CClinicalTrials.gg
CompletedNCT03990649Updated Sep 14, 2026Results posted

Study of TAK-935 as an Adjunctive Therapy in Adult Participants With Complex Regional Pain Syndrome (CRPS)

A Phase 2 interventional study of Soticlestat and Placebo in Complex Regional Pain Syndrome, sponsored by Millennium Pharmaceuticals, Inc.. Completed at 3 sites in United Kingdom. Open to participants aged 18 Years to 75 Years. Per ClinicalTrials.gov, last updated 2026-09-14.

Sponsored by Millennium Pharmaceuticals, Inc. · Phase 2, Interventional, and Treatment

Phase
Phase 2
Study type
Interventional
Enrollment
24
Allocation
Randomized
Ages
18 Years to 75 Years
Sex
All
01

Study summary

The purpose of this study is to investigate the effect of soticlestat (TAK-935) on calculated 24-hour average pain intensity by the numeric pain scale (NPS).

Read the detailed description

The drug being tested in this study is called soticlestat (TAK-935). Soticlestat is being tested to treat people with chronic complex regional pain syndrome (CRPS). This study will look at the efficacy, safety, and tolerability of soticlestat as an adjunctive therapy in participants with CRPS.

The study will enroll approximately 24 patients. Participants will be randomly assigned (by chance, like flipping a coin) in 2:1 ratio to one of the two treatment groups-which will remain undisclosed to the patient and study doctor during the study (unless there is an urgent medical need):

Soticlestat 100 mg tablets, 100, 200 or 300 mg twice daily (BID) Placebo (dummy inactive pill) - this is a tablet that looks like the study drug but has no active ingredient

Participants will receive 100 mg soticlestat tablets or soticlestat matching placebo tablets, BID for Week 1, 2x100 mg soticlestat tablets or soticlestat matching placebo tablets, BID for Week 2 and followed by 3x100 mg soticlestat tablets or soticlestat matching placebo tablets, BID for Week 3. Dose will be uptitrated based on safety and tolerability in titration period. Participants will continue to receive the same dose in maintenance period. Dose adjustments during maintenance period may take place due to safety and tolerability.

Participants will then enter Part B (optional) or taper period. In Part B all participants will receive soticlestat 2x100 mg tablets, BID for 1 Week, followed by soticlestat 3x100 mg tablets, BID for 1 Week. Dose will be uptitrated/downtitrated based on safety and tolerability in titration period (Part B), participants will continue to receive the same dose in maintenance period (Part B) and followed by a taper period.

This multi-center trial will be conducted in United Kingdom. The overall time to participate in this study is approximately 36 weeks. Participants will make multiple visits to the clinic and will be contacted by telephone 15 days after last dose of study drug for a follow-up assessment.

02

Conditions studied

  • Complex Regional Pain Syndrome

Keywords

  • Drug Therapy
  • Soticlestat
  • TAk-935
03

Who can participate

Ages eligible
18 Years to 75 Years
Sexes eligible
All
Accepts healthy volunteers
No

Inclusion criteria

  1. Participant meets the Budapest clinical diagnosis of complex regional pain syndrome (CRPS) at the screening visit and is at least 6 months since onset of symptoms.
  2. Participant's pain medications and nondrug treatments must be stable (regimented per prescription) for 1 month prior to screening and remain stable throughout Part A.
  3. Participant agrees to use a single previously prescribed rescue medication within the prescribed dose during Part A of the study and to record the daily use of these medications.
  4. Participant must have an average 24-hour pain intensity score ≥4 and ≤9 on the 24-hour average pain intensity numeric pain scale (NPS) during screening/baseline. This score will be calculated by averaging the daily 24 hour pain intensity scores for the past seven days prior to randomization. The participant must have daily 24-hour pain intensity scores recorded for at least 6 of the past 7 days.

Exclusion criteria

Exclusion Criteria:

  1. Currently receiving intravenous (IV) or oral ketamine, history of IV or oral ketamine use within the past 6 weeks prior to screening, or planned use of IV or oral ketamine during this study.
  2. Participant is receiving chronic opioid treatment at a dose that has not been stable 28 days prior to screening.
  3. Participant is receiving chronic opioid treatment >160 mg of morphine equivalent per day.
  4. Participant has a positive drug screen for phencyclidine, amphetamine/ methamphetamine, or cocaine at screening. Cannabis is allowed..
  5. Participant is positive for hepatitis B or hepatitis C infection at screening. (Note that participants who have been vaccinated against hepatitis B [hepatitis B surface antibody {Ab}-positive] who are negative for other markers of prior hepatitis B infection [eg, negative for hepatitis B core Ab] are eligible. Also, note that participants who are positive for hepatitis C Ab are eligible if they have a negative hepatitis C viral load by quantitative polymerase chain reaction).
04

Study design

Phase
Phase 2
Primary purpose
Treatment
Allocation
Randomized
Intervention model
Parallel assignment
Masking
Quadruple (Participant, Care provider, Investigator, Outcomes assessor)
Enrollment
24 participants (actual)

Study arms

  • Placebo comparator
    Double-Blind Treatment Period - Part A: Placebo

    Soticlestat matching placebo tablets, orally, twice daily (BID) for Weeks 1, 2 and 3 in Double blind Titration Period. Soticlestat matching placebo tablets, orally BID for 12 weeks in Double blind Maintenance Period. Taper period (if participant did not continue to Part B): Dose of soticlestat matching placebo tablets was reduced to next lower dose every 3 days (maximum 6 days) until discontinuation.

    Drug: Placebo

  • Experimental
    Double-Blind Treatment Period - Part A: Soticlestat

    Soticlestat, tablet, orally, 100 mg BID for Week 1, followed by 2×100 mg tablets, soticlestat, orally BID for Week 2, further followed by 3×100 mg tablets, soticlestat, orally BID for Week 3. Dose was uptitrated every week based on safety and tolerability. Part A (Double blind Maintenance Period): 3×100 mg tablets, soticlestat, orally BID for 12 weeks. Dose was adjusted during Maintenance Period due to safety and tolerability. Taper Period (if participant did not continue to Part B): Dose of soticlestat was reduced to next lower dose every 3 days (maximum 6 days) until soticlestat was discontinued.

    Drug: Soticlestat

  • Experimental
    Open-Label Extension Period - Part B: Soticlestat

    Soticlestat, 2×100 mg tablets, orally, BID for Week 1, followed by 3×100 mg tablets, soticlestat, orally, BID for Week 2. Dose was uptitrated every week based on safety and tolerability. Part B (Open label extension: Maintenance Period): 3×100 mg tablets, soticlestat, orally, BID for 12 weeks. Dose was adjusted during Maintenance Period due to safety and tolerability. Taper Period: Dose of soticlestat was reduced to next lower dose every 3 days (maximum 6 days) until soticlestat was discontinued.

    Drug: Soticlestat

Interventions

  • DrugSoticlestat

    Soticlestat tablets

    Also known as: TAK-935

  • DrugPlacebo

    Soticlestat matching placebo tablets

05

What researchers measure

Primary outcomes

  1. Change From Baseline in Mean 24-Hour Pain Intensity as Assessed by NPS Score to the End of Part A

    The 24-hour average pain intensity was calculated from current pain intensity scores collected three times a day as measured by the electronic pain diary daily using NPS. NPS is an 11-point scale, where scores range from 0-10, 0= no pain to 10 = most pain imaginable. Negative change from Baseline indicated improvement.

    Time frame: Baseline and Week 15

Secondary outcomes

  1. Percent Change From Baseline in Mean 24-Hour Pain Intensity as Assessed by NPS Score to the End of Part A

    The 24-hour average pain intensity was calculated from current pain intensity scores collected three times a day as measured by the electronic pain diary daily using NPS. NPS is an 11-point scale, where scores range from 0-10, 0= no pain to 10 = most pain imaginable. Negative percent change from Baseline indicated improvement.

    Time frame: Baseline and Week 15

  2. Percentage of Participants Considered Responders at the End of Part A

    Response was defined as ≥ 30% improvement on the 24-hour pain intensity as assessed by the NPS score. The 24-hour average pain intensity was calculated from current pain intensity scores collected three times a day as measured by the electronic pain diary daily using NPS during Part A. NPS is an 11-point scale, where scores range from 0-10, 0= no pain to 10 = most pain imaginable.

    Time frame: Week 15

  3. Change From Baseline in Domain Score of PROMIS-29 Version 2.1 at the End of Part A

    PROMIS-29 (v2.1) is a health-related quality of life survey assessing 7 domains with 4 questions on a 5-point Likert scale. Total raw domain scores are converted into T-scores from a reference population: Depression: 1=never to 5=always, T-scores:41.0-79.4; Physical function: 1=unable to do to 5=without any difficulty, T-scores: 22.5-57.0; Anxiety: 1=never to 5=always, T-scores: 40.3-81.6; Pain interference: 1=not at all to 5=very much, T-scores: 41.6-75.6; Fatigue: 1=not at all to 5=very much, T-scores: 33.7-75.8; Sleep disturbance: 1=very much to 5=not at all, T-scores: 32.0-73.3; Ability to participate in social roles or activities: 1=always to 5=never, T-scores: 27.5-64.2. High scores signify more of domain being measured. Thus, on symptom-oriented domains, higher scores=worse symptomatology and a negative change from Baseline indicates improvement. On function-oriented domains, higher score=better functioning and a positive change from Baseline indicates improvement.

    Time frame: Baseline and Week 15

  4. Percent Change From Baseline in Domain Score of PROMIS-29 Version 2.1 at the End of Part A

    PROMIS-29 (v2.1) is a health-related quality of life survey assessing 7 domains with 4 questions on a 5-point Likert scale. Total raw domain scores are converted into T-scores from a reference population: Depression: 1=never to 5=always, T-scores:41.0-79.4; Physical function: 1=unable to do to 5=without any difficulty, T-scores: 22.5-57.0; Anxiety: 1=never to 5=always, T-scores: 40.3-81.6; Pain interference: 1=not at all to 5=very much, T-scores: 41.6-75.6; Fatigue: 1=not at all to 5=very much, T-scores: 33.7-75.8; Sleep disturbance: 1=very much to 5=not at all, T-scores: 32.0-73.3; Ability to participate in social roles or activities: 1=always to 5=never, T-scores: 27.5-64.2. High scores signify more of domain being measured. Thus, on symptom-oriented domains, higher scores=worse symptomatology and a negative change from Baseline indicates improvement. On function-oriented domains, higher score=better functioning and a positive change from Baseline indicates improvement.

    Time frame: Baseline and Week 15

  5. Percentage of Participants in Each Category of the Patient Global Impression of Change (PGIC) Scale at the End of Part A

    The PGIC is a 7-point Likert scale to address the following question: Since beginning treatment at this clinic would you describe any changes (if any) in activity, limitations, symptoms, emotions and overall quality of life related to your painful condition compared to before treatment? Participants select from scale range of 1-7: very much improved (1); much improved (2); minimally improved (3); no change (4); minimally worse (5); much worse (6); very much worse (7). Only categories with at least 1 participant were reported.

    Time frame: Week 15

  6. Change From Baseline in Complex Regional Pain Syndrome (CSS) at the End of Part A

    Signs and symptoms reflecting the sensory, vasomotor, sudomotor/edema, and motor/trophic disturbances of CRPS had been incorporated into a clinically feasible CSS. Total CSS is a 16-point score which was calculated by the number of "yes" answers to the questions on the 8 symptoms and 8 signs when all 16 questions were answered. Negative change from Baseline indicates improvement.

    Time frame: Baseline and Week 15

  7. Percent Change From Baseline in CSS at the End of Part A

    Signs and symptoms reflecting the sensory, vasomotor, sudomotor/edema, and motor/trophic disturbances of CRPS had been incorporated into a clinically feasible CSS. Total CSS is a 16-point score which was calculated by the number of "yes" answers to the questions on the 8 symptoms and 8 signs when all 16 questions were answered. Negative percent change from Baseline indicates improvement.

    Time frame: Baseline and Week 15

06

Results

Posted Jul 15, 2021

Participant flow

Participants took part in the study at three investigative sites in United Kingdom (UK) from 23 July 2019 to 28 October 2020.

Part A: DB Treatment Period (15 Weeks)
Participant flow — Part A: DB Treatment Period (15 Weeks)
MilestoneDouble-Blind Treatment Period - Part A: PlaceboDouble-Blind Treatment Period - Part A: SoticlestatOpen-Label Extension Period - Part B: Soticlestat
Started9150
Completed6120
Not completed330
Withdrew: Adverse event010
Withdrew: Lost to follow-up010
Withdrew: Withdrawal by subject200
Withdrew: Reason not specified110
Part B: OL Extension Period (14 Weeks)
Participant flow — Part B: OL Extension Period (14 Weeks)
MilestoneDouble-Blind Treatment Period - Part A: PlaceboDouble-Blind Treatment Period - Part A: SoticlestatOpen-Label Extension Period - Part B: Soticlestat
Started0018
Completed0014
Not completed004
Withdrew: Adverse event001
Withdrew: Withdrawal by subject002
Withdrew: Reason not specified001

Outcome measures

PrimaryChange From Baseline in Mean 24-Hour Pain Intensity as Assessed by NPS Score to the End of Part A

The 24-hour average pain intensity was calculated from current pain intensity scores collected three times a day as measured by the electronic pain diary daily using NPS. NPS is an 11-point scale, where scores range from 0-10, 0= no pain to 10 = most pain imaginable. Negative change from Baseline indicated improvement.

Time frame:
Baseline and Week 15
Reported as:
Mean · scores on scale
Change From Baseline in Mean 24-Hour Pain Intensity as Assessed by NPS Score to the End of Part A
scores on scaleDouble-Blind Treatment Period - Part A: PlaceboDouble-Blind Treatment Period - Part A: Soticlestat
Change From Baseline in Mean 24-Hour Pain Intensity as Assessed by NPS Score to the End of Part A-0.74 ± 1.614-1.05 ± 1.310
SecondaryPercent Change From Baseline in Mean 24-Hour Pain Intensity as Assessed by NPS Score to the End of Part A

The 24-hour average pain intensity was calculated from current pain intensity scores collected three times a day as measured by the electronic pain diary daily using NPS. NPS is an 11-point scale, where scores range from 0-10, 0= no pain to 10 = most pain imaginable. Negative percent change from Baseline indicated improvement.

Time frame:
Baseline and Week 15
Reported as:
Mean · percent change
Percent Change From Baseline in Mean 24-Hour Pain Intensity as Assessed by NPS Score to the End of Part A
percent changeDouble-Blind Treatment Period - Part A: PlaceboDouble-Blind Treatment Period - Part A: Soticlestat
Percent Change From Baseline in Mean 24-Hour Pain Intensity as Assessed by NPS Score to the End of Part A-12.20 ± 29.108-18.35 ± 23.699
SecondaryPercentage of Participants Considered Responders at the End of Part A

Response was defined as ≥ 30% improvement on the 24-hour pain intensity as assessed by the NPS score. The 24-hour average pain intensity was calculated from current pain intensity scores collected three times a day as measured by the electronic pain diary daily using NPS during Part A. NPS is an 11-point scale, where scores range from 0-10, 0= no pain to 10 = most pain imaginable.

Time frame:
Week 15
Reported as:
Number · percentage of participants
Percentage of Participants Considered Responders at the End of Part A
percentage of participantsDouble-Blind Treatment Period - Part A: PlaceboDouble-Blind Treatment Period - Part A: Soticlestat
Percentage of Participants Considered Responders at the End of Part A22.226.7
SecondaryChange From Baseline in Domain Score of PROMIS-29 Version 2.1 at the End of Part A

PROMIS-29 (v2.1) is a health-related quality of life survey assessing 7 domains with 4 questions on a 5-point Likert scale. Total raw domain scores are converted into T-scores from a reference population: Depression: 1=never to 5=always, T-scores:41.0-79.4; Physical function: 1=unable to do to 5=without any difficulty, T-scores: 22.5-57.0; Anxiety: 1=never to 5=always, T-scores: 40.3-81.6; Pain interference: 1=not at all to 5=very much, T-scores: 41.6-75.6; Fatigue: 1=not at all to 5=very much, T-scores: 33.7-75.8; Sleep disturbance: 1=very much to 5=not at all, T-scores: 32.0-73.3; Ability to participate in social roles or activities: 1=always to 5=never, T-scores: 27.5-64.2. High scores signify more of domain being measured. Thus, on symptom-oriented domains, higher scores=worse symptomatology and a negative change from Baseline indicates improvement. On function-oriented domains, higher score=better functioning and a positive change from Baseline indicates improvement.

Time frame:
Baseline and Week 15
Reported as:
Mean · t-score
Change From Baseline in Domain Score of PROMIS-29 Version 2.1 at the End of Part A
t-scoreDouble-Blind Treatment Period - Part A: PlaceboDouble-Blind Treatment Period - Part A: Soticlestat
Physical Function1.53 ± 2.2072.39 ± 4.042
Anxiety3.29 ± 10.348-1.99 ± 9.567
Depression1.15 ± 10.011-0.78 ± 6.902
Fatigue0.45 ± 12.126-3.66 ± 10.456
Sleep Disturbance2.13 ± 5.1102.55 ± 1.927
Ability to Participate in Social Roles1.66 ± 6.0512.74 ± 5.147
Pain Interference-1.53 ± 6.257-0.38 ± 7.597
SecondaryPercent Change From Baseline in Domain Score of PROMIS-29 Version 2.1 at the End of Part A

PROMIS-29 (v2.1) is a health-related quality of life survey assessing 7 domains with 4 questions on a 5-point Likert scale. Total raw domain scores are converted into T-scores from a reference population: Depression: 1=never to 5=always, T-scores:41.0-79.4; Physical function: 1=unable to do to 5=without any difficulty, T-scores: 22.5-57.0; Anxiety: 1=never to 5=always, T-scores: 40.3-81.6; Pain interference: 1=not at all to 5=very much, T-scores: 41.6-75.6; Fatigue: 1=not at all to 5=very much, T-scores: 33.7-75.8; Sleep disturbance: 1=very much to 5=not at all, T-scores: 32.0-73.3; Ability to participate in social roles or activities: 1=always to 5=never, T-scores: 27.5-64.2. High scores signify more of domain being measured. Thus, on symptom-oriented domains, higher scores=worse symptomatology and a negative change from Baseline indicates improvement. On function-oriented domains, higher score=better functioning and a positive change from Baseline indicates improvement.

Time frame:
Baseline and Week 15
Reported as:
Mean · percent change
Percent Change From Baseline in Domain Score of PROMIS-29 Version 2.1 at the End of Part A
percent changeDouble-Blind Treatment Period - Part A: PlaceboDouble-Blind Treatment Period - Part A: Soticlestat
Physical Function4.27 ± 6.1978.00 ± 14.106
Anxiety9.35 ± 24.153-2.43 ± 16.584
Depression4.51 ± 21.8640.04 ± 13.494
Fatigue2.42 ± 22.902-4.62 ± 16.045
Sleep Disturbance4.46 ± 9.6114.75 ± 3.600
Ability to Participate in Social Roles4.39 ± 15.1957.42 ± 13.796
Pain Interference-1.88 ± 9.1490.82 ± 15.571
SecondaryPercentage of Participants in Each Category of the Patient Global Impression of Change (PGIC) Scale at the End of Part A

The PGIC is a 7-point Likert scale to address the following question: Since beginning treatment at this clinic would you describe any changes (if any) in activity, limitations, symptoms, emotions and overall quality of life related to your painful condition compared to before treatment? Participants select from scale range of 1-7: very much improved (1); much improved (2); minimally improved (3); no change (4); minimally worse (5); much worse (6); very much worse (7). Only categories with at least 1 participant were reported.

Time frame:
Week 15
Reported as:
Number · percentage of participants
Percentage of Participants in Each Category of the Patient Global Impression of Change (PGIC) Scale at the End of Part A
percentage of participantsDouble-Blind Treatment Period - Part A: PlaceboDouble-Blind Treatment Period - Part A: Soticlestat
Much Improved33.333.3
Minimally Improved11.113.3
No Change22.233.3
Minimally Worse11.10
Missing22.220.0
SecondaryChange From Baseline in Complex Regional Pain Syndrome (CSS) at the End of Part A

Signs and symptoms reflecting the sensory, vasomotor, sudomotor/edema, and motor/trophic disturbances of CRPS had been incorporated into a clinically feasible CSS. Total CSS is a 16-point score which was calculated by the number of "yes" answers to the questions on the 8 symptoms and 8 signs when all 16 questions were answered. Negative change from Baseline indicates improvement.

Time frame:
Baseline and Week 15
Reported as:
Mean · scores on scale
Change From Baseline in Complex Regional Pain Syndrome (CSS) at the End of Part A
scores on scaleDouble-Blind Treatment Period - Part A: PlaceboDouble-Blind Treatment Period - Part A: Soticlestat
Change From Baseline in Complex Regional Pain Syndrome (CSS) at the End of Part A-2.2 ± 2.48-3.1 ± 3.12
Statistical analysis
  • Double-Blind Treatment Period - Part A: Placebo vs Double-Blind Treatment Period - Part A: Soticlestat · t-test, 2 sided · p = 0.540 (The p-values were estimated using a two-sample t-test.)
SecondaryPercent Change From Baseline in CSS at the End of Part A

Signs and symptoms reflecting the sensory, vasomotor, sudomotor/edema, and motor/trophic disturbances of CRPS had been incorporated into a clinically feasible CSS. Total CSS is a 16-point score which was calculated by the number of "yes" answers to the questions on the 8 symptoms and 8 signs when all 16 questions were answered. Negative percent change from Baseline indicates improvement.

Time frame:
Baseline and Week 15
Reported as:
Mean · percent change
Percent Change From Baseline in CSS at the End of Part A
percent changeDouble-Blind Treatment Period - Part A: PlaceboDouble-Blind Treatment Period - Part A: Soticlestat
Percent Change From Baseline in CSS at the End of Part A-16.1 ± 18.89-23.8 ± 26.29

Adverse events

Collected over From signing of the informed consent up to 15 days after last dose of the study drug (Up to approximately Week 32). Non-serious events are listed at a 5% frequency threshold.

Adverse event summary by group
GroupDeathsSeriousOther
Double-Blind Treatment Period - Part A: Placebo0/9 (0%)0/9 (0%)9/9 (100%)
Double-Blind Treatment Period - Part A: Soticlestat0/15 (0%)3/15 (20%)12/15 (80%)
Open-Label Extension Period - Part B: Soticlestat0/18 (0%)0/18 (0%)10/18 (55.6%)
Most frequent serious events
Most frequent serious events
EventDouble-Blind Treatment Period - Part A: PlaceboDouble-Blind Treatment Period - Part A: SoticlestatOpen-Label Extension Period - Part B: Soticlestat
Abdominal painGastrointestinal disorders0/92/150/18
CholecystitisHepatobiliary disorders0/91/150/18
Most frequent other events
Showing 10 of 26
Most frequent other events
EventDouble-Blind Treatment Period - Part A: PlaceboDouble-Blind Treatment Period - Part A: SoticlestatOpen-Label Extension Period - Part B: Soticlestat
HeadacheNervous system disorders4/92/155/18
CoughRespiratory, thoracic and mediastinal disorders3/91/151/18
DizzinessNervous system disorders2/94/150/18
NasopharyngitisInfections and infestations2/91/151/18
Depressed moodPsychiatric disorders2/90/151/18
NauseaGastrointestinal disorders1/93/151/18
ConstipationGastrointestinal disorders1/92/151/18
Dry mouthGastrointestinal disorders0/92/150/18
FatigueGeneral disorders0/92/150/18
Influenza like illnessGeneral disorders0/92/150/18

Baseline characteristics

Safety Analysis Set for Part A included all participants who received at least 1 dose of study drug.

Age, Continuous
Age, Continuous(years)Double-Blind Treatment Period - Part A: PlaceboDouble-Blind Treatment Period - Part A: SoticlestatTotal
Mean39.0 ± 13.5142.1 ± 10.2741.0 ± 11.40
Sex: Female, Male
Sex: Female, Male(Participants)Double-Blind Treatment Period - Part A: PlaceboDouble-Blind Treatment Period - Part A: SoticlestatTotal
Female61117
Male347
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)(Participants)Double-Blind Treatment Period - Part A: PlaceboDouble-Blind Treatment Period - Part A: SoticlestatTotal
Hispanic or Latino000
Not Hispanic or Latino71421
Unknown or Not Reported213
Race (NIH/OMB)
Race (NIH/OMB)(Participants)Double-Blind Treatment Period - Part A: PlaceboDouble-Blind Treatment Period - Part A: SoticlestatTotal
American Indian or Alaska Native000
Asian000
Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander000
Black or African American000
White91524
More than one race000
Unknown or Not Reported000
Region of Enrollment
Region of Enrollment(Participants)Double-Blind Treatment Period - Part A: PlaceboDouble-Blind Treatment Period - Part A: SoticlestatTotal
United Kingdom91524
Numeric Pain Scale (NPS) Score
Numeric Pain Scale (NPS) Score(scores on a scale)Double-Blind Treatment Period - Part A: PlaceboDouble-Blind Treatment Period - Part A: SoticlestatTotal
Mean6.33 (4.9 to 7.8)6.33 (4.5 to 7.6)6.33 (4.5 to 7.8)
Patient-Reported Outcomes Measurement Information System (PROMIS-29) Version 2.1 Domain Score
Patient-Reported Outcomes Measurement Information System (PROMIS-29) Version 2.1 Domain Score(t-score)Double-Blind Treatment Period - Part A: PlaceboDouble-Blind Treatment Period - Part A: SoticlestatTotal
Physical Function35.83 ± 5.60734.65 ± 4.74335.09 ± 4.998
Anxiety46.30 ± 11.90651.94 ± 8.87349.83 ± 10.248
Depression47.31 ± 12.52347.27 ± 8.86847.28 ± 10.120
Fatigue57.17 ± 8.42760.55 ± 8.28059.28 ± 8.321
Sleep Disturbance54.63 ± 3.85454.99 ± 2.39054.86 ± 2.945
Ability to Participate in Social Roles and Activities40.03 ± 6.20539.11 ± 4.72339.45 ± 5.213
Pain Interference66.37 ± 6.71064.22 ± 8.03965.03 ± 7.492
CRPS Severity Score (CSS) Total Score
CRPS Severity Score (CSS) Total Score(scores on a scale)Double-Blind Treatment Period - Part A: PlaceboDouble-Blind Treatment Period - Part A: SoticlestatTotal
Mean12.7 ± 1.7312.9 ± 1.8712.8 ± 1.79
07

Study locations

3 sites
  • St Pancras Clinical Research
    London, England WC1X 8QD, United Kingdom
  • Lancashire Teaching Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust
    Preston, England PR2 9HT, United Kingdom
  • University Hospital Southampton NHS Foundation Trust
    Southampton, England SO16 6YD, United Kingdom
08

References and documents

Publications

  • Ratcliffe S, Arkilo D, Asgharnejad M, Bhattacharya S, Harden RN. Randomized controlled study to evaluate the efficacy and safety of soticlestat as adjunctive therapy in adults with complex regional pain syndrome. Pain Med. 2023 Jul 5;24(7):872-880. doi: 10.1093/pm/pnac198. PubMed 36538782 ↗

Study documents

  • Study protocol · Dec 16, 2019
  • Statistical analysis plan · Feb 10, 2021

Documents are hosted by the registry — open the source record to download them.

Individual participant data

Plan to share: Yes — Takeda provides access to the de-identified individual participant data (IPD) for eligible studies to aid qualified researchers in addressing legitimate scientific objectives (Takeda's data sharing commitment is available on https://clinicaltrials.takeda.com/takedas-commitment?commitment=5). These IPDs will be provided in a secure research environment following approval of a data sharing request, and under the terms of a data sharing agreement.

Supporting information: Study protocol, Sap, Icf, Csr

09

Registry details

Key details

Study ID
NCT03990649
Lead sponsor
Millennium Pharmaceuticals, Inc.
Responsible party
Sponsor
First posted
Jun 19, 2019
Start date
Jul 23, 2019
Primary completion
Jun 29, 2020
Completion
Oct 28, 2020
Results posted
Jul 15, 2021
Last update
Sep 14, 2026

Study contacts

Study Director
study director · Takeda (Note: This product was divested to Mistrau Bio, Inc. in 2026)

Oversight

Data monitoring committee
No
FDA-regulated drug
Yes
FDA-regulated device
No
View the source record on ClinicalTrials.gov ↗

Not currently enrolling

This study is completed, as verified in Aug 2026. You cannot join it, but the record below documents what was studied.

Follow this study

Get an email when the registry record changes — status, dates, results — or when someone posts here.

Sign in to follow

Discussion

Questions and observations about this study, from anyone following it. Not medical advice, and not a channel to the study team — their contact details are on the registry record.

Sign in to join the discussion. Reading takes no account; posting does. You choose a display name, and a pseudonym is the default.

Nothing here yet. If you are running this trial, taking part in it, or weighing whether to, this is the place to say so.

Start the discussion