CClinicalTrials.gg
Active, not recruitingNCT04079712Updated Sep 22, 2026Results posted

Testing the Combination of XL184 (Cabozantinib), Nivolumab, and Ipilimumab for Poorly Differentiated Neuroendocrine Tumors

A Phase 2 interventional study of Cabozantinib S-malate and Ipilimumab in Metastatic Large Cell Neuroendocrine Carcinoma, Metastatic Neuroendocrine Carcinoma and Metastatic Neuroendocrine Neoplasm, sponsored by National Cancer Institute (NCI). Active, not recruiting at 46 sites in 2 countries. Open to participants aged 18 Years and older. Per ClinicalTrials.gov, last updated 2026-09-22.

Sponsored by National Cancer Institute (NCI) · Phase 2, Interventional, and Treatment

Phase
Phase 2
Study type
Interventional
Enrollment
17
Allocation
Not applicable
Ages
18 Years and older
Sex
All
01

Study summary

This phase II trial studies how well the combination of XL184 (cabozantinib), nivolumab, and ipilimumab work in treating patients with poorly differentiated neuroendocrine tumors (i.e., neuroendocrine tumor that does not look like the normal tissue it arose from). Cabozantinib may stop the growth of tumor cells by blocking some of the enzymes needed for cell growth. Immunotherapy with monoclonal antibodies, such as nivolumab and ipilimumab, may help the body's immune system attack the cancer, and may interfere with the ability of tumor cells to grow and spread. Giving cabozantinib, nivolumab and ipilimumab may shrink the cancer.

Read the detailed description

PRIMARY OBJECTIVE:

I. To evaluate the overall response rate (ORR) associated with the combination of XL184 (cabozantinib), nivolumab, and ipilimumab in patients with advanced poorly-differentiated neuroendocrine carcinomas (NECs), after the failure of at least one line of prior therapy.

SECONDARY OBJECTIVES:

I. To evaluate progression-free survival (PFS). II. To measure the safety and tolerability of the combination of XL184 (cabozantinib), nivolumab, and ipilimumab in patients with advanced, poorly-differentiated NECs.

III. To evaluate disease control rate (DCR). IV. To measure duration of response (DOR). V. To describe the tumor molecular profile using whole exome sequencing (WES) and correlate it with treatment outcome.

VI. To describe the tumor molecular profile using ribonucleic acid (RNA) sequencing (RNAseq) and correlate it with treatment outcome.

EXPLORATORY OBJECTIVES:

I. To measure the tumor-infiltrating CD8+ T lymphocytes in pre- and on-treatment biopsies.

II. To measure tumor-infiltrating myeloid derived suppressor cells (MDSCs) in pre- and on-treatment biopsies.

III. To measure tumor-infiltrating tumor-associated macrophages (TAM) in the pre and on-treatment biopsies.

IV. To measure the expression of programmed death-ligand 1 (PD-L1) in tumor cells and infiltrating immune cells.

OUTLINE:

Patients receive cabozantinib s-malate orally (PO) once daily (QD) on days 1-21 of cycles 1-4 and days 1-28 of subsequent cycles, nivolumab intravenously (IV) over 30 minutes on day 1, and ipilimumab IV over 90 minutes on day 1 of cycles 1-4 only. Treatment repeats every 21 for 4 cycles then every 28 days for subsequent cycles in the absence of disease progression or unacceptable toxicity.

After completion of study treatment, patients are followed up at 4 weeks, and then every 3 months thereafter.

02

Conditions studied

  • Metastatic Large Cell Neuroendocrine Carcinoma
  • Metastatic Neuroendocrine Carcinoma
  • Metastatic Neuroendocrine Neoplasm
  • Metastatic Small Cell Neuroendocrine Carcinoma
03

In context

Carcinoma, Neuroendocrine

236 studies on the registry are indexed under Carcinoma, Neuroendocrine; 66 are open to participants now.

This study's enrollment of 17 is below the median of 52 across 184 interventional studies indexed under Carcinoma, Neuroendocrine.

Browse Carcinoma, Neuroendocrine studies →

Lead sponsor

National Cancer Institute (NCI) is the lead sponsor of 3,506 studies on the registry; 334 are open to participants now.

Of its 402 completed or terminated interventional studies of FDA-regulated products, 365 (91%) have results posted.

Counted across the registry records on this site, refreshed daily.

04

Who can participate

Ages eligible
18 Years and older
Sexes eligible
All
Accepts healthy volunteers
No

Inclusion criteria

  • Patients must have metastatic, histologically confirmed poorly-differentiated neuroendocrine neoplasms per 2018 World Health Organization (WHO) classification, with the exception of small cell lung cancer and Merkel cell carcinoma. All variations of poorly differentiated neuroendocrine carcinoma (small cell, large cell and mixed cells) are eligible
  • Failure of only one line of prior systemic cancer treatment
  • Patients must have measurable disease as defined by Response Evaluation Criteria in Solid Tumors (RECIST) version (v)1.1
  • Patients must have lesions that can be safely biopsied and be willing to have a pre-treatment and an on-treatment biopsy (after 1 month of treatment with the combination regimen) and a blood collection at baseline
  • Prior systemic cancer therapy must have been completed at least 4 weeks prior to cycle 1 day 1 of treatment with the combination regimen
  • Eastern Cooperative Oncology Group (ECOG) performance status =\< 2 (Karnofsky >= 60%)
  • Leukocytes >= 3,000/mcL
  • Absolute neutrophil count >= 1,500/mcL without granulocyte-colony stimulating (GCSF) factor support
  • Hemoglobin >= 9 g/dL
  • Serum thyroid stimulating hormone (TSH) within institutional normal limits
  • Platelets >= 100,000/mcL
  • Total bilirubin =\< 1.5 x institutional upper limit of normal (ULN); =\< 3.0 x ULN for patients with Gilbert's syndrome
  • Aspartate aminotransferase (AST) (serum glutamic oxaloacetic transaminase [SGOT])/alanine aminotransferase (ALT) (serum glutamate pyruvate transaminase [SGPT]) =\< 3.0 x institutional ULN
  • Alkaline phosphatase =\< 3.0 x institutional ULN; =\< 5.0 x ULN with documented bone metastases
  • Creatinine =\< institutional ULN OR creatinine clearance (CrCl) >= 50 mL/min/1.73 m\^2 (using the Cockcroft-Gault formula)
  • Serum albumin >= 2.8 g/dL
  • Lipase \< 2.0 x ULN and no radiologic or clinical evidence of pancreatitis
  • Urine protein/creatinine ratio (UPCR) =\< 1 mg protein/mg creatinine
  • Serum phosphorus, calcium, magnesium, and potassium within institutional normal limits
  • Prothrombin time (PT)/international normalized ratio (INR) and partial thromboplastin time (PTT) test \< 1.3 x ULN
  • Human immunodeficiency virus (HIV)-infected patients on effective anti-retroviral therapy utilizing agents that do not strongly induce or inhibit cytochrome P450 (CYP) 3A4 with undetectable viral load within 6 months prior to study registration are eligible for this trial
  • For patients with evidence of chronic hepatitis B virus (HBV) infection, the HBV viral load must be undetectable on suppressive therapy, if indicated
  • Patients with a history of hepatitis C virus (HCV) infection must have been treated and cured. For patients with HCV infection who are currently on treatment, they are eligible if they have an undetectable HCV viral load
  • Patients with treated brain metastases are eligible if follow-up brain imaging after central nervous system (CNS)-directed therapy shows no evidence of progression and are off steroid support for at least 4 weeks after treatment for metastases is complete and within 28 days prior to the first dose of study treatment. Radiotherapy should have been stopped at least 4 weeks prior to study registration. Brain surgery should not have occurred within 3 months of study registration to be eligible
  • Patients with a prior or concurrent malignancy whose natural history or treatment does not have the potential to interfere with the safety or efficacy assessment of the investigational regimen are eligible for this trial
  • The effects of XL184 (cabozantinib), nivolumab, and ipilimumab on the developing human fetus are unknown. For this reason, women of child-bearing potential (WOCBP) and men must agree to use adequate contraception (hormonal or barrier method of birth control; abstinence) prior to study entry and for the duration of study participation. WOCBP should use an adequate method to avoid pregnancy for 5 months after the last dose of study therapy. Women of childbearing potential must have a negative serum or urine pregnancy test (minimum sensitivity: 25 IU/L or equivalent units of human chorionic gonadotropin [hCG]) within 24 hours prior to the start of study therapy. Women must not be breastfeeding. Men who are sexually active with WOCBP must use any contraceptive method with a failure rate of \< 1% per year. Men who receive study therapy and who are sexually active with WOCBP will be instructed to adhere to contraception for a period of 7 months after the last dose of study therapy. Women who are not of childbearing potential (i.e., who are postmenopausal or surgically sterile) as well as azoospermic men do not require contraception. WOCBP is defined as any female who has experienced menarche and who has not undergone surgical sterilization (hysterectomy or bilateral oophorectomy) or who is not postmenopausal. Menopause is defined clinically as 12 months of amenorrhea in a woman over 45 in the absence of other biological or physiological causes. In addition, women under the age of 55 must have a documented serum follicle stimulating hormone (FSH) level \< 40 mIU/mL. WOCBP and men who are sexually active with WOCBP will be instructed to adhere to contraception for a period of 5 and 7 months, respectively, after the last dose of study therapy. These durations have been calculated using the upper limit of the half-life for nivolumab (25 days) and are based on the protocol requirement that WOCBP use contraception for 5 half-lives plus 30 days and men who are sexually active with WOCBP use contraception for 5 half-lives plus 90 days. Should a woman become pregnant or suspect she is pregnant while she or her partner is participating in this study, she (or the participating partner) must inform the treating physician immediately
  • Patients must be able to swallow tablets
  • Ability to understand and the willingness to sign a written informed consent document. Participants with impaired decision-making capacity (IDMC) who have a legally-authorized representative (LAR) and/or family member available will also be eligible

Exclusion criteria

Exclusion Criteria:

  • Patients must not require systemic corticosteroids treatment (>= 10 mg/day prednisone equivalents) or other immunosuppressive medications within 28 days prior to study drug administration. Inhaled or topical steroids and adrenal replacement doses \< 10 mg/day prednisone equivalents are permitted in the absence of active autoimmune disease. Patients are permitted to use topical, ocular, intra-articular, intranasal, and inhalational corticosteroids (with minimal systemic absorption). Physiologic replacement doses of systemic corticosteroids in patients with adrenal insufficiency are permitted, even if >= 10 mg/day prednisone equivalents. A brief course of corticosteroids for prophylaxis or for treatment of non-autoimmune conditions (e.g., delayed-type hypersensitivity reaction caused by contact allergen) is permitted, as is steroid pre-medication for contrast allergy
  • Patients must not have had prior treatment with an anti-PD-1, anti-PD-L1, anti-PD-L2, anti-CTLA-4 antibody, or any other antibody or drug specifically targeting T cell co-stimulation or immune checkpoint pathways
  • Patients must not have had prior treatment with XL184 (cabozantinib), or any MET-targeting tyrosine kinase inhibitor (TKI), or any MET-targeting monoclonal antibody (MetMAb), such as onartuzumab
  • Patients must not have received radiation therapy to any part of the body within 28 days
  • Patients must not have clinically relevant, ongoing complications from prior radiation therapy. No radiation therapy is allowed while the patient is on study. Palliative radiation therapy, if needed, should be completed at least 28 days prior to enrollment into the study as described above
  • Patients must not require concomitant treatment with oral anticoagulants (e.g., warfarin, direct thrombin, and factor Xa inhibitors) or platelet inhibitors (e.g., clopidogrel). The following anticoagulants are allowed:

    • Low-dose aspirin for cardioprotection (per local applicable guidelines),
    • Low-dose low molecular weight heparins (LMWH),
    • Therapeutic doses of LMWH are allowed in patients without known brain metastases who are on a stable dose of LMWH for at least 6 weeks before the first dose of study treatment, and who have had no clinically significant hemorrhagic complications from the anticoagulation regimen or the tumor
  • Patients must not have had major surgery (e.g., gastrointestinal [GI] surgery or removal or biopsy of brain metastasis) within 4 weeks before first dose of study treatment. Complete wound healing from major surgery must have occurred 1 month before the first dose of study treatment and from minor surgery (e.g., simple excision or tooth extraction) at least 10 days before the first dose. Patients with clinically relevant ongoing complications from prior surgery are not eligible
  • Patients must not have received cytotoxic chemotherapy (including investigational cytotoxic chemotherapy) or biologic agents (e.g., cytokines or antibodies) within 4 weeks, or nitrosoureas/ mitomycin C within 4 weeks, before the first dose of study treatment. Patients may continue on bone-modifying agents (denosumab or bisphosphonates) with caution
  • Patients who have not recovered to baseline from adverse events due to prior anti-cancer therapy (i.e., have residual toxicities > grade 1) according to Common Terminology Criteria for Adverse Events (CTCAE) version (v)0.5 unless the adverse events (AEs) are clinically nonsignificant and/or stable on supportive therapy, with the exception of alopecia
  • Patients who are receiving any other investigational agents. Patients must not have received any other type of investigational agent within 4 weeks before the first dose of study treatment to be eligible
  • Patients must not have a corrected QT interval calculated by the Fridericia formula (QTcF) > 500 msec by electrocardiogram (EKG) within 28 days before the first dose of study treatment

    • Note: If a single EKG shows a QTcF with an absolute value > 500 msec, two additional EKGs at intervals of approximately 3 min must be performed within 30 min after the initial EKG, and the average of these three consecutive results for QTcF will be used to determine eligibility
  • Patients should not have known, untreated brain metastases or leptomeningeal metastases because of poor prognosis and concerns that progressive neurologic dysfunction could confound the evaluation of neurologic and other adverse events
  • History of allergic reactions attributed to compounds of similar chemical or biologic composition to agents used in study
  • Patients must not have a history of severe hypersensitivity reactions to any monoclonal antibodies
  • Patients must not require concomitant treatment with strong CYP3A4 inducers (e.g., dexamethasone, phenytoin, carbamazepine, rifampin, rifabutin, rifapentine, phenobarbital, or St. John's wort). Because lists of these agents are constantly changing, it is important to regularly consult a frequently-updated medical reference. As part of the enrollment/informed consent procedures, patients will be counseled on the risk of interactions with other agents, and what to do if new medications need to be prescribed or if the patient is considering a new over-the-counter medicine or herbal product
  • Patients must not have uncontrolled, significant intercurrent or recent illness including, but not limited to, the following conditions:

    • Cardiovascular disorders:

      • Congestive heart failure New York Heart Association (NYHA) Class 3 or 4, unstable angina pectoris, serious cardiac arrhythmias.
      • Uncontrolled hypertension defined as sustained blood pressure (BP) > 140 mm Hg systolic or > 90 mm Hg diastolic despite optimal antihypertensive treatment within seven days prior to the first dose of study treatment.
      • Stroke (including transient ischemic attack [TIA]), myocardial infarction (MI), or other ischemic event, or thromboembolic event (e.g., deep venous thrombosis [DVT], pulmonary embolism [PE]) within 6 months before first dose.
    • GI disorders including those associated with a high risk of perforation or fistula formation:

      • The patient has evidence of tumor invading the GI tract, active peptic ulcer disease, inflammatory bowel disease (e.g., Crohn's disease), diverticulitis, cholecystitis, symptomatic cholangitis or appendicitis, acute pancreatitis, acute obstruction of the pancreatic duct or common bile duct, or gastric outlet obstruction.
      • Abdominal fistula, GI perforation, bowel obstruction, or intra-abdominal abscess within 6 months before first dose. Complete healing of an intra-abdominal abscess must be confirmed before first dose.
    • Clinically significant hematuria, hematemesis, or hemoptysis or other history of significant bleeding (e.g., pulmonary hemorrhage) within 12 weeks before first dose.
    • Cavitating pulmonary lesion(s) or known endotracheal or endobronchial disease manifestation.
    • Lesions invading or encasing any major blood vessels.
    • Other clinically significant disorders that would preclude safe study participation.

      • Serious non-healing wound/ulcer/bone fracture.
      • Uncompensated/symptomatic hypothyroidism.
      • Moderate to severe hepatic impairment (Child-Pugh B or C).
  • Patients with psychiatric illness/social situations that would limit compliance with study requirements
  • Pregnant women are excluded from this study because XL184 (cabozantinib) has the potential for teratogenic or abortifacient effects, and the effects of nivolumab and ipilimumab on the developing fetus are not well known. Because there is an unknown but potential risk for AEs in nursing infants secondary to treatment of the mother, breastfeeding must be discontinued if the mother is treated with XL184 (cabozantinib), nivolumab, or ipilimumab
  • Patients with active autoimmune disease or history of autoimmune disease that might recur, which may affect vital organ function or require immune suppressive treatment including high dose systemic corticosteroids, should be excluded. These include but are not limited to: immune-related neurologic disease, such as multiple sclerosis, autoimmune (demyelinating) neuropathy, Guillain-Barre syndrome, or myasthenia gravis; systemic autoimmune disease such as systemic lupus erythematosus (SLE), connective tissue diseases, scleroderma, inflammatory bowel disease (IBD), Crohn's, ulcerative colitis, or autoimmune hepatitis. Patients with a history of toxic epidermal necrolysis (TEN), Stevens-Johnson syndrome, or phospholipid syndrome should be excluded because of the risk of recurrence or exacerbation of disease. Patients with vitiligo, type I diabetes mellitus (DM), or endocrine deficiencies (e.g., thyroiditis) managed with replacement hormones, including physiologic corticosteroids, are eligible. Patients with rheumatoid arthritis and other arthropathies, Sjogren's syndrome and psoriasis controlled with topical medication, and patients with positive serology, (e.g., antinuclear antibodies [ANA] or anti-thyroid antibodies) should be evaluated for the presence of target organ involvement and potential need for systemic treatment but should otherwise be eligible
05

Study design

Phase
Phase 2
Primary purpose
Treatment
Allocation
Not applicable
Intervention model
Single group
Masking
None (open label)
Enrollment
17 participants (actual)

Study arms

  • Experimental
    Treatment (cabozantinib s-malate, nivolumab, ipilimumab)

    Patients receive cabozantinib s-malate PO QD on days 1-21 of cycles 1-4 and days 1-28 of subsequent cycles, nivolumab IV over 30 minutes on day 1, and ipilimumab IV over 90 minutes on day 1 of cycles 1-4 only. Treatment repeats every 21 for 4 cycles then every 28 days for subsequent cycles in the absence of disease progression or unacceptable toxicity.

    Drug: Cabozantinib S-malate · Biological: Ipilimumab · Biological: Nivolumab

Interventions

  • DrugCabozantinib S-malate

    Given PO

    Also known as: BMS-907351, Cabometyx, Cometriq, XL 184, XL-184, XL184

  • BiologicalIpilimumab

    Given IV

    Also known as: Anti-Cytotoxic T-Lymphocyte-Associated Antigen-4 Monoclonal Antibody, BMS 734016, BMS-734016, BMS734016, Ipilimumab Biosimilar CS1002, MDX 010, MDX-010, MDX-CTLA4, MDX010, Yervoy

  • BiologicalNivolumab

    Given IV

    Also known as: ABP 206, BCD-263, BMS 936558, BMS-936558, BMS936558, CMAB819, MDX 1106, MDX-1106, MDX1106, NIVO, Nivolumab Biosimilar ABP 206, Nivolumab Biosimilar BCD-263, Nivolumab Biosimilar CMAB819, ONO 4538, ONO-4538, ONO4538, Opdivo

06

What researchers measure

Primary outcomes

  1. Number of Participants With a Response

    Participants who are considered to have a response are those with either a complete response (CR) (disappearance of all target lesions) or a partial response (PR) (\>=30% decrease in the sum of the longest diameter of target lesions) using Response Evaluation Criteria in Solid Tumors (RECIST) version (v) 1.1 and assessed by CT or MRI scan.

    Time frame: Up to 3.5 years

Secondary outcomes

  1. Progression Free Survival (PFS)

    Progression is defined as a \>= 20% increase in the sum of the longest diameter of target lesions, or a measurable increase in a non-target lesion, or the appearance of new lesions using Response Evaluation Criteria In Solid Tumors Criteria (RECIST v1.0) and assessed by CT or MRI scan. The duration is from the date of registration to the time of progression or death, whichever occurs first.

    Time frame: Up to 3.5 years

  2. Number of Participants Reporting Adverse Events

    Adverse events will be assessed using the Common Terminology Criteria for Adverse Events (CTCAE) 5.0 criteria. The population is defined as all patients who have received the study treatment. The highest grade is reported.

    Time frame: Up to 3.5 years

  3. Disease Control Rate (DCR)

    DCR will be defined as the achievement of Complete Response (CR) (disappearance of all target lesions), Partial Response (PR) (\>=30% decrease in the sum of the longest diameter of target lesions), or Stable Disease (SD) (between \< 30% decrease and \>20% increase in the sum of the longest diameter of target lesions) using Response Evaluation Criteria In Solid Tumors Criteria (RECIST v1.0) for target lesions and assessed by CT or MRI scan.

    Time frame: Up to 3.5 years

  4. Duration of Response (DOR)

    The time when measurement criteria are met for CR or PR (whichever is first recorded) until the first date that recurrent or progressive disease is objectively documented.

    Time frame: Up to 3.5 years

Other outcomes

  1. CD8+ T Lymphocytes

    Expression of CD8+ T lymphocytes in the tumor tissue at baseline and during treatment.

    Time frame: Up to Day 35

  2. Myeloid-Derived Suppressor Cells

    Presence of myeloid derived suppressor cells in the tumor before and during treatment.

    Time frame: Up to Day 35

  3. Tumor-associated Macrophages

    Presence of tumor-associated macrophages in the tumor at baseline and during treatment.

    Time frame: Up to Day 35

07

Results

Posted Dec 12, 2025

Participant flow

Participant flow — Overall Study
MilestoneTreatment (Cabozantinib S-malate, Nivolumab, Ipilimumab)
Started17
Completed16
Not completed1
Withdrew: Disease progression before starting treatment1

Outcome measures

PrimaryNumber of Participants With a Response

Participants who are considered to have a response are those with either a complete response (CR) (disappearance of all target lesions) or a partial response (PR) (\>=30% decrease in the sum of the longest diameter of target lesions) using Response Evaluation Criteria in Solid Tumors (RECIST) version (v) 1.1 and assessed by CT or MRI scan.

Time frame:
Up to 3.5 years
Reported as:
Count of participants · Participants
Number of Participants With a Response
ParticipantsTreatment (Cabozantinib S-malate, Nivolumab, Ipilimumab)
Response2
No Response14
SecondaryProgression Free Survival (PFS)

Progression is defined as a \>= 20% increase in the sum of the longest diameter of target lesions, or a measurable increase in a non-target lesion, or the appearance of new lesions using Response Evaluation Criteria In Solid Tumors Criteria (RECIST v1.0) and assessed by CT or MRI scan. The duration is from the date of registration to the time of progression or death, whichever occurs first.

Time frame:
Up to 3.5 years
Reported as:
Median · Days
Progression Free Survival (PFS)
DaysTreatment (Cabozantinib S-malate, Nivolumab, Ipilimumab)
Progression Free Survival (PFS)85 (23 to 902)
SecondaryNumber of Participants Reporting Adverse Events

Adverse events will be assessed using the Common Terminology Criteria for Adverse Events (CTCAE) 5.0 criteria. The population is defined as all patients who have received the study treatment. The highest grade is reported.

Time frame:
Up to 3.5 years
Reported as:
Count of participants · Participants
Number of Participants Reporting Adverse Events
ParticipantsTreatment (Cabozantinib S-malate, Nivolumab, Ipilimumab)
Grade 50
Grade 43
Grade 37
Grades 1-26
SecondaryDisease Control Rate (DCR)

DCR will be defined as the achievement of Complete Response (CR) (disappearance of all target lesions), Partial Response (PR) (\>=30% decrease in the sum of the longest diameter of target lesions), or Stable Disease (SD) (between \< 30% decrease and \>20% increase in the sum of the longest diameter of target lesions) using Response Evaluation Criteria In Solid Tumors Criteria (RECIST v1.0) for target lesions and assessed by CT or MRI scan.

Time frame:
Up to 3.5 years
Reported as:
Count of participants · Participants
Disease Control Rate (DCR)
ParticipantsTreatment (Cabozantinib S-malate, Nivolumab, Ipilimumab)
Achieved disease control9
Did not achieve disease control7
SecondaryDuration of Response (DOR)

The time when measurement criteria are met for CR or PR (whichever is first recorded) until the first date that recurrent or progressive disease is objectively documented.

Time frame:
Up to 3.5 years
Reported as:
Median · Days
Duration of Response (DOR)
DaysTreatment (Cabozantinib S-malate, Nivolumab, Ipilimumab)
Duration of Response (DOR)664 (504 to 824)
Other pre-specifiedCD8+ T Lymphocytes

Expression of CD8+ T lymphocytes in the tumor tissue at baseline and during treatment.

Time frame:
Up to Day 35

No measurements were reported for this outcome.

Other pre-specifiedMyeloid-Derived Suppressor Cells

Presence of myeloid derived suppressor cells in the tumor before and during treatment.

Time frame:
Up to Day 35

No measurements were reported for this outcome.

Other pre-specifiedTumor-associated Macrophages

Presence of tumor-associated macrophages in the tumor at baseline and during treatment.

Time frame:
Up to Day 35

No measurements were reported for this outcome.

Adverse events

Collected over About 3.5 years. Non-serious events are listed at a 5% frequency threshold.

Adverse event summary by group
GroupDeathsSeriousOther
Treatment (Cabozantinib S-malate, Nivolumab, Ipilimumab)13/17 (76.5%)10/17 (58.8%)16/17 (94.1%)
Most frequent serious events
Showing 10 of 16
Most frequent serious events
EventTreatment (Cabozantinib S-malate, Nivolumab, Ipilimumab)
Hepatic failureHepatobiliary disorders2/17
Pericardial effusionCardiac disorders1/17
MalaiseGeneral disorders1/17
Non-cardiac chest painGeneral disorders1/17
AppendicitisInfections and infestations1/17
CholangitisInfections and infestations1/17
SepsisInfections and infestations1/17
Stoma site infectionInfections and infestations1/17
TracheitisInfections and infestations1/17
FallInjury, poisoning and procedural complications1/17
Most frequent other events
Showing 10 of 113
Most frequent other events
EventTreatment (Cabozantinib S-malate, Nivolumab, Ipilimumab)
Alanine aminotransferase increasedInvestigations11/17
FatigueGeneral disorders10/17
Aspartate aminotransferase increasedInvestigations10/17
DiarrheaGastrointestinal disorders9/17
HypoalbuminemiaMetabolism and nutrition disorders9/17
HyponatremiaMetabolism and nutrition disorders8/17
NauseaGastrointestinal disorders7/17
Platelet count decreasedInvestigations7/17
HypophosphatemiaMetabolism and nutrition disorders7/17
AnemiaBlood and lymphatic system disorders6/17

Baseline characteristics

Age, Categorical
Age, Categorical(Participants)Treatment (Cabozantinib S-malate, Nivolumab, Ipilimumab)
<=18 years0
Between 18 and 65 years9
>=65 years8
Age, Continuous
Age, Continuous(Years)Treatment (Cabozantinib S-malate, Nivolumab, Ipilimumab)
Median62 (27 to 77)
Sex: Female, Male
Sex: Female, Male(Participants)Treatment (Cabozantinib S-malate, Nivolumab, Ipilimumab)
Female4
Male13
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)(Participants)Treatment (Cabozantinib S-malate, Nivolumab, Ipilimumab)
Hispanic or Latino1
Not Hispanic or Latino15
Unknown or Not Reported1
Race (NIH/OMB)
Race (NIH/OMB)(Participants)Treatment (Cabozantinib S-malate, Nivolumab, Ipilimumab)
American Indian or Alaska Native0
Asian1
Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander0
Black or African American1
White15
More than one race0
Unknown or Not Reported0
Region of Enrollment
Region of Enrollment(participants)Treatment (Cabozantinib S-malate, Nivolumab, Ipilimumab)
United States17
Weight
Weight(kilogram (kg))Treatment (Cabozantinib S-malate, Nivolumab, Ipilimumab)
Median88 (37.1 to 119.5)
Body Surface Area (BSA)
Body Surface Area (BSA)(meters squared (m^2))Treatment (Cabozantinib S-malate, Nivolumab, Ipilimumab)
Median2.0 (1.4 to 2.5)
08

Study locations

46 sites
  • University of Alabama at Birmingham Cancer Center
    Birmingham, Alabama 35233, United States
  • Banner University Medical Center - Tucson
    Tucson, Arizona 85719, United States
  • University of Arizona Cancer Center-North Campus
    Tucson, Arizona 85719, United States
  • City of Hope Comprehensive Cancer Center
    Duarte, California 91010, United States
  • Los Angeles General Medical Center
    Los Angeles, California 90033, United States
  • USC / Norris Comprehensive Cancer Center
    Los Angeles, California 90033, United States
  • UC Irvine Health/Chao Family Comprehensive Cancer Center
    Orange, California 92868, United States
  • MedStar Georgetown University Hospital
    Washington D.C., District of Columbia 20007, United States
  • Sibley Memorial Hospital
    Washington D.C., District of Columbia 20016, United States
  • UF Health Cancer Institute - Gainesville
    Gainesville, Florida 32610, United States
  • Moffitt Cancer Center
    Tampa, Florida 33612, United States
  • Northwestern University
    Chicago, Illinois 60611, United States
  • University of Kansas Clinical Research Center
    Fairway, Kansas 66205, United States
  • HaysMed
    Hays, Kansas 67601, United States
  • Lawrence Memorial Hospital
    Lawrence, Kansas 66044, United States
  • The University of Kansas Cancer Center - Olathe
    Olathe, Kansas 66061, United States
  • University of Kansas Cancer Center-Overland Park
    Overland Park, Kansas 66210, United States
  • Mercy Hospital Pittsburg
    Pittsburg, Kansas 66762, United States
  • Salina Regional Health Center
    Salina, Kansas 67401, United States
  • University of Kansas Health System Saint Francis Campus
    Topeka, Kansas 66606, United States
  • University of Kansas Hospital-Westwood Cancer Center
    Westwood, Kansas 66205, United States
  • University of Kentucky/Markey Cancer Center
    Lexington, Kentucky 40536, United States
  • Johns Hopkins University/Sidney Kimmel Cancer Center
    Baltimore, Maryland 21287, United States
  • Wayne State University/Karmanos Cancer Institute
    Detroit, Michigan 48201, United States
  • Weisberg Cancer Treatment Center
    Farmington Hills, Michigan 48334, United States
  • Siteman Cancer Center at Saint Peters Hospital
    City of Saint Peters, Missouri 63376, United States
  • Siteman Cancer Center at West County Hospital
    Creve Coeur, Missouri 63141, United States
  • University Health Truman Medical Center
    Kansas City, Missouri 64108, United States
  • University of Kansas Cancer Center - North
    Kansas City, Missouri 64154, United States
  • University of Kansas Cancer Center - Lee's Summit
    Lee's Summit, Missouri 64064, United States
  • University of Kansas Cancer Center at North Kansas City Hospital
    North Kansas City, Missouri 64116, United States
  • Washington University School of Medicine
    St Louis, Missouri 63110, United States
  • Siteman Cancer Center-South County
    St Louis, Missouri 63129, United States
  • Siteman Cancer Center at Christian Hospital
    St Louis, Missouri 63136, United States
  • Dartmouth Hitchcock Medical Center/Dartmouth Cancer Center
    Lebanon, New Hampshire 03756, United States
  • Wake Forest University at Clemmons
    Clemmons, North Carolina 27012, United States
  • Wake Forest Baptist Health - Wilkes Medical Center
    Wilkesboro, North Carolina 28659, United States
  • Wake Forest University Health Sciences
    Winston-Salem, North Carolina 27157, United States
  • Ohio State University Comprehensive Cancer Center
    Columbus, Ohio 43210, United States
  • UPMC Hillman Cancer Center
    Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania 15232, United States
  • Vanderbilt University/Ingram Cancer Center
    Nashville, Tennessee 37232, United States
  • Farmington Health Center
    Farmington, Utah 84025, United States
  • University of Utah Sugarhouse Health Center
    Salt Lake City, Utah 84106, United States
  • Huntsman Cancer Institute/University of Utah
    Salt Lake City, Utah 84112, United States
  • VCU Massey Comprehensive Cancer Center
    Richmond, Virginia 23298, United States
  • University Health Network-Princess Margaret Hospital
    Toronto, Ontario M5G 2M9, Canada
09

References and documents

Publications

  • Mandl A, Chen R, Das S, Strosberg JR, Kasi A, Konda B, Li D, Burns TF, Chauhan A, Ciombor KK, Dayyani F, Dorff T, Ohr JP, Patel BB, Sukrithan V, Soares HP, Chen K, Liu SV, Tesfaye AA, Carducci MA, Beumer JH. Phase 2 study of cabozantinib (XL184) with nivolumab and ipilimumab for the treatment of poorly differentiated neuroendocrine carcinomas (ETCTN10315). Oncologist. 2026 May 8;31(6):oyag140. doi: 10.1093/oncolo/oyag140. PubMed 41968073 ↗

Study documents

  • Protocol and statistical analysis plan · Aug 1, 2025
  • Informed consent form · Aug 1, 2025

Documents are hosted by the registry — open the source record to download them.

Individual participant data

Plan to share: Yes — NCI is committed to sharing data in accordance with NIH policy. For more details on how clinical trial data is shared, access the link to the NIH data sharing policy page.

10

Updates

Tracking since Sep 25, 2026
No changes since tracking began. The registry record was last updated on Sep 22, 2026, before this site started recording changes on Sep 25, 2026. Its history is on ClinicalTrials.gov ↗
11

Registry details

Key details

Study ID
NCT04079712
Lead sponsor
National Cancer Institute (NCI)
Responsible party
Sponsor
First posted
Sep 6, 2019
Start date
Aug 6, 2020
Primary completion
Jan 10, 2025
Completion
Sep 2, 2027 (estimated)
Results posted
Dec 12, 2025
Last update
Sep 22, 2026

Study contacts

Adel Mandl
principal investigator · Yale University Cancer Center LAO

Oversight

Data monitoring committee
No
FDA-regulated drug
Yes
FDA-regulated device
No
View the source record on ClinicalTrials.gov ↗

Not currently enrolling

This study is active, not recruiting, as verified in Sep 2026. You cannot join it, but the record below documents what was studied.

Follow this study

Get an email when the registry record changes — status, dates, results — or when someone posts here.

Sign in to follow

Discussion

Questions and observations about this study, from anyone following it. Not medical advice, and not a channel to the study team — their contact details are on the registry record.

Sign in to join the discussion. Reading takes no account; posting does. You choose a display name, and a pseudonym is the default.

Nothing here yet. If you are running this trial, taking part in it, or weighing whether to, this is the place to say so.

Start the discussion