An interventional study of Evoke Spinal Cord Stimulation (SCS) System in Chronic Pain, Back Pain and Pain, sponsored by Saluda Medical Pty Ltd. Completed at 22 sites in United States. Open to participants aged 18 Years and older. Per ClinicalTrials.gov, last updated 2024-12-31.
Sponsored by Saluda Medical Pty Ltd · Not applicable, Interventional, and Treatment
The purpose of this study is to evaluate neurophysiological measures and clinical outcomes of the Evoke System to treat trunk and/or limb pain in a real-world population.
2,998 studies on the registry are indexed under Chronic Pain; 706 are open to participants now.
This study's enrollment of 300 is above the median of 60 across 2,209 interventional studies indexed under Chronic Pain.
Browse Chronic Pain studies →Saluda Medical Pty Ltd is the lead sponsor of 7 studies on the registry; 1 is open to participants now.
Counted across the registry records on this site, refreshed daily.
Go through the criteria one by one — yes, no or not sure — and take the list to your doctor or the study team. Kept in this browser only.
Exclusion Criteria:
Spinal cord stimulation that measures and records evoked compound action potentials (ECAPs) and automatically adjusts the stimulation current to maintain a consistent ECAP amplitude
Device: Evoke Spinal Cord Stimulation (SCS) System
A spinal cord stimulation system that measures and records evoked compound action potentials (ECAPs) and automatically adjusts the stimulation current to maintain a consistent ECAP amplitude
Evoked Compound Action Potentials (ECAPs) as Measured by the Evoke SCS System
Dose ratio is determined by the estimated current (mA) at the median ECAP level divided by the current (mA) at the ECAP threshold. The dose ratio allows for both the individualization of a patient's neural dose and comparison across patients, using their ECAP threshold and unique dose response. This metric normalizes for distance between the electrode and the spinal cord and the distances between the stimulation and recording electrodes. The dose ratio reflects the amount of dorsal column activation elicited by stimulation with respect to threshold levels. For example, if the dose is at ECAP threshold, this value will be 1. If the dose is 30% higher than ECAP threshold, this value will be 1.3.
Time frame: 12-months post-implant
Change in Pain
Visual Analogue Scale (VAS) to rate pain intensity
Time frame: end of trial period; 1-, 3-, 6-, 12-, 18-, and 24-months post-implant
Change in PROMIS-29
29-item profile instrument that assesses 8 universal domains (not disease-specific): Physical Function, Anxiety, Depression, Fatigue, Sleep Disturbance, Ability to Participate in Social Roles and Activities, Pain Interference, and Pain Intensity.
Time frame: end of trial period; 1-, 3-, 6-, 12-, 18-, and 24-months post-implant
Change in PROMIS-10 Global
10-item instrument that assesses Physical Health and Mental Health
Time frame: end of trial period; 1-, 3-, 6-, 12-, 18-, and 24-months post-implant
Change in Profile of Mood States (POMS 2-A Short)
35-item instrument that assesses mood states overall (Total Mood Disturbance) and six mood clusters: Tension-Anxiety, Depression-Dejection, Anger-Hostility, Vigor-Activity, Fatigue-Inertia, and Confusion-Bewilderment. A scale score is also calculated for Friendliness.
Time frame: end of trial period; 1-, 3-, 6-, 12-, 18-, and 24-months post-implant
Rate of Patient Global Impression of Change (PGIC)
Single item measure of global improvement with treatment
Time frame: end of trial period; 1-, 3-, 6-, 12-, 18-, and 24-months post-implant
Rate of Patient Satisfaction With Therapy
Single item measure of satisfaction with treatment
Time frame: end of trial period; 1-, 3-, 6-, 12-, 18-, and 24-months post-implant
| Milestone | ECAP-controlled, Closed-loop SCS |
|---|---|
| Started | 231 |
| Completed | 208 |
| Not completed | 23 |
Dose ratio is determined by the estimated current (mA) at the median ECAP level divided by the current (mA) at the ECAP threshold. The dose ratio allows for both the individualization of a patient's neural dose and comparison across patients, using their ECAP threshold and unique dose response. This metric normalizes for distance between the electrode and the spinal cord and the distances between the stimulation and recording electrodes. The dose ratio reflects the amount of dorsal column activation elicited by stimulation with respect to threshold levels. For example, if the dose is at ECAP threshold, this value will be 1. If the dose is 30% higher than ECAP threshold, this value will be 1.3.
| ratio | ECAP-controlled, Closed-loop SCS |
|---|---|
| Evoked Compound Action Potentials (ECAPs) as Measured by the Evoke SCS System | 1.3 (1.1 to 1.5) |
Visual Analogue Scale (VAS) to rate pain intensity
Results for this outcome have not been posted.
29-item profile instrument that assesses 8 universal domains (not disease-specific): Physical Function, Anxiety, Depression, Fatigue, Sleep Disturbance, Ability to Participate in Social Roles and Activities, Pain Interference, and Pain Intensity.
Results for this outcome have not been posted.
10-item instrument that assesses Physical Health and Mental Health
Results for this outcome have not been posted.
35-item instrument that assesses mood states overall (Total Mood Disturbance) and six mood clusters: Tension-Anxiety, Depression-Dejection, Anger-Hostility, Vigor-Activity, Fatigue-Inertia, and Confusion-Bewilderment. A scale score is also calculated for Friendliness.
Results for this outcome have not been posted.
Single item measure of global improvement with treatment
Results for this outcome have not been posted.
Single item measure of satisfaction with treatment
Results for this outcome have not been posted.
Collected over AE data were collected from consent through study completion/exit, an average of 1 year.. Non-serious events are listed at a 5% frequency threshold.
| Group | Deaths | Serious | Other |
|---|---|---|---|
| ECAP-controlled, Closed-loop SCS | 3/300 (1%) | 38/300 (12.7%) | 59/300 (19.7%) |
| Event | ECAP-controlled, Closed-loop SCS |
|---|---|
| Fall or Trip or Slip or TwistInjury, poisoning and procedural complications | 5/300 |
| PneumoniaRespiratory, thoracic and mediastinal disorders | 3/300 |
| Urinary Tract InfectionRenal and urinary disorders | 3/300 |
| Cholelithiasis or GallstonesHepatobiliary disorders | 2/300 |
| Dural Puncture or TearNervous system disorders | 2/300 |
| Nerve Root or Spinal Cord InjuryNervous system disorders | 2/300 |
| OverdosePsychiatric disorders | 2/300 |
| SepticemiaInfections and infestations | 2/300 |
| Abdominal PainGastrointestinal disorders | 1/300 |
| Activities of Daily Living (ADL) InjuryInjury, poisoning and procedural complications | 1/300 |
| Event | ECAP-controlled, Closed-loop SCS |
|---|---|
| Fall or Trip or Slip or TwistInjury, poisoning and procedural complications | 37/300 |
| Upper Respiratory Symptoms or Upper Respiratory Tract InfectionRespiratory, thoracic and mediastinal disorders | 21/300 |
| Activities of Daily Living (ADL) InjuryInjury, poisoning and procedural complications | 16/300 |
| ArthritisMusculoskeletal and connective tissue disorders | 15/300 |
| Age, Continuous(years) | ECAP-controlled, Closed-loop SCS |
|---|---|
| Mean | 63.3 ± 12.5 |
| Sex: Female, Male(Participants) | ECAP-controlled, Closed-loop SCS |
|---|---|
| Female | 126 |
| Male | 105 |
| Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)(Participants) | ECAP-controlled, Closed-loop SCS |
|---|---|
| Hispanic or Latino | 13 |
| Not Hispanic or Latino | 218 |
| Unknown or Not Reported | 0 |
| Race (NIH/OMB)(Participants) | ECAP-controlled, Closed-loop SCS |
|---|---|
| American Indian or Alaska Native | 0 |
| Asian | 1 |
| Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander | 0 |
| Black or African American | 11 |
| White | 217 |
| More than one race | 2 |
| Unknown or Not Reported | 0 |
| Region of Enrollment(participants) | ECAP-controlled, Closed-loop SCS |
|---|---|
| United States | 231 |
Documents are hosted by the registry — open the source record to download them.
Plan to share: No
Ran from Oct 2020 to primary completion in Dec 2023, 37 months.
Results were first posted in Dec 2024, 1 year after primary completion.
Of 87 industry-sponsored interventional studies with no phase under Chronic Pain, half reached primary completion within 21 months of starting (the median), counting those still running; a quarter within 11 and three quarters within 30. This study's 37 months is above that.
Counting every sponsor, half of 1,296 studies reached it within 21 months; a quarter within 9 and three quarters within 39.
How these figures are worked out, and which studies are left out of them.
This study is completed, as verified in Dec 2024. You cannot join it, but the record below documents what was studied.
Get an email when the registry record changes — status, dates, results — or when someone posts here.
Sign in to followQuestions and observations about this study, from anyone following it. Not medical advice, and not a channel to the study team — their contact details are on the registry record.
Sign in to join the discussion. Reading takes no account; posting does. You choose a display name, and a pseudonym is the default.
Nothing here yet. If you are running this trial, taking part in it, or weighing whether to, this is the place to say so.
Saluda Medical Pty Ltd