ClinicalTrials.gg
TerminatedNCT03710161Updated Dec 1, 2023Results posted

Effect of Vitamin D Supplementation on Balance in CKD

A Phase 4 interventional study of Vitamin D in Renal Insufficiency, Chronic and Kidney Failure, Chronic, sponsored by University of Nebraska. Terminated at 1 site in United States. Open to participants aged 21 Years to 70 Years. Per ClinicalTrials.gov, last updated 2023-12-01.

Sponsored by University of Nebraska · Phase 4, Interventional, and Treatment

Why this study was terminated
Study was stopped due to the COVID pandemic
Phase
Phase 4
Study type
Interventional
Enrollment
5
Allocation
Randomized
Ages
21 Years to 70 Years
Sex
All
01

Study summary

Patients with end-stage renal disease on dialysis (ESRD5D) are 4-5x more likely to suffer from a fracture. Fractures can occur spontaneously but typically occur after a fall. Further, 70-90% of patients with ESRD5D are vitamin D deficient. Vitamin D supplementation has become routine care for many in this patient population, but evidence is lacking to support this practice. The proposed projects objective is to gather needed preliminary data regarding the effects of vitamin D supplementation on balance and muscle strength in patients with ESRD5D.

Read the detailed description

In 2009, \~6% of the annual Medicare budget was spent to treat people with end-stage renal disease on dialysis (ESRD5D), making chronic kidney disease (CKD) an important and costly health problem affecting the United States. These patients are 4-5x more likely to suffer from a fracture. Fractures can occur spontaneously but typically occur after a fall. Further, 70-90% of patients with ESRD5D are vitamin D deficient. Vitamin D supplementation has become routine care for many in this patient population; without evidence to support this practice. While studies on the elderly document the effect of vitamin D in decreasing fall risk, findings are inconclusive for those elderly individuals with ESRD5D. The proposed projects objective is to gather needed preliminary data regarding the effects of vitamin D supplementation on balance and muscle strength in patients with ESRD5D. Thirty patients with ESRD5D will be recruited and randomized into two groups: 1) 4000 or 2) 800 IU oral, vitamin D taken daily. Men and women (ages 21-70 years) will be recruited from among patients receiving hemodialysis at a UNMC-directed dialysis facility. Other inclusion criteria include 1) likely to be able to complete the study; 2) ambulatory, without a walking aid; 3) able to complete questionnaires interactively with a research nurse; and 4) greater than 3 months on hemodialysis. Exclusion criteria include patients on peritoneal dialysis, allergy to vitamin D, liver disease, intestinal disorders that would interfere with vitamin D absorption; vitamin D supplements >800 IU per day, glucocorticoids, anticonvulsants, drug therapies for osteoporosis. All patients will be receiving standard of care per their nephrologist. Functional data will be collected at baseline, three, and six months. Data collected will include balance, muscle strength, and falls. Data to monitor vitamin D levels and calcium will be pulled from their medical record. There is no follow up after the six month long study.

02

Conditions studied

  • Renal Insufficiency, Chronic
  • Kidney Failure, Chronic

Keywords

  • dialysis
  • end stage renal disease
03

In context

Renal Insufficiency, Chronic

3,224 studies on the registry are indexed under Renal Insufficiency, Chronic; 706 are open to participants now.

This study's enrollment of 5 is below the median of 74 across 2,229 interventional studies indexed under Renal Insufficiency, Chronic.

Browse Renal Insufficiency, Chronic studies →

Lead sponsor

University of Nebraska is the lead sponsor of 495 studies on the registry; 68 are open to participants now.

Of its 83 completed or terminated interventional studies of FDA-regulated products, 52 (63%) have results posted.

Counted across the registry records on this site, refreshed daily.

04

Who can participate

Ages eligible
21 Years to 70 Years
Sexes eligible
All
Accepts healthy volunteers
No

Go through the criteria one by one — yes, no or not sure — and take the list to your doctor or the study team. Kept in this browser only.

Inclusion criteria

  • must be likely to be able to complete the study
  • must be able to walk without a walking aid
  • must be able to complete questionnaires interactively research staff
  • must have been on dialysis for greater than 3 months
  • all patients must be receiving standard of care per their nephrologist

Exclusion criteria

Exclusion Criteria:

  • peritoneal dialysis
  • an allergy to vitamin D
  • liver disease
  • intestinal disorders that would interfere with vitamin D absorption
  • taking vitamin D supplements >800 IU per day, glucocorticoids, anticonvulsants, or other drug therapies for osteoporosis
  • are pregnant
05

Study design

Phase
Phase 4
Primary purpose
Treatment
Allocation
Randomized
Intervention model
Parallel assignment
Masking
Double (Investigator, Outcomes assessor)
Enrollment
5 participants (actual)

Study arms

  • Experimental
    4000 IU Vitamin D

    4000 IU Vitamin D taken daily for six months

    Drug: Vitamin D

  • Active comparator
    800 IU Vitamin D

    800 IU Vitamin D taken daily for six months

    Drug: Vitamin D

Interventions

  • Vitamin D taken in two different dosages daily for six months.

    Also known as: 25(OH)D

06

What researchers measure

Primary outcomes

  1. Timed up and go

    This measures fall risk. The measure is a length of time it takes to complete a walking test. A longer score indicates a longer amount of time to complete the test. A shorter amount of time is considered better.

    Time frame: Baseline

  2. Fullerton Advanced Balance Scale

    This 10 item assessment measures one's balance. Scores can range between 0-40. A score of 40 is considered the best performance.

    Time frame: Baseline

  3. Gait Speed Over 20 Meters

    Walking speed is measured over distance of 20 meters. Walking speed is measured in meters per second. A faster walking speed is considered better. Time in seconds needed to cover 20 meters while walking is reported.

    Time frame: Baseline

Secondary outcomes

  1. Strength of the Quadriceps (Right Leg)

    Muscle strength of the muscles in the thigh will be measured using an isokinetic dynamometer. Strength is measured by the amount of force (peak torque) and will be divided by body mass (kg). Strength is reported as a percent of body weight. A greater peak torque percentage is considered better.

    Time frame: Baseline

07

Results

Posted Jun 14, 2021

Participant flow

Participant flow — Overall Study
Milestone4000 IU Vitamin D800 IU Vitamin D
Started32
Completed00
Not completed32
Withdrew: Study halted due to covid pandemic32

Outcome measures

PrimaryTimed up and go

This measures fall risk. The measure is a length of time it takes to complete a walking test. A longer score indicates a longer amount of time to complete the test. A shorter amount of time is considered better.

Time frame:
Baseline
Reported as:
Mean · seconds
Timed up and go
seconds4000 IU Vitamin D800 IU Vitamin D
Timed up and go11.4 ± 5.29.8 ± 1.7
PrimaryFullerton Advanced Balance Scale

This 10 item assessment measures one's balance. Scores can range between 0-40. A score of 40 is considered the best performance.

Time frame:
Baseline
Reported as:
Mean · score on a scale
Fullerton Advanced Balance Scale
score on a scale4000 IU Vitamin D800 IU Vitamin D
Fullerton Advanced Balance Scale25.3 ± 6.934 ± 5
PrimaryGait Speed Over 20 Meters

Walking speed is measured over distance of 20 meters. Walking speed is measured in meters per second. A faster walking speed is considered better. Time in seconds needed to cover 20 meters while walking is reported.

Time frame:
Baseline
Reported as:
Mean · seconds (Time in seconds to walk 20m)
Gait Speed Over 20 Meters
seconds (Time in seconds to walk 20m)4000 IU Vitamin D800 IU Vitamin D
Gait Speed Over 20 Meters22.2 ± 6.620.0 ± .7
SecondaryStrength of the Quadriceps (Right Leg)

Muscle strength of the muscles in the thigh will be measured using an isokinetic dynamometer. Strength is measured by the amount of force (peak torque) and will be divided by body mass (kg). Strength is reported as a percent of body weight. A greater peak torque percentage is considered better.

Time frame:
Baseline
Reported as:
Mean · percent body weight
Strength of the Quadriceps (Right Leg)
percent body weight4000 IU Vitamin D800 IU Vitamin D
Strength of the Quadriceps (Right Leg)58.9 ± 39.755.3 ± 16.7

Adverse events

Collected over 6 months. Non-serious events are listed at a 5% frequency threshold.

Adverse event summary by group
GroupDeathsSeriousOther
4000 IU Vitamin D0/3 (0%)0/3 (0%)0/3 (0%)
800 IU Vitamin D0/2 (0%)0/2 (0%)0/2 (0%)

Baseline characteristics

Age, Continuous
Age, Continuous(years)4000 IU Vitamin D800 IU Vitamin DTotal
Mean60.3 ± 5.748.5 ± 5.555.6 ± 8.1
Sex: Female, Male
Sex: Female, Male(Participants)4000 IU Vitamin D800 IU Vitamin DTotal
Female011
Male314
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)(Participants)4000 IU Vitamin D800 IU Vitamin DTotal
Hispanic or Latino011
Not Hispanic or Latino314
Unknown or Not Reported000
Race (NIH/OMB)
Race (NIH/OMB)(Participants)4000 IU Vitamin D800 IU Vitamin DTotal
American Indian or Alaska Native000
Asian000
Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander000
Black or African American202
White011
More than one race112
Unknown or Not Reported000
Region of Enrollment
Region of Enrollment(Participants)4000 IU Vitamin D800 IU Vitamin DTotal
United States325
Height (cm)
Height (cm)(cm)4000 IU Vitamin D800 IU Vitamin DTotal
Mean174.7 ± 5.0166.5 ± 2.5171.7 ± 5.8
Mass (kg)
Mass (kg)(kg)4000 IU Vitamin D800 IU Vitamin DTotal
Mean97.0 ± 21.5112.3 ± 22103.1 ± 22.9
Resting HR
Resting HR(bpm)4000 IU Vitamin D800 IU Vitamin DTotal
Mean69.3 ± 12.369 ± 169.2 ± 9.5
08

Study locations

1 site
  • University of Nebraska at Omaha
    Omaha, Nebraska 68182, United States
09

References and documents

Study documents

  • Protocol and statistical analysis plan · Jun 1, 2020

Documents are hosted by the registry — open the source record to download them.

Individual participant data

Plan to share: No — De -identified data will be published as supplementary data to manuscripts.

10

Updates

Tracking since Sep 25, 2026
No changes since tracking began. The registry record was last updated on Dec 1, 2023, before this site started recording changes on Sep 25, 2026. Its history is on ClinicalTrials.gov ↗
11

Registry details

Key details

Study ID
NCT03710161
Responsible party
Sponsor
First posted
Oct 18, 2018
Start date
Jul 8, 2019
Primary completion
Mar 13, 2020
Completion
Mar 13, 2020
Results posted
Jun 14, 2021
Last update
Dec 1, 2023

Study contacts

Jenna Yentes, PhD
principal investigator · University of Nebraska

Oversight

Data monitoring committee
No
FDA-regulated drug
Yes
FDA-regulated device
No
View the source record on ClinicalTrials.gov ↗

Not currently enrolling

This study is terminated, as verified in Nov 2023. You cannot join it, but the record below documents what was studied.

Follow this study

Get an email when the registry record changes — status, dates, results — or when someone posts here.

Sign in to follow

Discussion

Questions and observations about this study, from anyone following it. Not medical advice, and not a channel to the study team — their contact details are on the registry record.

Sign in to join the discussion. Reading takes no account; posting does. You choose a display name, and a pseudonym is the default.

Nothing here yet. If you are running this trial, taking part in it, or weighing whether to, this is the place to say so.

Studies of the drug tested here: Vitamin D

Start the discussion