CClinicalTrials.gg
TerminatedNCT02627677OPTIC-2LUpdated Nov 26, 2021Results posted

A Study Comparing Ponatinib and Nilotinib in Participants With Chronic Myeloid Leukemia

A Phase 3 interventional study of Ponatinib 30 mg QD and Ponatinib 15 mg QD in Chronic Phase Chronic Myeloid Leukemia, sponsored by Ariad Pharmaceuticals. Terminated at 1 site in Belgium. Open to participants aged 18 Years and older. Per ClinicalTrials.gov, last updated 2021-11-26.

Sponsored by Ariad Pharmaceuticals · Phase 3, Interventional, and Treatment

Why this study was terminated
The study was stopped due to operational feasibility and not due to any safety concerns
Phase
Phase 3
Study type
Interventional
Enrollment
44
Allocation
Randomized
Ages
18 Years and older
Sex
All
01

Study summary

The purpose of this study is to compare the efficacy and safety of 2 starting doses of ponatinib compared to nilotinib in participants with imatinib-resistant chronic myeloid leukemia (CML) in chronic phase (CP).

Read the detailed description

This is a multi-center, randomized study to demonstrate the efficacy and safety of 2 starting doses of ponatinib as a treatment for CP-CML compared to nilotinib. Eligible participants must have chronic phase chronic myeloid leukemia (CP-CML), be resistant to first-line imatinib treatment and have received no other tyrosine kinase inhibitors (TKIs).

02

Conditions studied

  • Chronic Phase Chronic Myeloid Leukemia

Keywords

  • CML
  • CP-CML
  • Leukemia
  • Leukemia, Myeloid
  • Leukemia, Myelogenous, Chronic, BCR-ABL Positive
  • Neoplasms by Histologic Type
  • Neoplasms
  • Myeloproliferative Disorders
  • Bone Marrow Diseases
  • Hematologic Diseases
03

In context

Leukemia

5,441 studies on the registry are indexed under Leukemia; 636 are open to participants now.

This study's enrollment of 44 is above the median of 38 across 4,247 interventional studies indexed under Leukemia.

Browse Leukemia studies →

Lead sponsor

Ariad Pharmaceuticals is the lead sponsor of 13 studies on the registry; none are open to participants now.

Of its 5 completed or terminated interventional studies of FDA-regulated products, 5 (100%) have results posted.

Counted across the registry records on this site, refreshed daily.

04

Who can participate

Ages eligible
18 Years and older
Sexes eligible
All
Accepts healthy volunteers
No

Inclusion criteria

  1. Have CP-CML and are resistant to first-line imatinib treatment.
  2. Be male or female ≥18 years old.
  3. Have an Eastern Cooperative Oncology Group (ECOG) performance status of 0 or 1.
  4. Have adequate renal function as defined by the following criterion:

    • Serum creatinine ≤1.5 × upper limit of normal (ULN) for institution.
  5. Have adequate hepatic function as defined by all of the following criteria:

    • Total serum bilirubin ≤1.5 × ULN, unless due to Gilbert's syndrome
    • Alanine aminotransferase (ALT) ≤2.5 × ULN or ≤5 × ULN if leukemic infiltration of the liver is present
    • Aspartate aminotransferase (AST) ≤2.5 × ULN or ≤5 × ULN if leukemic infiltration of the liver is present.
  6. Have normal pancreatic status as defined by the following criterion:

    • Serum lipase and amylase ≤1.5 × ULN.

Exclusion criteria

Exclusion Criteria:

  1. Have previously been treated with any approved or investigational TKIs other than imatinib or treated with imatinib within 14 days prior to receiving study drug.
  2. Have previously been treated with any anti-CML therapy other than hydroxyurea, including interferon, cytarabine, immunotherapy, or any cytotoxic chemotherapy, radiotherapy, or investigational therapy.
  3. Underwent autologous or allogeneic stem cell transplant.
  4. Are in CCyR or MMR.
  5. Have clinically significant, uncontrolled, or active cardiovascular disease, specifically including, but not restricted to:

    • Any history of myocardial infarction (MI), unstable angina, cerebrovascular accident, or transient ischemic attack (TIA)
    • Any history of peripheral vascular infarction, including visceral infarction
    • Any history of a revascularization procedure, including vascular surgery or the placement of a stent
    • History of venous thromboembolism, including deep venous thrombosis, superficial venous thrombosis, or pulmonary embolism, within 6 months prior to enrollment
    • Congestive heart failure (New York Heart Association [NYHA] class III or IV) within 6 months prior to enrollment or left ventricular ejection fraction (LVEF) less than 45% or less than the institutional lower limit of normal (whichever is higher) within 6 months prior to enrollment.
05

Study design

Phase
Phase 3
Primary purpose
Treatment
Allocation
Randomized
Intervention model
Parallel assignment
Masking
None (open label)
Enrollment
44 participants (actual)

Study arms

  • Experimental
    Cohort A: Ponatinib 30 mg

    Ponatinib 30 mg, tablets, orally, once daily (QD) until achievement of major molecular response (MMR) up to 12 months. Once MMR was achieved, participants received reduced dose of ponatinib 15 mg orally once daily up to 42 months.

    Drug: Ponatinib 30 mg QD

  • Experimental
    Cohort B: Ponatinib 15 mg

    Ponatinib 15 mg, tablets, orally, QD until achievement of MMR up to 12 months. Once MMR was achieved, participants received reduced dose of ponatinib 15 mg orally once daily up to 45 months.

    Drug: Ponatinib 15 mg QD

  • Active comparator
    Cohort C: Nilotinib 400 mg

    Nilotinib 400 mg, tablets, orally, twice daily up to approximately 42 months.

    Drug: Nilotinib 400 mg BID

Interventions

  • DrugPonatinib 30 mg QD

    Ponatinib 30 mg, taken orally once daily.

    Also known as: Iclusig, AP24534

  • DrugPonatinib 15 mg QD

    Ponatinib 15 mg, taken orally once daily.

    Also known as: Iclusig, AP24534

  • DrugNilotinib 400 mg BID

    Nilotinib 400 mg, taken orally twice daily.

    Also known as: Tasigna, AMN107

06

What researchers measure

Primary outcomes

  1. Percentage of Participants With Major Molecular Response (MMR)

    MMR is defined as the percentage of participants achieving a ratio of ≤0.1% Breakpoint Cluster Region-Abelson (BCR ABL) to ABL transcripts on the international scale (≤0.1% BCR-ABL/ABL\[IS\]) at any time within 12 months after randomization.

    Time frame: Up to 12 months

Secondary outcomes

  1. Percentage of Participants With Major Cytogenetic Response (MCyR)

    MCyR was the percentage of participants achieving Complete cytogenetic response (CCyR: defined as 0% Philadelphia chromosome-positive \[Ph+\] metaphases by cytogenetic analysis of bone marrow) or Partial Cytogenetic Response (PCyR: defined as \>0% to 35% Ph+ metaphases by cytogenetic analysis of bone marrow) at any time within 12 months after randomization.

    Time frame: Up to 12 months

  2. Percentage of Participants With Complete Cytogenetic Response (CCyR)

    CCyR rate was defined as the percentage of participants achieving CCyR up to 12 months after randomization. CCyR is defined as 0% Philadelphia chromosome-positive \[Ph+\] metaphases by cytogenetic analysis of bone marrow.

    Time frame: Up to 12 months

  3. Percentage of Participants With Molecular Response (MR)

    Molecular response rate is defined as percentage of participants achieving MR2: Molecular response with 2-log reduction (defined as ≤1% BCR-ABL\[IS\]), MMR: Major molecular responder, MR4 (defined as ≤0.01% BCR-ABL\[IS\]), and MR4.5 (defined as ≤0.0032% BCR-ABL\[IS\]) after randomization.

    Time frame: From Month 3 to every 3 months up to 48 months

  4. Percentage of Participants With MR1

    MR1 was defined as the percentage of participants achieving a ratio of ≤10% BCR ABL to ABL transcripts on the international scale at 3 months.

    Time frame: Month 3

  5. Percentage of Participants With Treatment Emergent Arterial Occlusive Events (TE-AOEs), Treatment Emergent Venous Thromboembolic Events (TE-VTE), Adverse Events (AEs), and Serious AEs (SAEs)

    TE-AOE: arterial occlusive event with an initial onset date on or after first dose date and no later than 30 days after last dose date of study treatment or events starting after initial consent that worsen in severity on or after first dose date. TE-VTE: vascular occlusive event with an initial onset date on or after first dose date and no later than 30 days after last dose date of study treatment or events starting after initial consent that worsen in severity on or after first dose date. AE: any untoward medical occurrence in participant administered pharmaceutical product; untoward medical occurrence does not necessarily have causal relationship with this treatment. SAE: any untoward medical occurrence that at any dose results in death, is life-threatening, requires inpatient hospitalization or prolongation of an existing hospitalization, results in persistent or significant disability or incapacity, is congenital anomaly/birth defect/is medically important event.

    Time frame: From first dose up to 30 days post last dose (Up to approximately 46 months)

  6. Time to Response

    Time to MMR defined as the interval between the randomization date and the first date at which the criteria for response was met. MMR was defined as \<=0.1% BCR-ABL.

    Time frame: Up to approximately 60 months

  7. Duration of Response

    Duration of response defined as the interval between the first assessment at which the criteria for response was met until the earliest date at which loss of response occurs, or the criteria for progression was met.

    Time frame: Up to approximately 60 months

  8. Progression-free Survival (PFS)

    Progression-free survival (PFS) defined as the interval between the first dose date of study treatment and the first date at which the criteria for progression was met (progression to AP- or BP CML), or death due to any cause, censored at the last response assessment.

    Time frame: Up to end of study (approximately 60 months)

  9. Overall Survival

    Overall survival (OS) defined as the interval between the first dose date of study treatment and date of death due to any cause, censored at the last contact date to be alive.

    Time frame: Up to end of study (approximately 60 months)

  10. Percentage of Participants Who Achieved/Maintained Complete Hematologic Response (CHR)

    CHR rate is defined as the percentage of participants achieving CHR at any time after initiation of study treatment. CHR is defined as achieving all of the following measurements: White blood cells (WBC) ≤ institutional upper limit of normal (ULN); Platelets \<450 x 10\^9/L; No blasts or promyelocytes in peripheral blood; \<5% myelocytes plus metamyelocytes in peripheral blood; Basophils in peripheral blood \<5%; No extramedullary involvement (including no hepatomegaly or splenomegaly).

    Time frame: 3 months after the first dose of study treatment

  11. Percentage of Participants With Treatment Emergent AEs Leading to Treatment Discontinuation, Dose Reduction and Dose Interruption

    An AE is defined as any untoward medical occurrence in a clinical investigation participant administered a drug; it does not necessarily have to have a causal relationship with this treatment. A TEAE is defined as an adverse event with an onset that occurs after receiving study drug.

    Time frame: From first dose up to end of treatment (Up to approximately 45 months)

  12. Percentage of Participants With Progression to Accelerated Phase (AP) or Blast Phase (BP)-CML

    Progression to AP is defined as: \>=15% and \<30% blasts in peripheral blood or bone marrow or \>=20% basophils in peripheral blood or bone marrow or \>=30% blasts + promyelocytes in peripheral blood or bone marrow (but \<30% blasts) or \<100\*10\^9 platelets/L in peripheral blood unrelated to therapy or cytogenetic, genetic evidence of clonal evolution, and no extramedullary disease. Progression to BP-CML is defined as: \>=30% blasts in peripheral blood or bone marrow or extramedullary disease other than hepatosplenomegaly.

    Time frame: Up to end of study (Up to approximately 60 months)

07

Results

Posted Nov 26, 2021
Limitations and caveats
This study was terminated due to operational feasibility and not due to any safety concerns.

Participant flow

Participants took part in the study at 90 investigative sites in Austria, Canada, Czechia, France, Hungary, Italy, Korea, and Russia from 31 December 2015 to 20 January 2021

Participant flow — Overall Study
MilestoneCohort A: Ponatinib 30 mgCohort B: Ponatinib 15 mgCohort C: Nilotinib 400 mg
Started112112
Completed000
Not completed112112
Withdrew: Adverse event (not progressive disease)141
Withdrew: Progressive disease130
Withdrew: Lack of efficacy120
Withdrew: Lost to follow-up001
Withdrew: Pregnancy010
Withdrew: Study terminated by sponsor5106
Withdrew: Physician decision002
Withdrew: Withdrawal by subject211
Withdrew: Reason not specified001
Withdrew: Randomized but not treated100

Outcome measures

PrimaryPercentage of Participants With Major Molecular Response (MMR)

MMR is defined as the percentage of participants achieving a ratio of ≤0.1% Breakpoint Cluster Region-Abelson (BCR ABL) to ABL transcripts on the international scale (≤0.1% BCR-ABL/ABL\[IS\]) at any time within 12 months after randomization.

Time frame:
Up to 12 months
Reported as:
Number · percentage of participants
Percentage of Participants With Major Molecular Response (MMR)
percentage of participantsCohort A: Ponatinib 30 mgCohort B: Ponatinib 15 mgCohort C: Nilotinib 400 mg
Percentage of Participants With Major Molecular Response (MMR)50.0 (18.7 to 81.3)33.3 (14.6 to 57.0)45.5 (16.7 to 76.6)
SecondaryPercentage of Participants With Major Cytogenetic Response (MCyR)

MCyR was the percentage of participants achieving Complete cytogenetic response (CCyR: defined as 0% Philadelphia chromosome-positive \[Ph+\] metaphases by cytogenetic analysis of bone marrow) or Partial Cytogenetic Response (PCyR: defined as \>0% to 35% Ph+ metaphases by cytogenetic analysis of bone marrow) at any time within 12 months after randomization.

Time frame:
Up to 12 months
Reported as:
Number · percentage of participants
Percentage of Participants With Major Cytogenetic Response (MCyR)
percentage of participantsCohort A: Ponatinib 30 mgCohort B: Ponatinib 15 mgCohort C: Nilotinib 400 mg
Percentage of Participants With Major Cytogenetic Response (MCyR)50.0 (18.7 to 81.3)60.0 (36.1 to 80.9)50.0 (21.1 to 78.9)
SecondaryPercentage of Participants With Complete Cytogenetic Response (CCyR)

CCyR rate was defined as the percentage of participants achieving CCyR up to 12 months after randomization. CCyR is defined as 0% Philadelphia chromosome-positive \[Ph+\] metaphases by cytogenetic analysis of bone marrow.

Time frame:
Up to 12 months
Reported as:
Number · percentage of participants
Percentage of Participants With Complete Cytogenetic Response (CCyR)
percentage of participantsCohort A: Ponatinib 30 mgCohort B: Ponatinib 15 mgCohort C: Nilotinib 400 mg
Percentage of Participants With Complete Cytogenetic Response (CCyR)40.0 (12.2 to 73.8)55.0 (31.5 to 76.9)50.0 (21.1 to 78.9)
SecondaryPercentage of Participants With Molecular Response (MR)

Molecular response rate is defined as percentage of participants achieving MR2: Molecular response with 2-log reduction (defined as ≤1% BCR-ABL\[IS\]), MMR: Major molecular responder, MR4 (defined as ≤0.01% BCR-ABL\[IS\]), and MR4.5 (defined as ≤0.0032% BCR-ABL\[IS\]) after randomization.

Time frame:
From Month 3 to every 3 months up to 48 months
Reported as:
Number · percentage of participants
Percentage of Participants With Molecular Response (MR)
percentage of participantsCohort A: Ponatinib 30 mgCohort B: Ponatinib 15 mgCohort C: Nilotinib 400 mg
MR2 - Month 370.038.145.5
MR2 - Month 660.057.154.5
MR2 - Month 950.052.445.5
MR2 - Month 1250.052.454.5
MR2 - Month 1550.052.454.5
MR2 - Month 1850.047.654.5
MR2 - Month 2150.052.445.5
MR2 - Month 2450.047.654.5
MR2 - Month 2750.042.954.5
MR2 - Month 3050.038.145.5
MR2 - Month 3330.033.327.3
MR2 - Month 3650.033.336.4
MR2 - Month 3920.014.318.2
MR2 - Month 4210.09.59.1
MR2 - Month 4510.014.39.1
MR2 - Month 4810.04.89.1
MR3/MMR - Month 330.04.818.2
MR3/MMR - Month 630.028.636.4
MR3/MMR - Month 930.028.645.5
MR3/MMR - Month 1240.033.345.5
MR3/MMR - Month 1540.028.645.5
MR3/MMR - Month 1840.038.145.5
MR3/MMR - Month 2140.033.345.5
MR3/MMR - Month 2440.033.345.5
MR3/MMR - Month 2740.033.345.5
MR3/MMR - Month 3040.033.345.5
MR3/MMR - Month 3320.028.627.3
MR3/MMR - Month 3640.028.636.4
MR3/MMR - Month 3920.014.318.2
MR3/MMR - Month 4210.09.59.1
MR3/MMR - Month 4510.09.59.1
MR3/MMR - Month 4810.04.89.1
MR4 - Month 30.00.00.0
MR4 - Month 620.014.39.1
MR4 - Month 910.09.518.2
MR4 - Month 1210.09.527.3
MR4 - Month 1510.019.027.3
MR4 - Month 1820.023.827.3
MR4 - Month 2120.09.536.4
MR4 - Month 2410.019.036.4
MR4 - Month 2720.019.036.4
MR4 - Month 3020.014.336.4
MR4 - Month 330.014.39.1
MR4 - Month 3610.019.027.3
MR4 - Month 3920.04.818.2
MR4 - Month 4210.00.09.1
MR4 - Month 4510.04.89.1
MR4 - Month 4810.00.09.1
MR4.5 - Month 30.00.00.0
MR4.5 - Month 620.00.00.0
MR4.5 - Month 90.04.89.1
MR4.5 - Month 120.04.818.2
MR4.5 - Month 1510.04.89.1
MR4.5 - Month 1810.09.59.1
MR4.5 - Month 2110.09.527.3
MR4.5 - Month 2410.04.818.2
MR4.5 - Month 2710.014.318.2
MR4.5 - Month 3010.04.827.3
MR4.5 - Month 330.04.80.0
MR4.5 - Month 3610.09.518.2
MR4.5 - Month 3910.04.818.2
MR4.5 - Month 4210.00.09.1
MR4.5 - Month 4510.00.09.1
MR4.5 - Month 480.00.09.1
SecondaryPercentage of Participants With MR1

MR1 was defined as the percentage of participants achieving a ratio of ≤10% BCR ABL to ABL transcripts on the international scale at 3 months.

Time frame:
Month 3
Reported as:
Number · percentage of participants
Percentage of Participants With MR1
percentage of participantsCohort A: Ponatinib 30 mgCohort B: Ponatinib 15 mgCohort C: Nilotinib 400 mg
Percentage of Participants With MR170.066.763.6
SecondaryPercentage of Participants With Treatment Emergent Arterial Occlusive Events (TE-AOEs), Treatment Emergent Venous Thromboembolic Events (TE-VTE), Adverse Events (AEs), and Serious AEs (SAEs)

TE-AOE: arterial occlusive event with an initial onset date on or after first dose date and no later than 30 days after last dose date of study treatment or events starting after initial consent that worsen in severity on or after first dose date. TE-VTE: vascular occlusive event with an initial onset date on or after first dose date and no later than 30 days after last dose date of study treatment or events starting after initial consent that worsen in severity on or after first dose date. AE: any untoward medical occurrence in participant administered pharmaceutical product; untoward medical occurrence does not necessarily have causal relationship with this treatment. SAE: any untoward medical occurrence that at any dose results in death, is life-threatening, requires inpatient hospitalization or prolongation of an existing hospitalization, results in persistent or significant disability or incapacity, is congenital anomaly/birth defect/is medically important event.

Time frame:
From first dose up to 30 days post last dose (Up to approximately 46 months)
Reported as:
Number · percentage of participants
Percentage of Participants With Treatment Emergent Arterial Occlusive Events (TE-AOEs), Treatment Emergent Venous Thromboembolic Events (TE-VTE), Adverse Events (AEs), and Serious AEs (SAEs)
percentage of participantsCohort A: Ponatinib 30 mgCohort B: Ponatinib 15 mgCohort C: Nilotinib 400 mg
TE-AOE04.88.3
TE-VOEs000
AEs10095.2100
SAEs40.014.316.7
SecondaryTime to Response

Time to MMR defined as the interval between the randomization date and the first date at which the criteria for response was met. MMR was defined as \<=0.1% BCR-ABL.

Time frame:
Up to approximately 60 months
Reported as:
Median · months
Time to Response
monthsCohort A: Ponatinib 30 mgCohort B: Ponatinib 15 mgCohort C: Nilotinib 400 mg
Time to Response3.07 (3.0 to NA)6.29 (3.0 to 18.1)6.07 (3.0 to NA)
SecondaryDuration of Response

Duration of response defined as the interval between the first assessment at which the criteria for response was met until the earliest date at which loss of response occurs, or the criteria for progression was met.

Time frame:
Up to approximately 60 months
Reported as:
Median · months
Duration of Response
monthsCohort A: Ponatinib 30 mgCohort B: Ponatinib 15 mgCohort C: Nilotinib 400 mg
Duration of ResponseNA (NA to NA)NA (3.0 to NA)NA (NA to NA)
SecondaryProgression-free Survival (PFS)

Progression-free survival (PFS) defined as the interval between the first dose date of study treatment and the first date at which the criteria for progression was met (progression to AP- or BP CML), or death due to any cause, censored at the last response assessment.

Time frame:
Up to end of study (approximately 60 months)
Reported as:
Median · months
Progression-free Survival (PFS)
monthsCohort A: Ponatinib 30 mgCohort B: Ponatinib 15 mgCohort C: Nilotinib 400 mg
Progression-free Survival (PFS)NA (8.0 to NA)NA (NA to NA)NA (NA to NA)
SecondaryOverall Survival

Overall survival (OS) defined as the interval between the first dose date of study treatment and date of death due to any cause, censored at the last contact date to be alive.

Time frame:
Up to end of study (approximately 60 months)
Reported as:
Median · months
Overall Survival
monthsCohort A: Ponatinib 30 mgCohort B: Ponatinib 15 mgCohort C: Nilotinib 400 mg
Overall SurvivalNA (18.5 to NA)NA (NA to NA)NA (NA to NA)
SecondaryPercentage of Participants Who Achieved/Maintained Complete Hematologic Response (CHR)

CHR rate is defined as the percentage of participants achieving CHR at any time after initiation of study treatment. CHR is defined as achieving all of the following measurements: White blood cells (WBC) ≤ institutional upper limit of normal (ULN); Platelets \<450 x 10\^9/L; No blasts or promyelocytes in peripheral blood; \<5% myelocytes plus metamyelocytes in peripheral blood; Basophils in peripheral blood \<5%; No extramedullary involvement (including no hepatomegaly or splenomegaly).

Time frame:
3 months after the first dose of study treatment
Reported as:
Number · percentage of participants
Percentage of Participants Who Achieved/Maintained Complete Hematologic Response (CHR)
percentage of participantsCohort A: Ponatinib 30 mgCohort B: Ponatinib 15 mgCohort C: Nilotinib 400 mg
Percentage of Participants Who Achieved/Maintained Complete Hematologic Response (CHR)60.0 (26.2 to 87.8)81.0 (58.1 to 94.6)50.0 (21.1 to 78.9)
SecondaryPercentage of Participants With Treatment Emergent AEs Leading to Treatment Discontinuation, Dose Reduction and Dose Interruption

An AE is defined as any untoward medical occurrence in a clinical investigation participant administered a drug; it does not necessarily have to have a causal relationship with this treatment. A TEAE is defined as an adverse event with an onset that occurs after receiving study drug.

Time frame:
From first dose up to end of treatment (Up to approximately 45 months)
Reported as:
Number · percentage of participants
Percentage of Participants With Treatment Emergent AEs Leading to Treatment Discontinuation, Dose Reduction and Dose Interruption
percentage of participantsCohort A: Ponatinib 30 mgCohort B: Ponatinib 15 mgCohort C: Nilotinib 400 mg
TEAEs Leading to Treatment Discontinuation10.023.825.0
TEAEs Leading to Dose Reduction40.019.033.3
TEAEs Leading to Dose Interruption70.038.141.7
SecondaryPercentage of Participants With Progression to Accelerated Phase (AP) or Blast Phase (BP)-CML

Progression to AP is defined as: \>=15% and \<30% blasts in peripheral blood or bone marrow or \>=20% basophils in peripheral blood or bone marrow or \>=30% blasts + promyelocytes in peripheral blood or bone marrow (but \<30% blasts) or \<100\*10\^9 platelets/L in peripheral blood unrelated to therapy or cytogenetic, genetic evidence of clonal evolution, and no extramedullary disease. Progression to BP-CML is defined as: \>=30% blasts in peripheral blood or bone marrow or extramedullary disease other than hepatosplenomegaly.

Time frame:
Up to end of study (Up to approximately 60 months)

No measurements were reported for this outcome.

Adverse events

Collected over All-cause mortality: From first dose up to end of study (Up to approximately 60 months); for serious and other adverse events: from first dose up to 30 days post last dose (Up to approximately 46 months). Non-serious events are listed at a 5% frequency threshold.

Adverse event summary by group
GroupDeathsSeriousOther
Cohort A: Ponatinib 30 mg1/10 (10%)4/10 (40%)10/10 (100%)
Cohort B: Ponatinib 15 mg1/21 (4.8%)3/21 (14.3%)20/21 (95.2%)
Cohort C: Nilotinib 400 mg0/12 (0%)2/12 (16.7%)12/12 (100%)
Most frequent serious events
Showing 10 of 13
Most frequent serious events
EventCohort A: Ponatinib 30 mgCohort B: Ponatinib 15 mgCohort C: Nilotinib 400 mg
PneumoniaInfections and infestations2/100/210/12
Platelet count decreasedInvestigations2/100/210/12
Femoral neck fractureInjury, poisoning and procedural complications1/100/210/12
NeutropeniaBlood and lymphatic system disorders0/100/211/12
Intestinal obstructionGastrointestinal disorders0/100/211/12
SepsisInfections and infestations0/101/210/12
Septic shockInfections and infestations0/101/210/12
ThrombocytopeniaBlood and lymphatic system disorders0/101/210/12
Atrial flutterCardiac disorders0/101/210/12
Pancreatitis acuteGastrointestinal disorders0/101/210/12
Most frequent other events
Showing 10 of 93
Most frequent other events
EventCohort A: Ponatinib 30 mgCohort B: Ponatinib 15 mgCohort C: Nilotinib 400 mg
ThrombocytopeniaBlood and lymphatic system disorders5/105/212/12
Alanine aminotransferase increasedInvestigations3/101/212/12
Blood cholesterol increasedInvestigations2/102/213/12
FatigueGeneral disorders0/101/213/12
AnaemiaBlood and lymphatic system disorders2/103/210/12
Platelet count decreasedInvestigations2/102/210/12
Aspartate aminotransferase increasedInvestigations2/100/212/12
VomitingGastrointestinal disorders2/100/211/12
HypertensionVascular disorders2/102/211/12
MyalgiaMusculoskeletal and connective tissue disorders1/104/211/12

Baseline characteristics

Safety Population included all participants who have received at least 1 dose of study drug.

Age, Continuous
Age, Continuous(years)Cohort A: Ponatinib 30 mgCohort B: Ponatinib 15 mgCohort C: Nilotinib 400 mgTotal
Mean43.7 ± 17.4344.7 ± 15.5354.3 ± 13.2347.16 ± 15.69
Sex: Female, Male
Sex: Female, Male(Participants)Cohort A: Ponatinib 30 mgCohort B: Ponatinib 15 mgCohort C: Nilotinib 400 mgTotal
Female311620
Male710623
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)(Participants)Cohort A: Ponatinib 30 mgCohort B: Ponatinib 15 mgCohort C: Nilotinib 400 mgTotal
Hispanic or Latino0011
Not Hispanic or Latino10211142
Unknown or Not Reported0000
Race (NIH/OMB)
Race (NIH/OMB)(Participants)Cohort A: Ponatinib 30 mgCohort B: Ponatinib 15 mgCohort C: Nilotinib 400 mgTotal
American Indian or Alaska Native0000
Asian2417
Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander0000
Black or African American0000
White7161033
More than one race0000
Unknown or Not Reported1113
Region of Enrollment
Region of Enrollment(Participants)Cohort A: Ponatinib 30 mgCohort B: Ponatinib 15 mgCohort C: Nilotinib 400 mgTotal
Austria0101
Canada0011
Czech Republic0022
France1113
Hungary0101
Italy0011
Korea, North1203
Russia816731
Height
Height(cm)Cohort A: Ponatinib 30 mgCohort B: Ponatinib 15 mgCohort C: Nilotinib 400 mgTotal
Mean172.9 ± 9.62169.4 ± 9.35168.8 ± 9.17170.1 ± 9.28
Weight
Weight(kg)Cohort A: Ponatinib 30 mgCohort B: Ponatinib 15 mgCohort C: Nilotinib 400 mgTotal
Mean77.50 ± 18.33572.72 ± 15.21370.94 ± 14.71173.34 ± 15.65
Body Mass Index (BMI)
Body Mass Index (BMI)(kg/m^2)Cohort A: Ponatinib 30 mgCohort B: Ponatinib 15 mgCohort C: Nilotinib 400 mgTotal
Mean25.90 ± 5.87025.35 ± 4.97425.18 ± 4.44225.44 ± 4.95
08

Study locations

1 site
  • Cliniques Universitaire Saint-Luc (Site 058)
    Bruxelles, 1200, Belgium
09

References and documents

Study documents

  • Study protocol · Mar 10, 2017
  • Statistical analysis plan · Jul 31, 2016

Documents are hosted by the registry — open the source record to download them.

Individual participant data

Plan to share: Yes — Takeda provides access to the de-identified individual participant data (IPD) for eligible studies to aid qualified researchers in addressing legitimate scientific objectives (Takeda's data sharing commitment is available on https://clinicaltrials.takeda.com/takedas-commitment?commitment=5). These IPDs will be provided in a secure research environment following approval of a data sharing request, and under the terms of a data sharing agreement.

Supporting information: Study protocol, Sap, Icf, Csr

10

Updates

Tracking since Sep 25, 2026
No changes since tracking began. The registry record was last updated on Nov 26, 2021, before this site started recording changes on Sep 25, 2026. Its history is on ClinicalTrials.gov ↗
11

Registry details

Key details

Study ID
NCT02627677
Lead sponsor
Ariad Pharmaceuticals
Responsible party
Sponsor
First posted
Dec 11, 2015
Start date
Dec 31, 2015
Primary completion
Oct 29, 2020
Completion
Jan 20, 2021
Results posted
Nov 26, 2021
Last update
Nov 26, 2021

Study contacts

Study Director
study director · Takeda

Oversight

Data monitoring committee
Yes
FDA-regulated drug
Yes
FDA-regulated device
No
View the source record on ClinicalTrials.gov ↗

Not currently enrolling

This study is terminated, as verified in Oct 2021. You cannot join it, but the record below documents what was studied.

Follow this study

Get an email when the registry record changes — status, dates, results — or when someone posts here.

Sign in to follow

Discussion

Questions and observations about this study, from anyone following it. Not medical advice, and not a channel to the study team — their contact details are on the registry record.

Sign in to join the discussion. Reading takes no account; posting does. You choose a display name, and a pseudonym is the default.

Nothing here yet. If you are running this trial, taking part in it, or weighing whether to, this is the place to say so.

Start the discussion