CClinicalTrials.gg
CompletedNCT03264131Updated Jul 29, 2026Results posted

BV-CHEP Chemotherapy for Adult T-cell Leukemia or Lymphoma

A Phase 2 interventional study of Brentuximab Vedotin and CHEP in Lymphoma, Adult T-Cell Leukemia/Lymphoma and Lymphatic Diseases, sponsored by UNC Lineberger Comprehensive Cancer Center. Completed at 4 sites in United States. Open to participants aged 18 Years and older. Per ClinicalTrials.gov, last updated 2026-07-29.

Sponsored by UNC Lineberger Comprehensive Cancer Center · Phase 2, Interventional, and Treatment

Phase
Phase 2
Study type
Interventional
Enrollment
16
Allocation
Not applicable
Ages
18 Years and older
Sex
All
01

Study summary

Adult T-cell leukemia/lymphoma (ATLL) is a rare form of cancer found mostly among people from the Caribbean islands, Western Africa, Brazil, Iran, and Japan. Most cases of this disease in the United States occur along the East Coast due to emigration from the Caribbean islands. There is currently no standard treatment for ATLL. Research shows that patients who go into first time remission (respond completely or partially to treatment) and have a bone marrow transplant have the best outcomes. Traditional chemotherapy treatments have generally not worked well in patients with ATLL. Additionally, not all patients will be eligible for a bone marrow transplant.

The purpose of this study is to see how well individuals with ATLL respond to an investigational cancer treatment. This investigational treatment combines a drug called brentuximab vedotin with a standard chemotherapy treatment made up of cyclophosphamide, doxorubicin, etoposide, and prednisone. This treatment is considered investigational because it is not approved by the United States Food and Drug Administration (FDA) for the treatment of ATLL.

Brentuximab vedotin, also known as Adcetris, is approved by the United States Food and Drug Administration (FDA) for treatment of certain types of lymphomas, including peripheral T-cell lymphomas when combined with cyclophosphamide, doxorubicin, and prednisone in patients whose cancer cells express a type of marker called CD30.

Brentuximab vedotin is an antibody that also has a chemotherapy drug attached to it. Antibodies are proteins that are part of the immune system. They can stick to and attack specific targets on cancer cells. The antibody part of brentuximab vedotin sticks to a target called cluster of differentiation 30 (CD30) that is located on the outside of the cancer cells. Normal cells have little or no CD30 on their surface. ATLL cancer cells often have a larger amount of CD30 on their surface than normal cells. However, CD30 is found in different amounts on ATLL cancer cells. This study will also test the amount of CD30 found on each participant's cancer cells. Researchers will be looking to see if the response to the study treatment varies based on the amount of CD30 found on the outside participants' cancer cells.

In another study, brentuximab vedotin was combined in another study with cyclophosphamide, doxorubicin, and prednisone. The study included patients with various types of T-cell lymphomas. Two of the patients enrolled in that study had ATLL. Both had a complete response (no evidence of disease). The researchers in this study (LCCC 1637) have added etoposide to the combination of brentuximab vedotin with cyclophosphamide, doxorubicin, and prednisone. They predict that the addition of etoposide will improve patient outcomes. Research shows that etoposide helps improve outcomes in patients with certain types of T-cell lymphomas who undergo chemotherapy treatment. This investigational combination of brentuximab vedotin with cyclophosphamide, doxorubicin, etoposide, and prednisone is called BV-CHEP.

Read the detailed description

STUDY OBJECTIVES

Primary Objective To define the proportion of subjects with CR after 4-6 cycles of brentuximab vedotin in combination with cyclophosphamide, doxorubicin, etoposide, and prednisone (BV-CHEP) in the treatment of adult T-cell leukemia/lymphoma.

Secondary Objectives

To estimate the overall response rate (ORR) with 4-6 cycles of BV-CHEP therapy in patients with adult T-cell leukemia/lymphoma.

To determine progression-free survival (PFS) for BV-CHEP in patients with adult T-cell leukemia/lymphoma who received or did not receive BV maintenance.

To determine duration of response to BV-CHEP in patients with adult T-cell leukemia/lymphoma who received or did not receive BV maintenance.

To determine overall survival (OS) of patients with adult T-cell leukemia/lymphoma treated with BV-CHEP who received or did not receive BV maintenance therapy.

To evaluate the toxicity and tolerability of BV-CHEP and BV maintenance therapy via the National Cancer Institute Common Terminology Criteria for Adverse Events (NCI-CTCAE v4.03).

*Note: After completion or withdrawal from BV-CHEP therapy, patients will segregate into one of the following groups: 1) those who progressed on BV-CHEP; 2) those who completed 4-6 cycles of BV-CHEP and went on to allogeneic transplant; 3) those who completed 6 cycles of BV-CHEP but were CD30 negative and ineligible for maintenance therapy; and 4) those who completed 6 cycles of BV-CHEP, were CD30 positive, but continued study treatment on BV in the maintenance phase of the study.

ENDPOINTS

Primary Endpoint

Criteria for CR after 4-6 cycles of BV-CHEP will be based on the International Workshop to standardize response criteria for malignant lymphomas (ie, Lugano Criteria per Cheson, et al. J Clin Oncol. 2014;32(27):3059-68).

Secondary Endpoints

Criteria for overall response will be based on the International Workshop to standardize response criteria for malignant lymphomas (ie, Lugano Criteria per Cheson, et al. J Clin Oncol. 2014;32(27):3059-68).

PFS is defined as time from D1 of treatment until disease progression (based on Lugano criteria) or death from any cause.

Duration of response is defined as the time from documentation of tumor response per Lugano criteria to disease progression

OS is defined as the time from D1 of treatment until death from any cause

Toxicity and tolerability of therapy will be assessed via the NCI CTCAE v4.03

TREATMENT INFORMATION

Patients will undergo screening to see if they are eligible. If eligible, participants will start by receiving 2 cycles of BV-CHEP (cycles 1 and 2). After 2 cycles of BV-CHEP, participants will have a positron emission tomography/computed tomography (PET/CT) or a CT scan to assess their disease. If the scan shows the cancer has stayed the same or gotten better, participants may continue taking BV-CHEP for two more cycles (cycle 3 and 4). If, at any time during study treatment, a participant's disease gets worse, the participant will end study treatment and other treatment options will be discussed with you.

If a participant continues on BV-CHEP, at the beginning of cycle 5, the participant will have a PET/CT scan. If the cancer has gotten better and the participant is eligible for a bone marrow transplant, he/she will have the transplant. If the participant is not eligible for a bone marrow transplant and the cancer has stayed the same or gotten better, the participant may continue on BV-CHEP for two more cycles (cycles 5 and 6).

At the end of cycle 6 of BV-CHEP, participants will have another PET/CT scan. If the scan shows the cancer has gotten better and the participant is eligible for a bone marrow transplant, he/she will have the transplant. If a participant is not eligible for a bone marrow transplant and his/her cancer cells did not test positive for CD30, the participant will end study treatment. The study doctor will discuss other treatment options that are not part of this study with the participant.

Participants may continue on brentuximab vedotin alone as maintenance therapy if:

  • They are not eligible for a bone marrow transplant,
  • Their cancer cells tested positive for CD30, and
  • Their cancer has not gotten worse after taking BV-CHEP.

Participants will be removed from BV maintenance therapy if their cancer get worse.

DURATION OF THERAPY Therapy in LCCC 1637 involves up to 6 cycles of treatment with brentuximab vedotin (BV) with a chemotherapy treatment made up of cyclophosphamide, doxorubicin, etoposide, and prednisone (CHEP). Each cycle is 21 days long. Participants may continue on BV alone as maintenance therapy after 6 cycles of BV-CHEP if they meet the requirements outlined above. Each cycles of BV maintenance therapy is 21-day long. BV maintenance therapy may continue until a participant's disease progresses.

DURATION OF FOLLOW-UP PERIOD Participants will be followed for survival for up to 5 years. They will also have a PET/CT or CT scan and a blood test every 6 months for 2 years after study treatment ends.

02

Conditions studied

  • Lymphoma
  • Adult T-Cell Leukemia/Lymphoma
  • Lymphatic Diseases

Keywords

  • Brentuximab Vedotin
  • Adcetris
  • Lymphoma
  • Leukemia
  • CD30
03

Who can participate

Ages eligible
18 Years and older
Sexes eligible
All
Accepts healthy volunteers
No

Inclusion criteria

Subjects must meet all of the following inclusion criteria to participate in this study:

  1. Informed consent and HIPAA authorization for release of personal health information obtained.
  2. Age ≥ 18 years at the time of consent.
  3. Eastern Cooperative Oncology Group (ECOG) Performance Status of 0-2.
  4. Histological confirmation of biopsy-proven peripheral T-cell leukemia/lymphoma consistent with ATLL

    • Included subtypes will be: acute, lymphomatous, and chronic unfavorable. Chronic unfavorable is defined as the chronic variant with at least one of the following: lactate dehydrogenase (LDH)>upper limit of normal (ULN), blood urea nitrogen (BUN)>ULN, Albumin\<lower limit of normal (LLN)
    • Positive human T-lymphotropic virus-1 (HTLV-1) antibody testing with confirmatory testing via Western blot, enzyme-linked immunosorbent assay (ELISA), or molecular testing (PCR).
  5. Documented negative serologic testing for human immunodeficiency virus (HIV).
  6. If positive for HBV exposure or prior infection, can continue to participate in trial with prophylactic entecavir (for HBV). If positive for hepatitis c virus (HCV) exposure or active infection, can participate in trial with monitoring for liver function abnormalities.
  7. Demonstrate adequate organ function as defined below; all screening labs to be obtained within three days prior to study treatment.

    System: Renal -Calculated creatinine clearance

    Laboratory Value: ≥ 30 mL/min using the Cockcroft-Gault formula for subjects with creatinine levels > 2.0 x institutional ULN

    System: Hepatic - Bilirubin

    Laboratory Value: ≤ 3.0 mg/dL

    System: Hepatic - Aspartate aminotransferase (AST)

    Laboratory Value: ≤ 2.5 × ULN

    System: Hepatic - Alanine aminotransferase (ALT)

    Laboratory Value: ≤ 2.5 × ULN

  8. Females of childbearing potential must have a negative serum pregnancy test within three days (72 hours) prior to initiating study treatment. NOTE: Females are considered of child bearing potential unless they are surgically sterile (have undergone a hysterectomy, bilateral tubal ligation, or bilateral oophorectomy) or they are naturally postmenopausal for at least 12 consecutive months.
  9. Females of childbearing potential must be willing to abstain from heterosexual activity or to use 2 forms of effective methods of contraception from the time of informed consent until 24 weeks (6 months) after treatment discontinuation. The two contraception methods can be comprised of two barrier methods, or a barrier method plus a hormonal method or an intrauterine device that meets \<1% failure rate for protection from pregnancy in the product label.
  10. Male patients with female partners must have had a prior vasectomy or agree to use an adequate method of contraception (i.e., double barrier method: condom plus spermicidal agent) starting with the first dose of study therapy through 24 weeks (6 months) after the last dose of study therapy.
  11. As determined by the enrolling physician or protocol designee, willingness and ability of the subject to understand and comply with study procedures
  12. Prior Treatment: Previously untreated or has received a maximum of one cycle of any combination chemotherapy (e.g. cyclophosphamide, doxorubicin, vincristine, prednisone (CHOP), CHOEP, DA-EPOCH, doxorubicin, cyclophosphamide, cytarabine, vincristine, methotrexate/Etoposide, ifosfamide, cytarabine, methotrexate (CODOX-M/IVAC), HyperCVAD) within 4 weeks of signing the main consent form. Additionally, a patient may have taken antiretroviral therapy (e.g. azidothymidine (AZT) and/or IFN) at any time prior to study enrollment
  13. CD30 expression determined by flow cytometry or IHC. NOTE: If CD30 testing was previously done on the biopsy sample from diagnosis, this information will be collected. If CD30 testing was not done, an archival sample from the biopsy used for diagnosis will be requested and tested for CD30. CD30 testing will also be done on the bone marrow tissue collected from the bone marrow exam. If we are unable to obtain an archival sample or if the bone marrow exam is negative, a new biopsy will be performed to confirm the diagnosis and test for CD30.

Exclusion criteria

Exclusion Criteria:

Subjects who meet any of the following criteria should be excluded from study participation:

  1. Pregnant or breastfeeding (NOTE: breast milk cannot be stored for future use while the mother is being treated on study).
  2. Has a known additional malignancy that is active and/or progressive requiring treatment; exceptions include basal cell or squamous cell skin cancer, in situ cervical or bladder cancer, or other cancer for which the subject has been disease-free for at least five years.
  3. Previous exposure to brentuximab vedotin (BV).
  4. History of allergic response to BV-CHEP or its components or to any of the required prophylactic medications or reasonable alternatives.
  5. Symptomatic cardiac disease including ventricular dysfunction, left ventricular ejection fraction \< 40%, symptomatic coronary artery disease or symptomatic arrhythmias
  6. Subjects with severe hepatic insufficiency Child-Pugh Score > 6
  7. Subjects with severe renal impairment (i.e., creatinine clearance ≤ 30 mL/min; see Appendix B - Renal Impairment Guidelines).
  8. Exclude patients with pre-existing neuropathy grade 2 or higher.
  9. Patients receiving prohibited medications listed in the patient handout provided in 11.4 Appendix D: Prohibited Medications or Those to be used with Caution (ie, ketoconazole, itraconazole, ritonavir, macrolide antibiotics, erythromycin phenytoin, phenobarbital, carbamazepine, and valproic acid).
  10. Patients with a parenchymal brain lesion thought to be consistent with active lymphoma on screening CT/MRI. Of note, patients with cerebrospinal fluid (CSF) involvement alone are not excluded.
04

Study design

Phase
Phase 2
Primary purpose
Treatment
Allocation
Not applicable
Intervention model
Single group
Masking
None (open label)
Enrollment
16 participants (actual)

Study arms

  • Experimental
    Open-label, Multicenter, Single-Arm

    This is a single-arm intervention where patients will receive concurrent therapy with BV+CHEP \[(brentuximab vedotin; 1.8 mg/kg IV, on D1 every 21 days) (cyclophosphamide 750 mg/m\^2 on D1; doxorubicin 50 mg/m\^2 on D1, etoposide 100 mg/m\^2 IV infusion on D1-3; prednisone 100 mg orally once daily on D1-5; cycle length every 21 days)\] for 2 to 6 cycles of induction therapy. After 6 cycles of BV + CHEP, responders (CR, PR or SD) who are not eligible for BMT and have CD30-positive ATLL will continue maintenance therapy with BV alone (1.8 mg/kg IV, every 21 days) until disease progression, withdrawal due to toxicity or death.

    Drug: Brentuximab Vedotin · Drug: CHEP

Interventions

  • DrugBrentuximab Vedotin

    Brentuximab Vedotin will be given at 1.8 mg/kg IV over approximately 30 minutes on D1 every 21 days for 2-6 cycles. Responders (CR, PR or SD) who are not eligible for bone marrow transplant (BMT) and have CD30-positive ATLL will continue maintenance therapy with BV alone (1.8 mg/kg IV for approximately 30 minutes, every 21 days).

  • DrugCHEP

    Cyclophosphamide- 750 mg/m\^2 IV over approximately 1 hour on D1 every 21 days for 2-6 cycles Doxorubicin- 50 mg/m\^2 IV over approximately 3-5 minutes on D1 every 21 days for 2-6 cycles. Etoposide - 100 mg/m\^2 IV over approximately 1 hour each day for 3 days every 21 days for 2-6 cycles. Prednisone - 100 mg, orally once daily for 5 days every 21 days for 2-6 cycles.

05

What researchers measure

Primary outcomes

  1. Complete Response Rate After 2-6 Cycles of Brentuximab Vedotin in Combination With Cyclophosphamide, Doxorubicin, Etoposide, and Prednisone (BV-CHEP)

    The response was assessed based on the International Workshop to standardize response criteria for malignant lymphomas (i.e., Lugano Criteria per Cheson, et al. J Clin Oncol. 2014;32(27):3059-68; Complete Response: Positron emission tomography (PET): Complete metabolic response Computerized tomography (CT): Target must regress to ≤ 1.5 cm in the largest transverse diameter (LDi) or no extra lymphatic sites of disease. Partial Response: PET: reduced uptake compared with baseline, and CT: ≥50% decrease in the sum of the products of diameters (SPD).No Response or Stable Disease: No metabolic response on PET or \< 50% decrease from baseline in SPD of up to 6 dominant, measurable nodes and extra nodal sites on CT. Progressive Disease: PET: Score 4 or 5 with an increase in the intensity of uptake or CT: an individual node/lesion must be abnormal with LDi \> 1.5 cm, increase by ≥ 50% from the cross product of the LDi and shortest axis perpendicular to LDi (SDi).

    Time frame: 18 weeks

Secondary outcomes

  1. Overall Response Rate (ORR) Associated With 2-6 Cycles of BV-CHEP Therapy in Patients With Adult T-Cell Leukemia/Lymphoma.

    ORR will be evaluated as the rate of complete responses (CR) + partial responses (PR) as defined by the International Workshop to standardize response criteria for malignant lymphomas (i.e. Lugano Criteria). Patients with leukemic component to their disease at baseline will be assessed per Adult T-Cell Leukemia/Lymphoma National Comprehensive Cancer Network (NCCN) guidelines version 2.2017

    Time frame: Up to 24 months

  2. Progression-free Survival (PFS) for BV-CHEP in Patients With Adult T-cell Leukemia/Lymphoma

    PFS is assessed from day 1 of treatment until disease progression (based on International Workshop to standardize response criteria for malignant lymphomas (i.e. Lugano Criteria) or death. Progression Free Survival (PFS) is calculated from the date of randomization to the date of progression or the date of death from any cause. The median PFS is estimated using the Kaplan-Meier method. The Measure of Dispersion reported is the Full Range, representing the minimum and maximum observed follow-up time (whether censored or event occurred) for all participants in this group.

    Time frame: Up to 15.2 months

  3. Duration of Response to BV-CHEP in Patients With Adult T-cell Leukemia/Lymphoma

    Duration of response is defined as the time from documentation of tumor response per Lugano criteria to disease progression. Subjects with a leukemic component to their disease at baseline will have peripheral blood assessed per adult T-cell leukemia/lymphoma NCCN Guidelines version 2.2017

    Time frame: Up to 24 months

  4. Overall Survival (OS) of Patients With Adult T-cell Leukemia/Lymphoma Treated With BV-CHEP Who Received or Did Not Receive BV Maintenance Therapy.

    Overall survival is defined as the time from date of randomization until death from any cause. The median OS is estimated using the Kaplan-Meier method. The Measure of Dispersion reported is the Full Range, representing the minimum and maximum observed follow-up time (whether censored or event occurred) for all participants in this group. BV maintenance was not reported because only one patient received it, and only for a limited number of dose.

    Time frame: Up to 68 months

  5. BV-CHEP and BV Maintenance Therapy-Attributed Grade ≥3 Adverse Events Per National Cancer Institute Common Terminology Criteria for Adverse Events (NCI-CTCAE v4)

    Toxicity and tolerability of therapy will be assessed via the NCI CTCAE v4.03, a scale from 1-mild to 5-death.Only treatment-attributed Grade ≥3 adverse events were included.

    Time frame: Up to 24 months

  6. Progression-free Survival (PFS) for BV Maintenance

    PFS will be measured from day 1 of treatment to disease progression (per the Lugano Criteria) or death. BV maintenance was minimal, with only one patient receiving a limited number of doses. The single analyzed participant experienced disease progression during the study period. Number of participant showed no progression is reported.

    Time frame: Up to Day 309

06

Results

Posted Feb 10, 2025

Participant flow

Participants were enrolled in the study between 10/11/2018 - 06/22/2022 at four cancer centers in the United States.

Participant flow — Overall Study
MilestoneOpen-label, Multicenter, Single-Arm
Started16
Completed16
Not completed0

Outcome measures

PrimaryComplete Response Rate After 2-6 Cycles of Brentuximab Vedotin in Combination With Cyclophosphamide, Doxorubicin, Etoposide, and Prednisone (BV-CHEP)

The response was assessed based on the International Workshop to standardize response criteria for malignant lymphomas (i.e., Lugano Criteria per Cheson, et al. J Clin Oncol. 2014;32(27):3059-68; Complete Response: Positron emission tomography (PET): Complete metabolic response Computerized tomography (CT): Target must regress to ≤ 1.5 cm in the largest transverse diameter (LDi) or no extra lymphatic sites of disease. Partial Response: PET: reduced uptake compared with baseline, and CT: ≥50% decrease in the sum of the products of diameters (SPD).No Response or Stable Disease: No metabolic response on PET or \< 50% decrease from baseline in SPD of up to 6 dominant, measurable nodes and extra nodal sites on CT. Progressive Disease: PET: Score 4 or 5 with an increase in the intensity of uptake or CT: an individual node/lesion must be abnormal with LDi \> 1.5 cm, increase by ≥ 50% from the cross product of the LDi and shortest axis perpendicular to LDi (SDi).

Time frame:
18 weeks
Reported as:
Count of participants · Participants
Complete Response Rate After 2-6 Cycles of Brentuximab Vedotin in Combination With Cyclophosphamide, Doxorubicin, Etoposide, and Prednisone (BV-CHEP)
ParticipantsOpen-label, Multicenter, Single-Arm
Complete Response10
Partial Response4
Progressive Disease2
SecondaryOverall Response Rate (ORR) Associated With 2-6 Cycles of BV-CHEP Therapy in Patients With Adult T-Cell Leukemia/Lymphoma.

ORR will be evaluated as the rate of complete responses (CR) + partial responses (PR) as defined by the International Workshop to standardize response criteria for malignant lymphomas (i.e. Lugano Criteria). Patients with leukemic component to their disease at baseline will be assessed per Adult T-Cell Leukemia/Lymphoma National Comprehensive Cancer Network (NCCN) guidelines version 2.2017

Time frame:
Up to 24 months
Reported as:
Count of participants · Participants
Overall Response Rate (ORR) Associated With 2-6 Cycles of BV-CHEP Therapy in Patients With Adult T-Cell Leukemia/Lymphoma.
ParticipantsOpen-label, Multicenter, Single-Arm
Overall Response Rate (ORR) Associated With 2-6 Cycles of BV-CHEP Therapy in Patients With Adult T-Cell Leukemia/Lymphoma.14
SecondaryProgression-free Survival (PFS) for BV-CHEP in Patients With Adult T-cell Leukemia/Lymphoma

PFS is assessed from day 1 of treatment until disease progression (based on International Workshop to standardize response criteria for malignant lymphomas (i.e. Lugano Criteria) or death. Progression Free Survival (PFS) is calculated from the date of randomization to the date of progression or the date of death from any cause. The median PFS is estimated using the Kaplan-Meier method. The Measure of Dispersion reported is the Full Range, representing the minimum and maximum observed follow-up time (whether censored or event occurred) for all participants in this group.

Time frame:
Up to 15.2 months
Reported as:
Median · months
Progression-free Survival (PFS) for BV-CHEP in Patients With Adult T-cell Leukemia/Lymphoma
monthsOpen-label, Multicenter, Single-Arm
Progression-free Survival (PFS) for BV-CHEP in Patients With Adult T-cell Leukemia/Lymphoma7.11 (0.7 to 15.2)
SecondaryDuration of Response to BV-CHEP in Patients With Adult T-cell Leukemia/Lymphoma

Duration of response is defined as the time from documentation of tumor response per Lugano criteria to disease progression. Subjects with a leukemic component to their disease at baseline will have peripheral blood assessed per adult T-cell leukemia/lymphoma NCCN Guidelines version 2.2017

Time frame:
Up to 24 months
Reported as:
Median · months
Duration of Response to BV-CHEP in Patients With Adult T-cell Leukemia/Lymphoma
monthsOpen-label, Multicenter, Single-Arm
Duration of Response to BV-CHEP in Patients With Adult T-cell Leukemia/Lymphoma3.84 (0.76 to 12.46)
SecondaryOverall Survival (OS) of Patients With Adult T-cell Leukemia/Lymphoma Treated With BV-CHEP Who Received or Did Not Receive BV Maintenance Therapy.

Overall survival is defined as the time from date of randomization until death from any cause. The median OS is estimated using the Kaplan-Meier method. The Measure of Dispersion reported is the Full Range, representing the minimum and maximum observed follow-up time (whether censored or event occurred) for all participants in this group. BV maintenance was not reported because only one patient received it, and only for a limited number of dose.

Time frame:
Up to 68 months
Reported as:
Median · months
Overall Survival (OS) of Patients With Adult T-cell Leukemia/Lymphoma Treated With BV-CHEP Who Received or Did Not Receive BV Maintenance Therapy.
monthsOpen-label, Multicenter, Single-Arm
Overall Survival (OS) of Patients With Adult T-cell Leukemia/Lymphoma Treated With BV-CHEP Who Received or Did Not Receive BV Maintenance Therapy.15.7 (3.3 to 68)
SecondaryBV-CHEP and BV Maintenance Therapy-Attributed Grade ≥3 Adverse Events Per National Cancer Institute Common Terminology Criteria for Adverse Events (NCI-CTCAE v4)

Toxicity and tolerability of therapy will be assessed via the NCI CTCAE v4.03, a scale from 1-mild to 5-death.Only treatment-attributed Grade ≥3 adverse events were included.

Time frame:
Up to 24 months
Reported as:
Count of participants · Participants
BV-CHEP and BV Maintenance Therapy-Attributed Grade ≥3 Adverse Events Per National Cancer Institute Common Terminology Criteria for Adverse Events (NCI-CTCAE v4)
ParticipantsOpen-label, Multicenter, Single-Arm
Anemia7
Febrile neutropenia6
Abdominal pain1
Esophagitis1
Mucositis oral3
Nausea1
Typhlitis1
Vomiting1
colitis1
Lymphocyte count decreased3
Neutrophil count decreased5
Platelet count decreased4
White blood cell decreased5
Hypokalemia1
Hyponatremia1
Dyspnea1
Sore throat1
Hypotension1
SecondaryProgression-free Survival (PFS) for BV Maintenance

PFS will be measured from day 1 of treatment to disease progression (per the Lugano Criteria) or death. BV maintenance was minimal, with only one patient receiving a limited number of doses. The single analyzed participant experienced disease progression during the study period. Number of participant showed no progression is reported.

Time frame:
Up to Day 309
Reported as:
Count of participants · Participants
Progression-free Survival (PFS) for BV Maintenance
ParticipantsOpen-label, Multicenter, Single-Arm
Progression-free Survival (PFS) for BV Maintenance0

Adverse events

Collected over Adverse events were collected from day one of the study drug administration to 30 days after completion of treatment. (Up to 68 months).. Non-serious events are listed at a 0% frequency threshold.

Adverse event summary by group
GroupDeathsSeriousOther
Open-label, Multicenter, Single-Arm12/16 (75%)7/16 (43.8%)9/16 (56.3%)
Most frequent serious events
Showing 10 of 17
Most frequent serious events
EventOpen-label, Multicenter, Single-Arm
Febrile neutropeniaBlood and lymphatic system disorders2/16
General disorders and administration site conditions - Other, specifyGeneral disorders2/16
Infections and infestations - Other, specifyInfections and infestations2/16
Hearing impairedEar and labyrinth disorders1/16
Eye painEye disorders1/16
ConstipationGastrointestinal disorders1/16
Mucositis oralGastrointestinal disorders1/16
TyphlitisGastrointestinal disorders1/16
VomitingGastrointestinal disorders1/16
FatigueGeneral disorders1/16
Most frequent other events
Showing 10 of 77
Most frequent other events
EventOpen-label, Multicenter, Single-Arm
AnemiaBlood and lymphatic system disorders7/16
NauseaGastrointestinal disorders7/16
Mucositis oralGastrointestinal disorders6/16
ChillsGeneral disorders6/16
HeadacheNervous system disorders6/16
Abdominal painGastrointestinal disorders5/16
DiarrheaGastrointestinal disorders5/16
DizzinessNervous system disorders5/16
FatigueGeneral disorders4/16
Investigations - Other, specifyInvestigations4/16

Baseline characteristics

Participants consented and started the study.

Age, Continuous
Age, Continuous(years)Open-label, Multicenter, Single-Arm
Median56 (43.75 to 65.50)
Sex: Female, Male
Sex: Female, Male(Participants)Open-label, Multicenter, Single-Arm
Female12
Male4
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)(Participants)Open-label, Multicenter, Single-Arm
Hispanic or Latino1
Not Hispanic or Latino15
Unknown or Not Reported0
Race (NIH/OMB)
Race (NIH/OMB)(Participants)Open-label, Multicenter, Single-Arm
American Indian or Alaska Native0
Asian1
Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander0
Black or African American14
White0
More than one race0
Unknown or Not Reported1
Region of Enrollment
Region of Enrollment(participants)Open-label, Multicenter, Single-Arm
United States16
07

Study locations

4 sites
  • South Broward/Memorial Healthcare System
    Hollywood, Florida 33021, United States
  • Boston Medical Center
    Boston, Massachusetts 02118, United States
  • Beth Israel Deaconess Medical Center (BIDMC)
    Boston, Massachusetts 02215, United States
  • Lineberger Comprehensive Cancer Center at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
    Chapel Hill, North Carolina 27599, United States
08

References and documents

Study documents

  • Protocol and statistical analysis plan · Jul 12, 2024

Documents are hosted by the registry — open the source record to download them.

09

Registry details

Key details

Study ID
NCT03264131
Lead sponsor
UNC Lineberger Comprehensive Cancer Center
Collaborators
Seagen Inc.
Responsible party
Sponsor
First posted
Aug 28, 2017
Start date
Oct 11, 2018
Primary completion
Dec 15, 2023
Completion
Dec 15, 2025
Results posted
Feb 10, 2025
Last update
Jul 29, 2026

Study contacts

Dittus Christopher, DO, MPH
principal investigator · UNC Lineberger Comprehensive Cancer Center

Oversight

Data monitoring committee
Yes
FDA-regulated drug
Yes
FDA-regulated device
No
View the source record on ClinicalTrials.gov ↗

Not currently enrolling

This study is completed, as verified in Jun 2026. You cannot join it, but the record below documents what was studied.

Follow this study

Get an email when the registry record changes — status, dates, results — or when someone posts here.

Sign in to follow

Discussion

Questions and observations about this study, from anyone following it. Not medical advice, and not a channel to the study team — their contact details are on the registry record.

Sign in to join the discussion. Reading takes no account; posting does. You choose a display name, and a pseudonym is the default.

Nothing here yet. If you are running this trial, taking part in it, or weighing whether to, this is the place to say so.

Start the discussion