A Phase 2 interventional study of Ruxolitinib and Navitoclax in Myelofibrosis (MF), sponsored by AbbVie. Completed at 91 sites in 14 countries. Open to participants aged 18 Years and older. Per ClinicalTrials.gov, last updated 2026-01-20.
Sponsored by AbbVie · Phase 2, Interventional, and Treatment
This is a Phase 2 open-label, multicenter study evaluating tolerability and efficacy of navitoclax alone or when added to ruxolitinib in participants with myelofibrosis.
418 studies on the registry are indexed under Primary Myelofibrosis; 116 are open to participants now.
This study's enrollment of 191 is above the median of 44 across 347 interventional studies indexed under Primary Myelofibrosis.
Browse Primary Myelofibrosis studies →AbbVie is the lead sponsor of 953 studies on the registry; 136 are open to participants now.
Of its 350 completed or terminated interventional studies of FDA-regulated products, 210 (60%) have results posted.
Counted across the registry records on this site, refreshed daily.
Prior treatment must meet at least one of the following criteria:
Prior or current treatment with ruxolitinib and no prior treatment with a Bromodomain and Extra-Terminal motif (BET) proteins inhibitor or another Janus Kinase 2 (JAK-2) inhibitor, and meet all of the following criteria:
Ruxolitinib treatment must meet at least one of the following criteria:
Prior treatment with a JAK-2 inhibitor and meet one of the following criteria:
Exclusion Criteria:
Participants must have received ruxolitinib for at least 12 weeks and on stable dose of ≥10 mg tablets orally twice daily (BID) for ≥8 weeks prior to the 1st dose of navitoclax. Navitoclax tablets are administered once daily (QD) at a starting dose of 50 mg. This was increased after approximately ≥7 days to next dose level if platelet count is ≥75 × 10\^9/L up to a maximum dose of navitoclax 300 mg QD. Participants continued their treatment until the end of clinical benefit, unacceptable toxicity, or they met other protocol criteria for discontinuation (whichever occurred first).
Drug: Ruxolitinib · Drug: Navitoclax
Those receiving ruxolitinib at Screening must be on a stable dose ≥10 mg tablets orally twice daily (BID) for ≥ 4 weeks prior to 1st dose of navitoclax. Those not receiving ruxolitinib at Screening received 10 mg ruxolitinib BID starting on Day 1. Navitoclax tablets were administered orally once daily (QD) per Baseline platelet count (\>150 × 10\^9/L starting dose of 200 mg; ≤150 × 10\^9/L starting dose of 100 mg, which could be increased to 200 mg QD after 7 days provided platelet count is ≥75 × 10\^9/L). Navitoclax didn't exceed 200 mg QD for first 24 weeks of treatment. After Week 24 disease assessment, navitoclax dose was increased to 300 mg QD at discretion of the Investigator for those with suboptimal spleen response defined as failure to achieve spleen volume reduction of at least 10% per imaging. Participants continued their treatment until the end of clinical benefit, unacceptable toxicity, or they met other protocol criteria for discontinuation (whichever occurred first).
Drug: Ruxolitinib · Drug: Navitoclax
Participants must have received prior treatment with a Janus Kinase 2 (JAK-2) inhibitor. Those with Baseline platelet count \>150 × 10\^9/L initiated navitoclax film-coated tablets orally once daily (QD) at the starting dose of 200 mg. Those with a Baseline platelet count ≤150 × 10\^9/L initiated navitoclax film-coated tablets orally once daily (QD) at the starting dose of 100 mg, which could be increased to 200 mg once daily after 7 days provided the platelet count is ≥75 × 10\^9/L. Navitoclax didn't exceed 200 mg QD for the first 24 weeks of treatment. After Week 24 disease assessment, navitoclax dose may be increased to 300 mg QD at discretion of the Investigator for those with suboptimal spleen response defined as failure to achieve spleen volume reduction of at least 10% per imaging. Participants continued their treatment until the end of clinical benefit, unacceptable toxicity, or they met other protocol criteria for discontinuation (whichever occurred first).
Drug: Navitoclax
Prior treatment with a Janus Kinase 2 (JAK-2) or Bromodomain and Extra-Terminal motif (BET) proteins inhibitor was prohibited. Ruxolitinib tablets administered orally twice daily (BID) based on Baseline platelet count as per the local approved label. Navitoclax tablets were administered orally once daily (QD) per Baseline platelet count (\>150 × 10\^9/L starting dose of 200 mg; ≤150 × 10\^9/L starting dose of 100 mg, which could be increased to 200 mg QD after 7 days provided platelet count is ≥75 × 10\^9/L). Navitoclax didn't exceed 200 mg QD for first 24 weeks of treatment. After Week 24 disease assessment, navitoclax dose may be increased to 300 mg QD at discretion of Investigator for those with suboptimal spleen response defined as failure to achieve spleen volume reduction of at least 10% per imaging. Participants continued their treatment until the end of clinical benefit, unacceptable toxicity, or they met other protocol criteria for discontinuation (whichever occurred first).
Drug: Ruxolitinib · Drug: Navitoclax
Tablet; Oral
Also known as: Jakafi
Film-coated tablet; Oral
Also known as: ABT-263
Percentage of Participants With ≥ 35% Reduction From Baseline in Spleen Volume at Week 24
Reduction in spleen volume is measured by magnetic resonance imaging/computerized tomography (MRI/CT).
Time frame: Baseline, Week 24
Percentage of Participants Achieving ≥ 50% Reduction From Baseline in Total System Score (TSS) at Week 24
TSS is assessed by the Myelofibrosis Symptom Assessment Form (MFSAF) version 4.0. Participants complete a symptom diary and rate the following seven MF symptoms: fatigue, night sweats, abdominal discomfort, pruritus, pain under the ribs on the left side, early satiety, and bone pain daily using a scale from 0 (absent) to 10 (worst imaginable), and the scores are averaged over 7 days, with a minimum of 4 days required to calculate the average score. Participants for whom a valid average score cannot be calculated either at baseline or post-baseline are considered non-responders. The TSS reflects the sum of the scores of these symptoms, for a maximum possible score of 70 (i.e., most severe symptom experience).
Time frame: Baseline, Week 24
Percentage of Participants Achieving Anemia Response
For a participant who is transfusion independent (TI) at Baseline with hemoglobin value \< 10 g/dL, anemia response is achieved if the post-Baseline hemoglobin level increases by ≥2 g/dL without receiving packed red blood cells (PRBC) transfusion (for any reason) within 2 weeks and without any erythropoietin or mimetics within the last 4 weeks prior to the increase in hemoglobin level by ≥2g/dL was observed. Hemoglobin values more than 30 days after the last dose of study treatment or after the start of post-study treatment or disease progression, whichever is earlier, will not be considered in the analysis of anemia response. For a participant who is transfusion dependent (TD) at Baseline, anemia response is defined as a period of at least 12 consecutive weeks without PRBC transfusion at any time after the first dose of study drug and on or prior to 30 days post last dose of study drug, the start of post-study treatment, disease progression or death, whichever occurs earlier.
Time frame: Up to 254 weeks
Percentage of Participants With ≥ 1 Grade Reduction From Baseline in Fibrosis Grade At Any Time
Bone marrow grading is assessed according to the European Consensus Grading System. The 4-point grading scale ranges from MF-0, which corresponds to normal bone marrow, to MF-3, diffuse and dense increase in reticulin with extensive intersections with coarse bundles of collagen, often associated with significant osteosclerosis.
Time frame: Up to 254 weeks
Time to First Reduction in Fibrosis Grade
Grade of bone marrow fibrosis was assessed by investigators according to the European Consensus Grading System. The 4-point grading scale ranges from MF-0, which corresponds to normal bone marrow, to MF-3, diffuse and dense increase in reticulin with extensive intersections with coarse bundles of collagen, often associated with significant osteosclerosis. The time to first achieving a reduction of at least 1 grade in bone marrow fibrosis from Baseline was summarized.
Time frame: Up to 254 weeks
This trial was conducted at 57 sites in 13 countries./territories.
| Milestone | Navitoclax + Ruxolitinib (Cohort 1a) | Navitoclax + Ruxolitinib (Cohort 1b) | Navitoclax (Cohort 2) | Navitoclax + Ruxolitinib (Cohort 3) |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Started | 34 | 91 | 34 | 32 |
| Completed | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Not completed | 34 | 91 | 34 | 32 |
| Withdrew: Withdrew consent | 3 | 9 | 4 | 2 |
| Withdrew: Lost to follow-up | 2 | 2 | 1 | 0 |
| Withdrew: Death | 20 | 38 | 18 | 10 |
| Withdrew: Other, not specified | 9 | 42 | 11 | 20 |
Reduction in spleen volume is measured by magnetic resonance imaging/computerized tomography (MRI/CT).
| percentage of participants | Navitoclax + Ruxolitinib (Cohort 1a) | Navitoclax + Ruxolitinib (Cohort 1b) | Navitoclax (Cohort 2) | Navitoclax + Ruxolitinib (Cohort 3) |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Percentage of Participants With ≥ 35% Reduction From Baseline in Spleen Volume at Week 24 | 26.47 (12.88 to 44.36) | 21.98 (13.97 to 31.88) | 11.76 (3.30 to 27.45) | 62.50 (43.69 to 78.90) |
TSS is assessed by the Myelofibrosis Symptom Assessment Form (MFSAF) version 4.0. Participants complete a symptom diary and rate the following seven MF symptoms: fatigue, night sweats, abdominal discomfort, pruritus, pain under the ribs on the left side, early satiety, and bone pain daily using a scale from 0 (absent) to 10 (worst imaginable), and the scores are averaged over 7 days, with a minimum of 4 days required to calculate the average score. Participants for whom a valid average score cannot be calculated either at baseline or post-baseline are considered non-responders. The TSS reflects the sum of the scores of these symptoms, for a maximum possible score of 70 (i.e., most severe symptom experience).
| percentage of participants | Navitoclax + Ruxolitinib (Cohort 1a) | Navitoclax + Ruxolitinib (Cohort 1b) | Navitoclax (Cohort 2) | Navitoclax + Ruxolitinib (Cohort 3) |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Percentage of Participants Achieving ≥ 50% Reduction From Baseline in Total System Score (TSS) at Week 24 | 20.59 (8.70 to 37.90) | 25.27 (16.75 to 35.47) | 8.82 (1.86 to 23.68) | 34.38 (18.57 to 53.19) |
For a participant who is transfusion independent (TI) at Baseline with hemoglobin value \< 10 g/dL, anemia response is achieved if the post-Baseline hemoglobin level increases by ≥2 g/dL without receiving packed red blood cells (PRBC) transfusion (for any reason) within 2 weeks and without any erythropoietin or mimetics within the last 4 weeks prior to the increase in hemoglobin level by ≥2g/dL was observed. Hemoglobin values more than 30 days after the last dose of study treatment or after the start of post-study treatment or disease progression, whichever is earlier, will not be considered in the analysis of anemia response. For a participant who is transfusion dependent (TD) at Baseline, anemia response is defined as a period of at least 12 consecutive weeks without PRBC transfusion at any time after the first dose of study drug and on or prior to 30 days post last dose of study drug, the start of post-study treatment, disease progression or death, whichever occurs earlier.
| percentage of participants | Navitoclax + Ruxolitinib (Cohort 1a) | Navitoclax + Ruxolitinib (Cohort 1b) | Navitoclax (Cohort 2) | Navitoclax + Ruxolitinib (Cohort 3) |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Baseline transfusion independent with Baseline HGB <10 g/dL | 28.57 (3.67 to 70.96) | 23.68 (11.44 to 40.24) | 52.94 (27.81 to 77.02) | 38.46 (13.86 to 68.42) |
| Baseline transfusion dependent | 50.00 (6.76 to 93.24) | 16.67 (2.09 to 48.41) | 37.50 (8.52 to 75.51) | 100 (15.81 to 100.00) |
| Overall | 36.36 (10.93 to 69.21) | 22.00 (11.53 to 35.96) | 48.00 (27.80 to 68.69) | 46.67 (21.27 to 73.41) |
Bone marrow grading is assessed according to the European Consensus Grading System. The 4-point grading scale ranges from MF-0, which corresponds to normal bone marrow, to MF-3, diffuse and dense increase in reticulin with extensive intersections with coarse bundles of collagen, often associated with significant osteosclerosis.
| percentage of participants | Navitoclax + Ruxolitinib (Cohort 1a) | Navitoclax + Ruxolitinib (Cohort 1b) | Navitoclax (Cohort 2) | Navitoclax + Ruxolitinib (Cohort 3) |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Week 24 | 23.08 (8.97 to 43.65) | 24.07 (13.49 to 37.64) | 40.00 (16.34 to 67.71) | 30.43 (13.21 to 52.92) |
| Anytime during the post-Baseline period | 41.94 (24.55 to 60.92) | 41.56 (30.43 to 53.36) | 40.91 (20.71 to 63.65) | 48.15 (28.67 to 68.05) |
Grade of bone marrow fibrosis was assessed by investigators according to the European Consensus Grading System. The 4-point grading scale ranges from MF-0, which corresponds to normal bone marrow, to MF-3, diffuse and dense increase in reticulin with extensive intersections with coarse bundles of collagen, often associated with significant osteosclerosis. The time to first achieving a reduction of at least 1 grade in bone marrow fibrosis from Baseline was summarized.
| weeks | Navitoclax + Ruxolitinib (Cohort 1a) | Navitoclax + Ruxolitinib (Cohort 1b) | Navitoclax (Cohort 2) | Navitoclax + Ruxolitinib (Cohort 3) |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Time to First Reduction in Fibrosis Grade | 24.1 (11.1 to 107.1) | 24.1 (9.3 to 97.1) | 12.4 (11.9 to 48.1) | 12.3 (7.0 to 96.1) |
Collected over All-cause mortality and adverse events tables include events reported from the time of informed consent to the end of the study. Median time on follow-up was for 76.1 months for Navitoclax + ruxolitinib (Cohort 1a); 41.9 months for Navitoclax + ruxolitinib (Cohort 1b); 40.2 months for Navitoclax (Cohort 2); and 44.2 months for Navitoclax + ruxolitinib (Cohort 3).. Non-serious events are listed at a 5% frequency threshold.
| Group | Deaths | Serious | Other |
|---|---|---|---|
| Navitoclax + Ruxolitinib (Cohort 1a) | 20/34 (58.8%) | 21/34 (61.8%) | 34/34 (100%) |
| Navitoclax + Ruxolitinib (Cohort 1b) | 39/91 (42.9%) | 35/91 (38.5%) | 91/91 (100%) |
| Navitoclax (Cohort 2) | 18/34 (52.9%) | 18/34 (52.9%) | 34/34 (100%) |
| Navitoclax + Ruxolitinib (Cohort 3) | 10/32 (31.3%) | 12/32 (37.5%) | 32/32 (100%) |
| Event | Navitoclax + Ruxolitinib (Cohort 1a) | Navitoclax + Ruxolitinib (Cohort 1b) | Navitoclax (Cohort 2) | Navitoclax + Ruxolitinib (Cohort 3) |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| PNEUMONIAInfections and infestations | 6/34 | 2/91 | 0/34 | 0/32 |
| ASCITESGastrointestinal disorders | 0/34 | 0/91 | 3/34 | 0/32 |
| MULTIPLE ORGAN DYSFUNCTION SYNDROMEGeneral disorders | 3/34 | 1/91 | 0/34 | 0/32 |
| ATRIAL FIBRILLATIONCardiac disorders | 1/34 | 0/91 | 0/34 | 2/32 |
| ANAEMIABlood and lymphatic system disorders | 1/34 | 1/91 | 2/34 | 0/32 |
| LEUKOCYTOSISBlood and lymphatic system disorders | 0/34 | 0/91 | 2/34 | 0/32 |
| SPLENIC INFARCTIONBlood and lymphatic system disorders | 2/34 | 0/91 | 0/34 | 0/32 |
| PYREXIAGeneral disorders | 2/34 | 1/91 | 0/34 | 1/32 |
| COVID-19Infections and infestations | 2/34 | 4/91 | 2/34 | 0/32 |
| MYCOBACTERIAL INFECTIONInfections and infestations | 2/34 | 0/91 | 0/34 | 0/32 |
| Event | Navitoclax + Ruxolitinib (Cohort 1a) | Navitoclax + Ruxolitinib (Cohort 1b) | Navitoclax (Cohort 2) | Navitoclax + Ruxolitinib (Cohort 3) |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| THROMBOCYTOPENIABlood and lymphatic system disorders | 30/34 | 45/91 | 10/34 | 18/32 |
| DIARRHOEAGastrointestinal disorders | 27/34 | 47/91 | 15/34 | 18/32 |
| FATIGUEGeneral disorders | 24/34 | 17/91 | 9/34 | 9/32 |
| ANAEMIABlood and lymphatic system disorders | 11/34 | 47/91 | 13/34 | 21/32 |
| NAUSEAGastrointestinal disorders | 15/34 | 26/91 | 12/34 | 10/32 |
| PLATELET COUNT DECREASEDInvestigations | 1/34 | 37/91 | 10/34 | 12/32 |
| CONTUSIONInjury, poisoning and procedural complications | 13/34 | 9/91 | 2/34 | 3/32 |
| COVID-19Infections and infestations | 5/34 | 22/91 | 8/34 | 12/32 |
| NEUTROPENIABlood and lymphatic system disorders | 4/34 | 13/91 | 6/34 | 10/32 |
| UPPER RESPIRATORY TRACT INFECTIONInfections and infestations | 10/34 | 6/91 | 4/34 | 3/32 |
Full Analysis Set (FAS): all participants who take at least one dose of navitoclax
| Age, Continuous(years) | Navitoclax + Ruxolitinib (Cohort 1a) | Navitoclax + Ruxolitinib (Cohort 1b) | Navitoclax (Cohort 2) | Navitoclax + Ruxolitinib (Cohort 3) | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Mean | 67.4 ± 10.38 | 66.5 ± 9.26 | 69.0 ± 6.56 | 68.0 ± 10.10 | 67.4 ± 9.18 |
| Sex: Female, Male(Participants) | Navitoclax + Ruxolitinib (Cohort 1a) | Navitoclax + Ruxolitinib (Cohort 1b) | Navitoclax (Cohort 2) | Navitoclax + Ruxolitinib (Cohort 3) | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Female | 11 | 34 | 14 | 12 | 71 |
| Male | 23 | 57 | 20 | 20 | 120 |
| Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)(Participants) | Navitoclax + Ruxolitinib (Cohort 1a) | Navitoclax + Ruxolitinib (Cohort 1b) | Navitoclax (Cohort 2) | Navitoclax + Ruxolitinib (Cohort 3) | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Hispanic or Latino | 2 | 7 | 4 | 6 | 19 |
| Not Hispanic or Latino | 32 | 84 | 30 | 26 | 172 |
| Unknown or Not Reported | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Race (NIH/OMB)(Participants) | Navitoclax + Ruxolitinib (Cohort 1a) | Navitoclax + Ruxolitinib (Cohort 1b) | Navitoclax (Cohort 2) | Navitoclax + Ruxolitinib (Cohort 3) | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| American Indian or Alaska Native | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Asian | 0 | 15 | 3 | 0 | 18 |
| Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Black or African American | 2 | 0 | 1 | 2 | 5 |
| White | 32 | 76 | 30 | 29 | 167 |
| More than one race | 0 | 0 | 0 | 1 | 1 |
| Unknown or Not Reported | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
Documents are hosted by the registry — open the source record to download them.
Plan to share: Yes — AbbVie is committed to responsible data sharing regarding the clinical trials we sponsor. This includes access to anonymized, individual and trial-level data (analysis data sets), as well as other information (e.g., protocols, analyses plans, clinical study reports), as long as the trials are not part of an ongoing or planned regulatory submission. This includes requests for clinical trial data for unlicensed products and indications.
Supporting information: Study protocol, Sap, Csr
This study is completed, as verified in Dec 2025. You cannot join it, but the record below documents what was studied.
Get an email when the registry record changes — status, dates, results — or when someone posts here.
Sign in to followQuestions and observations about this study, from anyone following it. Not medical advice, and not a channel to the study team — their contact details are on the registry record.
Sign in to join the discussion. Reading takes no account; posting does. You choose a display name, and a pseudonym is the default.
Nothing here yet. If you are running this trial, taking part in it, or weighing whether to, this is the place to say so.
AbbVie