CClinicalTrials.gg
CompletedNCT04508725Updated Jul 25, 2025Results posted

Serial Ultrasound in Metastatic Renal Cell Carcinoma (mRCC)

An interventional study of Doppler Ultrasound and SIEMENS S3000 and Verasonics Vantage 256 in Kidney Cancer, Renal Cell Carcinoma and Metastatic Renal Cell Carcinoma, sponsored by Stanford University. Completed at 1 site in United States. Open to participants aged 18 Years and older. Per ClinicalTrials.gov, last updated 2025-07-25.

Sponsored by Stanford University · Not applicable, Interventional, and Diagnostic

Phase
Not applicable
Study type
Interventional
Enrollment
22
Allocation
Non-randomized
Ages
18 Years and older
Sex
All
01

Study summary

To assess whether changes in quantitative tumor perfusion parameters after 3 or 6 weeks of treatment, as measured by power Doppler ultrasound, can predict initial objective response, defined by current standard-of-care, to therapy at 12 weeks after start of treatment

02

Conditions studied

  • Kidney Cancer
  • Renal Cell Carcinoma
  • Metastatic Renal Cell Carcinoma
03

In context

Kidney Neoplasms

956 studies on the registry are indexed under Kidney Neoplasms; 210 are open to participants now.

This study's enrollment of 22 is below the median of 43 across 650 interventional studies indexed under Kidney Neoplasms.

Browse Kidney Neoplasms studies →

Lead sponsor

Stanford University is the lead sponsor of 2,117 studies on the registry; 425 are open to participants now.

Of its 259 completed or terminated interventional studies of FDA-regulated products, 197 (76%) have results posted.

Counted across the registry records on this site, refreshed daily.

04

Who can participate

Ages eligible
18 Years and older
Sexes eligible
All
Accepts healthy volunteers
No

Inclusion criteria

  • 18 years of age or older
  • Pathology-confirmed diagnosis of Renal cell carcinoma (RCC)
  • At least one tumor lesion greater than 1 cm in diameter, amenable to ultrasound imaging
  • Written informed consent.

Specific inclusion criteria:

  • Arm 1: planned to be treated with combination of VEGFR2 tyrosine kinase inhibitor (TKI) plus immune checkpoint inhibitor (ICI)
  • Arm 2: planned to be treated with non-ICI therapy

Exclusion criteria

Exclusion Criteria:

-Any comorbid condition that, in the opinion of the treating provider or the Protocol Directors, compromises the participant's ability to participate in the study

05

Study design

Phase
Not applicable
Primary purpose
Diagnostic
Allocation
Non-randomized
Intervention model
Single group
Masking
None (open label)
Enrollment
22 participants (actual)

Study arms

  • Active comparator
    Tyrosine kinase inhibitor (TKI) plus immune checkpoint inhibitor (ICI)

    Patients are planned to be treated with vascular endothelial growth factor 2 (VEGFR2) tyrosine kinase inhibitor (TKI) plus immune checkpoint inhibitor (ICI)

    Diagnostic Test: Doppler Ultrasound · Device: SIEMENS S3000 and Verasonics Vantage 256 · Drug: Standard-of-care Vascular Endothelial Growth Factor Receptor 2 (VEGFR2) tyrosine kinase inhibitor (TKI) plus immune checkpoint inhibitor (ICI)

  • Active comparator
    Non-ICI therapy

    Patients are planned to be treated with non-ICI therapy

    Diagnostic Test: Doppler Ultrasound · Device: SIEMENS S3000 and Verasonics Vantage 256 · Drug: Standard-of-care non-immune checkpoint inhibitor (ICI) such as single-agent VEGFR2 TKI

Interventions

  • Diagnostic testDoppler Ultrasound

    Power Doppler measurements will be made

  • DeviceSIEMENS S3000 and Verasonics Vantage 256

    Vantage 256 used for power Doppler ultrasound, manufactured by Verasonics

  • DrugStandard-of-care Vascular Endothelial Growth Factor Receptor 2 (VEGFR2) tyrosine kinase inhibitor (TKI) plus immune checkpoint inhibitor (ICI)

    Standard-of-care Vascular Endothelial Growth Factor Receptor 2 (VEGFR2) tyrosine kinase inhibitor (TKI) plus immune checkpoint inhibitor (ICI).

    Also known as: VEGFR2, TKI, ICI

  • DrugStandard-of-care non-immune checkpoint inhibitor (ICI) such as single-agent VEGFR2 TKI

    Standard-of-care non-immune checkpoint inhibitor (ICI) such as single-agent VEGFR2 TKI

06

What researchers measure

Primary outcomes

  1. Initial Objective Response- First Participation

    Initial objective response was defined as having either Complete Response (CR) or Partial Response (PR) per RECIST v1.1 at first on-treatment response evaluation 8-16 weeks after initiating treatment.

    Time frame: 12 weeks

  2. Initial Objective Response- Second Participation

    Initial objective response is defined as having either Complete Response (CR) or Partial Response (PR) per RECIST v1.1 at first on-treatment response evaluation 8-16 weeks after initiating treatment.

    Time frame: 12 weeks

Secondary outcomes

  1. Initial Relative Change in Tumor Burden Compared to Baseline - First Participation

    Tumor burden was assessed as the sum of all tumor diameters at baseline compared to the first on-treatment response evaluation (8-16 weeks after the start of treatment) using RECIST v1.1 criteria

    Time frame: 8-16 weeks after the start of treatment

  2. Initial Relative Change in Tumor Burden Compared to Baseline - Second Participation

    Tumor burden was assessed as the sum of all tumor diameters at baseline compared to the first on-treatment response evaluation (8-16 weeks after the start of treatment) using RECIST v1.1 criteria

    Time frame: 8-16 weeks after the start of treatment

  3. Initial Per-Lesion Response Compared To Baseline - First Participation

    The relative change in tumor diameter of a single lesion between treatment 'baseline' and the first on-treatment response evaluation 8-16 weeks after the start of treatment, using RECIST v1.1 for tumor diameter measurements. This was measured as percent change and reported as mean ± standard deviation.

    Time frame: 12 weeks

  4. Initial Per-Lesion Response Compared To Baseline - Second Participation

    The relative change in tumor diameter of a single lesion between treatment 'baseline' and the first on-treatment response evaluation 8-16 weeks after the start of treatment, using RECIST v1.1 for tumor diameter measurements. This was measured as percent change and reported as mean ± standard deviation.

    Time frame: 12 weeks

  5. 12-month Progression Free Survival (PFS)- First Participation

    PFS was defined as not having experienced any progressive disease (PD) per RECIST v1.1 within the first 12 months after initiating treatment (day 1 will be treatment start date).

    Time frame: 12 months

  6. 12-month Progression Free Survival (PFS)- Second Participation

    PFS is defined as not having experienced any progressive disease (PD) per RECIST v1.1 within the first 12 months after initiating treatment (day 1 will be treatment start date), as a number and proportion without dispersion.

    Time frame: 12 months

07

Results

Posted Jul 25, 2025

Participant flow

Participant flow — Overall Study
MilestoneARM 1: Tyrosine Kinase Inhibitor (TKI) Plus Immune Checkpoint Inhibitor (ICI)ARM 2: Non-ICI TherapyARM 3: Enrolled Consecutively in Both Arms
Started1252
Completed1052
Not completed200

Outcome measures

PrimaryInitial Objective Response- First Participation

Initial objective response was defined as having either Complete Response (CR) or Partial Response (PR) per RECIST v1.1 at first on-treatment response evaluation 8-16 weeks after initiating treatment.

Time frame:
12 weeks
Reported as:
Count of participants · Participants
Initial Objective Response- First Participation
ParticipantsARM 1: Tyrosine Kinase Inhibitor (TKI) Plus Immune Checkpoint Inhibitor (ICI)ARM 2: Non-ICI Therapy
Yes (CR or PR)51
No (SD or PD)74
PrimaryInitial Objective Response- Second Participation

Initial objective response is defined as having either Complete Response (CR) or Partial Response (PR) per RECIST v1.1 at first on-treatment response evaluation 8-16 weeks after initiating treatment.

Time frame:
12 weeks
Reported as:
Count of participants · Participants
Initial Objective Response- Second Participation
ParticipantsARM 3: Enrolled Consecutively in Both Arms
Yes (CR or PR)0
No (SD or PD)1
SecondaryInitial Relative Change in Tumor Burden Compared to Baseline - First Participation

Tumor burden was assessed as the sum of all tumor diameters at baseline compared to the first on-treatment response evaluation (8-16 weeks after the start of treatment) using RECIST v1.1 criteria

Time frame:
8-16 weeks after the start of treatment
Reported as:
Mean · Percentage change from baseline
Initial Relative Change in Tumor Burden Compared to Baseline - First Participation
Percentage change from baselineARM 1: Tyrosine Kinase Inhibitor (TKI) Plus Immune Checkpoint Inhibitor (ICI)ARM 2: Non-ICI Therapy
Initial Relative Change in Tumor Burden Compared to Baseline - First Participation-16.0 ± 70.343.7 ± 94.8
SecondaryInitial Relative Change in Tumor Burden Compared to Baseline - Second Participation

Tumor burden was assessed as the sum of all tumor diameters at baseline compared to the first on-treatment response evaluation (8-16 weeks after the start of treatment) using RECIST v1.1 criteria

Time frame:
8-16 weeks after the start of treatment
Reported as:
Mean · Percentage change from baseline
Initial Relative Change in Tumor Burden Compared to Baseline - Second Participation
Percentage change from baselineARM 3: Enrolled Consecutively in Both Arms
Initial Relative Change in Tumor Burden Compared to Baseline - Second Participation-20.7 ± 0
SecondaryInitial Per-Lesion Response Compared To Baseline - First Participation

The relative change in tumor diameter of a single lesion between treatment 'baseline' and the first on-treatment response evaluation 8-16 weeks after the start of treatment, using RECIST v1.1 for tumor diameter measurements. This was measured as percent change and reported as mean ± standard deviation.

Time frame:
12 weeks
Reported as:
Mean · Percentage change from baseline
Initial Per-Lesion Response Compared To Baseline - First Participation
Percentage change from baselineARM 1: Tyrosine Kinase Inhibitor (TKI) Plus Immune Checkpoint Inhibitor (ICI)ARM 2: Non-ICI Therapy
Initial Per-Lesion Response Compared To Baseline - First Participation-28.0 ± 23.0-4.6 ± 19.0
SecondaryInitial Per-Lesion Response Compared To Baseline - Second Participation

The relative change in tumor diameter of a single lesion between treatment 'baseline' and the first on-treatment response evaluation 8-16 weeks after the start of treatment, using RECIST v1.1 for tumor diameter measurements. This was measured as percent change and reported as mean ± standard deviation.

Time frame:
12 weeks
Reported as:
Mean · Percentage change from baseline
Initial Per-Lesion Response Compared To Baseline - Second Participation
Percentage change from baselineARM 3: Enrolled Consecutively in Both Arms
Initial Per-Lesion Response Compared To Baseline - Second Participation-6.3 ± 18.7
Secondary12-month Progression Free Survival (PFS)- First Participation

PFS was defined as not having experienced any progressive disease (PD) per RECIST v1.1 within the first 12 months after initiating treatment (day 1 will be treatment start date).

Time frame:
12 months
Reported as:
Count of participants · Participants
12-month Progression Free Survival (PFS)- First Participation
ParticipantsARM 1: Tyrosine Kinase Inhibitor (TKI) Plus Immune Checkpoint Inhibitor (ICI)ARM 2: Non-ICI Therapy
Yes (No PD and no death experienced)73
No (PD or death experienced)42
Secondary12-month Progression Free Survival (PFS)- Second Participation

PFS is defined as not having experienced any progressive disease (PD) per RECIST v1.1 within the first 12 months after initiating treatment (day 1 will be treatment start date), as a number and proportion without dispersion.

Time frame:
12 months
Reported as:
Count of participants · Participants
12-month Progression Free Survival (PFS)- Second Participation
ParticipantsARM 3: Enrolled Consecutively in Both Arms
Yes (No PD and no death experienced)0
No (PD or death experienced)1

Adverse events

Collected over First study ultrasound exam through 12 weeks after starting treatment.. Non-serious events are listed at a 5% frequency threshold.

Adverse event summary by group
GroupDeathsSeriousOther
ARM 1: Tyrosine Kinase Inhibitor (TKI) Plus Immune Checkpoint Inhibitor (ICI)1/12 (8.3%)0/12 (0%)2/12 (16.7%)
ARM 2: Non-ICI Therapy0/5 (0%)0/5 (0%)0/5 (0%)
ARM 3: Enrolled Consecutively in Both Arms0/2 (0%)0/2 (0%)0/2 (0%)
Most frequent other events
Most frequent other events
EventARM 1: Tyrosine Kinase Inhibitor (TKI) Plus Immune Checkpoint Inhibitor (ICI)ARM 2: Non-ICI TherapyARM 3: Enrolled Consecutively in Both Arms
Abdominal PainGastrointestinal disorders2/120/50/2

Baseline characteristics

Age, Categorical
Age, Categorical(Participants)ARM 1: Tyrosine Kinase Inhibitor (TKI) Plus Immune Checkpoint Inhibitor (ICI)ARM 2: Non-ICI TherapyARM 3: Enrolled Consecutively in Both ArmsTotal
<=18 years0000
Between 18 and 65 years91212
>=65 years3407
Sex: Female, Male
Sex: Female, Male(Participants)ARM 1: Tyrosine Kinase Inhibitor (TKI) Plus Immune Checkpoint Inhibitor (ICI)ARM 2: Non-ICI TherapyARM 3: Enrolled Consecutively in Both ArmsTotal
Female1113
Male114116
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)(Participants)ARM 1: Tyrosine Kinase Inhibitor (TKI) Plus Immune Checkpoint Inhibitor (ICI)ARM 2: Non-ICI TherapyARM 3: Enrolled Consecutively in Both ArmsTotal
Hispanic or Latino4127
Not Hispanic or Latino84012
Unknown or Not Reported0000
Race (NIH/OMB)
Race (NIH/OMB)(Participants)ARM 1: Tyrosine Kinase Inhibitor (TKI) Plus Immune Checkpoint Inhibitor (ICI)ARM 2: Non-ICI TherapyARM 3: Enrolled Consecutively in Both ArmsTotal
American Indian or Alaska Native0000
Asian1203
Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander0000
Black or African American0000
White63110
More than one race1001
Unknown or Not Reported4015
Region of Enrollment
Region of Enrollment(participants)ARM 1: Tyrosine Kinase Inhibitor (TKI) Plus Immune Checkpoint Inhibitor (ICI)ARM 2: Non-ICI TherapyARM 3: Enrolled Consecutively in Both ArmsTotal
United States125219
08

Study locations

1 site
  • Stanford University School of Medicine
    Stanford, California 94305, United States
09

References and documents

Study documents

  • Study protocol · May 1, 2023

Documents are hosted by the registry — open the source record to download them.

Individual participant data

Plan to share: No

10

Updates

Tracking since Sep 25, 2026
No changes since tracking began. The registry record was last updated on Jul 25, 2025, before this site started recording changes on Sep 25, 2026. Its history is on ClinicalTrials.gov ↗
11

Registry details

Key details

Study ID
NCT04508725
Lead sponsor
Stanford University
Collaborators
National Institutes of Health (NIH)
Responsible party
Alice Fan (Assistant Professor of Medicine, Stanford University) — Principal investigator
First posted
Aug 11, 2020
Start date
Dec 5, 2020
Primary completion
Nov 30, 2023
Completion
Nov 30, 2023
Results posted
Jul 25, 2025
Last update
Jul 25, 2025

Study contacts

Alice C Fan, MD
principal investigator · Stanford University
Jeremy Dahl, PhD
principal investigator · Stanford University

Oversight

Data monitoring committee
Yes
FDA-regulated drug
No
FDA-regulated device
Yes
View the source record on ClinicalTrials.gov ↗

Not currently enrolling

This study is completed, as verified in Jul 2025. You cannot join it, but the record below documents what was studied.

Follow this study

Get an email when the registry record changes — status, dates, results — or when someone posts here.

Sign in to follow

Discussion

Questions and observations about this study, from anyone following it. Not medical advice, and not a channel to the study team — their contact details are on the registry record.

Sign in to join the discussion. Reading takes no account; posting does. You choose a display name, and a pseudonym is the default.

Nothing here yet. If you are running this trial, taking part in it, or weighing whether to, this is the place to say so.

Start the discussion