CClinicalTrials.gg
CompletedNCT07091916Updated Sep 3, 2025Results posted

ExtraVascular Implantable Cardioverter Defibrillator (EV ICD) Japan Study

An interventional study of Defibrillation using the Extravascular ICD in Tachycardia and Ventricular Arrythmia, sponsored by Medtronic Cardiac Rhythm and Heart Failure. Completed at 1 site in Japan. Open to participants aged 18 Years and older. Per ClinicalTrials.gov, last updated 2025-09-03.

Sponsored by Medtronic Cardiac Rhythm and Heart Failure · Not applicable, Interventional, and Other

From the registry’s dates

  • Registered 2 years 4 months after the study started (first participant enrolled Feb 2023, registered Jul 2025).
Phase
Not applicable
Study type
Interventional
Enrollment
14
Allocation
Not applicable
Ages
18 Years and older
Sex
All
01

Study summary

The study is designed to characterize the acute safety and performance of the EV ICD System for Japanese patients.

02

Conditions studied

  • Tachycardia
  • Ventricular Arrythmia

Browse trials for

03

In context

Tachycardia

623 studies on the registry are indexed under Tachycardia; 81 are open to participants now.

This study's enrollment of 14 is below the median of 64 across 379 interventional studies indexed under Tachycardia.

Browse Tachycardia studies →

Lead sponsor

Medtronic Cardiac Rhythm and Heart Failure is the lead sponsor of 239 studies on the registry; 6 are open to participants now.

Of its 19 completed or terminated interventional studies of FDA-regulated products, 17 (89%) have results posted.

Counted across the registry records on this site, refreshed daily.

04

Who can participate

Ages eligible
18 Years and older
Sexes eligible
All
Accepts healthy volunteers
No

Inclusion criteria

  • Patient has a Class I or IIa indication for implantation of an ICD according to the ACC/AHA/HRS Guidelines [i], or ESC guidelines [ii].
  • Patient is at least 18 years of age and meets age requirements per local law.
  • Patient is geographically stable and willing and able to complete the study procedures and visits for the duration of the follow-up.

    [i] Al-Khatib SM, Stevenson WG, Ackerman MJ, Bryant WJ, Callans DJ, Curtis AB, Deal BJ, Dickfeld T, Field ME, Fonarow GC, Gillis AM, Hlatky MA, Granger CB, Hammill SC, Joglar JA, Kay GN, Matlock DD, Myerburg RJ, Page RL. 2017 AHA/ACC/HRS guideline for management of patients with ventricular arrhythmias. [ii] Priori SG, Blomstrom-Lundqvist C, Mazzanti A, Blom N, Borggrefe M, Camm J, Elliot PM, Fitzsimons D, Hatala R, Hindricks G, Kirchhof P, Kjeldsen K, Kuck KH, Hernandez-Madrid A, Nikolaou N, Norekval TM, Spaulding C, Van Veldhuisen DJ. 2015 ESC guidelines for the management of patients with ventricular arrhythmias and the prevention of sudden cardiac death. European Heart Journal 2015 36:41 (2793-2867). https://doi.org/10.1093/eurheartj/ehv316

Exclusion criteria

Exclusion Criteria:

  • Patient is unwilling or unable to personally provide Informed Consent.
  • Patient has indications for bradycardia pacing [iii] or Cardiac Resynchronization Therapy (CRT) [iv] (Class I, IIa, or IIb indication).
  • Patient with an existing pacemaker, ICD, or CRT device implant or leads.
  • Patients with these medical interventions are excluded from participation in the study:

    • Prior sternotomy
    • Any prior medical condition or procedure that leads to adhesions in the anterior mediastinal space (i.e., prior mediastinal instrumentation, mediastinitis)
    • Prior abdominal surgery in the epigastric region
    • Planned sternotomy
    • Prior chest radiotherapy

Or any other prior/planned medical intervention not listed that precludes their participation in the opinion of the Investigator.

  • Patient has previous pericarditis that:

    • Was chronic and recurrent, or
    • Resulted in pericardial effusion [v], or
    • Resulted in pericardial thickening or calcification [vi].
  • Patients with these medical conditions or anatomies are excluded from participation in the study:

    • Hiatal hernia that distorts mediastinal anatomy
    • Marked sternal abnormality (e.g., pectus excavatum)
    • Decompensated heart failure
    • COPD with oxygen dependence
    • Gross hepatosplenomegaly Or any other known medical condition or anatomy type not listed that precludes their participation in the opinion of the Investigator.
  • Patients with a medical condition that precludes them from undergoing defibrillation testing:

    • Severe aortic stenosis
    • Intracardiac LA or LV thrombus
    • Severe proximal three-vessel or left main coronary artery disease without revascularization
    • Hemodynamic instability
    • Unstable angina
    • Recent stroke or transient ischemic attack (within the last 6 months)
    • Known inadequate external defibrillation
    • LVEF \<20%
    • LVEDD >70 mm Or any other known medical condition not listed that precludes their participation in the opinion of the Investigator.
  • Patient with any evidence of active infection or undergoing treatment for an infection.
  • Patient is contraindicated from temporary suspension of oral/systemic anticoagulation
  • Patient with current implantation of neurostimulator or any other chronically implanted device that delivers current in the body.
  • Patient meets ACC/AHA/HRS or ESC clinical guideline Class III criteria for an ICD (e.g., life expectancy of less than 12 months).
  • Patient is enrolled or planning to enroll in a concurrent clinical study that may confound the results of this study, without documented pre-approval from a Medtronic study manager.
  • Patient with any exclusion criteria as required by local law (e.g., age or other).
  • Pregnant women or breastfeeding women, or women of child bearing potential and who are not on a reliable form of birth regulation method or abstinence.

[iii] 2015 HRS/EHRA/APHRS/SOLAECE expert consensus statement on optimal implantable cardioverter-defibrillator programming and testing). [iv] ACC/AHA/HRS guidelines for Cardiac Resynchronization Therapy. [v] As documented on echo or MRI. [vi] As documented on CT scan or MRI.

05

Study design

Phase
Not applicable
Primary purpose
Other
Allocation
Not applicable
Intervention model
Single group
Masking
None (open label)
Enrollment
14 participants (actual)

Study arms

  • Experimental
    Implant Attempt

    Patients will be implanted with an extravascular ICD and undergo requisite electrical testing.

    Device: Defibrillation using the Extravascular ICD

Interventions

  • DeviceDefibrillation using the Extravascular ICD

    VT/VF induction attempted for defibrillation testing, as well as requisite electrical testing.

06

What researchers measure

Primary outcomes

  1. Safety Outcome - Freedom From Major Complications Related to the EV ICD System and/or Procedure at 2 Weeks Post-implant

    The endpoint is defined as a subject's first occurrence of a major complication related to the EV ICD System and/or procedure, as determined by an independent Clinical Events Committee (CEC), that occurs on or prior to 2 weeks (14 days) post-implant.

    Time frame: 2 weeks (14 days) post-implant

  2. Efficacy Outcome - Defibrillation Efficacy at Implant of the EV ICD System

    Each subject will demonstrate a successful defibrillation outcome if either 2 successive induced ventricular fibrillation episodes are terminated by the subject's device delivering a shock at the required energy level, or if one such episode is successfully terminated by the subject's device delivering a shock at a lower energy level. Up to 6 such episodes may be induced to test device efficacy.

    Time frame: At Implant

07

Results

Posted Sep 3, 2025

Participant flow

The first site was activated on 20JAN2023. The first EV ICD Japan subject was enrolled on 22FEB2023 and implanted on 01 MAR 2023. The last subject enrollment occurred on 27SEP2023, and the last implant occurred on 03OCT2023. Sites were notified of enrollment completion on 01DEC2023.

Participant flow — Overall Study
MilestoneImplant Attempt
Started14
Completed14
Not completed0

Outcome measures

PrimarySafety Outcome - Freedom From Major Complications Related to the EV ICD System and/or Procedure at 2 Weeks Post-implant

The endpoint is defined as a subject's first occurrence of a major complication related to the EV ICD System and/or procedure, as determined by an independent Clinical Events Committee (CEC), that occurs on or prior to 2 weeks (14 days) post-implant.

Time frame:
2 weeks (14 days) post-implant
Reported as:
Count of participants · Participants
Safety Outcome - Freedom From Major Complications Related to the EV ICD System and/or Procedure at 2 Weeks Post-implant
ParticipantsImplant Attempt
Safety Outcome - Freedom From Major Complications Related to the EV ICD System and/or Procedure at 2 Weeks Post-implant13
Statistical analysis
  • Implant Attempt · descriptive statistics · Proportion: 92.9
PrimaryEfficacy Outcome - Defibrillation Efficacy at Implant of the EV ICD System

Each subject will demonstrate a successful defibrillation outcome if either 2 successive induced ventricular fibrillation episodes are terminated by the subject's device delivering a shock at the required energy level, or if one such episode is successfully terminated by the subject's device delivering a shock at a lower energy level. Up to 6 such episodes may be induced to test device efficacy.

Time frame:
At Implant
Reported as:
Count of participants · Participants
Efficacy Outcome - Defibrillation Efficacy at Implant of the EV ICD System
ParticipantsImplant Attempt
Efficacy Outcome - Defibrillation Efficacy at Implant of the EV ICD System14
Statistical analysis
  • Implant Attempt · descriptive statistics · Proportion: 100

Adverse events

Collected over Among the 14 enrolled subjects, the average follow-up duration from enrollment to last documented contact was 112.9 ± 59.9 days.. Non-serious events are listed at a 5% frequency threshold.

Adverse event summary by group
GroupDeathsSeriousOther
Enrolled Japan Study0/14 (0%)5/14 (35.7%)10/14 (71.4%)
Most frequent serious events
Most frequent serious events
EventEnrolled Japan Study
Incision site painInjury, poisoning and procedural complications3/14
Cardiac perforationCardiac disorders1/14
Device inversionProduct Issues1/14
Procedural painInjury, poisoning and procedural complications1/14
Most frequent other events
Showing 10 of 19
Most frequent other events
EventEnrolled Japan Study
Incision site painInjury, poisoning and procedural complications3/14
InflammationGeneral disorders2/14
Sputum retentionRespiratory, thoracic and mediastinal disorders2/14
InsomniaPsychiatric disorders1/14
Ventricular tachycardiaCardiac disorders1/14
Chronic gastritisGastrointestinal disorders1/14
Gastrooesophageal reflux diseaseGastrointestinal disorders1/14
Hiatus herniaGastrointestinal disorders1/14
Medical device site painGeneral disorders1/14
Coronavirus infectionInfections and infestations1/14

Baseline characteristics

Subjects who underwent an implant attempt of the Extravascular ICD System

Age, Continuous
Age, Continuous(years)Implant Attempt EV ICD Japan
Mean53.6 ± 14.7
Sex: Female, Male
Sex: Female, Male(Participants)Implant Attempt EV ICD Japan
Female2
Male12
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)(Participants)Implant Attempt EV ICD Japan
Hispanic or Latino0
Not Hispanic or Latino0
Unknown or Not Reported14
Race (NIH/OMB)
Race (NIH/OMB)(Participants)Implant Attempt EV ICD Japan
American Indian or Alaska Native0
Asian14
Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander0
Black or African American0
White0
More than one race0
Unknown or Not Reported0
08

Study locations

1 site
  • Medtronic Japan Co., Ltd.
    Tokyo, 1080075, Japan
09

References and documents

Study documents

  • Study protocol · Oct 17, 2022
  • Statistical analysis plan · Mar 3, 2023

Documents are hosted by the registry — open the source record to download them.

Individual participant data

Plan to share: No

10

Updates

Tracking since Sep 25, 2026
No changes since tracking began. The registry record was last updated on Sep 3, 2025, before this site started recording changes on Sep 25, 2026. Its history is on ClinicalTrials.gov ↗
11

Registry details

Key details

Study ID
NCT07091916
Lead sponsor
Medtronic Cardiac Rhythm and Heart Failure
Responsible party
Sponsor
First posted
Jul 29, 2025
Start date
Feb 22, 2023
Primary completion
Nov 16, 2023
Completion
Jan 23, 2025
Results posted
Sep 3, 2025
Last update
Sep 3, 2025

Oversight

FDA-regulated drug
No
FDA-regulated device
Yes
View the source record on ClinicalTrials.gov ↗

Not currently enrolling

This study is completed, as verified in Jul 2025. You cannot join it, but the record below documents what was studied.

Follow this study

Get an email when the registry record changes — status, dates, results — or when someone posts here.

Sign in to follow

Discussion

Questions and observations about this study, from anyone following it. Not medical advice, and not a channel to the study team — their contact details are on the registry record.

Sign in to join the discussion. Reading takes no account; posting does. You choose a display name, and a pseudonym is the default.

Nothing here yet. If you are running this trial, taking part in it, or weighing whether to, this is the place to say so.

Start the discussion