CClinicalTrials.gg
TerminatedNCT04314713Updated Feb 19, 2025Results posted

A Study to Evaluate the Intramuscular Administration of Scopolamine

A Phase 1 interventional study of Scopolamine Hydrobromide Trihydrate in Medical Countermeasures and Organophosphate Poisoning, sponsored by Battelle Memorial Institute. Terminated at 1 site in United States. Open to participants aged 18 Years to 55 Years, including healthy volunteers. Per ClinicalTrials.gov, last updated 2025-02-19.

Sponsored by Battelle Memorial Institute · Phase 1, Interventional, and Prevention

Why this study was terminated
DSMB decision due to adverse events
Phase
Phase 1
Study type
Interventional
Enrollment
32
Allocation
Randomized
Ages
18 Years to 55 Years
Sex
All
01

Study summary

To characterize the safety and tolerability profile of ascending doses of scopolamine hydrobromide trihydrate (Scopolamine HBT) administered by intramuscular (IM) injection. And characterize the pharmacokinetics (PK) of ascending doses of Scopolamine HBT administered by IM injection

Read the detailed description

This is a double-blinded, randomized, placebo-controlled, in-clinic, Phase 1, single-dose, IM, sequential dose-escalation study in healthy adults aged 18-55. Healthy volunteers will be assigned to 1 of 5 cohorts of Scopolamine HBT dosage groups: 0.005, 0.007, 0.011, 0.014, or 0.021 mg/kg, or will receive the placebo administered by IM injection to the anterior thigh. In each cohort, 6 to 9 subjects will receive active drug and 2 to 3 subjects will receive placebo. Each cohort will have at least 3 male and 3 female subjects enrolled among the first 8 subjects in the dosing group to ensure that at least 1 male subject and 1 female subject in each dosing group receive active drug. If nonextreme dose-limiting toxicities are observed in any of the cohorts, 4 additional subjects, 3 active and 1 placebo, may be added to each cohort.

02

Conditions studied

  • Medical Countermeasures
  • Organophosphate Poisoning

Browse trials for

Keywords

  • Scopolamine
03

In context

Poisoning

209 studies on the registry are indexed under Poisoning; 26 are open to participants now.

This study's enrollment of 32 is below the median of 72 across 104 interventional studies indexed under Poisoning.

Browse Poisoning studies →

Lead sponsor

Battelle Memorial Institute is the lead sponsor of 8 studies on the registry; none are open to participants now.

Of its 6 completed or terminated interventional studies of FDA-regulated products, 1 (17%) have results posted.

Counted across the registry records on this site, refreshed daily.

04

Who can participate

Ages eligible
18 Years to 55 Years
Sexes eligible
All
Accepts healthy volunteers
Yes

Inclusion criteria

  1. Male or female, 18 to 55 years of age, inclusive, at the time of drug administration
  2. Without clinically significant abnormities on physical examination at screening or prior to drug administration
  3. Generally healthy, as determined by medical history review, physical examination, and laboratory testing at screening and prior to drug administration
  4. Must have a BMI (body mass index) of ≥ 19.0 and ≤ 30.0, and weight range of 55.0 to 85.0 kg at screening or prior to drug administration
  5. Must have adequate venous access and sufficient upper leg muscle tissue for drug administration
  6. If female, the subject must be nonpregnant and nonbreastfeeding, and have a negative serum pregnancy test at screening and prior to drug administration
  7. If female of childbearing potential, the subject must have been using adequate contraception (as defined in Section 5.3.1.5) for at least 3 months prior to drug administration and must agree to use an adequate method of contraception for at least 30 days following drug administration
  8. Females of nonchildbearing potential are also eligible, defined as a subject who is postmenopausal (continuous amenorrhea for 24 months) or surgically sterile (bilateral tubal ligation, bilateral oophorectomy, or total hysterectomy)
  9. A male with a female partner of childbearing potential must agree to use a barrier method of contraception (defined as condoms with spermicide) for at least 30 days following drug administration
  10. If male, must not have past diagnoses of benign prostatic hypertrophy or urinary tract obstruction and must not have on screening history/review of systems symptoms suggestive of urinary tract obstruction (eg, urinary hesitancy, urgency, frequency, or nocturia)
  11. Nonsmoker/tobacco/nicotine product (including e-cigarettes) user within 3 months of first dosing and must have a total lifetime exposure to cigarettes of \< 15 pack-years
  12. No evidence of significant neuropsychiatric disorders based on the Brief Psychiatric Rating Scale (BPRS) at screening and prior to drug administration, which is defined as having a global score of ≤ 25 with no score higher than 2 on any one item, with the exception of a score of 1 (ie, Not Present) to disorientation, hallucinatory behavior, and suspiciousness (ie, paranoia)
  13. No evidence of suicidal ideation or behavior at screening and prior to drug administration, which is defined as having a global score of 0 on the Columbia-Suicide Severity Rating Scale (C-SSRS)
  14. Ability to read, speak, and comprehend English and a willingness to sign informed consent

Exclusion criteria

Exclusion Criteria:

  1. Received any other investigational drug within 30 days prior to drug administration
  2. Known allergies to any component of the study drug, other belladonna alkaloids, or the recovery medications (physostigmine, atropine, or benzodiazepines [diazepam or lorazepam])
  3. History of migraine headaches or seizures
  4. History of psychosis or psychotic episodes
  5. Clinically relevant abnormal physical findings (including vital signs) as determined by the investigator at screening or prior to drug administration that could interfere with the objectives of the study or the safety of the subject
  6. Has ongoing drug abuse/dependence (including alcohol), recent history (over the past 5 years) of treatment for alcohol or drug abuse, or a current positive alcohol breathalyzer test or current positive urine test for drugs of abuse (as defined in Section 11.1.9.5) at screening or prior to drug administration
  7. Has consumed Seville orange (bitter orange), grapefruit, grapefruit juice, other grapefruit-containing products, or starfruit within 7 days prior to dosing
  8. Has consumed caffeine or other xanthine-containing products within 7 days prior to dosing
  9. Has any specified laboratory values (eg, hematology, serum chemistry, and urinalysis) outside of the normal range for age and sex and deemed clinically significant by the investigator within 30 days before drug administration
  10. Has positive (reactive) test results for hepatitis B surface antigen, hepatitis C, syphilis, HIV-1, or HIV-2
  11. Has narrow-angle glaucoma or high intraocular pressures in either or both eyes
  12. Has pyloric obstruction or urinary bladder neck obstruction
  13. Has impaired liver or kidney functions
  14. Clinically relevant electrocardiogram (ECG) abnormalities on any 12-lead ECG obtained at screening or prior to dosing
  15. ECG with a PR interval ≥ 200 msec at screening or prior to dosing
  16. ECG with QRS duration > 120 msec at screening or prior to dosing
  17. ECG RR interval > 1500 msec at screening or prior to dosing
  18. ECG with a QTc interval > 450 msec for males or 470 msec for females (QT interval corrected with Fridericia correction [QTcF]) at screening or prior to dosing
  19. Systolic blood pressure > 140 mm Hg and/or diastolic blood pressure > 90 mm Hg at screening or prior to dosing
  20. Systolic blood pressure \< 90 mm Hg and/or diastolic blood pressure \< 50 mm Hg at screening or prior to dosing
  21. Currently taking or has taken other antimuscarinic drugs such as phenothiazines, tricyclic antidepressants, antihistamines (including meclizine), meperidine, or other anticholinergics that have weak antimuscarinic activity or that cause drowsiness, including antidepressants, benzodiazepines, alcohol, sedatives (used to treat insomnia), pain relievers, anxiety medicines, and muscle relaxants within 72 hours prior to dosing
  22. Has taken, within 14 days of planned dosing, any prescription or nonprescription medication (including home remedies, herbal supplements, or nutritional supplements) unless the PI/subinvestigator, in consultation with the medical monitor, provides a statement justifying that the medication taken will not impact the results of this study (with rare exceptions taking prescriptions drugs will be grounds for exclusion)
  23. History of major DSM-5 Axis I or II disorder, or evidence of such disorder at Day -1 as determined via the Structured Clinical Interview for DSM-5, customized Clinical Trials version (SCID-5-CT)
05

Study design

Phase
Phase 1
Primary purpose
Prevention
Allocation
Randomized
Intervention model
Parallel assignment
Masking
Triple (Participant, Care provider, Investigator)
Enrollment
32 participants (actual)

Study arms

  • Placebo comparator
    Scopolamine HBT 0.005 mg/kg

    Dose of Scopolamine 0.005mg/kg verses Placebo

    Drug: Scopolamine Hydrobromide Trihydrate

  • Placebo comparator
    Scopolamine HBT 0.007 mg/kg

    Dose of Scopolamine 0.007mg/kg verses Placebo

    Drug: Scopolamine Hydrobromide Trihydrate

  • Placebo comparator
    Scopolamine HBT 0.011 mg/kg

    Dose of Scopolamine 0.011mg/kg verses Placebo

    Drug: Scopolamine Hydrobromide Trihydrate

  • Placebo comparator
    Scopolamine HBT 0.014 mg/kg

    Dose of Scopolamine 0.014mg/kg verses Placebo

    Drug: Scopolamine Hydrobromide Trihydrate

  • Placebo comparator
    Scopolamine HBT 0.021 mg/kg

    Dose of Scopolamine 0.021mg/kg verses Placebo

    Drug: Scopolamine Hydrobromide Trihydrate

  • No intervention
    Placebo

    Placebo controlled

Interventions

  • DrugScopolamine Hydrobromide Trihydrate

    Scopolamine Hydrobromide Trihydrate Intramuscular Injection

06

What researchers measure

Primary outcomes

  1. Determine Degree and Number of Adverse Events Experienced by Subjects.

    Safety and tolerability profile of ascending doses of scopolamine hydrobromide trihydrate (Scopolamine HBT) administered by intramuscular (IM) injection

    Time frame: 30 Days (+7)

  2. Cmax of Ascending Doses of Scopolamine HBT Administered by IM Injection.

    Cmax of ascending doses of Scopolamine HBT administered by IM injection.

    Time frame: 30 Days (+7)

  3. Tmax of Ascending Doses of Scopolamine HBT Administered by IM Injection.

    Tmax of ascending doses of Scopolamine HBT administered by IM injection.

    Time frame: 30 Days (+7)

  4. Apparent Volume of Distribution (mL/kg) of Ascending Doses of Scopolamine HBT Administered by IM Injection.

    Apparent Volume of Distribution (mL/kg) of ascending doses of Scopolamine HBT administered by IM injection.

    Time frame: 30 Days (+7)

  5. t1/2 (hr) of Ascending Doses of Scopolamine HBT Administered by IM Injection.

    t1/2 (hr) of ascending doses of Scopolamine HBT administered by IM injection.

    Time frame: 30 Days (+7)

  6. Apparent Clearance (mL/hr/kg) of Ascending Doses of Scopolamine HBT Administered by IM Injection.

    Apparent Clearance (mL/hr/kg) of ascending doses of Scopolamine HBT administered by IM injection.

    Time frame: 30 Days (+7)

  7. MRT (hr) of Ascending Doses of Scopolamine HBT Administered by IM Injection.

    MRT (hr) of ascending doses of Scopolamine HBT administered by IM injection.

    Time frame: 30 Days (+7)

  8. AUClast (hr*ug/mL) of Ascending Doses of Scopolamine HBT Administered by IM Injection.

    AUClast (hr\*ug/mL) of ascending doses of Scopolamine HBT administered by IM injection.

    Time frame: 30 Days (+7)

  9. AUCinfinity (hr*ug/mL) of Ascending Doses of Scopolamine HBT Administered by IM Injection.

    AUCinfinity (hr\*ug/mL) of ascending doses of Scopolamine HBT administered by IM injection.

    Time frame: 30 Days (+7)

  10. Cmax/Dose (ug/mL)/(mg/kg) of Ascending Doses of Scopolamine HBT Administered by IM Injection.

    Cmax/Dose (ug/mL)/(mg/kg) of ascending doses of Scopolamine HBT administered by IM injection.

    Time frame: 30 Days (+7)

  11. AUCinfinity/Dose (hr*ug/mL)/(mg/kg) of Ascending Doses of Scopolamine HBT Administered by IM Injection.

    AUCinfinity/Dose (hr\*ug/mL)/(mg/kg) of ascending doses of Scopolamine HBT administered by IM injection.

    Time frame: 30 Days (+7)

07

Results

Posted Feb 19, 2025

Participant flow

Participant flow — Overall Study
MilestoneCohort 1 Scopolamine HBT 0.005 mg/kgCohort 2 Scopolamine HBT 0.007 mg/kgCohort 3 Scopolamine HBT 0.011 mg/kgCohort 4 Scopolamine HBT 0.014 mg/kgCohort 5 Scopolamine HBT 0.021 mg/kgPlacebo
Started666608
Completed666508
Not completed000100
Withdrew: Lost to follow-up000100

Outcome measures

PrimaryDetermine Degree and Number of Adverse Events Experienced by Subjects.

Safety and tolerability profile of ascending doses of scopolamine hydrobromide trihydrate (Scopolamine HBT) administered by intramuscular (IM) injection

Time frame:
30 Days (+7)
Reported as:
Count of participants · Participants
Determine Degree and Number of Adverse Events Experienced by Subjects.
ParticipantsCohort 1 Scopolamine HBT 0.005 mg/kgCohort 2 Scopolamine HBT 0.007 mg/kgCohort 3 Scopolamine HBT 0.011 mg/kgCohort 4 Scopolamine HBT 0.014 mg/kgCohort 5 Scopolamine HBT 0.021 mg/kgPlacebo
Adverse Events : Subjects with at least 1 AE6566—5
Somnolence2365—1
Dizziness2436—0
Headache3012—0
Injection site pain1222—3
Injection site paraesthesia2102—2
Injection site hypoaesthesia1012—2
Dry mouth4321—0
Delirium0003—0
Any TEAEs6566—5
Any Serious TEAEs0000—0
Any Treatment-Related Serious TEAEs0000—0
Any TEAEs Leading to Discontinuation of Study Drug0000—0
Any TEAEs Leading to Discontinuation of Study0000—0
Any TEAEs Leading to Death0000—0
SAEs0000—0
DLTs0000—0
PrimaryCmax of Ascending Doses of Scopolamine HBT Administered by IM Injection.

Cmax of ascending doses of Scopolamine HBT administered by IM injection.

Time frame:
30 Days (+7)
Reported as:
Mean · Cmax (ug/mL)
Cmax of Ascending Doses of Scopolamine HBT Administered by IM Injection.
Cmax (ug/mL)Cohort 1 Scopolamine HBT 0.005 mg/kgCohort 2 Scopolamine HBT 0.007 mg/kgCohort 3 Scopolamine HBT 0.011 mg/kgCohort 4 Scopolamine HBT 0.014 mg/kg
Cmax of Ascending Doses of Scopolamine HBT Administered by IM Injection.0.67 ± 0.2861.07 ± 0.5291.53 ± 0.5011.91 ± 0.455
PrimaryTmax of Ascending Doses of Scopolamine HBT Administered by IM Injection.

Tmax of ascending doses of Scopolamine HBT administered by IM injection.

Time frame:
30 Days (+7)
Reported as:
Mean · Tmax (hr)
Tmax of Ascending Doses of Scopolamine HBT Administered by IM Injection.
Tmax (hr)Cohort 1 Scopolamine HBT 0.005 mg/kgCohort 2 Scopolamine HBT 0.007 mg/kgCohort 3 Scopolamine HBT 0.011 mg/kgCohort 4 Scopolamine HBT 0.014 mg/kg
Tmax of Ascending Doses of Scopolamine HBT Administered by IM Injection.1 ± 0.41 ± 0.81 ± 0.61 ± 0.5
PrimaryApparent Volume of Distribution (mL/kg) of Ascending Doses of Scopolamine HBT Administered by IM Injection.

Apparent Volume of Distribution (mL/kg) of ascending doses of Scopolamine HBT administered by IM injection.

Time frame:
30 Days (+7)
Reported as:
Mean · Apparent Volume of Distribution (mL/kg)
Apparent Volume of Distribution (mL/kg) of Ascending Doses of Scopolamine HBT Administered by IM Injection.
Apparent Volume of Distribution (mL/kg)Cohort 1 Scopolamine HBT 0.005 mg/kgCohort 2 Scopolamine HBT 0.007 mg/kgCohort 3 Scopolamine HBT 0.011 mg/kgCohort 4 Scopolamine HBT 0.014 mg/kg
Apparent Volume of Distribution (mL/kg) of Ascending Doses of Scopolamine HBT Administered by IM Injection.6258 ± 1678.15552 ± 1710.35963 ± 970.810210 ± 4402.5
Primaryt1/2 (hr) of Ascending Doses of Scopolamine HBT Administered by IM Injection.

t1/2 (hr) of ascending doses of Scopolamine HBT administered by IM injection.

Time frame:
30 Days (+7)
Reported as:
Mean · t1/2 (hr)
t1/2 (hr) of Ascending Doses of Scopolamine HBT Administered by IM Injection.
t1/2 (hr)Cohort 1 Scopolamine HBT 0.005 mg/kgCohort 2 Scopolamine HBT 0.007 mg/kgCohort 3 Scopolamine HBT 0.011 mg/kgCohort 4 Scopolamine HBT 0.014 mg/kg
t1/2 (hr) of Ascending Doses of Scopolamine HBT Administered by IM Injection.1.99 ± 0.2351.88 ± 0.2072.10 ± 0.5354.47 ± 2.876
PrimaryApparent Clearance (mL/hr/kg) of Ascending Doses of Scopolamine HBT Administered by IM Injection.

Apparent Clearance (mL/hr/kg) of ascending doses of Scopolamine HBT administered by IM injection.

Time frame:
30 Days (+7)
Reported as:
Mean · Apparent Clearance (mL/hr/kg)
Apparent Clearance (mL/hr/kg) of Ascending Doses of Scopolamine HBT Administered by IM Injection.
Apparent Clearance (mL/hr/kg)Cohort 1 Scopolamine HBT 0.005 mg/kgCohort 2 Scopolamine HBT 0.007 mg/kgCohort 3 Scopolamine HBT 0.011 mg/kgCohort 4 Scopolamine HBT 0.014 mg/kg
Apparent Clearance (mL/hr/kg) of Ascending Doses of Scopolamine HBT Administered by IM Injection.2177 ± 545.62100 ± 805.22012 ± 253.91765 ± 375.4
PrimaryMRT (hr) of Ascending Doses of Scopolamine HBT Administered by IM Injection.

MRT (hr) of ascending doses of Scopolamine HBT administered by IM injection.

Time frame:
30 Days (+7)
Reported as:
Mean · MRT (hr)
MRT (hr) of Ascending Doses of Scopolamine HBT Administered by IM Injection.
MRT (hr)Cohort 1 Scopolamine HBT 0.005 mg/kgCohort 2 Scopolamine HBT 0.007 mg/kgCohort 3 Scopolamine HBT 0.011 mg/kgCohort 4 Scopolamine HBT 0.014 mg/kg
MRT (hr) of Ascending Doses of Scopolamine HBT Administered by IM Injection.3.18 ± 0.6473.02 ± 0.6393.01 ± 0.3553.81 ± 0.802
PrimaryAUClast (hr*ug/mL) of Ascending Doses of Scopolamine HBT Administered by IM Injection.

AUClast (hr\*ug/mL) of ascending doses of Scopolamine HBT administered by IM injection.

Time frame:
30 Days (+7)
Reported as:
Mean · AUClast (hr*ug/mL)
AUClast (hr*ug/mL) of Ascending Doses of Scopolamine HBT Administered by IM Injection.
AUClast (hr*ug/mL)Cohort 1 Scopolamine HBT 0.005 mg/kgCohort 2 Scopolamine HBT 0.007 mg/kgCohort 3 Scopolamine HBT 0.011 mg/kgCohort 4 Scopolamine HBT 0.014 mg/kg
AUClast (hr*ug/mL) of Ascending Doses of Scopolamine HBT Administered by IM Injection.2.36 ± 0.4993.67 ± 1.2935.47 ± 0.6948.16 ± 1.940
PrimaryAUCinfinity (hr*ug/mL) of Ascending Doses of Scopolamine HBT Administered by IM Injection.

AUCinfinity (hr\*ug/mL) of ascending doses of Scopolamine HBT administered by IM injection.

Time frame:
30 Days (+7)
Reported as:
Mean · AUCinfinity (hr*ug/mL)
AUCinfinity (hr*ug/mL) of Ascending Doses of Scopolamine HBT Administered by IM Injection.
AUCinfinity (hr*ug/mL)Cohort 1 Scopolamine HBT 0.005 mg/kgCohort 2 Scopolamine HBT 0.007 mg/kgCohort 3 Scopolamine HBT 0.011 mg/kgCohort 4 Scopolamine HBT 0.014 mg/kg
AUCinfinity (hr*ug/mL) of Ascending Doses of Scopolamine HBT Administered by IM Injection.2.4 ± .53.7 ± 1.325.5 ± .688.3 ± 1.98
PrimaryCmax/Dose (ug/mL)/(mg/kg) of Ascending Doses of Scopolamine HBT Administered by IM Injection.

Cmax/Dose (ug/mL)/(mg/kg) of ascending doses of Scopolamine HBT administered by IM injection.

Time frame:
30 Days (+7)
Reported as:
Mean · Cmax/Dose (ug/mL)/(mg/kg)
Cmax/Dose (ug/mL)/(mg/kg) of Ascending Doses of Scopolamine HBT Administered by IM Injection.
Cmax/Dose (ug/mL)/(mg/kg)Cohort 1 Scopolamine HBT 0.005 mg/kgCohort 2 Scopolamine HBT 0.007 mg/kgCohort 3 Scopolamine HBT 0.011 mg/kgCohort 4 Scopolamine HBT 0.014 mg/kg
Cmax/Dose (ug/mL)/(mg/kg) of Ascending Doses of Scopolamine HBT Administered by IM Injection.133 ± 57.3153 ± 75.6139 ± 45.5137 ± 32.5
PrimaryAUCinfinity/Dose (hr*ug/mL)/(mg/kg) of Ascending Doses of Scopolamine HBT Administered by IM Injection.

AUCinfinity/Dose (hr\*ug/mL)/(mg/kg) of ascending doses of Scopolamine HBT administered by IM injection.

Time frame:
30 Days (+7)
Reported as:
Mean · AUCinfinity/Dose (hr*ug/mL)/(mg/kg)
AUCinfinity/Dose (hr*ug/mL)/(mg/kg) of Ascending Doses of Scopolamine HBT Administered by IM Injection.
AUCinfinity/Dose (hr*ug/mL)/(mg/kg)Cohort 1 Scopolamine HBT 0.005 mg/kgCohort 2 Scopolamine HBT 0.007 mg/kgCohort 3 Scopolamine HBT 0.011 mg/kgCohort 4 Scopolamine HBT 0.014 mg/kg
AUCinfinity/Dose (hr*ug/mL)/(mg/kg) of Ascending Doses of Scopolamine HBT Administered by IM Injection.481 ± 100.3535 ± 188.6504 ± 62.5590 ± 140.4

Adverse events

Collected over AEs/SAEs were collected from time of dosing through 30 days (+7) after dosing.. Non-serious events are listed at a 0% frequency threshold.

Adverse event summary by group
GroupDeathsSeriousOther
Cohort 1 Scopolamine HBT 0.005 mg/kg0/6 (0%)0/6 (0%)6/6 (100%)
Cohort 2 Scopolamine HBT 0.007 mg/kg0/6 (0%)0/6 (0%)5/6 (83.3%)
Cohort 3 Scopolamine HBT 0.011 mg/kg0/6 (0%)0/6 (0%)6/6 (100%)
Cohort 4 Scopolamine HBT 0.014 mg/kg0/6 (0%)0/6 (0%)6/6 (100%)
Cohort 5 Scopolamine HBT 0.021 mg/kg———
Placebo0/8 (0%)0/8 (0%)5/8 (62.5%)
Most frequent other events
Most frequent other events
EventCohort 1 Scopolamine HBT 0.005 mg/kgCohort 2 Scopolamine HBT 0.007 mg/kgCohort 3 Scopolamine HBT 0.011 mg/kgCohort 4 Scopolamine HBT 0.014 mg/kgCohort 5 Scopolamine HBT 0.021 mg/kgPlacebo
SomnolenceNervous system disorders2/63/66/65/6—1/8
DizzinessNervous system disorders2/64/63/66/6—0/8
Dry mouthGastrointestinal disorders4/63/62/61/6—0/8
HeadacheNervous system disorders3/60/61/62/6—0/8
DeliriumPsychiatric disorders0/60/60/63/6—0/8
Injection site painGeneral disorders1/62/62/62/6—3/8
Injection site paraesthesiaGeneral disorders2/61/60/62/6—2/8
Injection site hypoaesthesiaGeneral disorders1/60/61/62/6—2/8

Baseline characteristics

On 13 June 2021, following DSMB recommendation and final sponsor decision, the PI was notified of the sponsor's decision to close the study to enrollment and not proceed to Cohort 5 (0.021 mg/kg).

Age, Customized
Age, Customized(years)Cohort 1 Scopolamine HBT 0.005 mg/kgCohort 2 Scopolamine HBT 0.007 mg/kgCohort 3 Scopolamine HBT 0.011 mg/kgCohort 4 Scopolamine HBT 0.014 mg/kgCohort 5 Scopolamine HBT 0.021 mg/kgPlaceboTotal
Age (years) mean34.8 ± 9.634.8 ± 9.1131.7 ± 10.3135.7 ± 11.48—32.6 ± 10.0733.8 ± 9.58
Sex: Female, Male
Sex: Female, Male(Participants)Cohort 1 Scopolamine HBT 0.005 mg/kgCohort 2 Scopolamine HBT 0.007 mg/kgCohort 3 Scopolamine HBT 0.011 mg/kgCohort 4 Scopolamine HBT 0.014 mg/kgCohort 5 Scopolamine HBT 0.021 mg/kgPlaceboTotal
Female3342—315
Male3324—517
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)(Participants)Cohort 1 Scopolamine HBT 0.005 mg/kgCohort 2 Scopolamine HBT 0.007 mg/kgCohort 3 Scopolamine HBT 0.011 mg/kgCohort 4 Scopolamine HBT 0.014 mg/kgCohort 5 Scopolamine HBT 0.021 mg/kgPlaceboTotal
Hispanic or Latino0312—28
Not Hispanic or Latino6354—624
Unknown or Not Reported0000—00
Race (NIH/OMB)
Race (NIH/OMB)(Participants)Cohort 1 Scopolamine HBT 0.005 mg/kgCohort 2 Scopolamine HBT 0.007 mg/kgCohort 3 Scopolamine HBT 0.011 mg/kgCohort 4 Scopolamine HBT 0.014 mg/kgCohort 5 Scopolamine HBT 0.021 mg/kgPlaceboTotal
American Indian or Alaska Native0001—12
Asian0000—00
Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander0000—00
Black or African American5243—519
White0421—29
More than one race1001—02
Unknown or Not Reported0000000
Region of Enrollment
Region of Enrollment(participants)Cohort 1 Scopolamine HBT 0.005 mg/kgCohort 2 Scopolamine HBT 0.007 mg/kgCohort 3 Scopolamine HBT 0.011 mg/kgCohort 4 Scopolamine HBT 0.014 mg/kgCohort 5 Scopolamine HBT 0.021 mg/kgPlaceboTotal
United States6666—832
Body Mass Index (BMI)
Body Mass Index (BMI)(kg/m^2)Cohort 1 Scopolamine HBT 0.005 mg/kgCohort 2 Scopolamine HBT 0.007 mg/kgCohort 3 Scopolamine HBT 0.011 mg/kgCohort 4 Scopolamine HBT 0.014 mg/kgCohort 5 Scopolamine HBT 0.021 mg/kgPlaceboTotal
Mean24.55 ± 3.45425.58 ± 2.14324.17 ± 1.87625.95 ± 2.669—24.58 ± 2.23224.94 ± 2.442
08

Study locations

1 site
  • Pharmaron
    Baltimore, Maryland 21201, United States
09

References and documents

Study documents

  • Study protocol · Mar 1, 2021
  • Statistical analysis plan · Sep 30, 2021
  • Informed consent form · Sep 4, 2020

Documents are hosted by the registry — open the source record to download them.

Individual participant data

Plan to share: No

10

Updates

Tracking since Sep 25, 2026
No changes since tracking began. The registry record was last updated on Feb 19, 2025, before this site started recording changes on Sep 25, 2026. Its history is on ClinicalTrials.gov ↗
11

Registry details

Key details

Study ID
NCT04314713
Lead sponsor
Battelle Memorial Institute
Responsible party
Sponsor
First posted
Mar 19, 2020
Start date
Jun 2, 2020
Primary completion
Apr 6, 2021
Completion
May 6, 2021
Results posted
Feb 19, 2025
Last update
Feb 19, 2025

Study contacts

Paolo DePetrillo, MD
principal investigator · Pharmaron

Oversight

Data monitoring committee
Yes
FDA-regulated drug
Yes
FDA-regulated device
No
View the source record on ClinicalTrials.gov ↗

Not currently enrolling

This study is terminated, as verified in Jan 2025. You cannot join it, but the record below documents what was studied.

Follow this study

Get an email when the registry record changes — status, dates, results — or when someone posts here.

Sign in to follow

Discussion

Questions and observations about this study, from anyone following it. Not medical advice, and not a channel to the study team — their contact details are on the registry record.

Sign in to join the discussion. Reading takes no account; posting does. You choose a display name, and a pseudonym is the default.

Nothing here yet. If you are running this trial, taking part in it, or weighing whether to, this is the place to say so.

Start the discussion