An interventional study of Smoking Cessation plus CBI and Smoking Cessation Standard in Smoking, Pain and Smoking Cessation, sponsored by VA Office of Research and Development. Completed at 2 sites in United States. Open to participants aged 18 Years and older. Per ClinicalTrials.gov, last updated 2023-07-28.
Sponsored by VA Office of Research and Development · Not applicable, Interventional, and Treatment
This purpose of this study is to test the telephone delivery of a cognitive behavioral intervention (CBI), for smoking cessation among Veteran smokers with chronic pain
Veterans with chronic pain represent an important population in which to focus smoking cessation efforts. Smoking cessation among patients with chronic medical illnesses substantially decreases morbidity and mortality; yet, many patients (>50%) with chronic pain continue to smoke.
This study aims to test the telephone delivery of a cognitive behavioral intervention (CBI), for smoking cessation among Veteran smokers with chronic pain. Proposed is a randomized comparative effectiveness trial with a two-group design in which 370 Veteran smokers with chronic pain will be randomized to either: 1) smoking cessation plus CBI (SMK-CBI), an intervention that includes a proactive tele-health intervention combining evidence-based smoking cessation counseling augmented with behavioral approaches for coping with pain and a tele-medicine clinic for accessing nicotine replacement therapy (NRT), or 2) smoking cessation telephone counseling control (SMK Control), a contact-equivalent control that provides standard smoking cessation telephone counseling and a tele-medicine clinic for accessing NRT.
325 studies on the registry are indexed under Smoking; 141 are open to participants now.
This study's enrollment of 371 is above the median of 117 across 250 interventional studies indexed under Smoking.
Browse Smoking studies →VA Office of Research and Development is the lead sponsor of 1,767 studies on the registry; 394 are open to participants now.
Of its 209 completed or terminated interventional studies of FDA-regulated products, 183 (88%) have results posted.
Counted across the registry records on this site, refreshed daily.
Go through the criteria one by one — yes, no or not sure — and take the list to your doctor or the study team. Kept in this browser only.
Exclusion Criteria:
An intervention that includes a proactive tele-health intervention combining evidence-based smoking cessation counseling augmented with behavioral approaches for coping with pain
Behavioral: Smoking Cessation plus CBI
A contact-equivalent control that provides standard smoking cessation telephone counseling
Behavioral: Smoking Cessation Standard
proactive tele-health intervention combining evidence-based smoking cessation counseling augmented with behavioral approaches for coping with pain
Also known as: SMK-CBI
standard telephone-based smoking cessation intervention
Also known as: SMK-STD
Number of Participants Who Abstained From Smoking Cigarettes at 6months (Prolonged Abstinence)
In the past 6 months, have he/she smoked any in each of 2 consecutive weeks?
Time frame: 6-month
Number of Participants Who Abstained From Smoking Cigarettes at 12 Months (Prolonged Abstinence)
In the past 6 months, have he/she smoked any in each of 2 consecutive weeks?
Time frame: 12-month post intervention
Number of Participants Who Abstained From Smoking Part of a Cigarette at 6months (30-day Point Prevalence)
30-day point prevalence abstinence rates, Have he/she smoked at least part of a cigarette in last 30 days?
Time frame: 6-month post intervention
Number of Participants Who Abstained From Smoking Part of a Cigarette at 12 Months (30-day Point Prevalence)
30-day point prevalence abstinence rates, have he/she smoked at least part of a cigarette in last 30 days?
Time frame: 12 month post intervention
Change in Brief Pain Inventory (BPI) Pain Intensity, Difference From Baseline to Follow-up at 6 Months
BPI Pain Intensity takes the mean of 4 self-reported numeric rating scale questions about one's pain: worst, least, current, and average pain. Rate pain on a 0 (no pain) to 10 (worst pain imaginable) scale. Veterans will be asked at baseline and after intervention. We are showing the change from baseline to follow-up, a negative score means the pain intensity has decreased.
Time frame: Baseline to 6-month post intervention
Change in Pain Interference, Difference Between Baseline and Follow-up at 6 Months
Pain interference will be measured by the Brief Pain Inventory (BPI). Veterans will be asked at baseline and after intervention. How does pain interfere on a 0 (no interference) to 10 (completely interferes) scale on 7 different facets of living. The total is the mean of all 7 questions. Veterans will be asked at baseline and after intervention. We are showing the change from baseline to follow-up, a negative score means the pain interference has decreased.
Time frame: Baseline to 6-month post intervention
Change in Brief Pain Inventory (BPI) Pain Intensity, Difference in Pain Intensity Between Baseline and 12 Months
BPI Pain Intensity takes the mean of 4 self-reported numeric rating scale questions about one's pain: worst, least, current, and average pain. Rate pain on a 0 (no pain) to 10 (worst pain imaginable) scale. Veterans will be asked at baseline and after intervention. We are showing the change from baseline to follow-up, a negative score means the pain intensity has decreased.
Time frame: Baseline to 12-month post-intervention
Change in Pain Interference, Difference Between Baseline and Interference
Pain interference will be measured by the Brief Pain Inventory (BPI). Veterans will be asked at baseline and after intervention. How does pain interfere on a 0 (no interference) to 10 (completely interferes) scale on 7 different facets of living. The total is the mean of all 7 questions. Veterans will be asked at baseline and after intervention. We are showing the change from baseline to follow-up, a negative score means the pain interference has decreased
Time frame: Baseline to 12-month post intervention
| Milestone | Smoking Cessation Plus CBI (SMK-CBI) | Smoking Cessation Standard (SMK-STD) |
|---|---|---|
| Started | 189 | 182 |
| Completed | 145 | 126 |
| Not completed | 44 | 56 |
| Withdrew: Lost to follow-up | 44 | 56 |
In the past 6 months, have he/she smoked any in each of 2 consecutive weeks?
| Participants | Smoking Cessation Plus CBI (SMK-CBI) | Smoking Cessation Standard (SMK-STD) |
|---|---|---|
| Number of Participants Who Abstained From Smoking Cigarettes at 6months (Prolonged Abstinence) | 43 | 41 |
In the past 6 months, have he/she smoked any in each of 2 consecutive weeks?
| Participants | Smoking Cessation Plus CBI (SMK-CBI) | Smoking Cessation Standard (SMK-STD) |
|---|---|---|
| Number of Participants Who Abstained From Smoking Cigarettes at 12 Months (Prolonged Abstinence) | 40 | 38 |
30-day point prevalence abstinence rates, Have he/she smoked at least part of a cigarette in last 30 days?
| Participants | Smoking Cessation Plus CBI (SMK-CBI) | Smoking Cessation Standard (SMK-STD) |
|---|---|---|
| Number of Participants Who Abstained From Smoking Part of a Cigarette at 6months (30-day Point Prevalence) | 23 | 11 |
30-day point prevalence abstinence rates, have he/she smoked at least part of a cigarette in last 30 days?
| Participants | Smoking Cessation Plus CBI (SMK-CBI) | Smoking Cessation Standard (SMK-STD) |
|---|---|---|
| Number of Participants Who Abstained From Smoking Part of a Cigarette at 12 Months (30-day Point Prevalence) | 25 | 18 |
BPI Pain Intensity takes the mean of 4 self-reported numeric rating scale questions about one's pain: worst, least, current, and average pain. Rate pain on a 0 (no pain) to 10 (worst pain imaginable) scale. Veterans will be asked at baseline and after intervention. We are showing the change from baseline to follow-up, a negative score means the pain intensity has decreased.
| score on a scale | Smoking Cessation Plus CBI (SMK-CBI) | Smoking Cessation Standard (SMK-STD) |
|---|---|---|
| Change in Brief Pain Inventory (BPI) Pain Intensity, Difference From Baseline to Follow-up at 6 Months | -0.7 ± 1.7 | -0.5 ± 1.8 |
Pain interference will be measured by the Brief Pain Inventory (BPI). Veterans will be asked at baseline and after intervention. How does pain interfere on a 0 (no interference) to 10 (completely interferes) scale on 7 different facets of living. The total is the mean of all 7 questions. Veterans will be asked at baseline and after intervention. We are showing the change from baseline to follow-up, a negative score means the pain interference has decreased.
| score on a scale | Smoking Cessation Plus CBI (SMK-CBI) | Smoking Cessation Standard (SMK-STD) |
|---|---|---|
| Change in Pain Interference, Difference Between Baseline and Follow-up at 6 Months | -0.72 ± 2.4 | -0.36 ± 2.2 |
BPI Pain Intensity takes the mean of 4 self-reported numeric rating scale questions about one's pain: worst, least, current, and average pain. Rate pain on a 0 (no pain) to 10 (worst pain imaginable) scale. Veterans will be asked at baseline and after intervention. We are showing the change from baseline to follow-up, a negative score means the pain intensity has decreased.
| score on a scale | Smoking Cessation Plus CBI (SMK-CBI) | Smoking Cessation Standard (SMK-STD) |
|---|---|---|
| Change in Brief Pain Inventory (BPI) Pain Intensity, Difference in Pain Intensity Between Baseline and 12 Months | -.044 ± 1.6 | -0.35 ± 1.7 |
Pain interference will be measured by the Brief Pain Inventory (BPI). Veterans will be asked at baseline and after intervention. How does pain interfere on a 0 (no interference) to 10 (completely interferes) scale on 7 different facets of living. The total is the mean of all 7 questions. Veterans will be asked at baseline and after intervention. We are showing the change from baseline to follow-up, a negative score means the pain interference has decreased
| score on a scale | Smoking Cessation Plus CBI (SMK-CBI) | Smoking Cessation Standard (SMK-STD) |
|---|---|---|
| Change in Pain Interference, Difference Between Baseline and Interference | -.56 ± 2.3 | -.46 ± 2.1 |
Collected over Participants were followed for AE data through duration of their 5 counseling sessions time frame around 3 months.. Non-serious events are listed at a 0% frequency threshold.
| Group | Deaths | Serious | Other |
|---|---|---|---|
| Smoking Cessation Plus CBI (SMK-CBI) | 0/189 (0%) | 0/189 (0%) | 0/189 (0%) |
| Smoking Cessation Standard (SMK-STD) | 0/182 (0%) | 0/182 (0%) | 0/182 (0%) |
Veteran population who smoked at least 4 cigarettes a week and pain intesity scores \>4 for at least 3 months
| Age, Categorical(Participants) | Smoking Cessation Plus CBI (SMK-CBI) | Smoking Cessation Standard (SMK-STD) | Total |
|---|---|---|---|
| <=18 years | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Between 18 and 65 years | 133 | 130 | 263 |
| >=65 years | 56 | 52 | 108 |
| Age, Continuous(Years) | Smoking Cessation Plus CBI (SMK-CBI) | Smoking Cessation Standard (SMK-STD) | Total |
|---|---|---|---|
| Median | 60 (46 to 65) | 60 (53 to 65) | 60 (52 to 65) |
| Sex: Female, Male(Participants) | Smoking Cessation Plus CBI (SMK-CBI) | Smoking Cessation Standard (SMK-STD) | Total |
|---|---|---|---|
| Female | 18 | 26 | 44 |
| Male | 171 | 156 | 327 |
| Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)(Participants) | Smoking Cessation Plus CBI (SMK-CBI) | Smoking Cessation Standard (SMK-STD) | Total |
|---|---|---|---|
| Hispanic or Latino | 9 | 16 | 25 |
| Not Hispanic or Latino | 179 | 165 | 344 |
| Unknown or Not Reported | 1 | 1 | 2 |
| Race (NIH/OMB)(Participants) | Smoking Cessation Plus CBI (SMK-CBI) | Smoking Cessation Standard (SMK-STD) | Total |
|---|---|---|---|
| American Indian or Alaska Native | 1 | 0 | 1 |
| Asian | 0 | 2 | 2 |
| Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander | 1 | 0 | 1 |
| Black or African American | 50 | 47 | 97 |
| White | 123 | 112 | 235 |
| More than one race | 7 | 7 | 14 |
| Unknown or Not Reported | 7 | 14 | 21 |
| Region of Enrollment(Participants) | Smoking Cessation Plus CBI (SMK-CBI) | Smoking Cessation Standard (SMK-STD) | Total |
|---|---|---|---|
| United States | 189 | 182 | 371 |
Documents are hosted by the registry — open the source record to download them.
Plan to share: No
Ran from Dec 2017 to primary completion in Oct 2021, 46 months.
Results were first posted in Jan 2023, 1 year 2 months after primary completion.
Of 141 non-industry interventional studies with no phase under Smoking, half reached primary completion within 38 months of starting (the median), counting those still running; a quarter within 23 and three quarters within 60. This study's 46 months is above that.
Counting every sponsor, half of 155 studies reached it within 37 months; a quarter within 18 and three quarters within 59.
How these figures are worked out, and which studies are left out of them.
This study is completed, as verified in Jul 2023. You cannot join it, but the record below documents what was studied.
Get an email when the registry record changes — status, dates, results — or when someone posts here.
Sign in to followQuestions and observations about this study, from anyone following it. Not medical advice, and not a channel to the study team — their contact details are on the registry record.
Sign in to join the discussion. Reading takes no account; posting does. You choose a display name, and a pseudonym is the default.
Nothing here yet. If you are running this trial, taking part in it, or weighing whether to, this is the place to say so.
VA Office of Research and Development →