CClinicalTrials.gg
CompletedNCT01934218Updated Mar 23, 2023Results posted

Gel-One Treatment in Knee Osteoarthritis

An interventional study of Gel-One and PBS in Osteoarthritis Knee, sponsored by Seikagaku Corporation. Completed at 41 sites in United States. Open to participants aged 40 Years to 80 Years. Per ClinicalTrials.gov, last updated 2023-03-23.

Sponsored by Seikagaku Corporation · Not applicable, Interventional, and Treatment

Phase
Not applicable
Study type
Interventional
Enrollment
814
Allocation
Randomized
Ages
40 Years to 80 Years
Sex
All
01

Study summary

The purpose of this study is to determine whether Gel-One demonstrates a superior effectiveness in osteoarthritis (OA) knee pain compared with phosphate buffered saline (PBS) injections.

02

Conditions studied

  • Osteoarthritis Knee

Keywords

  • Knee
  • Osteoarthritis
  • Intra-articular injection
03

In context

Osteoarthritis

4,398 studies on the registry are indexed under Osteoarthritis; 583 are open to participants now.

This study's enrollment of 814 is above the median of 70 across 3,440 interventional studies indexed under Osteoarthritis.

Browse Osteoarthritis studies →

Lead sponsor

Seikagaku Corporation is the lead sponsor of 13 studies on the registry; none are open to participants now.

Counted across the registry records on this site, refreshed daily.

04

Who can participate

Ages eligible
40 Years to 80 Years
Sexes eligible
All
Accepts healthy volunteers
No

Inclusion criteria

  • Have a knee pain
  • Grade 1 to 3 on the Kellgren-Lawrence grading scale

Exclusion criteria

Exclusion Criteria:

  • BMI greater than 35 kg/m2
  • Received an intra-articular hyaluronic acid injection for the treatment of OA of the knee within 6 months prior to screening
  • Had a joint replacement of the target knee
05

Study design

Phase
Not applicable
Primary purpose
Treatment
Allocation
Randomized
Intervention model
Parallel assignment
Masking
Double (Participant, Investigator)
Enrollment
814 participants (actual)

Study arms

  • Active comparator
    Gel-One

    3 mL, a single intra-articular injection of Gel-One

    Device: Gel-One

  • Placebo comparator
    Phosphate Buffered Saline (PBS)

    3 mL, a single intra-articular injection of PBS

    Device: PBS

Interventions

  • DeviceGel-One
  • DevicePBS
06

What researchers measure

Primary outcomes

  1. Change From Baseline in Visual Analogue Scores (VAS) Following 50-foot Walk Test Through Week 26

    Observed VAS of 100 mm; 0 mm meaning no pain; 100 mm meaning extreme pain following 50-foot walk test. Change in score from baseline through week 26 was estimated using a longitudinal model.

    Time frame: Baseline up to Week26

07

Results

Posted Jul 2, 2017

Participant flow

Double-blind Phase
Participant flow — Double-blind Phase
MilestoneGel-OnePlacebo
Started404410
Analyzed participants402407
Completed356356
Not completed4854
Withdrew: Adverse event88
Withdrew: Lack of efficacy67
Withdrew: Lost to follow-up714
Withdrew: Physician decision12
Withdrew: Protocol violation40
Withdrew: Withdrawal by subject1613
Withdrew: Noncompliance with study protocol58
Withdrew: Protocol violation of study eligibility12
Open-Label Phase
Participant flow — Open-Label Phase
MilestoneGel-OnePlacebo
Started316328
Completed290304
Not completed2624
Withdrew: Adverse event24
Withdrew: Lack of efficacy14
Withdrew: Lost to follow-up42
Withdrew: Physician decision10
Withdrew: Protocol violation10
Withdrew: Withdrawal by subject1311
Withdrew: Noncompliance with study protocol42
Withdrew: Failure to exam primary evaluation01

Outcome measures

PrimaryChange From Baseline in Visual Analogue Scores (VAS) Following 50-foot Walk Test Through Week 26

Observed VAS of 100 mm; 0 mm meaning no pain; 100 mm meaning extreme pain following 50-foot walk test. Change in score from baseline through week 26 was estimated using a longitudinal model.

Time frame:
Baseline up to Week26
Reported as:
Mean · mm
Change From Baseline in Visual Analogue Scores (VAS) Following 50-foot Walk Test Through Week 26
mmGel-OnePlacebo
Change From Baseline in Visual Analogue Scores (VAS) Following 50-foot Walk Test Through Week 26-31.7 (-33.7 to -29.6)-31.7 (-33.7 to -29.6)
Statistical analysis
  • Gel-One vs Placebo · Basic longitudinal model · p = 0.988 · Mean difference (final values): 0.0 · 95% CI -2.7 to 2.7
Post-hocChange From Baseline in Visual Analogue Scores (VAS) Following 50-foot Walk Test at Week 26

Observed VAS of 100 mm; 0 mm meaning no pain; 100 mm meaning extreme pain following 50-foot walk test. Change in score from baseline to week 26 was calculated as baseline minus week 26.

Time frame:
Baseline and Week 26
Reported as:
Mean · mm
Change From Baseline in Visual Analogue Scores (VAS) Following 50-foot Walk Test at Week 26
mmGel-One
Change From Baseline in Visual Analogue Scores (VAS) Following 50-foot Walk Test at Week 26-29.5 (-32.1 to -26.9)
Statistical analysis
  • Gel-One ·

Adverse events

Collected over 25 months. Non-serious events are listed at a 5% frequency threshold.

Adverse event summary by group
GroupDeathsSeriousOther
Gel-One0/404 (0%)7/404 (1.7%)107/404 (26.5%)
Placebo0/410 (0%)6/410 (1.5%)113/410 (27.6%)
Most frequent serious events
Showing 10 of 13
Most frequent serious events
EventGel-OnePlacebo
ArthralgiaMusculoskeletal and connective tissue disorders1/4041/410
Joint effusionMusculoskeletal and connective tissue disorders1/4040/410
Basal cell carcinomaNeoplasms benign, malignant and unspecified (incl cysts and polyps)1/4040/410
Oesophageal adenocarcinomaNeoplasms benign, malignant and unspecified (incl cysts and polyps)1/4040/410
Coronary artery diseaseCardiac disorders1/4040/410
OsteomyelitisInfections and infestations1/4040/410
Deep vein thrombosisVascular disorders1/4040/410
Acute myocardial infarctionCardiac disorders0/4041/410
Aortic valve incompetenceCardiac disorders0/4041/410
Chest painGeneral disorders0/4041/410
Most frequent other events
Most frequent other events
EventGel-OnePlacebo
ArthralgiaMusculoskeletal and connective tissue disorders44/40442/410
Joint swellingMusculoskeletal and connective tissue disorders33/40442/410
Joint effusionMusculoskeletal and connective tissue disorders30/40429/410

Baseline characteristics

Age, Continuous
Age, Continuous(years)Gel-OnePlaceboTotal
Mean59.3 ± 9.1459.8 ± 9.3259.6 ± 9.23
Sex: Female, Male
Sex: Female, Male(Participants)Gel-OnePlaceboTotal
Female221234455
Male181173354
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)(Participants)Gel-OnePlaceboTotal
Hispanic or Latino352863
Not Hispanic or Latino367379746
Unknown or Not Reported000
Race (NIH/OMB)
Race (NIH/OMB)(Participants)Gel-OnePlaceboTotal
American Indian or Alaska Native000
Asian5252104
Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander011
Black or African American9370163
White247277524
More than one race000
Unknown or Not Reported10717
Body mass index
Body mass index(kilograms / meter square)Gel-OnePlaceboTotal
Mean28.597 ± 4.192328.797 ± 3.924428.698 ± 4.0585
Kellgren-Lawrence score
Kellgren-Lawrence score(participants)Gel-OnePlaceboTotal
1113111224
2161164325
3128132260
osteoarthritis knee disease duration
osteoarthritis knee disease duration(years)Gel-OnePlaceboTotal
Mean6.80 ± 7.8356.90 ± 7.0726.85 ± 7.456
Etiology
Etiology(participants)Gel-OnePlaceboTotal
Idiopathic359359718
Post-traumatic434891

3 further baseline measures are reported on the registry.

08

Study locations

41 sites
  • Birmingham, Alabama, United States
  • Sheffield, Alabama, United States
  • Phoenix, Arizona, United States
  • Tucson, Arizona, United States
  • Anaheim, California, United States
  • Cerritos, California, United States
  • Costa Mesa, California, United States
  • Garden Grove, California, United States
  • North Hollywood, California, United States
  • San Diego, California, United States
  • Boulder, Colorado, United States
  • Englewood, Colorado, United States
  • Cos Cob, Connecticut, United States
  • Trumbull, Connecticut, United States
  • Oviedo, Florida, United States
  • Pinellas Park, Florida, United States
  • Plantation, Florida, United States
  • Sarasota, Florida, United States
  • Tamarac, Florida, United States
  • Tampa, Florida, United States
  • Marietta, Georgia, United States
  • Morton Grove, Illinois, United States
  • Newton, Kansas, United States
  • Wichita, Kansas, United States
  • Lake Charles, Louisiana, United States
  • Wheaton, Maryland, United States
  • Saint Louis, Missouri, United States
  • Trenton, New Jersey, United States
  • Hartsdale, New York, United States
  • New York, New York, United States
  • High Point, North Carolina, United States
  • Raleigh, North Carolina, United States
  • Cincinnati, Ohio, United States
  • Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, United States
  • Altoona, Pennsylvania, United States
  • Duncansville, Pennsylvania, United States
  • Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, United States
  • State College, Pennsylvania, United States
  • Austin, Texas, United States
  • Bedford, Texas, United States
  • Charlottesville, Virginia, United States
09

References and documents

Publications

  • Takamura J, Seo T, Strand V. A Single Intra-Articular Injection of Gel-200 for Treatment of Symptomatic Osteoarthritis of the Knee Is More Effective than Phosphate Buffered Saline at 6 Months: A Subgroup Analysis of a Multicenter, Randomized Controlled Trial. Cartilage. 2019 Oct;10(4):417-422. doi: 10.1177/1947603518768015. Epub 2018 Apr 12. PubMed 29644875 ↗
10

Updates

Tracking since Sep 25, 2026
No changes since tracking began. The registry record was last updated on Mar 23, 2023, before this site started recording changes on Sep 25, 2026. Its history is on ClinicalTrials.gov ↗
11

Registry details

Key details

Study ID
NCT01934218
Lead sponsor
Seikagaku Corporation
Collaborators
Zimmer Biomet
Responsible party
Sponsor
First posted
Sep 4, 2013
Start date
Aug 2013
Primary completion
Mar 2016
Completion
Mar 2016
Results posted
Jul 2, 2017
Last update
Mar 23, 2023

Oversight

Data monitoring committee
No
View the source record on ClinicalTrials.gov ↗

Not currently enrolling

This study is completed, as verified in Mar 2023. You cannot join it, but the record below documents what was studied.

Follow this study

Get an email when the registry record changes — status, dates, results — or when someone posts here.

Sign in to follow

Discussion

Questions and observations about this study, from anyone following it. Not medical advice, and not a channel to the study team — their contact details are on the registry record.

Sign in to join the discussion. Reading takes no account; posting does. You choose a display name, and a pseudonym is the default.

Nothing here yet. If you are running this trial, taking part in it, or weighing whether to, this is the place to say so.

Start the discussion