled; while estimated, when the study expects to open to recruitment.
Primary completion.
When the last participant was examined or treated to collect data for the study's main question, its primary outcome. A study that stopped early gives the date its data collection stopped.
Completion.
When the last participant's last visit took place, for every outcome, secondary ones and side effects included: the end of the study. Often later than primary completion, sometimes the same day.
Actual and Est.
Actual means the registry says the date has happened. Est. (estimated) is a date the sponsor plans or expects. It can still move, and the sponsor is expected to change it to actual once it has passed.
No changes since tracking began. The registry record was last updated on Apr 17, 2013, before this site started recording changes on Sep 25, 2026. Its history is on ClinicalTrials.gov ↗
08

Registry details

Key details

Study ID
NCT00021333
First posted
Jan 14, 2004
Start date
Sep 1999
Primary completion
Apr 2006
Completion
May 2008
Last update
Apr 17, 2013

Study contacts

Corey J. Langer, MD
study chair · Fox Chase Cancer Center
View the source record on ClinicalTrials.gov ↗

Not currently enrolling

This study is completed, as verified in Apr 2013. You cannot join it, but the record below documents what was studied.

Follow this study

Get an email when the registry record changes — status, dates, results — or when someone posts here.

Sign in to follow

Discussion

Questions and observations about this study, from anyone following it. Not medical advice, and not a channel to the study team — their contact details are on the registry record.

Sign in to join the discussion. Reading takes no account; posting does. You choose a display name, and a pseudonym is the default.

Nothing here yet. If you are running this trial, taking part in it, or weighing whether to, this is the place to say so.

Studies of the drugs tested here: Filgrastim · Cisplatin · Paclitaxel

Start the discussion