CClinicalTrials.gg
TerminatedNCT03691935Updated Feb 10, 2025Results posted

Erector Spinae Plane Block (ESPB): in Patients Undergoing Surgery Through a Flank or Anterior Subcostal Incision.

A Phase 4 interventional study of Ropivacaine and Normal saline in Nephrectomy, Partial Nephrectomy and Incision Site Discomfort, sponsored by Milton S. Hershey Medical Center. Terminated at 1 site in United States. Open to participants aged 18 Years to 85 Years. Per ClinicalTrials.gov, last updated 2025-02-10.

Sponsored by Milton S. Hershey Medical Center · Phase 4, Interventional, and Treatment

Why this study was terminated
Slow enrollment related to global pandemic and changes to surgical practice.
Phase
Phase 4
Study type
Interventional
Enrollment
20
Allocation
Randomized
Ages
18 Years to 85 Years
Sex
All
01

Study summary

Using a randomized double-blinded study design, the study goal is to evaluate the superiority of Erector Spinae Plane block (ESPB) in the peri-operative pain management of patients undergoing surgery through a flank or anterior subcostal incision as compared to the standard of care of using IV and oral opiates.

Read the detailed description

40 subjects will be randomized in to 2 groups, with 20 in each group.

  • Group 1. Erector spinae plane block (ESPB) (containing Ropivacaine)
  • Group 2. Sham Erector spinae plane block. (SESPB) (with normal saline)
02

Conditions studied

  • Nephrectomy
  • Partial Nephrectomy
  • Incision Site Discomfort

Browse trials for

Keywords

  • kidney
  • surgery
  • analgesia
  • surgical incision
  • opioid sparing
  • flank pain
  • local anesthesia
03

In context

Surgical Wound

519 studies on the registry are indexed under Surgical Wound; 71 are open to participants now.

This study's enrollment of 20 is below the median of 80 across 412 interventional studies indexed under Surgical Wound.

Browse Surgical Wound studies →

Lead sponsor

Milton S. Hershey Medical Center is the lead sponsor of 480 studies on the registry; 61 are open to participants now.

Of its 56 completed or terminated interventional studies of FDA-regulated products, 42 (75%) have results posted.

Counted across the registry records on this site, refreshed daily.

04

Who can participate

Ages eligible
18 Years to 85 Years
Sexes eligible
All
Accepts healthy volunteers
No

Inclusion criteria

  • Consenting adults age 18-85
  • American Society of Anesthesiologists (ASA) Physical Status classification I to III
  • Planned to be hospitalized for at least 24 hours post-op
  • Cognitive capacity to use the visual analogic scale (VAS) and complete the patient satisfaction survey

Exclusion criteria

Exclusion Criteria:

  • Patient refusal
  • Patients with allergies to local anesthetics or opiates (hydromorphone or oxycodone)
  • Scoliosis
  • Patients with chronic pain syndromes or who are on chronic pain medications/other neurologic medication of more than 3 months or whom have neuromodulators/stimulators
  • Concurrent surgeries requiring additional incisions on the body
05

Study design

Phase
Phase 4
Primary purpose
Treatment
Allocation
Randomized
Intervention model
Parallel assignment
Masking
Triple (Participant, Care provider, Investigator)
Enrollment
20 participants (actual)

Study arms

  • Experimental
    Ropivicaine

    Erector Spinae Block of 20ml 0.5% ropivicaine bolus, connected to a pump containing 0.2% ropivicaine receiving 15ml every 3 hrs.

    Drug: Ropivacaine

  • Sham comparator
    Normal Saline

    Erector Spinae Block of 20ml normal saline placebo bolus, then connected to pump of normal saline receiving 15ml every 3 hrs.

    Drug: Normal saline

Interventions

  • DrugRopivacaine

    Erector Spinae Block with ropivacaine infusion with standard of care analgesics for perioperative pain control

    Also known as: Naropin

  • DrugNormal saline

    Erector Spinae Block with saline infusion with standard of care analgesics for for perioperative pain control

    Also known as: Sham anesthetic

06

What researchers measure

Primary outcomes

  1. Pain Scores Using the Visual Analogue Pain Scale From Zero Pain to Level Ten Pain

    Data will be collected via the electronic medical record and begin following patient randomization. The Visual Analogue Scale pain scales will be administered and collected on Post Operative Days 1, 2 and 3. Minimum value = 0 No Pain, Maximum value = 10 Worst possible, unbearable, excruciating pain

    Time frame: Aggregate pain scores for average length of hospital stay which is 3 days

07

Results

Posted Feb 10, 2025
Limitations and caveats
Early termination leading to small numbers of subjects analyzed due Covid-19 and changes to surgical practice standard of care.

Participant flow

Participant flow — Overall Study
MilestoneRopivicaineNormal Saline
Started119
Completed68
Not completed51
Withdrew: Physician decision21
Withdrew: Adverse event30

Outcome measures

PrimaryPain Scores Using the Visual Analogue Pain Scale From Zero Pain to Level Ten Pain

Data will be collected via the electronic medical record and begin following patient randomization. The Visual Analogue Scale pain scales will be administered and collected on Post Operative Days 1, 2 and 3. Minimum value = 0 No Pain, Maximum value = 10 Worst possible, unbearable, excruciating pain

Time frame:
Aggregate pain scores for average length of hospital stay which is 3 days
Reported as:
Mean · units on a scale
Pain Scores Using the Visual Analogue Pain Scale From Zero Pain to Level Ten Pain
units on a scaleRopivicaineNormal Saline
Pain Scores Using the Visual Analogue Pain Scale From Zero Pain to Level Ten Pain3.55 ± 1.24.6 ± 2.15

Adverse events

Collected over From enrollment to 14 days post-op for each subject. Non-serious events are listed at a 0% frequency threshold.

Adverse event summary by group
GroupDeathsSeriousOther
Ropivicaine0/11 (0%)1/11 (9.1%)3/11 (27.3%)
Normal Saline0/9 (0%)0/9 (0%)1/9 (11.1%)
Most frequent serious events
Most frequent serious events
EventRopivicaineNormal Saline
Post-op ileusGastrointestinal disorders1/110/9
Most frequent other events
Most frequent other events
EventRopivicaineNormal Saline
Increased painGeneral disorders3/111/9

Baseline characteristics

Age, Continuous
Age, Continuous(years)RopivicaineNormal SalineTotal
Mean57 ± 1361 ± 9.259 ± 11
Sex: Female, Male
Sex: Female, Male(Participants)RopivicaineNormal SalineTotal
Female358
Male8412
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)(Participants)RopivicaineNormal SalineTotal
Hispanic or Latino101
Not Hispanic or Latino10919
Unknown or Not Reported000
Race (NIH/OMB)
Race (NIH/OMB)(Participants)RopivicaineNormal SalineTotal
American Indian or Alaska Native000
Asian000
Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander000
Black or African American011
White11819
More than one race000
Unknown or Not Reported000
Region of Enrollment
Region of Enrollment(Participants)RopivicaineNormal SalineTotal
United States11920
08

Study locations

1 site
  • Milton S Hershey Medical Center
    Hershey, Pennsylvania 17033, United States
09

References and documents

Publications

  • Sharma V, Margreiter M. Partial nephrectomy: is there still a need for open surgery? Curr Urol Rep. 2013 Feb;14(1):1-4. doi: 10.1007/s11934-012-0297-2. PubMed 23233109 ↗
  • Gerbershagen HJ, Aduckathil S, van Wijck AJ, Peelen LM, Kalkman CJ, Meissner W. Pain intensity on the first day after surgery: a prospective cohort study comparing 179 surgical procedures. Anesthesiology. 2013 Apr;118(4):934-44. doi: 10.1097/ALN.0b013e31828866b3. PubMed 23392233 ↗
  • Gerbershagen HJ, Pogatzki-Zahn E, Aduckathil S, Peelen LM, Kappen TH, van Wijck AJ, Kalkman CJ, Meissner W. Procedure-specific risk factor analysis for the development of severe postoperative pain. Anesthesiology. 2014 May;120(5):1237-45. doi: 10.1097/ALN.0000000000000108. PubMed 24356102 ↗
  • de Beer Jde V, Winemaker MJ, Donnelly GA, Miceli PC, Reiz JL, Harsanyi Z, Payne LW, Darke AC. Efficacy and safety of controlled-release oxycodone and standard therapies for postoperative pain after knee or hip replacement. Can J Surg. 2005 Aug;48(4):277-83. PubMed 16149361 ↗
  • Recart A, Duchene D, White PF, Thomas T, Johnson DB, Cadeddu JA. Efficacy and safety of fast-track recovery strategy for patients undergoing laparoscopic nephrectomy. J Endourol. 2005 Dec;19(10):1165-9. doi: 10.1089/end.2005.19.1165. PubMed 16359206 ↗
  • Watcha MF, Issioui T, Klein KW, White PF. Costs and effectiveness of rofecoxib, celecoxib, and acetaminophen for preventing pain after ambulatory otolaryngologic surgery. Anesth Analg. 2003 Apr;96(4):987-994. doi: 10.1213/01.ANE.0000053255.93270.31. PubMed 12651647 ↗
  • Yenidunya O, Bircan HY, Altun D, Caymaz I, Demirag A, Turkoz A. Anesthesia management with ultrasound-guided thoracic paravertebral block for donor nephrectomy: A prospective randomized study. J Clin Anesth. 2017 Feb;37:1-6. doi: 10.1016/j.jclinane.2016.10.038. Epub 2016 Dec 15. PubMed 28235492 ↗
  • Forero M, Adhikary SD, Lopez H, Tsui C, Chin KJ. The Erector Spinae Plane Block: A Novel Analgesic Technique in Thoracic Neuropathic Pain. Reg Anesth Pain Med. 2016 Sep-Oct;41(5):621-7. doi: 10.1097/AAP.0000000000000451. PubMed 27501016 ↗
  • Forero M, Rajarathinam M, Adhikary S, Chin KJ. Continuous Erector Spinae Plane Block for Rescue Analgesia in Thoracotomy After Epidural Failure: A Case Report. A A Case Rep. 2017 May 15;8(10):254-256. doi: 10.1213/XAA.0000000000000478. PubMed 28252539 ↗
  • Chin KJ, Adhikary S, Sarwani N, Forero M. The analgesic efficacy of pre-operative bilateral erector spinae plane (ESP) blocks in patients having ventral hernia repair. Anaesthesia. 2017 Apr;72(4):452-460. doi: 10.1111/anae.13814. Epub 2017 Feb 11. PubMed 28188621 ↗
  • Gordon DB, Polomano RC, Pellino TA, Turk DC, McCracken LM, Sherwood G, Paice JA, Wallace MS, Strassels SA, Farrar JT. Revised American Pain Society Patient Outcome Questionnaire (APS-POQ-R) for quality improvement of pain management in hospitalized adults: preliminary psychometric evaluation. J Pain. 2010 Nov;11(11):1172-86. doi: 10.1016/j.jpain.2010.02.012. Epub 2010 Apr 18. PubMed 20400379 ↗

Study documents

  • Protocol and statistical analysis plan · May 8, 2024
  • Informed consent form · May 8, 2024

Documents are hosted by the registry — open the source record to download them.

Individual participant data

Plan to share: No

10

Updates

Tracking since Sep 25, 2026
No changes since tracking began. The registry record was last updated on Feb 10, 2025, before this site started recording changes on Sep 25, 2026. Its history is on ClinicalTrials.gov ↗
11

Registry details

Key details

Study ID
NCT03691935
Lead sponsor
Milton S. Hershey Medical Center
Responsible party
Alireza Aminsharifi (Assistant Professor of Surgery, Milton S. Hershey Medical Center) — Principal investigator
First posted
Oct 2, 2018
Start date
Sep 28, 2018
Primary completion
Jan 19, 2024
Completion
Feb 2, 2024
Results posted
Feb 10, 2025
Last update
Feb 10, 2025

Study contacts

Alireza Aminsharifi, M.D.
principal investigator · Milton S. Hershey Medical Center
Sanjib Adhikary, M.D.
principal investigator · Milton S. Hershey Medical Center

Oversight

Data monitoring committee
Yes
FDA-regulated drug
Yes
FDA-regulated device
No
View the source record on ClinicalTrials.gov ↗

Not currently enrolling

This study is terminated, as verified in Jan 2025. You cannot join it, but the record below documents what was studied.

Follow this study

Get an email when the registry record changes — status, dates, results — or when someone posts here.

Sign in to follow

Discussion

Questions and observations about this study, from anyone following it. Not medical advice, and not a channel to the study team — their contact details are on the registry record.

Sign in to join the discussion. Reading takes no account; posting does. You choose a display name, and a pseudonym is the default.

Nothing here yet. If you are running this trial, taking part in it, or weighing whether to, this is the place to say so.

Start the discussion