CClinicalTrials.gg
TerminatedNCT01313884Updated Nov 24, 2017Results posted

Cyclophosphamide, Doxorubicin, Vincristine w/ Irinotecan and Temozolomide in Ewings Sarcoma

A Phase 2 interventional study of Irinotecan and Vincristine in Bone Cancer and Ewing's Sarcoma, sponsored by Stanford University. Terminated at 1 site in United States. Open to participants aged 13 Years and older. Per ClinicalTrials.gov, last updated 2017-11-24.

Sponsored by Stanford University · Phase 2, Interventional, and Treatment

Why this study was terminated
Study did not reach primary objective; study did not accrue enough patients.
Phase
Phase 2
Study type
Interventional
Enrollment
3
Allocation
Not applicable
Ages
13 Years and older
Sex
All
01

Study summary

The outcome of patients with metastatic Ewings Sarcoma is poor with current standard of care chemotherapy, with less than 30% survival. Based on recent encouraging pediatric literature we have designed this trial to improve the outcome of patients with metastatic Ewings sarcoma using Irinotecan and Temozolomide in addition to standard chemotherapy.

02

Conditions studied

  • Bone Cancer
  • Ewing's Sarcoma
03

In context

Sarcoma

1,667 studies on the registry are indexed under Sarcoma; 393 are open to participants now.

This study's enrollment of 3 is below the median of 40 across 1,283 interventional studies indexed under Sarcoma.

Browse Sarcoma studies →

Lead sponsor

Stanford University is the lead sponsor of 2,117 studies on the registry; 425 are open to participants now.

Of its 259 completed or terminated interventional studies of FDA-regulated products, 197 (76%) have results posted.

Counted across the registry records on this site, refreshed daily.

04

Who can participate

Ages eligible
13 Years and older
Sexes eligible
All
Accepts healthy volunteers
No

Inclusion criteria

  • Histologically or cytologically confirmed diagnosis of metastatic Ewing's sarcoma.
  • Patients must have measurable disease defined as lesions that can be measured by medical imaging techniques such as CT or MRI. Ascites, pleural fluid, bone marrow disease, lesions seen on scan will not be considered measurable.
  • Patients must have metastatic disease.
  • Age 13 years or older
  • Life expectancy of at least 3 months.
  • ECOG performance status of \<= 3.
  • Normal hepatic function (Direct bilirubin \<1.5mg/dl, SGOT or SGPT \<3x upper limit of normal).
  • Left Ventricular Ejection fraction of at least 50%.
  • Adequate renal function: Creatinine clearance >= 50 ml/min or Serum creatinine \< 1.5 x ULN for age.
  • Adequate bone marrow reserve (defined as an absolute peripheral granulocyte count of >=1500/mm3, platelet count of >=75,000/mm3); unless bone marrow infiltrated with metastatic Ewing's sarcoma; ANC >= 500 and Platelet >= 50,000 mm3.
  • Ability to understand and willing to sign a written informed consent document.
  • Patients of childbearing potential must agree to use an effective method of contraception.

Exclusion criteria

Exclusion Criteria:

  • No prior chemotherapy for Ewing's sarcoma; No prior doxorubicin, temozolomide or irinotecan.
  • Known hypersensitivity to any of the components of the protocol drugs.
  • Clinically significant unrelated systemic illness (such as serious infections requiring active systemic intravenous antibiotic therapy; cardiovascular disease [congestive heart failure, recent myocardial infarction, unstable angina, inadequately controlled hypertension].
  • No prior history of chronic diarrhea, bowel obstruction, Crohn's disease or ulcerative colitis.
  • Pregnant or nursing woman are not included in the study.
  • HIV-positive patients will be excluded from the study due to risk of infection or other serious side effects.
  • Other medical, psychiatric or social condition incompatible with study treatment.
05

Study design

Phase
Phase 2
Primary purpose
Treatment
Allocation
Not applicable
Intervention model
Single group
Masking
None (open label)
Enrollment
3 participants (actual)

Study arms

  • Experimental
    Combination Therapy

    Regimen A alternating with Regimen B every 21 days Regimen A: * Cytoxan 1200mg/m2 * Doxorubicin, starting dose 75 mg/m2 to a maximum of 450mg/m2 * Vincristine, starting dose 2 mg/m2 to a maximum of 2 mg * Pegfilgrastim, 6 mg subcutaneous within 24 to 48 hours after each cycle Regimen B: * Irinotecan 50 mg/m2/day x 5 days * Temozolomide 100 mg/m2/day x 5 days followed by 2 weeks treatment-free

    Drug: Irinotecan · Drug: Vincristine · Drug: Temozolomide · Drug: Doxorubicin · Drug: Cytoxan · Drug: Pegfilgrastim

Interventions

  • DrugIrinotecan

    50 mg/m2/day x 5 days

    Also known as: Camptosar, Campto

  • DrugVincristine

    2 mg/m2 to a maximum of 2 mg

    Also known as: Oncovin, leurocristine

  • DrugTemozolomide

    100 mg/m2/day x 5 days followed by 2 weeks treatment-free

    Also known as: Temodar, Temodal

  • DrugDoxorubicin

    Starting dose 75 mg/m2 to a maximum of 450mg/m2

    Also known as: Adriamycin, hydroxydaunorubicin

  • DrugCytoxan

    1200 mg/m2

    Also known as: Cyclophosphamide, Endoxan, Neosar, Procytox, Revimmune, cytophosphane

  • DrugPegfilgrastim

    6 mg subcutaneous within 24 to 48 hours after each Regimen A cycle

    Also known as: Neulasta

06

What researchers measure

Primary outcomes

  1. Overall Response Rate (Partial and Complete Response)

    Response was evaluated every 12 weeks during treatment. Subjects who discontinue treatment for reasons other than disease progression or initiation of new anticancer therapy (excluding radiation therapy and surgery) response evaluated every 6 months following the last dose of study drug. Scans should be obtained every 6 months for up to 2 years (24 months) or until progression of disease or initiation of new anticancer therapy. Complete response (CR) Disappearance of all target lesions. Any pathological lymph nodes (whether target or non-target) must have reduction in short axis to \<10 mm. Partial response (PR): At least a 30% decrease in the sum of diameters of target lesions, taking as a reference the baseline sum diameters.

    Time frame: Up to 24 months

Secondary outcomes

  1. Progression-free Survival (PFS)

    The intended outcome is a measure of whether participants are alive without disease progression 2 years (24 months) after treatment.

    Time frame: 24 months

07

Results

Posted Feb 2, 2017
Limitations and caveats
Study did not reach primary objective; study didn't accrue enough patients.

Participant flow

Participant flow — Overall Study
MilestoneCombination Therapy
Started3
Completed2
Not completed1
Withdrew: Per insurance pvdr, pt can't be on cl tr1

Outcome measures

PrimaryOverall Response Rate (Partial and Complete Response)

Response was evaluated every 12 weeks during treatment. Subjects who discontinue treatment for reasons other than disease progression or initiation of new anticancer therapy (excluding radiation therapy and surgery) response evaluated every 6 months following the last dose of study drug. Scans should be obtained every 6 months for up to 2 years (24 months) or until progression of disease or initiation of new anticancer therapy. Complete response (CR) Disappearance of all target lesions. Any pathological lymph nodes (whether target or non-target) must have reduction in short axis to \<10 mm. Partial response (PR): At least a 30% decrease in the sum of diameters of target lesions, taking as a reference the baseline sum diameters.

Time frame:
Up to 24 months
Reported as:
Count of participants · Participants
Overall Response Rate (Partial and Complete Response)
ParticipantsCombination Therapy
Complete Response0
Partial Response2
SecondaryProgression-free Survival (PFS)

The intended outcome is a measure of whether participants are alive without disease progression 2 years (24 months) after treatment.

Time frame:
24 months

No measurements were reported for this outcome.

Adverse events

Collected over All adverse events (related and unrelated) occurring during the study (from the time the patient receives the first dose of study drug) and up to 30 days after the last dose of study medication were reported.. Non-serious events are listed at a 0% frequency threshold.

Adverse event summary by group
GroupDeathsSeriousOther
Combination Therapy—1/3 (33.3%)3/3 (100%)
Most frequent serious events
Most frequent serious events
EventCombination Therapy
Febrile neutropeniaBlood and lymphatic system disorders1/3
ThrombocytopeniaBlood and lymphatic system disorders1/3
DiarrheaGastrointestinal disorders1/3
DehydrationGeneral disorders1/3
FeverGeneral disorders1/3
Most frequent other events
Showing 10 of 59
Most frequent other events
EventCombination Therapy
Mucositis oral G1Gastrointestinal disorders2/3
Diarrhea G1Gastrointestinal disorders2/3
Intermittent headache G1General disorders1/3
Decreased energy G1Gastrointestinal disorders1/3
Fatigue G1Gastrointestinal disorders1/3
Insomnia G1General disorders1/3
Insomnia G2General disorders1/3
Fever G1General disorders1/3
Hiccups G1General disorders1/3
Throat pain G2Gastrointestinal disorders1/3

Baseline characteristics

Age, Categorical
Age, Categorical(Participants)Combination Therapy
<=18 years0
Between 18 and 65 years3
>=65 years0
Sex: Female, Male
Sex: Female, Male(Participants)Combination Therapy
Female1
Male2
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)(Participants)Combination Therapy
Hispanic or Latino1
Not Hispanic or Latino2
Unknown or Not Reported0
Race (NIH/OMB)
Race (NIH/OMB)(Participants)Combination Therapy
American Indian or Alaska Native0
Asian1
Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander0
Black or African American0
White1
More than one race0
Unknown or Not Reported1
Region of Enrollment
Region of Enrollment(participants)Combination Therapy
United States3
08

Study locations

1 site
  • Stanford University School of Medicine
    Stanford, California 94305, United States
09

References and documents

Individual participant data

Plan to share: No

No publications or documents are linked to this record.

10

Updates

Tracking since Sep 25, 2026
No changes since tracking began. The registry record was last updated on Nov 24, 2017, before this site started recording changes on Sep 25, 2026. Its history is on ClinicalTrials.gov ↗
11

Registry details

Key details

Study ID
NCT01313884
Lead sponsor
Stanford University
Collaborators
Amgen
Responsible party
Kristen Ganjoo (Assistant Professor of Medicine, Stanford University) — Principal investigator
First posted
Mar 14, 2011
Start date
May 2011
Primary completion
Jul 2014
Completion
Jul 2014
Results posted
Feb 2, 2017
Last update
Nov 24, 2017

Study contacts

Kristen N. Ganjoo
principal investigator · Stanford University

Oversight

Data monitoring committee
Yes
View the source record on ClinicalTrials.gov ↗

Not currently enrolling

This study is terminated, as verified in Dec 2016. You cannot join it, but the record below documents what was studied.

Follow this study

Get an email when the registry record changes — status, dates, results — or when someone posts here.

Sign in to follow

Discussion

Questions and observations about this study, from anyone following it. Not medical advice, and not a channel to the study team — their contact details are on the registry record.

Sign in to join the discussion. Reading takes no account; posting does. You choose a display name, and a pseudonym is the default.

Nothing here yet. If you are running this trial, taking part in it, or weighing whether to, this is the place to say so.

Start the discussion