CClinicalTrials.gg
CompletedNCT05971823Updated Apr 6, 2026Results posted

Effects of Electronic Cigarette Flavors on Abuse Liability in Smokers (P3-Taste)

An interventional study of Tobacco product administration and assessment in Electronic Cigarette Use, sponsored by Virginia Commonwealth University. Completed at 1 site in United States. Open to participants aged 18 Years and older, including healthy volunteers. Per ClinicalTrials.gov, last updated 2026-04-06.

Sponsored by Virginia Commonwealth University · Not applicable, Interventional, and Basic science

Phase
Not applicable
Study type
Interventional
Enrollment
32
Allocation
Not applicable
Ages
18 Years and older
Sex
All
01

Study summary

The purpose of this study is to determine if abuse liability indices will be impacted by varying flavors and e-cigarette (ECIG) nicotine delivery capability (i.e., nicotine flux) among current combustible cigarette users.

The investigators will compare abuse liability indices between three FDA-authorized ECIG products that vary in nicotine flux (but are all tobacco flavor) and own brand cigarettes. The investigators will also test the influence of ECIG flavor availability (tobacco vs. menthol) within three ECIG product classes.

02

Conditions studied

  • Electronic Cigarette Use

Browse trials for

Keywords

  • Electronic Cigarette
  • Nicotine Flux
  • Tobacco Use
03

In context

Vaping

160 studies on the registry are indexed under Vaping; 72 are open to participants now.

This study's enrollment of 32 is below the median of 110 across 135 interventional studies indexed under Vaping.

Browse Vaping studies →

Lead sponsor

Virginia Commonwealth University is the lead sponsor of 641 studies on the registry; 82 are open to participants now.

Of its 88 completed or terminated interventional studies of FDA-regulated products, 62 (70%) have results posted.

Counted across the registry records on this site, refreshed daily.

04

Who can participate

Ages eligible
18 Years and older
Sexes eligible
All
Accepts healthy volunteers
Yes

Inclusion criteria

  • healthy (determined by self-report)
  • at least 18 years old
  • willing to provide informed consent
  • able to attend the lab and use designated products according to the study protocol
  • smoke cigarettes at least 3 days per week, and on those days, at least one cigarette is smoked per day
  • positive urine cotinine test

Exclusion criteria

Exclusion Criteria:

  • Women who are breastfeeding or test positive for pregnancy (by urinalysis) at screening.
  • Individuals with the following self-reported current, diagnosed medical condition(s) will be excluded automatically: uncontrolled high blood pressure (via self-report or observed at screening; BP must be less than 160/100), heart-related conditions (e.g., recent heart attack/stroke, coronary heart disease), severe immune system disorders (e.g., HIV/AIDS, multiple sclerosis), respiratory disorders (e.g., COPD, asthma), kidney diseases, liver diseases (e.g., cirrhosis), or seizures.
  • Individuals with other self-reported current, diagnosed medical conditions (e.g., diabetes, thyroid disease, lyme disease) will be considered for exclusion after consultation with the PI and medical monitor. We ask a variety of questions about participants' medical conditions that are not necessarily exclusionary to be able to consult with the medical monitor about these conditions. Participants with any medical condition/medication that may affect participant safety, study outcomes, or biomarker data will be excluded based on these consultations.
  • Individuals with current, diagnosed, uncontrolled psychiatric conditions will be excluded. A controlled psychiatric illness is defined as one where the individual is taking medication and/or receiving other treatment (e.g., psychotherapy). In addition, individuals who have been to the ER and/or been hospitalized for a psychiatric condition in the past year will be excluded. Individuals with past-month use of cocaine, opioids, benzodiazepines, and methamphetamine or other illegal substances (other than cannabis) will be excluded. Individuals who report using cannabis more than 15 days in the past 30 and/or alcohol more than 25 days in the past 30 days will be excluded.
  • Participants who choose not to answer questions related to inclusion/exclusion criteria will be excluded.
  • Participants who indicate their sex assigned at birth is female will be excluded if they are breastfeeding or test positive for pregnancy (by urinalysis) at screening.
05

Study design

Phase
Not applicable
Primary purpose
Basic science
Allocation
Not applicable
Intervention model
Single group
Masking
None (open label)
Enrollment
32 participants (actual)

Study arms

  • Experimental
    All Participants

    All participants will receive the same interventions in the same order.

    Other: Tobacco product administration and assessment

Interventions

  • OtherTobacco product administration and assessment

    Subjective measures 1 is followed by product sampling that includes 5 self-directed ECIG/own brand cigarette puffs over 10 minutes. After sampling is complete participants complete subjective measures 2. Ten minutes after their sampling has been completed, they complete subjective measures 3 and the behavioral economic task(s). These activities are preceded and followed by cardiovascular response assessment.

06

What researchers measure

Primary outcomes

  1. Intensity of Drug Purchase Task (DPT)

    The DPTs will yield measures of willingness to pay and measures of price sensitivity for session-specific tobacco products. Choices made during this task are not reinforced during the session. Order effects are not assessed in this study design. Intensity, as measured by DPT, is a self-report measure used to assess the reinforcing efficacy or motivational value of a substance. It is a specific quantitative index that refers to the maximum amount of a drug a person would consume if it were available at zero or minimal cost. For this assessment, intensity is measured in puffs (e.g., 0-100 puffs if each puff were free).

    Time frame: There are 4 Sessions: Day 1: own brand (1 condition), Day 3: 2.4% (2 conditions), Day 5: 5% (2 conditions), and Day 7: 6% (2 conditions). The sessions were separated by 48 hours.

  2. Price Sensitivity of Drug Purchase Task (DPT)

    The DPTs will yield measures of willingness to pay and measures of price sensitivity for session-specific tobacco products. Choices made during this task are not reinforced during the session. Order effects are not assessed in this study design. Price sensitivity (α; change in amount purchased as price increases) as measured by DPT. By analyzing these metrics, researchers can quantify and compare the motivational strength and reinforcing value of different substances or different doses, providing insight into the overvaluation of drugs that contributes to addiction. (e.g., 0% to 1% range) DPT outcomes included: breakpoint (highest price participants were willing to pay), intensity (consumption at zero cost), and price sensitivity (α; change in amount purchased as price increases

    Time frame: There are 4 Sessions: Day 1: own brand (1 condition), Day 3: 2.4% (2 conditions), Day 5: 5% (2 conditions), and Day 7: 6% (2 conditions). The sessions were separated by 48 hours.

  3. Breakpoint of Drug Purchase Task (DPT)

    The DPTs will yield measures of willingness to pay and measures of price sensitivity for session-specific tobacco products. Choices made during this task are not reinforced during the session. Order effects are not assessed in this study design. Breakpoint, as measured by DPT, is defined as the first price at which a participant's consumption of a hypothetical drug product is suppressed to zero. The DPT is a behavioral economics assessment tool used to measure the reinforcing value (or abuse liability) of substances. Participants are asked to report how much of a drug they would consume at a series of escalating prices, assuming no access to other similar products and that all consumption would occur within a specified time period (e.g., one day). (e.g. $0.00 to $10.00 range)

    Time frame: There are 4 Sessions: Day 1: own brand (1 condition), Day 3: 2.4% (2 conditions), Day 5: 5% (2 conditions), and Day 7: 6% (2 conditions). The sessions were separated by 48 hours.

  4. Cross-price Elasticity of the Cross Product-DPT

    The Cross Product (CP)-DPTs assess cross-product purchasing behaviors between various tobacco products offered at a fixed amount and own brand cigarettes offered at varying prices. Order effects are not assessed in this study design. CP-DPT involves participants making two hypothetical choices at once, for a series of price scenarios. For example, participants are asked how many puffs of their Own Brand Cigarette AND how many puffs of a menthol-flavored NJOY Ace 2.4% Nicotine ECIG they would purchase if each Own Brand Cigarette puff cost $0.00 (i.e., free) and each menthol-flavored NJOY Ace 2.4% Nicotine ECIG puff cost $0.10.The outcome of the task is cross-price elasticity.

    Time frame: There are 4 Sessions: Day 1: own brand (1 condition), Day 3: 2.4% (2 conditions), Day 5: 5% (2 conditions), and Day 7: 6% (2 conditions). The sessions were separated by 48 hours.

07

Results

Posted Apr 6, 2026

Participant flow

Thirty-two subjects were eligible and consented. Thirty participants started and completed the study procedures. Study data were collected only from the 30 subjects who actually participated in the study interventions (Demographic and outcome). Order effects are not assessed in this study design. There were four sessions, for the seven conditions: 1.) own brand (1 condition), 2.) 2.4% (2 conditions), 3.) 5% (2 conditions), and 4.) 6% (2 conditions)

Participant flow — Overall Study
MilestoneAll Participants
Started30
Completed30
Not completed0

Outcome measures

PrimaryIntensity of Drug Purchase Task (DPT)

The DPTs will yield measures of willingness to pay and measures of price sensitivity for session-specific tobacco products. Choices made during this task are not reinforced during the session. Order effects are not assessed in this study design. Intensity, as measured by DPT, is a self-report measure used to assess the reinforcing efficacy or motivational value of a substance. It is a specific quantitative index that refers to the maximum amount of a drug a person would consume if it were available at zero or minimal cost. For this assessment, intensity is measured in puffs (e.g., 0-100 puffs if each puff were free).

Time frame:
There are 4 Sessions: Day 1: own brand (1 condition), Day 3: 2.4% (2 conditions), Day 5: 5% (2 conditions), and Day 7: 6% (2 conditions). The sessions were separated by 48 hours.
Reported as:
Mean · number of puffs
Intensity of Drug Purchase Task (DPT)
number of puffsAll Participants
Own Brand Cigarette172.20 ± 94.90
NJOY Ace 2.4% Nicotine ECIG - Menthol Flavor89.90 ± 97.06
NJOY Ace 2.4% Nicotine ECIG - Classic Tobacco Flavor60.83 ± 78.62
NJOY Ace 5.0% Nicotine ECIG - Menthol Flavor94.50 ± 97.95
NJOY Ace 5.0% Nicotine ECIG - Classic Tobacco Flavor70.23 ± 74.91
NJOY Daily 6.0% Nicotine ECIG - Menthol Flavor100.40 ± 109.33
NJOY Daily 6.0% Nicotine ECIG - Extra Rich Tobacco Flavor86.50 ± 95.65
PrimaryPrice Sensitivity of Drug Purchase Task (DPT)

The DPTs will yield measures of willingness to pay and measures of price sensitivity for session-specific tobacco products. Choices made during this task are not reinforced during the session. Order effects are not assessed in this study design. Price sensitivity (α; change in amount purchased as price increases) as measured by DPT. By analyzing these metrics, researchers can quantify and compare the motivational strength and reinforcing value of different substances or different doses, providing insight into the overvaluation of drugs that contributes to addiction. (e.g., 0% to 1% range) DPT outcomes included: breakpoint (highest price participants were willing to pay), intensity (consumption at zero cost), and price sensitivity (α; change in amount purchased as price increases

Time frame:
There are 4 Sessions: Day 1: own brand (1 condition), Day 3: 2.4% (2 conditions), Day 5: 5% (2 conditions), and Day 7: 6% (2 conditions). The sessions were separated by 48 hours.
Reported as:
Mean · dollars per e-cig puff
Price Sensitivity of Drug Purchase Task (DPT)
dollars per e-cig puffAll Participants
Own Brand Cigarette.008 ± .004
NJOY Ace 2.4% Nicotine ECIG - Menthol Flavor.030 ± .056
NJOY Ace 2.4% Nicotine ECIG - Classic Tobacco Flavor.019 ± .021
NJOY Ace 5.0% Nicotine ECIG - Menthol Flavor.022 ± .050
NJOY Ace 5.0% Nicotine ECIG - Classic Tobacco Flavor.013 ± .017
NJOY Daily 6.0% Nicotine ECIG - Menthol Flavor.027 ± .066
NJOY Daily 6.0% Nicotine ECIG - Extra Rich Tobacco Flavor.014 ± .012
PrimaryBreakpoint of Drug Purchase Task (DPT)

The DPTs will yield measures of willingness to pay and measures of price sensitivity for session-specific tobacco products. Choices made during this task are not reinforced during the session. Order effects are not assessed in this study design. Breakpoint, as measured by DPT, is defined as the first price at which a participant's consumption of a hypothetical drug product is suppressed to zero. The DPT is a behavioral economics assessment tool used to measure the reinforcing value (or abuse liability) of substances. Participants are asked to report how much of a drug they would consume at a series of escalating prices, assuming no access to other similar products and that all consumption would occur within a specified time period (e.g., one day). (e.g. $0.00 to $10.00 range)

Time frame:
There are 4 Sessions: Day 1: own brand (1 condition), Day 3: 2.4% (2 conditions), Day 5: 5% (2 conditions), and Day 7: 6% (2 conditions). The sessions were separated by 48 hours.
Reported as:
Mean · US dollars ($)
Breakpoint of Drug Purchase Task (DPT)
US dollars ($)All Participants
Own Brand Cigarette1.94 ± 4.13
NJOY Ace 2.4% Nicotine ECIG - Menthol Flavor2.00 ± 5.19
NJOY Ace 2.4% Nicotine ECIG - Classic Tobacco Flavor2.05 ± 5.20
NJOY Ace 5.0% Nicotine ECIG - Menthol Flavor1.60 ± 3.79
NJOY Ace 5.0% Nicotine ECIG - Classic Tobacco Flavor1.89 ± 5.16
NJOY Daily 6.0% Nicotine ECIG - Menthol Flavor1.48 ± 3.83
NJOY Daily 6.0% Nicotine ECIG - Extra Rich Tobacco Flavor1.99 ± 5.18
PrimaryCross-price Elasticity of the Cross Product-DPT

The Cross Product (CP)-DPTs assess cross-product purchasing behaviors between various tobacco products offered at a fixed amount and own brand cigarettes offered at varying prices. Order effects are not assessed in this study design. CP-DPT involves participants making two hypothetical choices at once, for a series of price scenarios. For example, participants are asked how many puffs of their Own Brand Cigarette AND how many puffs of a menthol-flavored NJOY Ace 2.4% Nicotine ECIG they would purchase if each Own Brand Cigarette puff cost $0.00 (i.e., free) and each menthol-flavored NJOY Ace 2.4% Nicotine ECIG puff cost $0.10.The outcome of the task is cross-price elasticity.

Time frame:
There are 4 Sessions: Day 1: own brand (1 condition), Day 3: 2.4% (2 conditions), Day 5: 5% (2 conditions), and Day 7: 6% (2 conditions). The sessions were separated by 48 hours.
Reported as:
Mean · dollars per e-cigarette puffs
Cross-price Elasticity of the Cross Product-DPT
dollars per e-cigarette puffsAll Participants
NJOY Ace 2.4% Nicotine ECIG - Menthol Flavor.149 ± .123
NJOY Ace 2.4% Nicotine ECIG - Classic Tobacco Flavor.193 ± .127
NJOY Ace 5.0% Nicotine ECIG - Menthol Flavor.245 ± .110
NJOY Ace 5.0% Nicotine ECIG - Classic Tobacco Flavor.079 ± .111
NJOY Ace 6.0% Nicotine ECIG - Menthol Flavor.098 ± .141
NJOY Ace 6.0% Nicotine ECIG - Extra Rich Tobacco Flavor.202 ± .122

Adverse events

Collected over At baseline and through to the completion of all of the protocol procedures. There are 4 Sessions: Day 1: own brand (1 condition), Day 3: 2.4% (2 conditions), Day 5: 5% (2 conditions), and Day 7: 6% (2 conditions). The sessions were separated by 48 hours.. Non-serious events are listed at a 0% frequency threshold.

Adverse event summary by group
GroupDeathsSeriousOther
All Participants0/30 (0%)0/30 (0%)0/30 (0%)

Baseline characteristics

Thirty-two subjects were eligible and consented. Thirty participated in the study procedures. Study data were collected only from the 30 subjects who actually participated in the study interventions (Demographic and outcome). Order effects are not assessed in this study design.

Age, Continuous
Age, Continuous(years)All Participants
Mean48.50 ± 11.62
Sex: Female, Male
Sex: Female, Male(Participants)All Participants
Female14
Male16
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)(Participants)All Participants
Hispanic or Latino3
Not Hispanic or Latino27
Unknown or Not Reported0
Race (NIH/OMB)
Race (NIH/OMB)(Participants)All Participants
American Indian or Alaska Native1
Asian0
Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander0
Black or African American15
White9
More than one race3
Unknown or Not Reported2
Region of Enrollment
Region of Enrollment(participants)All Participants
United States30
08

Study locations

1 site
  • Center for the Study of Tobacco Products
    Richmond, Virginia 23220, United States
09

References and documents

Study documents

  • Protocol and statistical analysis plan · Dec 17, 2024
  • Informed consent form · Feb 20, 2024

Documents are hosted by the registry — open the source record to download them.

Individual participant data

Plan to share: No

10

Updates

Tracking since Sep 25, 2026
No changes since tracking began. The registry record was last updated on Apr 6, 2026, before this site started recording changes on Sep 25, 2026. Its history is on ClinicalTrials.gov ↗
11

Registry details

Key details

Study ID
NCT05971823
Lead sponsor
Virginia Commonwealth University
Collaborators
National Institute on Drug Abuse (NIDA)
Responsible party
Sponsor
First posted
Aug 2, 2023
Start date
Jul 31, 2023
Primary completion
Jul 26, 2024
Completion
Jul 26, 2024
Results posted
Apr 6, 2026
Last update
Apr 6, 2026

Study contacts

Caroline O Cobb, PhD
principal investigator · Virginia Commonwealth University
Andrew Barnes, PhD
principal investigator · Virginia Commonwealth University

Oversight

Data monitoring committee
No
FDA-regulated drug
No
FDA-regulated device
No
View the source record on ClinicalTrials.gov ↗

Not currently enrolling

This study is completed, as verified in Mar 2026. You cannot join it, but the record below documents what was studied.

Follow this study

Get an email when the registry record changes — status, dates, results — or when someone posts here.

Sign in to follow

Discussion

Questions and observations about this study, from anyone following it. Not medical advice, and not a channel to the study team — their contact details are on the registry record.

Sign in to join the discussion. Reading takes no account; posting does. You choose a display name, and a pseudonym is the default.

Nothing here yet. If you are running this trial, taking part in it, or weighing whether to, this is the place to say so.

Start the discussion