ClinicalTrials.gg
CompletedNCT00795678Updated Aug 2, 2013

Chemotherapeutic Agents in Brain/Breast

An observational study in Breast Cancer and Metastatic Cancer, sponsored by Case Comprehensive Cancer Center. Completed at 2 sites in United States. Open to female participants aged 18 Years and older. Per ClinicalTrials.gov, last updated 2013-08-02.

Sponsored by Case Comprehensive Cancer Center · Observational

Study type
Observational
Model
Case-only
Time perspective
Prospective
Enrollment
10
Ages
18 Years and older
Sex
Female
01

Study summary

RATIONALE: Drugs used in chemotherapy work in different ways to stop the growth of tumor cells, either by killing the cells or by stopping them from dividing. Lapatinib may stop the growth of tumor cells by blocking some of the enzymes needed for cell growth. Monoclonal antibodies, such as trastuzumab, can block tumor growth in different ways. Some block the ability of tumor cells to grow and spread. Others find tumor cells and help kill them or carry tumor-killing substances to them. Studying samples of tumor tissue and blood from patients may help doctors understand how well these drugs can be carried to the brain.

PURPOSE: More definitive knowledge of the penetration of chemotherapeutic and other agents into the brain is necessary for the future rational design of drug and drug regimens that target brain metastases. This clinical trial is studying how well capecitabine, cyclophosphamide, doxorubicin, gemcitabine, lapatinib, paclitaxel, trastuzumab, or vinorelbine penetrates brain tumors.

Read the detailed description

OBJECTIVES:

  • To determine the concentration of capecitabine, cyclophosphamide, doxorubicin hydrochloride, gemcitabine hydrochloride, lapatinib ditosylate, paclitaxel, trastuzumab (Herceptin®), or vinorelbine ditartrate in brain metastases in women with breast cancer.
  • To analyze drug penetrability by modeling the relationship between drug concentration in the tumor and drug concentration in blood samples.

OUTLINE: Patients are assigned to receive 1 of the 8 agents by the patient's treating oncologist.

Patients receive a single dose of the following study drugs immediately preceding surgery: oral capecitabine; cyclophosphamide IV over 30 minutes; doxorubicin hydrochloride IV over 15 minutes; gemcitabine hydrochloride IV over 30 minutes; oral lapatinib ditosylate*; paclitaxel IV over 3 hours; trastuzumab (Herceptin®) IV over 30-90 minutes; or vinorelbine ditartrate IV over 10-30 minutes . Patients then undergo craniotomy for resection of the brain metastases.

NOTE: *Patients receive oral lapatinib ditosylate at least 3 days prior to surgery and immediately before surgery.

All patients receiving cyclophosphamide, doxorubicin hydrochloride, gemcitabine hydrochloride, paclitaxel, or vinorelbine ditartrate also receive a single dose of pegfilgrastim subcutaneously (SC) 24-48 hours after the study drug administration OR filgrastim (G-CSF) SC once daily for 10 days, beginning 24-48 hours after the study drug administration.

Blood samples are collected periodically for pharmacological studies. Tissue samples obtained at surgical resection and blood samples are used to establish cell lines and analyzed for drug concentration by HPLC, LC-MS/MS or ELISA.

02

Conditions studied

  • Breast Cancer
  • Metastatic Cancer

Keywords

  • tumors metastatic to brain
  • stage IV breast cancer
03

In context

Breast Neoplasms

12,815 studies on the registry are indexed under Breast Neoplasms; 2,920 are open to participants now.

This study's enrollment of 10 is below the median of 184 across 2,711 observational studies indexed under Breast Neoplasms.

Browse Breast Neoplasms studies →

Lead sponsor

Case Comprehensive Cancer Center is the lead sponsor of 493 studies on the registry; 59 are open to participants now.

Of its 75 completed or terminated interventional studies of FDA-regulated products, 46 (61%) have results posted.

Counted across the registry records on this site, refreshed daily.

04

Who can participate

Ages eligible
18 Years and older
Sexes eligible
Female
Accepts healthy volunteers
No
Sampling method
Non-probability sample

Study population

Patients will be recruited from a population of breast cancer patients who are to undergo clinically indicated surgical resection of one of more symptomatic brain metastasis(es) treated at the investigational centers.

Eligibility criteria

DISEASE CHARACTERISTICS:

  • Histologically or cytologically confirmed breast carcinoma with ≥ 1 suspected or known parenchymal brain metastases for which surgical resection or biopsy is clinically indicated
  • Treating oncologist must agree that the patient would derive clinical benefit from receiving ≥ 1 of the following study agents:

    • Capecitabine, cyclophosphamide, doxorubicin hydrochloride, gemcitabine hydrochloride, lapatinib ditosylate, paclitaxel, trastuzumab (Herceptin®), or vinorelbine ditartrate
  • Hormone receptor status not specified

PATIENT CHARACTERISTICS:

  • Menopausal status not specified
  • Karnofsky performance status 50-100%
  • Life expectancy ≥ 3 months
  • Absolute granulocyte count ≥ 1,500/mm³
  • Platelet count ≥ 100,000/mm³
  • Hemoglobin ≥ 10 g/dL
  • Creatinine ≤ 1.5 times upper limit of normal (ULN)
  • Bilirubin (total) ≤ 1.5 times ULN
  • AST ≤ 3 times ULN
  • Not pregnant or nursing
  • Negative pregnancy test
  • Fertile patients must use effective contraception during and for three months after completion of study treatment
  • No severe NYHA class III-IV cardiac insufficiency with uncontrolled and/or unstable cardiac or coronary artery disease
  • No history of noncompliance to medical regimens or inability or unwillingness to return for all scheduled visits

PRIOR CONCURRENT THERAPY:

  • No toxicity > grade 2 from prior chemotherapy or radiotherapy remains at the time of study entry
  • At least 60 days since prior bevacizumab
  • At least 4 weeks since prior cranial radiotherapy
  • At least 3 weeks since prior cytotoxic chemotherapy (6 weeks for nitrosoureas or mitomycin C)
  • At least 2 weeks since prior non-cytotoxic drugs (e.g., small molecule-targeted drugs)
  • No concurrent experimental therapies
  • Concurrent hormone therapy and/or trastuzumab (Herceptin®) allowed
05

Study design

Observational model
Case-only
Time perspective
Prospective
Enrollment
10 participants (actual)
Patient registry
No
Biospecimen retention
Samples with dna

Interventions

  • Capecitabine is an oral prodrug of 5 deoxy-5-fluorouridine (5DFRU) that is converted to 5-fluorouracil (5-FU). 5-FU is metabolized to 5-fluoro-2-deoxyuridine monophosphate (fDUMP) and 5-fluorouridine triphosphage (FUTP) which cause cell injury. Capecitabine is supplied in 150 mg (light peach colored) and 500 mg tablets (film coated)and will be administered pre-operatively.

    Also known as: Capecitabine (Xeloda®) (NSC-712807)

  • Cyclophosphamide is biotransformed principally in the liver to active alkylating metabolites that cross-link tumor cell DNA. Cyclophosphamide is supplied in 100 mg, 200 mg, 500 mg and 1 gram and 2 gram vials as a white powder. The drug should be reconstituted with Sterile Water for Injection, USP, and may be diluted in either normal saline or D5W. Cyclophosphamide will be mixed in 250 mL of D5W and infused over 30 minutes prior to surgery.

    Also known as: Cyclophosphamide (Cytoxan) (NCS-26271)

  • Doxorubicin is an anthracycline anticancer agent which mediates tumoricidal effects by intercalating into double-stranded DNA and producing structural changes that disrupt DNA and RNA synthesis. Doxorubicin is supplied in 10, 20, and 50 mg single use vials, and 150 mg multidose vials as a red-orange, lyophilized power which has a storage stability of a least two years. The dose will be given 60mg/m2 over 15 minutes of time pre-operatively.

    Also known as: Doxorubicin (Adriamycin) (NSC-123127)

  • Gemcitabine is a fluorinated deoxynucleoside prodrug which disrupts DNA synthesis and induces apoptosis in a broad number of human tumors, including breast cancer. Gemcitabine is supplied as a lyophilized powder in sterile vials containing 200 mg of 1000 mg (1 gram) of gemcitabine as the hydrochloride salt (expressed as the free base) mannitol and sodium acetate. Dosage will be 1250mg/m2, IV pre-operatively over 30 minutes.

    Also known as: Gemcitabine (Gemzar®) (NSC-613327)

  • : Lapatinib ditosylate monohydrate tablets, 250 mg, are oval, biconvex, orange, film-coated tablets with one side of the tablet plain and other side of the tablet embossed with FG HLS. Lapatinib may also be supplied as oval, biconvex, tan tablets, with no markings. Lapatinib will be administered for at least 3 days pre-operatively at 1250mg.

    Also known as: Lapatinib (Tykerb®) GW572016

  • Paclitaxel will be given as an intravenous infusion (80mg/m2) the morning of surgery as specified in the protocol, diluted in 0.9% Sodium Chloride Injection, USP, or 5% Dextrose Injection. Paclitaxel will be administered via an infusion control device (pump) using non-PVC tubing and connectors, such as the IV administration sets (polyethylene or polyolefin) which are used to infuse parenteral nitroglycerin.

    Also known as: Paclitaxel (Taxol®) (NSC-673089)

  • Vinorelbine (Navelbine®) is a unique semi-synthetic vinca alkaloid 3', 4-didehydro-4' deoxy-C'-norvincaleukoblastine (ditartrate) (IUPAC). The pyogen free, sterile parenteral dosage form is supplied in 10 mg/1 ml ampules/vials and 50 mg/5 ml vials. It will be administered at a dosage of 25mg/m2 IV over 10-30 minutes pre-operatively.

    Also known as: Vinorelbine (Navelbine®) (INSC-608210)

  • Trastuzumab is a monoclonal immunoglobulin G1 kappa antibody which acts as a mediator of antibody-dependent cellular cytotoxicity (ADCC) agent through its high affinity, high specificity binding to extracellular domain of HER2 Receptor. Trastuzumab is supplied as a lyophilized, sterile powder containing 440 mg trastuzumab per vial under vacuum. Each carton contains one vial of 440 mg trastuzumab and one 30 ml vial of bacteriostatic water for injection, USP, 1.1% benzyl alcohol. This will be given the morning of surgery at 2mg/m2 IV over 90 minutes.

    Also known as: Trastuzumab (Herceptin®) (NSC #688097)

06

What researchers measure

Primary outcomes

  1. Concentration of drug

    Serum/plasma concentrations: measured for all agents except trastuzumab by HPLC or LC-MS/MS. Trastuzumab concentrations measured by enzyme linked immunosorbent assay. Compared to tissue levels and the extent of change in serum/plasma during the surgical process will be noted. Tissue Concentrations: determined by HPLC/LC-MS/MS or by ELISA. The objective would be to compare tumor concentration to brain adjacent to tumor, which often has an intact BBB. The degree of BBB compromise in the specimens will be assessed through analysis of serum protein levels and hemoglobin.

    Time frame: Post-Op Per Sample Collection

07

Study locations

2 sites
  • Memorial Sloan Kettering
    New York, New York 10065, United States
  • Cleveland Clinic Taussig Cancer Institute, Case Comprehensive Cancer Center
    Cleveland, Ohio 44195, United States
08

References and documents

Publications

  • Morikawa A, Peereboom DM, Thorsheim HR, Samala R, Balyan R, Murphy CG, Lockman PR, Simmons A, Weil RJ, Tabar V, Steeg PS, Smith QR, Seidman AD. Capecitabine and lapatinib uptake in surgically resected brain metastases from metastatic breast cancer patients: a prospective study. Neuro Oncol. 2015 Feb;17(2):289-95. doi: 10.1093/neuonc/nou141. Epub 2014 Jul 11. PubMed 25015089 ↗
09

Timeline

Tracking since Sep 25, 2026
Not marked actual or estimatedDates not marked actual or estimated

The record gives a start of Sep 2008, a primary completion of Apr 2013 and a completion of Apr 2013. It does not say whether these dates are actual or estimated.

How these figures are worked out, and which studies are left out of them.

Registered
Nov 20, 2008
First posted
Nov 21, 2008
Start
Sep 2008
Primary completionActual
Apr 2013
CompletionActual
Apr 2013
Last update
Aug 2, 2013
What these dates mean
Start.
When the first participant enrolled; while estimated, when the study expects to open to recruitment.
Primary completion.
When the last participant was examined or treated to collect data for the study's main question, its primary outcome. A study that stopped early gives the date its data collection stopped.
Completion.
When the last participant's last visit took place, for every outcome, secondary ones and side effects included: the end of the study. Often later than primary completion, sometimes the same day.
Actual and Est.
Actual means the registry says the date has happened. Est. (estimated) is a date the sponsor plans or expects. It can still move, and the sponsor is expected to change it to actual once it has passed.
No changes since tracking began. The registry record was last updated on Aug 2, 2013, before this site started recording changes on Sep 25, 2026. Its history is on ClinicalTrials.gov ↗
10

Registry details

Key details

Study ID
NCT00795678
Collaborators
United States Department of Defense, National Cancer Institute (NCI)
Responsible party
Sponsor
First posted
Nov 21, 2008
Start date
Sep 2008
Primary completion
Apr 2013
Completion
Apr 2013
Last update
Aug 2, 2013

Study contacts

David M. Peereboom, MD
principal investigator · Case Comprehensive Cancer Center
Robert Weil, MD
principal investigator · The Cleveland Clinic

Oversight

Data monitoring committee
Yes
View the source record on ClinicalTrials.gov ↗

Not currently enrolling

This study is completed, as verified in Jul 2013. You cannot join it, but the record below documents what was studied.

Follow this study

Get an email when the registry record changes — status, dates, results — or when someone posts here.

Sign in to follow

Discussion

Questions and observations about this study, from anyone following it. Not medical advice, and not a channel to the study team — their contact details are on the registry record.

Sign in to join the discussion. Reading takes no account; posting does. You choose a display name, and a pseudonym is the default.

Nothing here yet. If you are running this trial, taking part in it, or weighing whether to, this is the place to say so.

Start the discussion