ClinicalTrials.gg
CompletedNCT01333033Updated Apr 13, 2023Results posted

PET Scan Imaging in Assessing Response in Patients With Esophageal Cancer Receiving Combination Chemotherapy

A Phase 2 interventional study of Oxaliplatin and Leucovorin Calcium in Adenocarcinoma of the Gastroesophageal Junction and Esophageal Cancer, sponsored by Alliance for Clinical Trials in Oncology. Completed at 68 sites in United States. Open to participants aged 18 Years and older. Per ClinicalTrials.gov, last updated 2023-04-13.

Sponsored by Alliance for Clinical Trials in Oncology · Phase 2, Interventional, and Treatment

Phase
Phase 2
Study type
Interventional
Enrollment
257
Allocation
Randomized
Ages
18 Years and older
Sex
All
01

Study summary

RATIONALE: PET scans done during chemotherapy may help doctors assess a patient's response to treatment and help plan the best treatment.

PURPOSE: This randomized phase II trial is studying PET scan imaging in assessing response in patients with esophageal cancer receiving combination chemotherapy.

Read the detailed description

OBJECTIVES:

Primary

  • To induce a complete pathologic response (pCR) rate of 20% in positron emission tomography (PET) scan non-responders treated with either induction FOLFOX or carboplatin/paclitaxel, who then crossover to the other regimen during radiotherapy.

Secondary

  • To compare PET/CT response between induction treatment arms.
  • To compare pCR between induction treatment arms among PET/CT scan responders.
  • To directly compare pCR between induction treatment arms among non-responders if both treatment regimens are found to be efficacious.
  • To determine 8-month progression-free survival (PFS) in PET/CT scan responders, and in non-responders treated with alternative crossover chemoradiotherapy.
  • Estimate the PFS and overall survival (OS) curves, overall and among PET responders and PET/CT non-responders by induction treatment.
  • To determine the rate of postoperative anastomotic leak after neoadjuvant chemotherapy followed by chemoradiation.
  • To evaluate immunohistochemistry and RT-PCR of ERCC1, and genetic polymorphisms of ERCC1, XPD, and XRCC1.
  • To evaluate status and levels of methylation of nine candidate biomarker genes as well as expression levels of selected specific microRNAs, which will be correlated with chemoradiation response.
  • To compare the quality of life (QOL) of responders and nonresponders (as determined by PET/CT scanning) to presurgical treatment for esophageal cancer, in terms of global QOL, physical symptoms, physical functioning, and emotional well-being.
  • To examine the association between OS and QOL in esophageal cancer patients treated with chemotherapy, chemoradiation therapy, and surgery.

OUTLINE: This is a multicenter study. Patients are stratified according to T-stage (T1-2 vs T3-4) and nodal status (N0 vs N+). Patients are randomized to 1 of 2 treatment arms.

  • Arm I: Patients receive modified FOLFOX-6 therapy comprising oxaliplatin IV over 2 hours and leucovorin calcium IV over 2 hours on day 1 and fluorouracil IV continuously on days 1-5. Treatment repeats every 14 days for 3 courses. Patients then undergo PET/CT scan. Patients with responsive disease (tumor metabolic activity decreased by ≥ 35%) receive 3 additional courses of FOLFOX-6 therapy and undergo concurrent radiotherapy (RT) (3D-conformal or intensity-modulated) once daily, 5 days a week, for approximately 6 weeks. Patients without responsive disease (tumor metabolic activity did not decrease by 35%) cross over to arm II during RT.
  • Arm II: Patients receive carboplatin IV over 30 minutes and paclitaxel IV over 1 hour on days 1 and 8. Treatment repeats every 21 days for 2 courses. Patients then undergo PET/CT scan. Patients with responsive disease (tumor metabolic activity decreases ≥ 35%) continue to receive carboplatin IV over 30 minutes and paclitaxel IV over 1 hour once weekly for 5 weeks and undergo RT (3D-conformal or intensity-modulated) once a day, 5 days a week, for approximately 6 weeks. Patients without responsive disease (metabolic activity did not decrease by 35%) cross over to arm I during RT.

Within 4-10 weeks after completion of neoadjuvant chemoradiotherapy, patients undergo surgery at the discretion of the treating team.

Patients may undergo blood sample collection at baseline and periodically during study for correlative studies. Patients may also complete quality-of-life questionnaires at baseline and periodically during study.

After completion of study therapy, patients are followed up periodically for 5 years.

02

Conditions studied

  • Adenocarcinoma of the Gastroesophageal Junction
  • Esophageal Cancer

Keywords

  • adenocarcinoma of the gastroesophageal junction
  • adenocarcinoma of the esophagus
  • stage IB esophageal cancer
  • stage IIA esophageal cancer
  • stage IIB esophageal cancer
  • stage IIIA esophageal cancer
  • stage IIIB esophageal cancer
  • stage IIIC esophageal cancer
03

In context

Esophageal Neoplasms

1,631 studies on the registry are indexed under Esophageal Neoplasms; 469 are open to participants now.

This study's enrollment of 257 is above the median of 60 across 1,198 interventional studies indexed under Esophageal Neoplasms.

Browse Esophageal Neoplasms studies →

Lead sponsor

Alliance for Clinical Trials in Oncology is the lead sponsor of 509 studies on the registry; 28 are open to participants now.

Of its 6 completed or terminated interventional studies of FDA-regulated products, 6 (100%) have results posted.

Counted across the registry records on this site, refreshed daily.

04

Who can participate

Ages eligible
18 Years and older
Sexes eligible
All
Accepts healthy volunteers
No

Eligibility criteria

  • Surgically resectable, histologically confirmed esophageal adenocarcinoma, including Siewert gastroesophageal (GE) junction adenocarcinomas types 1 and 2
  • T1N1-3M0 or T2-4NanyM0 as determined by endoscopic ultrasound (EUS) and PET/CT (histologic confirmation of lymph involvement is not required); all disease (tumor and nodes) must be both surgically resectable and capable of containment in a radiotherapy field; no T4 tumor with clear evidence of invasion of the vertebral column, heart, great vessels, or tracheobronchial tree
  • All patients must have locoregional staging determined by endoscopic ultrasound (EUS) if technically feasible; endoscopy reports or subsequent gastrointestinal (GI) clinic note should clearly state both the T and N stage
  • No evidence of distant metastases (as determined by EUS or PET/CT)
  • Patients with cervical, supraclavicular, or other nodal disease that is either not included in the radiation field or is not able to be resected at the time of esophagectomy are not eligible
  • Patient must have pre-resection tissue available for central pathology review, in case that the patient has a pCR at the time of surgical resection to confirm diagnosis
  • Patients must have an fludeoxyglucose F 18 (FDG)-avid tumor with a maximum standard uptake value (SUVmax) of >= 5.0 on baseline PET/CT scan of primary tumor; baseline PET/CT scan should be performed; if it is necessary to repeat baseline PET/CT scan, reimbursement information is available
  • No prior malignancy within 5 years of registration, with the exception of basal or squamous cell skin cancers, or in situ bladder or cervical cancer; patients with prior malignancy treated with surgery only and disease free for more than 5 years are eligible; however, no prior thoracic radiation therapy (RT) or abdominal RT or chemotherapy allowed
  • No known contraindication to the use of fluorouracil, taxanes, or platinum compounds
  • No history of severe hypersensitivity reaction to Cremophor EL
  • Eastern Cooperative Oncology Group (ECOG) performance status 0-1
  • Patient must be non-pregnant and non-nursing; women of child bearing potential must have a negative serum or urine pregnancy test (minimum sensitivity 25 IU/L or equivalent units of human chorionic gonadotropin [HCG]) within 72 hours prior to randomization; women of child-bearing potential include any female who has experienced menarche and who has not undergone surgical sterilization (hysterectomy, bilateral tubal ligation or bilateral oophorectomy) or is not postmenopausal (defined as amenorrhea >= 12 consecutive months; or women on hormone replacement therapy [HRT] with documented serum follicle stimulating hormone [FSH] level > 35mIU/mL); even women who are using oral, implanted or injectable contraceptive hormones or mechanical products such as an intrauterine device or barrier methods (diaphragm, condoms, spermicides) to prevent pregnancy or practicing abstinence or where partner is sterile (e.g., vasectomy), should be considered to be of child bearing potential
  • Absolute neutrophil count (ANC) >= 1,500/μL
  • Platelet count >= 100,000/μL
  • Bilirubin =\< 1.5 times upper limit of normal (ULN)
  • Calculated creatinine clearance >= 60 mL/min
  • Aspartate aminotransferase (AST)/alanine aminotransferase (ALT) =\< 2.5 times ULN
05

Study design

Phase
Phase 2
Primary purpose
Treatment
Allocation
Randomized
Intervention model
Crossover assignment
Masking
None (open label)
Enrollment
257 participants (actual)

Study arms

  • Experimental
    Arm I (FOLFOX regimen)

    Patients receive modified FOLFOX-6 therapy comprising oxaliplatin IV over 2 hours and leucovorin calcium IV over 2 hours on day 1 and fluorouracil IV continuously on days 1-5. Treatment repeats every 14 days for 3 courses. Patients then undergo PET/CT scan. Patients with responsive disease (tumor metabolic activity decreased by \>= 35%) receive 3 additional courses of FOLFOX-6 therapy and undergo concurrent RT (3D-conformal or intensity-modulated) once daily, 5 days a week, for approximately 6 weeks. Patients without responsive disease (tumor metabolic activity did not decrease by 35%) cross over to Arm II during RT.

    Drug: Oxaliplatin · Drug: Leucovorin Calcium · Drug: Fluorouracil · Drug: Carboplatin · Drug: Paclitaxel · Procedure: Positron Emission Tomography · Procedure: Computed Tomography · Radiation: Radiation Therapy

  • Experimental
    Arm II (carboplatin + paclitaxel + radiation)

    Patients receive carboplatin IV over 30 minutes and paclitaxel IV over 1 hour on days 1 and 8. Treatment repeats every 21 days for 2 courses. Patients then undergo PET/CT scan. Patients with responsive disease (tumor metabolic activity decreases \>= 35%) continue to receive carboplatin IV over 30 minutes and paclitaxel IV over 1 hour once weekly for 5 weeks and undergo RT (3D-conformal or intensity-modulated) once a day, 5 days a week, for approximately 6 weeks. Patients without responsive disease (metabolic activity did not decrease by 35%) cross over to Arm I during RT

    Drug: Carboplatin · Drug: Paclitaxel · Radiation: Radiation Therapy

Interventions

06

What researchers measure

Primary outcomes

  1. Complete Pathological Response (pCR) of PET/CT Non-responders

    The primary endpoint of this study is the percentage of PET/CT non-responders within each induction treatment group reporting a pCR. A pCR is defined as having no tumor found on pathology review at surgery in all resected lymph nodes and tissue. All tissues sampled must have NO viable tumor.

    Time frame: Up to 5 years

Secondary outcomes

  1. PET/CT Response Between Treatment Arms

    A PET/CT response to induction therapy is defined as metabolic activity of the tumor decreasing by \>=35%, as measured by maximum standardized uptake value (SUVmax).

    Time frame: Up to 5 years

  2. pCR Compared Between Induction Treatment Arms Among PET/CT Responders

    A PET/CT response to induction therapy is defined as metabolic activity of the tumor decreasing by \>=35%, as\> \>\> \>\> \>\> measured by maximum standardized uptake value (SUVmax). A pCR is defined as having no tumor found on pathology review at surgery in all resected lymph nodes and tissue. All tissues sampled must have NO viable tumor.

    Time frame: Up to 5 years

  3. pCR Compared Among Non-responders Between Induction Treatment Arms if Treatment Regimens Are Found to be Efficacious

    A Complete Pathological Response (pCR) is defined as having no tumor found on pathology review at surgery in all resected lymph nodes and tissue. All tissues sampled must have NO viable tumor. A non-responder was defined as having a PET/CT SUV (standard uptake value) decrease of less than 35% after induction.\> \>\>\> \> \>\>\> Among the patients who completed induction therapy and did not respond, the percentage of patients reporting a pCR in each arm were compared.

    Time frame: Up to 5 years

  4. Progression Free Survival (PFS) Among PET/CT Non-responders Within Each Induction Treatment Group

    A non-responder was defined as having a PET/CT SUV (standard uptake value) decrease of less than 35% after induction. Among the patients who completed induction therapy and did not respond, the progression free survival in each arm were compared. PFS will be measured from study entry until documented progression or death from any cause. PFS will be estimated using the method of Kaplan and Meier.

    Time frame: Up to 5 years

07

Results

Posted Nov 3, 2021

Participant flow

Participant flow — Overall Study
MilestoneFOLFOX ResponderFOLFOX Non-ResponderCP ResponderCP Non-ResponderCP No Cross-overFOLFOX6 No Cross-over
Started723964501418
Completed7239645000
Not completed00001418
Withdrew: Ineligible000068
Withdrew: Withdrawal by subject000042
Withdrew: Pet inevaluable000024
Withdrew: Adverse event000021
Withdrew: Progression000001
Withdrew: Md decision000002

Outcome measures

PrimaryComplete Pathological Response (pCR) of PET/CT Non-responders

The primary endpoint of this study is the percentage of PET/CT non-responders within each induction treatment group reporting a pCR. A pCR is defined as having no tumor found on pathology review at surgery in all resected lymph nodes and tissue. All tissues sampled must have NO viable tumor.

Time frame:
Up to 5 years
Reported as:
Number · percentage of participants with a pCR
Complete Pathological Response (pCR) of PET/CT Non-responders
percentage of participants with a pCRFOLFOX Non-ResponderCP Non-Responder
Complete Pathological Response (pCR) of PET/CT Non-responders17.95 (7.54 to 33.53)20 (10.03 to 33.72)
Statistical analysis
  • FOLFOX Non-Responder vs CP Non-Responder · Fisher Exact · p = 1.0
SecondaryPET/CT Response Between Treatment Arms

A PET/CT response to induction therapy is defined as metabolic activity of the tumor decreasing by \>=35%, as measured by maximum standardized uptake value (SUVmax).

Time frame:
Up to 5 years
Reported as:
Number · percentage of patients with a response
PET/CT Response Between Treatment Arms
percentage of patients with a responseFOLFOX RegimenCP (Carboplatin + Paclitaxel + Radiation)
PET/CT Response Between Treatment Arms64.86 (55.23 to 73.69)56.14 (46.54 to 65.42)
SecondarypCR Compared Between Induction Treatment Arms Among PET/CT Responders

A PET/CT response to induction therapy is defined as metabolic activity of the tumor decreasing by \>=35%, as\> \>\> \>\> \>\> measured by maximum standardized uptake value (SUVmax). A pCR is defined as having no tumor found on pathology review at surgery in all resected lymph nodes and tissue. All tissues sampled must have NO viable tumor.

Time frame:
Up to 5 years
Reported as:
Number · percentage of participants with a pCR
pCR Compared Between Induction Treatment Arms Among PET/CT Responders
percentage of participants with a pCRFOLFOX ResponderCP (Carboplatin + Paclitaxel + Radiation) Responder
pCR Compared Between Induction Treatment Arms Among PET/CT Responders40.28 (28.88 to 52.5)14.06 (6.64 to 25.02)
SecondarypCR Compared Among Non-responders Between Induction Treatment Arms if Treatment Regimens Are Found to be Efficacious

A Complete Pathological Response (pCR) is defined as having no tumor found on pathology review at surgery in all resected lymph nodes and tissue. All tissues sampled must have NO viable tumor. A non-responder was defined as having a PET/CT SUV (standard uptake value) decrease of less than 35% after induction.\> \>\>\> \> \>\>\> Among the patients who completed induction therapy and did not respond, the percentage of patients reporting a pCR in each arm were compared.

Time frame:
Up to 5 years
Reported as:
Number · percentage of participants with a pCR
pCR Compared Among Non-responders Between Induction Treatment Arms if Treatment Regimens Are Found to be Efficacious
percentage of participants with a pCRFOLFOX Regimen Non-RespondersCP (Carboplatin + Paclitaxel + Radiation) Non-Responders
pCR Compared Among Non-responders Between Induction Treatment Arms if Treatment Regimens Are Found to be Efficacious17.95 (7.54 to 33.53)20 (10.03 to 33.72)
SecondaryProgression Free Survival (PFS) Among PET/CT Non-responders Within Each Induction Treatment Group

A non-responder was defined as having a PET/CT SUV (standard uptake value) decrease of less than 35% after induction. Among the patients who completed induction therapy and did not respond, the progression free survival in each arm were compared. PFS will be measured from study entry until documented progression or death from any cause. PFS will be estimated using the method of Kaplan and Meier.

Time frame:
Up to 5 years
Reported as:
Median · months
Progression Free Survival (PFS) Among PET/CT Non-responders Within Each Induction Treatment Group
monthsFOLFOX Regimen Non-ResponderCP Non-Responder
Progression Free Survival (PFS) Among PET/CT Non-responders Within Each Induction Treatment GroupNA (27.8 to NA)33.4 (17.2 to NA)

Adverse events

Collected over 5 years. Non-serious events are listed at a 0% frequency threshold.

Adverse event summary by group
GroupDeathsSeriousOther
FOLFOX Responder3/72 (4.2%)3/72 (4.2%)72/72 (100%)
FOLFOX Non-Responder1/39 (2.6%)1/39 (2.6%)38/39 (97.4%)
CP Responder2/64 (3.1%)2/64 (3.1%)63/64 (98.4%)
CP Non-Responder4/49 (8.2%)4/49 (8.2%)46/49 (93.9%)
CP No Cross-over0/9 (0%)0/9 (0%)9/9 (100%)
FOLFOX No Cross-over0/5 (0%)0/5 (0%)4/5 (80%)
Most frequent serious events
Most frequent serious events
EventFOLFOX ResponderFOLFOX Non-ResponderCP ResponderCP Non-ResponderCP No Cross-overFOLFOX No Cross-over
Cardiac arrestCardiac disorders0/721/390/641/490/90/5
Esophageal perforationGastrointestinal disorders1/720/390/641/490/90/5
DyspneaRespiratory, thoracic and mediastinal disorders0/720/390/641/490/90/5
Respiratory failureRespiratory, thoracic and mediastinal disorders1/720/390/641/490/90/5
Esophageal anastomotic leakInjury, poisoning and procedural complications0/720/391/640/490/90/5
Thromboembolic eventVascular disorders0/720/391/640/490/90/5
Adult respiratory distress syndromeRespiratory, thoracic and mediastinal disorders1/720/390/640/490/90/5
Most frequent other events
Showing 10 of 151
Most frequent other events
EventFOLFOX ResponderFOLFOX Non-ResponderCP ResponderCP Non-ResponderCP No Cross-overFOLFOX No Cross-over
NauseaGastrointestinal disorders56/7231/3942/6438/496/90/5
Platelet count decreasedInvestigations44/7225/3944/6425/492/91/5
DiarrheaGastrointestinal disorders36/7216/3923/6420/491/91/5
Neutrophil count decreasedInvestigations24/7218/3930/6415/494/90/5
VomitingGastrointestinal disorders33/7218/3918/6420/493/91/5
ParesthesiaNervous system disorders32/7216/3911/6412/490/90/5
DyspneaRespiratory, thoracic and mediastinal disorders12/7210/3917/6421/492/91/5
Lymphocyte count decreasedInvestigations26/7215/3927/6419/490/91/5
Sinus bradycardiaCardiac disorders1/721/390/640/490/92/5
Infusion related reactionInjury, poisoning and procedural complications0/720/390/640/490/92/5

Baseline characteristics

All participants who enrolled on this trial are included in this analysis.

Age, Continuous
Age, Continuous(years)Arm I (FOLFOX Regimen)Arm II (Carboplatin + Paclitaxel + Radiation)Total
Median62 (22 to 84)64 (42 to 80)64 (22 to 84)
Sex: Female, Male
Sex: Female, Male(Participants)Arm I (FOLFOX Regimen)Arm II (Carboplatin + Paclitaxel + Radiation)Total
Female161430
Male113114227
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)(Participants)Arm I (FOLFOX Regimen)Arm II (Carboplatin + Paclitaxel + Radiation)Total
Hispanic or Latino134
Not Hispanic or Latino126124250
Unknown or Not Reported213
Race (NIH/OMB)
Race (NIH/OMB)(Participants)Arm I (FOLFOX Regimen)Arm II (Carboplatin + Paclitaxel + Radiation)Total
American Indian or Alaska Native022
Asian336
Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander011
Black or African American6410
White119116235
More than one race000
Unknown or Not Reported123
Region of Enrollment
Region of Enrollment(participants)Arm I (FOLFOX Regimen)Arm II (Carboplatin + Paclitaxel + Radiation)Total
United States129128257
08

Study locations

68 sites
  • Camino Medical Group - Treatment Center
    Mountain View, California 94040, United States
  • Palo Alto Medical Foundation
    Palo Alto, California 94301, United States
  • UCSF Helen Diller Family Comprehensive Cancer Center
    San Francisco, California 94115, United States
  • Yale Cancer Center
    New Haven, Connecticut 06520-8028, United States
  • Tunnell Cancer Center at Beebe Medical Center
    Lewes, Delaware 19958, United States
  • CCOP - Christiana Care Health Services
    Newark, Delaware 19713, United States
  • Lombardi Comprehensive Cancer Center at Georgetown University Medical Center
    Washington D.C., District of Columbia 20007, United States
  • OnCare Hawaii, Incorporated - Lusitana
    Honolulu, Hawaii 96813, United States
  • Queen's Cancer Institute at Queen's Medical Center
    Honolulu, Hawaii 96813, United States
  • Straub Clinic and Hospital, Incorporated
    Honolulu, Hawaii 96813, United States
  • OnCare Hawaii, Incorporated - Kuakini
    Honolulu, Hawaii 96817-3169, United States
  • Kuakini Medical Center
    Honolulu, Hawaii 96817, United States
  • Kapiolani Medical Center for Women and Children
    Honolulu, Hawaii 96826, United States
  • Castle Medical Center
    Kailua, Hawaii 96734, United States
  • Kauai Medical Clinic
    Lihue, Hawaii 96766, United States
  • Kapiolani Medical Center at Pali Momi
    ‘Aiea, Hawaii 96701, United States
  • Oncare Hawaii, Incorporated - Pali Momi
    ‘Aiea, Hawaii 96701, United States
  • Robert H. Lurie Comprehensive Cancer Center at Northwestern University
    Chicago, Illinois 60611-3013, United States
  • John H. Stroger, Jr. Hospital of Cook County
    Chicago, Illinois 60612-3785, United States
  • University of Chicago Cancer Research Center
    Chicago, Illinois 60637-1470, United States
  • CCOP - Illinois Oncology Research Association
    Peoria, Illinois 61615, United States
  • Oncology Hematology Associates of Central Illinois, PC - Peoria
    Peoria, Illinois 61615, United States
  • CCOP - Carle Cancer Center
    Urbana, Illinois 61801, United States
  • McFarland Clinic, PC
    Ames, Iowa 50010, United States
  • Siouxland Hematology-Oncology Associates, LLP
    Sioux City, Iowa 51101, United States
  • Union Hospital of Cecil County
    Elkton, Maryland 21921, United States
  • Massachusetts General Hospital
    Boston, Massachusetts 02114, United States
  • Saint Joseph Mercy Cancer Center
    Ann Arbor, Michigan 48106-0995, United States
  • Regions Hospital Cancer Care Center
    Saint Paul, Minnesota 55101, United States
  • United Hospital
    Saint Paul, Minnesota 55102, United States
  • University of Mississippi Cancer Clinic
    Jackson, Mississippi 39216, United States
  • Regional Cancer Center at Singing River Hospital
    Pascagoula, Mississippi 39581, United States
  • Siteman Cancer Center at Barnes-Jewish Hospital - Saint Louis
    St Louis, Missouri 63110, United States
  • Billings Clinic - Downtown
    Billings, Montana 59107-7000, United States
  • Methodist Estabrook Cancer Center
    Omaha, Nebraska 68114, United States
  • Cancer Institute of New Jersey at UMDNJ - Robert Wood Johnson Medical School
    New Brunswick, New Jersey 08903, United States
  • Cancer Institute of New Jersey at Cooper - Voorhees
    Voorhees Township, New Jersey 08043, United States
  • NYU Cancer Institute at New York University Medical Center
    New York, New York 10016, United States
  • Mount Sinai Medical Center
    New York, New York 10029, United States
  • Memorial Sloan-Kettering Cancer Center
    New York, New York 10065, United States
  • SUNY Upstate Medical University Hospital
    Syracuse, New York 13210, United States
  • Lineberger Comprehensive Cancer Center at University of North Carolina - Chapel Hill
    Chapel Hill, North Carolina 27599-7295, United States
  • Blumenthal Cancer Center at Carolinas Medical Center
    Charlotte, North Carolina 28232-2861, United States
  • Presbyterian Cancer Center at Presbyterian Hospital
    Charlotte, North Carolina 28233-3549, United States
  • Iredell Memorial Hospital
    Statesville, North Carolina 28677, United States
  • MeritCare Broadway
    Fargo, North Dakota 58102, United States
  • CCOP - MeritCare Hospital
    Fargo, North Dakota 58122, United States
  • Arthur G. James Cancer Hospital and Richard J. Solove Research Institute at Ohio State University Comprehensive Cancer Center
    Columbus, Ohio 43210-1240, United States
  • Oklahoma University Cancer Institute
    Oklahoma City, Oklahoma 73104, United States
  • Forbes Regional Hospital
    Monroeville, Pennsylvania 15146, United States
  • Alle-Kiski Medical Center
    Natrona Heights, Pennsylvania 15065, United States
  • Kimmel Cancer Center at Thomas Jefferson University - Philadelphia
    Philadelphia, Pennsylvania 19107-5541, United States
  • Fox Chase Cancer Center CCOP Research Base
    Philadelphia, Pennsylvania 19140, United States
  • Allegheny Cancer Center at Allegheny General Hospital
    Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania 15212, United States
  • UPMC Cancer Centers
    Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania 15232, United States
  • Gibbs Regional Cancer Center at Spartanburg Regional Medical Center
    Spartanburg, South Carolina 29303, United States
  • Mountainview Medical
    Berlin Corners, Vermont 05602, United States
  • Fletcher Allen Health Care - University Health Center Campus
    Burlington, Vermont 05401, United States
  • Center for Cancer Treatment & Prevention at Sacred Heart Hospital
    Eau Claire, Wisconsin 54701, United States
  • Marshfield Clinic - Marshfield Center
    Marshfield, Wisconsin 54449, United States
  • Saint Joseph's Hospital
    Marshfield, Wisconsin 54449, United States
  • Marshfield Clinic - Lakeland Center
    Minocqua, Wisconsin 54548, United States
  • Ministry Medical Group at Saint Mary's Hospital
    Rhinelander, Wisconsin 54501, United States
  • Marshfield Clinic - Indianhead Center
    Rice Lake, Wisconsin 54868, United States
  • Marshfield Clinic at Saint Michael's Hospital
    Stevens Point, Wisconsin 54481, United States
  • Saint Michael's Hospital Cancer Center
    Stevens Point, Wisconsin 54481, United States
  • Diagnostic and Treatment Center
    Weston, Wisconsin 54476, United States
  • Marshfield Clinic - Weston Center
    Weston, Wisconsin 54476, United States
09

References and documents

Publications

  • Goodman KA, Ou FS, Hall NC, Bekaii-Saab T, Fruth B, Twohy E, Meyers MO, Boffa DJ, Mitchell K, Frankel WL, Niedzwiecki D, Noonan A, Janjigian YY, Thurmes PJ, Venook AP, Meyerhardt JA, O'Reilly EM, Ilson DH. Randomized Phase II Study of PET Response-Adapted Combined Modality Therapy for Esophageal Cancer: Mature Results of the CALGB 80803 (Alliance) Trial. J Clin Oncol. 2021 Sep 1;39(25):2803-2815. doi: 10.1200/JCO.20.03611. Epub 2021 Jun 2. PubMed 34077237 ↗
  • Ku GY, Bains MS, Park DJ, Janjigian YY, Rusch VW, Rizk NP, Yoon SS, Millang B, Capanu M, Goodman KA, Ilson DH. Phase II study of bevacizumab and preoperative chemoradiation for esophageal adenocarcinoma. J Gastrointest Oncol. 2016 Dec;7(6):828-837. doi: 10.21037/jgo.2016.08.09. PubMed 28078107 ↗
10

Timeline

Tracking since Sep 25, 2026
ElapsedEstimatedEstimated, not yet reachedSimilar studies: half by the dot; the band is the middle halfHalf of similar studies reached it by the dot; the band is the middle half, from a quarter to three quarters

Ran from Jul 2011 to primary completion in Nov 2015, 52 months.

Results were first posted in Nov 2021, 6 years after primary completion.

Of 178 non-industry phase 2 interventional studies under Esophageal Neoplasms, half reached primary completion within 55 months of starting (the median), counting those still running; a quarter within 35 and three quarters within 82. This study's 52 months is close to that.

Counting every sponsor, half of 206 studies reached it within 55 months; a quarter within 32 and three quarters within 78.

How these figures are worked out, and which studies are left out of them.

Registered
Apr 7, 2011
First posted
Apr 11, 2011
StartActual
Jul 2011
Primary completionActual
Nov 2015
CompletionActual
Apr 1, 2023
Results first posted
Nov 3, 2021
Last update
Apr 13, 2023
What these dates mean
Start.
When the first participant enrolled; while estimated, when the study expects to open to recruitment.
Primary completion.
When the last participant was examined or treated to collect data for the study's main question, its primary outcome. A study that stopped early gives the date its data collection stopped.
Completion.
When the last participant's last visit took place, for every outcome, secondary ones and side effects included: the end of the study. Often later than primary completion, sometimes the same day.
Actual and Est.
Actual means the registry says the date has happened. Est. (estimated) is a date the sponsor plans or expects. It can still move, and the sponsor is expected to change it to actual once it has passed.
No changes since tracking began. The registry record was last updated on Apr 13, 2023, before this site started recording changes on Sep 25, 2026. Its history is on ClinicalTrials.gov ↗
11

Registry details

Key details

Study ID
NCT01333033
Responsible party
Sponsor
First posted
Apr 11, 2011
Start date
Jul 2011
Primary completion
Nov 2015
Completion
Apr 1, 2023
Results posted
Nov 3, 2021
Last update
Apr 13, 2023

Study contacts

Karyn A. Goodman, MD
study chair · Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center

Oversight

Data monitoring committee
No
View the source record on ClinicalTrials.gov ↗

Not currently enrolling

This study is completed, as verified in Apr 2023. You cannot join it, but the record below documents what was studied.

Follow this study

Get an email when the registry record changes — status, dates, results — or when someone posts here.

Sign in to follow

Discussion

Questions and observations about this study, from anyone following it. Not medical advice, and not a channel to the study team — their contact details are on the registry record.

Sign in to join the discussion. Reading takes no account; posting does. You choose a display name, and a pseudonym is the default.

Nothing here yet. If you are running this trial, taking part in it, or weighing whether to, this is the place to say so.

Studies of the drugs tested here: Oxaliplatin · Leucovorin · Fluorouracil

Start the discussion