CClinicalTrials.gg
CompletedNCT04616014Updated Mar 29, 2024Results posted

A Study of Oral Insulin to Reduce Liver Fat Content in Type 2 Diabetes Patients With Nonalcoholic Steatohepatitis (NASH)

A Phase 2 interventional study of ORMD-0801 QD in Nonalcoholic Steatohepatitis (NASH), sponsored by Oramed, Ltd.. Completed at 1 site in Belgium. Open to participants aged 18 Years to 70 Years. Per ClinicalTrials.gov, last updated 2024-03-29.

Sponsored by Oramed, Ltd. · Phase 2, Interventional, and Treatment

Phase
Phase 2
Study type
Interventional
Enrollment
7
Allocation
Not applicable
Ages
18 Years to 70 Years
Sex
All
01

Study summary

A Study to Assess the Safety and Potential of Oral Insulin to Reduce Liver Fat Content in Type 2 Diabetes Patients with Nonalcoholic Steatohepatitis (NASH)

Read the detailed description

An Open-Label Multi-Center Study to Assess the Safety and Potential of Oral Insulin to Reduce Liver Fat Content in Type 2 Diabetes Patients with Nonalcoholic Steatohepatitis (NASH)

02

Conditions studied

  • Nonalcoholic Steatohepatitis (NASH)
03

Who can participate

Ages eligible
18 Years to 70 Years
Sexes eligible
All
Accepts healthy volunteers
No

Inclusion criteria

  • Male or female aged 18-70 years.
  • BMI ≥25.
  • Known type 2 DM according to American Diabetic Association (one of the three needed): Fasting Plasma Glucose ≥126 mg/dl or 2h postprandial (PG) following 75g OGTT ≥200 mg/dl or HbA1c > 6.5%28 or on treatment with at least one and no more than three of the following oral anti-diabetic medications, metformin, sulfonylurea, DPP-4 inhibitors, oral GLP-1 receptor agonists (semaglutide), SGLT-2 inhibitor, or Thiazolidinediones (TZDs).
  • Diagnosis of NAFLD by non-invasive determination of hepatic steatosis grade S1, defined as hepatic steatosis>8%. by MRI- PDFF and CAP FibroScan ≥ 238 dB/m.
  • Liver enzyme abnormalities: ULN≤5 times.
  • Fibrosis score 21≤F≤3 as defined by FibroScan measurement (Liver stiffness measurement, LSM) of 6 ≤ LSM ≤ 12 kPa.
  • Signature of the written informed consent.
  • Negative urineserum pregnancy test at Screening study entry for women of childbearing potential (WCBP).
  • Females must have a negative urine pregnancy test result at screening, prior to the start of the run-in period, at initiation of active dosing and every 4 weeks till the end of the study. A negative urine and serum pregnancy test must be obtained prior to active dosing. Males and females of childbearing potential must use two methods of contraception, one of which must be a highly effective method from the time of screening to the last dosing study visit (22 weeks).

Highly effective methods include:

  • combined (estrogen and progestogen containing) hormonal contraception (oral, intravaginal or transdermal) associated with inhibition of ovulation
  • progestogen-only hormonal contraception (oral, injectable or implantable) associated with inhibition of ovulation
  • intrauterine device (IUD)
  • intrauterine hormone-releasing system (IUS)
  • bilateral tubal occlusion
  • vasectomised partner (is the sole sexual partner of the WOCBP participating in the trial)
  • sexual abstinence

Acceptable methods include:

Double barrier methods of contraception include male condoms plus spermicide, diaphragm with spermicide plus male condom, cervical cap with spermicide plus male condom. If a subject is not usually sexually active but becomes active, he or his partner should use medically accepted forms of contraception. Sperm donations will not be allowed for the duration of the study and for 90 days after the last dose of the study drug.

since last menstrual cycle with menopausal levels of FSH (FSH>40), b) who are surgically menopausal (surgical sterility defined by tubal occlusion, bilateral oophorectomy, bilaterally or hysterectomy).

Females of non-childbearing potential are defined as postmenopausal who a) had more than 24 months since last menstrual cycle with menopausal levels of FSH (FSH Level > 40), b) who are surgically menopausal (surgical sterility defined by tubal occlusion, bilateral oophorectomy, bilateral salpingectomy or hysterectomy).

  • For hypertensive patients, hypertension must be controlled by stable dose of anti-hypertensive medication for at least 2 months prior to screening (and the stable dose can be maintained throughout the study) with BP \< 150/\<95 mmHg
  • Patients previously treated with vitamin E (>400IU/day), Polyunsaturated fatty acid (>2g/day) or Ursodeoxycholic acid fish oil can be included if drugs are stopped at least 3 months prior to enrolment and up to the end of the study.

Exclusion criteria

Exclusion Criteria:

  • Patients with active (acute or chronic) liver disease other than NASH (e.g. viral hepatitis, genetic hemochromatosis, Wilson disease, alpha-1 antitrypsin deficiency, alcohol liver disease, drug induced liver disease) at the time of enrolment.
  • ALT or AST > 5 times ULN.
  • Abnormal synthetic liver function (serum albumin ≤3.5gm%, INR >1.3).
  • Known alcohol and/or any other drug abuse or dependence in the last five years.
  • Weight >120 Kg (264.6 lbs.).
  • Known history or presence of clinically significant, cardiovascular, gastrointestinal, metabolic (other than diabetes mellitus), neurologic, pulmonary, endocrine, psychiatric, neoplastic disorder or nephrotic syndrome.
  • History or presence of any disease or condition known to interfere with the absorption, distribution, metabolism or excretion of drugs including bile salt metabolites (e.g. inflammatory bowel disease (IBD), previous intestinal (ileal or colonic) operation, chronic pancreatitis, celiac disease or previous vagotomy.
  • Weight loss of more than 5% within 6 months prior to enrolment.
  • History of bariatric surgery.
  • Uncontrolled blood pressure BP ≥150/≥95.
  • Non-type 2 DM (type 1, endocrinopathy, genetic syndromes etc.).
  • Patients with HIV.
  • Daily alcohol intake >20 g/day (2 units/day) for women and >30 g/day (3 units/day) for men.
  • Treatment with anti-diabetic medications other than at least one and no more than three of the following: metformin, sulfonylurea, DPP-4 inhibitors, oral GLP-1 receptor agons metformin and more than two of the following medications sulfonylurea, DPP-4 inhibitors, oral GLP-1 receptor agonists (semaglutide), SGLT-2 inhibitors, or TZDs.
  • Fibrates and statins not provided on a stable dose in the last 6 months.
  • Patients who are treated with valproic acid, Tamoxifen, methotrexate, amiodarone.
  • Chronic treatment with antibiotics (e.g. Rifaximin).
  • Homeopathic and/or Alternative treatments. Any treatment must be stopped before the screening period.
  • Uncontrolled hypothyroidism defined as Thyroid Stimulating Hormone >2X the upper limit of normal (ULN). Thyroid dysfunction controlled for at least 6 months prior to screening is permitted.
  • Patients with renal dysfunction: eGFR\< 40 ml/min.
  • Unexplained serum creatinine phosphokinase (CPK) >3X the upper limit of normal (ULN). Patients with a reason for CPK elevation may have the measurement repeated prior to enrolment; a CPK retest > 3X ULN leads to exclusion.
  • Subjects meeting criteria for contraindication for MRI - including the following:

    • History of severe claustrophobia impacting ability to perform MRI during the study, even despite mild sedation/treatment with as anxiolytic.
    • Subjects with metal implants, devices, paramagnetic objects contained within the body and excessive or metal-containing tattoos.
    • Subjects unable to lie still within the environment of the MRI scanner or maintain a breath-hold for the required period to acquire images, even despite mild sedation/treatment with an anxiolytic.
  • Subject participated in a clinical research study involving a new chemical entity within 4 weeks of study entry.
  • Known allergy to soy.
04

Study design

Phase
Phase 2
Primary purpose
Treatment
Allocation
Not applicable
Intervention model
Single group
Masking
None (open label)
Enrollment
7 participants (actual)

Study arms

  • Experimental
    ORMD-0801 QD

    16 mg QD, daily, in the morning (two capsules of ORMD--801, 8 mg each

    Drug: ORMD-0801 QD

Interventions

  • DrugORMD-0801 QD

    16 mg, QD, two capsules, 8 mg each.

    Also known as: Oral Insulin

05

What researchers measure

Primary outcomes

  1. Number of Participants With Treatment-related Adverse Events.

    The safety of Oral Insulin will be measured by the number of treatment-related adverse events according to CTCAE version 5.0 A biostatistician reviewed the study data and determined that it is of poor quality and cannot be appropriately analyzed. Conclusions about this study cannot be made based on the study data.

    Time frame: Week -6 through Week 12 inclusive

Secondary outcomes

  1. Change From Screening in Liver Fat Content as Measured by MRI Proton Density Fat Fraction (MR PDFF)

    The change in liver fat content measured by MRI-Proton Density Fat Fraction from week -6 to week 12 MR PDFF is expressed as a fat percentage in the liver. Change in MR PDFF = MR PDFF (week 12) - MR PDFF( Screening) A biostatistician reviewed the study data and determined that it is of poor quality and cannot be appropriately analyzed. Conclusions about this study cannot be made based on the study data.

    Time frame: Week -6 (screening) and Week 12

  2. Change From Screening in Liver Fibrosis (Elasticity)

    Change from screening in Mean Transient Elasticity (Fibrosis) measured in kPA (kilo Pascal). A biostatistician reviewed the study data and determined that it is of poor quality and cannot be appropriately analyzed. Conclusions about this study cannot be made based on the study data.

    Time frame: Week -6 (Screening) and Week 12

  3. Change From Screening in Liver Steatosis

    Change in liver steatosis as measured by FibroScan Controlled Attenuation Parameter (CAP) in units of dB/meter. Mean fibrosis score (severity scale of liver fibrosis) measured at screening (week -6) and week 12. Fibrosis Score CAP measures the steatosis (fatty change) in the liver. The CAP score is measured in decibels per meter (dB/m). It ranges from 100 to 400 dB/m, with higher values indicating more fatty change. A biostatistician reviewed the study data and determined that it is of poor quality and cannot be properly analyzed. Conclusions about this study cannot be made based on the study data.

    Time frame: Week -6 and Week 12

06

Results

Posted Mar 29, 2024
Limitations and caveats
A biostatistician reviewed the study data and determined that it is of poor quality and cannot be appropriately analyzed. Conclusions about this study cannot be made based on the study data.

Participant flow

Patients were enrolled from three medical centers in Belgium. Patient Screening start: 05 January 2021 Last Patient Last Visit: 01 July 2022

Participant flow — Overall Study
MilestoneORMD-0801 QD
Started7
Completed7
Not completed0

Outcome measures

PrimaryNumber of Participants With Treatment-related Adverse Events.

The safety of Oral Insulin will be measured by the number of treatment-related adverse events according to CTCAE version 5.0 A biostatistician reviewed the study data and determined that it is of poor quality and cannot be appropriately analyzed. Conclusions about this study cannot be made based on the study data.

Time frame:
Week -6 through Week 12 inclusive
Reported as:
Count of participants · Participants
Number of Participants With Treatment-related Adverse Events.
ParticipantsORMD-0801 QD
Number of Participants With Treatment-related Adverse Events.3
SecondaryChange From Screening in Liver Fat Content as Measured by MRI Proton Density Fat Fraction (MR PDFF)

The change in liver fat content measured by MRI-Proton Density Fat Fraction from week -6 to week 12 MR PDFF is expressed as a fat percentage in the liver. Change in MR PDFF = MR PDFF (week 12) - MR PDFF( Screening) A biostatistician reviewed the study data and determined that it is of poor quality and cannot be appropriately analyzed. Conclusions about this study cannot be made based on the study data.

Time frame:
Week -6 (screening) and Week 12
Reported as:
Mean · percentage of fat
Change From Screening in Liver Fat Content as Measured by MRI Proton Density Fat Fraction (MR PDFF)
percentage of fatORMD-0801 QD
Mean Screening MR PDFF19.233 ± 7.956
Mean Week 12 MR PDFF19.560 ± 10.026
Change from Screening in MR PDFF0.3271 ± 9.0502
SecondaryChange From Screening in Liver Fibrosis (Elasticity)

Change from screening in Mean Transient Elasticity (Fibrosis) measured in kPA (kilo Pascal). A biostatistician reviewed the study data and determined that it is of poor quality and cannot be appropriately analyzed. Conclusions about this study cannot be made based on the study data.

Time frame:
Week -6 (Screening) and Week 12
Reported as:
Mean · kiloPascals (kPa)
Change From Screening in Liver Fibrosis (Elasticity)
kiloPascals (kPa)ORMD-0801 QD
Week -6 Fibroscan Elasticity7.714 ± 1.721
Week 12 Fibroscan Fibrosis (Elasticity)7.057 ± 1.651
Mean Change between week -6 and week 12 Fibroscan Fibrosis (Elasticity)-0.6571 ± 1.7696
SecondaryChange From Screening in Liver Steatosis

Change in liver steatosis as measured by FibroScan Controlled Attenuation Parameter (CAP) in units of dB/meter. Mean fibrosis score (severity scale of liver fibrosis) measured at screening (week -6) and week 12. Fibrosis Score CAP measures the steatosis (fatty change) in the liver. The CAP score is measured in decibels per meter (dB/m). It ranges from 100 to 400 dB/m, with higher values indicating more fatty change. A biostatistician reviewed the study data and determined that it is of poor quality and cannot be properly analyzed. Conclusions about this study cannot be made based on the study data.

Time frame:
Week -6 and Week 12
Reported as:
Mean · dB/M
Change From Screening in Liver Steatosis
dB/MORMD-0801 QD
Screening Fibroscan CAP (Steatosis)317.714 ± 38.604
Week 12 Fibroscan CAP (steatosis)328.429 ± 34.457
Change from Screening in Fibroscan CAP10.7129 ± 36.5896

Adverse events

Collected over Week -6 to Week 12 inclusive.. Non-serious events are listed at a 0% frequency threshold.

Adverse event summary by group
GroupDeathsSeriousOther
ORMD-0801 QD0/7 (0%)0/7 (0%)7/7 (100%)
Most frequent other events
Most frequent other events
EventORMD-0801 QD
DiarrhiaGastrointestinal disorders4/7
STEATORRHEAGastrointestinal disorders2/7
BronchitisGeneral disorders1/7
PruritusGeneral disorders1/7

Baseline characteristics

Age, Continuous
Age, Continuous(years)ORMD-0801 QD
Mean59.1428 ± 7.5372
Sex: Female, Male
Sex: Female, Male(Participants)ORMD-0801 QD
Female4
Male3
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)(Participants)ORMD-0801 QD
Hispanic or Latino0
Not Hispanic or Latino7
Unknown or Not Reported0
Race (NIH/OMB)
Race (NIH/OMB)(Participants)ORMD-0801 QD
American Indian or Alaska Native0
Asian0
Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander0
Black or African American0
White7
More than one race0
Unknown or Not Reported0
Fibrosis Score
Fibrosis Score(kPa)ORMD-0801 QD
Mean7.3428 ± 1.0014
07

Study locations

1 site
  • Universitaire Ziekenhuis Gent
    Gent, 9000, Belgium
08

References and documents

Publications

  • Ratziu V, Bellentani S, Cortez-Pinto H, Day C, Marchesini G. A position statement on NAFLD/NASH based on the EASL 2009 special conference. J Hepatol. 2010 Aug;53(2):372-84. doi: 10.1016/j.jhep.2010.04.008. Epub 2010 May 7. No abstract available. PubMed 20494470 ↗
  • Vernon G, Baranova A, Younossi ZM. Systematic review: the epidemiology and natural history of non-alcoholic fatty liver disease and non-alcoholic steatohepatitis in adults. Aliment Pharmacol Ther. 2011 Aug;34(3):274-85. doi: 10.1111/j.1365-2036.2011.04724.x. Epub 2011 May 30. PubMed 21623852 ↗
  • Campos GM, Bambha K, Vittinghoff E, Rabl C, Posselt AM, Ciovica R, Tiwari U, Ferrel L, Pabst M, Bass NM, Merriman RB. A clinical scoring system for predicting nonalcoholic steatohepatitis in morbidly obese patients. Hepatology. 2008 Jun;47(6):1916-23. doi: 10.1002/hep.22241. PubMed 18433022 ↗

Study documents

  • Protocol and statistical analysis plan · Mar 30, 2021

Documents are hosted by the registry — open the source record to download them.

Individual participant data

Plan to share: No

09

Registry details

Key details

Study ID
NCT04616014
Lead sponsor
Oramed, Ltd.
Responsible party
Sponsor
First posted
Nov 4, 2020
Start date
Mar 1, 2021
Primary completion
Jul 1, 2022
Completion
Sep 15, 2022
Results posted
Mar 29, 2024
Last update
Mar 29, 2024

Study contacts

Miriam Kidron, PhD
study chair · Oramed, Ltd.

Oversight

Data monitoring committee
No
FDA-regulated drug
Yes
FDA-regulated device
No
View the source record on ClinicalTrials.gov ↗

Not currently enrolling

This study is completed, as verified in Mar 2024. You cannot join it, but the record below documents what was studied.

Follow this study

Get an email when the registry record changes — status, dates, results — or when someone posts here.

Sign in to follow

Discussion

Questions and observations about this study, from anyone following it. Not medical advice, and not a channel to the study team — their contact details are on the registry record.

Sign in to join the discussion. Reading takes no account; posting does. You choose a display name, and a pseudonym is the default.

Nothing here yet. If you are running this trial, taking part in it, or weighing whether to, this is the place to say so.

Start the discussion