ClinicalTrials.gg
CompletedNCT03483675Updated Jun 23, 2021Results posted

Discontinuation or Continuation of Immunosuppressive Therapy in Participants With Chronic Graft Versus Host Disease

A Phase 2 interventional study of Immunosuppressive Therapy and Immunosuppressive Therapy in Chronic Graft Versus Host Disease, sponsored by Fred Hutchinson Cancer Center. Completed at 1 site in United States. Per ClinicalTrials.gov, last updated 2021-06-23.

Sponsored by Fred Hutchinson Cancer Center · Phase 2, Interventional, and Treatment

Phase
Phase 2
Study type
Interventional
Enrollment
21
Allocation
Randomized
Sex
All
01

Study summary

This randomized trial studies how well discontinuation or continuation of immunosuppressive therapy works in treating participants with chronic graft versus host disease. Continuation of immunosuppressive treatment may prevent graft-versus-host disease worsening.

Read the detailed description

PRIMARY OBJECTIVE:

I. Assess feasibility of enrolling and randomizing patients with chronic graft versus host disease (GVHD) to discontinuation (standard of care) versus continuation (investigation) of immunosuppressive therapy (IST).

SECONDARY OBJECTIVES:

I. Assess feasibility of enrolling and randomizing patients who are not local, and evaluate the quality of data received for those patients.

II. Assess whether prolonged IST decreases the need for pulses of high dose IST.

III. Evaluate the effect of prolonged IST on chronic GVHD manifestations and severity, risk of relapse, infection and organ toxicity.

OUTLINE: Participants are randomized to 1 of 2 arms.

ARM I: Participants have their IST tapered and discontinued per the plan.

ARM II: Participants continue to receive a fixed dose IST for an additional 9 months with no taper.

After completion of study treatment, participants are followed up annually.

02

Conditions studied

  • Chronic Graft Versus Host Disease
03

In context

Bronchiolitis Obliterans Syndrome

389 studies on the registry are indexed under Bronchiolitis Obliterans Syndrome; 103 are open to participants now.

This study's enrollment of 21 is below the median of 35 across 307 interventional studies indexed under Bronchiolitis Obliterans Syndrome.

Browse Bronchiolitis Obliterans Syndrome studies →

Lead sponsor

Fred Hutchinson Cancer Center is the lead sponsor of 546 studies on the registry; 79 are open to participants now.

Of its 59 completed or terminated interventional studies of FDA-regulated products, 46 (78%) have results posted.

Counted across the registry records on this site, refreshed daily.

04

Who can participate

Ages eligible
Child (0–17), Adult (18–64), Older adult (65+)
Sexes eligible
All
Accepts healthy volunteers
No

Go through the criteria one by one — yes, no or not sure — and take the list to your doctor or the study team. Kept in this browser only.

Inclusion criteria

  • Prior first allogeneic stem cell transplant, with any graft source, donor type, and GVHD prophylaxis
  • Patients who are on one systemic immunosuppressive agent for chronic GVHD with a plan to withdraw all systemic IST; hydrocortisone or prednisone continued for treatment of adrenal insufficiency is not considered a systemic IST
  • No evidence of malignancy at the time of enrollment
  • Agree to be evaluated at the transplant center or by local provider every 3 months for 12 months after randomization
  • Agreement to be contacted by phone or e-mail for health status evaluation for up to 3 years
  • Signed, informed consent

Exclusion criteria

Exclusion Criteria:

  • Inability to comply with study procedures
  • Pregancy
05

Study design

Phase
Phase 2
Primary purpose
Treatment
Allocation
Randomized
Intervention model
Parallel assignment
Masking
None (open label)
Enrollment
21 participants (actual)

Study arms

  • Active comparator
    Arm I (discontinued IST)

    Participants have their IST tapered and discontinued per the plan.

    Biological: Immunosuppressive Therapy · Other: Survey Administration

  • Experimental
    Arm II (continued IST)

    Participants continue to receive a fixed dose IST for an additional 9 months with no taper.

    Biological: Immunosuppressive Therapy · Other: Survey Administration

Interventions

  • BiologicalImmunosuppressive Therapy

    Discontinued IST

    Also known as: Anti-Rejection Therapy, immunosuppression

  • BiologicalImmunosuppressive Therapy

    Continued IST

    Also known as: Anti-Rejection Therapy, immunosuppression

  • OtherSurvey Administration

    Ancillary studies

06

What researchers measure

Primary outcomes

  1. Feasibility of Enrolling Patients

    Descriptive summary of number of patients enrolled on the study (signed consent)

    Time frame: 22.9 months

Secondary outcomes

  1. Feasibility of Randomizing Patients

    Descriptive summary of percentage of patients randomized.

    Time frame: 22.9 months

  2. Compliance With Treatment

    Rate of patients following study immunosuppressive therapy management based on study arm (standard taper or continuation of low dose).

    Time frame: Up to 12 months after randomization

  3. Compliance With Data Collection

    Count of surveys completed by physicians and patients

    Time frame: Up to 12 months after randomization

  4. Graft Versus Host Disease Manifestations

    New chronic graft versus host disease (GVHD) manifestations and/or worsening of existing manifestations

    Time frame: Up to 12 months after randomization

  5. Recurrent Malignancy

    Incidence of relapse of primary disease

    Time frame: Up to 12 months after randomization

  6. Incidence of Grade >= 3 Infections

    Incidence of grade \>= 3 infections

    Time frame: Up to 12 months after randomization

  7. Incidence of Grade >= 3 Organ Toxicity

    Incidence of grade \>= 3 organ toxicity

    Time frame: Up to 12 months after randomization

  8. Enrollment Rate of Participants Who Are Not Local

    Enrollment rate of participants who are not local. Participants who are local defined as those who had all or some study visits completed at the cancer center.

    Time frame: Up to 12 months after randomization

  9. Quality of Data of Participants Who Are Not Local

    Participants who are local defined as those who had all or some study visits completed at the cancer center.

    Time frame: Up to 12 months after randomization

07

Results

Posted Jun 23, 2021

Participant flow

Participant flow — Overall Study
MilestoneArm I (Discontinued IST)Arm II (Continued IST)
Started98
Completed98
Not completed00

Outcome measures

PrimaryFeasibility of Enrolling Patients

Descriptive summary of number of patients enrolled on the study (signed consent)

Time frame:
22.9 months
Reported as:
Count of participants · Participants
Feasibility of Enrolling Patients
ParticipantsTotal Number of Participants
Feasibility of Enrolling Patients21
SecondaryFeasibility of Randomizing Patients

Descriptive summary of percentage of patients randomized.

Time frame:
22.9 months
Reported as:
Count of participants · Participants
Feasibility of Randomizing Patients
ParticipantsTotal Number of Participants
Feasibility of Randomizing Patients17
SecondaryCompliance With Treatment

Rate of patients following study immunosuppressive therapy management based on study arm (standard taper or continuation of low dose).

Time frame:
Up to 12 months after randomization
Reported as:
Count of participants · Participants
Compliance With Treatment
ParticipantsArm I (Discontinued IST)Arm II (Continued IST)
Compliance With Treatment78
SecondaryCompliance With Data Collection

Count of surveys completed by physicians and patients

Time frame:
Up to 12 months after randomization
Reported as:
Number · surveys
Compliance With Data Collection
surveysArm I (Discontinued IST)Arm II (Continued IST)
Total surveys collected4839
Patient surveys missed34
Physician surveys missed56
SecondaryGraft Versus Host Disease Manifestations

New chronic graft versus host disease (GVHD) manifestations and/or worsening of existing manifestations

Time frame:
Up to 12 months after randomization
Reported as:
Count of participants · Participants
Graft Versus Host Disease Manifestations
ParticipantsArm I (Discontinued IST)Arm II (Continued IST)
Graft Versus Host Disease Manifestations20
SecondaryRecurrent Malignancy

Incidence of relapse of primary disease

Time frame:
Up to 12 months after randomization
Reported as:
Count of participants · Participants
Recurrent Malignancy
ParticipantsArm I (Discontinued IST)Arm II (Continued IST)
Recurrent Malignancy00
SecondaryIncidence of Grade >= 3 Infections

Incidence of grade \>= 3 infections

Time frame:
Up to 12 months after randomization
Reported as:
Count of participants · Participants
Incidence of Grade >= 3 Infections
ParticipantsArm I (Discontinued IST)Arm II (Continued IST)
Incidence of Grade >= 3 Infections10
SecondaryIncidence of Grade >= 3 Organ Toxicity

Incidence of grade \>= 3 organ toxicity

Time frame:
Up to 12 months after randomization
Reported as:
Count of participants · Participants
Incidence of Grade >= 3 Organ Toxicity
ParticipantsArm I (Discontinued IST)Arm II (Continued IST)
Incidence of Grade >= 3 Organ Toxicity00
SecondaryEnrollment Rate of Participants Who Are Not Local

Enrollment rate of participants who are not local. Participants who are local defined as those who had all or some study visits completed at the cancer center.

Time frame:
Up to 12 months after randomization

No measurements were reported for this outcome.

SecondaryQuality of Data of Participants Who Are Not Local

Participants who are local defined as those who had all or some study visits completed at the cancer center.

Time frame:
Up to 12 months after randomization

No measurements were reported for this outcome.

Adverse events

Collected over 1 year. Non-serious events are listed at a 0% frequency threshold.

Adverse event summary by group
GroupDeathsSeriousOther
Arm I (Discontinued IST)0/9 (0%)0/9 (0%)8/9 (88.9%)
Arm II (Continued IST)0/8 (0%)2/8 (25%)6/8 (75%)
Most frequent serious events
Most frequent serious events
EventArm I (Discontinued IST)Arm II (Continued IST)
GangreneInfections and infestations0/91/8
heart failureCardiac disorders0/91/8
myocardial infarctionCardiac disorders0/91/8
osteomyelitisInfections and infestations0/91/8
peripheral ischemiaVascular disorders0/91/8
retinal detachmentEye disorders0/91/8
stent placementCardiac disorders0/91/8
wound complicationsInfections and infestations0/91/8
Most frequent other events
Showing 10 of 50
Most frequent other events
EventArm I (Discontinued IST)Arm II (Continued IST)
fatigueGeneral disorders2/22/8
upper respiratory infectionRespiratory, thoracic and mediastinal disorders4/94/8
lower respiratory infectionRespiratory, thoracic and mediastinal disorders4/91/8
myalgiaMusculoskeletal and connective tissue disorders2/93/8
nauseaGastrointestinal disorders3/91/8
arthralgiaMusculoskeletal and connective tissue disorders2/92/8
insomniaGeneral disorders0/92/8
neuropathyNervous system disorders1/92/8
skin, ulcer or lesionSkin and subcutaneous tissue disorders1/92/8
squamous cell carcinomaNeoplasms benign, malignant and unspecified (incl cysts and polyps)2/92/8

Baseline characteristics

Age, Categorical
Age, Categorical(Participants)Arm I (Discontinued IST)Arm II (Continued IST)Total
<=18 years000
Between 18 and 65 years448
>=65 years549
Sex: Female, Male
Sex: Female, Male(Participants)Arm I (Discontinued IST)Arm II (Continued IST)Total
Female000
Male9817
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)(Participants)Arm I (Discontinued IST)Arm II (Continued IST)Total
Hispanic or Latino000
Not Hispanic or Latino9817
Unknown or Not Reported000
Race (NIH/OMB)
Race (NIH/OMB)(Participants)Arm I (Discontinued IST)Arm II (Continued IST)Total
American Indian or Alaska Native000
Asian112
Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander000
Black or African American011
White8513
More than one race011
Unknown or Not Reported000
Region of Enrollment
Region of Enrollment(participants)Arm I (Discontinued IST)Arm II (Continued IST)Total
United States9817
08

Study locations

1 site
  • Fred Hutch/University of Washington Cancer Consortium
    Seattle, Washington 98109, United States
09

References and documents

Study documents

  • Protocol and statistical analysis plan · Oct 8, 2020
  • Informed consent form · Oct 8, 2020

Documents are hosted by the registry — open the source record to download them.

10

Timeline

Tracking since Sep 25, 2026
ElapsedEstimatedEstimated, not yet reachedSimilar studies: half by the dot; the band is the middle halfHalf of similar studies reached it by the dot; the band is the middle half, from a quarter to three quarters

Ran from Jun 2018 to primary completion in May 2020, 23 months.

Results were first posted in Jun 2021, 1 year 1 month after primary completion.

Of 35 non-industry phase 2 interventional studies under Bronchiolitis Obliterans Syndrome, half reached primary completion within 53 months of starting (the median), counting those still running; a quarter within 28 and three quarters within 59. This study's 23 months is below that.

Counting every sponsor, half of 51 studies reached it within 43 months; a quarter within 27 and three quarters within 59.

How these figures are worked out, and which studies are left out of them.

Registered
Mar 13, 2018
First posted
Mar 30, 2018
StartActual
Jun 6, 2018
Primary completionActual
May 14, 2020
CompletionActual
Mar 3, 2021
Results first posted
Jun 23, 2021
Last update
Jun 23, 2021
What these dates mean
Start.
When the first participant enrolled; while estimated, when the study expects to open to recruitment.
Primary completion.
When the last participant was examined or treated to collect data for the study's main question, its primary outcome. A study that stopped early gives the date its data collection stopped.
Completion.
When the last participant's last visit took place, for every outcome, secondary ones and side effects included: the end of the study. Often later than primary completion, sometimes the same day.
Actual and Est.
Actual means the registry says the date has happened. Est. (estimated) is a date the sponsor plans or expects. It can still move, and the sponsor is expected to change it to actual once it has passed.
No changes since tracking began. The registry record was last updated on Jun 23, 2021, before this site started recording changes on Sep 25, 2026. Its history is on ClinicalTrials.gov ↗
11

Registry details

Key details

Study ID
NCT03483675
Responsible party
Stephanie Lee (Professor and Associate Director, Fred Hutchinson Cancer Center) — Principal investigator
First posted
Mar 30, 2018
Start date
Jun 6, 2018
Primary completion
May 14, 2020
Completion
Mar 3, 2021
Results posted
Jun 23, 2021
Last update
Jun 23, 2021

Study contacts

Stephanie Lee
principal investigator · Fred Hutch/University of Washington Cancer Consortium

Oversight

FDA-regulated drug
Yes
FDA-regulated device
No
View the source record on ClinicalTrials.gov ↗

Not currently enrolling

This study is completed, as verified in Jun 2021. You cannot join it, but the record below documents what was studied.

Follow this study

Get an email when the registry record changes — status, dates, results — or when someone posts here.

Sign in to follow

Discussion

Questions and observations about this study, from anyone following it. Not medical advice, and not a channel to the study team — their contact details are on the registry record.

Sign in to join the discussion. Reading takes no account; posting does. You choose a display name, and a pseudonym is the default.

Nothing here yet. If you are running this trial, taking part in it, or weighing whether to, this is the place to say so.

Start the discussion