A Phase 3 interventional study of Selexipag and Placebo in Chronic Thromboembolic Pulmonary Hypertension, sponsored by Actelion. Terminated at 162 sites in 31 countries. Open to participants aged 18 Years to 85 Years. Per ClinicalTrials.gov, last updated 2024-06-21.
Sponsored by Actelion · Phase 3, Interventional, and Treatment
Selexipag is available in many countries for the treatment of pulmonary arterial hypertension (PAH). Due to the similarities between PAH and chronic thromboembolic pulmonary hypertension (CTEPH) and the observed efficacy of other PAH medicines in CTEPH, it is believed that selexipag could benefit to patients with CTEPH. This study aims to assess the efficacy and safety of selexipag in participants with inoperable or persistent/recurrent CTEPH.
Participants will be recruited in two sequential cohorts: approximately the first 90 randomized participants will undergo a right heart catheterization (RHC) (and left heart catheterization LHC, if needed) with measurement of pulmonary vascular resistance (PVR) at Week 20 and will constitute the hemodynamic cohort; the remaining participants will constitute the non-hemodynamic cohort; who do not require a post-baseline hemodynamic assessment. They will undergo the same overall study assessments as the hemodynamic cohort excepted for RHC at Week 20.
1,105 studies on the registry are indexed under Hypertension, Pulmonary; 234 are open to participants now.
This study's enrollment of 128 is above the median of 35 across 649 interventional studies indexed under Hypertension, Pulmonary.
Browse Hypertension, Pulmonary studies →Actelion is the lead sponsor of 140 studies on the registry; 1 is open to participants now.
Of its 27 completed or terminated interventional studies of FDA-regulated products, 24 (89%) have results posted.
Counted across the registry records on this site, refreshed daily.
Main Inclusion Criteria:
Main Exclusion Criteria:
During the double blind treatment period, participants in this group will receive selexipag. Each participant will start with one oral tablet of selexipag 200 µg in the evening of Day 1 and will continue with 200 µg twice daily (b.i.d.) on Day 2. If this dose is well-tolerated, selexipag is up-titrated with weekly increments of 200 µg until reaching the individual maximal tolerated dose (iMTD) in the range of 200 to 1600 µg b.i.d. The up-titration period up to Week 12 is followed by a stable maintenance treatment period from Week 12 to Week 26, at the iMTD. After Week 26, further up-titration can be allowed (but not above 1600 µg b.i.d.).
Drug: Selexipag
During the double-blind treatment period, participants in this group will receive the oral matching placebo, twice daily. A (mock) up-titration scheme will be followed.
Drug: Placebo
All participants who completed the double-blind treatment period, whether they received placebo or selexipag during the double-blind period, will receive selexipag during the open-label extension period, using the same up-titration schedule as in the double-blind period.
Drug: Selexipag
oral tablets containing 200 µg of selexipag. Depending on the iMTD, participants will receive 1 to 8 tablets at each administration
Also known as: ACT-293987, JNJ-67896049
Oral tablets without active compound
Change From Baseline in Pulmonary Vascular Resistance (PVR) at Week 20
Change from baseline in PVR at Week 20 was reported. PVR was measured by accessing the vessel either from right heart catheterization or left heart catheterization, if required. Change from baseline in PVR was measured as percent ratio of post treatment value (Week 20) to pre-treatment value (baseline).
Time frame: Baseline (Day 1, pre-dose), within 2 to 5 hours post-dose on Week 20
| Milestone | Double-blind Period: Placebo | Double-blind Period: Selexipag | Open Label Period: Selexipag (Ex-Placebo) | Open Label Period: Selexipag (Ex-Selexipag) |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Started | 64 | 64 | 0 | 0 |
| Completed | 9 | 6 | 0 | 0 |
| Not completed | 55 | 58 | 0 | 0 |
| Withdrew: Withdrawal by subject | 7 | 8 | 0 | 0 |
| Withdrew: Other | 1 | 1 | 0 | 0 |
| Withdrew: Sponsor decision | 44 | 47 | 0 | 0 |
| Withdrew: Death | 1 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Withdrew: Physician decision | 2 | 2 | 0 | 0 |
| Milestone | Double-blind Period: Placebo | Double-blind Period: Selexipag | Open Label Period: Selexipag (Ex-Placebo) | Open Label Period: Selexipag (Ex-Selexipag) |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Started | 0 | 0 | 9 | 6 |
| Completed | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Not completed | 0 | 0 | 9 | 6 |
| Withdrew: Withdrawal by subject | 0 | 0 | 1 | 0 |
| Withdrew: Physician decision | 0 | 0 | 1 | 0 |
| Withdrew: Sponsor decision | 0 | 0 | 7 | 6 |
Change from baseline in PVR at Week 20 was reported. PVR was measured by accessing the vessel either from right heart catheterization or left heart catheterization, if required. Change from baseline in PVR was measured as percent ratio of post treatment value (Week 20) to pre-treatment value (baseline).
| Percent ratio | Double-blind Period: Placebo | Double-blind Period: Selexipag |
|---|---|---|
| Change From Baseline in Pulmonary Vascular Resistance (PVR) at Week 20 | 89.52 (81.78 to 97.99) | 85.15 (77.97 to 92.99) |
Collected over For DB period: from first DB dose up to EDBT (that is, up to 27.7 months) and for OL extension period: from first OL dose up to 30 days after the last OL dose (that is, up to 21.8 months). Non-serious events are listed at a 5% frequency threshold.
| Group | Deaths | Serious | Other |
|---|---|---|---|
| Double-blind Period: Placebo | 2/64 (3.1%) | 16/64 (25%) | 45/64 (70.3%) |
| Double-blind Period: Selexipag | 3/64 (4.7%) | 9/64 (14.1%) | 60/64 (93.8%) |
| Open Label Period: Selexipag (Ex-Placebo) | 0/9 (0%) | 0/9 (0%) | 9/9 (100%) |
| Open Label Period: Selexipag (Ex-Selexipag) | 0/6 (0%) | 1/6 (16.7%) | 5/6 (83.3%) |
| Event | Double-blind Period: Placebo | Double-blind Period: Selexipag | Open Label Period: Selexipag (Ex-Placebo) | Open Label Period: Selexipag (Ex-Selexipag) |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Viral InfectionInfections and infestations | 0/64 | 0/64 | 0/9 | 1/6 |
| Right Ventricular FailureCardiac disorders | 3/64 | 5/64 | 0/9 | 0/6 |
| Acute Kidney InjuryRenal and urinary disorders | 2/64 | 1/64 | 0/9 | 0/6 |
| Pulmonary EmbolismRespiratory, thoracic and mediastinal disorders | 2/64 | 0/64 | 0/9 | 0/6 |
| Iron Deficiency AnaemiaBlood and lymphatic system disorders | 0/64 | 1/64 | 0/9 | 0/6 |
| Atrial FlutterCardiac disorders | 1/64 | 0/64 | 0/9 | 0/6 |
| Atrioventricular Block Second DegreeCardiac disorders | 1/64 | 0/64 | 0/9 | 0/6 |
| Supraventricular TachycardiaCardiac disorders | 0/64 | 1/64 | 0/9 | 0/6 |
| Discoloured VomitGastrointestinal disorders | 1/64 | 0/64 | 0/9 | 0/6 |
| Catheter Site HaematomaGeneral disorders | 1/64 | 0/64 | 0/9 | 0/6 |
| Event | Double-blind Period: Placebo | Double-blind Period: Selexipag | Open Label Period: Selexipag (Ex-Placebo) | Open Label Period: Selexipag (Ex-Selexipag) |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| HeadacheNervous system disorders | 14/64 | 36/64 | 6/9 | 2/6 |
| DiarrhoeaGastrointestinal disorders | 9/64 | 38/64 | 5/9 | 1/6 |
| MyalgiaMusculoskeletal and connective tissue disorders | 5/64 | 7/64 | 4/9 | 0/6 |
| NauseaGastrointestinal disorders | 4/64 | 17/64 | 3/9 | 1/6 |
| VomitingGastrointestinal disorders | 1/64 | 11/64 | 3/9 | 1/6 |
| ArthralgiaMusculoskeletal and connective tissue disorders | 4/64 | 14/64 | 3/9 | 1/6 |
| Pain in JawMusculoskeletal and connective tissue disorders | 2/64 | 16/64 | 2/9 | 0/6 |
| Covid-19Infections and infestations | 4/64 | 5/64 | 2/9 | 0/6 |
| DizzinessNervous system disorders | 7/64 | 8/64 | 2/9 | 0/6 |
| Pain in ExtremityMusculoskeletal and connective tissue disorders | 4/64 | 13/64 | 1/9 | 1/6 |
| Age, Categorical(Participants) | Double-blind Period: Placebo | Double-blind Period: Selexipag | Total |
|---|---|---|---|
| <=18 years | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Between 18 and 65 years | 24 | 36 | 60 |
| >=65 years | 40 | 28 | 68 |
| Age, Continuous(years) | Double-blind Period: Placebo | Double-blind Period: Selexipag | Total |
|---|---|---|---|
| Mean | 64 ± 13.22 | 62 ± 14.38 | 63 ± 13.8 |
| Sex: Female, Male(Participants) | Double-blind Period: Placebo | Double-blind Period: Selexipag | Total |
|---|---|---|---|
| Female | 47 | 46 | 93 |
| Male | 17 | 18 | 35 |
| Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)(Participants) | Double-blind Period: Placebo | Double-blind Period: Selexipag | Total |
|---|---|---|---|
| Hispanic or Latino | 10 | 8 | 18 |
| Not Hispanic or Latino | 54 | 55 | 109 |
| Unknown or Not Reported | 0 | 1 | 1 |
| Race/Ethnicity, Customized(Participants) | Double-blind Period: Placebo | Double-blind Period: Selexipag | Total |
|---|---|---|---|
| American Indian or Alaska Native | 1 | 0 | 1 |
| Asian | 12 | 7 | 19 |
| Black or African American | 3 | 2 | 5 |
| Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| White | 46 | 52 | 98 |
| More than one race | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Unknown or Not Reported | 0 | 1 | 1 |
| Other | 2 | 2 | 4 |
| Region of Enrollment(Participants) | Double-blind Period: Placebo | Double-blind Period: Selexipag | Total |
|---|---|---|---|
| ARGENTINA | 0 | 2 | 2 |
| AUSTRALIA | 1 | 3 | 4 |
| BELGIUM | 0 | 1 | 1 |
| BRAZIL | 5 | 6 | 11 |
| BULGARIA | 1 | 3 | 4 |
| CANADA | 0 | 1 | 1 |
| CHINA | 0 | 2 | 2 |
| CZECH REPUBLIC | 1 | 2 | 3 |
| DENMARK | 4 | 3 | 7 |
| GERMANY | 6 | 9 | 15 |
| HUNGARY | 0 | 1 | 1 |
| ISRAEL | 2 | 0 | 2 |
| ITALY | 2 | 3 | 5 |
| MEXICO | 4 | 1 | 5 |
| POLAND | 2 | 2 | 4 |
| PORTUGAL | 5 | 1 | 6 |
| RUSSIAN FEDERATION | 4 | 3 | 7 |
| SLOVAKIA | 0 | 1 | 1 |
| SOUTH KOREA | 7 | 2 | 9 |
| SPAIN | 1 | 0 | 1 |
| SWEDEN | 0 | 1 | 1 |
| TAIWAN | 1 | 1 | 2 |
| THAILAND | 4 | 2 | 6 |
| TURKEY | 4 | 4 | 8 |
| UKRAINE | 0 | 1 | 1 |
| UNITED KINGDOM | 5 | 6 | 11 |
| UNITED STATES | 5 | 3 | 8 |
Showing the first 100 of 162 sites across 31 countries.
Documents are hosted by the registry — open the source record to download them.
Plan to share: Yes — Actelion is a Janssen pharmaceutical company of Johnson \& Johnson. The data sharing policy of the Janssen Pharmaceutical Companies of Johnson \& Johnson is available at www.janssen.com/clinical-trials\\transparency. As noted on this site, requests for access to the study data can be submitted through Yale open Access (YODA) Project site at yoda.yale.edu
This study is terminated, as verified in Jun 2024. You cannot join it, but the record below documents what was studied.
Get an email when the registry record changes — status, dates, results — or when someone posts here.
Sign in to followQuestions and observations about this study, from anyone following it. Not medical advice, and not a channel to the study team — their contact details are on the registry record.
Sign in to join the discussion. Reading takes no account; posting does. You choose a display name, and a pseudonym is the default.
Nothing here yet. If you are running this trial, taking part in it, or weighing whether to, this is the place to say so.
Actelion