CClinicalTrials.gg
TerminatedNCT06488911Updated Jun 8, 2026Results posted

To Evaluate Safety and Tolerability of the Fixed- Dose Combination of Obeticholic Acid and Bezafibrate

A Phase 3 interventional study of FDC tablet (OCA 5 mg + BZF 400 mg SR) in Primary Biliary Cholangitis, sponsored by Intercept Pharmaceuticals. Terminated at 51 sites in 21 countries. Open to participants aged 18 Years and older. Per ClinicalTrials.gov, last updated 2026-06-08.

Sponsored by Intercept Pharmaceuticals · Phase 3, Interventional, and Treatment

Why this study was terminated
Intercept made a business decision to terminate the study based on FDA's request for voluntary withdrawal of Ocaliva and the issuance of clinical hold on studies under US IND involving OCA.
Phase
Phase 3
Study type
Interventional
Enrollment
62
Allocation
Not applicable
Ages
18 Years and older
Sex
All
01

Study summary

An Open Label Long-Term Study to Evaluate the Safety and Tolerability of the Fixed-Dose Combination (FDC) of Obeticholic Acid (OCA) and Bezafibrate (BZF) tablet in Subjects with Primary Biliary Cholangitis (PBC).

02

Conditions studied

  • Primary Biliary Cholangitis

Keywords

  • Primary Biliary Cholangitis
  • Obeticholic Acid
  • Bezafibrate
  • Ursodeoxycholic acid
03

In context

Liver Cirrhosis, Biliary

208 studies on the registry are indexed under Liver Cirrhosis, Biliary; 44 are open to participants now.

This study's enrollment of 62 is close to the median of 60 across 150 interventional studies indexed under Liver Cirrhosis, Biliary.

Browse Liver Cirrhosis, Biliary studies →

Lead sponsor

Intercept Pharmaceuticals is the lead sponsor of 21 studies on the registry; none are open to participants now.

Of its 9 completed or terminated interventional studies of FDA-regulated products, 8 (89%) have results posted.

Counted across the registry records on this site, refreshed daily.

04

Who can participate

Ages eligible
18 Years and older
Sexes eligible
All
Accepts healthy volunteers
No

Inclusion criteria

  • All subjects with PBC who participated and are actively taking investigational product in Study 747-213 or Study 747-214 are eligible to enroll in this study (977-311).

Exclusion criteria

Exclusion Criteria:

  • History or presence of other concomitant liver diseases
  • Clinical complications of PBC
  • History or presence of hepatic decompensating events
  • Current or history of gallbladder disease
  • If female, known pregnancy, or has a positive urine pregnancy test (confirmed by a positive serum pregnancy test), or lactating.

Note: Other protocol defined Inclusion/Exclusion criteria may apply.

05

Study design

Phase
Phase 3
Primary purpose
Treatment
Allocation
Not applicable
Intervention model
Single group
Masking
None (open label)
Enrollment
62 participants (actual)

Study arms

  • Experimental
    OCA 5 mg + BZF 400 mg SR

    Participants will be administered with OCA 5 mg + BZF 400 mg SR once daily.

    Drug: FDC tablet (OCA 5 mg + BZF 400 mg SR)

Interventions

  • DrugFDC tablet (OCA 5 mg + BZF 400 mg SR)

    Participants will be administered with FDC tablets once daily.

06

What researchers measure

Primary outcomes

  1. Number of Participants Reporting Treatment Emergent Adverse Events (TEAEs), Serious TEAEs and TEAEs Leading to Discontinuation

    A TEAE was defined as any event not present before the initiation of the investigational product in this study or any event already present, which worsened in either severity or frequency following exposure to the investigational product in this study. A serious TEAE was defined as any untoward medical occurrence that at any dose resulted in death, life-threatening, required inpatient hospitalization or prolongation of existing hospitalization, resulted in persistent or significant disability/incapacity, was a congenital abnormality or birth defect, an important medical event that may jeopardize the participant or may require medical intervention.

    Time frame: Early Termination (Up to Month 12)

  2. Number of Participants Reporting Severe TEAEs

    A severe (Grade 3) TEAE is defined as an AE that causes inability to carry out usual activities; the subject may experience intolerable discomfort or pain.

    Time frame: Early Termination (Up to Month 12)

Secondary outcomes

  1. Number of Participants Reporting All-Cause Mortality

    All-cause mortality included all reported deaths of participants during the study due to any cause.

    Time frame: Early Termination (Up to Month 12)

  2. Number of Participants With Clinically Significant Changes in Baseline in Clinical Hematology Parameters

    Clinically notable shift from baseline in blood hematology parameters data was presented for low and high numbers of participants at early termination visit (up to Month 12). The number of participants with clinically notable shift from baseline was presented.

    Time frame: Early Termination (Up to Month 12)

  3. Number of Participants With Clinically Significant Changes in Baseline in Blood Serum Chemistry Parameters

    Clinically notable shift from baseline in blood serum chemistry data were presented for low and high numbers of participants at early termination visit (up to Month 12). Change from baseline was calculated as post baseline value minus baseline value. Baseline was defined as the last assessment performed before the first dose of investigational product in Study 977-311.

    Time frame: Early Termination (Up to Month 12)

07

Results

Posted Jun 8, 2026
Limitations and caveats
The Sponsor made a business decision to terminate the study based on FDA's request for voluntary withdrawal of Ocaliva and the issuance of clinical hold on studies under US IND involving OCA.

Participant flow

This was a Phase 3, open-label, long-term safety extension (LTSE) that evaluated the safety and tolerability of the fixed-dose combination (FDC) of obeticholic acid (OCA) and bezafibrate (BZF) in participants with primary biliary cholangitis (PBD) for up to 60 months. All participants from Studies 747-213 (NCT04594694) or 747-214 (NCT05239468) who met respective protocol requirements were transitioned into Study 977-311 at their respective sites.

Participant flow — Overall Study
MilestoneOCA 5 mg + BZF 400 mg
Started62
Completed0
Not completed62
Withdrew: Withdrawal by subject1
Withdrew: Sponsor decision60
Withdrew: Non-compliance with the protocol1

Outcome measures

PrimaryNumber of Participants Reporting Treatment Emergent Adverse Events (TEAEs), Serious TEAEs and TEAEs Leading to Discontinuation

A TEAE was defined as any event not present before the initiation of the investigational product in this study or any event already present, which worsened in either severity or frequency following exposure to the investigational product in this study. A serious TEAE was defined as any untoward medical occurrence that at any dose resulted in death, life-threatening, required inpatient hospitalization or prolongation of existing hospitalization, resulted in persistent or significant disability/incapacity, was a congenital abnormality or birth defect, an important medical event that may jeopardize the participant or may require medical intervention.

Time frame:
Early Termination (Up to Month 12)
Reported as:
Count of participants · Participants
Number of Participants Reporting Treatment Emergent Adverse Events (TEAEs), Serious TEAEs and TEAEs Leading to Discontinuation
ParticipantsOCA 5 mg + BZF 400 mg
TEAEs29
Serious TEAEs3
TEAEs leading to discontinuation1
PrimaryNumber of Participants Reporting Severe TEAEs

A severe (Grade 3) TEAE is defined as an AE that causes inability to carry out usual activities; the subject may experience intolerable discomfort or pain.

Time frame:
Early Termination (Up to Month 12)
Reported as:
Number · participants
Number of Participants Reporting Severe TEAEs
participantsOCA 5 mg + BZF 400 mg
Number of Participants Reporting Severe TEAEs1
SecondaryNumber of Participants Reporting All-Cause Mortality

All-cause mortality included all reported deaths of participants during the study due to any cause.

Time frame:
Early Termination (Up to Month 12)
Reported as:
Count of participants · Participants
Number of Participants Reporting All-Cause Mortality
ParticipantsOCA 5 mg + BZF 400 mg
Number of Participants Reporting All-Cause Mortality0
SecondaryNumber of Participants With Clinically Significant Changes in Baseline in Clinical Hematology Parameters

Clinically notable shift from baseline in blood hematology parameters data was presented for low and high numbers of participants at early termination visit (up to Month 12). The number of participants with clinically notable shift from baseline was presented.

Time frame:
Early Termination (Up to Month 12)
Reported as:
Count of participants · Participants
Number of Participants With Clinically Significant Changes in Baseline in Clinical Hematology Parameters
ParticipantsOCA 5 mg + BZF 400 mg
Basophils (Low)0
Basophils (High)0
Eosinophils (Low)0
Eosinophils (High)1
Erythrocyte Mean Corpuscular Hemoglobin Concentration (Low)15
Erythrocyte Mean Corpuscular Hemoglobin Concentration (High):0
Erythrocyte Mean Corpuscular Hemoglobin (Low)4
Erythrocyte Mean Corpuscular Hemoglobin (High)0
Erythrocyte Mean Corpuscular Volume (Low)0
Erythrocyte Mean Corpuscular Volume (High)4
Erythrocytes (Low)2
Erythrocytes (High)0
Hematocrit (Low)0
Hematocrit (High)2
Hemoglobin (Low)3
Hemoglobin (High)0
Leukocytes (Low)2
Leukocytes (High)0
Lymphocytes (Low)3
Lymphocytes (High)2
Monocytes (Low)0
Monocytes (High)0
Neutrophils (Low)1
Neutrophils (High)0
Platelets (Low)2
Platelets (High)4
SecondaryNumber of Participants With Clinically Significant Changes in Baseline in Blood Serum Chemistry Parameters

Clinically notable shift from baseline in blood serum chemistry data were presented for low and high numbers of participants at early termination visit (up to Month 12). Change from baseline was calculated as post baseline value minus baseline value. Baseline was defined as the last assessment performed before the first dose of investigational product in Study 977-311.

Time frame:
Early Termination (Up to Month 12)
Reported as:
Count of participants · Participants
Number of Participants With Clinically Significant Changes in Baseline in Blood Serum Chemistry Parameters
ParticipantsOCA 5 mg + BZF 400 mg
Albumin (Low)0
Albumin (High)0
Alkaline Phosphatase (Low)0
Alkaline Phosphatase (High)36
Alanine Aminotransferase (Low)0
Alanine Aminotransferase (High)9
Amylase (Low)1
Amylase (High)1
Aspartate Aminotransferase (Low)0
Aspartate Aminotransferase (High)8
Bicarbonate (Low)15
Bicarbonate (High)0
Direct Bilirubin (Low)0
Direct Bilirubin (High)3
Bilirubin (Low)0
Bilirubin (High)7
Indirect Bilirubin (Low)0
Indirect Bilirubin (High)0
Calcium (Low)0
Calcium (High)0
Cholesterol (Low)0
Cholesterol (High)38
Creatine Kinase (Low)0
Creatine Kinase (High)0
Chloride (Low)0
Chloride (High)0
Creatinine (Low)8
Creatinine (High)0
Free Fatty Acid (Low)0
Free Fatty Acid (High)2
Glomerular Filtration Rate, Estimated (Low)2
Glomerular Filtration Rate, Estimated (High)5
Gamma Glutamyl Transferase (Low)0
Gamma Glutamyl Transferase (High)31
Non-Fasting Glucose (Low)0
Non-Fasting Glucose (High)13
High Density Cholesterol (Low)1
High Density Cholesterol (High)0
Hyaluronic Acid (Low)0
Hyaluronic Acid (High)0
Potassium (Low)0
Potassium (High)1
Low Density Cholesterol (Low)0
Low Density Cholesterol (High)37
Lipase (Low)0
Lipase (High)3
Liver Fibrosis Score (Low)0
Liver Fibrosis Score (High)12
Magnesium (Low)0
Magnesium (High)0
Choriogonadotropin Beta (Low)0
Choriogonadotropin Beta (High)0
Phosphate (Low)1
Phosphate (High)0
Procollagen 3 N-Terminal Peptide (Low)1
Procollagen 3 N-Terminal Peptide (High)0
Protein (Low)0
Protein (High)2
Sodium (Low)0
Sodium (High)0
Tissue Inhibitor of Matrix Metalloproteinase 1 (Low)0
Tissue Inhibitor of Matrix Metalloproteinase 1 (High)0
Triglycerides (Low)1
Triglycerides (High)2
Urea Nitrogen (Low)0
Urea Nitrogen (High)8
Very Low-Density Lipoprotein Cholesterol (Low)1
Very Low-Density Lipoprotein Cholesterol (High)1

Adverse events

Collected over Early Termination (Up to Month 12). Non-serious events are listed at a 0% frequency threshold.

Adverse event summary by group
GroupDeathsSeriousOther
OCA 5 mg + BZF 400 mg0/62 (0%)3/62 (4.8%)29/62 (46.8%)
Most frequent serious events
Most frequent serious events
EventOCA 5 mg + BZF 400 mg
Myocardial infarctionCardiac disorders1/62
FallInjury, poisoning and procedural complications1/62
Radius fractureInjury, poisoning and procedural complications1/62
Breast cancerNeoplasms benign, malignant and unspecified (incl cysts and polyps)1/62
Most frequent other events
Showing 10 of 39
Most frequent other events
EventOCA 5 mg + BZF 400 mg
PruritusSkin and subcutaneous tissue disorders5/62
Urinary tract infectionInfections and infestations4/62
NasopharyngitisInfections and infestations2/62
Soft tissue injuryInjury, poisoning and procedural complications2/62
Activated partial thromboplastin time prolongedInvestigations2/62
Blood alkaline phosphatase increasedInvestigations2/62
FatigueGeneral disorders2/62
BronchitisInfections and infestations1/62
InfluenzaInfections and infestations1/62
SinusitisInfections and infestations1/62

Baseline characteristics

The LTSE Population included all participants who received at least 1 dose of the FDC tablet.

Age, Continuous
Age, Continuous(years)OCA 5 mg + BZF 400 mg
Mean55.7 ± 9.93
Sex/Gender, Customized
Sex/Gender, Customized(participants)OCA 5 mg + BZF 400 mg
Male5
Female54
Unknown3
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)(Participants)OCA 5 mg + BZF 400 mg
Hispanic or Latino20
Not Hispanic or Latino41
Unknown or Not Reported1
Race (NIH/OMB)
Race (NIH/OMB)(Participants)OCA 5 mg + BZF 400 mg
American Indian or Alaska Native0
Asian1
Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander0
Black or African American0
White61
More than one race0
Unknown or Not Reported0
08

Study locations

51 sites
  • University of Alabama at Birmingham
    Birmingham, Alabama 35233, United States
  • Southern California Research Center
    Coronado, California 92118, United States
  • Tampa General Medical Group
    Tampa, Florida 33606, United States
  • Piedmont Atlanta Hospital
    Atlanta, Georgia 30309, United States
  • Ochsner Clinic Foundation
    New Orleans, Louisiana 70121, United States
  • Beth Israel Deaconess Medical Center
    Boston, Massachusetts 02215, United States
  • NYU Langone Health
    New York, New York 10016, United States
  • University Hospitals Cleveland Medical Center
    Cleveland, Ohio 44106, United States
  • Gastro One
    Germantown, Tennessee 38138, United States
  • East Tennessee Research Institute
    Johnson City, Tennessee 37604, United States
  • The Liver Institute at Methodist Dallas Medical Center
    Dallas, Texas 75203, United States
  • Houston Methodist Hospital
    Houston, Texas 77030, United States
  • American Research Corporation
    San Antonio, Texas 78215, United States
  • DIM Clinica Privada
    Buenos Aires, Argentina
  • Hospital Italiano de Buenos Aires
    Buenos Aires, Argentina
  • Hospital Italiano de La Plata
    Buenos Aires, Argentina
  • Hospital Universitario Austral
    Buenos Aires, Argentina
  • Hospital Provincial del Centenario
    Santa Fe, Argentina
  • Royal Adelaide Hospital
    Adelaide, 5000, Australia
  • Flinders Medical Centre
    Bedford Park, 5042, Australia
  • UZ Leuven
    Leuven, 3000, Belgium
  • University of Alberta Division of Gastroenterology Zeidler Ledcor Centre
    Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
  • Pacific Gastroenterology Associates GI Research Institute
    Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
  • Universityl Hospital Dubrava
    Zagreb, 10 000, Croatia
  • Hepato-Gastroenterologie HK, s.r.o.
    Hradec Králové, 50012, Czechia
  • Artroscan s.r.o. Gastroenterologicka
    Ostrava, 722100, Czechia
  • Research Site SRO
    Pilsen, 30100, Czechia
  • Tartu University Hospital
    Tartu, 50090, Estonia
  • Hopital Henri Mondor
    Créteil, 94000, France
  • CHRU de Lille
    Lille, 59000, France
  • CHU Paris Est - Hopital Saint Antoine
    Paris, 75012, France
  • Hopital de la Pitie Salpetriere
    Paris, 75013, France
  • Medizinische Hochschule Hannover
    Hanover, 30625, Germany
  • University Hospital of Larissa
    Larissa, 41110, Greece
  • DEOEC II. sz. Belgygyszati Klinika
    Debrecen, 4032, Hungary
  • Hadassah Ein-Karem Medical Center - Liver unit
    Jerusalem, 9112001, Israel
  • Azienda Ospedaliero-Universitaria di Bologna Policlinico S. Orsola-Malpighi
    Bologna, Italy
  • University Hopital Santaros klinikos
    Vilnius, 8661, Lithuania
  • Academisch Medisch Centrum
    Amsterdam, 1005 AZ, Netherlands
  • Akershus University Hospital
    Lørenskog, 1478, Norway
  • Kyungpook National University Hospital
    Daegu, 41944, South Korea
  • Seoul National University Bundang Hospital
    Seongnam-si, 463-707, South Korea
  • Hospital ClinicUniversity of Barcelona
    Barcelona, 8036, Spain
  • Consorcio Hospital General Universitario
    Valencia, 46014, Spain
  • Hacettepe University, Faculty of Medicine, Adult Hospital Gastroenterology
    Ankara, Turkey (Türkiye)
  • Ege University, Faculty of Medicine, Gastroenterology
    Bornova, Turkey (Türkiye)
  • Istanbul University, Capa Faculty of Medicine, Gastroenterology
    Istanbul, Turkey (Türkiye)
  • Harran University Hospital, Gastroenterology
    Sanliurfa, Turkey (Türkiye)
  • Hull University Teaching Hospitals NHS Trust
    Hull, HU32JZ, United Kingdom
  • Institute of Cellular Medicine Newcastle University
    Newcastle upon Tyne, NE7 7DN, United Kingdom
  • John Radcliffe Hospital
    Oxford, OX3 9DU, United Kingdom
09

References and documents

Study documents

  • Study protocol · Nov 18, 2024
  • Statistical analysis plan · Oct 15, 2025

Documents are hosted by the registry — open the source record to download them.

Individual participant data

Plan to share: No

10

Updates

Tracking since Sep 25, 2026
No changes since tracking began. The registry record was last updated on Jun 8, 2026, before this site started recording changes on Sep 25, 2026. Its history is on ClinicalTrials.gov ↗
11

Registry details

Key details

Study ID
NCT06488911
Lead sponsor
Intercept Pharmaceuticals
Responsible party
Sponsor
First posted
Jul 5, 2024
Start date
Jul 1, 2024
Primary completion
Oct 21, 2025
Completion
Oct 21, 2025
Results posted
Jun 8, 2026
Last update
Jun 8, 2026

Study contacts

Lynda Szczech, PhD
study director · Intercept Pharmaceuticals Inc.

Oversight

Data monitoring committee
Yes
FDA-regulated drug
Yes
FDA-regulated device
No
View the source record on ClinicalTrials.gov ↗

Not currently enrolling

This study is terminated, as verified in May 2026. You cannot join it, but the record below documents what was studied.

Follow this study

Get an email when the registry record changes — status, dates, results — or when someone posts here.

Sign in to follow

Discussion

Questions and observations about this study, from anyone following it. Not medical advice, and not a channel to the study team — their contact details are on the registry record.

Sign in to join the discussion. Reading takes no account; posting does. You choose a display name, and a pseudonym is the default.

Nothing here yet. If you are running this trial, taking part in it, or weighing whether to, this is the place to say so.

Start the discussion