ClinicalTrials.gg
CompletedNCT00081133Updated Jun 5, 2013

Arsenic Trioxide and Imatinib Mesylate in Treating Patients With Accelerated Phase or Blastic Phase Chronic Myelogenous Leukemia or Philadelphia Chromosome-Positive Acute Lymphoblastic Leukemia

A Phase 1/2 interventional study of arsenic trioxide and imatinib mesylate in Leukemia, sponsored by Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center. Completed at 1 site in United States. Open to participants aged 18 Years and older. Per ClinicalTrials.gov, last updated 2013-06-05.

Sponsored by Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center · Phase 1/2, Interventional, and Treatment

Phase
Phase 1/2
Study type
Interventional
Ages
18 Years and older
Sex
All
01

Study summary

RATIONALE: Drugs used in chemotherapy, such as arsenic trioxide, work in different ways to stop cancer cells from dividing so they stop growing or die. Imatinib mesylate may stop the growth of cancer cells by blocking the enzymes necessary for their growth. Combining arsenic trioxide with imatinib mesylate may kill more cancer cells.

PURPOSE: This phase I/II trial is studying the side effects and best dose of arsenic trioxide when given with imatinib mesylate and to see how well they work in treating patients with accelerated phase or blastic phase chronic myelogenous leukemia or Philadelphia chromosome-positive acute lymphoblastic leukemia.

Read the detailed description

OBJECTIVES:

Primary

  • Determine the maximum tolererated dose of arsenic trioxide when administered with imatinib mesylate in patients with accelerated or blastic phase chronic myelogenous leukemia or Philadelphia chromosome-positive acute lymphoblastic leukemia.
  • Determine the rate of complete morphologic remission in the bone marrow of patients treated with this regimen.

OUTLINE: This is a phase I dose-escalation study of arsenic trioxide followed by a phase II study.

  • Phase I:

    • Induction therapy: Patients receive oral imatinib mesylate once daily on days 1-35 (weeks 1-5) and arsenic trioxide IV over 1-4 hours on days 1-5, 8-12, 15-19, and 22-26 (weeks 1-4).

Patients undergo bone marrow evaluation on week 5. Patients achieving a morphologic remission proceed to consolidation therapy. Patients not achieving morphologic remission receive a second course of imatinib mesylate as above on weeks 6-10 and arsenic trioxide as above on weeks 6-9. Patients are re-evaluated on week 10. Patients achieving morphologic remission proceed to consolidation therapy. Patients not achieving a morphologic remission are removed from study.

  • Consolidation therapy: Patients receive oral imatinib mesylate as in induction therapy on approximately weeks 6-11 (or weeks 11-16*) and arsenic trioxide IV over 1-4 hours on days 1, 3, 5, 8, 10, 12, 15, 17, 19, 22, 24, and 26 (approximately weeks 6-9 OR weeks 11-14*).

Patients who remain in morphologic remission receive a second course of imatinib mesylate as in induction therapy on approximately weeks 12-17 (or weeks 17-22*) and arsenic trioxide as above (in consolidation therapy) on approximately weeks 12-15 (or weeks 17-20*).

NOTE: *For patients who receive a second course of induction therapy

Cohorts of 6 patients receive escalating doses of arsenic trioxide until the maximum tolerated dose (MTD) is determined. The MTD is defined as the dose preceding that at which 2 of 6 patients experience dose-limiting toxicity.

  • Phase II: Patients receive arsenic trioxide at the MTD and imatinib mesylate as in phase I.

Treatment in both phases continues in the absence of unacceptable toxicity or disease progression.

After completion of consolidation therapy, patients may continue imatinib mesylate off study at the discretion of the physician. Patients who become candidates for stem cell transplantation at any time during the study are removed from study.

PROJECTED ACCRUAL: A total of 6-43 patients (6-12 for phase I and 37 [including 6 patients from phase I] for phase II) will be accrued for this study within 2 years.

02

Conditions studied

  • Leukemia

Keywords

  • accelerated phase chronic myelogenous leukemia
  • blastic phase chronic myelogenous leukemia
  • recurrent adult acute lymphoblastic leukemia
  • untreated adult acute lymphoblastic leukemia
03

In context

Leukemia

5,475 studies on the registry are indexed under Leukemia; 629 are open to participants now.

Browse Leukemia studies →

Lead sponsor

Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center is the lead sponsor of 1,957 studies on the registry; 323 are open to participants now.

Of its 132 completed or terminated interventional studies of FDA-regulated products, 68 (52%) have results posted.

Counted across the registry records on this site, refreshed daily.

04

Who can participate

Ages eligible
18 Years and older
Sexes eligible
All
Accepts healthy volunteers
No

Eligibility criteria

DISEASE CHARACTERISTICS:

  • Diagnosis of one of the following:

    • Chronic myelogenous leukemia (CML) in one of the following phases:

      • Blastic phase*
      • Accelerated phase*

        • No appropriate donors for stem cell transplantation NOTE: *Must have received high-dose (600-800 mg/day) imatinib mesylate of no more than 3 months duration
    • Acute lymphoblastic leukemia

      • Philadelphia chromosome positive by cytogenetic confirmation

        • Patients with only bcr-abl-positive disease by polymerase chain reaction are not eligible
      • > 10% blasts in the bone marrow
  • No isolated extramedullary disease

PATIENT CHARACTERISTICS:

Age

  • 18 and over

Performance status

  • ECOG 0-2

Life expectancy

  • Not specified

Hematopoietic

  • Not specified

Hepatic

  • Bilirubin ≤ 2 times upper limit of normal (ULN)
  • AST ≤ 2 times ULN
  • INR and PTT ≤ 1.5 times ULN (except for patients on anticoagulation therapy)

Renal

  • Creatinine ≤ 2 times ULN

Cardiovascular

  • Baseline QTc intervals \< 480 ms
  • No chronic arrhythmias
  • No active coronary artery disease

Other

  • No chronic electrolyte abnormalities
  • No prior non-compliance to medical regimens
  • No patients who are considered potentially unreliable
  • No active serious infection
  • No other active malignancies except superficial epithelial cancers
  • Not pregnant or nursing
  • Negative pregnancy test
  • Fertile patients must use effective barrier contraception during and for at least 3 months after study participation

PRIOR CONCURRENT THERAPY:

Biologic therapy

  • No prior peripheral blood stem cell or bone marrow transplantation

Chemotherapy

  • Prior hydroxyurea allowed
  • No other concurrent chemotherapy

Endocrine therapy

  • Not specified

Radiotherapy

  • Not specified

Surgery

  • More than 4 weeks since prior major surgery and recovered

Other

  • Prior anagrelide allowed
  • No concurrent warfarin for therapeutic anticoagulation

    • Concurrent low molecular weight heparin is allowed
05

Study design

Phase
Phase 1 / Phase 2
Primary purpose
Treatment
06

Study locations

1 site
  • Memorial Sloan-Kettering Cancer Center
    New York, New York 10021, United States
07

Timeline

Tracking since Sep 25, 2026
Not marked actual or estimatedDates not marked actual or estimated

The record gives a start of Dec 2003, a primary completion of Feb 2005 and a completion of Feb 2005. It does not say whether these dates are actual or estimated.

How these figures are worked out, and which studies are left out of them.

Registered
Apr 7, 2004
First posted
Apr 8, 2004
Start
Dec 2003
Primary completionActual
Feb 2005
CompletionActual
Feb 2005
Last update
Jun 5, 2013
What these dates mean
Start.
When the first participant enrolled; while estimated, when the study expects to open to recruitment.
Primary completion.
When the last participant was examined or treated to collect data for the study's main question, its primary outcome. A study that stopped early gives the date its data collection stopped.
Completion.
When the last participant's last visit took place, for every outcome, secondary ones and side effects included: the end of the study. Often later than primary completion, sometimes the same day.
Actual and Est.
Actual means the registry says the date has happened. Est. (estimated) is a date the sponsor plans or expects. It can still move, and the sponsor is expected to change it to actual once it has passed.
No changes since tracking began. The registry record was last updated on Jun 5, 2013, before this site started recording changes on Sep 25, 2026. Its history is on ClinicalTrials.gov ↗
08

Registry details

Key details

Study ID
NCT00081133
First posted
Apr 8, 2004
Start date
Dec 2003
Primary completion
Feb 2005
Completion
Feb 2005
Last update
Jun 5, 2013

Study contacts

Ellin Berman, MD
principal investigator · Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center
View the source record on ClinicalTrials.gov ↗

Not currently enrolling

This study is completed, as verified in Jun 2013. You cannot join it, but the record below documents what was studied.

Follow this study

Get an email when the registry record changes — status, dates, results — or when someone posts here.

Sign in to follow

Discussion

Questions and observations about this study, from anyone following it. Not medical advice, and not a channel to the study team — their contact details are on the registry record.

Sign in to join the discussion. Reading takes no account; posting does. You choose a display name, and a pseudonym is the default.

Nothing here yet. If you are running this trial, taking part in it, or weighing whether to, this is the place to say so.

Studies of the drugs tested here: Arsenic Trioxide · Imatinib

Start the discussion