A Phase 2 interventional study of Savolitinib in Colorectal Carcinoma, Metastatic Colon Adenocarcinoma and Metastatic Rectal Adenocarcinoma, sponsored by National Cancer Institute (NCI). Terminated at 33 sites in United States. Open to participants aged 18 Years and older. Per ClinicalTrials.gov, last updated 2023-10-17.
Sponsored by National Cancer Institute (NCI) · Phase 2, Interventional, and Treatment
This phase II trial studies how well savolitinib works in treating patients with MET amplified colorectal cancer that has spread to other places in the body (metastatic) or cannot be removed by surgery (unresectable). Savolitinib may stop the growth of tumor cells by blocking some of the enzymes needed for cell growth.
PRIMARY OBJECTIVE:
I. To estimate the objective response rate (ORR) of savolitinib in patients with MET amplified metastatic colorectal cancer (CRC).
SECONDARY OBJECTIVES:
I. To describe the clinical activity (duration of response, progression free survival [PFS]) of savolitinib in patients with MET amplified metastatic CRC.
II. To describe the toxicities of savolitinib in patients with MET amplified metastatic CRC.
III. To explore the effect of RAS mutation status on response to savolitinib. IV. To explore any correlation between tissue and blood based biomarkers and clinical outcomes.
OUTLINE:
Patients receive savolitinib orally (PO) once daily (QD) on days 1-28. Cycles repeat every 28 days in the absence of disease progression or unacceptable toxicity.
After completion of study treatment, patients are followed up at 30 days, and then every 12 weeks thereafter for up to 2 years.
5,598 studies on the registry are indexed under Colorectal Neoplasms; 1,458 are open to participants now.
This study's enrollment of 5 is below the median of 77 across 4,122 interventional studies indexed under Colorectal Neoplasms.
Browse Colorectal Neoplasms studies →National Cancer Institute (NCI) is the lead sponsor of 3,506 studies on the registry; 334 are open to participants now.
Of its 402 completed or terminated interventional studies of FDA-regulated products, 365 (91%) have results posted.
Counted across the registry records on this site, refreshed daily.
Females of childbearing potential should be willing to use adequate contraceptive measures, should not be breast feeding, and must have a negative pregnancy test if of childbearing potential or must have evidence of non-childbearing potential by fulfilling one of the following criteria at screening:
Exclusion Criteria:
Any of the following concurrent medication use:
Any of the following cardiac disease currently or within the last 6 months:
Active hepatitis B (positive hepatitis b virus [HBV] surface antigen [HBsAg] result) or hepatitis C (hepatitis C virus [HCV]) infection. Patients with positive HCV antibody are eligible only if the polymerase chain reaction is negative for HCV ribonucleic acid (RNA). Patients with a past or resolved HBV infection are eligible if:
Known serious active infection requiring antibiotic, antiviral or antifungal therapy. Human immunodeficiency virus (HIV)-positive patients are eligible only if meeting ALL criteria below:
Patients receive savolitinib PO QD on days 1-28. Cycles repeat every 28 days in the absence of disease progression or unacceptable toxicity.
Drug: Savolitinib
Given PO
Also known as: AZD 6094, AZD6094, HMPL-504, Volitinib
Objective Response Rate (ORR) as Measured by Response Evaluation Criteria in Solid Tumors Version 1.1 (RECIST v1.1)
Objective response rate is calculated as the number of people with a complete or partial response divided by the total number of people treated. Complete response is defined as disappearance of all target lesions. Partial response is defined as at least a 30% decrease in the sum of diameters of target lesions, taking as reference the baseline sum diameters.
Time frame: From start of treatment until documented progression of disease (up to 4 months)
Months of Progression-Free Survival (PFS)
Progression-free survival is defined as the duration of time from start of treatment until clinical or radiographic progression or death, whichever occurs first. Progression is defined as at least a 20% increase in the sum of diameters of target lesions, taking as reference the smallest sum on study (this includes the baseline sum if that is the smallest on study). In addition to the relative increase of 20%, the sum must also demonstrate an absolute increase of at least 5 mm. The appearance of one or more new lesions is also considered progression.
Time frame: From start of treatment until documented progression of disease (up to 4 months)
Recruitment occurred at 12 health system organizations within the NCI network. Enrollment was open from 1/30/2019 to 12/30/2021.
| Milestone | Treatment (Savolitinib) |
|---|---|
| Started | 5 |
| Completed | 4 |
| Not completed | 1 |
| Withdrew: Withdrawal by subject | 1 |
Objective response rate is calculated as the number of people with a complete or partial response divided by the total number of people treated. Complete response is defined as disappearance of all target lesions. Partial response is defined as at least a 30% decrease in the sum of diameters of target lesions, taking as reference the baseline sum diameters.
| Participants | Treatment (Savolitinib) |
|---|---|
| Objective Response Rate (ORR) as Measured by Response Evaluation Criteria in Solid Tumors Version 1.1 (RECIST v1.1) | 0 |
Progression-free survival is defined as the duration of time from start of treatment until clinical or radiographic progression or death, whichever occurs first. Progression is defined as at least a 20% increase in the sum of diameters of target lesions, taking as reference the smallest sum on study (this includes the baseline sum if that is the smallest on study). In addition to the relative increase of 20%, the sum must also demonstrate an absolute increase of at least 5 mm. The appearance of one or more new lesions is also considered progression.
| months | Treatment (Savolitinib) |
|---|---|
| Months of Progression-Free Survival (PFS) | 2.29 (1.41 to 3.55) |
Collected over From start of treatment until 1 month after end of treatment (up to 5 months). Non-serious events are listed at a 0% frequency threshold.
| Group | Deaths | Serious | Other |
|---|---|---|---|
| Treatment (Savolitinib) | 0/5 (0%) | 1/5 (20%) | 5/5 (100%) |
| Event | Treatment (Savolitinib) |
|---|---|
| anorexiaMetabolism and nutrition disorders | 1/5 |
| dizzinessNervous system disorders | 1/5 |
| dyspneaRespiratory, thoracic and mediastinal disorders | 1/5 |
| sinus tachycardiaCardiac disorders | 1/5 |
| thromboembolic eventVascular disorders | 1/5 |
| edema limbsGeneral disorders | 1/5 |
| vascular access complicationInjury, poisoning and procedural complications | 1/5 |
| Event | Treatment (Savolitinib) |
|---|---|
| FatigueGeneral disorders | 3/5 |
| NauseaGastrointestinal disorders | 3/5 |
| Alkaline phosphatase increasedInvestigations | 2/5 |
| AnorexiaMetabolism and nutrition disorders | 2/5 |
| Aspartate aminotransferase increasedInvestigations | 2/5 |
| ConstipationGastrointestinal disorders | 2/5 |
| DiarrheaGastrointestinal disorders | 2/5 |
| HypertensionVascular disorders | 2/5 |
| Muscle crampMusculoskeletal and connective tissue disorders | 2/5 |
| White blood cell decreasedInvestigations | 2/5 |
| Age, Continuous(years) | Treatment (Savolitinib) |
|---|---|
| Mean | 60.8 ± 10.1 |
| Sex: Female, Male(Participants) | Treatment (Savolitinib) |
|---|---|
| Female | 3 |
| Male | 2 |
| Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)(Participants) | Treatment (Savolitinib) |
|---|---|
| Hispanic or Latino | 0 |
| Not Hispanic or Latino | 4 |
| Unknown or Not Reported | 1 |
| Race (NIH/OMB)(Participants) | Treatment (Savolitinib) |
|---|---|
| American Indian or Alaska Native | 0 |
| Asian | 0 |
| Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander | 0 |
| Black or African American | 0 |
| White | 4 |
| More than one race | 0 |
| Unknown or Not Reported | 1 |
Documents are hosted by the registry — open the source record to download them.
Plan to share: Yes — NCI is committed to sharing data in accordance with NIH policy. For more details on how clinical trial data is shared, access the link to the NIH data sharing policy page
This study is terminated, as verified in Sep 2023. You cannot join it, but the record below documents what was studied.
Get an email when the registry record changes — status, dates, results — or when someone posts here.
Sign in to followQuestions and observations about this study, from anyone following it. Not medical advice, and not a channel to the study team — their contact details are on the registry record.
Sign in to join the discussion. Reading takes no account; posting does. You choose a display name, and a pseudonym is the default.
Nothing here yet. If you are running this trial, taking part in it, or weighing whether to, this is the place to say so.
National Cancer Institute (NCI)