CClinicalTrials.gg
CompletedNCT03762668Updated Jan 13, 2020Results posted

Performance Assessment of a Modified Daily Disposable Contact Lens

An interventional study of Modified delefilcon A contact lenses and Delefilcon A contact lenses in Refractive Errors, Myopia and Hyperopia, sponsored by Alcon Research. Completed at 5 sites in United States. Open to participants aged 18 Years and older. Per ClinicalTrials.gov, last updated 2020-01-13.

Sponsored by Alcon Research · Not applicable, Interventional, and Treatment

Phase
Not applicable
Study type
Interventional
Enrollment
62
Allocation
Randomized
Ages
18 Years and older
Sex
All
01

Study summary

The purpose of this study is to compare visual acuity between two daily disposable contact lenses.

Read the detailed description

The expected duration of subject participation in the study is approximately 2 weeks, with 3 scheduled visits.

02

Conditions studied

  • Refractive Errors
  • Myopia
  • Hyperopia

Keywords

  • Contact lens
  • Vision correction
  • Visual acuity
03

In context

Refractive Errors

413 studies on the registry are indexed under Refractive Errors; 62 are open to participants now.

This study's enrollment of 62 is below the median of 82 across 296 interventional studies indexed under Refractive Errors.

Browse Refractive Errors studies →

Lead sponsor

Alcon Research is the lead sponsor of 608 studies on the registry; 9 are open to participants now.

Of its 109 completed or terminated interventional studies of FDA-regulated products, 99 (91%) have results posted.

Counted across the registry records on this site, refreshed daily.

04

Who can participate

Ages eligible
18 Years and older
Sexes eligible
All
Accepts healthy volunteers
No

Inclusion criteria

  • Able to understand and sign an approved Informed Consent form;
  • Current wearer of commercial DAILIES TOTAL1 Contact Lenses in both eyes;
  • Other protocol-specified inclusion criteria may apply.

Exclusion criteria

Exclusion Criteria:

  • Any eye condition that contraindicates contact lens wear, as determined by the Investigator;
  • Any eye surgery that contraindicates contact lens wear, as determined by the Investigator;
  • Wears habitual contact lenses in an extended wear modality (routinely sleeping in lenses for at least 1 night per week)
  • Monocular (only one eye with functional vision);
  • Other protocol-specified exclusion criteria may apply.
05

Study design

Phase
Not applicable
Primary purpose
Treatment
Allocation
Randomized
Intervention model
Crossover assignment
Masking
Double (Participant, Investigator)
Enrollment
62 participants (actual)

Study arms

  • Other
    MDACL, then DACL

    Modified delefilcon A contact lenses (MDACL) worn first, followed by delefilcon A contact lenses (DACL), as randomized. Each product worn bilaterally (in both eyes) for approximately 1 week in a daily disposable modality.

    Device: Modified delefilcon A contact lenses · Device: Delefilcon A contact lenses

  • Other
    DACL, then MDACL

    DACL worn first, followed by MDACL, as randomized. Each product worn bilaterally for approximately 1 week in a daily disposable modality.

    Device: Modified delefilcon A contact lenses · Device: Delefilcon A contact lenses

Interventions

  • DeviceModified delefilcon A contact lenses

    Spherical soft daily disposable contact lens

    Also known as: MDACL

  • DeviceDelefilcon A contact lenses

    Spherical soft daily disposable contact lens

    Also known as: DACL

06

What researchers measure

Primary outcomes

  1. High Contrast Distance Visual Acuity (logMAR)

    Distance visual acuity (VA) testing was performed using letter charts. Each row of the chart contained 5 letters, with the letters on each row progressively smaller than the row above. The subject read the letters from larger to smaller. The test terminated when the subject either misidentified a majority of letters on 1 row or progressed to the smallest row of letters. Visual acuity scoring sheets were used to record the number of letters correctly read. LogMAR VA was calculated based on the total number of letters read incorrectly as follows: LogMAR Acuity = base reading + (0.02 x number of letters missed). A lower logMAR value indicates better VA.

    Time frame: Day 1 Dispense, Day 7 Follow-Up

07

Results

Posted Jan 7, 2020

Participant flow

This study was conducted at 5 investigative sites located in the United States.

Period 1, First Week of Wear
Participant flow — Period 1, First Week of Wear
MilestoneMDACL, Then DACLDACL, Then MDACL
Started3030
Completed3029
Not completed01
Withdrew: Withdrawal by subject01
Period 2, Second Week of Wear
Participant flow — Period 2, Second Week of Wear
MilestoneMDACL, Then DACLDACL, Then MDACL
Started3029
Completed3029
Not completed00

Outcome measures

PrimaryHigh Contrast Distance Visual Acuity (logMAR)

Distance visual acuity (VA) testing was performed using letter charts. Each row of the chart contained 5 letters, with the letters on each row progressively smaller than the row above. The subject read the letters from larger to smaller. The test terminated when the subject either misidentified a majority of letters on 1 row or progressed to the smallest row of letters. Visual acuity scoring sheets were used to record the number of letters correctly read. LogMAR VA was calculated based on the total number of letters read incorrectly as follows: LogMAR Acuity = base reading + (0.02 x number of letters missed). A lower logMAR value indicates better VA.

Time frame:
Day 1 Dispense, Day 7 Follow-Up
Reported as:
Mean · logMar
High Contrast Distance Visual Acuity (logMAR)
logMarMDACLDACL
Day 1 Dispense-0.04 ± 0.07-0.04 ± 0.07
Day 7 Follow-Up-0.05 ± 0.07-0.05 ± 0.07
Statistical analysis
  • MDACL vs DACL · mixed effects repeated measures model · Least squares mean difference: -0.00test minus control

Adverse events

Collected over Adverse events were collected (observed or reported) for the duration of the individual's participation in the study, approximately 2 weeks.. Non-serious events are listed at a 5% frequency threshold.

Adverse event summary by group
GroupDeathsSeriousOther
MDACL0/59 (0%)0/59 (0%)0/59 (0%)
DACL0/60 (0%)0/60 (0%)0/60 (0%)

Baseline characteristics

All subjects/eyes exposed to any study lens evaluated in this study (Safety Analysis Set).

Age, Continuous
Age, Continuous(years)MDACL, Then DACLDACL, Then MDACLTotal
Mean32.7 ± 9.330.7 ± 8.631.7 ± 9.0
Sex: Female, Male
Sex: Female, Male(Participants)MDACL, Then DACLDACL, Then MDACLTotal
Female232447
Male7613
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)(Participants)MDACL, Then DACLDACL, Then MDACLTotal
Hispanic or Latino246
Not Hispanic or Latino282654
Unknown or Not Reported000
Race (NIH/OMB)
Race (NIH/OMB)(Participants)MDACL, Then DACLDACL, Then MDACLTotal
American Indian or Alaska Native000
Asian022
Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander000
Black or African American123
White292655
More than one race000
Unknown or Not Reported000
Region of Enrollment
Region of Enrollment(participants)MDACL, Then DACLDACL, Then MDACLTotal
United States303060
08

Study locations

5 sites
  • Alcon Investigative Site
    Maitland, Florida 32751, United States
  • Alcon Investigative Site
    Orlando, Florida 32803, United States
  • Alcon Investigative Site
    West Palm Beach, Florida 33405, United States
  • Alcon Investigative Site
    Ann Arbor, Michigan 48105, United States
  • Alcon Investigative Site
    Memphis, Tennessee 38111, United States
09

References and documents

Study documents

  • Statistical analysis plan · Nov 30, 2018
  • Study protocol · Nov 7, 2018

Documents are hosted by the registry — open the source record to download them.

Individual participant data

Plan to share: No

10

Updates

Tracking since Sep 25, 2026
No changes since tracking began. The registry record was last updated on Jan 13, 2020, before this site started recording changes on Sep 25, 2026. Its history is on ClinicalTrials.gov ↗
11

Registry details

Key details

Study ID
NCT03762668
Lead sponsor
Alcon Research
Responsible party
Sponsor
First posted
Dec 4, 2018
Start date
Dec 3, 2018
Primary completion
Jan 7, 2019
Completion
Jan 7, 2019
Results posted
Jan 7, 2020
Last update
Jan 13, 2020

Study contacts

Sr. CDMA Project Lead, Vision Care
study director · Alcon Research

Oversight

Data monitoring committee
No
FDA-regulated drug
No
FDA-regulated device
Yes
View the source record on ClinicalTrials.gov ↗

Not currently enrolling

This study is completed, as verified in Jan 2020. You cannot join it, but the record below documents what was studied.

Follow this study

Get an email when the registry record changes — status, dates, results — or when someone posts here.

Sign in to follow

Discussion

Questions and observations about this study, from anyone following it. Not medical advice, and not a channel to the study team — their contact details are on the registry record.

Sign in to join the discussion. Reading takes no account; posting does. You choose a display name, and a pseudonym is the default.

Nothing here yet. If you are running this trial, taking part in it, or weighing whether to, this is the place to say so.

Start the discussion