A Phase 2 interventional study of CN-105 and Placebo in Postoperative Delirium and Postoperative Cognitive Dysfunction, sponsored by Miles Berger, MD PhD. Completed at 1 site in United States. Open to participants aged 60 Years and older, including healthy volunteers. Per ClinicalTrials.gov, last updated 2024-10-16.
Sponsored by Miles Berger, MD PhD · Phase 2, Interventional, and Prevention
This research study will evaluate the effectiveness and estimate the feasibility of administering an investigational drug called 'CN-105' (the study drug), to prevent postoperative cognitive decline, delirium (serious confusion) and underlying brain inflammatory and brain activity changes in adults 60 years and older undergoing surgery.
This research study will evaluate the effectiveness and estimate the feasibility of administering an investigational drug called 'CN-105' (the study drug), to prevent postoperative cognitive decline, delirium (serious confusion) and underlying brain inflammatory and brain activity changes in adults 60 years and older undergoing surgery. The word "investigational" means the study drug is still being tested in research studies and is not approved by the U.S. Food and Drug Administration (FDA).
It is hoped that CN-105 will block signaling via a gene known as ApoE4, the most common gene implicated in late life Alzheimer's disease.
Depending on when patients enroll in this study, participants will receive either a placebo or a progressively higher dose of CN-105 until the safest and best tolerated dose is reached. The study drug is given via IV (intravenous, meaning through a vein) infusion in the hospital. Study drug infusions will be given up to 4 days after surgery.
Participants will also perform memory and thinking tests, as well as complete a survey and functional assessments, both prior to surgery and again 6 weeks after surgery. Each of those research visits will last about 1 hour.
Additionally, the investigators will collect a blood sample and a cerebrospinal fluid (CSF) sample prior to the participant's surgery, 24 hours after surgery, and again 6 weeks after surgery. To obtain the CSF (cerebrospinal fluid) sample, investigators will perform a lumbar (the lower part of the spinal column) puncture. During surgery, investigators will also record participant brain waves from the scalp using an EEG (electroencephalography) monitor. An electroencephalography monitor reads the electrical activity of the brain in different places using a cap with sensors that is worn on the head.
Although previous studies have not found any associations between the study drug and any serious medical problems, investigators will monitor its effect on wound healing and postoperative infections.
Benefits of this study include the possibility of fewer problems in thinking and memory after surgery if this study drug works as hoped.
Risks of participation in this study include headache, infection/discomfort from the lumbar puncture, discomfort from the blood draw, and minor skin irritation or redness from the EEG and heart rate monitor procedures.
Exclusion Criteria:
Cohort 1: 50 Patients Dose of CN-105: 0.1 mg/kg Cohort 2: 50 Patients Dose of CN-105: 0.5 mg/kg Cohort 3: 50 Patients Dose of CN-105: 1 mg/kg
Drug: CN-105
Cohort 1: 17 Patients receiving placebo Cohort 2: 17 Patients receiving placebo Cohort 3: 17 Patients receiving placebo
Drug: Placebo
Three doses of CN-105 will be used in three successive cohorts of 50 patients each. 0.1 mg/kg (cohort 1), 0.5 mg/kg (cohort 2), 1 mg/kg (cohort 3) The study drug will be administered by IV every 6 hours, beginning 1 hour prior to surgery, until postoperative day 3 or hospital discharge, whichever occurs first, up to a maximum of 13 doses.
Patients will receive placebo intravenously every 6 hours, beginning 1 hour prior to surgery, until postoperative day 3 or hospital discharge, whichever occurs first, up to a maximum of 13 doses, identical to those receiving the study drug.
Number of Adverse Events (AEs) of Grade II or Higher Per Patient
Safety of CN-105 administration, as measured by adverse event (AE) rates of Grade II and higher in CN-105 versus placebo-treated patients.
Time frame: up to 6-week follow-up
Change in Cerebrospinal Fluid (CSF) IL-6 Cytokine Levels Between Drug vs Placebo Treated Patients
Change in CSF IL-6 cytokine levels from before to after surgery between drug vs placebo treated patients.
Time frame: Baseline, 24 hours, approximately 6 weeks
Change in CSF IL-8 Cytokine Levels Between Drug vs Placebo Treated Patients
Change in CSF IL-8 cytokine levels from before to after surgery between drug vs placebo treated patients
Time frame: Baseline, 24 hours, approximately 6 weeks
Change in CSF MCP-1 Cytokine Levels Between Drug vs Placebo Treated Patients
Change in CSF MCP-1 cytokine levels before to after surgery between drug vs placebo treated patients
Time frame: Baseline, 24 hours, approximately 6 weeks
Change in CSF G-CSF Cytokine Levels Between Drug vs Placebo Treated Patients
Change in CSF G-CSF cytokine levels before to after surgery between drug vs placebo treated patients.
Time frame: Baseline, 24 hours, approximately 6 weeks
Change in Cognitive Change Index (CCI) Between Drug vs Placebo Treated Patients
To characterize cognitive function over time, while minimizing potential redundancy in the cognitive measures, a Z-score standardization was performed on the 11 cognitive test scores with mean and standard deviation derived at the baseline timepoint. We then constructed four summary scores by taking the average of the standardized cognitive test scores, which represent the following cognitive domains: verbal memory, executive function, visual memory and attention. To quantify overall cognitive function, a cognitive index was calculated as the mean of the 4 domain scores. The cognitive index score has a mean of zero, thus any positive score is above the mean, any negative score is below the mean. A continuous change score was then calculated by subtracting the baseline from the 6-week cognitive index. The resulting outcome measure is unbounded with standard deviation of 0.33. A negative change score indicating decline and a positive score indicating improvement.
Time frame: Baseline, approximately 6 weeks
Feasibility of Drug Administration as Measured by the Percentage of Doses Given Within the Correct Time Window
The feasibility of perioperative CN-105 administration is assessed by tracking the percentage of doses given within the correct time window (i.e. within 1 hour prior to the scheduled or actual start time of the surgery, and within a +/- 90 minute time window for subsequent doses, which are administered every 6 hours after the start of surgery).
Time frame: admission to preoperative holding to hospital discharge (up to postoperative day 4)
Number of Participants Who Experience Delirium
Scores on 3D CAM (non-intubated patients) or CAM ICU (intubated patients) are used to determine whether patients have delirium (yes/no).
Time frame: Baseline, day of surgery (twice), post-operative days 1 - 5 (twice), 6 weeks +/- 3 weeks
Peak Severity of Delirium Symptoms Between Drug vs. Placebo Treated Patients
Scores on the 3D CAM (in non-intubated patients) are used to determine delirium symptom severity based on a 0 - 20 point scale of the test. Higher scores indicate worse delirium.
Time frame: Baseline, day of surgery (twice), post-operative days 1 - 5 (twice), 6 weeks +/- 3 weeks
| Milestone | CN-105 | Placebo |
|---|---|---|
| Started | 140 | 49 |
| Completed | 137 | 49 |
| Not completed | 3 | 0 |
| Withdrew: Withdrawal by subject | 2 | 0 |
| Withdrew: Surgery cancelled | 1 | 0 |
Safety of CN-105 administration, as measured by adverse event (AE) rates of Grade II and higher in CN-105 versus placebo-treated patients.
| events per participant | CN-105 | Placebo |
|---|---|---|
| Number of Adverse Events (AEs) of Grade II or Higher Per Patient | 1 (1 to 3) | 2 (1 to 5) |
Change in CSF IL-6 cytokine levels from before to after surgery between drug vs placebo treated patients.
| pg/mL | CN-105 | Placebo |
|---|---|---|
| Baseline to 24 hours | 0.52 (-0.08 to 1.35) | 0.91 (0.30 to 1.63) |
| Baseline to 6 weeks | -0.06 (-0.40 to 0.17) | 0.00 (-0.20 to 0.12) |
Change in CSF IL-8 cytokine levels from before to after surgery between drug vs placebo treated patients
| pg/mL | CN-105 | Placebo |
|---|---|---|
| Baseline to 24 hours | 130.11 (69.11 to 227.90) | 153.43 (67.44 to 268.26) |
| Baseline to 6 weeks | -2.7 (-8.06 to 0.32) | 0.54 (-4.23 to 4.08) |
Change in CSF MCP-1 cytokine levels before to after surgery between drug vs placebo treated patients
| pg/mL | CN-105 | Placebo |
|---|---|---|
| Baseline to 24 hours | -114.39 (-177.58 to -22.06) | -116.75 (-195.11 to -26.95) |
| Baseline to 6 weeks | -17.69 (-58.01 to 21.33) | -4.62 (-32.16 to 6.32) |
Change in CSF G-CSF cytokine levels before to after surgery between drug vs placebo treated patients.
| pg/mL | CN-105 | Placebo |
|---|---|---|
| Baseline to 24 hours | 2.46 (0.75 to 6.36) | 3.3 (1.89 to 10.18) |
| Baseline to 6 weeks | 0.22 (-1.10 to 1.13) | -0.23 (-0.96 to 0.77) |
To characterize cognitive function over time, while minimizing potential redundancy in the cognitive measures, a Z-score standardization was performed on the 11 cognitive test scores with mean and standard deviation derived at the baseline timepoint. We then constructed four summary scores by taking the average of the standardized cognitive test scores, which represent the following cognitive domains: verbal memory, executive function, visual memory and attention. To quantify overall cognitive function, a cognitive index was calculated as the mean of the 4 domain scores. The cognitive index score has a mean of zero, thus any positive score is above the mean, any negative score is below the mean. A continuous change score was then calculated by subtracting the baseline from the 6-week cognitive index. The resulting outcome measure is unbounded with standard deviation of 0.33. A negative change score indicating decline and a positive score indicating improvement.
| units on a scale | CN-105 | Placebo |
|---|---|---|
| Change in Cognitive Change Index (CCI) Between Drug vs Placebo Treated Patients | 0.08 ± 0.33 | 0.06 ± 0.34 |
The feasibility of perioperative CN-105 administration is assessed by tracking the percentage of doses given within the correct time window (i.e. within 1 hour prior to the scheduled or actual start time of the surgery, and within a +/- 90 minute time window for subsequent doses, which are administered every 6 hours after the start of surgery).
| percentage of doses | CN-105 | Placebo |
|---|---|---|
| Feasibility of Drug Administration as Measured by the Percentage of Doses Given Within the Correct Time Window | 94.6 (92.9 to 96.0) | 93.8 (90.8 to 96.0) |
Scores on 3D CAM (non-intubated patients) or CAM ICU (intubated patients) are used to determine whether patients have delirium (yes/no).
| Participants | CN-105 | Placebo |
|---|---|---|
| Number of Participants Who Experience Delirium | 26 | 13 |
Scores on the 3D CAM (in non-intubated patients) are used to determine delirium symptom severity based on a 0 - 20 point scale of the test. Higher scores indicate worse delirium.
| score on a scale | CN-105 | Placebo |
|---|---|---|
| Peak Severity of Delirium Symptoms Between Drug vs. Placebo Treated Patients | 1 (1 to 2) | 2 (1 to 2) |
Collected over Surgery to 6-week follow-up visit. Non-serious events are listed at a 0% frequency threshold.
| Group | Deaths | Serious | Other |
|---|---|---|---|
| CN-105 | 0/137 (0%) | 11/137 (8%) | 105/137 (76.6%) |
| Placebo | 0/49 (0%) | 11/49 (22.4%) | 43/49 (87.8%) |
| Event | CN-105 | Placebo |
|---|---|---|
| ANEMIABlood and lymphatic system disorders | 1/137 | 3/49 |
| HYPOTENSIONVascular disorders | 1/137 | 3/49 |
| HYPOXIARespiratory, thoracic and mediastinal disorders | 0/137 | 2/49 |
| CONSTIPATIONGastrointestinal disorders | 0/137 | 1/49 |
| CYSTOSCOPY FOR REMOVAL OF URINARY CATHETERSurgical and medical procedures | 0/137 | 1/49 |
| FATIGUEGeneral disorders | 0/137 | 1/49 |
| GASTRIC STENOSISGastrointestinal disorders | 0/137 | 1/49 |
| HEMORRHAGEInjury, poisoning and procedural complications | 0/137 | 1/49 |
| HYPERTENSIONVascular disorders | 0/137 | 1/49 |
| HYPOXEMIARespiratory, thoracic and mediastinal disorders | 0/137 | 1/49 |
| Event | CN-105 | Placebo |
|---|---|---|
| HYPERTENSIONVascular disorders | 61/137 | 22/49 |
| DECREASED LYMPHOCYTE COUNTInvestigations | 27/137 | 15/49 |
| ANEMIABlood and lymphatic system disorders | 30/137 | 9/49 |
| INFECTIONInfections and infestations | 17/137 | 6/49 |
| HYPERGLYCEMIAMetabolism and nutrition disorders | 4/137 | 6/49 |
| DIZZINESSNervous system disorders | 3/137 | 5/49 |
| VOMITINGGastrointestinal disorders | 5/137 | 5/49 |
| HYPOTENSIONVascular disorders | 12/137 | 3/49 |
| HYPOALBUMINEMIAMetabolism and nutrition disorders | 11/137 | 4/49 |
| NAUSEAGastrointestinal disorders | 6/137 | 4/49 |
Participants who completed the study.
| Age, Continuous(years) | CN-105 | Placebo | Total |
|---|---|---|---|
| Mean | 68.4 ± 5.0 | 69.5 ± 6.0 | 68.7 ± 5.0 |
| Sex: Female, Male(Participants) | CN-105 | Placebo | Total |
|---|---|---|---|
| Female | 51 | 16 | 67 |
| Male | 86 | 33 | 119 |
| Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)(Participants) | CN-105 | Placebo | Total |
|---|---|---|---|
| Hispanic or Latino | 2 | 1 | 3 |
| Not Hispanic or Latino | 135 | 47 | 182 |
| Unknown or Not Reported | 0 | 1 | 1 |
| Race (NIH/OMB)(Participants) | CN-105 | Placebo | Total |
|---|---|---|---|
| American Indian or Alaska Native | 2 | 0 | 2 |
| Asian | 3 | 0 | 3 |
| Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Black or African American | 9 | 5 | 14 |
| White | 122 | 42 | 164 |
| More than one race | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Unknown or Not Reported | 1 | 2 | 3 |
| Region of Enrollment(Participants) | CN-105 | Placebo | Total |
|---|---|---|---|
| United States | 137 | 49 | 186 |
Documents are hosted by the registry — open the source record to download them.
Plan to share: No
This study is completed, as verified in Oct 2024. You cannot join it, but the record below documents what was studied.
Get an email when the registry record changes — status, dates, results — or when someone posts here.
Sign in to followQuestions and observations about this study, from anyone following it. Not medical advice, and not a channel to the study team — their contact details are on the registry record.
Sign in to join the discussion. Reading takes no account; posting does. You choose a display name, and a pseudonym is the default.
Nothing here yet. If you are running this trial, taking part in it, or weighing whether to, this is the place to say so.
Infectious Encephalitis