A Phase 2 interventional study of Atorvastatin and Placebo in Hip Fracture, Myocardial Ischemia and Inflammation, sponsored by Hospital for Special Surgery, New York. Completed at 2 sites in United States. Open to participants aged 65 Years to 99 Years. Per ClinicalTrials.gov, last updated 2017-07-02.
Sponsored by Hospital for Special Surgery, New York · Phase 2, Interventional, and Prevention
Up to 35% of hip fracture patients have been shown to experience heart injury after surgery, and as many as 10% have a heart attack or die in the three months after surgery. Hip and knee arthroplasty patients are also at risk of cardiovascular complications. Patients who have these complications have higher levels of inflammation postoperatively. Statins (such as atorvastatin/Lipitor) lower cholesterol and also lessen inflammation. Both of these effects are important in preventing heart attacks. Statins have been shown to reduce the risk of heart attacks in non-surgical patients, and to protect from heart attacks in patients having heart surgery. Whether statins can prevent heart attacks in orthopedic patients is not known.
In this pilot study the investigators will treat 30 orthopedic surgery patients (hip fracture, hip or knee arthroplasty) with either atorvastatin or placebo (a capsule with no study drug). Patients will start the study drug prior to surgery and take it for 45 days after surgery. Neither the doctors nor the patients will know whether they are taking atorvastatin or placebo. The investigators will look for evidence of inflammation and heart injury after surgery. The investigators hypothesize that atorvastatin will lessen the degree of postoperative inflammation found in these patients. In this study, the investigators will use a very sensitive test of heart injury that can detect problems even when patients have no symptoms. The investigators hypothesize that this test will demonstrate silent heart injury in over 50% of the hip fracture patients and over 30% of arthroplasty patients in our study.
The results of this trial will help us to develop a larger study in 1000 hip fracture and joint replacement patients to determine whether atorvastatin protects orthopedic surgery patients from heart injury and other complications of surgery.
3,232 studies on the registry are indexed under Myocardial Ischemia; 395 are open to participants now.
This study's enrollment of 20 is below the median of 120 across 1,895 interventional studies indexed under Myocardial Ischemia.
Browse Myocardial Ischemia studies →Hospital for Special Surgery, New York is the lead sponsor of 217 studies on the registry; 39 are open to participants now.
Of its 27 completed or terminated interventional studies of FDA-regulated products, 20 (74%) have results posted.
Counted across the registry records on this site, refreshed daily.
Exclusion Criteria:
Atorvastatin 40mg daily starting at least 4 hours prior to hip fracture surgery, or 4 days prior to hip or knee arthroplasty, and continued until postoperative day 45.
Drug: Atorvastatin
Sugar pill (placebo) daily starting at least 4 hours prior to hip fracture surgery, or 4 days prior to hip or knee arthroplasty, and continued until postoperative day 45.
Drug: Placebo
Atorvastatin or placebo will be started at least 4 hours prior to surgery, and continued nightly until postoperative day 45
Also known as: Lipitor
Percentage of All Enrolled Patients With a Peri-operative Rise in High-sensitivity Cardiac Troponin I
The percentage of orthopedic patients with a ≥ 10 pg/mL rise in high-sensitivity cardiac troponin I (hs-cTnI) from baseline pre-operatively to post-operative day (POD)2
Time frame: change from preoperative to postoperative day 2
Peri-operative Rise in High Sensitivity C-reactive Protein (Hs-CRP)
The change in the level of hs-CRP from baseline to POD2 in 20 orthopedic patients randomized (1:1) to atorvastatin 40mg versus placebo.
Time frame: Change from preoperative to post-operative day 2
Peri-operative Rise in Interleukin-6 (IL-6) Levels
The change in the level of IL-6 from baseline to POD2 in 16 arthroplasty patients randomized (1:1) to atorvastatin 40mg versus placebo.
Time frame: Change from preoperative to postoperative day 2
| Milestone | Atorvastatin | Sugar Pill |
|---|---|---|
| Started | 10 | 10 |
| Completed | 10 | 10 |
| Not completed | 0 | 0 |
The percentage of orthopedic patients with a ≥ 10 pg/mL rise in high-sensitivity cardiac troponin I (hs-cTnI) from baseline pre-operatively to post-operative day (POD)2
| percentage of patients | All Patients |
|---|---|
| Percentage of All Enrolled Patients With a Peri-operative Rise in High-sensitivity Cardiac Troponin I | 20 |
The change in the level of hs-CRP from baseline to POD2 in 20 orthopedic patients randomized (1:1) to atorvastatin 40mg versus placebo.
| mg/L | Atorvastatin | Sugar Pill |
|---|---|---|
| Peri-operative Rise in High Sensitivity C-reactive Protein (Hs-CRP) | 98.95 (63.8 to 151.4) | 85.95 (52.85 to 124.9) |
The change in the level of IL-6 from baseline to POD2 in 16 arthroplasty patients randomized (1:1) to atorvastatin 40mg versus placebo.
| pg/mL | Atorvastatin | Sugar Pill |
|---|---|---|
| Peri-operative Rise in Interleukin-6 (IL-6) Levels | 1.28 (0.09 to 1.58) | 0.98 (0.53 to 1.45) |
Collected over 90 days. Non-serious events are listed at a 0% frequency threshold.
| Group | Deaths | Serious | Other |
|---|---|---|---|
| Atorvastatin | 0/10 (0%) | 1/10 (10%) | 3/10 (30%) |
| Sugar Pill | 0/10 (0%) | 2/10 (20%) | 5/10 (50%) |
| Event | Atorvastatin | Sugar Pill |
|---|---|---|
| deep vein thrombosisVascular disorders | 1/10 | 0/10 |
| HypertensionCardiac disorders | 1/10 | 0/10 |
| bacteremiaInfections and infestations | 0/10 | 1/10 |
| deliriumNervous system disorders | 0/10 | 1/10 |
| alcohol withdrawalMetabolism and nutrition disorders | 0/10 | 1/10 |
| fluid overloadCardiac disorders | 0/10 | 1/10 |
| Event | Atorvastatin | Sugar Pill |
|---|---|---|
| InfectionInfections and infestations | 3/10 | 2/10 |
| deliriumNervous system disorders | 2/10 | 2/10 |
| HypertensionCardiac disorders | 1/10 | 1/10 |
| BradycardiaCardiac disorders | 1/10 | 0/10 |
| neuropathyNervous system disorders | 0/10 | 1/10 |
| pruritisSkin and subcutaneous tissue disorders | 0/10 | 1/10 |
| Age, Continuous(years) | Atorvastatin | Sugar Pill | Total |
|---|---|---|---|
| Median | 71 (67 to 76) | 75 (72 to 84) | 73 (70 to 82) |
| Sex: Female, Male(Participants) | Atorvastatin | Sugar Pill | Total |
|---|---|---|---|
| Female | 8 | 6 | 14 |
| Male | 2 | 4 | 6 |
| Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)(Participants) | Atorvastatin | Sugar Pill | Total |
|---|---|---|---|
| Hispanic or Latino | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Not Hispanic or Latino | 10 | 10 | 20 |
| Unknown or Not Reported | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Race (NIH/OMB)(Participants) | Atorvastatin | Sugar Pill | Total |
|---|---|---|---|
| American Indian or Alaska Native | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Asian | 1 | 0 | 1 |
| Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Black or African American | 0 | 1 | 1 |
| White | 9 | 9 | 18 |
| More than one race | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Unknown or Not Reported | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Region of Enrollment(participants) | Atorvastatin | Sugar Pill | Total |
|---|---|---|---|
| United States | 10 | 10 | 20 |
| Orthopedic procedure(Participants) | Atorvastatin | Sugar Pill | Total |
|---|---|---|---|
| Knee arthroplasty | 2 | 4 | 6 |
| Hip arthroplasty | 6 | 4 | 10 |
| Hip fracture repair | 2 | 2 | 4 |
Plan to share: No
This study is completed, as verified in Apr 2017. You cannot join it, but the record below documents what was studied.
Get an email when the registry record changes — status, dates, results — or when someone posts here.
Sign in to followQuestions and observations about this study, from anyone following it. Not medical advice, and not a channel to the study team — their contact details are on the registry record.
Sign in to join the discussion. Reading takes no account; posting does. You choose a display name, and a pseudonym is the default.
Nothing here yet. If you are running this trial, taking part in it, or weighing whether to, this is the place to say so.
Hospital for Special Surgery, New York