CClinicalTrials.gg
Active, not recruitingNCT00295893Updated Sep 24, 2026Results posted

Combination Chemotherapy With or Without Trastuzumab in Treating Patients With Stage II or Stage III Breast Cancer

A Phase 2 interventional study of cyclophosphamide and docetaxel in Breast Cancer, sponsored by City of Hope Medical Center. Active, not recruiting at 1 site in United States. Open to participants aged 18 Years to 120 Years. Per ClinicalTrials.gov, last updated 2026-09-24.

Sponsored by City of Hope Medical Center · Phase 2, Interventional, and Treatment

Phase
Phase 2
Study type
Interventional
Enrollment
121
Allocation
Randomized
Ages
18 Years to 120 Years
Sex
All
01

Study summary

RATIONALE: Drugs used in chemotherapy work in different ways to stop the growth of tumor cells, either by killing the cells or by stopping them from dividing. Giving more than one drug (combination chemotherapy) may kill more tumor cells. Monoclonal antibodies, such as trastuzumab, can block tumor growth in different ways. Some block the ability of tumor cells to grow and spread. Others find tumor cells and help kill them or carry tumor-killing substances to them. Giving combination chemotherapy with or without trastuzumab before surgery may make the tumor smaller and reduce the amount of normal tissue that needs to be removed. It is not yet known whether combination chemotherapy is more effective with or without trastuzumab in treating breast cancer.

PURPOSE: This randomized phase II trial is comparing two different regimens of combination chemotherapy given together with or without trastuzumab to see how well they work in treating patients with stage II or stage III breast cancer.

Read the detailed description

OBJECTIVES:

Primary

  • Compare 2 neoadjuvant chemotherapy regimens (docetaxel, doxorubicin hydrochloride, and cyclophosphamide [TAC] vs doxorubicin and cyclophosphamide followed by paclitaxel and carboplatin [ACAC]), in terms of toxicities and effectiveness as defined by the pathological complete remission rate, in patients with non HER2/neu overexpressing stage II or III breast cancer.
  • Evaluate the probability of achieving a pathological complete remission when adding trastuzumab (Herceptin®) to ACAC in the subset of patients with HER2/neu overexpressing stage II or III breast cancer.

Secondary

  • Identify prognostic and predictive markers of outcome, recurrence, and targets of therapy.

OUTLINE: This is a randomized study. Patients with non HER2/neu overexpressing tumors are randomized to 1 of 2 treatment arms. Patients with HER2/neu overexpressing tumors are assigned to arm III.

  • Arm I: Patients receive doxorubicin hydrochloride IV, cyclophosphamide IV, and docetaxel IV on day 1. Treatment repeats every 21 days for 6 courses.
  • Arm II: Patients receive doxorubicin hydrochloride IV and cyclophosphamide IV on day 1; treatment repeats every 2 weeks for 4 courses. Patients then receive carboplatin IV on day 1 and paclitaxel IV on days 1, 8, and 15; treatment with carboplatin and paclitaxel repeats every 4 weeks for 3 courses.
  • Arm III: Patients receive chemotherapy as in arm II. They also receive trastuzumab (Herceptin®) IV weekly, beginning with the first doses of paclitaxel and carboplatin.

Within 4 weeks after completion of chemotherapy with or without trastuzumab (Herceptin®), all patients undergo surgery.

PROJECTED ACCRUAL: A total of 105 patients will be accrued for this study.

02

Conditions studied

  • Breast Cancer

Keywords

  • inflammatory breast cancer
  • stage II breast cancer
  • stage IIIA breast cancer
  • stage IIIB breast cancer
  • stage IIIC breast cancer
  • male breast cancer
  • Paget disease of the breast with invasive ductal carcinoma
  • invasive ductal breast carcinoma with predominant intraductal component
  • invasive ductal breast carcinoma
  • medullary ductal breast carcinoma with lymphocytic infiltrate
  • comedo ductal breast carcinoma
  • invasive lobular breast carcinoma with predominant in situ component
  • invasive lobular breast carcinoma
  • mucinous ductal breast carcinoma
  • papillary ductal breast carcinoma
  • tubular ductal breast carcinoma
03

Who can participate

Ages eligible
18 Years to 120 Years
Sexes eligible
All
Accepts healthy volunteers
No

Eligibility criteria

DISEASE CHARACTERISTICS:

  • Histologically proven infiltrating ductal or lobular breast carcinoma

    • Stage II or III disease
    • Inflammatory breast cancer allowed
  • Hormone-receptor status not specified

PATIENT CHARACTERISTICS:

  • ECOG performance status \< 2
  • Male or female
  • Menopausal status not specified (for female patients)
  • Absolute neutrophil count ≥ 1,500/mm\^3
  • Platelet count ≥ 100,000/mm\^3
  • Bilirubin normal (except for patient's with Gilbert's disease)
  • Creatinine ≤ 1.2 mg/dL
  • Creatinine clearance ≥ 70 mL/min
  • Ejection fraction ≥ 50% on MUGA
  • No neuropathy ≥ grade 1
  • Not pregnant or nursing
  • Negative pregnancy test
  • Fertile patients must use effective nonhormonal contraception
  • No prior malignant disease within the past 5 years, excluding:

    • Squamous cell or basal cell skin carcinoma
    • Stage I or in situ cervical carcinoma
  • No noninvasive (in situ) breast carcinoma within the past 5 years

PRIOR CONCURRENT THERAPY:

  • At least 5 years since prior antiestrogen treatment for any indication other than breast cancer prevention (tamoxifen, raloxifene, or an aromatase inhibitor)
  • No prior radiotherapy to the chest wall
04

Study design

Phase
Phase 2
Primary purpose
Treatment
Allocation
Randomized
Intervention model
Parallel assignment
Masking
None (open label)
Enrollment
121 participants (actual)

Study arms

  • Active comparator
    Docetaxel, Doxorubicin Hydrochloride, and Cyclophosphamide

    Patients receive doxorubicin hydrochloride IV, cyclophosphamide IV, and docetaxel IV on day 1. Treatment repeats every 21 days for 6 courses.

    Drug: cyclophosphamide · Drug: docetaxel · Drug: doxorubicin hydrochloride

  • Experimental
    Doxorubicin Hydrochloride and Cyclophosphamide Followed by Paclitaxel and Carboplatin

    Patients receive doxorubicin hydrochloride IV and cyclophosphamide IV on day 1; treatment repeats every 2 weeks for 4 courses. Patients then receive carboplatin IV on day 1 and paclitaxel IV on days 1, 8, and 15; treatment with carboplatin and paclitaxel repeats every 4 weeks for 3 courses.

    Drug: cyclophosphamide · Drug: doxorubicin hydrochloride · Drug: Carboplatin · Drug: Paclitaxel

  • Experimental
    Doxorubicin Hydrochloride and Cyclophosphamide Followed by Paclitaxel, Carboplatin and trastuzumab

    Patients receive chemotherapy as in arm II. They also receive trastuzumab (Herceptin®) IV weekly, beginning with the first doses of paclitaxel and carboplatin.

    Drug: cyclophosphamide · Drug: doxorubicin hydrochloride · Biological: Trastuzumab · Drug: Carboplatin · Drug: Paclitaxel

Interventions

  • Drugcyclophosphamide

    Given IV

  • Drugdocetaxel

    Given IV

  • Drugdoxorubicin hydrochloride

    Given IV

  • BiologicalTrastuzumab

    Given IV

  • DrugCarboplatin

    Given IV

  • DrugPaclitaxel

    Given IV

05

What researchers measure

Primary outcomes

  1. Count of Patients With Pathologic Complete Response (pCR)

    pCR was defined as no evidence of residual invasive cancer (or very few scattered tumor cells) in primary tumor and lymph nodes.

    Time frame: At the time of surgery within 4 weeks of the end of chemotherapy, up to 10 months

  2. Count of Patients With Residual Cancer Burden (RCB) Scores of 0 or 1.

    RCB score is determined using information on the size of the tumor and the extent of tumor cells in the breast and axillary lymph nodes after neoadjuvant therapy. The higher the RCB score, the more residual breast cancer there is in the breast and lymph nodes: RCB-0 = No residual breast cancer RCB-I = Small amount of residual breast cancer RCB-II = Moderate amount of residual breast cancer RCB-III = Extensive (a lot of) residual breast cancer

    Time frame: At the time of surgery within 4 weeks of the end of chemotherapy, up to 10 months.

06

Results

Posted Mar 14, 2023

Participant flow

Participant flow — Overall Study
MilestoneDocetaxel, Doxorubicin Hydrochloride, and CyclophosphamideDoxorubicin Hydrochloride and Cyclophosphamide Followed by Paclitaxel and CarboplatinDoxorubicin Hydrochloride and Cyclophosphamide Followed by Paclitaxel, Carboplatin and Trastuzumab
Started374044
Completed374044
Not completed000

Outcome measures

PrimaryCount of Patients With Pathologic Complete Response (pCR)

pCR was defined as no evidence of residual invasive cancer (or very few scattered tumor cells) in primary tumor and lymph nodes.

Time frame:
At the time of surgery within 4 weeks of the end of chemotherapy, up to 10 months
Reported as:
Count of participants · Participants
Count of Patients With Pathologic Complete Response (pCR)
ParticipantsDocetaxel, Doxorubicin Hydrochloride, and CyclophosphamideDoxorubicin Hydrochloride and Cyclophosphamide Followed by Paclitaxel and CarboplatinDoxorubicin Hydrochloride and Cyclophosphamide Followed by Paclitaxel, Carboplatin and Trastuzumab
Count of Patients With Pathologic Complete Response (pCR)6422
PrimaryCount of Patients With Residual Cancer Burden (RCB) Scores of 0 or 1.

RCB score is determined using information on the size of the tumor and the extent of tumor cells in the breast and axillary lymph nodes after neoadjuvant therapy. The higher the RCB score, the more residual breast cancer there is in the breast and lymph nodes: RCB-0 = No residual breast cancer RCB-I = Small amount of residual breast cancer RCB-II = Moderate amount of residual breast cancer RCB-III = Extensive (a lot of) residual breast cancer

Time frame:
At the time of surgery within 4 weeks of the end of chemotherapy, up to 10 months.
Reported as:
Count of participants · Participants
Count of Patients With Residual Cancer Burden (RCB) Scores of 0 or 1.
ParticipantsDocetaxel, Doxorubicin Hydrochloride, and CyclophosphamideDoxorubicin Hydrochloride and Cyclophosphamide Followed by Paclitaxel and CarboplatinDoxorubicin Hydrochloride and Cyclophosphamide Followed by Paclitaxel, Carboplatin and Trastuzumab
Count of Patients With Residual Cancer Burden (RCB) Scores of 0 or 1.111028

Adverse events

Collected over Adverse events occurred over a period of 2 years and 7 months.. Non-serious events are listed at a 0% frequency threshold.

Adverse event summary by group
GroupDeathsSeriousOther
Docetaxel, Doxorubicin Hydrochloride, and Cyclophosphamide2/37 (5.4%)8/37 (21.6%)37/37 (100%)
Doxorubicin Hydrochloride and Cyclophosphamide Followed by Paclitaxel and Carboplatin4/40 (10%)5/40 (12.5%)40/40 (100%)
Doxorubicin Hydrochloride and Cyclophosphamide Followed by Paclitaxel, Carboplatin and Trastuzumab4/44 (9.1%)8/44 (18.2%)44/44 (100%)
Most frequent serious events
Showing 10 of 37
Most frequent serious events
EventDocetaxel, Doxorubicin Hydrochloride, and CyclophosphamideDoxorubicin Hydrochloride and Cyclophosphamide Followed by Paclitaxel and CarboplatinDoxorubicin Hydrochloride and Cyclophosphamide Followed by Paclitaxel, Carboplatin and Trastuzumab
Febrile neutropeniaBlood and lymphatic system disorders5/370/400/44
Skin infectionInfections and infestations1/370/403/44
Neutrophil count decreasedInvestigations2/370/401/44
DyspneaRespiratory, thoracic and mediastinal disorders0/372/402/44
DiarrheaGastrointestinal disorders0/371/402/44
Cardiac painCardiac disorders1/370/400/44
PericarditisCardiac disorders1/370/400/44
PainGeneral disorders1/371/401/44
BronchitisInfections and infestations1/370/400/44
Soft tissue infectionInfections and infestations1/370/400/44
Most frequent other events
Showing 10 of 238
Most frequent other events
EventDocetaxel, Doxorubicin Hydrochloride, and CyclophosphamideDoxorubicin Hydrochloride and Cyclophosphamide Followed by Paclitaxel and CarboplatinDoxorubicin Hydrochloride and Cyclophosphamide Followed by Paclitaxel, Carboplatin and Trastuzumab
FatigueGeneral disorders35/3740/4043/44
Hemoglobin decreasedBlood and lymphatic system disorders30/3739/4043/44
Aspartate aminotransferase increasedInvestigations31/3737/4037/44
NauseaGastrointestinal disorders30/3736/4040/44
Peripheral sensory neuropathyNervous system disorders28/3733/4040/44
AlopeciaSkin and subcutaneous tissue disorders26/3732/4033/44
ConstipationGastrointestinal disorders18/3723/4035/44
Alanine aminotransferase increasedInvestigations25/3725/4034/44
Neutrophil count decreasedInvestigations19/3729/4032/44
Leukocyte count decreasedInvestigations14/3727/4030/44

Baseline characteristics

Age, Continuous
Age, Continuous(years)Docetaxel, Doxorubicin Hydrochloride, and CyclophosphamideDoxorubicin Hydrochloride and Cyclophosphamide Followed by Paclitaxel and CarboplatinDoxorubicin Hydrochloride and Cyclophosphamide Followed by Paclitaxel, Carboplatin and TrastuzumabTotal
Median50 (33 to 65)49 (31 to 68)52 (30 to 70)50 (30 to 70)
Sex: Female, Male
Sex: Female, Male(Participants)Docetaxel, Doxorubicin Hydrochloride, and CyclophosphamideDoxorubicin Hydrochloride and Cyclophosphamide Followed by Paclitaxel and CarboplatinDoxorubicin Hydrochloride and Cyclophosphamide Followed by Paclitaxel, Carboplatin and TrastuzumabTotal
Female374044121
Male0000
Race/Ethnicity, Customized
Race/Ethnicity, Customized(Participants)Docetaxel, Doxorubicin Hydrochloride, and CyclophosphamideDoxorubicin Hydrochloride and Cyclophosphamide Followed by Paclitaxel and CarboplatinDoxorubicin Hydrochloride and Cyclophosphamide Followed by Paclitaxel, Carboplatin and TrastuzumabTotal
American Native1001
Asian211013
African American1337
White19171955
Hispanic14191245
Region of Enrollment
Region of Enrollment(participants)Docetaxel, Doxorubicin Hydrochloride, and CyclophosphamideDoxorubicin Hydrochloride and Cyclophosphamide Followed by Paclitaxel and CarboplatinDoxorubicin Hydrochloride and Cyclophosphamide Followed by Paclitaxel, Carboplatin and TrastuzumabTotal
United States374044121
07

Study locations

1 site
  • City of Hope Medical Center
    Duarte, California 91010-3000, United States
08

References and documents

Study documents

  • Protocol and statistical analysis plan · Mar 17, 2009

Documents are hosted by the registry — open the source record to download them.

09

Registry details

Key details

Study ID
NCT00295893
Lead sponsor
City of Hope Medical Center
Collaborators
National Cancer Institute (NCI)
Responsible party
Sponsor
First posted
Feb 24, 2006
Start date
Sep 27, 2005
Primary completion
Dec 30, 2013
Completion
Jul 16, 2027 (estimated)
Results posted
Mar 14, 2023
Last update
Sep 24, 2026

Study contacts

Joanne Mortimer, MD
principal investigator · City of Hope Medical Center

Oversight

Data monitoring committee
Yes
View the source record on ClinicalTrials.gov ↗

Not currently enrolling

This study is active, not recruiting, as verified in Aug 2026. You cannot join it, but the record below documents what was studied.

Follow this study

Get an email when the registry record changes — status, dates, results — or when someone posts here.

Sign in to follow

Discussion

Questions and observations about this study, from anyone following it. Not medical advice, and not a channel to the study team — their contact details are on the registry record.

Sign in to join the discussion. Reading takes no account; posting does. You choose a display name, and a pseudonym is the default.

Nothing here yet. If you are running this trial, taking part in it, or weighing whether to, this is the place to say so.

Start the discussion