A Phase 3 interventional study of lirentelimab in Eosinophilic Gastritis and Eosinophilic Duodenitis, sponsored by Allakos Inc.. Completed at 38 sites in United States. Open to participants aged 18 Years to 80 Years. Per ClinicalTrials.gov, last updated 2024-04-22.
Sponsored by Allakos Inc. · Phase 3, Interventional, and Treatment
This is a Phase 3, open-label, extension study to assess the long term efficacy and safety of lirentelimab given monthly.
Allakos Inc. is the lead sponsor of 18 studies on the registry; none are open to participants now.
Of its 13 completed or terminated interventional studies of FDA-regulated products, 9 (69%) have results posted.
Counted across the registry records on this site, refreshed daily.
Key Inclusion Criteria:
Key Exclusion Criteria:
Subjects in this arm will receive up to 18 monthly doses (3mg/kg) of lirentelimab (AK002)
Drug: lirentelimab
Lirentelimab (AK002) is a humanized non-fucosylated immunoglobulin G1 (IgG1) monoclonal antibody directed against Siglec-8
Also known as: AK002
The Safety and Tolerability of Lirentelimab by Evaluating Adverse Events Assessed Using the CTCAE Version 5.0
Adverse events assessed using the CTCAE version 5.0.
Time frame: Through study completion, up to 21 months
Proportion of Tissue Eosinophil Responders
A tissue eosinophil responder is defined as mean eosinophil count ≤4 cells/HPF in 5 gastric HPFs for EG only patients, ≤15 cells/HPF in 3 duodenal HPFs for EoD only patients, and ≤4 cells/HPF in 5 gastric HPFs and ≤15 cells/HPF in 3 duodenal HPFs for EG+EoD patients.
Time frame: At Follow-up EGD (Esophago-Gastro-Duodenoscopy) (Day 505 or 28 days after last dose if ET)
Change in PRO Total System Score (TSS) From AK002-016/AK002-012 Baseline
The PRO Total Symptom Score (TSS) is a patient reported outcome (PRO) questionnaire comprises the following 6 symptoms: Abdominal pain intensity, Nausea intensity, Fullness before meal intensity, Loss of appetite intensity, Bloating intensity, and Abdominal cramping intensity. TSS scores can range from 0 to 60, with a lower score indicating less-severe symptoms.
Time frame: Main Study Baseline to Extension Weeks 71-72
The participants who were enrolled in and completed the studies AK002-016 (NCT04322604) or AK002-012 had the option to participate in this open-label extension study.
| Milestone | Main Study Placebo to Extension Study 3.0 mg/kg of Lirentelimab (AK002) | Main Study Active to Extension Study 3.0 mg/kg of Lirentelimab (AK002) |
|---|---|---|
| Started | 75 | 84 |
| Completed | 42 | 40 |
| Not completed | 33 | 44 |
| Withdrew: Withdrawal by subject | 18 | 15 |
| Withdrew: Adverse event | 6 | 11 |
| Withdrew: Lost to follow-up | 4 | 8 |
| Withdrew: Physician decision | 1 | 4 |
| Withdrew: Sponsor decision | 0 | 1 |
| Withdrew: Elevation of alt or ast | 1 | 0 |
| Withdrew: Other | 3 | 5 |
Adverse events assessed using the CTCAE version 5.0.
| Participants | Main Study Placebo to Extension Study 3.0 mg/kg of Lirentelimab (AK002) | Main Study Active to Extension Study 3.0 mg/kg of Lirentelimab (AK002) |
|---|---|---|
| No. of Subjects with >=1 Adverse Events | 66 | 75 |
| No. of Subjects with >=1 Treatment-Related Adverse Events | 33 | 29 |
| No. of Subjects with >=1 Serious Adverse Events | 6 | 14 |
| No. of Subjects with an Adverse Event Leading to Study Drug Discontinuation | 6 | 10 |
| No. of Subjects with >=1 Treatment-Related Serious Adverse Events | 1 | 1 |
A tissue eosinophil responder is defined as mean eosinophil count ≤4 cells/HPF in 5 gastric HPFs for EG only patients, ≤15 cells/HPF in 3 duodenal HPFs for EoD only patients, and ≤4 cells/HPF in 5 gastric HPFs and ≤15 cells/HPF in 3 duodenal HPFs for EG+EoD patients.
| Participants | Main Study Placebo to Extension Study 3.0 mg/kg of Lirentelimab (AK002) | Main Study Active to Extension Study 3.0 mg/kg of Lirentelimab (AK002) |
|---|---|---|
| Proportion of Tissue Eosinophil Responders | 52 | 48 |
The PRO Total Symptom Score (TSS) is a patient reported outcome (PRO) questionnaire comprises the following 6 symptoms: Abdominal pain intensity, Nausea intensity, Fullness before meal intensity, Loss of appetite intensity, Bloating intensity, and Abdominal cramping intensity. TSS scores can range from 0 to 60, with a lower score indicating less-severe symptoms.
| score on a scale | Main Study Placebo to Extension Study 3.0 mg/kg of Lirentelimab (AK002) | Main Study Active to Extension Study 3.0 mg/kg of Lirentelimab (AK002) |
|---|---|---|
| Change in PRO Total System Score (TSS) From AK002-016/AK002-012 Baseline | -14.4 ± 11.0 | -17.0 ± 12.1 |
Collected over Through study completion, up to 21 months. Non-serious events are listed at a 5% frequency threshold.
| Group | Deaths | Serious | Other |
|---|---|---|---|
| Main Study Placebo to Extension Study 3.0 mg/kg of Lirentelimab (AK002) | 0/75 (0%) | 6/75 (8%) | 52/75 (69.3%) |
| Main Study Active to Extension Study 3.0 mg/kg of Lirentelimab (AK002) | 1/84 (1.2%) | 14/84 (16.7%) | 57/84 (67.9%) |
| Event | Main Study Placebo to Extension Study 3.0 mg/kg of Lirentelimab (AK002) | Main Study Active to Extension Study 3.0 mg/kg of Lirentelimab (AK002) |
|---|---|---|
| CellulitisInfections and infestations | 2/75 | 0/84 |
| AppendicitisInfections and infestations | 0/75 | 2/84 |
| Gastrointestinal haemorrhageGastrointestinal disorders | 1/75 | 0/84 |
| Hiatus herniaGastrointestinal disorders | 1/75 | 0/84 |
| Pelvic abscessInfections and infestations | 1/75 | 0/84 |
| Diabetic ketoacidosisMetabolism and nutrition disorders | 1/75 | 0/84 |
| AsthmaRespiratory, thoracic and mediastinal disorders | 1/75 | 1/84 |
| AnaemiaBlood and lymphatic system disorders | 0/75 | 1/84 |
| LeukopeniaBlood and lymphatic system disorders | 0/75 | 1/84 |
| Abdominal painGastrointestinal disorders | 0/75 | 1/84 |
| Event | Main Study Placebo to Extension Study 3.0 mg/kg of Lirentelimab (AK002) | Main Study Active to Extension Study 3.0 mg/kg of Lirentelimab (AK002) |
|---|---|---|
| Infusion related reactionInjury, poisoning and procedural complications | 27/75 | 19/84 |
| Corona virus infectionInfections and infestations | 15/75 | 21/84 |
| DiarrhoeaGastrointestinal disorders | 11/75 | 8/84 |
| NauseaGastrointestinal disorders | 11/75 | 5/84 |
| VomitingGastrointestinal disorders | 3/75 | 10/84 |
| Abdominal painGastrointestinal disorders | 7/75 | 9/84 |
| Urinary tract infectionInfections and infestations | 8/75 | 5/84 |
| ArthralgiaMusculoskeletal and connective tissue disorders | 4/75 | 8/84 |
| HeadacheNervous system disorders | 6/75 | 7/84 |
| NasopharyngitisInfections and infestations | 6/75 | 4/84 |
| Age, Continuous(years) | Main Study Placebo to Extension Study 3.0 mg/kg of Lirentelimab (AK002) | Main Study Active to Extension Study 3.0 mg/kg of Lirentelimab (AK002) | Total |
|---|---|---|---|
| Median | 42 (18 to 79) | 42 (18 to 77) | 42 (18 to 79) |
| Sex: Female, Male(Participants) | Main Study Placebo to Extension Study 3.0 mg/kg of Lirentelimab (AK002) | Main Study Active to Extension Study 3.0 mg/kg of Lirentelimab (AK002) | Total |
|---|---|---|---|
| Female | 50 | 53 | 103 |
| Male | 25 | 31 | 56 |
| Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)(Participants) | Main Study Placebo to Extension Study 3.0 mg/kg of Lirentelimab (AK002) | Main Study Active to Extension Study 3.0 mg/kg of Lirentelimab (AK002) | Total |
|---|---|---|---|
| Hispanic or Latino | 10 | 13 | 23 |
| Not Hispanic or Latino | 65 | 71 | 136 |
| Unknown or Not Reported | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Race (NIH/OMB)(Participants) | Main Study Placebo to Extension Study 3.0 mg/kg of Lirentelimab (AK002) | Main Study Active to Extension Study 3.0 mg/kg of Lirentelimab (AK002) | Total |
|---|---|---|---|
| American Indian or Alaska Native | 0 | 2 | 2 |
| Asian | 3 | 2 | 5 |
| Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander | 1 | 2 | 3 |
| Black or African American | 5 | 7 | 12 |
| White | 66 | 68 | 134 |
| More than one race | 0 | 2 | 2 |
| Unknown or Not Reported | 0 | 1 | 1 |
| Region of Enrollment(Participants) | Main Study Placebo to Extension Study 3.0 mg/kg of Lirentelimab (AK002) | Main Study Active to Extension Study 3.0 mg/kg of Lirentelimab (AK002) | Total |
|---|---|---|---|
| United States | 75 | 84 | 159 |
Documents are hosted by the registry — open the source record to download them.
Ran from Dec 2020 to primary completion in May 2023, 29 months.
Results were first posted in Apr 2024, 11 months after primary completion.
How these figures are worked out, and which studies are left out of them.
This study is completed, as verified in Apr 2024. You cannot join it, but the record below documents what was studied.
Get an email when the registry record changes — status, dates, results — or when someone posts here.
Sign in to followQuestions and observations about this study, from anyone following it. Not medical advice, and not a channel to the study team — their contact details are on the registry record.
Sign in to join the discussion. Reading takes no account; posting does. You choose a display name, and a pseudonym is the default.
Nothing here yet. If you are running this trial, taking part in it, or weighing whether to, this is the place to say so.
Studies of the drug tested here: AK002
Eosinophilic enteropathy
Allakos Inc.