A Phase 2 interventional study of Zoledronic acid and Placebo in Spinal Cord Injury, Acute Spinal Cord Injury and Bone Loss, sponsored by Northwestern University. Completed at 2 sites in United States. Open to participants aged 18 Years and older. Per ClinicalTrials.gov, last updated 2025-12-02.
Sponsored by Northwestern University · Phase 2, Interventional, and Prevention
The overall objective of this study is to define an effective therapeutic approach, using currently available medication, to prevent or mitigate the loss of bone mass and bone strength that occurs after acute spinal cord injury.
This is a randomized, double-blind placebo-controlled study of zoledronic acid to evaluate its efficacy and safety over a 2 year period for the prevention of bone loss and maintenance of bone strength in individuals with recent onset SCI (see diagram below). Subjects will be randomized at the baseline visit to receive either zoledronic acid or placebo. At the end of the first year of the study, each treatment group will be re-randomized to either zoledronic acid or placebo to evaluate the durability of response to zoledronic acid and the utility of serum bone markers to guide therapeutic decision making. DXA imaging, CT imaging and bone markers will be obtained at baseline, 3 months, 6 months, 12 months, 18 months and 24 months.
1,948 studies on the registry are indexed under Spinal Cord Injuries; 505 are open to participants now.
This study's enrollment of 60 is above the median of 24 across 1,566 interventional studies indexed under Spinal Cord Injuries.
Browse Spinal Cord Injuries studies →Northwestern University is the lead sponsor of 1,396 studies on the registry; 199 are open to participants now.
Of its 102 completed or terminated interventional studies of FDA-regulated products, 73 (72%) have results posted.
Counted across the registry records on this site, refreshed daily.
Exclusion Criteria:
Intravenous infusion of zoledronic acid (zol) 5 mg at baseline.
Drug: Zoledronic acid
Intravenous infusion of placebo at baseline.
Drug: Placebo
Intravenous infusion of zoledronic acid 5 mg.
Also known as: Reclast, Zometa, Bisphosphonate
Placebo (saline) infusion to match zoledronic acid
Also known as: Saline
Percent Change in Bone Mass Density (BMD) in the Hip
Percent change of bone mass density (BMD) in the total hip (as measured by DXA)
Time frame: 0-12 months
Percent Change of Bone Mass Density (BMD) in the Femoral Neck
Percent change of bone mass density (BMD) in the femoral neck (as measured by DXA)
Time frame: 0-12 months
Percent Change in the Epiphyseal Integral Bone Mass Content (iBMC) of the Femur
Percent change in the epiphyseal integral bone mass content (iBMC) of the femur, as collected by CT.
Time frame: 0-12 months
Percent Change in the Metaphyseal Integral Bone Mass Content (iBMC) of the Femur
Percent change in the metaphyseal integral bone mass content (iBMC) of the femur, as collected by CT
Time frame: 0-12 months
Patients with acute SCI were recruited from the Shirley Ryan AbilityLab, formerly known as the Rehabilitation Institute of Chicago. Recruitment took place between February 2015 and February 2018.
| Milestone | Zoledronic Acid | Placebo |
|---|---|---|
| Started | 30 | 30 |
| Completed | 22 | 24 |
| Not completed | 8 | 6 |
| Withdrew: Withdrawal by subject | 3 | 1 |
| Withdrew: Lost to follow-up | 5 | 5 |
Percent change of bone mass density (BMD) in the total hip (as measured by DXA)
| percent change in bone mass density | Zoledronic Acid | Placebo |
|---|---|---|
| Percent Change in Bone Mass Density (BMD) in the Hip | -2.21 (-8.93 to 4.51) | -12.82 (-29.04 to 3.40) |
Percent change of bone mass density (BMD) in the femoral neck (as measured by DXA)
| percent change in bone mass density | Zoledronic Acid (Zol) | Placebo (Pla) |
|---|---|---|
| Percent Change of Bone Mass Density (BMD) in the Femoral Neck | -1.72 (-7.05 to 3.59) | -11.34 (-22.29 to -0.39) |
Percent change in the epiphyseal integral bone mass content (iBMC) of the femur, as collected by CT.
| percent change | Zoledronic Acid (Zol) | Placebo (Pla) |
|---|---|---|
| Percent Change in the Epiphyseal Integral Bone Mass Content (iBMC) of the Femur | -9.6 (-31.02 to 11.82) | -22.90 (-50.72 to 4.92) |
Percent change in the metaphyseal integral bone mass content (iBMC) of the femur, as collected by CT
| percent change | Zoledronic Acid (Zol) | Placebo (Pla) |
|---|---|---|
| Percent Change in the Metaphyseal Integral Bone Mass Content (iBMC) of the Femur | -4.73 (-13.83 to 4.37) | -8.88 (-19.12 to 1.36) |
Collected over Baseline - 12 month visit. Non-serious events are listed at a 5% frequency threshold.
| Group | Deaths | Serious | Other |
|---|---|---|---|
| Zoledronic Acid | 0/30 (0%) | 8/30 (26.7%) | 28/30 (93.3%) |
| Placebo | 0/30 (0%) | 9/30 (30%) | 22/30 (73.3%) |
| Event | Zoledronic Acid | Placebo |
|---|---|---|
| Urinary Tract InfectionRenal and urinary disorders | 3/30 | 5/30 |
| Acute Phase ResponseGeneral disorders | 2/30 | 0/30 |
| Autonomic DysreflexiaNervous system disorders | 0/30 | 2/30 |
| Altered Mental StatusPsychiatric disorders | 1/30 | 0/30 |
| C. difficile InfectionInfections and infestations | 1/30 | 0/30 |
| DehydrationMetabolism and nutrition disorders | 0/30 | 1/30 |
| ThrombusVascular disorders | 0/30 | 1/30 |
| EpilepsyNervous system disorders | 1/30 | 0/30 |
| Exophoria with Intermittent ExotropiaEye disorders | 1/30 | 0/30 |
| Gas (Incidental finding on X-ray)Musculoskeletal and connective tissue disorders | 1/30 | 0/30 |
| Event | Zoledronic Acid | Placebo |
|---|---|---|
| Acute Phase ResponseGeneral disorders | 20/30 | 3/30 |
| Urinary Tract InfectionRenal and urinary disorders | 15/30 | 10/30 |
| Upper Respiratory InfectionRespiratory, thoracic and mediastinal disorders | 2/30 | 8/30 |
| Joint PainMusculoskeletal and connective tissue disorders | 2/30 | 4/30 |
| Pressure UlcerSkin and subcutaneous tissue disorders | 3/30 | 4/30 |
| Autonomic DysreflexiaNervous system disorders | 3/30 | 1/30 |
| CoughGeneral disorders | 3/30 | 0/30 |
| FeverGeneral disorders | 2/30 | 3/30 |
| Heterotopic Ossification, new or worsenedMusculoskeletal and connective tissue disorders | 3/30 | 2/30 |
| HypertensionVascular disorders | 3/30 | 2/30 |
| Age, Categorical(Participants) | Zoledronic Acid | Placebo | Total |
|---|---|---|---|
| <=18 years | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Between 18 and 65 years | 29 | 28 | 57 |
| >=65 years | 1 | 2 | 3 |
| Age, Continuous(years) | Zoledronic Acid | Placebo | Total |
|---|---|---|---|
| Mean | 37.3 ± 15.9 | 38.2 ± 15.2 | 37.8 ± 15.4 |
| Sex: Female, Male(Participants) | Zoledronic Acid | Placebo | Total |
|---|---|---|---|
| Female | 9 | 3 | 12 |
| Male | 21 | 27 | 48 |
| Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)(Participants) | Zoledronic Acid | Placebo | Total |
|---|---|---|---|
| Hispanic or Latino | 4 | 7 | 11 |
| Not Hispanic or Latino | 26 | 23 | 49 |
| Unknown or Not Reported | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Race (NIH/OMB)(Participants) | Zoledronic Acid | Placebo | Total |
|---|---|---|---|
| American Indian or Alaska Native | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Asian | 2 | 1 | 3 |
| Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Black or African American | 8 | 6 | 14 |
| White | 20 | 21 | 41 |
| More than one race | 0 | 2 | 2 |
| Unknown or Not Reported | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Region of Enrollment(participants) | Zoledronic Acid | Placebo | Total |
|---|---|---|---|
| United States | 30 | 30 | 60 |
| Time Since Injury (Days)(days) | Zoledronic Acid | Placebo | Total |
|---|---|---|---|
| Mean | 68.7 ± 28.5 | 62.7 ± 23.2 | 65.7 ± 25.9 |
Documents are hosted by the registry — open the source record to download them.
This study is completed, as verified in Nov 2025. You cannot join it, but the record below documents what was studied.
Get an email when the registry record changes — status, dates, results — or when someone posts here.
Sign in to followQuestions and observations about this study, from anyone following it. Not medical advice, and not a channel to the study team — their contact details are on the registry record.
Sign in to join the discussion. Reading takes no account; posting does. You choose a display name, and a pseudonym is the default.
Nothing here yet. If you are running this trial, taking part in it, or weighing whether to, this is the place to say so.
Northwestern University