A Phase 1 interventional study of TAK-580 and TAK-202 in Melanoma, sponsored by Millennium Pharmaceuticals, Inc.. Terminated at 14 sites in United States. Open to participants aged 18 Years and older. Per ClinicalTrials.gov, last updated 2024-03-05.
Sponsored by Millennium Pharmaceuticals, Inc. · Phase 1, Interventional, and Other
The purpose of this study is to determine the initial safety profile and initial antitumor activity of the combination treatments (immune checkpoint inhibitors [nivolumab, ipilimumab] with investigational drugs [TAK-580, TAK-202 (plozalizumab), vedolizumab]) in the 3 arms when administered to participants with advanced melanoma.
The drugs being tested in this study are called TAK-580, TAK-202 (plozalizumab), and vedolizumab. These investigational drugs were given along with standard of care checkpoint inhibitors ([nivolumab in Arms 1 and 2] or nivolumab + ipilimumab in Arm 3). This study looked at the safety profile of the combination treatments in each arm when administered to participants with metastatic melanoma.
The study planned to enroll approximately 156 participants. Participants were assigned to one of the 3 treatment groups:
This study consists of 3 parts. A dose-escalation safety lead-in phase, confirmatory safety phase and a cohort expansion phase. This multi-center trial will be conducted in the United States. The overall time to participate in this study is 50 weeks. Participants may make multiple visits to the clinic and 30, 60, and 90 days after last dose of study drug for follow-up assessments.
Additional Inclusion Requirements for TAK-580 + nivolumab
a) BRAF V600 mutation-positive or NRAS mutation-positive disease previously untreated with RAF, MEK, or other inhibitors of the mitogen-activated protein kinase (MAPK) pathway. Participants who have progressed on these agents can still be enrolled in TAK-202 (plozalizumab) + nivolumab or vedolizumab + nivolumab + ipilimumab.
Exclusion Criteria:
Additional Exclusion Requirements for arm 1 only (nivolumab Plus TAK-580)
Additional Exclusion Requirements for arm 3 only (vedolizumab Plus nivolumab Plus ipilimumab)
TAK-580 orally, once weekly along with nivolumab, intravenous, every 2 weeks.
Drug: TAK-580 · Drug: nivolumab
TAK-202 (plozalizumab) 2 milligram (mg), intravenous, once in Week 1, 3, 5, 9, and every 4 weeks thereafter with nivolumab infusion, intravenous, every 2 weeks.
Drug: TAK-202 · Drug: nivolumab
Vedolizumab intravenous, once in Week 1, 3, 5, and 13 along with nivolumab infusion, intravenous, once in Week 1, 4, 7, 10, and 13 and every 2 weeks thereafter, along with ipilimumab intravenous, once in Week 1, 4, 7, and 10.
Drug: vedolizumab · Drug: nivolumab · Drug: ipilimumab
TAK-580 tablets
Also known as: MLN2480
TAK-202 infusion
Also known as: MLN1202, plozalizumab
vedolizumab infusion
Also known as: Entyvio
nivolumab infusion
Also known as: Opdivo
ipilimumab infusion
Also known as: Yervoy
Number of Dose Limiting Toxicities (DLTs) During the Dose-escalation Safety Lead-in Phase
DLTs was evaluated according to the National Cancer Institute Common Terminology Criteria for Adverse Events (NCI CTCAE) version 4.03.
Time frame: TAK-580 + Nivolumab and TAK-202 + Nivolumab: Baseline up to Week 9; Vedolizumab + Nivolumab + Ipilimumab: Baseline up to Week 7
Overall Response Rate (ORR) During the Dose-escalation Safety Lead-in Phase
ORR based on Response Evaluation Criteria in Solid Tumors (RECIST) version 1.1. was the percentage of participants with complete response (CR) or partial response (PR). CR: was disappearance of all target lesions. Any pathological lymph nodes (target or non-target) had to be reduced in short axis to less than (\<) 10 millimeter (mm). PR: was at least a 30 percent (%) decrease in sum of diameter (SOD) of target lesions, taking as reference the baseline SOD.
Time frame: Baseline up to Week 50
Duration of Response (DOR) During the Dose-escalation Safety Lead-in Phase
DOR based on RECIST version 1.1 was the time from the date of first documented confirmed CR/PR until the first documentation of confirmed progressive disease (PD) or death, whichever occurred first. CR: was disappearance of all target lesions. Any pathological lymph nodes (target or non-target) had to be reduced in short axis to \<10 mm. PR: at least 30% decrease in SOD of target lesions, taking as reference the baseline SOD persistence of one or more non- target lesions and/or maintenance of tumor marker level above the normal limits. PD: at least 20% increase (including an absolute increase of at least 5 mm) in the SOD of target lesions, taking as reference the smallest sum and/or unequivocal progression of existing non-target lesions and/or appearance of 1 or more new lesions.
Time frame: From date of first documented confirmed CR/PR until date of first documentation of PD or death (up to Week 50)
Progression-free Survival (PFS) During the Dose-escalation Safety Lead-in Phase
PFS was the time from first dose date to date of the first documentation of confirmed PD or death, whichever occurred first. PD: at least 20% increase (including an absolute increase of at least 5 mm) in the SOD of target lesions.
Time frame: From first dose date to the date of the first documentation of confirmed PD or death (up to Week 50)
Overall Survival (OS) During the Dose-escalation Safety Lead-in Phase
OS was the time from date of first dose of study drug until date of death from any cause.
Time frame: From first dose of study drug until date of death from any cause (up to Week 50)
Number of Participants Reporting Treatment-emergent Adverse Events (TEAEs) and Serious Adverse Events (SAEs)
Time frame: From the first dose of study drug up to 30 days after the last dose of study drug (up to Week 50)
Participants took part in the study at 10 investigative sites in the United States from 22 June 2016 to 11 May 2018.
| Milestone | Arm 1: TAK-580 + Nivolumab | Arm 2: TAK-202 + Nivolumab | Arm 3: Vedolizumab + Ipilimumab + Nivolumab |
|---|---|---|---|
| Started | 1 | 9 | 12 |
| Completed | 0 | 2 | 5 |
| Not completed | 1 | 7 | 7 |
| Withdrew: Withdrawal by subject | 0 | 1 | 1 |
| Withdrew: Study terminated by sponsor | 1 | 6 | 6 |
DLTs was evaluated according to the National Cancer Institute Common Terminology Criteria for Adverse Events (NCI CTCAE) version 4.03.
| DLTs | Arm 1: TAK-580 + Nivolumab | Arm 2: TAK-202 + Nivolumab | Arm 3: Vedolizumab + Ipilimumab + Nivolumab |
|---|---|---|---|
| Number of Dose Limiting Toxicities (DLTs) During the Dose-escalation Safety Lead-in Phase | 0 | 3 | 0 |
ORR based on Response Evaluation Criteria in Solid Tumors (RECIST) version 1.1. was the percentage of participants with complete response (CR) or partial response (PR). CR: was disappearance of all target lesions. Any pathological lymph nodes (target or non-target) had to be reduced in short axis to less than (\<) 10 millimeter (mm). PR: was at least a 30 percent (%) decrease in sum of diameter (SOD) of target lesions, taking as reference the baseline SOD.
No measurements were reported for this outcome.
DOR based on RECIST version 1.1 was the time from the date of first documented confirmed CR/PR until the first documentation of confirmed progressive disease (PD) or death, whichever occurred first. CR: was disappearance of all target lesions. Any pathological lymph nodes (target or non-target) had to be reduced in short axis to \<10 mm. PR: at least 30% decrease in SOD of target lesions, taking as reference the baseline SOD persistence of one or more non- target lesions and/or maintenance of tumor marker level above the normal limits. PD: at least 20% increase (including an absolute increase of at least 5 mm) in the SOD of target lesions, taking as reference the smallest sum and/or unequivocal progression of existing non-target lesions and/or appearance of 1 or more new lesions.
No measurements were reported for this outcome.
PFS was the time from first dose date to date of the first documentation of confirmed PD or death, whichever occurred first. PD: at least 20% increase (including an absolute increase of at least 5 mm) in the SOD of target lesions.
No measurements were reported for this outcome.
OS was the time from date of first dose of study drug until date of death from any cause.
No measurements were reported for this outcome.
| participants | Arm 1: TAK-580 + Nivolumab | Arm 2: TAK-202 + Nivolumab | Arm 3: Vedolizumab + Ipilimumab + Nivolumab |
|---|---|---|---|
| TEAEs | 1 | 9 | 12 |
| SAEs | 1 | 2 | 7 |
Collected over Treatment-emergent adverse events are adverse events that started after the first dose of study drug and no more than 30 days (up to Week 50) after the last dose of study drug. Non-serious events are listed at a 5% frequency threshold.
| Group | Deaths | Serious | Other |
|---|---|---|---|
| Arm 1: TAK-580 + Nivolumab | 0/1 (0%) | 1/1 (100%) | 1/1 (100%) |
| Arm 2: TAK-202 + Nivolumab | 0/9 (0%) | 2/9 (22.2%) | 9/9 (100%) |
| Arm 3: Vedolizumab + Ipilimumab + Nivolumab | 2/12 (16.7%) | 7/12 (58.3%) | 12/12 (100%) |
| Event | Arm 1: TAK-580 + Nivolumab | Arm 2: TAK-202 + Nivolumab | Arm 3: Vedolizumab + Ipilimumab + Nivolumab |
|---|---|---|---|
| NauseaGastrointestinal disorders | 1/1 | 1/9 | 0/12 |
| Adrenal insufficiencyEndocrine disorders | 1/1 | 0/9 | 0/12 |
| Rectal haemorrhageGastrointestinal disorders | 0/1 | 1/9 | 0/12 |
| Autoimmune colitisGastrointestinal disorders | 0/1 | 0/9 | 1/12 |
| ColitisGastrointestinal disorders | 0/1 | 0/9 | 1/12 |
| DiarrhoeaGastrointestinal disorders | 0/1 | 0/9 | 1/12 |
| HypophysitisEndocrine disorders | 0/1 | 0/9 | 1/12 |
| EosinophiliaBlood and lymphatic system disorders | 0/1 | 0/9 | 1/12 |
| LeukocytosisBlood and lymphatic system disorders | 0/1 | 0/9 | 1/12 |
| Acute coronary syndromeCardiac disorders | 0/1 | 0/9 | 1/12 |
| Event | Arm 1: TAK-580 + Nivolumab | Arm 2: TAK-202 + Nivolumab | Arm 3: Vedolizumab + Ipilimumab + Nivolumab |
|---|---|---|---|
| NauseaGastrointestinal disorders | 1/1 | 6/9 | 8/12 |
| FatigueGeneral disorders | 1/1 | 4/9 | 9/12 |
| HeadacheNervous system disorders | 1/1 | 3/9 | 5/12 |
| PyrexiaGeneral disorders | 1/1 | 3/9 | 5/12 |
| ArthralgiaMusculoskeletal and connective tissue disorders | 1/1 | 2/9 | 2/12 |
| DehydrationMetabolism and nutrition disorders | 1/1 | 0/9 | 3/12 |
| Dry mouthGastrointestinal disorders | 1/1 | 1/9 | 2/12 |
| VomitingGastrointestinal disorders | 1/1 | 2/9 | 1/12 |
| Acute kidney injuryRenal and urinary disorders | 1/1 | 0/9 | 1/12 |
| Amylase increasedInvestigations | 1/1 | 0/9 | 1/12 |
The safety analysis set included all participants who received at least 1 dose, even if incomplete, of study treatment (TAK-580, TAK-202, or vedolizumab).
| Age, Continuous(years) | Arm 1: TAK-580 + Nivolumab | Arm 2: TAK-202 + Nivolumab | Arm 3: Vedolizumab + Ipilimumab + Nivolumab | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Mean | 41 | 63.9 ± 11.54 | 55.8 ± 16.36 | 58.5 ± 14.90 |
| Sex: Female, Male(Participants) | Arm 1: TAK-580 + Nivolumab | Arm 2: TAK-202 + Nivolumab | Arm 3: Vedolizumab + Ipilimumab + Nivolumab | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Female | 1 | 3 | 7 | 11 |
| Male | 0 | 6 | 5 | 11 |
| Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)(Participants) | Arm 1: TAK-580 + Nivolumab | Arm 2: TAK-202 + Nivolumab | Arm 3: Vedolizumab + Ipilimumab + Nivolumab | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Hispanic or Latino | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Not Hispanic or Latino | 1 | 9 | 9 | 19 |
| Unknown or Not Reported | 0 | 0 | 3 | 3 |
| Race (NIH/OMB)(Participants) | Arm 1: TAK-580 + Nivolumab | Arm 2: TAK-202 + Nivolumab | Arm 3: Vedolizumab + Ipilimumab + Nivolumab | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| American Indian or Alaska Native | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Asian | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Black or African American | 0 | 1 | 0 | 1 |
| White | 1 | 8 | 11 | 20 |
| More than one race | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Unknown or Not Reported | 0 | 0 | 1 | 1 |
| Region of Enrollment(Participants) | Arm 1: TAK-580 + Nivolumab | Arm 2: TAK-202 + Nivolumab | Arm 3: Vedolizumab + Ipilimumab + Nivolumab | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| United States | 1 | 9 | 12 | 22 |
| Height(centimeter (cm)) | Arm 1: TAK-580 + Nivolumab | Arm 2: TAK-202 + Nivolumab | Arm 3: Vedolizumab + Ipilimumab + Nivolumab | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Mean | 171.00 | 168.49 ± 10.479 | 170.00 ± 10.846 | 169.40 ± 10.170 |
| Weight(kilogram (kg)) | Arm 1: TAK-580 + Nivolumab | Arm 2: TAK-202 + Nivolumab | Arm 3: Vedolizumab + Ipilimumab + Nivolumab | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Mean | 77.80 | 77.42 ± 9.248 | 88.20 ± 26.786 | 83.32 ± 20.937 |
Documents are hosted by the registry — open the source record to download them.
Plan to share: Yes — Takeda provides access to the de-identified individual participant data (IPD) for eligible studies to aid qualified researchers in addressing legitimate scientific objectives (Takeda's data sharing commitment is available on https://clinicaltrials.takeda.com/takedas-commitment?commitment=5). These IPDs will be provided in a secure research environment following approval of a data sharing request, and under the terms of a data sharing agreement.
Supporting information: Study protocol, Sap, Icf, Csr
This study is terminated, as verified in Feb 2024. You cannot join it, but the record below documents what was studied.
Get an email when the registry record changes — status, dates, results — or when someone posts here.
Sign in to followQuestions and observations about this study, from anyone following it. Not medical advice, and not a channel to the study team — their contact details are on the registry record.
Sign in to join the discussion. Reading takes no account; posting does. You choose a display name, and a pseudonym is the default.
Nothing here yet. If you are running this trial, taking part in it, or weighing whether to, this is the place to say so.
Millennium Pharmaceuticals, Inc.