ClinicalTrials.gg
TerminatedNCT00005047Updated Jun 8, 2017Results posted

4B951, Combination Chemotherapy in Treating Patients With Bladder Cancer

A Phase 3 interventional study of cisplatin and doxorubicin hydrochloride in Bladder Cancer, sponsored by SWOG Cancer Research Network. Terminated at 74 sites in 2 countries. Open to participants aged Up to 120 Years. Per ClinicalTrials.gov, last updated 2017-06-08.

Sponsored by SWOG Cancer Research Network · Phase 3, Interventional, and Treatment

Why this study was terminated
Accrual was halted on the basis of the Data and Safety Monitoring Board review of a futility analysis.

From the registry’s dates

  • Registered 2 years 8 months after the study started (first participant enrolled Aug 1997, registered Apr 2000).
Phase
Phase 3
Study type
Interventional
Enrollment
521
Allocation
Randomized
Ages
Up to 120 Years
Sex
All
01

Study summary

RATIONALE: Drugs used in chemotherapy use different ways to stop tumor cells from dividing so they stop growing or die. Combining more than one drug may kill more tumor cells. It is not yet known whether combination chemotherapy is more effective than observation alone in treating bladder cancer.

PURPOSE: This randomized phase III trial is studying combination chemotherapy to see how well it works compared to observation alone in treating patients with bladder cancer.

Read the detailed description

OBJECTIVES:

  • Compare the recurrence-free and overall survival in patients with transitional cell carcinoma of the bladder with p53 gene alterations treated with methotrexate, vinblastine, doxorubicin, and cisplatin vs observation alone.
  • Compare the recurrence-free and overall survival in patients with or without p53 gene alterations treated with observation alone.
  • Examine the expression of p53 and other genes, particularly RB, p21, and p16, involved in cell cycle regulation that may be involved in the response to chemotherapy in these patients.
  • Correlate p53 mutational gene status with p53 protein expression by immunohistochemistry, outcome (recurrence-free and overall survival), response to chemotherapy, and expression of key molecules in the p53-mediated apoptotic pathway in patients treated with this regimen vs observation alone.

OUTLINE: This is a randomized, multicenter study. Patients are assigned to 1 of 2 treatment groups based on the status of the p53 gene in the bladder tumor.

  • Group A (p53 gene alteration, defined by greater than 10% nuclear reactivity): Patients are stratified according to age (under 65 vs 65 and over), stage (P1 vs P2a vs P2b), grade (1 or 2 vs 3 or 4), and p21 status. Patients are randomized to 1 of 2 treatment arms within 10 weeks after radical cystectomy and bilateral pelvic lymphadenectomy and within 2 weeks after registration.

    • Arm I: Within 2 weeks after randomization, patients receive methotrexate IV on days 1, 15, and 22; vinblastine IV on days 2, 15, and 22; and doxorubicin IV and cisplatin IV on day 2. Treatment repeats every 4 weeks for 3 courses in the absence of disease progression or unacceptable toxicity.
    • Arm II: Patients undergo observation for recurrence but do not receive adjuvant chemotherapy after surgery.

Patients who are eligible for randomization but decline to be randomized undergo observation for recurrence.

  • Group B (p53 gene normal, defined by less than 10% nuclear reactivity): Patients undergo observation for recurrence but do not receive adjuvant chemotherapy after surgery.

Patients are followed every 6 months for 5 years and then annually thereafter.

PROJECTED ACCRUAL: A total of 800 patients will be accrued for this study within 4.75 years.

02

Conditions studied

  • Bladder Cancer

Keywords

  • stage I bladder cancer
  • stage II bladder cancer
  • transitional cell carcinoma of the bladder
03

In context

Urinary Bladder Neoplasms

1,649 studies on the registry are indexed under Urinary Bladder Neoplasms; 427 are open to participants now.

This study's enrollment of 521 is above the median of 60 across 1,183 interventional studies indexed under Urinary Bladder Neoplasms.

Browse Urinary Bladder Neoplasms studies →

Lead sponsor

SWOG Cancer Research Network is the lead sponsor of 339 studies on the registry; 37 are open to participants now.

Of its 17 completed or terminated interventional studies of FDA-regulated products, 17 (100%) have results posted.

Counted across the registry records on this site, refreshed daily.

04

Who can participate

Ages eligible
Up to 120 Years
Sexes eligible
All
Accepts healthy volunteers
No

Eligibility criteria

DISEASE CHARACTERISTICS:

  • Histologically proven organ confined transitional cell carcinoma (TCC) of the bladder

    • Must have undergone radical cystectomy and bilateral pelvic lymphadenectomy with pathologic stage from definitive cystectomy specimen of P1, P2a, or P2b and N0, M0 TCC with or without squamous/glandular differentiation (no adenocarcinoma, squamous cell carcinoma, or small cell carcinoma)

      • Margins must be negative for invasive or in situ TCC
      • In situ TCC in the urethra or ureter(s) allowed provided margins are negative
    • Clinical stage T1, T2a, or T2b based on transurethral resection bladder tumor specimen with P0 or PIS and N0, M0 TCC allowed
    • Incidental pT2a (Gleason score no greater than 7), pT2b (Gleason score no greater than 7), or pT2c (Gleason score no greater than 7) adenocarcinoma of the prostate allowed
  • No invasive tumor into ureter(s) or urethra
  • Must have potentially curable disease
  • Must register within 9 weeks after surgery
  • No metastatic disease by physical exam and chest x-ray or CT scan of the chest
  • Eligible for randomization if:

    • p53 gene alteration present
    • Randomization occurs within 10 weeks after surgery
    • Those who are randomized to receive (MVAC) methotrexate, vinblastine, doxorubicin, and cisplatin begin MVAC within 12 weeks after cystectomy
    • No metastatic disease by physical exam and chest x-ray or CT scan of the chest
    • No prohibitive medical risk for chemotherapy

PATIENT CHARACTERISTICS:

Age

  • Any age

Performance status

  • ECOG 0-1 OR
  • Karnofsky 70-100%

Life expectancy

  • Not specified

Hematopoietic

  • WBC at least 4,000/mm\^3
  • Platelet count at least 150,000/mm\^3

Hepatic

  • SGOT or SGPT no greater than 2 times normal
  • Alkaline phosphatase no greater than 2 times normal
  • Bilirubin normal

Renal

  • Creatinine no greater than 1.8 mg/dL OR
  • Creatinine clearance at least 50 mL/min
  • Blood urea nitrogen normal

Cardiovascular

  • No serious arrhythmias
  • No congestive heart disease with New York Heart Association class III or IV status
  • Randomization group:

    • Ejection fraction must be at least 50% by MUGA scan if there is a clinical concern regarding the patient's cardiac status

Other

  • No other malignancy (including synchronous papillary or invasive upper urinary tract malignancy) within the past 5 years except incidental prostate cancer (found at cystectomy), basal cell or squamous cell skin cancer, or carcinoma in situ of the cervix
  • No concurrent advanced medical illness or psychologic disease
  • No prohibitive medical risk for chemotherapy
  • Not pregnant or nursing
  • Negative pregnancy test
  • Fertile patients must use effective contraception

PRIOR CONCURRENT THERAPY:

Biologic therapy

  • Not specified

Chemotherapy

  • See Disease Characteristics
  • No prior systemic chemotherapy for bladder cancer
  • At least 5 years since other prior systemic chemotherapy
  • Prior intravesical therapy allowed
  • Randomization group:

    • Prior intravesical therapy allowed if administered prior to cystectomy

Endocrine therapy

  • Not specified

Radiotherapy

  • No prior pelvic irradiation

Surgery

  • See Disease Characteristics
05

Study design

Phase
Phase 3
Primary purpose
Treatment
Allocation
Randomized
Intervention model
Parallel assignment
Masking
None (open label)
Enrollment
521 participants (actual)

Study arms

  • Experimental
    Arm I: M-VAC x 3

    Patients with altered (+) p53, reconsented to randomization, randomized to three cycles of MVAC

    Drug: cisplatin · Drug: doxorubicin hydrochloride · Drug: methotrexate · Drug: vinblastine

  • No intervention
    Arm II: Observation

    Patients with altered (+) p53, reconsented to randomization, randomized to observation

  • No intervention
    Arm III: Observation

    Patients with unaltered (-) p53

  • No intervention
    Arm IV: Observation

    Patients with altered (+) p53, patients did not consent to randomization

06

What researchers measure

Primary outcomes

  1. Probability of Recurring

    p53 positive patients randomized to MVAC (arm I) compared to p53 positive patients randomized to observation (arm II). Time from registration to the first observation of disease recurrence, censoring patients who died of unrelated causes. Probabilities of recurring were based on cumulative incidence curves. Recurrence is defined as first radiological appearance of bladder cancer, per local standard of care.

    Time frame: 5 years

Secondary outcomes

  1. Probability of Overall Survival

    p53 positive patients randomized to MVAC (arm I) compared to p53 positive patients randomized to observation (arm II). Survival is calculated from registration to death due to any cause. Probabilities of survival were based on the Kaplan-Meier product-limit method.

    Time frame: 5 years

  2. Probability of Recurrence

    Patients with tumors demonstrating alteration in p53 compared to patients with no p53 alterations. Probabilities of recurring were based on cumulative incidence curves. Recurrence is defined as first radiological appearance of bladder cancer, per local standard of care.

    Time frame: 5 years

  3. Probability of Overall Survival

    Patients with tumors demonstrating alteration in p53 compared to patients with no p53 alterations. Probabilities of survival were based on the Kaplan-Meier product-limit method.

    Time frame: 5 years

07

Results

Posted Jun 8, 2017

Participant flow

Participant flow — Overall Study
MilestoneArm I: M-VAC x 3Arm II: ObservationArm III: ObservationArm IV: Observation
Started5856227158
Completed3956227158
Not completed19000
Withdrew: Withdrawal by subject12000
Withdrew: Adverse event5000
Withdrew: Lost to follow-up1000
Withdrew: Lack of efficacy1000

Outcome measures

PrimaryProbability of Recurring

p53 positive patients randomized to MVAC (arm I) compared to p53 positive patients randomized to observation (arm II). Time from registration to the first observation of disease recurrence, censoring patients who died of unrelated causes. Probabilities of recurring were based on cumulative incidence curves. Recurrence is defined as first radiological appearance of bladder cancer, per local standard of care.

Time frame:
5 years
Reported as:
Median · probability
Probability of Recurring
probabilityArm I: M-VAC x 3Arm II: Observation
Probability of Recurring0.85 ± 0.050.84 ± 0.06
SecondaryProbability of Overall Survival

p53 positive patients randomized to MVAC (arm I) compared to p53 positive patients randomized to observation (arm II). Survival is calculated from registration to death due to any cause. Probabilities of survival were based on the Kaplan-Meier product-limit method.

Time frame:
5 years
Reported as:
Median · probability
Probability of Overall Survival
probabilityArm I: M-VAC x 3Arm II: Observation
Probability of Overall Survival0.87 ± 0.050.84 ± 0.05
SecondaryProbability of Recurrence

Patients with tumors demonstrating alteration in p53 compared to patients with no p53 alterations. Probabilities of recurring were based on cumulative incidence curves. Recurrence is defined as first radiological appearance of bladder cancer, per local standard of care.

Time frame:
5 years
Reported as:
Median · probability
Probability of Recurrence
probabilityp53 Positive Patientsp53 Negative Patients
Probability of Recurrence0.83 ± 0.030.77 ± 0.03
SecondaryProbability of Overall Survival

Patients with tumors demonstrating alteration in p53 compared to patients with no p53 alterations. Probabilities of survival were based on the Kaplan-Meier product-limit method.

Time frame:
5 years
Reported as:
Median · probability
Probability of Overall Survival
probabilityp53 Positive Patientsp53 Negative Patients
Probability of Overall Survival0.82 ± 0.030.84 ± 0.03

Adverse events

Collected over 5 years: every 3 months for the first year, every 6 months for the following 4 years. Non-serious events are listed at a 5% frequency threshold.

Adverse event summary by group
GroupDeathsSeriousOther
Arm I: M-VAC x 312/58 (20.7%)0/46 (0%)35/46 (76.1%)
Arm II: Observation9/56 (16.1%)——
Arm III: Observation41/227 (18.1%)——
Arm IV: Observation36/158 (22.8%)——
Most frequent other events
Most frequent other events
EventArm I: M-VAC x 3Arm II: ObservationArm III: ObservationArm IV: Observation
NeutropeniaBlood and lymphatic system disorders31/46———
Decreased WBCBlood and lymphatic system disorders14/46———
FatigueGeneral disorders6/46———
NauseaGastrointestinal disorders6/46———
StomatitisGastrointestinal disorders5/46———
VomitingGastrointestinal disorders5/46———
LymphopeniaBlood and lymphatic system disorders4/46———

Baseline characteristics

Age, Categorical
Age, Categorical(Participants)Arm I: M-VAC x 3Arm II: ObservationArm III: ObservationArm IV: ObservationTotal
<=18 years00000
Between 18 and 65 years374112781286
>=65 years211510077213
Sex: Female, Male
Sex: Female, Male(Participants)Arm I: M-VAC x 3Arm II: ObservationArm III: ObservationArm IV: ObservationTotal
Female79493499
Male5147178124400
Race/Ethnicity, Customized
Race/Ethnicity, Customized(Participants)Arm I: M-VAC x 3Arm II: ObservationArm III: ObservationArm IV: ObservationTotal
White5249203150454
Black4113422
Asian02619
Hispanic143311
Other10203
Stage
Stage(Participants)Arm I: M-VAC x 3Arm II: ObservationArm III: ObservationArm IV: ObservationTotal
pT121168761185
pT2 and pT2a374014097314
Grade
Grade(Participants)Arm I: M-VAC x 3Arm II: ObservationArm III: ObservationArm IV: ObservationTotal
1 or 22116524
3 or 45655210152473
missing00112
No. of nodes identified
No. of nodes identified(Participants)Arm I: M-VAC x 3Arm II: ObservationArm III: ObservationArm IV: ObservationTotal
<15 nodes22146864168
>= 15 nodes364215994331
p21 status
p21 status(Participants)Arm I: M-VAC x 3Arm II: ObservationArm III: ObservationArm IV: ObservationTotal
Absent24223564145
Present343419092350
missing00224
Lymphovascular invasion
Lymphovascular invasion(Participants)Arm I: M-VAC x 3Arm II: ObservationArm III: ObservationArm IV: ObservationTotal
No332511784259
Yes13144629102
Unknown12176445138

1 further baseline measures are reported on the registry.

08

Study locations

74 sites
  • Banner Thunderbird Medical Center
    Glendale, Arizona 85306, United States
  • Banner Good Samaritan Medical Center
    Phoenix, Arizona 85006, United States
  • CCOP - Western Regional, Arizona
    Phoenix, Arizona 85006, United States
  • USC/Norris Comprehensive Cancer Center and Hospital
    Los Angeles, California 90089-9181, United States
  • North Colorado Medical Center
    Greeley, Colorado 80631, United States
  • McKee Medical Center
    Loveland, Colorado 80539, United States
  • Saint Anthony's Hospital at Saint Anthony's Health Center
    Alton, Illinois 62002, United States
  • Cardinal Bernardin Cancer Center at Loyola University Medical Center
    Maywood, Illinois 60153, United States
  • Good Samaritan Regional Health Center
    Mount Vernon, Illinois 62864, United States
  • St. Francis Hospital and Health Centers - Beech Grove Campus
    Beech Grove, Indiana 46107, United States
  • Cancer Center of Kansas, P.A. - Chanute
    Chanute, Kansas 66720, United States
  • Cancer Center of Kansas, P.A. - Dodge City
    Dodge City, Kansas 67801, United States
  • Cancer Center of Kansas, P.A. - El Dorado
    El Dorado, Kansas 67042, United States
  • Veterans Affairs Medical Center - Kansas City
    Kansas City, Kansas 64128, United States
  • Cancer Center of Kansas, P.A. - Kingman
    Kingman, Kansas 67068, United States
  • Southwest Medical Center
    Liberal, Kansas 67901, United States
  • Cancer Center of Kansas, P.A. - Newton
    Newton, Kansas 67114, United States
  • Cancer Center of Kansas, P.A. - Parsons
    Parsons, Kansas 67357, United States
  • Cancer Center of Kansas, P.A. - Pratt
    Pratt, Kansas 67124, United States
  • Cancer Center of Kansas, P.A. - Salina
    Salina, Kansas 67042, United States
  • Salina Regional Health Center
    Salina, Kansas 67401, United States
  • Cancer Center of Kansas, P.A. - Wellington
    Wellington, Kansas 67152, United States
  • Associates in Womens Health, P.A. - North Review
    Wichita, Kansas 67203, United States
  • Cancer Center of Kansas, P.A. - Medical Arts Tower
    Wichita, Kansas 67208, United States
  • Cancer Center of Kansas, P.A. - Wichita
    Wichita, Kansas 67214, United States
  • CCOP - Wichita
    Wichita, Kansas 67214, United States
  • Via Christi Cancer Center at Via Christi Regional Medical Center
    Wichita, Kansas 67214, United States
  • Cancer Center of Kansas, P.A. - Winfield
    Winfield, Kansas 67156, United States
  • Veterans Affairs Medical Center - Shreveport
    Shreveport, Louisiana 71101, United States
  • Feist-Weiller Cancer Center at Louisiana State University Health Sciences
    Shreveport, Louisiana 71130-3932, United States
  • University of Michigan Comprehensive Cancer Center
    Ann Arbor, Michigan 48109-0942, United States
  • William Beaumont Hospital - Royal Oak Campus
    Royal Oak, Michigan 48073, United States
  • Southeast Missouri Regional Cancer Center at Southeast Missouri Hospital
    Cape Girardeau, Missouri 63701, United States
  • St. Francis Medical Center
    Cape Girardeau, Missouri 63701, United States
  • CCOP - St. Louis-Cape Girardeau
    St Louis, Missouri 63141, United States
  • David C. Pratt Cancer Center at St. John's Mercy
    St Louis, Missouri 63141, United States
  • Big Sky Oncology
    Great Falls, Montana 59405, United States
  • Sletten Regional Cancer Institute
    Great Falls, Montana 59405, United States
  • Herbert Irving Comprehensive Cancer Center at Columbia University
    New York, New York 10032, United States
  • James P. Wilmot Cancer Center at University of Rochester Medical Center
    Rochester, New York 14642, United States
  • Cleveland Clinic Taussig Cancer Center
    Cleveland, Ohio 44195, United States
  • Grandview Hospital
    Dayton, Ohio 45405, United States
  • Good Samaritan Hospital
    Dayton, Ohio 45406, United States
  • David L. Rike Cancer Center at Miami Valley Hospital
    Dayton, Ohio 45409, United States
  • Samaritan North Cancer Care Center
    Dayton, Ohio 45415, United States
  • Veterans Affairs Medical Center - Dayton
    Dayton, Ohio 45428, United States
  • CCOP - Dayton
    Dayton, Ohio 45429, United States
  • Community Oncology Group at Cleveland Clinic Cancer Center
    Independence, Ohio 44131, United States
  • Charles F. Kettering Memorial Hospital
    Kettering, Ohio 45429, United States
  • Middletown Regional Hospital
    Middletown, Ohio 45044, United States
  • UVMC Cancer Care Center at Upper Valley Medical Center
    Troy, Ohio 45373-1300, United States
  • Cleveland Clinic - Wooster
    Wooster, Ohio 44691, United States
  • Ruth G. McMillan Cancer Center at Greene Memorial Hospital
    Xenia, Ohio 45385, United States
  • Brooke Army Medical Center
    Fort Sam Houston, Texas 78234, United States
  • Wilford Hall Medical Center
    Lackland Air Force Base, Texas 78236, United States
  • Veterans Affairs Medical Center - San Antonio (Murphy)
    San Antonio, Texas 78209, United States
  • Cancer Therapy and Research Center
    San Antonio, Texas 78229, United States
  • University Hospital - San Antonio
    San Antonio, Texas 78229, United States
  • University of Texas Health Science Center at San Antonio
    San Antonio, Texas 78284-7811, United States
  • Sentara Cancer Institute at Sentara Norfolk General Hospital
    Norfolk, Virginia 23507, United States
  • St. Joseph Hospital Community Cancer Center
    Bellingham, Washington 98225, United States
  • Olympic Hematology and Oncology
    Bremerton, Washington 98310, United States
  • Skagit Valley Hospital Cancer Care Center
    Mount Vernon, Washington 98273, United States
  • CCOP - Virginia Mason Research Center
    Seattle, Washington 98101, United States
  • Group Health Central Hospital
    Seattle, Washington 98104, United States
  • Harborview Medical Center
    Seattle, Washington 98104, United States
  • Fred Hutchinson Cancer Research Center
    Seattle, Washington 98109-1024, United States
  • Swedish Cancer Institute at Swedish Medical Center - First Hill Campus
    Seattle, Washington 98114, United States
  • University Cancer Center at University of Washington Medical Center
    Seattle, Washington 98195-6043, United States
  • North Puget Oncology at United General Hospital
    Sedro-Woolley, Washington 98284, United States
  • Cancer Care Northwest - Spokane South
    Spokane, Washington 99202, United States
  • Wenatchee Valley Clinic
    Wenatchee, Washington 98801, United States
  • Community Comprehensive Cancer Center at Camden-Clark Memorial Hospital
    Parkersburg, West Virginia 26102, United States
  • Toronto Sunnybrook Regional Cancer Centre at Sunnybrook and Women's College Health Sciences Centre
    Toronto, Ontario M4N 3M5, Canada
09

References and documents

Publications

  • von Rundstedt FC, Mata DA, Groshen S, Stein JP, Skinner DG, Stadler WM, Cote RJ, Kryvenko ON, Godoy G, Lerner SP. Significance of lymphovascular invasion in organ-confined, node-negative urothelial cancer of the bladder: data from the prospective p53-MVAC trial. BJU Int. 2015 Jul;116(1):44-9. doi: 10.1111/bju.12997. Epub 2015 Mar 25. PubMed 25413313 ↗
10

Timeline

Tracking since Sep 25, 2026
ElapsedEstimatedEstimated, not yet reached

Ran from Aug 1997 to primary completion in Mar 2011, 163 months.

Results were first posted in Jun 2017, 6 years 3 months after primary completion.

How these figures are worked out, and which studies are left out of them.

Registered
Apr 6, 2000
First posted
Jan 27, 2003
StartActual
Aug 1997
Primary completionActual
Mar 2011
CompletionActual
Dec 2014
Results first posted
Jun 8, 2017
Last update
Jun 8, 2017
What these dates mean
Start.
When the first participant enrolled; while estimated, when the study expects to open to recruitment.
Primary completion.
When the last participant was examined or treated to collect data for the study's main question, its primary outcome. A study that stopped early gives the date its data collection stopped.
Completion.
When the last participant's last visit took place, for every outcome, secondary ones and side effects included: the end of the study. Often later than primary completion, sometimes the same day.
Actual and Est.
Actual means the registry says the date has happened. Est. (estimated) is a date the sponsor plans or expects. It can still move, and the sponsor is expected to change it to actual once it has passed.
No changes since tracking began. The registry record was last updated on Jun 8, 2017, before this site started recording changes on Sep 25, 2026. Its history is on ClinicalTrials.gov ↗
11

Registry details

Key details

Study ID
NCT00005047
Responsible party
Sponsor
First posted
Jan 27, 2003
Start date
Aug 1997
Primary completion
Mar 2011
Completion
Dec 2014
Results posted
Jun 8, 2017
Last update
Jun 8, 2017

Study contacts

Richard J. Cote, MD, FRCPath
study chair · University of Southern California
Laurence H. Klotz, MD
study chair · Toronto Sunnybrook Regional Cancer Centre
Seth P Lerner, MD
study chair · Baylor College of Medicine

Oversight

Data monitoring committee
Yes
View the source record on ClinicalTrials.gov ↗

Not currently enrolling

This study is terminated, as verified in May 2017. You cannot join it, but the record below documents what was studied.

Follow this study

Get an email when the registry record changes — status, dates, results — or when someone posts here.

Sign in to follow

Discussion

Questions and observations about this study, from anyone following it. Not medical advice, and not a channel to the study team — their contact details are on the registry record.

Sign in to join the discussion. Reading takes no account; posting does. You choose a display name, and a pseudonym is the default.

Nothing here yet. If you are running this trial, taking part in it, or weighing whether to, this is the place to say so.

Studies of the drugs tested here: Cisplatin · Methotrexate · Vinblastine

Start the discussion