CClinicalTrials.gg
CompletedNCT02901574Updated Apr 21, 2023Results posted

Cerebellar Transcranial Direct Current Stimulation and Aphasia Treatment

An interventional study of Anodal or Cathodal tDCS and Sham in Stroke, sponsored by Johns Hopkins University. Completed at 1 site in United States. Open to participants aged 18 Years to 100 Years. Per ClinicalTrials.gov, last updated 2023-04-21.

Sponsored by Johns Hopkins University · Not applicable, Interventional, and Treatment

Phase
Not applicable
Study type
Interventional
Enrollment
32
Allocation
Randomized
Ages
18 Years to 100 Years
Sex
All
01

Study summary

People with post-stroke aphasia are left with some degree of chronic deficit for which current rehabilitative treatments are variably effective. This study investigates the behavioral and neural effects of multiple consecutive cerebellar tDCS sessions coupled with computerized naming therapy in stroke survivors with aphasia.

Read the detailed description

The investigators will study the effect of right cerebellar transcranial direct current stimulation (tDCS) stimulation during language therapy for naming in individuals with chronic aphasia (>6 months post stroke). Naming difficulties are a persistent and common symptom in aphasia after left-hemisphere (LH) stroke. Although the interventions to improve naming can have benefits, a massive number of treatment sessions is usually required to show gains, particularly in individuals with chronic, large LH stroke. tDCS is a promising adjunct to traditional language therapy. tDCS is a safe, non-invasive, non-painful electrical stimulation of the brain which modulates cortical excitability by application of weak electrical currents in the form of direct current brain polarization. It is usually administered via saline-soaked surface sponge electrodes attached to the scalp and connected to a direct current stimulator with low intensities. Prior investigators have mainly focused on the role of LH in language recovery, wherein the electrode is placed in the left frontal or temporal region. However, in individuals with large lesions involving key language areas like the frontal and temporal cortex, it may be difficult to find viable tissue to stimulate in the LH. This study uses a novel electrode placement for chronic stroke patients with aphasia with large LH lesions. Targeting the intact right cerebellum allows for the possibility of identifying a single target that can be used across groups of people with aphasia with varying lesion sites and size in the LH. Evidence from functional neuroimaging and clinical studies indicate that the right cerebellum is important for both language and cognitive functions.

The investigators will utilize a randomized, double-blind, sham controlled, within-subject crossover trial design. A random subset (half) of participants will be assigned to the "anode" group (Group Anode) and other half will be assigned to the 'cathode' group (Group Cathode). Participants will take part in 2 intervention periods of 15 computerized naming training sessions (3-5 sessions per week), with either tDCS + naming therapy or sham+ naming therapy, separated by 2 months. Detailed language evaluation will take place before, immediately after, 2 weeks and 2 months post-intervention for each condition. The investigators will test the hypothesis that anodal tDCS or cathodal tDCS over the cerebellum and computerized naming therapy is associated with greater gains in accuracy in naming pictures, compared to sham combined with the same computerized naming therapy.

02

Conditions studied

  • Stroke

Browse trials for

03

In context

Aphasia

365 studies on the registry are indexed under Aphasia; 89 are open to participants now.

This study's enrollment of 32 is close to the median of 30 across 316 interventional studies indexed under Aphasia.

Browse Aphasia studies →

Lead sponsor

Johns Hopkins University is the lead sponsor of 1,783 studies on the registry; 313 are open to participants now.

Of its 203 completed or terminated interventional studies of FDA-regulated products, 140 (69%) have results posted.

Counted across the registry records on this site, refreshed daily.

04

Who can participate

Ages eligible
18 Years to 100 Years
Sexes eligible
All
Accepts healthy volunteers
No

Inclusion criteria

  • Participants must have sustained a left hemisphere stroke.
  • Participants must be fluent speakers of English by self-report.
  • Participants must be capable of giving informed consent or indicating another to provide informed consent.
  • Participants must be age 18 or older.
  • Participants must be premorbidly right handed.
  • Participants must be at least 6 months post stroke.
  • Participants must have an aphasia diagnosis as confirmed by the Boston Diagnostic Aphasia Examination (BDAE) Short Form.
  • Participants must achieve at least 65% accuracy on screening task (comparable to treatment task) on 1 of 3 attempts

Exclusion criteria

Exclusion Criteria:

  • Participants with lesion involving the right cerebellum
  • Previous neurological or psychiatric disease.
  • Seizures during the previous 12 months.
  • Uncorrected visual loss or hearing loss by self-report.
  • Use of medications that lower the seizure threshold (e.g., methylphenidate, amphetamine salts).
  • Use of N-methyl-D-aspartate receptor (NMDA) antagonists (e.g., memantine).
  • > 80% (140 out of 175) correct responses on the Philadelphia Naming Test at baseline.
  • History of brain surgery or any metal in the head.
  • Scalp sensitivity (per participant report).
05

Study design

Phase
Not applicable
Primary purpose
Treatment
Allocation
Randomized
Intervention model
Crossover assignment
Masking
Quadruple (Participant, Care provider, Investigator, Outcomes assessor)
Enrollment
32 participants (actual)

Study arms

  • Active comparator
    tDCS plus computerized naming therapy

    Anodal or cathodal tDCS, 2 milliamps (mA) plus computerized naming treatment for 15 sessions (20 minutes per each 45 minute treatment session) over the course of 3-5 weeks.The electrical current will be administered to the right cerebellum. The stimulation will be delivered at an intensity of 2 mA for a maximum of 20 minutes. Language therapy will be a computer delivered naming +picture matching task.

    Device: Anodal or Cathodal tDCS · Behavioral: Computerized naming therapy

  • Sham comparator
    Sham plus computerized naming therapy

    Sham tDCS plus computerized naming treatment for 15 sessions (20 minutes per each 45 minute treatment session) over the course of 3-5 weeks. Current will be administered in the in a ramp like fashion for 15-30 seconds but then the current is gradually decreased and drop to 0 mA. Language therapy will be a computer delivered naming +picture matching task.

    Device: Sham · Behavioral: Computerized naming therapy

Interventions

  • DeviceAnodal or Cathodal tDCS

    2 mA or Anodal or Cathodal tDCS stimulation is induced between 5cm X5 cm saline soaked sponges where one sponge (anode in group anode or cathode in group cathode) is placed on the right cerebellum. The stimulation will be delivered at an intensity of 2 mA in a ramp-like fashion for a maximum of 20 minutes.

  • DeviceSham

    2 mA of Anodal tDCS or Cathodal tDCS is induced between two 5cm X 5cn saline soaked sponges where one sponge (anode in group Anode and cathode in group Cathode) is placed on the right cerebellum. Ramping up of the current to 2 mA occurs over 15-30 seconds to allow participants to habituate to the tingling sensation. Then, the current will be ramped back down to 0 mA in the sham condition. Termination of the stimulation after the ramping up process is generally undetectable, and the brief duration of stimulation yields no functional effects.

  • BehavioralComputerized naming therapy

    Computer delivered naming treatment requires matching (heard and seen being produced by the speaker) with pictures depicting common objects. It is run on a laptop computer with headphones and 2 large response buttons. During treatment, a picture appears on the laptop screen for 2 seconds. Then, a video of the speaker's face below the nose is presented on the screen saying a word that either matches or does not match the picture. The participant is instructed to press a green response button if the word matches the picture and press the red button if the word does not match the picture.

06

What researchers measure

Primary outcomes

  1. Change in Accuracy of Naming Untrained Pictures (Philadelphia Naming Test:PNT) Pre-treatment to Post-treatment

    To determine whether tDCS coupled with computerized naming therapy will improve naming performance of participants with post stroke aphasia more effectively than naming therapy alone (i.e., the sham condition).The PNT is a 175-item picture naming test where a person earns one point per each correct answer. Scores range from 0-175 with higher scores associated with better performance.

    Time frame: Before and after 15 sessions (3-5 sessions per week; up to 5 weeks) of treatment.

Secondary outcomes

  1. Change in Accuracy of Naming Untrained Pictures (Philadelphia Naming Test:PNT)Pre-treatment to 2 Weeks Post-treatment.

    To determine whether tDCS coupled with computerized naming therapy will improve naming performance of participants with post stroke aphasia more effectively than naming therapy alone (i.e., the sham condition).The PNT is a 175-item picture naming test where a person earns one point per each correct answer. Scores range from 0-175 with higher scores associated with better performance.

    Time frame: Pre-treatment and at 2 weeks Post-treatment

  2. Change in Accuracy of Naming Untrained Pictures (Philadelphia Naming Test:PNT) Pre-treatment to 2 Months Post-treatment.

    To determine whether tDCS coupled with computerized naming therapy will improve naming performance of participants with post stroke aphasia more effectively than naming therapy alone (i.e., the sham condition).The PNT is a 175-item picture naming test where a person earns one point per each correct answer. Scores range from 0-175 with higher scores associated with better performance.

    Time frame: Pre-treatment and at 2 months Post-treatment

  3. Change in Functional Communication Skills on the ASHA-FACS Communication Independence Scale Pre-treatment to Post-treatment

    The American Speech-Language-Hearing Association Functional Assessment of Communication Skills for Adults (ASHA FACS) will be administered at Pre- treatment and Post-treatment to evaluate changes in functional communication skills.The ASHA-FACS Communication Independence scale measures functional communication performance along a continuum of independence, in terms of levels of assistance and/or prompting needed in-order to communicate. The 7-point scale ranges from 1) "does not perform the behavior" to 7) "does perform the behavior". Higher scores means better functional communication independence. of communication independence Scale (CI)

    Time frame: Before and after 15 sessions (3-5 sessions per week; up to 5 weeks) of treatment.

  4. Change in Functional Communication Skills on the ASHA-FACS Communication Independence Scale Pre-treatment to 2 Weeks Post-treatment

    The American Speech-Language-Hearing Association Functional Assessment of Communication Skills for Adults (ASHA FACS) will be administered pre- treatment and 2 weeks post treatment to evaluate changes in functional communication skills.The ASHA-FACS Communication Independence scale measures functional communication performance along a continuum of independence, in terms of levels of assistance and/or prompting needed in-order to communicate. The 7-point scale ranges from 1) "does not perform the behavior" to 7) "does perform the behavior". Higher scores means better functional communication independence.

    Time frame: Pre-treatment and at 2 weeks Post-treatment

  5. Change in Functional Communication Skills on the ASHA-FACS Communication Independence Scale Pre-treatment to 2 Months Post-treatment

    The American Speech-Language-Hearing Association Functional Assessment of Communication Skills for Adults (ASHA FACS) will be administered pre- treatment and 2 months post treatment to evaluate changes in functional communication skills.The ASHA-FACS Communication Independence scale measures functional communication performance along a continuum of independence, in terms of levels of assistance and/or prompting needed in-order to communicate. The 7-point scale ranges from 1) "does not perform the behavior" to 7) "does perform the behavior". Higher scores means better functional communication independence.

    Time frame: Pre-treatment and at 2 months Post-treatment

  6. Change in Functional Communication Skills on the ASHA-FACS Qualitative Dimensions of Communication Scale Pre-treatment to Post-treatment

    The American Speech-Language-Hearing Association Functional Assessment of Communication Skills for Adults (ASHA FACS) will be administered pre-treatment and post-treatment to evaluate changes in functional communication skills. The ASHA-FACS Qualitative Dimensions of Communication Scale is rated on a 5-point scale reflecting adequacy, appropriateness, and promptness of communication and communication sharing. The 5-point scale ranges from 1) "communication is never relevant/without delay" to 5) "communication is always relevant/ without delay". Higher scores means better functional communication outcome.

    Time frame: Before and after 15 sessions (3-5 sessions per week; up to 5 weeks) of treatment.

  7. Change in Functional Communication Skills on the ASHA-FACS Qualitative Dimensions of Communication Scale Pre-Treatment to 2 Week Post-Treatment

    The American Speech-Language-Hearing Association Functional Assessment of Communication Skills for Adults (ASHA FACS) will be administered pre-treatment and 2 weeks post-treatment to evaluate changes in functional communication skills. The ASHA-FACS Qualitative Dimensions of Communication Scale is rated on a 5-point scale reflecting adequacy, appropriateness, and promptness of communication and communication sharing. The 5-point scale ranges from 1) "communication is never relevant/without delay" to 5) "communication is always relevant/ without delay". Higher scores means better functional communication outcome.

    Time frame: Pre-treatment and at 2 weeks Post-treatment

  8. Change in Functional Communication Skills on the ASHA-FACS Qualitative Dimensions of Communication Scale Pre-treatment to 2 Months Post-treatment

    The American Speech-Language-Hearing Association Functional Assessment of Communication Skills for Adults (ASHA FACS) will be administered pre-treatment and 2 months post-treatment to evaluate changes in functional communication skills. The ASHA-FACS Qualitative Dimensions of Communication Scale is rated on a 5-point scale reflecting adequacy, appropriateness, and promptness of communication and communication sharing. The 5-point scale ranges from 1) "communication is never relevant/without delay" to 5) "communication is always relevant/ without delay". Higher scores means better functional communication outcome.

    Time frame: Pre-treatment and at 2 months Post-treatment

  9. Change in Discourse Ability Pre-treatment to Post-treatment.

    The investigators will record the administration of the Cinderella Story Discourse Analysis task to compare changes in core production of words from pre-treatment to post-treatment. The investigators will transcribe the story told by participants at pre and post-treatment and count the total number of words produced on a Core Lexicon checklist. There are 95 words on the Core Lexicon checklist which conveys the story of Cinderella. A person earns one point for each word produced from the checklist when telling the story. Production scores range from 0-95 with higher scores associated with better performance on this discourse task.

    Time frame: Before and after 15 sessions (3-5 sessions per week; up to 5 weeks) of treatment

  10. Change in Discourse Ability Pre- Treatment to 2 Weeks Post-treatment.

    The investigators will record the administration of the Cinderella Story Discourse Analysis task to compare changes in core production of words from pre- treatment to 2 weeks post treatment. The investigators will transcribe the story told by participants at pre and post-treatment and count the total number of words produced on a Core Lexicon checklist. There are 95 words on the Core Lexicon checklist which conveys the story of Cinderella. A person earns one point for each word produced from the checklist when telling the story. Production scores range from 0-95 with higher scores associated with better performance on this discourse task.

    Time frame: Pre-treatment and at 2 weeks Post-treatment

  11. Change in Discourse Ability Pre-treatment to 2 Months Post-treatment.

    The investigators will record the administration of the Cinderella Story Discourse Analysis task to compare changes in core production of words from Pre-treatment to 2 months Post-treatment. The investigators will transcribe the story told by participants at pre and 2 months post-treatment and count the total number of words produced on a Core Lexicon checklist. There are 95 words on the Core Lexicon checklist which conveys the story of Cinderella. A person earns one point for each word produced from the checklist when telling the story. Production scores range from 0-95 with higher scores associated with better performance on this discourse task.

    Time frame: Pre-treatment and at 2 months Post-treatment

07

Results

Posted Apr 21, 2023

Participant flow

Intervention Period 1 (up to 5 Weeks)
Participant flow — Intervention Period 1 (up to 5 Weeks)
MilestonetDCS Plus Computerized Naming Therapy First, Then Sham Plus Computerized Naming TherapySham Plus Computerized Naming Therapy First, Then tDCS Plus Computerized Naming Therapy
Started1414
Completed1113
Not completed31
Wash Out ( 8 Weeks)
Participant flow — Wash Out ( 8 Weeks)
MilestonetDCS Plus Computerized Naming Therapy First, Then Sham Plus Computerized Naming TherapySham Plus Computerized Naming Therapy First, Then tDCS Plus Computerized Naming Therapy
Started1113
Completed1012
Not completed11
Intervention Period 2 (up to 5 Weeks)
Participant flow — Intervention Period 2 (up to 5 Weeks)
MilestonetDCS Plus Computerized Naming Therapy First, Then Sham Plus Computerized Naming TherapySham Plus Computerized Naming Therapy First, Then tDCS Plus Computerized Naming Therapy
Started1012
Completed1012
Not completed00

Outcome measures

PrimaryChange in Accuracy of Naming Untrained Pictures (Philadelphia Naming Test:PNT) Pre-treatment to Post-treatment

To determine whether tDCS coupled with computerized naming therapy will improve naming performance of participants with post stroke aphasia more effectively than naming therapy alone (i.e., the sham condition).The PNT is a 175-item picture naming test where a person earns one point per each correct answer. Scores range from 0-175 with higher scores associated with better performance.

Time frame:
Before and after 15 sessions (3-5 sessions per week; up to 5 weeks) of treatment.
Reported as:
Mean · score on a scale
Change in Accuracy of Naming Untrained Pictures (Philadelphia Naming Test:PNT) Pre-treatment to Post-treatment
score on a scaletDCS Plus Computerized Naming TherapySham Plus Computerized Naming Therapy
Change in Accuracy of Naming Untrained Pictures (Philadelphia Naming Test:PNT) Pre-treatment to Post-treatment5.76 (1.20 to 10.32)1.88 (-1.95 to 5.72)
Statistical analysis
  • tDCS Plus Computerized Naming Therapy vs Sham Plus Computerized Naming Therapy · Mixed Models Analysis · p = 0.24 (Threshold for significance is two-sided alpha of 0.05.) · Mean difference (final values): 3.87 · 95% CI -2.55 to 10.30
SecondaryChange in Accuracy of Naming Untrained Pictures (Philadelphia Naming Test:PNT)Pre-treatment to 2 Weeks Post-treatment.

To determine whether tDCS coupled with computerized naming therapy will improve naming performance of participants with post stroke aphasia more effectively than naming therapy alone (i.e., the sham condition).The PNT is a 175-item picture naming test where a person earns one point per each correct answer. Scores range from 0-175 with higher scores associated with better performance.

Time frame:
Pre-treatment and at 2 weeks Post-treatment
Reported as:
Mean · score on a scale
Change in Accuracy of Naming Untrained Pictures (Philadelphia Naming Test:PNT)Pre-treatment to 2 Weeks Post-treatment.
score on a scaletDCS Plus Computerized Naming TherapySham Plus Computerized Naming Therapy
Change in Accuracy of Naming Untrained Pictures (Philadelphia Naming Test:PNT)Pre-treatment to 2 Weeks Post-treatment.8.31 (3.60 to 13.03)1.18 (-2.85 to 5.22)
SecondaryChange in Accuracy of Naming Untrained Pictures (Philadelphia Naming Test:PNT) Pre-treatment to 2 Months Post-treatment.

To determine whether tDCS coupled with computerized naming therapy will improve naming performance of participants with post stroke aphasia more effectively than naming therapy alone (i.e., the sham condition).The PNT is a 175-item picture naming test where a person earns one point per each correct answer. Scores range from 0-175 with higher scores associated with better performance.

Time frame:
Pre-treatment and at 2 months Post-treatment
Reported as:
Mean · score on a scale
Change in Accuracy of Naming Untrained Pictures (Philadelphia Naming Test:PNT) Pre-treatment to 2 Months Post-treatment.
score on a scaletDCS Plus Computerized Naming TherapySham Plus Computerized Naming Therapy
Change in Accuracy of Naming Untrained Pictures (Philadelphia Naming Test:PNT) Pre-treatment to 2 Months Post-treatment.9.03 (4.31 to 13.74)0.38 (-3.58 to 4.36)
SecondaryChange in Functional Communication Skills on the ASHA-FACS Communication Independence Scale Pre-treatment to Post-treatment

The American Speech-Language-Hearing Association Functional Assessment of Communication Skills for Adults (ASHA FACS) will be administered at Pre- treatment and Post-treatment to evaluate changes in functional communication skills.The ASHA-FACS Communication Independence scale measures functional communication performance along a continuum of independence, in terms of levels of assistance and/or prompting needed in-order to communicate. The 7-point scale ranges from 1) "does not perform the behavior" to 7) "does perform the behavior". Higher scores means better functional communication independence. of communication independence Scale (CI)

Time frame:
Before and after 15 sessions (3-5 sessions per week; up to 5 weeks) of treatment.
Reported as:
Mean · score on a scale
Change in Functional Communication Skills on the ASHA-FACS Communication Independence Scale Pre-treatment to Post-treatment
score on a scaletDCS Plus Computerized Naming TherapySham Plus Computerized Naming Therapy
Change in Functional Communication Skills on the ASHA-FACS Communication Independence Scale Pre-treatment to Post-treatment0.27 (0.12 to 0.42)0.11 (-0.04 to 0.28)
SecondaryChange in Functional Communication Skills on the ASHA-FACS Communication Independence Scale Pre-treatment to 2 Weeks Post-treatment

The American Speech-Language-Hearing Association Functional Assessment of Communication Skills for Adults (ASHA FACS) will be administered pre- treatment and 2 weeks post treatment to evaluate changes in functional communication skills.The ASHA-FACS Communication Independence scale measures functional communication performance along a continuum of independence, in terms of levels of assistance and/or prompting needed in-order to communicate. The 7-point scale ranges from 1) "does not perform the behavior" to 7) "does perform the behavior". Higher scores means better functional communication independence.

Time frame:
Pre-treatment and at 2 weeks Post-treatment
Reported as:
Mean · score on a scale
Change in Functional Communication Skills on the ASHA-FACS Communication Independence Scale Pre-treatment to 2 Weeks Post-treatment
score on a scaletDCS Plus Computerized Naming TherapySham Plus Computerized Naming Therapy
Change in Functional Communication Skills on the ASHA-FACS Communication Independence Scale Pre-treatment to 2 Weeks Post-treatment0.28 (0.12 to 0.44)0.35 (0.18 to 0.52)
SecondaryChange in Functional Communication Skills on the ASHA-FACS Communication Independence Scale Pre-treatment to 2 Months Post-treatment

The American Speech-Language-Hearing Association Functional Assessment of Communication Skills for Adults (ASHA FACS) will be administered pre- treatment and 2 months post treatment to evaluate changes in functional communication skills.The ASHA-FACS Communication Independence scale measures functional communication performance along a continuum of independence, in terms of levels of assistance and/or prompting needed in-order to communicate. The 7-point scale ranges from 1) "does not perform the behavior" to 7) "does perform the behavior". Higher scores means better functional communication independence.

Time frame:
Pre-treatment and at 2 months Post-treatment
Reported as:
Mean · score on a scale
Change in Functional Communication Skills on the ASHA-FACS Communication Independence Scale Pre-treatment to 2 Months Post-treatment
score on a scaletDCS Plus Computerized Naming TherapySham Plus Computerized Naming Therapy
Change in Functional Communication Skills on the ASHA-FACS Communication Independence Scale Pre-treatment to 2 Months Post-treatment0.278 (0.119 to 0.436)0.251 (0.080 to 0.422)
SecondaryChange in Functional Communication Skills on the ASHA-FACS Qualitative Dimensions of Communication Scale Pre-treatment to Post-treatment

The American Speech-Language-Hearing Association Functional Assessment of Communication Skills for Adults (ASHA FACS) will be administered pre-treatment and post-treatment to evaluate changes in functional communication skills. The ASHA-FACS Qualitative Dimensions of Communication Scale is rated on a 5-point scale reflecting adequacy, appropriateness, and promptness of communication and communication sharing. The 5-point scale ranges from 1) "communication is never relevant/without delay" to 5) "communication is always relevant/ without delay". Higher scores means better functional communication outcome.

Time frame:
Before and after 15 sessions (3-5 sessions per week; up to 5 weeks) of treatment.
Reported as:
Mean · score on a scale
Change in Functional Communication Skills on the ASHA-FACS Qualitative Dimensions of Communication Scale Pre-treatment to Post-treatment
score on a scaletDCS Plus Computerized Naming TherapySham Plus Computerized Naming Therapy
Change in Functional Communication Skills on the ASHA-FACS Qualitative Dimensions of Communication Scale Pre-treatment to Post-treatment0.33 (0.20 to 0.46)0.04 (-0.02 to 0.11)
SecondaryChange in Functional Communication Skills on the ASHA-FACS Qualitative Dimensions of Communication Scale Pre-Treatment to 2 Week Post-Treatment

The American Speech-Language-Hearing Association Functional Assessment of Communication Skills for Adults (ASHA FACS) will be administered pre-treatment and 2 weeks post-treatment to evaluate changes in functional communication skills. The ASHA-FACS Qualitative Dimensions of Communication Scale is rated on a 5-point scale reflecting adequacy, appropriateness, and promptness of communication and communication sharing. The 5-point scale ranges from 1) "communication is never relevant/without delay" to 5) "communication is always relevant/ without delay". Higher scores means better functional communication outcome.

Time frame:
Pre-treatment and at 2 weeks Post-treatment
Reported as:
Mean · score on a scale
Change in Functional Communication Skills on the ASHA-FACS Qualitative Dimensions of Communication Scale Pre-Treatment to 2 Week Post-Treatment
score on a scaletDCS Plus Computerized Naming TherapySham Plus Computerized Naming Therapy
Change in Functional Communication Skills on the ASHA-FACS Qualitative Dimensions of Communication Scale Pre-Treatment to 2 Week Post-Treatment0.329 (0.188 to 0.470)0.047 (-0.026 to 0.121)
SecondaryChange in Functional Communication Skills on the ASHA-FACS Qualitative Dimensions of Communication Scale Pre-treatment to 2 Months Post-treatment

The American Speech-Language-Hearing Association Functional Assessment of Communication Skills for Adults (ASHA FACS) will be administered pre-treatment and 2 months post-treatment to evaluate changes in functional communication skills. The ASHA-FACS Qualitative Dimensions of Communication Scale is rated on a 5-point scale reflecting adequacy, appropriateness, and promptness of communication and communication sharing. The 5-point scale ranges from 1) "communication is never relevant/without delay" to 5) "communication is always relevant/ without delay". Higher scores means better functional communication outcome.

Time frame:
Pre-treatment and at 2 months Post-treatment
Reported as:
Mean · score on a scale
Change in Functional Communication Skills on the ASHA-FACS Qualitative Dimensions of Communication Scale Pre-treatment to 2 Months Post-treatment
score on a scaletDCS Plus Computerized Naming TherapySham Plus Computerized Naming Therapy
Change in Functional Communication Skills on the ASHA-FACS Qualitative Dimensions of Communication Scale Pre-treatment to 2 Months Post-treatment0.351 (0.212 to 0.490)0.044 (-0.030 to 0.117)
SecondaryChange in Discourse Ability Pre-treatment to Post-treatment.

The investigators will record the administration of the Cinderella Story Discourse Analysis task to compare changes in core production of words from pre-treatment to post-treatment. The investigators will transcribe the story told by participants at pre and post-treatment and count the total number of words produced on a Core Lexicon checklist. There are 95 words on the Core Lexicon checklist which conveys the story of Cinderella. A person earns one point for each word produced from the checklist when telling the story. Production scores range from 0-95 with higher scores associated with better performance on this discourse task.

Time frame:
Before and after 15 sessions (3-5 sessions per week; up to 5 weeks) of treatment
Reported as:
Mean · score on a scale
Change in Discourse Ability Pre-treatment to Post-treatment.
score on a scaletDCS Plus Computerized Naming TherapySham Plus Computerized Naming Therapy
Change in Discourse Ability Pre-treatment to Post-treatment.1.28 (-1.43 to 3.99)-1.03 (-4.46 to 2.40)
SecondaryChange in Discourse Ability Pre- Treatment to 2 Weeks Post-treatment.

The investigators will record the administration of the Cinderella Story Discourse Analysis task to compare changes in core production of words from pre- treatment to 2 weeks post treatment. The investigators will transcribe the story told by participants at pre and post-treatment and count the total number of words produced on a Core Lexicon checklist. There are 95 words on the Core Lexicon checklist which conveys the story of Cinderella. A person earns one point for each word produced from the checklist when telling the story. Production scores range from 0-95 with higher scores associated with better performance on this discourse task.

Time frame:
Pre-treatment and at 2 weeks Post-treatment
Reported as:
Mean · score on a scale
Change in Discourse Ability Pre- Treatment to 2 Weeks Post-treatment.
score on a scaletDCS Plus Computerized Naming TherapySham Plus Computerized Naming Therapy
Change in Discourse Ability Pre- Treatment to 2 Weeks Post-treatment.0.52 (-2.17 to 3.22)-2.119 (-5.84 to 1.61)
SecondaryChange in Discourse Ability Pre-treatment to 2 Months Post-treatment.

The investigators will record the administration of the Cinderella Story Discourse Analysis task to compare changes in core production of words from Pre-treatment to 2 months Post-treatment. The investigators will transcribe the story told by participants at pre and 2 months post-treatment and count the total number of words produced on a Core Lexicon checklist. There are 95 words on the Core Lexicon checklist which conveys the story of Cinderella. A person earns one point for each word produced from the checklist when telling the story. Production scores range from 0-95 with higher scores associated with better performance on this discourse task.

Time frame:
Pre-treatment and at 2 months Post-treatment
Reported as:
Mean · score on a scale
Change in Discourse Ability Pre-treatment to 2 Months Post-treatment.
score on a scaletDCS Plus Computerized Naming TherapySham Plus Computerized Naming Therapy
Change in Discourse Ability Pre-treatment to 2 Months Post-treatment.1.63 (-1.22 to 4.48)0.36 (-3.28 to 4.01)

Adverse events

Collected over Up to 7 months. Non-serious events are listed at a 0% frequency threshold.

Adverse event summary by group
GroupDeathsSeriousOther
tDCS Plus Computerized Naming Therapy0/26 (0%)0/26 (0%)9/26 (34.6%)
Sham Plus Computerized Naming Therapy0/24 (0%)0/24 (0%)9/24 (37.5%)
Most frequent other events
Most frequent other events
EventtDCS Plus Computerized Naming TherapySham Plus Computerized Naming Therapy
Application site itchingGeneral disorders6/268/24
Application site irritationGeneral disorders3/262/24
Application site painGeneral disorders3/262/24
Application site tinglingGeneral disorders2/262/24
Application site burningGeneral disorders1/260/24

Baseline characteristics

Age, Continuous
Age, Continuous(years)All Participants
Mean63.71 ± 13.61
Sex: Female, Male
Sex: Female, Male(Participants)All Participants
Female5
Male23
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)(Participants)All Participants
Hispanic or Latino1
Not Hispanic or Latino27
Unknown or Not Reported0
Race (NIH/OMB)
Race (NIH/OMB)(Participants)All Participants
American Indian or Alaska Native0
Asian3
Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander0
Black or African American9
White15
More than one race1
Unknown or Not Reported0
Region of Enrollment
Region of Enrollment(Participants)All Participants
United States28
Boston Diagnostic Aphasia Examination Aphasia Severity Rating Scale
Boston Diagnostic Aphasia Examination Aphasia Severity Rating Scale(units on a scale)All Participants
Mean2.71 (1 to 4)
08

Study locations

1 site
  • Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine
    Baltimore, Maryland 21287, United States
09

References and documents

Study documents

  • Protocol and statistical analysis plan · Oct 5, 2020
  • Informed consent form · Oct 18, 2018

Documents are hosted by the registry — open the source record to download them.

Individual participant data

Plan to share: Yes — Upon completion of the projects and dissemination of primary study results, the analysis data files will be made available to the public, along with the final version of the study protocol, the data dictionary, and brief instructions ("read me" file). The public use data files and the accompanying documents will be made available through the National Technical Information Service (NTIS).

10

Updates

Tracking since Sep 25, 2026
No changes since tracking began. The registry record was last updated on Apr 21, 2023, before this site started recording changes on Sep 25, 2026. Its history is on ClinicalTrials.gov ↗
11

Registry details

Key details

Study ID
NCT02901574
Lead sponsor
Johns Hopkins University
Collaborators
National Institute on Deafness and Other Communication Disorders (NIDCD)
Responsible party
Sponsor
First posted
Sep 15, 2016
Start date
Sep 19, 2016
Primary completion
May 20, 2022
Completion
May 20, 2022
Results posted
Apr 21, 2023
Last update
Apr 21, 2023

Study contacts

Rajani Sebastian, PhD, CCC-SLP
principal investigator · Johns Hopkins University
View the source record on ClinicalTrials.gov ↗

Not currently enrolling

This study is completed, as verified in Feb 2023. You cannot join it, but the record below documents what was studied.

Follow this study

Get an email when the registry record changes — status, dates, results — or when someone posts here.

Sign in to follow

Discussion

Questions and observations about this study, from anyone following it. Not medical advice, and not a channel to the study team — their contact details are on the registry record.

Sign in to join the discussion. Reading takes no account; posting does. You choose a display name, and a pseudonym is the default.

Nothing here yet. If you are running this trial, taking part in it, or weighing whether to, this is the place to say so.

Start the discussion