CClinicalTrials.gg
CompletedNCT06349759LYNX-2Updated Aug 18, 2026Results posted

Safety and Efficacy of 0.75% Phentolamine Ophthalmic Solution in Subjects With Post-refractive Surgery Visual Disturbances

A Phase 3 interventional study of phentolamine ophthalmic solution 0.75%, a non-selective alpha-1 and alpha-2 adrenergic antagonist and Placebo in Mesopic Vision and Night Vision Loss, sponsored by Ocuphire Pharma, Inc.. Completed at 25 sites in United States. Open to participants aged 18 Years and older. Per ClinicalTrials.gov, last updated 2026-08-18.

Sponsored by Ocuphire Pharma, Inc. · Phase 3, Interventional, and Treatment

Phase
Phase 3
Study type
Interventional
Enrollment
200
Allocation
Randomized
Ages
18 Years and older
Sex
All
01

Study summary

Safety and efficacy of 0.75% Phentolamine Ophthalmic Solution to improve mesopic low contrast visual acuity in subjects with post-refractive surgery visual disturbances.

Read the detailed description

Randomized, placebo-controlled, double-masked study of the safety and efficacy of POS (0.75% Phentolamine Ophthalmic Solution) in subjects who have previously had keratorefractive surgery and have decreased visual acuity (VA) under mesopic conditions

02

Conditions studied

  • Mesopic Vision
  • Night Vision Loss

Browse trials for

Keywords

  • Low light vision
03

In context

Vitamin A Deficiency

71 studies on the registry are indexed under Vitamin A Deficiency; 8 are open to participants now.

This study's enrollment of 200 is above the median of 160 across 53 interventional studies indexed under Vitamin A Deficiency.

Browse Vitamin A Deficiency studies →

Lead sponsor

Ocuphire Pharma, Inc. is the lead sponsor of 14 studies on the registry; 1 is open to participants now.

Of its 13 completed or terminated interventional studies of FDA-regulated products, 12 (92%) have results posted.

Counted across the registry records on this site, refreshed daily.

04

Who can participate

Ages eligible
18 Years and older
Sexes eligible
All
Accepts healthy volunteers
No

Inclusion criteria

  1. Males or females ≥ 18 years of age
  2. Previous history of refractive surgery (eg, PRK, LASIK, SMILE, and RK) and have subject-reported night vision disturbances (eg, glare, halos, and/or starbursts). Symptoms must have been first noted within 2 months following refractive surgery
  3. Able to independently comply with all protocol-mandated procedures and to attend all scheduled office visits
  4. Able and willing to give written consent to participate in this study
  5. Able to self-administer study medication

    Inclusion criteria #6, #7, and #8 must all be met in the same eye:

  6. PD ≥ 5 mm under mesopic conditions in at least 1 eye. This test may be repeated once, following an additional 5 min of dark adaptation to the mesopic light conditions if the initial results do not meet this criterion
  7. mLCVA ≤ 30 Early Treatment Diabetic Retinopathy Study (ETDRS) letters (20/63 Snellen or worse) in at least 1 eye using the Precision Vision Illuminator Cabinet with 5% translucent contrast chart and a mesopic filter at 4 m
  8. ≥ 10 ETDRS letters improvement in mLCVA in at least 1 eye during illumination of the contralateral eye with a Brightness Acuity Tester (BAT) system on the low setting using the Precision Vision Illuminator Cabinet with 5% translucent contrast chart and a mesopic filter at 4 m

Exclusion criteria

Exclusion Criteria:

Ophthalmic (in either eye):

  1. Prior unresolved dry eye diagnosis, taking prescription drops for dry eye, or taking artificial tear drops routinely for dry eye
  2. Prior history of fluctuating vision
  3. Clinically significant ocular disease as deemed by the Investigator (eg, untreated visually significant cataract, glaucoma, corneal edema, uveitis, severe keratoconjunctivitis sicca, retina degeneration, loss of visual field due to glaucoma or stroke, branch retinal vein occlusion, retina flare) that might interfere with the study
  4. History or presence of corneal endothelial dystrophy (eg, Fuchs' dystrophy or presence of guttae)
  5. Known hypersensitivity to any topical alpha-adrenoceptor antagonists
  6. Known allergy or contraindication to any component of the vehicle formulation
  7. History of cauterization of the punctum or punctal plug (silicone or collagen) insertion or removal
  8. Pseudophakic subjects with extended depth-of-focus or multifocal intraocular lenses (IOLs)
  9. Ocular trauma, ocular surgery (eg, IOLs), or laser procedure (eg, LASIK, PRK, SMILE, and RK) within 6 months prior to Screening
  10. Use of any topical prescription or over-the-counter (OTC) ophthalmic medications of any kind (including artificial tear drops) within 7 days prior to Screening until study completion, with the exception of lid scrubs with OTC products (eg, OCuSOFT® lid scrub, SteriLid®, baby shampoo, etc.)
  11. Recent or current evidence of ocular infection or inflammation (such as current evidence of clinically significant blepharitis, conjunctivitis, or a history of herpes simplex or herpes zoster keratitis at Screening). Subjects must be symptom free for at least 7 days prior to Screening
  12. History of diabetic retinopathy, diabetic macular edema, or dry or wet macular degeneration
  13. History of any traumatic (surgical or nonsurgical) or nontraumatic condition affecting the pupil or iris (eg, irregularly shaped pupil, neurogenic pupil disorder, iris atrophy, iridotomy, iridectomy, etc.)
  14. Unwilling or unable to discontinue use of contact lenses at least 1 hour prior to Screening for soft contact lenses or at least 8 hours prior to Screening for hard gas-permeable contact lenses, and at least 8 hours (for both types of lenses) prior to all other office visits
  15. Previously undiagnosed dry eye, at the determination of the Investigator. Dry eye diagnosis should be based on one of the following dry eye test results: tear break-up time \< 5 seconds, or corneal fluorescein staining ≥ Grade 2 in the inferior zone or ≥ Grade 1 in the central zone using the National Eye Institute scale

    Systemic:

  16. Known hypersensitivity or contraindication to alpha- and/or beta-adrenoceptor antagonists (eg, chronic obstructive pulmonary disease or bronchial asthma; abnormally low BP or HR; second- or third-degree heart blockage or congestive heart failure; or severe diabetes as defined below)

    1. Predisposition to severe hypoglycemia (2 or more serious hypoglycemic episodes requiring assistance within 12 months prior to Screening)
    2. Any hospitalization or emergency room visit due to poor diabetic control within 6 months prior to Screening
    3. Currently untreated diabetes mellitus or previously untreated subjects who initiated oral anti-diabetic medication or insulin within 3 months prior to Screening
    4. Any sign of diabetic retinopathy in either eye
  17. Clinically significant systemic disease (eg, severe diabetes as previously defined, myasthenia gravis, cancer, hepatic, renal, endocrine, or cardiovascular disorders) that might interfere with the study
  18. Initiation of treatment with or any changes to the current dosage, drug, or regimen of any systemic adrenergic or cholinergic drugs within 7 days prior to Screening or during the study
  19. Participation in any investigational study within 30 days prior to Screening or during the study
  20. Females of childbearing potential who are pregnant, nursing, planning a pregnancy during the study, or not using a medically acceptable form of birth control. Acceptable methods include the use of at least one of the following: intrauterine device, hormonal (oral, injection, patch, implant, ring), barrier with spermicide (condom, diaphragm), or abstinence. A female is considered to be of childbearing potential unless she is 1 year postmenopausal or 3 months post-surgical sterilization. All females of childbearing potential including those post-tubal ligation must have a negative urine pregnancy test result at each visit
  21. Resting HR outside 50 to 110 beats per min at Screening. HR may be repeated only once if outside the specified range, following at least a 5-min rest period in the sitting position
  22. Hypertension with resting diastolic BP > 105 mmHg or systolic BP > 160 mmHg at Screening. BP may be repeated only once if outside the specified range, following at least a 5-min rest period in the sitting position
05

Study design

Phase
Phase 3
Primary purpose
Treatment
Allocation
Randomized
Intervention model
Parallel assignment
Masking
Quadruple (Participant, Care provider, Investigator, Outcomes assessor)
Enrollment
200 participants (actual)

Study arms

  • Active comparator
    0.75% phentolamine ophthalmic solution

    Daily dosing

    Drug: phentolamine ophthalmic solution 0.75%, a non-selective alpha-1 and alpha-2 adrenergic antagonist

  • Placebo comparator
    phentolamine ophthalmic solution vehicle

    Daily dosing

    Drug: Placebo

Interventions

  • Drugphentolamine ophthalmic solution 0.75%, a non-selective alpha-1 and alpha-2 adrenergic antagonist

    Once daily dosing

    Also known as: Nyxol

  • DrugPlacebo

    Once daily dosing

    Also known as: phentolamine ophthalmic solution vehicle

06

What researchers measure

Primary outcomes

  1. Percentage of Subjects With ≥ 15 Letters (3 Lines) Improvement in mLCVA in the Study Eye at Day 15 Compared to Baseline

    This outcome measure will investigate the percent of subjects with an increase of at least 15 ETDRS letters read (≥ 3 lines) in the study eye in mLCVA compared to baseline (Day 1 pre-dose) at Day 15 in an effort to evaluate the efficacy of POS to improve mLCVA in subjects with post-refractive surgery visual disturbances.

    Time frame: 15 Days

Secondary outcomes

  1. Percentage of Subjects With ≥ 10 and ≥ 15 ETDRS Letters Improvement in mLCVA Compared to Baseline (Day 1 Pre-dose) at Days 3, 8, and 15 (≥ 10 ETDRS Letters Only) and Week 6

    This outcome measure will investigate the percentage of subjects with ≥ 10 and ≥ 15 ETDRS letters improvement in mLCVA compared to baseline at Days 3, 8, and 15 (≥ 10 ETDRS letters only) and Week 6.

    Time frame: 6 Weeks

  2. Mean and Change From Baseline in mLCVA at 0.5, 1, and 3 Hours Post-dose on Day 1

    This outcome measure will investigate the mean and change from baseline in mLCVA at 0.5, 1, and 3 hours post-dose on Day 1.

    Time frame: 3 hours

  3. Percentage of Subjects With ≥ 10 and ≥ 15 ETDRS Letters Improvement in Mesopic High-contrast Best-corrected Distance Visual Acuity (mHCVA) Compared to Baseline (Day 1 Pre-Dose) at Days 3, 8, and 15 and Week 6

    This outcome measure will investigate the percentage of subjects with ≥ 10 and ≥ 15 ETDRS letters improvement in mesopic high-contrast best-corrected distance visual acuity (mHCVA) compared to baseline at Days 3, 8, and 15 and Week 6.

    Time frame: 6 Weeks

  4. Mean and Change From Baseline (Day 1 Pre-dose) in mLCVA and mHCVA at Days 3, 8, and 15 and Week 6

    This outcome measure will investigate the mean and change from baseline in mLCVA and mHCVA at Days 3, 8, and 15 and Week 6.

    Time frame: 6 Weeks

  5. Mean and Change From Baseline (Day 1 Pre-dose) in PD at Days 3, 8, and 15 and Week 6

    This outcome measure will investigate the mean and change from baseline in PD at Days 3, 8, and 15 and Week 6.

    Time frame: 6 Weeks

  6. Change in Subject Questionnaire Responses Compared to Baseline (Day 1 Pre-dose) at Days 3, 8, and 15 and Week 6

    This outcome measure will investigate the change in subject questionnaire responses compared to baseline at Days 3, 8, and 15 and Week 6. The Vision and Night Driving Questionnaire (VND-Q) is comprised of 9 questions related to visual difficulties when driving at night. Subjects were asked to assess, on a 1 (no difficulty) to 5 (extreme difficulty) scale, how much difficulty they had or would have with certain tasks while wearing their normal glasses or contact lenses (if any) for night driving.

    Time frame: 6 Weeks

07

Results

Posted Aug 18, 2026

Participant flow

Participant flow — Overall Study
Milestone0.75% Phentolamine Ophthalmic SolutionPhentolamine Ophthalmic Solution Vehicle
Started100100
Completed7887
Not completed2213

Outcome measures

PrimaryPercentage of Subjects With ≥ 15 Letters (3 Lines) Improvement in mLCVA in the Study Eye at Day 15 Compared to Baseline

This outcome measure will investigate the percent of subjects with an increase of at least 15 ETDRS letters read (≥ 3 lines) in the study eye in mLCVA compared to baseline (Day 1 pre-dose) at Day 15 in an effort to evaluate the efficacy of POS to improve mLCVA in subjects with post-refractive surgery visual disturbances.

Time frame:
15 Days
Reported as:
Count of participants · Participants
Percentage of Subjects With ≥ 15 Letters (3 Lines) Improvement in mLCVA in the Study Eye at Day 15 Compared to Baseline
Participants0.75% Phentolamine Ophthalmic SolutionPhentolamine Ophthalmic Solution Vehicle
Percentage of Subjects With ≥ 15 Letters (3 Lines) Improvement in mLCVA in the Study Eye at Day 15 Compared to Baseline179
Statistical analysis
  • 0.75% Phentolamine Ophthalmic Solution vs Phentolamine Ophthalmic Solution Vehicle · Regression, Logistic · p = 0.0338
SecondaryPercentage of Subjects With ≥ 10 and ≥ 15 ETDRS Letters Improvement in mLCVA Compared to Baseline (Day 1 Pre-dose) at Days 3, 8, and 15 (≥ 10 ETDRS Letters Only) and Week 6

This outcome measure will investigate the percentage of subjects with ≥ 10 and ≥ 15 ETDRS letters improvement in mLCVA compared to baseline at Days 3, 8, and 15 (≥ 10 ETDRS letters only) and Week 6.

Time frame:
6 Weeks
Reported as:
Count of participants · Participants
Percentage of Subjects With ≥ 10 and ≥ 15 ETDRS Letters Improvement in mLCVA Compared to Baseline (Day 1 Pre-dose) at Days 3, 8, and 15 (≥ 10 ETDRS Letters Only) and Week 6
Participants0.75% Phentolamine Ophthalmic SolutionPhentolamine Ophthalmic Solution Vehicle
Day 3: >= 15 Letters (>= 3 Lines)1712
Day 3: >= 10 Letters (>= 2 Lines)5738
Day 8: >= 15 Letters (>= 3 Lines)168
Day 8: >= 10 Letters (>= 2 Lines)5935
Day 15: >= 15 Letters (>= 3 Lines)179
Day 15: >= 10 Letters (>= 2 Lines)5142
Week 6: >= 15 Letters (>= 3 Lines)1614
Week 6: >= 10 Letters (>= 2 Lines)4238
Statistical analysis
  • 0.75% Phentolamine Ophthalmic Solution vs Phentolamine Ophthalmic Solution Vehicle · Regression, Logistic · p = 0.0010
  • 0.75% Phentolamine Ophthalmic Solution vs Phentolamine Ophthalmic Solution Vehicle · Regression, Logistic · p = 0.0001
  • 0.75% Phentolamine Ophthalmic Solution vs Phentolamine Ophthalmic Solution Vehicle · Regression, Logistic · p = 0.0795
  • 0.75% Phentolamine Ophthalmic Solution vs Phentolamine Ophthalmic Solution Vehicle · Regression, Logistic · p = 0.3778
  • 0.75% Phentolamine Ophthalmic Solution vs Phentolamine Ophthalmic Solution Vehicle · Regression, Logistic · p = 0.5253
SecondaryMean and Change From Baseline in mLCVA at 0.5, 1, and 3 Hours Post-dose on Day 1

This outcome measure will investigate the mean and change from baseline in mLCVA at 0.5, 1, and 3 hours post-dose on Day 1.

Time frame:
3 hours
Reported as:
Least squares mean · Letters Read
Mean and Change From Baseline in mLCVA at 0.5, 1, and 3 Hours Post-dose on Day 1
Letters Read0.75% Phentolamine Ophthalmic SolutionPhentolamine Ophthalmic Solution Vehicle
Day 1, 0.5 Hour Post-dose6.87 ± 0.5715.76 ± 0.568
Day 1, 1 Hour Post-dose9.70 ± 0.5296.67 ± 0.526
Day 1, 3 Hours Post-dose10.70 ± 0.5546.65 ± 0.552
Statistical analysis
  • 0.75% Phentolamine Ophthalmic Solution vs Phentolamine Ophthalmic Solution Vehicle · ANCOVA · p = 0.1711 · Mean difference (final values): 1.11 · 95% CI -0.48 to 2.70
  • 0.75% Phentolamine Ophthalmic Solution vs Phentolamine Ophthalmic Solution Vehicle · ANCOVA · p = <0.0001 · Mean difference (final values): 3.04 · 95% CI 1.56 to 4.51
  • 0.75% Phentolamine Ophthalmic Solution vs Phentolamine Ophthalmic Solution Vehicle · ANCOVA · p = <0.0001 · Mean difference (final values): 4.04 · 95% CI 2.51 to 5.58
SecondaryPercentage of Subjects With ≥ 10 and ≥ 15 ETDRS Letters Improvement in Mesopic High-contrast Best-corrected Distance Visual Acuity (mHCVA) Compared to Baseline (Day 1 Pre-Dose) at Days 3, 8, and 15 and Week 6

This outcome measure will investigate the percentage of subjects with ≥ 10 and ≥ 15 ETDRS letters improvement in mesopic high-contrast best-corrected distance visual acuity (mHCVA) compared to baseline at Days 3, 8, and 15 and Week 6.

Time frame:
6 Weeks
Reported as:
Count of participants · Participants
Percentage of Subjects With ≥ 10 and ≥ 15 ETDRS Letters Improvement in Mesopic High-contrast Best-corrected Distance Visual Acuity (mHCVA) Compared to Baseline (Day 1 Pre-Dose) at Days 3, 8, and 15 and Week 6
Participants0.75% Phentolamine Ophthalmic SolutionPhentolamine Ophthalmic Solution Vehicle
Day 3: >= 15 Letters (>= 3 Lines)41
Day 3: >= 10 Letters (>= 2 Lines)102
Day 8: >= 15 Letters (>= 3 Lines)42
Day 8: >= 10 Letters (>= 2 Lines)95
Day 15: >= 15 Letters (>= 3 Lines)42
Day 15: >= 10 Letters (>= 2 Lines)109
Week 6: >= 15 Letters (>= 3 Lines)53
Week 6: >= 10 Letters (>= 2 Lines)128
Statistical analysis
  • 0.75% Phentolamine Ophthalmic Solution vs Phentolamine Ophthalmic Solution Vehicle · Regression, Logistic · p = >0.1889
  • 0.75% Phentolamine Ophthalmic Solution vs Phentolamine Ophthalmic Solution Vehicle · Regression, Logistic · p = 0.0199
  • 0.75% Phentolamine Ophthalmic Solution vs Phentolamine Ophthalmic Solution Vehicle · Regression, Logistic · p = >0.1511
SecondaryMean and Change From Baseline (Day 1 Pre-dose) in mLCVA and mHCVA at Days 3, 8, and 15 and Week 6

This outcome measure will investigate the mean and change from baseline in mLCVA and mHCVA at Days 3, 8, and 15 and Week 6.

Time frame:
6 Weeks
Reported as:
Least squares mean · Letters Read
Mean and Change From Baseline (Day 1 Pre-dose) in mLCVA and mHCVA at Days 3, 8, and 15 and Week 6
Letters Read0.75% Phentolamine Ophthalmic SolutionPhentolamine Ophthalmic Solution Vehicle
Day 3, Change from Baseline in mHCVA3.00 ± 0.4711.26 ± 0.467
Day 8, Change from Baseline in mHCVA3.83 ± 0.5081.32 ± 0.507
Day 15, Change from Baseline in mHCVA4.13 ± 0.4832.06 ± 0.481
Week 6, Change from Baseline in mHCVA3.36 ± 0.5172.24 ± 0.514
Day 3, Change from Baseline in mLCVA10.66 ± 0.5547.48 ± 0.551
Day 8, Change from Baseline in mLCVA10.71 ± 0.5456.86 ± 0.545
Day 15, Change from Baseline in mLCVA10.01 ± 0.5827.67 ± 0.582
Week 6, Change from Baseline in mLCVA8.87 ± 0.6298.05 ± 0.624
Statistical analysis
  • 0.75% Phentolamine Ophthalmic Solution vs Phentolamine Ophthalmic Solution Vehicle · ANCOVA · p = <0.0046
  • 0.75% Phentolamine Ophthalmic Solution vs Phentolamine Ophthalmic Solution Vehicle · ANCOVA · p = <0.0089
SecondaryMean and Change From Baseline (Day 1 Pre-dose) in PD at Days 3, 8, and 15 and Week 6

This outcome measure will investigate the mean and change from baseline in PD at Days 3, 8, and 15 and Week 6.

Time frame:
6 Weeks
Reported as:
Least squares mean · millimeters
Mean and Change From Baseline (Day 1 Pre-dose) in PD at Days 3, 8, and 15 and Week 6
millimeters0.75% Phentolamine Ophthalmic SolutionPhentolamine Ophthalmic Solution Vehicle
Day 3-1.359 ± 0.0630-0.199 ± 0.0626
Day 8-1.380 ± 0.0652-0.198 ± 0.0648
Day 15-1.232 ± 0.0666-0.175 ± 0.0663
Week 6-1.151 ± 0.0648-0.202 ± 0.0645
Statistical analysis
  • 0.75% Phentolamine Ophthalmic Solution vs Phentolamine Ophthalmic Solution Vehicle · ANCOVA · p = <0.0001
SecondaryChange in Subject Questionnaire Responses Compared to Baseline (Day 1 Pre-dose) at Days 3, 8, and 15 and Week 6

This outcome measure will investigate the change in subject questionnaire responses compared to baseline at Days 3, 8, and 15 and Week 6. The Vision and Night Driving Questionnaire (VND-Q) is comprised of 9 questions related to visual difficulties when driving at night. Subjects were asked to assess, on a 1 (no difficulty) to 5 (extreme difficulty) scale, how much difficulty they had or would have with certain tasks while wearing their normal glasses or contact lenses (if any) for night driving.

Time frame:
6 Weeks
Reported as:
Least squares mean · Units on a Scale
Change in Subject Questionnaire Responses Compared to Baseline (Day 1 Pre-dose) at Days 3, 8, and 15 and Week 6
Units on a Scale0.75% Phentolamine Ophthalmic SolutionPhentolamine Ophthalmic Solution Vehicle
Day 3-0.24 ± 0.082-0.10 ± 0.082
Day 8-0.61 ± 0.096-0.14 ± 0.096
Day 15-0.97 ± 0.110-0.40 ± 0.110
Week 6-1.34 ± 0.135-0.68 ± 0.134
Statistical analysis
  • 0.75% Phentolamine Ophthalmic Solution vs Phentolamine Ophthalmic Solution Vehicle · ANCOVA · p = <0.0006

Adverse events

Collected over from enrollment until end of study, up to 48 weeks. Non-serious events are listed at a 0.5% frequency threshold.

Adverse event summary by group
GroupDeathsSeriousOther
0.75% Phentolamine Ophthalmic Solution0/99 (0%)1/99 (1%)60/99 (60.6%)
Phentolamine Ophthalmic Solution Vehicle0/100 (0%)3/100 (3%)27/100 (27%)
Most frequent serious events
Most frequent serious events
Event0.75% Phentolamine Ophthalmic SolutionPhentolamine Ophthalmic Solution Vehicle
Malignant melanoma in situNeoplasms benign, malignant and unspecified (incl cysts and polyps)1/990/100
Retinal detachmentEye disorders0/991/100
Multiple fracturesInjury, poisoning and procedural complications0/991/100
DehyrdrationMetabolism and nutrition disorders0/991/100
Most frequent other events
Showing 10 of 69
Most frequent other events
Event0.75% Phentolamine Ophthalmic SolutionPhentolamine Ophthalmic Solution Vehicle
Conjunctival hyperaemiaEye disorders35/995/100
Instillation site irritationGeneral disorders19/991/100
DysgeusiaNervous system disorders11/991/100
Eczema eyelidsEye disorders5/990/100
Instillation site erythemaGeneral disorders4/990/100
Punctate keratitisEye disorders3/993/100
Conjunctivitis allergicEye disorders3/990/100
Foreign body sensation in eyesEye disorders0/993/100
HypertensionVascular disorders1/993/100
Vision blurredEye disorders2/991/100

Baseline characteristics

200 patients in each arm started the study, however, one patient in the 0.75% POS group opted to not be dosed.

Age, Continuous
Age, Continuous(Years)0.75% Phentolamine Ophthalmic SolutionPhentolamine Ophthalmic Solution VehicleTotal
Mean45.3 ± 9.8645.5 ± 10.9245.4 ± 10.38
Sex: Female, Male
Sex: Female, Male(Participants)0.75% Phentolamine Ophthalmic SolutionPhentolamine Ophthalmic Solution VehicleTotal
Female6935104
Male306595
Race (NIH/OMB)
Race (NIH/OMB)(Participants)0.75% Phentolamine Ophthalmic SolutionPhentolamine Ophthalmic Solution VehicleTotal
American Indian or Alaska Native101
Asian10919
Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander101
Black or African American7815
White7881159
More than one race224
Unknown or Not Reported000
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)(Participants)0.75% Phentolamine Ophthalmic SolutionPhentolamine Ophthalmic Solution VehicleTotal
Hispanic or Latino13922
Not Hispanic or Latino8691177
Unknown or Not Reported000
Study eye
Study eye(Participants)0.75% Phentolamine Ophthalmic SolutionPhentolamine Ophthalmic Solution VehicleTotal
Right eye494594
Left eye5055105
Irides type
Irides type(Participants)0.75% Phentolamine Ophthalmic SolutionPhentolamine Ophthalmic Solution VehicleTotal
Light474794
Dark5253105
Mesopic Low-Contrast Best-Corrected Distance Visual Acuity (mLCVA)
Mesopic Low-Contrast Best-Corrected Distance Visual Acuity (mLCVA)(Letters Read)0.75% Phentolamine Ophthalmic SolutionPhentolamine Ophthalmic Solution VehicleTotal
in the Study Eye19.2 ± 6.0017.8 ± 6.6818.5 ± 6.37
in the Fellow Eye22.7 ± 7.0921.7 ± 6.6722.2 ± 6.88
Binocular28.0 ± 6.2527.2 ± 5.8227.6 ± 6.04
Mesopic High-Contrast Best-Corrected Distance Visual Acuity (mHCVA)
Mesopic High-Contrast Best-Corrected Distance Visual Acuity (mHCVA)(Letters Read)0.75% Phentolamine Ophthalmic SolutionPhentolamine Ophthalmic Solution VehicleTotal
in the Study Eye49.5 ± 5.4748.6 ± 6.3149.0 ± 5.91
in the Fellow Eye50.7 ± 5.8149.6 ± 6.7050.2 ± 6.28
Binocular53.6 ± 4.7052.4 ± 5.7753.0 ± 5.29

2 further baseline measures are reported on the registry.

08

Study locations

25 sites
  • United States Phoenix
    Pheonix, Arizona 85003, United States
  • United States Scottsdale
    Scottsdale, Arizona 85260, United States
  • United States
    Bakersfield, California 93309, United States
  • United States, Glendale, CA
    Glendale, California 91204, United States
  • United States, LaJolla, CA
    La Jolla, California 92903, United States
  • United States, California
    Newport Beach, California 92663, United States
  • United States Rowland Heights
    Rowland Heights, California 91748, United States
  • United States Torrance
    Torrance, California 90505, United States
  • United States, Jacksonville, FL
    Jacksonville, Florida 32256, United States
  • United States Jacksonville
    Jacksonville, Florida 32257, United States
  • United States
    Tampa, Florida 33603, United States
  • United States Overland Park
    Overland Park, Kansas 66210, United States
  • United States Louisville
    Louisville, Kentucky 40206, United States
  • United States Fraser
    Fraser, Michigan 48026, United States
  • United States
    New York, New York 10022, United States
  • United States Smithtown
    Smithtown, New York 11787, United States
  • United States, North Carolina
    Garner, North Carolina 27529, United States
  • United States Fargo
    Fargo, North Dakota 58103, United States
  • United States
    Fargo, North Dakota 58103, United States
  • United States, Rhode Island
    Warwick, Rhode Island 02888, United States
  • United States, Mt Pleasant, SC
    Mt. Pleasant, South Carolina 29464, United States
  • United States Chattanooga
    Chattanooga, Tennessee 37411, United States
  • United States Smyrna
    Smyrna, Tennessee 37167, United States
  • United States Draper
    Draper, Utah 84020, United States
  • United States Lynchburg
    Lynchburg, Virginia 24502, United States
09

References and documents

Study documents

  • Study protocol · Jul 11, 2025
  • Statistical analysis plan · Dec 20, 2024

Documents are hosted by the registry — open the source record to download them.

10

Updates

Tracking since Sep 25, 2026
No changes since tracking began. The registry record was last updated on Aug 18, 2026, before this site started recording changes on Sep 25, 2026. Its history is on ClinicalTrials.gov ↗
11

Registry details

Key details

Study ID
NCT06349759
Lead sponsor
Ocuphire Pharma, Inc.
Collaborators
Viatris Inc.
Responsible party
Sponsor
First posted
Apr 5, 2024
Start date
Apr 1, 2024
Primary completion
Apr 17, 2025
Completion
Feb 19, 2026
Results posted
Aug 18, 2026
Last update
Aug 18, 2026

Study contacts

Jay Pepose, MD
study chair · Ocuphire Pharma

Oversight

Data monitoring committee
No
FDA-regulated drug
Yes
FDA-regulated device
No
View the source record on ClinicalTrials.gov ↗

Not currently enrolling

This study is completed, as verified in Jul 2026. You cannot join it, but the record below documents what was studied.

Follow this study

Get an email when the registry record changes — status, dates, results — or when someone posts here.

Sign in to follow

Discussion

Questions and observations about this study, from anyone following it. Not medical advice, and not a channel to the study team — their contact details are on the registry record.

Sign in to join the discussion. Reading takes no account; posting does. You choose a display name, and a pseudonym is the default.

Nothing here yet. If you are running this trial, taking part in it, or weighing whether to, this is the place to say so.

Start the discussion