CClinicalTrials.gg
CompletedNCT03008187Diamond-01Updated Apr 29, 2025Results posted

MEN1703 (SEL24) in Participants With Acute Myeloid Leukemia

A Phase 1/2 interventional study of MEN1703 in Acute Myeloid Leukemia, sponsored by Menarini Group. Completed at 15 sites in 4 countries. Open to participants aged 18 Years and older. Per ClinicalTrials.gov, last updated 2025-04-29.

Sponsored by Menarini Group · Phase 1/2, Interventional, and Treatment

Phase
Phase 1/2
Study type
Interventional
Enrollment
73
Allocation
Non-randomized
Ages
18 Years and older
Sex
All
01

Study summary

The purpose of the clinical trial is to identify the maximum tolerated dose of MEN1703 and to further investigate its safety profile in participants with acute myeloid leukemia (AML).

Read the detailed description

Phase I/II, open-label, multi-center, dose escalation study to estimate the maximum tolerated dose of MEN1703 in participants with acute myeloid leukemia.

The clinical trial will investigate the safety profile and anti-leukemic activity of MEN1703 in participants with AML and that have no standard therapeutic options available.

The clinical trial encompasses 2 parts:

  • Part 1: Ascending dose levels - the main purpose of this part of the clinical trial is to determine the highest dose of MEN1703 considered to be well tolerated.
  • Part 2: Expansion cohort - the main purpose of this part of the clinical trial is to assess the safety and anti-leukemia activity of MEN1703 given at the highest tolerated dose in participant with relapsed/refractory acute myeloid leukemia, either all comers as well as harboring isocitrate dehydrogenase (IDH1/IDH2) mutations.

Participants participating to the clinical trial will take the study drug as oral capsules once daily for 14 consecutive days over a 21-day treatment cycle.

02

Conditions studied

  • Acute Myeloid Leukemia

Keywords

  • AML
  • Relapsed/Refractory Acute Myeloid Leukemia
  • IDH
03

Who can participate

Ages eligible
18 Years and older
Sexes eligible
All
Accepts healthy volunteers
No

Inclusion criteria

  • Participants with diagnosis of AML, all comers or bearing IDH1 or IDH2 mutation (completed)
  • Participant has no standard therapeutic options available and has either relapsed AML unsuitable for intensive chemotherapy, with no standard therapeutic options and/or not eligible for any approved targeted therapy or primary refractory AML unsuitable for intensive chemotherapy, with no standard therapeutic options and/or not eligible for any approved targeted therapy

Exclusion criteria

Exclusion Criteria:

  • Anti-cancer treatments (including cytotoxic chemotherapy, radiotherapy, hormonal therapy, biologic, immunotherapy or investigational drugs) received within 14 days or 5 half-lives for targeted therapies (whichever is shorter) before first dose of study drug (to be supplemented)
04

Study design

Phase
Phase 1 / Phase 2
Primary purpose
Treatment
Allocation
Non-randomized
Intervention model
Single group
Masking
None (open label)
Enrollment
73 participants (actual)

Study arms

  • Experimental
    Cohort 1 (25 mg)

    Participants received MEN1703 (25 milligrams \[mg\]) orally once daily for 14 consecutive days in cycles of 21 days.

    Drug: MEN1703

  • Experimental
    Cohort 2 (50 mg)

    Participants received MEN1703 (50 mg) orally once daily for 14 consecutive days in cycles of 21 days.

    Drug: MEN1703

  • Experimental
    Cohort 3 (75 mg)

    Participants received MEN1703 (75 mg) orally once daily for 14 consecutive days in cycles of 21 days.

    Drug: MEN1703

  • Experimental
    Cohort 4 (100 mg)

    Participants received MEN1703 (100 mg) orally once daily for 14 consecutive days in cycles of 21 days.

    Drug: MEN1703

  • Experimental
    Cohort 5 (125 mg)

    Participants received MEN1703 (125 mg) orally once daily for 14 consecutive days in cycles of 21 days.

    Drug: MEN1703

  • Experimental
    Cohort 6 (150 mg)

    Participants received MEN1703 (150 mg) orally once daily for 14 consecutive days in cycles of 21 days.

    Drug: MEN1703

Interventions

  • DrugMEN1703

    MEN1703 given as oral capsules once daily for 14 consecutive days over a 21-day treatment cycle.

    Also known as: SEL24-B489, SEL24

05

What researchers measure

Primary outcomes

  1. Part 1 and Part 2: Number of Participants Experiencing Treatment-emergent Adverse Events

    An adverse event (AE) was defined as any new untoward medical occurrence or worsening of a pre-existing medical condition in a participant or clinical investigation participant administered a medicinal product and which does not necessarily have a causal relationship with this treatment. An AE could therefore be any unfavorable and unintended sign (including a clinically significant abnormal laboratory finding, for example), symptom, or disease temporally associated with the use of a medicinal (investigational) product, whether or not considered related to the investigational medicinal product. A summary of serious and all other non-serious adverse events regardless of causality is located in the Reported Adverse events module.

    Time frame: Up to 21 months

  2. Part 1: Number of Participants Experiencing Dose-limiting Toxicity (DLT)

    AEs were graded according to the National Cancer Institute common terminology criteria for adverse events, version 4.03. The following AEs were considered as DLT unless they were clearly and incontrovertibly attributable to the underlying disease or to an extraneous cause: Grade 5 toxicity; Grade 4 neutropenia lasting ≥42 days from the start of the therapy cycle in absence of evidence of active acute myeloid leukemia (AML) (\<5% blasts); Grade 3 or 4 non-hematologic toxicity (with protocol-define exceptions). Only clinically significant abnormalities in laboratory findings, physical examination, vital signs, weight, or electrocardiogram were considered for DLT assessment.

    Time frame: Day 1 through Day 21 (first treatment cycle)

Secondary outcomes

  1. Part 1 and Part 2: Overall Response Rate (ORR)

    ORR was defined as the percentage of participants who had a complete remission (CR), complete remission with incomplete hematologic recovery (CRi), complete remission with partial hematologic recovery (CRh), or morphologic leukemia-free state (MLFS) response to therapy.

    Time frame: Up to 32 months

  2. Part 1 and Part 2: Partial Remission (PR) Rate

    PR rate was defined as the percentage of participants who had a partial remission response to therapy.

    Time frame: Up to 32 months

  3. Part 1 and Part 2: Duration of Response (DoR)

    DoR was defined as the time from the date of first CR, CRi, CRh, CR without minimal residual disease (CRMRD-), MLFS or PR until the date of documented relapse of any type, progressive disease or death due to disease progression for participants who achieve CR, CRi, CRh, CRMRD-, MLFS or PR. Results are reported in days.

    Time frame: Up to 32 months

  4. Part 1 and Part 2: Relapse Free Survival (RFS)

    RFS was defined as the time from the date of first CR, CRi, CRh, or CRMRD- until the date of documented relapse or death from any cause. Results are reported in days.

    Time frame: Up to 32 months

  5. Part 1 and Part 2: Overall Survival (OS)

    OS was defined as the number of days between the first study drug administration and death from any cause. Results are reported in days.

    Time frame: Up to 32 months

  6. Part 1 and Part 2: Event Free Survival (EFS)

    EFS was defined as the time from the date of first study drug intake until the date of documented relapse, treatment failure, or death from any cause. Results are reported in days.

    Time frame: Up to 32 months

  7. Part 1 and Part 2: Transfusion Conversion Rate

    Transfusion conversion rate was defined as the percentage of participants who were transfusion dependent at baseline but became transfusion independent post-baseline. Participants were classified as baseline transfusion independent if there were no red blood cells (RBC) or platelet transfusions at baseline; otherwise, the participant was considered as baseline transfusion dependent. Participants were classified post-baseline transfusion independent in the event of 56 consecutive days without any RBC or platelet transfusion post-baseline; otherwise, the participant was considered post-baseline transfusion dependent.

    Time frame: Up to 21 months

  8. Part 1 and Part 2: Transfusion Maintenance Rate

    Transfusion maintenance rate was defined as the percentage of participants who were transfusion independent at baseline and still maintained to be transfusion independent post-baseline. Participants were classified as baseline transfusion independent if there were no RBC or platelet transfusions at baseline; otherwise, the participant was considered as baseline transfusion dependent. Participants were classified post-baseline transfusion independent in the event of 56 consecutive days without any RBC or platelet transfusion post-baseline; otherwise, the participant was considered post-baseline transfusion dependent.

    Time frame: Up to 21 months

  9. Part 1 and Part 2: Allogeneic Hematopoietic Stem Cell Transplantation (HSCT) Rate

    Allogeneic HSCT rate was defined as the percentage of participants undergoing allogeneic stem cell transplant during the study period of each participant.

    Time frame: Up to 21 months

  10. Part 1 and Part 2: Percentage of Participants With ≥ 50% Bone Marrow Blast Reduction

    Bone marrow aspirates/biopsies were taken at designated timepoints for evaluation of leukemic blast proportion in the bone marrow. A reduction in bone marrow blast proportion indicates increased anti-leukemic activity of the study drug.

    Time frame: Up to 20 months

  11. Part 1 and Part 2: Maximum Observed Concentration (Cmax) for MEN1703

    Nominal blood samples were taken at designated timepoints for evaluation of concentration levels of MEN1703 in plasma. Results are reported as nanograms/milliliter (ng/mL). Standard error not reported, arithmetic coefficient of variation (CV%) reported instead.

    Time frame: Day 1 and Day 14 of Cycle 1 (pre-dose, up to 120 hours post dose) (21 days/cycle)

  12. Part 1 and Part 2: Area Under the Concentration Versus Time Curve From Time Zero to the Last Quantifiable Concentration (AUClast) for MEN1703

    Nominal blood samples were taken at designated timepoints for evaluation of concentration levels of MEN1703 in plasma. AUClast was calculated by the linear trapezoidal rule. Results are reported in hour times nanograms/milliliter (h\*ng/mL). Standard error not reported, arithmetic CV% reported instead.

    Time frame: Day 1 of Cycle 1 (pre-dose, up to 24 hours post dose) (21 days/cycle)

  13. Part 1 and Part 2: Area Under the Concentration Versus Time Curve From Time Zero to 24 Hours (AUC0-24) for MEN1703

    Nominal blood samples were taken at designated timepoints for evaluation of concentration levels of MEN1703 in plasma. AUC0-24 was calculated by the linear trapezoidal rule. Results are reported in h\*ng/mL. Standard error not reported, arithmetic CV% reported instead.

    Time frame: Day 14 of Cycle 1 (pre-dose, up to 120 hours post dose) (21 days/cycle)

06

Results

Posted Apr 29, 2025

Participant flow

Participants were screened across 4 countries: Unites States, Italy, Spain, and Poland.

Part 1: Dose Escalation
Participant flow — Part 1: Dose Escalation
MilestoneCohort 1 (25 mg)Cohort 2 (50 mg)Cohort 3 (75 mg)Cohort 4 (100 mg)Cohort 5 (125 mg)Cohort 6 (150 mg)
Started233674
Received at least 1 dose of study drug233674
Completed233674
Not completed000000
Part 2: Dose Expansion
Participant flow — Part 2: Dose Expansion
MilestoneCohort 1 (25 mg)Cohort 2 (50 mg)Cohort 3 (75 mg)Cohort 4 (100 mg)Cohort 5 (125 mg)Cohort 6 (150 mg)
Started0000480
Received at least 1 dose of study drug0000480
Completed0000480
Not completed000000

Outcome measures

PrimaryPart 1 and Part 2: Number of Participants Experiencing Treatment-emergent Adverse Events

An adverse event (AE) was defined as any new untoward medical occurrence or worsening of a pre-existing medical condition in a participant or clinical investigation participant administered a medicinal product and which does not necessarily have a causal relationship with this treatment. An AE could therefore be any unfavorable and unintended sign (including a clinically significant abnormal laboratory finding, for example), symptom, or disease temporally associated with the use of a medicinal (investigational) product, whether or not considered related to the investigational medicinal product. A summary of serious and all other non-serious adverse events regardless of causality is located in the Reported Adverse events module.

Time frame:
Up to 21 months
Reported as:
Count of participants · Participants
Part 1 and Part 2: Number of Participants Experiencing Treatment-emergent Adverse Events
ParticipantsCohort 1 (25 mg)Cohort 2 (50 mg)Cohort 3 (75 mg)Cohort 4 (100 mg)Cohort 5 (125 mg)Cohort 6 (150 mg)
Part 1 and Part 2: Number of Participants Experiencing Treatment-emergent Adverse Events2336544
PrimaryPart 1: Number of Participants Experiencing Dose-limiting Toxicity (DLT)

AEs were graded according to the National Cancer Institute common terminology criteria for adverse events, version 4.03. The following AEs were considered as DLT unless they were clearly and incontrovertibly attributable to the underlying disease or to an extraneous cause: Grade 5 toxicity; Grade 4 neutropenia lasting ≥42 days from the start of the therapy cycle in absence of evidence of active acute myeloid leukemia (AML) (\<5% blasts); Grade 3 or 4 non-hematologic toxicity (with protocol-define exceptions). Only clinically significant abnormalities in laboratory findings, physical examination, vital signs, weight, or electrocardiogram were considered for DLT assessment.

Time frame:
Day 1 through Day 21 (first treatment cycle)
Reported as:
Count of participants · Participants
Part 1: Number of Participants Experiencing Dose-limiting Toxicity (DLT)
ParticipantsCohort 1 (25 mg)Cohort 2 (50 mg)Cohort 3 (75 mg)Cohort 4 (100 mg)Cohort 5 (125 mg)Cohort 6 (150 mg)
Part 1: Number of Participants Experiencing Dose-limiting Toxicity (DLT)100013
SecondaryPart 1 and Part 2: Overall Response Rate (ORR)

ORR was defined as the percentage of participants who had a complete remission (CR), complete remission with incomplete hematologic recovery (CRi), complete remission with partial hematologic recovery (CRh), or morphologic leukemia-free state (MLFS) response to therapy.

Time frame:
Up to 32 months
Reported as:
Number · percentage of participants
Part 1 and Part 2: Overall Response Rate (ORR)
percentage of participantsCohort 1 (25 mg)Cohort 2 (50 mg)Cohort 3 (75 mg)Cohort 4 (100 mg)Cohort 5 (125 mg)Cohort 6 (150 mg)
Part 1 and Part 2: Overall Response Rate (ORR)—050.0013.50
SecondaryPart 1 and Part 2: Partial Remission (PR) Rate

PR rate was defined as the percentage of participants who had a partial remission response to therapy.

Time frame:
Up to 32 months
Reported as:
Number · percentage of participants
Part 1 and Part 2: Partial Remission (PR) Rate
percentage of participantsCohort 1 (25 mg)Cohort 2 (50 mg)Cohort 3 (75 mg)Cohort 4 (100 mg)Cohort 5 (125 mg)Cohort 6 (150 mg)
Part 1 and Part 2: Partial Remission (PR) Rate—00000
SecondaryPart 1 and Part 2: Duration of Response (DoR)

DoR was defined as the time from the date of first CR, CRi, CRh, CR without minimal residual disease (CRMRD-), MLFS or PR until the date of documented relapse of any type, progressive disease or death due to disease progression for participants who achieve CR, CRi, CRh, CRMRD-, MLFS or PR. Results are reported in days.

Time frame:
Up to 32 months
Reported as:
Median · days
Part 1 and Part 2: Duration of Response (DoR)
daysCohort 1 (25 mg)Cohort 2 (50 mg)Cohort 3 (75 mg)Cohort 4 (100 mg)Cohort 5 (125 mg)Cohort 6 (150 mg)
Part 1 and Part 2: Duration of Response (DoR)—NA (NA to NA)79.0 (NA to NA)NA (NA to NA)63.0 (44.0 to NA)NA (NA to NA)
SecondaryPart 1 and Part 2: Relapse Free Survival (RFS)

RFS was defined as the time from the date of first CR, CRi, CRh, or CRMRD- until the date of documented relapse or death from any cause. Results are reported in days.

Time frame:
Up to 32 months
Reported as:
Median · days
Part 1 and Part 2: Relapse Free Survival (RFS)
daysCohort 1 (25 mg)Cohort 2 (50 mg)Cohort 3 (75 mg)Cohort 4 (100 mg)Cohort 5 (125 mg)Cohort 6 (150 mg)
Part 1 and Part 2: Relapse Free Survival (RFS)—NA (NA to NA)81.0 (NA to NA)NA (NA to NA)64.0 (44.0 to NA)NA (NA to NA)
SecondaryPart 1 and Part 2: Overall Survival (OS)

OS was defined as the number of days between the first study drug administration and death from any cause. Results are reported in days.

Time frame:
Up to 32 months
Reported as:
Median · days
Part 1 and Part 2: Overall Survival (OS)
daysCohort 1 (25 mg)Cohort 2 (50 mg)Cohort 3 (75 mg)Cohort 4 (100 mg)Cohort 5 (125 mg)Cohort 6 (150 mg)
Part 1 and Part 2: Overall Survival (OS)—43.0 (NA to NA)138.5 (63.0 to NA)NA (108.0 to NA)144.0 (72.0 to 287.0)42.5 (34.0 to NA)
SecondaryPart 1 and Part 2: Event Free Survival (EFS)

EFS was defined as the time from the date of first study drug intake until the date of documented relapse, treatment failure, or death from any cause. Results are reported in days.

Time frame:
Up to 32 months
Reported as:
Median · days
Part 1 and Part 2: Event Free Survival (EFS)
daysCohort 1 (25 mg)Cohort 2 (50 mg)Cohort 3 (75 mg)Cohort 4 (100 mg)Cohort 5 (125 mg)Cohort 6 (150 mg)
Part 1 and Part 2: Event Free Survival (EFS)—15.0 (NA to NA)14.0 (NA to NA)14.0 (14.0 to NA)43.0 (42.0 to 49.0)15.0 (14.0 to NA)
SecondaryPart 1 and Part 2: Transfusion Conversion Rate

Transfusion conversion rate was defined as the percentage of participants who were transfusion dependent at baseline but became transfusion independent post-baseline. Participants were classified as baseline transfusion independent if there were no red blood cells (RBC) or platelet transfusions at baseline; otherwise, the participant was considered as baseline transfusion dependent. Participants were classified post-baseline transfusion independent in the event of 56 consecutive days without any RBC or platelet transfusion post-baseline; otherwise, the participant was considered post-baseline transfusion dependent.

Time frame:
Up to 21 months
Reported as:
Number · percentage of participants
Part 1 and Part 2: Transfusion Conversion Rate
percentage of participantsCohort 5 (125 mg)
Part 1 and Part 2: Transfusion Conversion Rate25
SecondaryPart 1 and Part 2: Transfusion Maintenance Rate

Transfusion maintenance rate was defined as the percentage of participants who were transfusion independent at baseline and still maintained to be transfusion independent post-baseline. Participants were classified as baseline transfusion independent if there were no RBC or platelet transfusions at baseline; otherwise, the participant was considered as baseline transfusion dependent. Participants were classified post-baseline transfusion independent in the event of 56 consecutive days without any RBC or platelet transfusion post-baseline; otherwise, the participant was considered post-baseline transfusion dependent.

Time frame:
Up to 21 months
Reported as:
Number · percentage of participants
Part 1 and Part 2: Transfusion Maintenance Rate
percentage of participantsCohort 5 (125 mg)
Part 1 and Part 2: Transfusion Maintenance Rate100
SecondaryPart 1 and Part 2: Allogeneic Hematopoietic Stem Cell Transplantation (HSCT) Rate

Allogeneic HSCT rate was defined as the percentage of participants undergoing allogeneic stem cell transplant during the study period of each participant.

Time frame:
Up to 21 months
Reported as:
Number · percentage of participants
Part 1 and Part 2: Allogeneic Hematopoietic Stem Cell Transplantation (HSCT) Rate
percentage of participantsCohort 5 (125 mg)
Part 1 and Part 2: Allogeneic Hematopoietic Stem Cell Transplantation (HSCT) Rate2.7
SecondaryPart 1 and Part 2: Percentage of Participants With ≥ 50% Bone Marrow Blast Reduction

Bone marrow aspirates/biopsies were taken at designated timepoints for evaluation of leukemic blast proportion in the bone marrow. A reduction in bone marrow blast proportion indicates increased anti-leukemic activity of the study drug.

Time frame:
Up to 20 months
Reported as:
Number · percentage of participants
Part 1 and Part 2: Percentage of Participants With ≥ 50% Bone Marrow Blast Reduction
percentage of participantsCohort 1 (25 mg)Cohort 2 (50 mg)Cohort 3 (75 mg)Cohort 4 (100 mg)Cohort 5 (125 mg)Cohort 6 (150 mg)
Part 1 and Part 2: Percentage of Participants With ≥ 50% Bone Marrow Blast Reduction—050.0033.30
SecondaryPart 1 and Part 2: Maximum Observed Concentration (Cmax) for MEN1703

Nominal blood samples were taken at designated timepoints for evaluation of concentration levels of MEN1703 in plasma. Results are reported as nanograms/milliliter (ng/mL). Standard error not reported, arithmetic coefficient of variation (CV%) reported instead.

Time frame:
Day 1 and Day 14 of Cycle 1 (pre-dose, up to 120 hours post dose) (21 days/cycle)
Reported as:
Mean · ng/mL
Part 1 and Part 2: Maximum Observed Concentration (Cmax) for MEN1703
ng/mLCohort 1 (25 mg)Cohort 2 (50 mg)Cohort 3 (75 mg)Cohort 4 (100 mg)Cohort 5 (125 mg)Cohort 6 (150 mg)
Cycle 1 Day 18.77 ± NA33.58 ± NA60.55 ± NA73.25 ± NA152.94 ± NA249.00 ± NA
Cycle 1 Day 14—74.32 ± NA167.08 ± NA294.25 ± NA507.18 ± NA759.36 ± NA
SecondaryPart 1 and Part 2: Area Under the Concentration Versus Time Curve From Time Zero to the Last Quantifiable Concentration (AUClast) for MEN1703

Nominal blood samples were taken at designated timepoints for evaluation of concentration levels of MEN1703 in plasma. AUClast was calculated by the linear trapezoidal rule. Results are reported in hour times nanograms/milliliter (h\*ng/mL). Standard error not reported, arithmetic CV% reported instead.

Time frame:
Day 1 of Cycle 1 (pre-dose, up to 24 hours post dose) (21 days/cycle)
Reported as:
Mean · h*ng/mL
Part 1 and Part 2: Area Under the Concentration Versus Time Curve From Time Zero to the Last Quantifiable Concentration (AUClast) for MEN1703
h*ng/mLCohort 1 (25 mg)Cohort 2 (50 mg)Cohort 3 (75 mg)Cohort 4 (100 mg)Cohort 5 (125 mg)Cohort 6 (150 mg)
Part 1 and Part 2: Area Under the Concentration Versus Time Curve From Time Zero to the Last Quantifiable Concentration (AUClast) for MEN1703152.17 ± NA490.37 ± NA729.48 ± NA1016.62 ± NA1936.61 ± NA2608.31 ± NA
SecondaryPart 1 and Part 2: Area Under the Concentration Versus Time Curve From Time Zero to 24 Hours (AUC0-24) for MEN1703

Nominal blood samples were taken at designated timepoints for evaluation of concentration levels of MEN1703 in plasma. AUC0-24 was calculated by the linear trapezoidal rule. Results are reported in h\*ng/mL. Standard error not reported, arithmetic CV% reported instead.

Time frame:
Day 14 of Cycle 1 (pre-dose, up to 120 hours post dose) (21 days/cycle)
Reported as:
Mean · h*ng/mL
Part 1 and Part 2: Area Under the Concentration Versus Time Curve From Time Zero to 24 Hours (AUC0-24) for MEN1703
h*ng/mLCohort 2 (50 mg)Cohort 3 (75 mg)Cohort 4 (100 mg)Cohort 5 (125 mg)Cohort 6 (150 mg)
Part 1 and Part 2: Area Under the Concentration Versus Time Curve From Time Zero to 24 Hours (AUC0-24) for MEN17031330.03 ± NA2885.33 ± NA5574.10 ± NA9224.62 ± NA15769.60 ± NA

Adverse events

Collected over Adverse events were assessed up to 21 months. All-cause mortality, survival (RFS, EFS, OS), ORR, PR rate, and DOR were assessed up to 32 months.. Non-serious events are listed at a 0% frequency threshold.

Adverse event summary by group
GroupDeathsSeriousOther
Cohort 1 (25 mg)2/2 (100%)0/2 (0%)2/2 (100%)
Cohort 2 (50 mg)3/3 (100%)0/3 (0%)3/3 (100%)
Cohort 3 (75 mg)3/3 (100%)3/3 (100%)3/3 (100%)
Cohort 4 (100 mg)1/6 (16.7%)6/6 (100%)6/6 (100%)
Cohort 5 (125 mg)35/55 (63.6%)35/55 (63.6%)52/55 (94.5%)
Cohort 6 (150 mg)4/4 (100%)4/4 (100%)4/4 (100%)
Most frequent serious events
Showing 10 of 52
Most frequent serious events
EventCohort 1 (25 mg)Cohort 2 (50 mg)Cohort 3 (75 mg)Cohort 4 (100 mg)Cohort 5 (125 mg)Cohort 6 (150 mg)
Febrile neutropeniaBlood and lymphatic system disorders0/20/32/31/68/551/4
BacteraemiaInfections and infestations0/20/31/30/60/550/4
PneumoniaInfections and infestations0/20/31/30/617/551/4
SepsisInfections and infestations0/20/31/30/65/551/4
Urinary tract infectionInfections and infestations0/20/31/30/60/550/4
FallInjury, poisoning and procedural complications0/20/31/30/60/550/4
Neutrophil count decreasedInvestigations0/20/31/30/60/550/4
Flank painMusculoskeletal and connective tissue disorders0/20/31/30/60/550/4
Muscular weaknessMusculoskeletal and connective tissue disorders0/20/31/30/60/550/4
HyphaemaEye disorders0/20/30/30/60/551/4
Most frequent other events
Showing 10 of 223
Most frequent other events
EventCohort 1 (25 mg)Cohort 2 (50 mg)Cohort 3 (75 mg)Cohort 4 (100 mg)Cohort 5 (125 mg)Cohort 6 (150 mg)
AnaemiaBlood and lymphatic system disorders0/22/33/33/617/550/4
Abdominal painGastrointestinal disorders2/20/31/32/66/551/4
ContusionInjury, poisoning and procedural complications2/20/31/31/63/551/4
FatigueGeneral disorders0/22/31/33/67/553/4
Alanine aminotransferase increasedInvestigations0/20/32/31/69/553/4
DiarrhoeaGastrointestinal disorders1/22/31/32/67/552/4
Aspartate aminotransferase increasedInvestigations0/20/32/31/613/552/4
Neutrophil count decreasedInvestigations0/20/32/33/64/551/4
Platelet count decreasedInvestigations0/20/32/33/64/550/4
HyperuricaemiaMetabolism and nutrition disorders0/22/30/31/60/550/4

Baseline characteristics

Safety population: all participants who received at least 1 dose of MEN1703.

Age, Continuous
Age, Continuous(years)Cohort 1 (25 mg)Cohort 2 (50 mg)Cohort 3 (75 mg)Cohort 4 (100 mg)Cohort 5 (125 mg)Cohort 6 (150 mg)Total
Mean47.50 ± 31.82071.00 ± 5.00075.33 ± 8.96365.67 ± 18.72665.55 ± 12.06063.50 ± 7.04765.58 ± 12.923
Sex: Female, Male
Sex: Female, Male(Participants)Cohort 1 (25 mg)Cohort 2 (50 mg)Cohort 3 (75 mg)Cohort 4 (100 mg)Cohort 5 (125 mg)Cohort 6 (150 mg)Total
Female122324133
Male111331340
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)(Participants)Cohort 1 (25 mg)Cohort 2 (50 mg)Cohort 3 (75 mg)Cohort 4 (100 mg)Cohort 5 (125 mg)Cohort 6 (150 mg)Total
Hispanic or Latino0000202
Not Hispanic or Latino233653471
Unknown or Not Reported0000000
Race (NIH/OMB)
Race (NIH/OMB)(Participants)Cohort 1 (25 mg)Cohort 2 (50 mg)Cohort 3 (75 mg)Cohort 4 (100 mg)Cohort 5 (125 mg)Cohort 6 (150 mg)Total
American Indian or Alaska Native0000000
Asian0000101
Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander0000000
Black or African American1002104
White133451466
More than one race0000000
Unknown or Not Reported0000202
07

Study locations

15 sites
  • Northside Hospital
    Atlanta, Georgia 30342, United States
  • Cleveland Clinic, Taussig Cancer Institute
    Cleveland, Ohio 44195, United States
  • Oregon Health and Science University
    Portland, Oregon 97239, United States
  • Vanderbilt Ingram Cancer Center
    Nashville, Tennessee 37232, United States
  • Texas Oncology - Baylor Charles A. Sammons Cancer Center
    Dallas, Texas 75246, United States
  • MD Anderson Cancer Center
    Houston, Texas 77030, United States
  • Fred Hutchinson Cancer Research Center
    Seattle, Washington 98109, United States
  • Istituto Scientifico Romagnolo per lo Studio e la Cura dei Tumori
    Meldola, Italy
  • Istituto Clinico Humanitas
    Milano, Italy
  • ASST Monza - Ospedale San Gerardo
    Monza, Italy
  • Institute of Haematology and Blood Transfusion
    Warsaw, Poland
  • Wojewodzkie Wielospecjalistyczne Centrum Onkologii i Traumatologii im. M. Kopernika w Lodzi, Oddzial Hematologii z Pododdzialem Chemioterapi
    Łódź, Poland
  • Institut Català d'Oncologia
    Badalona, Spain
  • Hospital 12 de Octubre
    Madrid, Spain
  • Hospital Universitari i Politecnic La Fe
    Valencia, Spain
08

References and documents

Study documents

  • Study protocol · Jun 27, 2022
  • Statistical analysis plan · May 10, 2023

Documents are hosted by the registry — open the source record to download them.

Individual participant data

Plan to share: No

09

Registry details

Key details

Study ID
NCT03008187
Lead sponsor
Menarini Group
Collaborators
Medpace, Inc., Theradex
Responsible party
Sponsor
First posted
Jan 2, 2017
Start date
Mar 10, 2017
Primary completion
Apr 13, 2023
Completion
Apr 13, 2023
Results posted
Apr 29, 2025
Last update
Apr 29, 2025

Oversight

Data monitoring committee
No
FDA-regulated drug
Yes
FDA-regulated device
No
View the source record on ClinicalTrials.gov ↗

Not currently enrolling

This study is completed, as verified in Mar 2025. You cannot join it, but the record below documents what was studied.

Follow this study

Get an email when the registry record changes — status, dates, results — or when someone posts here.

Sign in to follow

Discussion

Questions and observations about this study, from anyone following it. Not medical advice, and not a channel to the study team — their contact details are on the registry record.

Sign in to join the discussion. Reading takes no account; posting does. You choose a display name, and a pseudonym is the default.

Nothing here yet. If you are running this trial, taking part in it, or weighing whether to, this is the place to say so.

Start the discussion