CClinicalTrials.gg
CompletedNCT00525057Updated Jan 22, 2021Results posted

Dalteparin in Preventing DVT in Participants With Cancer

An interventional study of Dalteparin in Bone Sarcoma, Femur Fracture and Lymphoma, sponsored by M.D. Anderson Cancer Center. Completed at 1 site in United States. Open to participants aged 30 Years and older. Per ClinicalTrials.gov, last updated 2021-01-22.

Sponsored by M.D. Anderson Cancer Center · Not applicable, Interventional, and Prevention

From the registry’s dates

  • Registered 1 year 1 month after the study started (first participant enrolled Jul 2006, registered Sep 2007).
Phase
Not applicable
Study type
Interventional
Enrollment
65
Allocation
Not applicable
Ages
30 Years and older
Sex
All
01

Study summary

This trial studies how well dalteparin works in preventing deep vein thrombosis (DVT) (blood clots) in participants with cancer. Dalteparin is a blood thinner that can treat blood clots and may prevent them from forming.

Read the detailed description

PRIMARY OBJECTIVES:

I. To determine the safety of dalteparin as prophylaxis against deep venous thrombosis (DVT) in orthopedic oncology patients.

II. To determine whether there are significantly increased bleeding complications at the surgical site after major oncologic operations in the lower extremity.

OUTLINE:

Participants receive dalteparin subcutaneously (SC) once daily (QD) starting 12-24 hours after surgery on post-operative day 1 until hospital discharge, about 7-10 days.

02

Conditions studied

  • Bone Sarcoma
  • Femur Fracture
  • Lymphoma
  • Metastatic Neoplasm
  • Pathologic Fracture
  • Plasma Cell Myeloma
  • Soft Tissue Sarcoma
03

In context

Sarcoma

1,667 studies on the registry are indexed under Sarcoma; 393 are open to participants now.

This study's enrollment of 65 is above the median of 40 across 1,283 interventional studies indexed under Sarcoma.

Browse Sarcoma studies →

Lead sponsor

M.D. Anderson Cancer Center is the lead sponsor of 2,999 studies on the registry; 581 are open to participants now.

Of its 599 completed or terminated interventional studies of FDA-regulated products, 402 (67%) have results posted.

Counted across the registry records on this site, refreshed daily.

04

Who can participate

Ages eligible
30 Years and older
Sexes eligible
All
Accepts healthy volunteers
No

Inclusion criteria

  • GROUP A
  • Metastatic disease, myeloma, lymphoma.
  • Pathologic fracture or impending pathologic fracture of the femur.
  • Intramedullary rod, plating, cementation, hip arthroplasty, or knee arthroplasty.
  • GROUP B
  • Primary sarcoma of bone or soft tissue of the lower extremity.
  • T2 tumor (> 5 cm by \< 20 cm).
  • Radical resection of tumor, which may necessitate major bone or soft tissue reconstruction.

Exclusion criteria

Exclusion Criteria:

  • Presence of DVT on pre-operative screening ultrasound study.
  • Massive tumor (> 20 cm in greatest dimension).
  • Amputation of the affected leg as treatment of tumor.
  • Estimated blood loss > 2 liters during surgery.
  • Surgical drain output > 500 cc of bloody fluid during first 8 hours.
  • International normalized ratio (I.N.R.) > 1.3 pre-operatively or > 1.5 post-operatively.
  • Platelet count \< 100,000 either pre-operatively or post-operatively.
  • Indwelling post-operative epidural catheter for pain control.
  • History of underlying bleeding disorder, such as hemophilia.
  • History of adverse reaction to heparin such as heparin-induced thrombocytopenia.
  • Severe liver or renal insufficiency.
  • History of hypertensive or diabetic retinopathy.
  • History of gastro-intestinal bleeding within 12 months.
  • Treatment with warfarin, clopidogrel, aspirin, nonsteroidal antiinflammatory drugs (NSAIDs), low molecular weight heparin (LMWH) or other anti-coagulants for conditions.
  • History of stroke.
  • Women of child bearing potential having a positive urine or serum pregnancy test (human chorionic gonadotropin [hCG]) at the time of pre-operative evaluation (within 7 days of surgery).
  • Women who are breastfeeding.
  • Hemoglobin \< 8.0 g/dL.
  • Platelet count \< 100,000/L.
  • Alanine aminotransferase > 100 IU/L.
  • Aspartate aminotransferase > 100 IU/L.
  • Direct bilirubin > 0.5mg/dL.
  • Serum creatinine > 2.0 mg/dL.
  • Patients taking COX-2 inhibitors.
  • Patients who have fragmented mechanical heart valves.
05

Study design

Phase
Not applicable
Primary purpose
Prevention
Allocation
Not applicable
Intervention model
Single group
Masking
None (open label)
Enrollment
65 participants (actual)

Study arms

  • Experimental
    Treatment (dalteparin)

    Participants receive dalteparin SC QD starting 12-24 hours after surgery on post-operative day 1 until hospital discharge, about 7-10 days.

    Drug: Dalteparin

Interventions

  • DrugDalteparin

    Given SC

06

What researchers measure

Primary outcomes

  1. Number of Participants With Post-operative Wound Complications

    Our primary outcome was the incidence of post-surgical complications, to include wound dehiscence, infection, and seroma.

    Time frame: 4 weeks after surgery

Secondary outcomes

  1. Number of Participants With Occurrence of Venous Thromboembolism

    A secondary outcome was the occurrence of venous thrombolembolism in the post-operative period, to include both deep venous thrombosis in the lower extremity as well as pulmonary embolism.

    Time frame: 4 weeks after surgery

  2. Post-Operative Blood Transfusion

    The volume of packed red blood cell transfusion in the post-operative period

    Time frame: 4 weeks after surgery

07

Results

Posted Jan 22, 2021

Participant flow

Recruitment Period: July 2006 - December 2010

Participant flow — Overall Study
MilestoneInterventional (Dalteparin, Metastatic)Interventional (Dalteparin, Sarcoma)
Started2525
Completed2525
Not completed00

Outcome measures

PrimaryNumber of Participants With Post-operative Wound Complications

Our primary outcome was the incidence of post-surgical complications, to include wound dehiscence, infection, and seroma.

Time frame:
4 weeks after surgery
Reported as:
Count of participants · Participants
Number of Participants With Post-operative Wound Complications
ParticipantsInterventional (Dalteparin, Metastatic)Interventional (Dalteparin, Sarcoma)
Seroma14
Wound Infection03
Wound Dehiscence01
SecondaryNumber of Participants With Occurrence of Venous Thromboembolism

A secondary outcome was the occurrence of venous thrombolembolism in the post-operative period, to include both deep venous thrombosis in the lower extremity as well as pulmonary embolism.

Time frame:
4 weeks after surgery
Reported as:
Count of participants · Participants
Number of Participants With Occurrence of Venous Thromboembolism
ParticipantsInterventional (Dalteparin, Metastatic)Interventional (Dalteparin, Sarcoma)
Deep venous thrombosis10
Pulmonary embolism00
SecondaryPost-Operative Blood Transfusion

The volume of packed red blood cell transfusion in the post-operative period

Time frame:
4 weeks after surgery
Reported as:
Mean · mL
Post-Operative Blood Transfusion
mLInterventional (Dalteparin, Metastatic)Interventional (Dalteparin, Sarcoma)
Post-Operative Blood Transfusion213 (0 to 685)271 (0 to 2059)

Adverse events

Collected over 4 weeks after surgery. Non-serious events are listed at a 5% frequency threshold.

Adverse event summary by group
GroupDeathsSeriousOther
Interventional (Dalteparin, Metastatic)0/25 (0%)1/25 (4%)1/25 (4%)
Interventional (Dalteparin, Sarcoma)0/25 (0%)0/25 (0%)4/25 (16%)
Most frequent serious events
Most frequent serious events
EventInterventional (Dalteparin, Metastatic)Interventional (Dalteparin, Sarcoma)
Thromboembolic eventVascular disorders1/250/25
Most frequent other events
Most frequent other events
EventInterventional (Dalteparin, Metastatic)Interventional (Dalteparin, Sarcoma)
SeromaSurgical and medical procedures1/254/25
Wound infectionSurgical and medical procedures0/253/25

Baseline characteristics

Age, Categorical
Age, Categorical(Participants)Interventional (Dalteparin, Metastatic)Interventional (Dalteparin, Sarcoma)Total
<=18 years000
Between 18 and 65 years202141
>=65 years549
Sex: Female, Male
Sex: Female, Male(Participants)Interventional (Dalteparin, Metastatic)Interventional (Dalteparin, Sarcoma)Total
Female11920
Male141630
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)(Participants)Interventional (Dalteparin, Metastatic)Interventional (Dalteparin, Sarcoma)Total
Hispanic or Latino000
Not Hispanic or Latino000
Unknown or Not Reported252550
Race (NIH/OMB)
Race (NIH/OMB)(Participants)Interventional (Dalteparin, Metastatic)Interventional (Dalteparin, Sarcoma)Total
American Indian or Alaska Native000
Asian000
Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander000
Black or African American000
White000
More than one race000
Unknown or Not Reported252550
Region of Enrollment
Region of Enrollment(participants)Interventional (Dalteparin, Metastatic)Interventional (Dalteparin, Sarcoma)Total
United States252550
Tumor Location
Tumor Location(Participants)Interventional (Dalteparin, Metastatic)Interventional (Dalteparin, Sarcoma)Total
Femur/Thigh221537
Tibia/Calf066
Popliteal347
Tumor Type
Tumor Type(Participants)Interventional (Dalteparin, Metastatic)Interventional (Dalteparin, Sarcoma)Total
Carcinoma25025
Sarcoma02525
Surgery
Surgery(Participants)Interventional (Dalteparin, Metastatic)Interventional (Dalteparin, Sarcoma)Total
Wide Excision Only02020
Segmental Reconstruction19524
Curettage, Internal Fixation606
08

Study locations

1 site
  • M D Anderson Cancer Center
    Houston, Texas 77030, United States
09

References and documents

Study documents

  • Protocol and statistical analysis plan · Aug 19, 2009

Documents are hosted by the registry — open the source record to download them.

10

Updates

Tracking since Sep 25, 2026
No changes since tracking began. The registry record was last updated on Jan 22, 2021, before this site started recording changes on Sep 25, 2026. Its history is on ClinicalTrials.gov ↗
11

Registry details

Key details

Study ID
NCT00525057
Lead sponsor
M.D. Anderson Cancer Center
Collaborators
National Cancer Institute (NCI)
Responsible party
Sponsor
First posted
Sep 5, 2007
Start date
Jul 7, 2006
Primary completion
Jun 19, 2020
Completion
Jun 19, 2020
Results posted
Jan 22, 2021
Last update
Jan 22, 2021

Study contacts

Patrick Lin
principal investigator · M.D. Anderson Cancer Center

Oversight

Data monitoring committee
No
FDA-regulated drug
Yes
FDA-regulated device
No
View the source record on ClinicalTrials.gov ↗

Not currently enrolling

This study is completed, as verified in Dec 2020. You cannot join it, but the record below documents what was studied.

Follow this study

Get an email when the registry record changes — status, dates, results — or when someone posts here.

Sign in to follow

Discussion

Questions and observations about this study, from anyone following it. Not medical advice, and not a channel to the study team — their contact details are on the registry record.

Sign in to join the discussion. Reading takes no account; posting does. You choose a display name, and a pseudonym is the default.

Nothing here yet. If you are running this trial, taking part in it, or weighing whether to, this is the place to say so.

Start the discussion