A Phase 3 interventional study of FX006 and Normal saline in Osteoarthritis, Hip, sponsored by Pacira Pharmaceuticals, Inc. Terminated at 32 sites in United States. Open to participants aged 40 Years to 80 Years. Per ClinicalTrials.gov, last updated 2024-01-24.
Sponsored by Pacira Pharmaceuticals, Inc · Phase 3, Interventional, and Treatment
This is a two-part, multi-center, randomized, double-blind, placebo-controlled, parallel-group study in patients with hip OA. Approximately 70 patients will be enrolled in Part I and approximately 440 patients will be enrolled in Part II of the study. In each part, patients will be randomized to one of two treatment groups (1:1) and treated with a single IA injection of either 32 mg FX006 or normal saline.
This is a two-part, multi-center, randomized, double-blind, placebo-controlled, parallel-group study in patients with hip OA. Approximately 70 patients will be enrolled in Part I and approximately 440 patients will be enrolled in Part II of the study. In each part, patients will be randomized to one of two treatment groups (1:1) and treated with a single IA injection of either 32 mg FX006 or normal saline.
FX006 or saline placebo will be administered as a single IA injection with a 12-week follow-up period in the double-blind phase.
Patients participating in Part I of the study will be treated with a single IA injection of either 32 mg FX006 or normal saline and will return for follow up visits at Weeks 12, 16, 20, and 24. The patients will be discontinued at the time of notification by the Investigator.
Patients participating in Part II of the study will be treated with a single IA injection of either 32 mg FX006 or normal saline and will return for follow up visits at Weeks 12, 16, 20, and 24.
Patients participating in Part II of the study that are not clinically indicated for a second injection at Week 12 will return to the clinic at Weeks 16, 20, and 24 and will receive an open-label injection of FX006 at the first evaluation where the patient has been determined to meet all criteria. Patients will then return for follow-up visits every 4 weeks for 12 weeks post second injection and will complete the study 12 weeks post second injection (e.g., Week 24, 28, 32, or 36 depending on when the patient receives the open-label injection).
Patients participating in Part II of the study who are not eligible for a second injection after evaluation at Weeks 12, 16, 20, and 24 will complete the study at the Week 24 visit and complete the End of Study (EOS) assessments.
4,398 studies on the registry are indexed under Osteoarthritis; 582 are open to participants now.
This study's enrollment of 70 is close to the median of 70 across 3,440 interventional studies indexed under Osteoarthritis.
Browse Osteoarthritis studies →Pacira Pharmaceuticals, Inc is the lead sponsor of 100 studies on the registry; 3 are open to participants now.
Of its 26 completed or terminated interventional studies of FDA-regulated products, 17 (65%) have results posted.
Counted across the registry records on this site, refreshed daily.
Exclusion Criteria:
FX006 32mg
Drug: FX006
Normal Saline
Drug: Normal saline
Single Intra-articular injection
Single Intra-articular injection
Change in WOMAC A (Pain) Score at Week 12
The change from baseline on the average Western Ontario and McMaster Universities Osteoarthritis Index (WOMAC) A (pain) score at Week 12. The average WOMAC A score is calculated by taking the average of five questions with a range from 0 (no pain) to 10 (extreme pain).
Time frame: Baseline and Week 12
Change in WOMAC C (Function) Score at Week 12
Change from Baseline on the WOMAC C (function) score at Week 12. The average WOMAC C score is calculated by taking the average of seventeen questions with a range from 0 (no difficulty) to 10 (extreme difficulty).
Time frame: Baseline and Week 12
PGIC Score at Week 12
PGIC (Patient Global Impression of Change) at Week 12. The PGIC score has a range from 1(very much improved) to 7 (very much worse) and indicates the overall status of the patient since baseline.
Time frame: 12 Weeks
The recruitment period for this study was from December 2018 until August 2019. The patients were enrolled at medical clinics.
| Milestone | FX006 | Normal Saline |
|---|---|---|
| Started | 35 | 35 |
| Randomized but not dosed | 2 | 0 |
| Completed | 7 | 8 |
| Not completed | 28 | 27 |
| Withdrew: Withdrawal by subject | 5 | 7 |
| Withdrew: Withdrawn by investigator or sponsor | 19 | 18 |
| Withdrew: Lost to follow-up | 1 | 2 |
| Withdrew: Patient couldn't sit still for injection | 1 | 0 |
| Withdrew: Withdrew to pursue other treatment | 1 | 0 |
| Withdrew: Did not meet eligibility criteria | 1 | 0 |
The change from baseline on the average Western Ontario and McMaster Universities Osteoarthritis Index (WOMAC) A (pain) score at Week 12. The average WOMAC A score is calculated by taking the average of five questions with a range from 0 (no pain) to 10 (extreme pain).
| score on a scale | FX006 | Normal Saline |
|---|---|---|
| Change in WOMAC A (Pain) Score at Week 12 | -1.85 (-2.99 to -0.71) | -2.16 (-3.22 to -1.09) |
Change from Baseline on the WOMAC C (function) score at Week 12. The average WOMAC C score is calculated by taking the average of seventeen questions with a range from 0 (no difficulty) to 10 (extreme difficulty).
| score on a scale | FX006 | Normal Saline |
|---|---|---|
| Change in WOMAC C (Function) Score at Week 12 | -1.56 (-2.73 to -0.40) | -2.16 (-3.30 to -1.03) |
PGIC (Patient Global Impression of Change) at Week 12. The PGIC score has a range from 1(very much improved) to 7 (very much worse) and indicates the overall status of the patient since baseline.
| score on a scale | FX006 | Normal Saline |
|---|---|---|
| PGIC Score at Week 12 | 3.4 (2.7 to 4.1) | 3.4 (2.8 to 4.1) |
Collected over Adverse event data was collected for FX006 32 mg and Placebo from Baseline to Last Visit at Week 24.. Non-serious events are listed at a 0% frequency threshold.
| Group | Deaths | Serious | Other |
|---|---|---|---|
| FX006 | 0/33 (0%) | 0/33 (0%) | 21/33 (63.6%) |
| Normal Saline | 0/35 (0%) | 0/35 (0%) | 14/35 (40%) |
| Event | FX006 | Normal Saline |
|---|---|---|
| ArthralgiaMusculoskeletal and connective tissue disorders | 8/33 | 1/35 |
| DysphagiaGastrointestinal disorders | 2/33 | 0/35 |
| Blood Pressure IncreasedInvestigations | 2/33 | 1/35 |
| Weight IncreasedInvestigations | 2/33 | 0/35 |
| Lumbar RadiculopathyNervous system disorders | 2/33 | 0/35 |
| ThrombocytopeniaBlood and lymphatic system disorders | 1/33 | 0/35 |
| Dry MouthGastrointestinal disorders | 1/33 | 0/35 |
| Chest DiscomfortGeneral disorders | 1/33 | 0/35 |
| BronchitisInfections and infestations | 1/33 | 1/35 |
| Gastroenteritis ViralInfections and infestations | 1/33 | 0/35 |
All patients who received a full dose of study drug assigned to the FX006 32 mg arm and the placebo arm were included in the analysis. 68 total patients were included in the safety population.
| Age, Continuous(years) | FX006 | Normal Saline | Total |
|---|---|---|---|
| Mean | 59.6 ± 9.45 | 61.8 ± 7.99 | 60.7 ± 8.73 |
| Sex: Female, Male(Participants) | FX006 | Normal Saline | Total |
|---|---|---|---|
| Female | 20 | 21 | 41 |
| Male | 13 | 14 | 27 |
| Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)(Participants) | FX006 | Normal Saline | Total |
|---|---|---|---|
| Hispanic or Latino | 4 | 4 | 8 |
| Not Hispanic or Latino | 28 | 31 | 59 |
| Unknown or Not Reported | 1 | 0 | 1 |
| Race (NIH/OMB)(Participants) | FX006 | Normal Saline | Total |
|---|---|---|---|
| American Indian or Alaska Native | 1 | 0 | 1 |
| Asian | 0 | 1 | 1 |
| Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Black or African American | 8 | 8 | 16 |
| White | 24 | 26 | 50 |
| More than one race | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Unknown or Not Reported | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Region of Enrollment(Participants) | FX006 | Normal Saline | Total |
|---|---|---|---|
| United States | 33 | 35 | 68 |
| Body Mass Index (BMI)(kg/m2) | FX006 | Normal Saline | Total |
|---|---|---|---|
| Mean | 30.50 ± 5.679 | 31.29 ± 5.775 | 30.91 ± 5.699 |
Documents are hosted by the registry — open the source record to download them.
This study is terminated, as verified in Jan 2024. You cannot join it, but the record below documents what was studied.
Get an email when the registry record changes — status, dates, results — or when someone posts here.
Sign in to followQuestions and observations about this study, from anyone following it. Not medical advice, and not a channel to the study team — their contact details are on the registry record.
Sign in to join the discussion. Reading takes no account; posting does. You choose a display name, and a pseudonym is the default.
Nothing here yet. If you are running this trial, taking part in it, or weighing whether to, this is the place to say so.
Pacira Pharmaceuticals, Inc