CClinicalTrials.gg
TerminatedNCT02519439Updated Jun 28, 2023Results posted

A Two-year Open-label Extension Study of Ganaxolone in Patients With Drug-resistant Partial-onset Seizures

A Phase 3 interventional study of ganaxolone in Drug Resistant Partial Onset Seizure, sponsored by Marinus Pharmaceuticals. Terminated at 5 sites in United States. Open to participants aged 18 Years and older. Per ClinicalTrials.gov, last updated 2023-06-28.

Sponsored by Marinus Pharmaceuticals · Phase 3, Interventional, and Treatment

Why this study was terminated
Ganaxolone missed its primary endpoint in the double-blind portion of the 1042-0603 study. Due to this outcome Marinus discontinued this extension study.
Phase
Phase 3
Study type
Interventional
Enrollment
26
Allocation
Not applicable
Ages
18 Years and older
Sex
All
01

Study summary

A follow-on, two-year open-label extension study of ganaxolone as add-on therapy in adult patients with drug-resistant partial-onset seizures

Read the detailed description

This study is a 2-year, open-label continuation for those patients benefiting from ganaxolone treatment after completing Protocol 1042-0603.

02

Conditions studied

  • Drug Resistant Partial Onset Seizure

Browse trials for

Keywords

  • Partial Onset Seizures
  • complex partial seizures
  • simple partial seizures
  • anticonvulsant
  • ganaxolone
  • neurosteroid
  • Marinus
  • epilepsy
03

In context

Seizures

881 studies on the registry are indexed under Seizures; 143 are open to participants now.

This study's enrollment of 26 is below the median of 64 across 610 interventional studies indexed under Seizures.

Browse Seizures studies →

Lead sponsor

Marinus Pharmaceuticals is the lead sponsor of 22 studies on the registry; none are open to participants now.

Of its 9 completed or terminated interventional studies of FDA-regulated products, 9 (100%) have results posted.

Counted across the registry records on this site, refreshed daily.

04

Who can participate

Ages eligible
18 Years and older
Sexes eligible
All
Accepts healthy volunteers
No

Inclusion criteria

  • Subjects who have completed all scheduled clinical study visits in the previous protocol 1042-0603 and have shown a minimum 35% improvement in mean 28-day seizure frequency over the last three 28-day periods in study 1042-603 as compared to the baseline of study 1042-603.
  • Subjects whose daily study drug compliance in Study 1042-0603 was 90% or greater, and for whom the investigator feels that the subject was compliant with the full dose as prescribed.
  • Able to give informed consent in writing, or have a legally authorized representative able to do so, after being properly informed of the nature and risks of the study and prior to engaging in any study-related procedures.
  • Currently being treated and maintained with a stable regimen of 1, 2, or 3 anti-epileptic drugs (AED) at a consistent dose for one month prior to study entry.
  • Implanted Vagus Nerve Stimulator (VNS) is permitted and will not count towards the number of concomitant AEDs.
  • Able and willing to maintain an accurate and complete daily written seizure calendar or has a caregiver who is able and willing to maintain an accurate and complete daily written seizure calendar.
  • Able and willing to take drug with food twice daily. Ganaxolone must be administered with food.
  • Sexually active women of childbearing potential (WCBP) must be using a medically acceptable method of birth control and have a negative pregnancy test at Visit 1 and at subsequent visits.

Exclusion criteria

Exclusion Criteria:

  • Have any medical condition that, in the investigator's judgment, is considered to be clinically significant and could potentially affect subject safety or study outcome
  • Experienced a Serious Adverse Event or a moderate or severe medically important adverse event judged probably or definitely related to open-label ganaxolone in the previous study, 1042-0603
  • Have Alanine transferase (ALT; SGPT) or Aspartate transferase (AST; SGOT) levels > 3 times upper limits of normal (ULN), or total bilirubin >1.5 time ULN during Study 1042-0603.
  • Have a history of malignancy within the past 2 years, with the exception of basal cell carcinoma.
  • Seizures secondary to illicit drug or alcohol use, infection, neoplasm, demyelinating disease, degenerative neurological disease, or central nervous system (CNS) disease deemed progressive, metabolic illness, or progressive degenerative disease.
  • Have active suicidal plan/intent, or have had active suicidal thoughts in the past 6 months. Have a history of an actual suicide attempt in the last 5 years or more than 1 lifetime actual suicide attempt as classified by the Columbia-Suicide Severity Rating Scale (C-SSRS).
  • Have a history of drug or alcohol abuse within the past 5 years. As with other AEDs, the use of alcohol is not advised.
  • Are currently following or planning to follow a ketogenic diet.
  • Current use of vigabatrin or ezogabine (retigabine; Potiga; Trobalt) is not permitted.
  • Females who are pregnant, currently breastfeeding or planning to become pregnant during the study.
  • Inability/unwillingness to withhold grapefruit and grapefruit juice from diet during the entire clinical trial.
05

Study design

Phase
Phase 3
Primary purpose
Treatment
Allocation
Not applicable
Intervention model
Single group
Masking
None (open label)
Enrollment
26 participants (actual)

Study arms

  • Experimental
    ganaxolone

    Up to a maximum of 1800 mg/day

    Drug: ganaxolone

Interventions

  • Drugganaxolone

    225 mg capsules 450 mg to 900 mg 2x/day

    Also known as: CCD 1042

06

What researchers measure

Primary outcomes

  1. Percent Change From Baseline in 28-day Seizure Frequency

    Baseline 28-day seizure frequency was calculated as the number of seizures in the Baseline period of Study 1042-0603 (less than or equal to 56 days) divided by the number of days with available seizure data in the Baseline period and multiplied by 28. Post-baseline 28-day seizure frequency was calculated as the number of seizures in the entire treatment period divided by the number of days with available seizure data in the treatment period and multiplied by 28. Baseline was defined as the last non-missing value obtained before the first treatment in the preceding Study 1042-0603. The calculation for percent change from Baseline in 28-day seizure frequency was done as follows for each participant: post-Baseline 28-day seizure frequency minus Baseline 28-day seizure frequency whole divided by Baseline 28-day seizure frequency multiplied by 100 percent.

    Time frame: Baseline and at Day 28

Secondary outcomes

  1. Number of Participants Who Showed Greater Than or Equal to 50% Reduction in 28-day Seizure Frequent From Baseline

    A 50% responder is an individual whose reduction of percent change from Baseline to the end of the open label extension period in 28-day partial-onset seizure (POS) seizure frequency is greater than or equal to 50%.

    Time frame: Baseline and at Day 28

  2. Number of Participants With Clinical Global Impression of Improvement (CGI-I) Scores

    The CGI-I scale is a clinician-rated 7-point scale used to assess how much the participant's illness had improved or worsened relative to a Baseline state at the beginning of the intervention. It was rated as: 1. "very much improved" 2. "much improved" 3. "minimally improved" 4. "no change" 5. "minimally worse" 6. "much worse" 7. "very much worse". Higher scores indicated worse condition. Participants who showed CGI improvement at Week 104 (End of treatment) has been presented.

    Time frame: At Week 104

  3. Number of Participants With Patient/Caregiver Global Impression of Improvement (PGI-I) Scores

    The participant is asked to rate the total improvement of their partial-onset seizures whether or not in the participant's judgment it is due entirely to drug treatment based on a 7-point scale using the markers "very much improved, much improved, slightly improved, no change, slightly worse, much worse, or very much worse" (1 = very much improved; 7 = very much worse). Higher scores indicated worse condition. Participants who showed PGI improvement at Week 104 (End of treatment) has been presented.

    Time frame: At Week 104

07

Results

Posted Feb 14, 2023

Participant flow

This was an open-label extension of Study 1042-0603, providing a two-year adjunctive ganaxolone treatment to adult participants with epilepsy consisting of partial-onset seizures (POS).

Participant flow — Overall Study
MilestoneGanaxolone
Started26
Completed5
Not completed21
Withdrew: Study termination19
Withdrew: Withdrawal by subject1
Withdrew: Adverse event1

Outcome measures

PrimaryPercent Change From Baseline in 28-day Seizure Frequency

Baseline 28-day seizure frequency was calculated as the number of seizures in the Baseline period of Study 1042-0603 (less than or equal to 56 days) divided by the number of days with available seizure data in the Baseline period and multiplied by 28. Post-baseline 28-day seizure frequency was calculated as the number of seizures in the entire treatment period divided by the number of days with available seizure data in the treatment period and multiplied by 28. Baseline was defined as the last non-missing value obtained before the first treatment in the preceding Study 1042-0603. The calculation for percent change from Baseline in 28-day seizure frequency was done as follows for each participant: post-Baseline 28-day seizure frequency minus Baseline 28-day seizure frequency whole divided by Baseline 28-day seizure frequency multiplied by 100 percent.

Time frame:
Baseline and at Day 28
Reported as:
Mean · Percent change
Percent Change From Baseline in 28-day Seizure Frequency
Percent changeGanaxolone
Percent Change From Baseline in 28-day Seizure Frequency-41.86 ± 44.913
SecondaryNumber of Participants Who Showed Greater Than or Equal to 50% Reduction in 28-day Seizure Frequent From Baseline

A 50% responder is an individual whose reduction of percent change from Baseline to the end of the open label extension period in 28-day partial-onset seizure (POS) seizure frequency is greater than or equal to 50%.

Time frame:
Baseline and at Day 28
Reported as:
Count of participants · Participants
Number of Participants Who Showed Greater Than or Equal to 50% Reduction in 28-day Seizure Frequent From Baseline
ParticipantsGanaxolone
Number of Participants Who Showed Greater Than or Equal to 50% Reduction in 28-day Seizure Frequent From Baseline14
SecondaryNumber of Participants With Clinical Global Impression of Improvement (CGI-I) Scores

The CGI-I scale is a clinician-rated 7-point scale used to assess how much the participant's illness had improved or worsened relative to a Baseline state at the beginning of the intervention. It was rated as: 1. "very much improved" 2. "much improved" 3. "minimally improved" 4. "no change" 5. "minimally worse" 6. "much worse" 7. "very much worse". Higher scores indicated worse condition. Participants who showed CGI improvement at Week 104 (End of treatment) has been presented.

Time frame:
At Week 104
Reported as:
Count of participants · Participants
Number of Participants With Clinical Global Impression of Improvement (CGI-I) Scores
ParticipantsGanaxolone
Very much improved1
Much improved9
Minimally improved11
No change2
Minimally worse0
Much worse0
Very much worse0
SecondaryNumber of Participants With Patient/Caregiver Global Impression of Improvement (PGI-I) Scores

The participant is asked to rate the total improvement of their partial-onset seizures whether or not in the participant's judgment it is due entirely to drug treatment based on a 7-point scale using the markers "very much improved, much improved, slightly improved, no change, slightly worse, much worse, or very much worse" (1 = very much improved; 7 = very much worse). Higher scores indicated worse condition. Participants who showed PGI improvement at Week 104 (End of treatment) has been presented.

Time frame:
At Week 104
Reported as:
Count of participants · Participants
Number of Participants With Patient/Caregiver Global Impression of Improvement (PGI-I) Scores
ParticipantsGanaxolone
Very much improved4
Much improved8
Minimally improved10
No change1
Minimally worse0
Much worse0
Very much worse0

Adverse events

Collected over Up to Week 104. Non-serious events are listed at a 0% frequency threshold.

Adverse event summary by group
GroupDeathsSeriousOther
Ganaxolone0/26 (0%)1/26 (3.8%)10/26 (38.5%)
Most frequent serious events
Most frequent serious events
EventGanaxolone
Pulmonary embolism/Respiratory, thoracic and mediastinal disorders1/26
Most frequent other events
Showing 10 of 26
Most frequent other events
EventGanaxolone
HeadacheNervous system disorders3/26
DizzinessNervous system disorders1/26
SyncopeNervous system disorders1/26
CellulitisInfections and infestations1/26
NasopharyngitisInfections and infestations1/26
Tooth infectionInfections and infestations1/26
Upper respiratory tract infectionInfections and infestations1/26
FallInjury, poisoning and procedural complications1/26
Ligament sprainInjury, poisoning and procedural complications1/26
Lip injuryInjury, poisoning and procedural complications1/26

Baseline characteristics

Safety Population: All participants who signed informed consent and took one dose of study medication in this study.

Age, Continuous
Age, Continuous(Years)Ganaxolone
Mean44.3 ± 15.03
Sex: Female, Male
Sex: Female, Male(Participants)Ganaxolone
Female11
Male15
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)(Participants)Ganaxolone
Hispanic or Latino3
Not Hispanic or Latino23
Unknown or Not Reported0
Race (NIH/OMB)
Race (NIH/OMB)(Participants)Ganaxolone
American Indian or Alaska Native0
Asian0
Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander0
Black or African American0
White24
More than one race0
Unknown or Not Reported2
08

Study locations

5 sites
  • Neurological Research Institute
    Santa Monica, California 90404, United States
  • Bluegrass Epilepsy Research, LLC
    Lexington, Kentucky 40504, United States
  • Minneapolis Clinic of Neurology
    Golden Valley, Minnesota 55422, United States
  • Northeast Regional Epilepsy Group
    Hackensack, New Jersey 07601, United States
  • Texas Epilepsy Group
    Dallas, Texas 75251, United States
09

References and documents

Study documents

  • Study protocol · Feb 29, 2016
  • Statistical analysis plan · Dec 5, 2016

Documents are hosted by the registry — open the source record to download them.

10

Updates

Tracking since Sep 25, 2026
No changes since tracking began. The registry record was last updated on Jun 28, 2023, before this site started recording changes on Sep 25, 2026. Its history is on ClinicalTrials.gov ↗
11

Registry details

Key details

Study ID
NCT02519439
Lead sponsor
Marinus Pharmaceuticals
Responsible party
Sponsor
First posted
Aug 11, 2015
Start date
Feb 2015
Primary completion
Dec 2016
Completion
Dec 2016
Results posted
Feb 14, 2023
Last update
Jun 28, 2023

Oversight

Data monitoring committee
No
View the source record on ClinicalTrials.gov ↗

Not currently enrolling

This study is terminated, as verified in Jun 2023. You cannot join it, but the record below documents what was studied.

Follow this study

Get an email when the registry record changes — status, dates, results — or when someone posts here.

Sign in to follow

Discussion

Questions and observations about this study, from anyone following it. Not medical advice, and not a channel to the study team — their contact details are on the registry record.

Sign in to join the discussion. Reading takes no account; posting does. You choose a display name, and a pseudonym is the default.

Nothing here yet. If you are running this trial, taking part in it, or weighing whether to, this is the place to say so.

Start the discussion