CClinicalTrials.gg
TerminatedNCT04815967Updated May 27, 2026Results posted

Efficacy and Safety Study of MYOBLOC® in the Treatment of Adult Upper Limb Spasticity

A Phase 2/3 interventional study of Phase 2; Low Dose MYOBLOC (10,000 Units) and Phase 2; High Dose MYOBLOC (20,000 Units) in Spasticity, Cerebrovascular Accident and Multiple Sclerosis, sponsored by Solstice Neurosciences, LLC, a subsidiary of MDD US Operations, LLC. Terminated at 9 sites in 3 countries. Open to participants aged 18 Years to 80 Years. Per ClinicalTrials.gov, last updated 2026-05-27.

Sponsored by Solstice Neurosciences, LLC, a subsidiary of MDD US Operations, LLC · Phase 2/3, Interventional, and Treatment

Why this study was terminated
Company/sponsor business decision; not due to or related to any safety concerns
Phase
Phase 2/3
Study type
Interventional
Enrollment
32
Allocation
Randomized
Ages
18 Years to 80 Years
Sex
All
01

Study summary

Phase 2/3, randomized, double-blind, placebo-controlled, single-treatment, multicenter trial assessing the efficacy and safety of MYOBLOC for the treatment of upper limb spasticity in adults followed by an open-label extension safety trial.

Read the detailed description

Phase 2, randomized, double-blind, placebo-controlled, single-treatment, multicenter trial will compare the efficacy and safety of two doses of MYOBLOC (10,000 Units and 15,000 Units) versus volume-matched placebo in the treatment of upper limb spasticity in adults. An interim analysis will evaluate all available safety and efficacy data from the Phase 2 double-blind trial in order to recommend which dose will be evaluated in subsequent Phase 3 trial. The Phase 3, randomized, double-blind, placebo-controlled, single-treatment, multicenter trial will compare the efficacy and safety of MYOBLOC versus placebo in the treatment of upper limb spasticity in adults. Subjects who complete either the Phase 2 or Phase 3 trial will continue into an open-label extension part of the study where each will receive 4 separate treatments of MYOBLOC (15,000-20,000 Units) \~13 week apart for upper limb spasticity.

02

Conditions studied

  • Spasticity
  • Cerebrovascular Accident
  • Multiple Sclerosis
  • Traumatic Brain Injury
  • Cervical Spinal Cord Injury
  • Cerebral Palsy

Keywords

  • Stroke
  • Traumatic Brain Injury
  • Monoplegia
  • Hemiplegia
  • Upper limb
  • Multiple Sclerosis
  • Cerebral Palsy
  • Cervical Spinal Cord Injury
03

In context

Muscle Spasticity

704 studies on the registry are indexed under Muscle Spasticity; 149 are open to participants now.

This study's enrollment of 32 is below the median of 36 across 525 interventional studies indexed under Muscle Spasticity.

Browse Muscle Spasticity studies →

Lead sponsor

Solstice Neurosciences, LLC, a subsidiary of MDD US Operations, LLC is the lead sponsor of 3 studies on the registry; none are open to participants now.

Counted across the registry records on this site, refreshed daily.

04

Who can participate

Ages eligible
18 Years to 80 Years
Sexes eligible
All
Accepts healthy volunteers
No

Inclusion criteria

  1. Able to understand the potential risks and benefits, the study requirements, and provide written informed consent before enrollment into the study; or if unable, the subject's Legally Authorized Representative (LAR) may provide written informed consent.
  2. Male or female ≥18 to maximum of 80 years of age, inclusive.
  3. Upper limb spasticity due to stroke, or traumatic brain injury, or spinal cord injury that occurred ≥ 6 months prior to randomization. Eligible subjects may have upper limb monoplegia or hemiplegia. Subjects with cerebral palsy are eligible for study enrollment.
  4. Modified Ashworth Scale (MAS) scores of ≥2 in at least two muscle groups inclusive of the elbow, wrist, and finger flexors at screening and baseline.
  5. In the Investigator's opinion, the subject will be available and able to comply with the study requirements for at least 1 year, based on the subject's overall health and disease prognosis.
  6. In the Investigator's opinion, the subject will be willing and able to comply with all requirements of the protocol, including completion of study questionnaires. A caregiver may be designated to assist with the physical completion of questionnaires/scales.

Exclusion criteria

EXCLUSION CRITERIA:

  1. Quadriplegia/tetraplegia, or triplegia with both upper limbs affected.
  2. Uncontrolled epilepsy or any type of seizure disorder with a seizure(s) within the previous year.
  3. Neuromuscular disorders including, but not limited to, amyotrophic lateral sclerosis (ALS), primary lateral sclerosis (PLS), multiple sclerosis (MS), myasthenia gravis, or muscular dystrophy.
  4. History of major joint contracture(s), in which, based on the Investigator's assessment, the contracture(s) significantly contributes to joint immobility in the affected upper limb.
  5. Unresolved fracture(s) in the affected upper limb.
  6. Severe atrophy in the affected upper limb.
  7. Known hypersensitivity to botulinum toxins type A or B or to any MYOBLOC solution components.
  8. Concomitant use or exposure within 5 half-lives of randomization of the following: aminoglycoside antibiotics, curare-like agents, or other agents that may interfere with neuromuscular function.
  9. Treatment with a neurolytic agent (e.g., phenol, alcohol blocks) to the affected upper limb within 1 year before randomization.
  10. Presence of a spinal stimulator or intrathecal baclofen pump that has not been turned off within 30 days prior to screening.
  11. Changes to treatment regimen or any new treatment with oral antispasmodics and/or muscle relaxants within 30 days prior to randomization.
  12. Initiation of physical and/or occupational therapy \<30 days before randomization. Subjects receiving physical and/or occupational therapy ≥30 days before randomization must be willing to maintain their therapy regimen through Week 4 of the Double-Blind Period.
  13. Prior botulinum toxin type A (BoNT/A) or B (BoNT/B) treatment in the affected upper limb within 24 weeks before screening. Prior BoNT/A or BoNT/B treatment in areas other than the affected upper limb is not exclusionary but must have occurred at least 12 weeks before screening. Prior toxin exposure must have been well tolerated and without any significant long-term side effects in the case of repeated prior exposure.
  14. Subjects should not receive nor have any plans to receive any botulinum toxin treatment, other than the study drug (MYOBLOC), from the time that informed consent is obtained until participation in the study is complete.
  15. Severe dysphagia (i.e., inability to swallow liquids, solids or both without choking or medical intervention), or dysphagia with a history of aspiration pneumonia, within 6 months before screening.
  16. Prior surgery to treat spasticity in the affected upper limb (i.e., tendon lengthening or tendon transfer).
  17. Any anticipated or scheduled surgery during the study period, with the exception of dermatological procedures performed under local anesthesia for the purposes of removing precancerous and cancerous lesions.
  18. Major surgery within 30 days before screening.
  19. Pregnancy or breastfeeding.
  20. Females of childbearing potential must agree to practice a medically acceptable method of contraception (e.g., intrauterine device, hormonal contraception started at least one full cycle before study enrollment, or barrier method in conjunction with spermicide) for the duration of the study (including 2 months after study completion). For the purposes of this study, all females are considered to be of childbearing potential unless they are confirmed by the Investigator to be post-menopausal (at least 1 year since last menses and laboratory test confirmation), biologically sterile, or surgically sterile (e.g., hysterectomy with bilateral oophorectomy, tubal ligation).
  21. History of drug or alcohol abuse within 6 months before screening.
  22. Obstructive pulmonary disease with forced expiratory volume in 1 second (FEV1)/forced vital capacity (FVC) \<70%.
  23. Slow vital capacity (SVC) \<60% of predicted.
  24. Chronic or current use of inhaled corticosteroids.
  25. Ventilator dependence (i.e., 24-hour ventilator dependence when intubated, or due to a failure to wean the subject from the ventilator while hospitalized in the intensive care unit or respiratory care center). Subjects who use oxygen on an as-needed basis or during sleeping hours only via a nasal cannula are eligible for the study.
  26. Infection at the planned sites of injection.
  27. Treatment with an investigational drug, device, or biological agent within 30 days before screening or while participating in this study.
  28. Malignancy diagnosed 3 months before screening.
  29. Has one or more screening clinical laboratory test values outside the reference range that, in the opinion of the Investigator, are clinically significant, or any of the following :

    • Serum creatinine >1.5 times the upper limit of normal (ULN);
    • Serum total bilirubin > 1.5 times ULN;
    • Serum alanine aminotransferase or aspartate aminotransferase >2 times ULN.
  30. Has any of the following cardiac findings at screening:

    • Abnormal ECG that is, in the Investigator's opinion/evaluation, clinically significant;
    • PR interval >220 ms;
    • QRS interval >130 ms;
    • QTcF interval >450 ms (for men), or >470 ms (for women) (QT corrected using Fridericia's method);
    • Second-or third-degree atrioventricular block;
    • Any rhythm, other than sinus rhythm, that is interpreted or assessed by the Investigator to be clinically significant.
  31. Any other medical illness, condition, or clinical finding that, in the opinion of the Investigator and/or the Sponsor, would put the subject at undue risk.
05

Study design

Phase
Phase 2 / Phase 3
Primary purpose
Treatment
Allocation
Randomized
Intervention model
Parallel assignment
Masking
Quadruple (Participant, Care provider, Investigator, Outcomes assessor)
Enrollment
32 participants (actual)

Study arms

  • Experimental
    Phase 2; Low Dose MYOBLOC (10,000 Units)

    Low Dose MYOBLOC (10,000 Units) is a single treatment and will be compared to volume-matched placebo

    Drug: Phase 2; Low Dose MYOBLOC (10,000 Units)

  • Experimental
    Phase 2; High Dose MYOBLOC (15,000 Units)

    High Dose MYOBLOC (15,000 Units) is a single treatment and will be compared to volume-matched placebo

    Drug: Phase 2; High Dose MYOBLOC (20,000 Units)

  • Placebo comparator
    Phase 2; Placebo

    Volume-matched placebo is a single treatment

    Drug: Phase 2; Placebo

  • Experimental
    Phase 3; MYOBLOC

    MYOBLOC is a single treatment and will be compared to volume-matched placebo

    Drug: Phase 3; MYOBLOC

  • Placebo comparator
    Phase 3; Placebo

    Volume-matched placebo is a single treatment

    Drug: Phase 3; Placebo

Interventions

  • DrugPhase 2; Low Dose MYOBLOC (10,000 Units)

    Intramuscular injections on Day 1

    Also known as: rimabotulinumtoxinB, botulinum toxin type B

  • DrugPhase 2; High Dose MYOBLOC (20,000 Units)

    Intramuscular injections on Day 1

    Also known as: rimabotulinumtoxinB, botulinum toxin type B

  • DrugPhase 2; Placebo

    Intramuscular injections on Day 1

    Also known as: PBO

  • DrugPhase 3; MYOBLOC

    Intramuscular injections on Day 1

    Also known as: rimabotulinumtoxinB, botulinum toxin type B

  • DrugPhase 3; Placebo

    Intramuscular injections on Day 1

    Also known as: PBO

06

What researchers measure

Primary outcomes

  1. The Change From Baseline in Modified Ashworth Scale (MAS) Score for Tone of the Primary Target Muscle Group (PTMG) Selected for Treatment at Week 4 Post-injection.

    The Modified Ashworth Scale (MAS) is an internationally accepted and validated instrument used to measure resistance during passive soft-tissue stretching. Resistance will be measured and recorded using a 6-point scale ranging from 0 (no increase in muscle tone) to 4 (affected part\[s\] rigid in flexion or extension). The post-injection MAS score is subtracted from the baseline MAS score to yield the change from baseline MAS score. A change from baseline MAS score \<0 represents a better outcome.

    Time frame: Baseline and Week 4

  2. The Clinical Global Impression of Change (CGI-C) Score in Functional Ability at Week 4 Post-injection.

    The Clinical Global Impression of Change (CGI-C) scale is a single item clinician assessment of how much the patient's functional ability has improved, worsened or has not changed relative to the patient's baseline state prior to treatment (injection). The CGI-C is rated on a 7-point Likert scale from 1 to 7, where 1 = "Very much improved", 2 = "Much improved", 3 = "Minimally improved", 4 = "No change", 5 = "Minimally worse", 6 = "Much worse", and 7 = "Very much worse". A CGI-C score \<4 represents a better outcome.

    Time frame: Week 4

07

Results

Posted May 27, 2026

Participant flow

The study was conducted at 10 sites located in the United States (4), Poland (6), and Hungary (1).

Double-Blind Phase (DBP)
Participant flow — Double-Blind Phase (DBP)
MilestonePhase 2 (DBP); High Dose MYOBLOC (15,000 Units)Phase 2 (DBP); Low Dose MYOBLOC (10,000 Units)Phase 2 (DBP); PlaceboPhase 2 (OLE); MYOBLOC (15,000-20,000 Units)
Started1011110
Completed71070
Not completed3140
Withdrew: Study terminated by sponsor2140
Withdrew: Slow vital capacity <60% of predicted1000
Open-Label Extension (OLE)
Participant flow — Open-Label Extension (OLE)
MilestonePhase 2 (DBP); High Dose MYOBLOC (15,000 Units)Phase 2 (DBP); Low Dose MYOBLOC (10,000 Units)Phase 2 (DBP); PlaceboPhase 2 (OLE); MYOBLOC (15,000-20,000 Units)
Started00024
Completed0000
Not completed00024
Withdrew: Study terminated by sponsor00024

Outcome measures

PrimaryThe Change From Baseline in Modified Ashworth Scale (MAS) Score for Tone of the Primary Target Muscle Group (PTMG) Selected for Treatment at Week 4 Post-injection.

The Modified Ashworth Scale (MAS) is an internationally accepted and validated instrument used to measure resistance during passive soft-tissue stretching. Resistance will be measured and recorded using a 6-point scale ranging from 0 (no increase in muscle tone) to 4 (affected part\[s\] rigid in flexion or extension). The post-injection MAS score is subtracted from the baseline MAS score to yield the change from baseline MAS score. A change from baseline MAS score \<0 represents a better outcome.

Time frame:
Baseline and Week 4
Reported as:
Mean · units on a scale
The Change From Baseline in Modified Ashworth Scale (MAS) Score for Tone of the Primary Target Muscle Group (PTMG) Selected for Treatment at Week 4 Post-injection.
units on a scalePhase 2 (DBP); High Dose MYOBLOC (15,000 Units)Phase 2 (DBP); Low Dose MYOBLOC (10,000 Units)Phase 2 (DBP); Placebo
Baseline; absolute score2.90 ± 0.5682.82 ± 0.4052.73 ± 0.467
Week 4; absolute score2.05 ± 0.7621.82 ± 0.6812.65 ± 0.580
Week 4; change from baseline score-0.85 ± 0.474-1.00 ± 0.632-0.05 ± 0.497
PrimaryThe Clinical Global Impression of Change (CGI-C) Score in Functional Ability at Week 4 Post-injection.

The Clinical Global Impression of Change (CGI-C) scale is a single item clinician assessment of how much the patient's functional ability has improved, worsened or has not changed relative to the patient's baseline state prior to treatment (injection). The CGI-C is rated on a 7-point Likert scale from 1 to 7, where 1 = "Very much improved", 2 = "Much improved", 3 = "Minimally improved", 4 = "No change", 5 = "Minimally worse", 6 = "Much worse", and 7 = "Very much worse". A CGI-C score \<4 represents a better outcome.

Time frame:
Week 4
Reported as:
Mean · score on a scale
The Clinical Global Impression of Change (CGI-C) Score in Functional Ability at Week 4 Post-injection.
score on a scalePhase 2 (DBP); High Dose MYOBLOC (15,000 Units)Phase 2 (DBP); Low Dose MYOBLOC (10,000 Units)Phase 2 (DBP); Placebo
The Clinical Global Impression of Change (CGI-C) Score in Functional Ability at Week 4 Post-injection.2.4 ± 0.702.6 ± 0.673.3 ± 0.48

Adverse events

Collected over Double-Blind Phase (DBP) is up to 13 Weeks post-injections (one treatment; Treatment 1); Open-label Extension is up to 52 Weeks (4 treatments of MYOBLOC once every 13 weeks; Treatments 2-5). Non-serious events are listed at a 5% frequency threshold.

Adverse event summary by group
GroupDeathsSeriousOther
Phase 2 (DBP); High Dose MYOBLOC (15,000 Units)0/10 (0%)0/10 (0%)4/10 (40%)
Phase 2 (DBP); Low Dose MYOBLOC (10,000 Units)0/11 (0%)0/11 (0%)3/11 (27.3%)
Phase 2 (DBP); Placebo0/11 (0%)1/11 (9.1%)2/11 (18.2%)
Phase 2 (OLE); MYOBLOC (15,000-20,000 Units)0/24 (0%)0/24 (0%)5/24 (20.8%)
Most frequent serious events
Most frequent serious events
EventPhase 2 (DBP); High Dose MYOBLOC (15,000 Units)Phase 2 (DBP); Low Dose MYOBLOC (10,000 Units)Phase 2 (DBP); PlaceboPhase 2 (OLE); MYOBLOC (15,000-20,000 Units)
Metabolic encephalopathyNervous system disorders0/100/111/110/24
Most frequent other events
Showing 10 of 14
Most frequent other events
EventPhase 2 (DBP); High Dose MYOBLOC (15,000 Units)Phase 2 (DBP); Low Dose MYOBLOC (10,000 Units)Phase 2 (DBP); PlaceboPhase 2 (OLE); MYOBLOC (15,000-20,000 Units)
Dry mouthGastrointestinal disorders2/100/110/111/24
DysphagiaGastrointestinal disorders1/100/110/110/24
PneumoniaInfections and infestations1/100/110/110/24
Upper respiratory tract infectionInfections and infestations1/100/110/112/24
Vision blurredEye disorders1/100/110/111/24
FatigueGeneral disorders1/100/110/110/24
DiarrhoeaGastrointestinal disorders0/100/111/110/24
ErysipelasInfections and infestations0/101/110/110/24
Urinary tract infectionInfections and infestations0/101/110/111/24
Seasonal allergyImmune system disorders0/101/110/110/24

Baseline characteristics

Age, Categorical
Age, Categorical(Participants)Phase 2 (DBP); High Dose MYOBLOC (15,000 Units)Phase 2 (DBP); Low Dose MYOBLOC (10,000 Units)Phase 2 (DBP); PlaceboTotal
<=18 years0000
Between 18 and 65 years88925
>=65 years2327
Age, Continuous
Age, Continuous(years)Phase 2 (DBP); High Dose MYOBLOC (15,000 Units)Phase 2 (DBP); Low Dose MYOBLOC (10,000 Units)Phase 2 (DBP); PlaceboTotal
Mean51.4 ± 14.1852.8 ± 13.0753.8 ± 10.2252.7 ± 12.17
Sex: Female, Male
Sex: Female, Male(Participants)Phase 2 (DBP); High Dose MYOBLOC (15,000 Units)Phase 2 (DBP); Low Dose MYOBLOC (10,000 Units)Phase 2 (DBP); PlaceboTotal
Female55414
Male56718
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)(Participants)Phase 2 (DBP); High Dose MYOBLOC (15,000 Units)Phase 2 (DBP); Low Dose MYOBLOC (10,000 Units)Phase 2 (DBP); PlaceboTotal
Hispanic or Latino0347
Not Hispanic or Latino108725
Unknown or Not Reported0000
Race (NIH/OMB)
Race (NIH/OMB)(Participants)Phase 2 (DBP); High Dose MYOBLOC (15,000 Units)Phase 2 (DBP); Low Dose MYOBLOC (10,000 Units)Phase 2 (DBP); PlaceboTotal
American Indian or Alaska Native1001
Asian0000
Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander0000
Black or African American1001
White8111130
More than one race0000
Unknown or Not Reported0000
Region of Enrollment
Region of Enrollment(participants)Phase 2 (DBP); High Dose MYOBLOC (15,000 Units)Phase 2 (DBP); Low Dose MYOBLOC (10,000 Units)Phase 2 (DBP); PlaceboTotal
United States24612
Poland77519
Hungary1001
Primary Target Muscle Group (PTMG)
Primary Target Muscle Group (PTMG)(Participants)Phase 2 (DBP); High Dose MYOBLOC (15,000 Units)Phase 2 (DBP); Low Dose MYOBLOC (10,000 Units)Phase 2 (DBP); PlaceboTotal
Elbow Flexors66618
Wrist Flexors1124
Finger Flexors34310
08

Study locations

9 sites
  • Rancho Research Institute
    Downey, California 90242, United States
  • Idaho Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation
    Boise, Idaho 83706, United States
  • Coastal Neurology
    Port Royal, South Carolina 29935, United States
  • University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center
    Dallas, Texas 75390, United States
  • National Institute of Medical Rehabilitation
    Budapest, H-1121, Hungary
  • Specjalistyczna Praktyka Lekarska
    Katowice, 40-097, Poland
  • Specjalistyczne Gabinety Sp. zo.o
    Krakow, 30-539, Poland
  • Centrum Medyczne Linden
    Krakow, 31-721, Poland
  • Niepubliczny Zaklad Opieki Zdrowotnej (NZOZ) Neuromed
    Lubin, 20-604, Poland
09

References and documents

Study documents

  • Study protocol · Sep 1, 2021
  • Statistical analysis plan · May 9, 2023

Documents are hosted by the registry — open the source record to download them.

Individual participant data

Plan to share: No — No: There is not a plan to make IPD available.

10

Updates

Tracking since Sep 25, 2026
No changes since tracking began. The registry record was last updated on May 27, 2026, before this site started recording changes on Sep 25, 2026. Its history is on ClinicalTrials.gov ↗
11

Registry details

Key details

Study ID
NCT04815967
Lead sponsor
Solstice Neurosciences, LLC, a subsidiary of MDD US Operations, LLC
Responsible party
Sponsor
First posted
Mar 25, 2021
Start date
Nov 2, 2021
Primary completion
Apr 23, 2023
Completion
Apr 23, 2023
Results posted
May 27, 2026
Last update
May 27, 2026

Study contacts

Joseph T Hull, PhD
study director · Solstice Neurosciences, LLC, a subsidiary of MDD US Operations, LLC

Oversight

Data monitoring committee
Yes
FDA-regulated drug
Yes
FDA-regulated device
No
View the source record on ClinicalTrials.gov ↗

Not currently enrolling

This study is terminated, as verified in May 2026. You cannot join it, but the record below documents what was studied.

Follow this study

Get an email when the registry record changes — status, dates, results — or when someone posts here.

Sign in to follow

Discussion

Questions and observations about this study, from anyone following it. Not medical advice, and not a channel to the study team — their contact details are on the registry record.

Sign in to join the discussion. Reading takes no account; posting does. You choose a display name, and a pseudonym is the default.

Nothing here yet. If you are running this trial, taking part in it, or weighing whether to, this is the place to say so.

Start the discussion