CClinicalTrials.gg
CompletedNCT03513952Updated Jul 26, 2024Results posted

Atezolizumab and CYT107 in Treating Participants With Locally Advanced, Inoperable, or Metastatic Urothelial Carcinoma

A Phase 2 interventional study of Atezolizumab and Biopsy in Advanced Bladder Urothelial Carcinoma, Advanced Ureter Urothelial Carcinoma and Metastatic Bladder Urothelial Carcinoma, sponsored by National Cancer Institute (NCI). Completed at 9 sites in United States. Open to participants aged 18 Years and older. Per ClinicalTrials.gov, last updated 2024-07-26.

Sponsored by National Cancer Institute (NCI) · Phase 2, Interventional, and Treatment

Phase
Phase 2
Study type
Interventional
Enrollment
47
Allocation
Randomized
Ages
18 Years and older
Sex
All
01

Study summary

This phase II trial studies how well atezolizumab when given with glycosylated recombinant human interleukin-7 (CYT107) works in treating patients with urothelial carcinoma that has spread to nearby tissue or lymph nodes (locally advanced), cannot be removed by surgery (inoperable), or has spread to other places in the body (metastatic). Immunotherapy with monoclonal antibodies, such as atezolizumab, may help the body's immune system attack the cancer, and may interfere with the ability of tumor cells to grow and spread. CYT107 is a biological product naturally made by the body that may stimulate the immune system to destroy tumor cells. Giving atezolizumab and CYT107 may work better in treating patients with locally advanced, inoperable, or metastatic urothelial carcinoma compared to atezolizumab alone.

Read the detailed description

PRIMARY OBJECTIVE:

I. To determine the clinical efficacy of the investigational treatment combination.

SECONDARY OBJECTIVES:

I. To determine the clinical activity and toxicity of the investigational treatment combination.

II. The clinical benefit rate (CBR), progression-free survival (PFS), duration of response (DOR), as measured by Response Evaluation Criteria in Solid Tumors (RECIST) 1.1 and immune-related response criteria (irRC), and overall survival (OS).

III. The CBR, PFS, DOR, and OS in all patients and patients stratified by PD-L1 expression levels in the tumor microenvironment.

IV. The safety and toxicity of addition of CYT107 to atezolizumab.

EXPLORATORY OBJECTIVES:

I. To determine the immune correlates of the clinical activity of the investigational treatment combination.

II. Explore the effect of the investigational treatment combination on the number and phenotype of tumor-specific T cells in the peripheral blood.

III. Investigate for evidence that the investigational treatment combination increases the exposure of bladder cancer-specific antigens (e.g., cancer/testis antigens or neoantigens).

IV. Investigate changes in tumor microenvironment that correlate with response or provide information on potential actionable causes for lack of clinical benefit.

V. Investigate the potential that administration of atezolizumab with CYT107 may perturb the pharmacokinetics and immunogenicity of CYT107.

OUTLINE:

SAFETY RUN-IN PHASE: Patients assigned to the experimental arm (atezolizumab + CYT107). If the treatment combination of the experimental arm demonstrates an acceptable safety profile in the Safety Run-In (one or fewer patient experiences a protocol-defined Dose Limiting-Toxicity), randomized enrollment into the trial will begin. The Run-in phase patients will be analyzed and reported separately both for safety and for efficacy.

Patients are randomized to 1 of 2 groups.

GROUP 1 (experimental arm): Patients receive CYT107 intramuscularly (IM) on days 1, 8, 15, and 22, and atezolizumab intravenously (IV) over 60 minutes on day 8 of cycle 1. Following cycle 1, patients receive atezolizumab IV over 30-60 minutes on day 1. Cycles with atezolizumab repeat every 21 days for up to 2 years in the absence of disease progression or unacceptable toxicity. Patients also undergo computed tomography (CT) and/or magnetic resonance imaging (MRI) scans, and collection of blood and stool samples on study. Patients may also undergo tumor biopsy at screening and on study.

GROUP 2 (control arm): Patients receive atezolizumab IV over 60 minutes on cycle 1. Following cycle 1, patients receive atezolizumab IV over 30-60 minutes on day 1. Cycles repeat every 21 days for up to 2 years in the absence of disease progression or unacceptable toxicity. Patients also undergo CT and/or MRI scans, and collection of blood and stool samples on study. Patients may also undergo tumor biopsy at screening and on study.

After completion of study treatment, patients are followed up at 30 days and then every 12 weeks for up to 2 years.

02

Conditions studied

  • Advanced Bladder Urothelial Carcinoma
  • Advanced Ureter Urothelial Carcinoma
  • Metastatic Bladder Urothelial Carcinoma
  • Metastatic Renal Pelvis Urothelial Carcinoma
  • Metastatic Ureter Urothelial Carcinoma
  • Metastatic Urethral Urothelial Carcinoma
  • Metastatic Urothelial Carcinoma
  • Recurrent Bladder Urothelial Carcinoma
  • Recurrent Renal Pelvis Urothelial Carcinoma
  • Recurrent Ureter Urothelial Carcinoma
  • Recurrent Urethral Urothelial Carcinoma
  • Stage III Bladder Cancer AJCC v8
  • Stage III Renal Pelvis Cancer AJCC v8
  • Stage III Ureter Cancer AJCC v8
  • Stage III Urethral Cancer AJCC v8
  • Stage IV Bladder Cancer AJCC v8
  • Stage IV Renal Pelvis Cancer AJCC v8
  • Stage IV Ureter Cancer AJCC v8
  • Stage IV Urethral Cancer AJCC v8
  • Stage IVA Bladder Cancer AJCC v8
  • Stage IVB Bladder Cancer AJCC v8
  • Unresectable Bladder Urothelial Carcinoma
  • Unresectable Renal Pelvis Urothelial Carcinoma
  • Unresectable Ureter Urothelial Carcinoma
03

In context

Carcinoma

6,738 studies on the registry are indexed under Carcinoma; 1,159 are open to participants now.

This study's enrollment of 47 is close to the median of 45 across 5,167 interventional studies indexed under Carcinoma.

Browse Carcinoma studies →

Lead sponsor

National Cancer Institute (NCI) is the lead sponsor of 3,506 studies on the registry; 334 are open to participants now.

Of its 402 completed or terminated interventional studies of FDA-regulated products, 365 (91%) have results posted.

Counted across the registry records on this site, refreshed daily.

04

Who can participate

Ages eligible
18 Years and older
Sexes eligible
All
Accepts healthy volunteers
No

Inclusion criteria

  • Patients must have histologically or cytologically documented locally advanced/inoperable or metastatic urothelial bladder carcinoma (UBC), including renal pelvis, ureters, urinary bladder, and urethra

    • Note: Mixed histology tumors allowed if predominant histology is urothelial carcinoma
    • Note: Small cell or neuroendocrine carcinoma is not allowed if predominant
  • Patients must have recurrent disease after any prior platinum-based chemotherapy regimen
  • Patients must have measurable disease per RECIST 1.1 assessed by computed tomography (CT) scan or magnetic resonance imaging (MRI)
  • ECOG performance status =\< 2 (Karnofsky >= 60%)
  • Patients must have a life expectancy of greater or equal to 12 weeks
  • Leukocytes >= 2,500/mcL
  • Absolute neutrophil count >= 1,000/mcL
  • Platelets >= 100,000/mcL
  • Hemoglobin >= 8 g/dL
  • Total bilirubin =\< 1.5 x institutional upper limit of normal (ULN) (however, patients with known Gilbert's disease who have serum bilirubin level =\< 3 x ULN may be enrolled)
  • Aspartate aminotransferase (AST) (serum glutamic-oxaloacetic transaminase [SGOT])/alanine aminotransferase (ALT) (serum glutamate pyruvate transaminase [SGPT]) =\< 3 x ULN (AST and/or ALT=\< 5 x ULN for patients with liver involvement)
  • Alkaline phosphatase =\< 2.5 x ULN (=\< 5 x ULN for patients with documented liver involvement or bone metastases)
  • Creatinine clearance >= 30 mL/min/1.73 m\^2 by Cockcroft-Gault

    • At the discretion of the treating physician, a 24-hour urine creatinine clearance could be obtained and utilized as the gold standard if creatinine clearance by Cockcroft-Gault is \< 30, and prevents patient enrollment on the trial
  • International normalized ratio (INR) and activated partial thromboplastin time (aPTT) =\< 1.5 x ULN (this applies only to patients who do not receive therapeutic anticoagulation; patients receiving therapeutic anticoagulation, such as low-molecular-weight heparin or warfarin, should be on a stable dose)
  • Patients must provide tissue from an archival tumor sample (obtained within 2 years from screening visit) or newly obtained core, punch, or excisional biopsy of a tumor lesion if deemed relatively safe and technically feasible
  • Female patients of childbearing potential must have a negative urine or serum pregnancy test within 72 hours before receiving the first dose of study agent(s); if the urine test is positive or cannot be confirmed as negative, a serum pregnancy test will be required;

    • Administration of atezolizumab may have an adverse effect on pregnancy and poses a risk to the human fetus, including embryo-lethality; CYT107 has not been tested for reproductive toxicity yet and may expose to the same risk; women of child-bearing potential and men must agree to use adequate contraception (hormonal or barrier method of birth control; abstinence) before study entry, for the duration of study participation, and for 5 months (150 days) after the last dose of study agent; should a woman become pregnant or suspect she is pregnant while she or her partner is participating in this study, she should inform her treating physician immediately
  • Patients must have the ability to understand and the willingness to sign a written informed consent document
  • Patients positive for human immunodeficiency virus (HIV) are allowed on study, but HIV-positive patients must have:

    • A stable regimen of highly active antiretroviral therapy (HAART)
    • No requirement for concurrent antibiotics or antifungal agents for the prevention of opportunistic infections
    • A CD4 count above 250 cells/mcL and an undetectable HIV viral load on standard polymerase chain reaction (PCR)-based tests

Exclusion criteria

Exclusion Criteria:

  • Patients with prior allogeneic bone marrow transplantation or prior solid organ transplantation
  • Patients who have had chemotherapy or radiotherapy within 2 weeks (4 weeks for nitrosoureas or systemic mitomycin C) before the initiation of study treatment
  • Patients who have received more than 2 systemic cytotoxic chemotherapy regimens for metastatic urothelial carcinoma

    • Note: Prior perioperative chemotherapy is allowed and is not counted as a line of therapy if patient relapsed >= 12 months later and received additional platinum-based chemotherapy for metastatic disease
  • Patients who have not recovered from adverse events (other than alopecia) due to agents administered more than 4 weeks earlier (i.e., have residual toxicities > grade 1); however, the following therapies are allowed:

    • Hormone-replacement therapy or oral contraceptives
    • Herbal therapy >= 1 week before initiation of study treatment (herbal therapy intended as anticancer therapy must be discontinued at least 1 week before initiation of study treatment)
    • Palliative radiotherapy for bone metastases > 2 weeks before initiation of study treatment
  • Patients who have received prior treatment with anti-PD-1, or anti-PD-L1 therapeutic antibody, or pathway -targeting agents

    • Patients who have received prior treatment with anti-CTLA-4 may be enrolled, provided the following requirements are met:

      • Minimum of 12 weeks from the first dose of anti-CTLA-4 and > 6 weeks from the last dose
      • No history of severe immune-related adverse effects from anti-CTLA-4 (National Cancer Institute [NCI] Common Terminology Criteria for Adverse Events [CTCAE] grade 3 and 4)
  • Patients who have received treatment with any other investigational agent within 4 weeks before initiation of study treatment
  • Patients who have received treatment with systemic immunostimulatory agents (including, but not limited to, interferon [IFN]-alpha or interleukin [IL]-2) within 6 weeks before initiation of study treatment
  • Patients who have received treatment with systemic immunosuppressive medications (including, but not limited to, oral prednisone ( > 10 mg/day or equivalent), cyclophosphamide, azathioprine, methotrexate, thalidomide, and anti-tumor necrosis factor [anti TNF] agents) within 2 weeks before initiation of study treatment

    • Patients who have received acute, low dose, systemic immunosuppressant medications (e.g., a one-time dose of dexamethasone for nausea) may be enrolled
    • The use of inhaled corticosteroids, and mineralocorticoids (e.g., fludrocortisone) for patients with orthostatic hypotension or adrenocortical insufficiency is allowed
  • Patients taking bisphosphonate therapy for symptomatic hypercalcemia

    • Note: Use of bisphosphonate therapy for other reasons (e.g., bone metastasis or osteoporosis) is allowed
  • Patients with known primary central nervous system (CNS) malignancy or symptomatic CNS metastases are excluded, with the following exceptions:

    • Patients with asymptomatic untreated CNS disease may be enrolled, provided all of the following criteria are met:

      • Evaluable or measurable disease outside the CNS
      • No metastases to brain stem, midbrain, pons, medulla, cerebellum, or within 10 mm of the optic apparatus (optic nerves and chiasm)
      • No history of intracranial hemorrhage or spinal cord hemorrhage
      • No ongoing requirement for dexamethasone for CNS disease; patients on a stable dose of anticonvulsants are permitted
      • No neurosurgical resection or brain biopsy within 28 days before initiation of study treatment
    • Patients with asymptomatic treated CNS metastases may be enrolled, provided all the criteria listed above are met as well as the following:

      • Radiographic demonstration of improvement upon the completion of CNS directed therapy and no evidence of interim progression between the completion of CNS directed therapy and the screening radiographic study
      • No stereotactic radiation or whole-brain radiation within 28 days before initiation of study treatment
      • Screening CNS radiographic study >= 4 weeks from completion of radiotherapy and >= 2 weeks from discontinuation of corticosteroids
    • Note: Patients with CNS metastases enrolled on trial must also have a brain MRI imaging at all standard radiologic evaluation timepoints
  • Patients with known hypersensitivity to Chinese hamster ovary cell products or other recombinant human antibodies
  • Patients who have a history of severe allergic, anaphylactic, or other hypersensitivity reactions to chimeric or humanized antibodies or fusion proteins
  • Patients with known clinically significant liver disease, including active viral, alcoholic, or other hepatitis; cirrhosis; fatty liver/nonalcoholic fatty liver disease (NAFLD)/nonalcoholic steatohepatitis (NASH); and inherited liver disease

    • Patients with past or resolved hepatitis B infection (defined as having a negative hepatitis B surface antigen [HBsAg] test and a positive anti-HBc [antibody to hepatitis B core antigen] antibody test) are eligible
    • Patients positive for hepatitis C virus (HCV) antibody are eligible only if polymerase chain reaction is negative for HCV ribonucleic acid (RNA)
  • Patients with active underlying autoimmune disease requiring systemic immunosuppressive medication (oral prednisone > 10 mg/day or equivalent). Topical, inhaled, or intra-articular steroids or physiologic endocrine replacement (insulin, levothyroxine, etc.) are permitted. Patients with a history of autoimmune disease that is not currently active require consultation with the protocol principal investigator (PI) and/or Cancer Immunotherapy Trials Network (CITN) Coordinating Center
  • Patients who have a history of idiopathic pulmonary fibrosis, pneumonitis (including drug induced), organizing pneumonia (bronchiolitis obliterans, cryptogenic organizing pneumonia, etc.), or evidence of active pneumonitis on screening chest CT scan; history of radiation pneumonitis in the radiation field (fibrosis) is permitted
  • Patients who have known additional malignancies other than UBC within 2 years before initiation of study treatment; exceptions include malignancies with a negligible risk of metastasis or death and treated with expected curative outcome (e.g., non-melanomatous skin cancers), or localized prostate cancer treated with curative intent and absence of prostate-specific antigen (PSA) relapse or incidental prostate cancer
  • Patients with active tuberculosis (TB)
  • Patients who have leptomeningeal disease
  • Patients who have severe infections within 4 weeks before initiation of study treatment, including, but not limited to, hospitalization for complications of infection, bacteremia, or severe pneumonia;

    • Exception: Uncomplicated urinary tract infection will not be considered as a severe infection in these patients
  • Patients who have signs or symptoms of infection within 2 weeks before initiation of study treatment
  • Patients who have received oral or IV antibiotics within 2 weeks before initiation of study treatment; patients receiving prophylactic antibiotics (e.g., for prevention of a urinary tract infection or chronic obstructive pulmonary disease) are eligible
  • Patients who have major surgical procedure, other than for diagnosis, within 28 days before initiation of study treatment or anticipation of need for a major surgical procedure during the course of the study
  • Patients who have had a live, attenuated vaccine within 4 weeks before initiation of study treatment or anticipation that such a live, attenuated vaccine will be required during the study and up to 5 months after the last dose of atezolizumab.

    • Influenza vaccination should be given during influenza season only (approximately October to March); patients must not receive live, attenuated influenza vaccine within 4 weeks before initiation of study treatment or at any time during the study
  • Uncontrolled intercurrent illness including, but not limited to, symptomatic congestive heart failure (New York Heart Association class III or IV), unstable angina pectoris, cardiac arrhythmia, recent myocardial infarction (within the last 6 months), or psychiatric illness/social situations that would limit compliance with study requirements
  • Prisoners or subjects who are compulsorily detained (involuntarily incarcerated) for treatment of either a psychiatric or medical (e.g., infectious) illness
05

Study design

Phase
Phase 2
Primary purpose
Treatment
Allocation
Randomized
Intervention model
Parallel assignment
Masking
None (open label)
Enrollment
47 participants (actual)

Study arms

  • Experimental
    Group 1 (CYT107, atezolizumab)

    Patients receive CYT107 IM on days 1, 8, 15, and 22, and atezolizumab IV over 60 minutes on day 8 of cycle 1. Following cycle 1, patients receive atezolizumab IV over 30-60 minutes on day 1. Cycles with atezolizumab repeat every 21 days for up to 2 years in the absence of disease progression or unacceptable toxicity. Patients also undergo CT and/or MRI scans, and collection of blood and stool samples on study. Patients may also undergo tumor biopsy at screening and on study.

    Drug: Atezolizumab · Procedure: Biopsy · Procedure: Biospecimen Collection · Procedure: Computed Tomography · Biological: Glycosylated Recombinant Human Interleukin-7 · Other: Laboratory Biomarker Analysis · Procedure: Magnetic Resonance Imaging · Procedure: Positron Emission Tomography and Computed Tomography Scan

  • Active comparator
    Group 2 (atezolizumab)

    Patients receive atezolizumab IV over 60 minutes on cycle 1. Following cycle 1, patients receive atezolizumab IV over 30-60 minutes on day 1. Cycles repeat every 21 days for up to 2 years in the absence of disease progression or unacceptable toxicity. Patients also undergo CT and/or MRI scans, and collection of blood and stool samples on study. Patients may also undergo tumor biopsy at screening and on study.

    Drug: Atezolizumab · Procedure: Biopsy · Procedure: Biospecimen Collection · Procedure: Computed Tomography · Other: Laboratory Biomarker Analysis · Procedure: Magnetic Resonance Imaging · Procedure: Positron Emission Tomography and Computed Tomography Scan

  • Experimental
    Safety run in phase

    Patients assigned to the experimental arm (atezolizumab + CYT107). If the treatment combination of the experimental arm demonstrates an acceptable safety profile in the Safety Run-In (one or fewer patient experiences a protocol-defined Dose Limiting-Toxicity), randomized enrollment into the trial will begin. The Run-in phase patients will be analyzed and reported separately both for safety and for efficacy.

    Drug: Atezolizumab · Procedure: Biopsy · Procedure: Biospecimen Collection · Procedure: Computed Tomography · Biological: Glycosylated Recombinant Human Interleukin-7 · Other: Laboratory Biomarker Analysis · Procedure: Magnetic Resonance Imaging · Procedure: Positron Emission Tomography and Computed Tomography Scan

Interventions

  • DrugAtezolizumab

    Given IV

    Also known as: MPDL 3280A, MPDL 328OA, MPDL-3280A, MPDL3280A, MPDL328OA, RG 7446, RG-7446, RG7446, RO 5541267, RO-5541267, RO5541267, Tecentriq

  • ProcedureBiopsy

    Undergo biopsy of tumor

    Also known as: BIOPSY_TYPE, Bx

  • ProcedureBiospecimen Collection

    Undergo collection of blood and stool samples

    Also known as: Biological Sample Collection, Biospecimen Collected, Specimen Collection

  • ProcedureComputed Tomography

    Undergo CT

    Also known as: CAT, CAT Scan, Computed Axial Tomography, Computerized Axial Tomography, Computerized axial tomography (procedure), Computerized Tomography, Computerized Tomography (CT) scan, CT, CT Scan, tomography

  • BiologicalGlycosylated Recombinant Human Interleukin-7

    Given IM

    Also known as: CYT-107, CYT107, Glycosylated rhIL-7, INTERLEUKIN-7 HUMAN RECOMBINANT

  • OtherLaboratory Biomarker Analysis

    Correlative studies

  • ProcedureMagnetic Resonance Imaging

    Undergo MRI

    Also known as: Magnetic Resonance, Magnetic Resonance Imaging (MRI), Magnetic resonance imaging (procedure), Magnetic Resonance Imaging Scan, Medical Imaging, Magnetic Resonance / Nuclear Magnetic Resonance, MR, MR Imaging, MRI, MRI Scan, MRIs, NMR Imaging, NMRI, Nuclear Magnetic Resonance Imaging, sMRI, Structural MRI

  • ProcedurePositron Emission Tomography and Computed Tomography Scan

    Undergo PET/CT

    Also known as: PET-CT Scan, PET/CT SCAN, Positron Emission Tomography/Computed Tomography

06

What researchers measure

Primary outcomes

  1. Objective Response Rate (ORR)

    ORR is defined as the proportion of patients who have achieved Complete Response (CR) - disappearance of all target lesions or Partial Response (PR) - \>=30% decrease in the sum of the longest diameter of target lesions according to Response Evaluation Criteria in Solid Tumors (RECIST) version 1.1; Overall Response (OR) = CR + PR.

    Time frame: Up to 2 years

Secondary outcomes

  1. Clinical Benefit Rate (CBR) Measured by RECIST v1.1

    CBR is defined as the percentage of patients with advanced or metastatic cancer who have achieved CR (disappearance of all target lesions), PR (\>=30% decrease in the sum of the longest diameter of target lesions), and stable disease (SD) (neither sufficient shrinkage to qualify for PR nor sufficient increase to qualify for disease progression, taking as reference the smallest sum diameters of target lesions) according to Response Evaluation Criteria in Solid Tumors (RECIST) version 1.1; CBR = CR + PR + SD. Will also assess CBR in patients stratified by PD-L1 expression levels in the tumor microenvironment.

    Time frame: Up to 2 years

  2. Progression-free Survival (PFS)

    Progression is defined, per RECIST v1.1, as a 20% increase in the sum of the longest diameter of target lesions (the sum must demonstrate an absolute increase of at least 5 mm), or the appearance of new lesions and/or unequivocal progression of non-target lesions. PFS will be summarized using Kaplan-Meier estimates. Will also assess PFS in patients stratified by PD-L1 expression levels in the tumor microenvironment.

    Time frame: Time from start of treatment to time of progression or death, whichever occurs first, assessed up to 2 years.

  3. Duration of Response (DOR)

    DOR is measured by RECIST v1.1. DOR will be summarized using Kaplan-Meier estimates. Will also assess DOR in patients stratified by PD-L1 expression levels in the tumor microenvironment.

    Time frame: Time interval between the date of first response (CR/PR) and the date of progression, assessed up to 2 years.

  4. Overall Survival (OS)

    OS will be summarized using Kaplan-Meier estimates. Will also assess OS in patients stratified by PD-L1 expression levels in the tumor microenvironment.

    Time frame: Time interval between start of treatment to death due to any cause, assessed up to 48 months.

Other outcomes

  1. Assessment of Investigation Treatment Combination on the Immune-bias of the Tumor Microenvironment

    The evaluation of the effect of the investigation treatment combination on the immune-bias of the tumor microenvironment, based upon baseline and post-baseline tumor biopsy comparisons of number, distribution, and phenotype of tumor-infiltrating cells; PD-L1 expression, and expression of Interferon gamma (IFN-gamma) and associated proinflammatory gene expression in the tumor microenvironment.

    Time frame: Up to 2 years

07

Results

Posted Jul 3, 2024

Participant flow

Safety Run-In Phase: If the treatment combination demonstrates an acceptable safety profile (one or fewer patient experiences a protocol-defined Dose Limiting-Toxicity), randomized enrollment will begin.

Participant flow — Overall Study
MilestoneGroup 1 (CYT107, Atezolizumab)Group 2 (Atezolizumab)Safety Run in Phase
Started19217
Completed320
Not completed16197

Outcome measures

PrimaryObjective Response Rate (ORR)

ORR is defined as the proportion of patients who have achieved Complete Response (CR) - disappearance of all target lesions or Partial Response (PR) - \>=30% decrease in the sum of the longest diameter of target lesions according to Response Evaluation Criteria in Solid Tumors (RECIST) version 1.1; Overall Response (OR) = CR + PR.

Time frame:
Up to 2 years
Reported as:
Count of participants · Participants
Objective Response Rate (ORR)
ParticipantsGroup 1 (CYT107, Atezolizumab)Group 2 (Atezolizumab)Safety Run in Phase
Partial Response (PR)340
Complete Response (CR)210
Combined total PR + CR550
Statistical analysis
  • Group 1 (CYT107, Atezolizumab) vs Group 2 (Atezolizumab) · Cochran-Mantel-Haenszel · p = 0.428 (A one-sided significance level of 0.10 will be considered for the test.)
SecondaryClinical Benefit Rate (CBR) Measured by RECIST v1.1

CBR is defined as the percentage of patients with advanced or metastatic cancer who have achieved CR (disappearance of all target lesions), PR (\>=30% decrease in the sum of the longest diameter of target lesions), and stable disease (SD) (neither sufficient shrinkage to qualify for PR nor sufficient increase to qualify for disease progression, taking as reference the smallest sum diameters of target lesions) according to Response Evaluation Criteria in Solid Tumors (RECIST) version 1.1; CBR = CR + PR + SD. Will also assess CBR in patients stratified by PD-L1 expression levels in the tumor microenvironment.

Time frame:
Up to 2 years
Reported as:
Count of participants · Participants
Clinical Benefit Rate (CBR) Measured by RECIST v1.1
ParticipantsGroup 1 (CYT107, Atezolizumab)Group 2 (Atezolizumab)Safety Run in Phase
Stable Disease (SD)242
Partial Response (PR)340
Complete Response (CR)210
Combined total CR + PR + SD792
Statistical analysis
  • Group 1 (CYT107, Atezolizumab) vs Group 2 (Atezolizumab) · Cochran-Mantel-Haenszel · p = 0.702 · Risk difference (rd): -6.0 · 95% CI -36.3 to 24.3
SecondaryProgression-free Survival (PFS)

Progression is defined, per RECIST v1.1, as a 20% increase in the sum of the longest diameter of target lesions (the sum must demonstrate an absolute increase of at least 5 mm), or the appearance of new lesions and/or unequivocal progression of non-target lesions. PFS will be summarized using Kaplan-Meier estimates. Will also assess PFS in patients stratified by PD-L1 expression levels in the tumor microenvironment.

Time frame:
Time from start of treatment to time of progression or death, whichever occurs first, assessed up to 2 years.
Reported as:
Median · months
Progression-free Survival (PFS)
monthsGroup 1 (CYT107, Atezolizumab)Group 2 (Atezolizumab)Safety Run in Phase
Progression-free Survival (PFS)2.1 (1.2 to 6.1)2.2 (1.8 to 4.6)2.1 (1.1 to 4.0)
SecondaryDuration of Response (DOR)

DOR is measured by RECIST v1.1. DOR will be summarized using Kaplan-Meier estimates. Will also assess DOR in patients stratified by PD-L1 expression levels in the tumor microenvironment.

Time frame:
Time interval between the date of first response (CR/PR) and the date of progression, assessed up to 2 years.
Reported as:
Median · months
Duration of Response (DOR)
monthsGroup 1 (CYT107, Atezolizumab)Group 2 (Atezolizumab)Safety Run in Phase
Duration of Response (DOR)NA (2.3 to NA)NA (4.0 to NA)—
SecondaryOverall Survival (OS)

OS will be summarized using Kaplan-Meier estimates. Will also assess OS in patients stratified by PD-L1 expression levels in the tumor microenvironment.

Time frame:
Time interval between start of treatment to death due to any cause, assessed up to 48 months.
Reported as:
Median · months
Overall Survival (OS)
monthsGroup 1 (CYT107, Atezolizumab)Group 2 (Atezolizumab)Safety Run in Phase
Overall Survival (OS)9.1 (2.6 to NA)10.4 (4.7 to 20.7)4.5 (1.1 to 9.8)
Other pre-specifiedAssessment of Investigation Treatment Combination on the Immune-bias of the Tumor Microenvironment

The evaluation of the effect of the investigation treatment combination on the immune-bias of the tumor microenvironment, based upon baseline and post-baseline tumor biopsy comparisons of number, distribution, and phenotype of tumor-infiltrating cells; PD-L1 expression, and expression of Interferon gamma (IFN-gamma) and associated proinflammatory gene expression in the tumor microenvironment.

Time frame:
Up to 2 years

Results for this outcome have not been posted.

Adverse events

Collected over Serious Adverse Events and other (not including serious) adverse events were assessed for up to 30 days post-treatment. All-cause mortality was assessed for up to 48 months.. Non-serious events are listed at a 5% frequency threshold.

Adverse event summary by group
GroupDeathsSeriousOther
Group 1 (CYT107, Atezolizumab)11/19 (57.9%)13/19 (68.4%)18/19 (94.7%)
Group 2 (Atezolizumab)14/21 (66.7%)11/19 (57.9%)19/19 (100%)
Safety Run in Phase6/7 (85.7%)5/7 (71.4%)7/7 (100%)
Most frequent serious events
Showing 10 of 52
Most frequent serious events
EventGroup 1 (CYT107, Atezolizumab)Group 2 (Atezolizumab)Safety Run in Phase
AnemiaBlood and lymphatic system disorders1/193/191/7
Acute Kidney InjuryRenal and urinary disorders1/193/190/7
Myocardial InfarctionCardiac disorders0/191/191/7
Disease ProgressionGeneral disorders1/190/191/7
FeverGeneral disorders0/191/191/7
Lung InfectionInfections and infestations1/191/191/7
SepsisInfections and infestations2/191/191/7
Blood Bilirubin IncreasedInvestigations0/190/191/7
HypercalcemiaMetabolism and nutrition disorders2/190/191/7
HyperkalemiaMetabolism and nutrition disorders1/190/191/7
Most frequent other events
Showing 10 of 190
Most frequent other events
EventGroup 1 (CYT107, Atezolizumab)Group 2 (Atezolizumab)Safety Run in Phase
FatigueGeneral disorders11/198/193/7
NauseaGastrointestinal disorders7/193/194/7
VomitingGastrointestinal disorders3/191/194/7
Creatinine IncreasedInvestigations9/196/193/7
AnemiaBlood and lymphatic system disorders7/198/193/7
FeverGeneral disorders4/192/193/7
Alkaline Phosphatase IncreasedInvestigations6/193/193/7
ConstipationGastrointestinal disorders8/196/191/7
DiarrheaGastrointestinal disorders1/198/191/7
Abdominal PainGastrointestinal disorders2/197/190/7

Baseline characteristics

Age, Continuous
Age, Continuous(years)Group 1 (CYT107, Atezolizumab)Group 2 (Atezolizumab)Safety Run in PhaseTotal
Mean65.7 ± 9.266.3 ± 8.559.7 ± 1165.1 ± 9.3
Sex: Female, Male
Sex: Female, Male(Participants)Group 1 (CYT107, Atezolizumab)Group 2 (Atezolizumab)Safety Run in PhaseTotal
Female3519
Male1616638
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)(Participants)Group 1 (CYT107, Atezolizumab)Group 2 (Atezolizumab)Safety Run in PhaseTotal
Hispanic or Latino0202
Not Hispanic or Latino1919644
Unknown or Not Reported0011
Race (NIH/OMB)
Race (NIH/OMB)(Participants)Group 1 (CYT107, Atezolizumab)Group 2 (Atezolizumab)Safety Run in PhaseTotal
American Indian or Alaska Native0000
Asian0000
Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander0000
Black or African American0303
White1918744
More than one race0000
Unknown or Not Reported0000
Region of Enrollment
Region of Enrollment(Participants)Group 1 (CYT107, Atezolizumab)Group 2 (Atezolizumab)Safety Run in PhaseTotal
United States1921747
08

Study locations

9 sites
  • Kaiser Permanente-Riverside
    Riverside, California 92505, United States
  • Moffitt Cancer Center
    Tampa, Florida 33612, United States
  • Straub Clinic and Hospital
    Honolulu, Hawaii 96813, United States
  • University of Hawaii Cancer Center
    Honolulu, Hawaii 96813, United States
  • University of Chicago Comprehensive Cancer Center
    Chicago, Illinois 60637, United States
  • East Jefferson General Hospital
    Metairie, Louisiana 70006, United States
  • Washington University School of Medicine
    Saint Louis, Missouri 63110, United States
  • Roswell Park Cancer Institute
    Buffalo, New York 14263, United States
  • FHCC South Lake Union
    Seattle, Washington 98109, United States
09

References and documents

Study documents

  • Protocol and statistical analysis plan · Oct 12, 2022

Documents are hosted by the registry — open the source record to download them.

10

Updates

Tracking since Sep 25, 2026
No changes since tracking began. The registry record was last updated on Jul 26, 2024, before this site started recording changes on Sep 25, 2026. Its history is on ClinicalTrials.gov ↗
11

Registry details

Key details

Study ID
NCT03513952
Lead sponsor
National Cancer Institute (NCI)
Responsible party
Sponsor
First posted
May 2, 2018
Start date
Jun 5, 2019
Primary completion
Sep 30, 2023
Completion
Apr 1, 2024
Results posted
Jul 3, 2024
Last update
Jul 26, 2024

Study contacts

Evan Y Yu
principal investigator · Cancer Immunotherapy Trials Network

Oversight

Data monitoring committee
No
FDA-regulated drug
Yes
FDA-regulated device
No
View the source record on ClinicalTrials.gov ↗

Not currently enrolling

This study is completed, as verified in May 2024. You cannot join it, but the record below documents what was studied.

Follow this study

Get an email when the registry record changes — status, dates, results — or when someone posts here.

Sign in to follow

Discussion

Questions and observations about this study, from anyone following it. Not medical advice, and not a channel to the study team — their contact details are on the registry record.

Sign in to join the discussion. Reading takes no account; posting does. You choose a display name, and a pseudonym is the default.

Nothing here yet. If you are running this trial, taking part in it, or weighing whether to, this is the place to say so.

Start the discussion