ClinicalTrials.gg
CompletedNCT03312933Updated Jan 18, 2019Results posted

Associated Joint Pain With Controlled Ankle Movement (CAM) Walker Boot Wear

An observational study in Pain and Ankle Injuries, sponsored by Brigham and Women's Hospital. Completed at 1 site in United States. Open to participants aged 18 Years and older. Per ClinicalTrials.gov, last updated 2019-01-18.

Sponsored by Brigham and Women's Hospital · Observational

Study type
Observational
Model
Cohort
Time perspective
Prospective
Enrollment
100
Ages
18 Years and older
Sex
All
01

Study summary

This study evaluates the location, frequency and duration of secondary site pain relating to immobilization in a CAM walker boot.

Read the detailed description

Patients wearing a CAM walker boot for treatment of a foot or ankle injury were prospectively enrolled and evaluated for new or worsened secondary site pain. Surveys at four time points were completed to evaluate the presence of secondary site pain, its severity, and its impact on overall function.

02

Conditions studied

  • Pain
  • Ankle Injuries
03

In context

Pain

2,450 studies on the registry are indexed under Pain; 945 are open to participants now.

This study's enrollment of 100 is close to the median of 100 across 301 observational studies indexed under Pain.

Browse Pain studies →

Lead sponsor

Brigham and Women's Hospital is the lead sponsor of 1,263 studies on the registry; 225 are open to participants now.

Of its 116 completed or terminated interventional studies of FDA-regulated products, 65 (56%) have results posted.

Counted across the registry records on this site, refreshed daily.

04

Who can participate

Ages eligible
18 Years and older
Sexes eligible
All
Accepts healthy volunteers
No
Sampling method
Non-probability sample

Study population

All patients who were placed into a CAM walker boot for >2 weeks were prospectively enrolled. Patients were placed by an orthopedic cast technician into either a tall or short CAM walker boot, based upon the appropriate boot type needed for treatment. Those who subsequently reported wearing the boot for less than two weeks or had a treatment plan change were removed from the study.

Demographic information was gathered, including age, sex, race or ethnicity, body mass index (BMI), history of lower extremity or lower back injury, history of chronic pain (e.g. fibromyalgia, chronic opiate use, chronic regional pain syndrome), and cigarette smoking history. The diagnosis was recorded for which the CAM walker boot was required.

Go through the criteria one by one — yes, no or not sure — and take the list to your doctor or the study team. Kept in this browser only.

Inclusion criteria

  • All patients enrolled in the study must have an injury that requires wear of a CAM walking boot for at least two weeks and have ambulation ad libitum without other aids (e.g crutches, canes, scooters, wheelchairs, etc.).

Exclusion criteria

Exclusion Criteria:

  • Patients will be excluded from the study if they are a recent post-operative patient for lower extremity injury, have an additional acute injury to a lower extremity or back other than the foot or ankle injury being treated by the CAM walking boot at the time of initiation of treatment, have an ongoing or history of lower extremity joint injury, arthritis, or back pain or have restricted weightbearing as instructed by a physician (i.e. for ankle fracture that cannot weightbear).
05

Study design

Observational model
Cohort
Time perspective
Prospective
Enrollment
100 participants (actual)
Patient registry
No

Groups and cohorts

  • Duration of boot >2 weeks

    All patients who were placed into a CAM walker boot for \>2 weeks were prospectively enrolled. Patients were placed by an orthopedic cast technician into either a tall or short CAM walker boot, based upon the appropriate boot type needed for treatment. Inclusion criteria included anticipated boot wear for at least two weeks, and weightbearing as tolerated weightbearing restrictions. Exclusion criteria included transitioning into a CAM walker boot as part of a postoperative protocol, injury requiring restricted weightbearing, or an additional acute injury to the lower back or lower extremity. Those who subsequently reported wearing the boot for less than two weeks or had a treatment plan change were removed from the study.

06

What researchers measure

Primary outcomes

  1. The Presence and Severity of Secondary Site Pain

    The primary outcome was the presence of secondary site pain that developed or worsened during CAM walker boot wear. Surveys inquired about the presence of secondary site pain, defined as lower back, ipsilateral hip, contralateral hip, ipsilateral knee, contralateral knee, contralateral ankle, and contralateral foot. Severity of pain was assessed using a 100-point visual analog scale (VAS), with zero indicating no pain and 100 representing the worst pain imaginable.

    Time frame: At the time of transitioning out of the boot

07

Results

Posted Jan 18, 2019

Participant flow

Participant flow — Overall Study
MilestoneCAM Walker Boot for >2 Weeks
Started100
Completed46
Not completed54
Withdrew: Protocol violation15
Withdrew: Lost to follow-up36
Withdrew: Withdrawal by subject3

Outcome measures

PrimaryThe Presence and Severity of Secondary Site Pain

The primary outcome was the presence of secondary site pain that developed or worsened during CAM walker boot wear. Surveys inquired about the presence of secondary site pain, defined as lower back, ipsilateral hip, contralateral hip, ipsilateral knee, contralateral knee, contralateral ankle, and contralateral foot. Severity of pain was assessed using a 100-point visual analog scale (VAS), with zero indicating no pain and 100 representing the worst pain imaginable.

Time frame:
At the time of transitioning out of the boot
Reported as:
Count of participants · Participants
The Presence and Severity of Secondary Site Pain
ParticipantsDuration of CAM Walking Boot Wear >2 Weeks
The Presence and Severity of Secondary Site Pain31

Adverse events

Collected over Patients were followed until three months after transitioning out of the boot.. Non-serious events are listed at a 0% frequency threshold.

Adverse event summary by group
GroupDeathsSeriousOther
CAM Walker Boot for >2 Weeks0/46 (0%)0/46 (0%)0/46 (0%)

Baseline characteristics

Age, Continuous
Age, Continuous(years)CAM Walker Boot for >2 Weeks
Mean49 (22 to 77)
Sex: Female, Male
Sex: Female, Male(Participants)CAM Walker Boot for >2 Weeks
Female15
Male31
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)(Participants)CAM Walker Boot for >2 Weeks
Hispanic or Latino2
Not Hispanic or Latino42
Unknown or Not Reported2
Race (NIH/OMB)
Race (NIH/OMB)(Participants)CAM Walker Boot for >2 Weeks
American Indian or Alaska Native0
Asian1
Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander0
Black or African American2
White39
More than one race0
Unknown or Not Reported4
Region of Enrollment
Region of Enrollment(participants)CAM Walker Boot for >2 Weeks
United States46
Body Mass Index
Body Mass Index(participants)CAM Walker Boot for >2 Weeks
Normal (below 25)24
Overweight (25-30)10
Obese (above 30)12
Injury Type
Injury Type(Participants)CAM Walker Boot for >2 Weeks
Fracture17
Sprain7
Tendon Problem17
Other5
Secondary Site Pain
Secondary Site Pain(Participants)CAM Walker Boot for >2 Weeks
One or more secondary site pains27
No secondary site pains19

1 further baseline measures are reported on the registry.

08

Study locations

1 site
  • Brigham and Women's Hospital
    Boston, Massachusetts 02130, United States
09

References and documents

Individual participant data

Plan to share: No

No publications or documents are linked to this record.

10

Timeline

Tracking since Sep 25, 2026
ElapsedEstimatedEstimated, not yet reachedSimilar studies: half by the dot; the band is the middle halfHalf of similar studies reached it by the dot; the band is the middle half, from a quarter to three quarters

Ran from Mar 2015 to primary completion in Mar 2016, 11 months.

Results were first posted in Jan 2019, 2 years 10 months after primary completion.

Of 147 non-industry observational studies under Pain, half reached primary completion within 25 months of starting (the median), counting those still running; a quarter within 11 and three quarters within 71. This study's 11 months is below that.

Counting every sponsor, half of 154 studies reached it within 23 months; a quarter within 11 and three quarters within 71.

How these figures are worked out, and which studies are left out of them.

Registered
Oct 13, 2017
First posted
Oct 18, 2017
StartActual
Mar 19, 2015
Primary completionActual
Mar 18, 2016
CompletionActual
Mar 18, 2016
Results first posted
Jan 18, 2019
Last update
Jan 18, 2019
What these dates mean
Start.
When the first participant enrolled; while estimated, when the study expects to open to recruitment.
Primary completion.
When the last participant was examined or treated to collect data for the study's main question, its primary outcome. A study that stopped early gives the date its data collection stopped.
Completion.
When the last participant's last visit took place, for every outcome, secondary ones and side effects included: the end of the study. Often later than primary completion, sometimes the same day.
Actual and Est.
Actual means the registry says the date has happened. Est. (estimated) is a date the sponsor plans or expects. It can still move, and the sponsor is expected to change it to actual once it has passed.
No changes since tracking began. The registry record was last updated on Jan 18, 2019, before this site started recording changes on Sep 25, 2026. Its history is on ClinicalTrials.gov ↗
11

Registry details

Key details

Study ID
NCT03312933
Responsible party
Jeremy Smith (Jeremy T Smith, MD., Principal Investigator, Instructor, Harvard Medical School, Brigham and Women's Hospital) — Principal investigator
First posted
Oct 18, 2017
Start date
Mar 19, 2015
Primary completion
Mar 18, 2016
Completion
Mar 18, 2016
Results posted
Jan 18, 2019
Last update
Jan 18, 2019

Study contacts

Jeremy T Smith, MD
principal investigator · Brigham and Women's Hospital

Oversight

FDA-regulated drug
No
FDA-regulated device
No
View the source record on ClinicalTrials.gov ↗

Not currently enrolling

This study is completed, as verified in Aug 2018. You cannot join it, but the record below documents what was studied.

Follow this study

Get an email when the registry record changes — status, dates, results — or when someone posts here.

Sign in to follow

Discussion

Questions and observations about this study, from anyone following it. Not medical advice, and not a channel to the study team — their contact details are on the registry record.

Sign in to join the discussion. Reading takes no account; posting does. You choose a display name, and a pseudonym is the default.

Nothing here yet. If you are running this trial, taking part in it, or weighing whether to, this is the place to say so.

Start the discussion