An interventional study of Esprit BTK Device in Critical Limb Ischemia (CLI), sponsored by Abbott Medical Devices. Active, not recruiting at 5 sites in 3 countries. Open to participants aged 18 Years and older. Per ClinicalTrials.gov, last updated 2026-01-26.
Sponsored by Abbott Medical Devices · Not applicable, Interventional, and Treatment
LIFE-BTK PK is a prospective, single-arm, open-label, non-blinded, non-randomized sub-study of LIFE-BTK Randomized Controlled Trial (NCT04227899), that will enroll approximately 7 subjects in the United States (US) and outside the US with a maximum of 5 sites in the US. Of the 7 subjects planned to be enrolled, 4 subjects will be treated with Esprit BTK in below the knee artery(ies) in whom drug-coated balloons (DCB) were not used; 3 subjects will be treated with Esprit BTK in below the knee artery(ies) in whom DCB were used for treatment of inflow disease.
343 studies on the registry are indexed under Chronic Limb-Threatening Ischemia; 70 are open to participants now.
This study's enrollment of 9 is below the median of 45 across 233 interventional studies indexed under Chronic Limb-Threatening Ischemia.
Browse Chronic Limb-Threatening Ischemia studies →Abbott Medical Devices is the lead sponsor of 525 studies on the registry; 35 are open to participants now.
Of its 52 completed or terminated interventional studies of FDA-regulated products, 43 (83%) have results posted.
Counted across the registry records on this site, refreshed daily.
General Inclusion Criteria:
Anatomic Inclusion Criteria:
One or more native infrapopliteal lesions, including de novo lesions in the same limb. Restenotic (from prior PTA) lesions are allowed.
Exclusion Criteria:
General Exclusion Criteria:
Subject with extensive tissue loss salvageable only with complex foot reconstruction or non-traditional transmetatarsal amputations. This includes subjects with:
Anatomic Exclusion Criteria:
Note: staged procedures are not allowed in LIFE-BTK PK sub-study.
Participants who receives Esprit BTK device will be included in this arm
Device: Esprit BTK Device
Participants will receive Esprit BTK Device
Maximal Blood Everolimus Concentration (Cmax)
Maximal observed blood analyte concentration. Cmax is the highest blood everolimus concentration reached during the 60 day period of the study after assessing at different time frames (0 minute, 10 minutes, 30 minutes, 1 hr, 2 hrs, 4 hrs, 6 hrs , 12 hrs, 1 day, 2 days, 3 days, 4 days, 5 days, 7 days, 14 days, 30 days and 60 days post implantation).
Time frame: 0 to 60 days
Area Under the Blood Concentration Time Curve From Administration to the Concentration at 24 Hours (AUC0-24h)
Area under the blood analyte concentration vs. time curve from time 0 up to 24 hours post Esprit BTK implantation. Calculated by the Lin Up Log Down trapezoidal method.
Time frame: 0 to 24 hours
Area Under the Blood Concentration Time Curve From Administration to Last Observed Concentration at Time t (AUCt)
Area under the blood analyte concentration vs. time curve from time 0 up to the last quantifiable concentration reached during the 60 day period of the study. After assessing at different time frames (0 minute, 10 minutes, 30 minutes, 1 hr, 2 hrs, 4 hrs, 6 hrs , 12 hrs, 1 day, 2 days, 3 days, 4 days, 5 days, 7 days, 14 days, 30 days and 60 days post implantation). Calculated by the Lin Up Log Down trapezoidal method.
Time frame: 0 to 60 days
Area Under the Blood Everolimus Concentration vs. Time Curve From Time Zero and Extrapolated to Infinity (AUCinf)
Area under the blood analyte concentration vs. time curve from time zero and extrapolated to infinite time, reached during the 60 day period of the study. After assessing at different time frames (0 minute, 10 minutes, 30 minutes, 1 hr, 2 hrs, 4 hrs, 6 hrs , 12 hrs, 1 day, 2 days, 3 days, 4 days, 5 days, 7 days, 14 days, 30 days and 60 days post implantation). calculated as: AUC0-∞ = AUClast + (Clast/λz) The percentage of AUC0-∞ obtained by extrapolation (%AUC0-∞ex) is calculated as: %AUC0-∞ex = (AUC0-∞ - AUClast)/ AUC0-∞ \* 100
Time frame: 0 to 60 days
Time to Reach Maximum Observed Whole-Blood Concentration (Tmax)
Time to reach the maximal observed blood analyte concentration during the 60 day period of the study after assessing at different time frames (0 minute,10 minutes, 30 minutes, 1 hr, 2 hrs, 4 hrs, 6 hrs , 12 hrs, 1 day, 2 days, 3 days, 4 days, 5 days, 7 days, 14 days, 30 days and 60 days post implantation).
Time frame: 0 to 60 days
Terminal Elimination Half-life (t1/2term)
The apparent terminal elimination half-life, reached during the 60 day period of the study. After assessing at different time frames (0 minute, 10 minutes, 30 minutes, 1 hr, 2 hrs, 4 hrs, 6 hrs , 12 hrs, 1 day, 2 days, 3 days, 4 days, 5 days, 7 days, 14 days, 30 days and 60 days post implantation). calculated as: t1/2term = 0.693/λz.
Time frame: 0 to 60 days
A total of 9 subjects across five sites globally enrolled and completed follow-up. The study registered the first subject on February 10, 2022, and the last subject on February 22, 2023.
| Milestone | Esprit BTK |
|---|---|
| Started | 9 |
| Completed | 8 |
| Not completed | 1 |
| Withdrew: Death | 1 |
Maximal observed blood analyte concentration. Cmax is the highest blood everolimus concentration reached during the 60 day period of the study after assessing at different time frames (0 minute, 10 minutes, 30 minutes, 1 hr, 2 hrs, 4 hrs, 6 hrs , 12 hrs, 1 day, 2 days, 3 days, 4 days, 5 days, 7 days, 14 days, 30 days and 60 days post implantation).
| ng/mL | Esprit BTK |
|---|---|
| Maximal Blood Everolimus Concentration (Cmax) | 21.3 ± 12.7 |
Area under the blood analyte concentration vs. time curve from time 0 up to 24 hours post Esprit BTK implantation. Calculated by the Lin Up Log Down trapezoidal method.
| h.ng/mL | Esprit BTK |
|---|---|
| Area Under the Blood Concentration Time Curve From Administration to the Concentration at 24 Hours (AUC0-24h) | 192.3 ± 79.2 |
Area under the blood analyte concentration vs. time curve from time 0 up to the last quantifiable concentration reached during the 60 day period of the study. After assessing at different time frames (0 minute, 10 minutes, 30 minutes, 1 hr, 2 hrs, 4 hrs, 6 hrs , 12 hrs, 1 day, 2 days, 3 days, 4 days, 5 days, 7 days, 14 days, 30 days and 60 days post implantation). Calculated by the Lin Up Log Down trapezoidal method.
| h.ng/mL | Esprit BTK |
|---|---|
| Area Under the Blood Concentration Time Curve From Administration to Last Observed Concentration at Time t (AUCt) | 586.2 ± 285.3 |
Area under the blood analyte concentration vs. time curve from time zero and extrapolated to infinite time, reached during the 60 day period of the study. After assessing at different time frames (0 minute, 10 minutes, 30 minutes, 1 hr, 2 hrs, 4 hrs, 6 hrs , 12 hrs, 1 day, 2 days, 3 days, 4 days, 5 days, 7 days, 14 days, 30 days and 60 days post implantation). calculated as: AUC0-∞ = AUClast + (Clast/λz) The percentage of AUC0-∞ obtained by extrapolation (%AUC0-∞ex) is calculated as: %AUC0-∞ex = (AUC0-∞ - AUClast)/ AUC0-∞ \* 100
| h.ng/mL | Esprit BTK |
|---|---|
| Area Under the Blood Everolimus Concentration vs. Time Curve From Time Zero and Extrapolated to Infinity (AUCinf) | 612.3 ± 291.6 |
Time to reach the maximal observed blood analyte concentration during the 60 day period of the study after assessing at different time frames (0 minute,10 minutes, 30 minutes, 1 hr, 2 hrs, 4 hrs, 6 hrs , 12 hrs, 1 day, 2 days, 3 days, 4 days, 5 days, 7 days, 14 days, 30 days and 60 days post implantation).
| hours | Esprit BTK |
|---|---|
| Time to Reach Maximum Observed Whole-Blood Concentration (Tmax) | 0.328 ± 0.25 |
The apparent terminal elimination half-life, reached during the 60 day period of the study. After assessing at different time frames (0 minute, 10 minutes, 30 minutes, 1 hr, 2 hrs, 4 hrs, 6 hrs , 12 hrs, 1 day, 2 days, 3 days, 4 days, 5 days, 7 days, 14 days, 30 days and 60 days post implantation). calculated as: t1/2term = 0.693/λz.
| hours | Esprit BTK |
|---|---|
| Terminal Elimination Half-life (t1/2term) | 109.2 ± 45.3 |
Collected over 72 days (60 days + 12 days window). Non-serious events are listed at a 0% frequency threshold.
| Group | Deaths | Serious | Other |
|---|---|---|---|
| Esprit BTK | 1/9 (11.1%) | 4/9 (44.4%) | 7/9 (77.8%) |
| Event | Esprit BTK |
|---|---|
| GASTROINTESTINAL HAEMORRHAGEGastrointestinal disorders | 2/9 |
| CARDIAC FAILURE CONGESTIVECardiac disorders | 1/9 |
| CELLULITISInfections and infestations | 1/9 |
| SKIN WOUNDInjury, poisoning and procedural complications | 1/9 |
| WOUND COMPLICATIONInjury, poisoning and procedural complications | 1/9 |
| PAIN IN EXTREMITYMusculoskeletal and connective tissue disorders | 1/9 |
| Event | Esprit BTK |
|---|---|
| ANAEMIABlood and lymphatic system disorders | 1/9 |
| CARDIAC FAILURE CONGESTIVECardiac disorders | 1/9 |
| TACHYCARDIACardiac disorders | 1/9 |
| CHEST DISCOMFORTGeneral disorders | 1/9 |
| PYREXIAGeneral disorders | 1/9 |
| WOUND INFECTIONInfections and infestations | 1/9 |
| FALLInjury, poisoning and procedural complications | 1/9 |
| SKIN WOUNDInjury, poisoning and procedural complications | 1/9 |
| BLOOD PRESSURE INCREASEDInvestigations | 1/9 |
| HYPONATRAEMIAMetabolism and nutrition disorders | 1/9 |
| Age, Continuous(years) | Esprit BTK |
|---|---|
| Mean | 67.8 ± 8.8 |
| Sex: Female, Male(Participants) | Esprit BTK |
|---|---|
| Female | 2 |
| Male | 7 |
| Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)(Participants) | Esprit BTK |
|---|---|
| Hispanic or Latino | 0 |
| Not Hispanic or Latino | 9 |
| Unknown or Not Reported | 0 |
| Race (NIH/OMB)(Participants) | Esprit BTK |
|---|---|
| American Indian or Alaska Native | 0 |
| Asian | 3 |
| Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander | 0 |
| Black or African American | 0 |
| White | 6 |
| More than one race | 0 |
| Unknown or Not Reported | 0 |
| Region of Enrollment(Participants) | Esprit BTK |
|---|---|
| United States | 4 |
| Taiwan | 3 |
| Australia | 2 |
| Rutherford Becker Clinical Category(Participants) | Esprit BTK |
|---|---|
| Categories 0 to 3 | 0 |
| Category 4 | 3 |
| Category 5 | 6 |
| Category 6 | 0 |
Documents are hosted by the registry — open the source record to download them.
This study is active, not recruiting, as verified in Jan 2026. You cannot join it, but the record below documents what was studied.
Get an email when the registry record changes — status, dates, results — or when someone posts here.
Sign in to followQuestions and observations about this study, from anyone following it. Not medical advice, and not a channel to the study team — their contact details are on the registry record.
Sign in to join the discussion. Reading takes no account; posting does. You choose a display name, and a pseudonym is the default.
Nothing here yet. If you are running this trial, taking part in it, or weighing whether to, this is the place to say so.
Chronic Limb-Threatening Ischemia→
Abbott Medical Devices