A Phase 1 interventional study of Tedizolid Phosphate (IV) and Tedizolid Phosphate (oral suspension) in Gram-Positive Bacterial Infections, sponsored by Merck Sharp & Dohme LLC. Completed. Open to participants aged 2 Years to 11 Years. Per ClinicalTrials.gov, last updated 2019-12-20.
Sponsored by Merck Sharp & Dohme LLC (part of Merck & Co., Inc) · Phase 1, Interventional, and Treatment
This is a study to assess the pharmacokinetics (PK) of tedizolid phosphate and its active metabolite, tedizolid, and the safety of tedizolid phosphate following administration of a single IV (Part A) or oral suspension (Part B) administration to hospitalized participants ages 6 to \<12 years (Groups 1 and 3, respectively), and 2 to \<6 years (Groups 2 and 4, respectively).
Part A (IV):
Part B (Oral Suspension):
In Cohort 1 of Group 1 (IV) participants received a single administration of tedizolid phosphate at 5 mg/kg of total body weight. After all participants in Cohort 1 of Group 1 received study drug, a preliminary analysis of the safety and PK data was performed and results were used to select 4 mg/kg as the appropriate dose for Cohort 2 of Group 1 and Group 3, and to select 6 mg/kg as the starting dose for the younger participants, Cohort 1 of Group 2. After all participants in Cohort 1 of Group 2 receive study drug, another preliminary analysis of the safety and PK data will be performed and results will be used to confirm 6 mg/kg as the appropriate dose for Cohort 2 of Group 2. Similarly, the Group 4 dose will be confirmed after data review of Group 3 results.
49 studies on the registry are indexed under Gram-Positive Bacterial Infections; 5 are open to participants now.
This study's enrollment of 32 is below the median of 86 across 35 interventional studies indexed under Gram-Positive Bacterial Infections.
Browse Gram-Positive Bacterial Infections studies →Merck Sharp & Dohme LLC is the lead sponsor of 2,159 studies on the registry; 133 are open to participants now.
Of its 497 completed or terminated interventional studies of FDA-regulated products, 369 (74%) have results posted.
Counted across the registry records on this site, refreshed daily.
Go through the criteria one by one — yes, no or not sure — and take the list to your doctor or the study team. Kept in this browser only.
Exclusion Criteria:
Participants 6 to \<12 years of age received a single intravenous infusion of tedizolid phosphate dosed at 5 mg/kg of total body weight. Maximum dose is 200 mg of tedizolid phosphate.
Drug: Tedizolid Phosphate (IV)
Participants 6 to \<12 years of age received a single intravenous infusion of tedizolid phosphate dosed at 4 mg/kg of total body weight. Maximum dose is 200 mg of tedizolid phosphate.
Drug: Tedizolid Phosphate (IV)
Participants 2 to \<6 years of age received a single intravenous infusion of tedizolid phosphate dosed at 6 mg/kg of total body weight. Maximum dose is 200 mg of tedizolid phosphate.
Drug: Tedizolid Phosphate (IV)
Participants 2 to \<6 years of age received a single intravenous infusion of tedizolid phosphate dosed at 3 mg/kg of total body weight. Maximum dose is 200 mg of tedizolid phosphate.
Drug: Tedizolid Phosphate (IV)
Participants 6 to \<12 years of age received a single dose of tedizolid phosphate oral suspension dosed at 4 mg/kg of total body weight. Maximum dose is 200 mg of tedizolid phosphate.
Drug: Tedizolid Phosphate (oral suspension)
Participants 2 to \<6 years of age received a single dose of tedizolid phosphate oral suspension dosed at 3 mg/kg of total body weight. Maximum dose is 200 mg of tedizolid phosphate.
Drug: Tedizolid Phosphate (oral suspension)
200 mg/vial powder for injection
Also known as: Sivextro, TR-701 FA, MK-1986
Powder for oral suspension 20 mg/mL following reconstitution
Also known as: Sivextro, TR-701 FA, MK-1986
Maximum Observed Drug Concentration in Plasma (Cmax) of Tedizolid Phosphate (Prodrug)
Cmax of tedizolid phosphate in participants ages 6 to \<12 years (Group 1) and 2 to \<6 years (Group 2). Pharmacokinetic sampling occurred at the following time points: Group 1 (6 to \<12 years): Day 1 immediately after infusion and 1.5, 2, 3, 4, 6, 12, and 24 hours; Group 2 (IV): Day 1 immediately after infusion and 3, 6, 12, 24 and 48 hours; Group 3 (6 to \<12 years): Day 1 at 1, 2, 3, 4, 6, 8, 12, and 24 hours after oral dose; Group 4 (2 to \<6 years): Day 1 at 3, 6, 9, 12, 24 and 48 hours after oral dose.
Time frame: IV: immediately after the end of the infusion, and various time points up to 48 hours after the start of infusion as described above. Oral: at various time points up to 48 hours after the dose as described above.
Time to Reach Peak Plasma Concentration (Tmax) of Tedizolid Phosphate (Prodrug)
Time to reach peak plasma concentration (Tmax) of tedizolid phosphate in participants ages 6 to \<12 years (Group 1) and 2 to \<6 years (Group 2). Tedizolid phosphate concentrations were below the lower limit of quantification in Group 3 and Group 4. Pharmacokinetic sampling occurred at the following time points: Group 1 (6 to \<12 years): Day 1 immediately after infusion and 1.5, 2, 3, 4, 6, 12, and 24 hours; Group 2 (IV): Day 1 immediately after infusion and 3, 6, 12, 24 and 48 hours; Group 3 (6 to \<12 years): Day 1 at 1, 2, 3, 4, 6, 8, 12, and 24 hours after oral dose; Group 4 (2 to \<6 years): Day 1 at 3, 6, 9, 12, 24 and 48 hours after oral dose.
Time frame: IV: immediately after the end of the infusion, and various time points up to 48 hours after the start of infusion as described above. Oral: at various time points up to 48 hours after the dose as described above.
Area Under the Plasma Concentration Time Curve (AUC) of Tedizolid Phosphate (Prodrug) From Time Zero to Last Detectable Measurement
Area under the plasma concentration time curve (AUC) of tedizolid phosphate from time zero to last detectable measurement following administration of IV or oral dose. Pharmacokinetic sampling occurred at the following time points: Group 1 (6 to \<12 years): Day 1 immediately after infusion and 1.5, 2, 3, 4, 6, 12, and 24 hours; Group 2 (IV): Day 1 immediately after infusion and 3, 6, 12, 24 and 48 hours; Group 3 (6 to \<12 years): Day 1 at 1, 2, 3, 4, 6, 8, 12, and 24 hours after oral dose; Group 4 (2 to \<6 years): Day 1 at 3, 6, 9, 12, 24 and 48 hours after oral dose.
Time frame: IV: immediately after the end of the infusion, and various time points up to 48 hours after the start of infusion as described above. Oral: at various time points up to 48 hours after the dose as described above.
Area Under the Plasma Concentration Time Curve (AUC) of Tedizolid Phosphate (Prodrug) From Time Zero to Infinity
Area under the plasma concentration time curve (AUC) of tedizolid phosphate from time zero to infinity following administration of IV or oral dose. Pharmacokinetic sampling occurred at the following time points: Group 1 (6 to \<12 years): Day 1 immediately after infusion and 1.5, 2, 3, 4, 6, 12, and 24 hours; Group 2 (IV): Day 1 immediately after infusion and 3, 6, 12, 24 and 48 hours; Group 3 (6 to \<12 years): Day 1 at 1, 2, 3, 4, 6, 8, 12, and 24 hours after oral dose; Group 4 (2 to \<6 years): Day 1 at 3, 6, 9, 12, 24 and 48 hours after oral dose.
Time frame: IV: immediately after the end of the infusion, and various time points up to 48 hours after the start of infusion as described above. Oral: at various time points up to 48 hours after the dose as described above.
Terminal Elimination Half-life (T1/2) of Tedizolid Phosphate (Prodrug)
Terminal elimination half-life (T1/2) of tedizolid phosphate following administration of IV or oral dose. Pharmacokinetic sampling occurred at the following time points: Group 1 (6 to \<12 years): Day 1 immediately after infusion and 1.5, 2, 3, 4, 6, 12, and 24 hours; Group 2 (IV): Day 1 immediately after infusion and 3, 6, 12, 24 and 48 hours; Group 3 (6 to \<12 years): Day 1 at 1, 2, 3, 4, 6, 8, 12, and 24 hours after oral dose; Group 4 (2 to \<6 years): Day 1 at 3, 6, 9, 12, 24 and 48 hours after oral dose.
Time frame: IV: immediately after the end of the infusion, and various time points up to 48 hours after the start of infusion as described above. Oral: at various time points up to 48 hours after the dose as described above.
Clearance (CL) of Tedizolid Phosphate (Prodrug) in Participants Who Received Tedizolid Phosphate Intravenously (IV)
CL of IV tedizolid phosphate in participants ages 6 to \<12 years (Group 1) and 2 to \<6 years (Group 2).
Time frame: Group 1 (6 to <12 years): Day 1 immediately after infusion and at 1.5, 2, 3, 4, 6, 12, and 24 hours. Group 2 (2 to <6 years): Day 1 immediately after infusion and at 3, 6, 12, 24 and 48 hours.
Clearance (CL/F) of Tedizolid Phosphate in Participants Who Received Oral Tedizolid Phosphate (Prodrug)
CL/F of oral suspension tedizolid phosphate and its active metabolite, tedizolid, in participants ages 6 to \<12 years (Group 3) and 2 to \<6 years (Groups 4).
Time frame: Group 3 (6 to <12 years): at 1, 2, 3, 4, 6, 8, 12, and 24 hours after the dose; Group 4 (2 to <6 years): at 3, 6, 9, 12, 24 and 48 hours after the dose
Maximum Observed Drug Concentration in Plasma (Cmax) of Tedizolid (the Active Metabolite)
Maximum observed drug concentration in plasma (Cmax) of tedizolid (active metabolite) following administration of IV or oral dose. Pharmacokinetic sampling occurred at the following time points: Group 1 (6 to \<12 years): Day 1 immediately after infusion and 1.5, 2, 3, 4, 6, 12, and 24 hours; Group 2 (IV): Day 1 immediately after infusion and 3, 6, 12, 24 and 48 hours; Group 3 (6 to \<12 years): Day 1 at 1, 2, 3, 4, 6, 8, 12, and 24 hours after oral dose; Group 4 (2 to \<6 years): Day 1 at 3, 6, 9, 12, 24 and 48 hours after oral dose.
Time frame: IV: immediately after the end of the infusion, and various time points up to 48 hours after the start of infusion as described above. Oral: at various time points up to 48 hours after the dose as described above.
Time to Reach Peak Plasma Concentration (Tmax) of Tedizolid (the Active Metabolite)
Time to reach peak plasma concentration (Tmax) of tedizolid (active metabolite) following administration of IV or oral dose. Pharmacokinetic sampling occurred at the following time points: Group 1 (6 to \<12 years): Day 1 immediately after infusion and 1.5, 2, 3, 4, 6, 12, and 24 hours; Group 2 (IV): Day 1 immediately after infusion and 3, 6, 12, 24 and 48 hours; Group 3 (6 to \<12 years): Day 1 at 1, 2, 3, 4, 6, 8, 12, and 24 hours after oral dose; Group 4 (2 to \<6 years): Day 1 at 3, 6, 9, 12, 24 and 48 hours after oral dose.
Time frame: IV: immediately after the end of the infusion, and various time points up to 48 hours after the start of infusion as described above. Oral: at various time points up to 48 hours after the dose as described above.
Area Under the Plasma Concentration Time Curve (AUC) of Tedizolid (Active Metabolite) From Time Zero to Last Detectable Measurement
Area under the plasma concentration time curve (AUC) of tedizolid (active metabolite) from time zero to last detectable measurement following administration of IV or oral dose. Pharmacokinetic sampling occurred at the following time points: Group 1 (6 to \<12 years): Day 1 immediately after infusion and 1.5, 2, 3, 4, 6, 12, and 24 hours; Group 2 (IV): Day 1 immediately after infusion and 3, 6, 12, 24 and 48 hours; Group 3 (6 to \<12 years): Day 1 at 1, 2, 3, 4, 6, 8, 12, and 24 hours after oral dose; Group 4 (2 to \<6 years): Day 1 at 3, 6, 9, 12, 24 and 48 hours after oral dose.
Time frame: IV: immediately after the end of the infusion, and various time points up to 48 hours after the start of infusion as described above. Oral: at various time points up to 48 hours after the dose as described above.
Area Under the Plasma Concentration Time Curve (AUC) of Tedizolid (Active Metabolite) From Time Zero to Infinity
Area under the plasma concentration time curve (AUC) of tedizolid (active metabolite) from time zero to infinity following administration of IV or oral dose. Pharmacokinetic sampling occurred at the following time points: Group 1 (6 to \<12 years): Day 1 immediately after infusion and 1.5, 2, 3, 4, 6, 12, and 24 hours; Group 2 (IV): Day 1 immediately after infusion and 3, 6, 12, 24 and 48 hours; Group 3 (6 to \<12 years): Day 1 at 1, 2, 3, 4, 6, 8, 12, and 24 hours after oral dose; Group 4 (2 to \<6 years): Day 1 at 3, 6, 9, 12, 24 and 48 hours after oral dose.
Time frame: IV: immediately after the end of the infusion, and various time points up to 48 hours after the start of infusion as described above. Oral: at various time points up to 48 hours after the dose as described above.
Terminal Elimination Half-life (T1/2) of Tedizolid (Active Metabolite)
Terminal elimination half-life (T1/2) of tedizolid (active metabolite) following administration of IV or oral dose. Pharmacokinetic sampling occurred at the following time points: Group 1 (6 to \<12 years): Day 1 immediately after infusion and 1.5, 2, 3, 4, 6, 12, and 24 hours; Group 2 (IV): Day 1 immediately after infusion and 3, 6, 12, 24 and 48 hours; Group 3 (6 to \<12 years): Day 1 at 1, 2, 3, 4, 6, 8, 12, and 24 hours after oral dose; Group 4 (2 to \<6 years): Day 1 at 3, 6, 9, 12, 24 and 48 hours after oral dose.
Time frame: IV: immediately after the end of the infusion, and various time points up to 48 hours after the start of infusion as described above. Oral: at various time points up to 48 hours after the dose as described above.
Clearance (CL) of Tedizolid (Active Metabolite) in Participants Who Received Tedizolid Phosphate Intravenously (IV)
CL of IV tedizolid phosphate and its active metabolite, tedizolid, in participants ages 6 to \<12 years (Group 1) and 2 to \<6 years (Group 2).
Time frame: Group 1 (6 to <12 years): Day 1 immediately after infusion and at 1.5, 2, 3, 4, 6, 12, and 24 hours. Group 2 (2 to <6 years): Day 1 immediately after infusion and at 3, 6, 12, 24 and 48 hours.
Clearance (CL/F) of Tedizolid (Active Metabolite) in Participants Who Received Oral Tedizolid Phosphate
CL/F of tedizolid, in participants ages 6 to \<12 years (Group 3) and 2 to \<6 years (Groups 4).
Time frame: Group 3 (6 to <12 years): at 1, 2, 3, 4, 6, 8, 12, and 24 hours after the dose; Group 4 (2 to <6 years): at 3, 6, 9, 12, 24 and 48 hours after the dose
Dose Normalized Area Under the Plasma Concentration Time Curve (AUC) of Tedizolid (Active Metabolite) From Time Zero to Infinity
The area under the plasma concentration time curve (AUC) of tedizolid (active metabolite) from time zero to infinity following administration of IV or oral dose, normalized to dosage, was calculated. Per protocol, this outcome used pooled groups as follows: The IV Group pooled Groups 1 and 2, who received tedizolid phosphate via intravenous (IV) administration; the Oral Group pooled groups 3 and 4, who received tedizolid phosphate via oral administration. Pharmacokinetic sampling occurred at the following time points: Group 1 (part of the IV Group): Day 1 immediately after infusion and 1.5, 2, 3, 4, 6, 12, and 24 hours; Group 2 (part of the IV Group): Day 1 immediately after infusion and 3, 6, 12, 24 and 48 hours; Group 3 (part of the Oral Group): Day 1 at 1, 2, 3, 4, 6, 8, 12, and 24 hours after oral dose; Group 4 (part of the Oral Group): Day 1 at 3, 6, 9, 12, 24 and 48 hours after oral dose.
Time frame: IV: immediately after the end of the infusion, and various time points up to 48 hours after the start of infusion as described above. Oral: at various time points up to 48 hours after the dose as described above.
Number of Participants Who Experienced at Least One Adverse Event
An adverse event is defined as any untoward medical occurrence in a person administered a pharmaceutical product and which does not necessarily have to have a causal relationship with this treatment.
Time frame: Up to 9 days
Number of Participants Who Discontinued Study Drug Due to an Adverse Event
An adverse event is defined as any untoward medical occurrence in a person administered a pharmaceutical product and which does not necessarily have to have a causal relationship with this treatment.
Time frame: 1 day
Palatability of Oral Tedizolid Phosphate Suspension in Participants Who Received Oral Tedizolid Phosphate
Palatability of oral tedizolid phosphate suspension in participants ages 6 to \<12 years (Group 3) and 2 to \<6 years (Group 4). Palatability was assessed using a 5-point hedonic scale and spontaneous verbal judgment. This hedonic scale consists of 5 pictures of line drawn faces corresponding to very bad, bad, neither good nor bad, good and very good. The participant was asked to mark or point to the face to show how they felt about the taste of the study drug. For preverbal children, the score was assessed by the parent/caregiver, or study staff administering or witnessing administration of the study drug.
Time frame: Following single oral dose on Day 1
| Milestone | Group 1 Cohort 1: Tedizolid IV 5 mg/kg (6 to <12 Years) | Group 1 Cohort 2: Tedizolid IV 4 mg/kg (6 to <12 Years) | Group 2 Cohort 1: Tedizolid IV 6 mg/kg (2 to <6 Years) | Group 2 Cohort 2: Tedizolid IV 3 mg/kg (2 to <6 Years) | Group 3: Tedizolid Oral 4 mg/kg (6 to <12 Years) | Group 4: Tedizolid Oral 3 mg/kg (2 to <6 Years) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Started | 5 | 5 | 5 | 5 | 6 | 6 |
| Completed | 5 | 5 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 6 |
| Not completed | 0 | 0 | 1 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Withdrew: Lost to follow-up | 0 | 0 | 1 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
Cmax of tedizolid phosphate in participants ages 6 to \<12 years (Group 1) and 2 to \<6 years (Group 2). Pharmacokinetic sampling occurred at the following time points: Group 1 (6 to \<12 years): Day 1 immediately after infusion and 1.5, 2, 3, 4, 6, 12, and 24 hours; Group 2 (IV): Day 1 immediately after infusion and 3, 6, 12, 24 and 48 hours; Group 3 (6 to \<12 years): Day 1 at 1, 2, 3, 4, 6, 8, 12, and 24 hours after oral dose; Group 4 (2 to \<6 years): Day 1 at 3, 6, 9, 12, 24 and 48 hours after oral dose.
| ng/mL | Group 1 Cohort 1: Tedizolid IV 5 mg/kg (6 to <12 Years) | Group 1 Cohort 2: Tedizolid IV 4 mg/kg (6 to <12 Years) | Group 2 Cohort 1: Tedizolid IV 6 mg/kg (2 to <6 Years) | Group 2 Cohort 2: Tedizolid IV 3 mg/kg (2 to <6 Years) | Group 3: Tedizolid Oral 4 mg/kg (6 to <12 Years) | Group 4: Tedizolid Oral 3 mg/kg (2 to <6 Years) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Maximum Observed Drug Concentration in Plasma (Cmax) of Tedizolid Phosphate (Prodrug) | 76.3 (8.38 to 695) | 82.4 (11.4 to 595) | 710 (98.4 to 5130) | 234 (25.7 to 2140) | NA (NA to NA) | 9.4 (NA to NA) |
Time to reach peak plasma concentration (Tmax) of tedizolid phosphate in participants ages 6 to \<12 years (Group 1) and 2 to \<6 years (Group 2). Tedizolid phosphate concentrations were below the lower limit of quantification in Group 3 and Group 4. Pharmacokinetic sampling occurred at the following time points: Group 1 (6 to \<12 years): Day 1 immediately after infusion and 1.5, 2, 3, 4, 6, 12, and 24 hours; Group 2 (IV): Day 1 immediately after infusion and 3, 6, 12, 24 and 48 hours; Group 3 (6 to \<12 years): Day 1 at 1, 2, 3, 4, 6, 8, 12, and 24 hours after oral dose; Group 4 (2 to \<6 years): Day 1 at 3, 6, 9, 12, 24 and 48 hours after oral dose.
| Hours | Group 1 Cohort 1: Tedizolid IV 5 mg/kg (6 to <12 Years) | Group 1 Cohort 2: Tedizolid IV 4 mg/kg (6 to <12 Years) | Group 2 Cohort 1: Tedizolid IV 6 mg/kg (2 to <6 Years) | Group 2 Cohort 2: Tedizolid IV 3 mg/kg (2 to <6 Years) | Group 3: Tedizolid Oral 4 mg/kg (6 to <12 Years) | Group 4: Tedizolid Oral 3 mg/kg (2 to <6 Years) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Time to Reach Peak Plasma Concentration (Tmax) of Tedizolid Phosphate (Prodrug) | 1.18 (1.07 to 2.07) | 1.10 (1.00 to 1.33) | 1.12 (1.07 to 1.17) | 1.02 (1.00 to 1.05) | NA (NA to NA) | 6.0 (6.0 to 6.0) |
Area under the plasma concentration time curve (AUC) of tedizolid phosphate from time zero to last detectable measurement following administration of IV or oral dose. Pharmacokinetic sampling occurred at the following time points: Group 1 (6 to \<12 years): Day 1 immediately after infusion and 1.5, 2, 3, 4, 6, 12, and 24 hours; Group 2 (IV): Day 1 immediately after infusion and 3, 6, 12, 24 and 48 hours; Group 3 (6 to \<12 years): Day 1 at 1, 2, 3, 4, 6, 8, 12, and 24 hours after oral dose; Group 4 (2 to \<6 years): Day 1 at 3, 6, 9, 12, 24 and 48 hours after oral dose.
| hr*ng/mL | Group 1 Cohort 1: Tedizolid IV 5 mg/kg (6 to <12 Years) | Group 1 Cohort 2: Tedizolid IV 4 mg/kg (6 to <12 Years) | Group 2 Cohort 1: Tedizolid IV 6 mg/kg (2 to <6 Years) | Group 2 Cohort 2: Tedizolid IV 3 mg/kg (2 to <6 Years) | Group 3: Tedizolid Oral 4 mg/kg (6 to <12 Years) | Group 4: Tedizolid Oral 3 mg/kg (2 to <6 Years) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Area Under the Plasma Concentration Time Curve (AUC) of Tedizolid Phosphate (Prodrug) From Time Zero to Last Detectable Measurement | 64.8 (6.42 to 654) | 63.6 (8.04 to 503) | 433 (54.8 to 3430) | 182 (18.1 to 1840) | NA (NA to NA) | 14.1 (NA to NA) |
Area under the plasma concentration time curve (AUC) of tedizolid phosphate from time zero to infinity following administration of IV or oral dose. Pharmacokinetic sampling occurred at the following time points: Group 1 (6 to \<12 years): Day 1 immediately after infusion and 1.5, 2, 3, 4, 6, 12, and 24 hours; Group 2 (IV): Day 1 immediately after infusion and 3, 6, 12, 24 and 48 hours; Group 3 (6 to \<12 years): Day 1 at 1, 2, 3, 4, 6, 8, 12, and 24 hours after oral dose; Group 4 (2 to \<6 years): Day 1 at 3, 6, 9, 12, 24 and 48 hours after oral dose.
| hr*ng/mL | Group 1 Cohort 1: Tedizolid IV 5 mg/kg (6 to <12 Years) | Group 1 Cohort 2: Tedizolid IV 4 mg/kg (6 to <12 Years) | Group 2 Cohort 1: Tedizolid IV 6 mg/kg (2 to <6 Years) | Group 2 Cohort 2: Tedizolid IV 3 mg/kg (2 to <6 Years) | Group 3: Tedizolid Oral 4 mg/kg (6 to <12 Years) | Group 4: Tedizolid Oral 3 mg/kg (2 to <6 Years) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Area Under the Plasma Concentration Time Curve (AUC) of Tedizolid Phosphate (Prodrug) From Time Zero to Infinity | NA (NA to NA) | NA (NA to NA) | NA (NA to NA) | 2000 (2000 to 2000) | NA (NA to NA) | NA (NA to NA) |
Terminal elimination half-life (T1/2) of tedizolid phosphate following administration of IV or oral dose. Pharmacokinetic sampling occurred at the following time points: Group 1 (6 to \<12 years): Day 1 immediately after infusion and 1.5, 2, 3, 4, 6, 12, and 24 hours; Group 2 (IV): Day 1 immediately after infusion and 3, 6, 12, 24 and 48 hours; Group 3 (6 to \<12 years): Day 1 at 1, 2, 3, 4, 6, 8, 12, and 24 hours after oral dose; Group 4 (2 to \<6 years): Day 1 at 3, 6, 9, 12, 24 and 48 hours after oral dose.
| Hours | Group 1 Cohort 1: Tedizolid IV 5 mg/kg (6 to <12 Years) | Group 1 Cohort 2: Tedizolid IV 4 mg/kg (6 to <12 Years) | Group 2 Cohort 1: Tedizolid IV 6 mg/kg (2 to <6 Years) | Group 2 Cohort 2: Tedizolid IV 3 mg/kg (2 to <6 Years) | Group 3: Tedizolid Oral 4 mg/kg (6 to <12 Years) | Group 4: Tedizolid Oral 3 mg/kg (2 to <6 Years) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Terminal Elimination Half-life (T1/2) of Tedizolid Phosphate (Prodrug) | NA ± NA | NA ± NA | NA ± NA | 2.77 ± NA | NA ± NA | NA ± NA |
CL of IV tedizolid phosphate in participants ages 6 to \<12 years (Group 1) and 2 to \<6 years (Group 2).
| mL/hr | Group 1 Cohort 1: Tedizolid IV 5 mg/kg (6 to <12 Years) | Group 1 Cohort 2: Tedizolid IV 4 mg/kg (6 to <12 Years) | Group 2 Cohort 1: Tedizolid IV 6 mg/kg (2 to <6 Years) | Group 2 Cohort 2: Tedizolid IV 3 mg/kg (2 to <6 Years) |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Clearance (CL) of Tedizolid Phosphate (Prodrug) in Participants Who Received Tedizolid Phosphate Intravenously (IV) | NA ± NA | NA ± NA | NA ± NA | 24400 ± NA |
CL/F of oral suspension tedizolid phosphate and its active metabolite, tedizolid, in participants ages 6 to \<12 years (Group 3) and 2 to \<6 years (Groups 4).
| mL/hr/kg | Group 3: Tedizolid Oral 4 mg/kg (6 to <12 Years) | Group 4: Tedizolid Oral 3 mg/kg (2 to <6 Years) |
|---|---|---|
| Clearance (CL/F) of Tedizolid Phosphate in Participants Who Received Oral Tedizolid Phosphate (Prodrug) | NA ± NA | NA ± NA |
Maximum observed drug concentration in plasma (Cmax) of tedizolid (active metabolite) following administration of IV or oral dose. Pharmacokinetic sampling occurred at the following time points: Group 1 (6 to \<12 years): Day 1 immediately after infusion and 1.5, 2, 3, 4, 6, 12, and 24 hours; Group 2 (IV): Day 1 immediately after infusion and 3, 6, 12, 24 and 48 hours; Group 3 (6 to \<12 years): Day 1 at 1, 2, 3, 4, 6, 8, 12, and 24 hours after oral dose; Group 4 (2 to \<6 years): Day 1 at 3, 6, 9, 12, 24 and 48 hours after oral dose.
| ng/mL | Group 1 Cohort 1: Tedizolid IV 5 mg/kg (6 to <12 Years) | Group 1 Cohort 2: Tedizolid IV 4 mg/kg (6 to <12 Years) | Group 2 Cohort 1: Tedizolid IV 6 mg/kg (2 to <6 Years) | Group 2 Cohort 2: Tedizolid IV 3 mg/kg (2 to <6 Years) | Group 3: Tedizolid Oral 4 mg/kg (6 to <12 Years) | Group 4: Tedizolid Oral 3 mg/kg (2 to <6 Years) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Maximum Observed Drug Concentration in Plasma (Cmax) of Tedizolid (the Active Metabolite) | 4960 ± 3440 | 4140 ± 2880 | 7460 ± 5180 | 4190 ± 2910 | 2590 ± 1860 | 1820 ± 1310 |
Time to reach peak plasma concentration (Tmax) of tedizolid (active metabolite) following administration of IV or oral dose. Pharmacokinetic sampling occurred at the following time points: Group 1 (6 to \<12 years): Day 1 immediately after infusion and 1.5, 2, 3, 4, 6, 12, and 24 hours; Group 2 (IV): Day 1 immediately after infusion and 3, 6, 12, 24 and 48 hours; Group 3 (6 to \<12 years): Day 1 at 1, 2, 3, 4, 6, 8, 12, and 24 hours after oral dose; Group 4 (2 to \<6 years): Day 1 at 3, 6, 9, 12, 24 and 48 hours after oral dose.
| Hours | Group 1 Cohort 1: Tedizolid IV 5 mg/kg (6 to <12 Years) | Group 1 Cohort 2: Tedizolid IV 4 mg/kg (6 to <12 Years) | Group 2 Cohort 1: Tedizolid IV 6 mg/kg (2 to <6 Years) | Group 2 Cohort 2: Tedizolid IV 3 mg/kg (2 to <6 Years) | Group 3: Tedizolid Oral 4 mg/kg (6 to <12 Years) | Group 4: Tedizolid Oral 3 mg/kg (2 to <6 Years) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Time to Reach Peak Plasma Concentration (Tmax) of Tedizolid (the Active Metabolite) | 1.18 ± 1.07 | 1.10 ± 1.00 | 1.12 ± 1.07 | 1.00 ± 1.00 | 2.53 ± 1.20 | 3.08 ± 3.00 |
Area under the plasma concentration time curve (AUC) of tedizolid (active metabolite) from time zero to last detectable measurement following administration of IV or oral dose. Pharmacokinetic sampling occurred at the following time points: Group 1 (6 to \<12 years): Day 1 immediately after infusion and 1.5, 2, 3, 4, 6, 12, and 24 hours; Group 2 (IV): Day 1 immediately after infusion and 3, 6, 12, 24 and 48 hours; Group 3 (6 to \<12 years): Day 1 at 1, 2, 3, 4, 6, 8, 12, and 24 hours after oral dose; Group 4 (2 to \<6 years): Day 1 at 3, 6, 9, 12, 24 and 48 hours after oral dose.
| hr*ng/mL | Group 1 Cohort 1: Tedizolid IV 5 mg/kg (6 to <12 Years) | Group 1 Cohort 2: Tedizolid IV 4 mg/kg (6 to <12 Years) | Group 2 Cohort 1: Tedizolid IV 6 mg/kg (2 to <6 Years) | Group 2 Cohort 2: Tedizolid IV 3 mg/kg (2 to <6 Years) | Group 3: Tedizolid Oral 4 mg/kg (6 to <12 Years) | Group 4: Tedizolid Oral 3 mg/kg (2 to <6 Years) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Area Under the Plasma Concentration Time Curve (AUC) of Tedizolid (Active Metabolite) From Time Zero to Last Detectable Measurement | 28200 ± 21200 | 19700 ± 14800 | 26800 ± 20200 | 17100 ± 12800 | 22700 ± 17500 | 14600 ± 11200 |
Area under the plasma concentration time curve (AUC) of tedizolid (active metabolite) from time zero to infinity following administration of IV or oral dose. Pharmacokinetic sampling occurred at the following time points: Group 1 (6 to \<12 years): Day 1 immediately after infusion and 1.5, 2, 3, 4, 6, 12, and 24 hours; Group 2 (IV): Day 1 immediately after infusion and 3, 6, 12, 24 and 48 hours; Group 3 (6 to \<12 years): Day 1 at 1, 2, 3, 4, 6, 8, 12, and 24 hours after oral dose; Group 4 (2 to \<6 years): Day 1 at 3, 6, 9, 12, 24 and 48 hours after oral dose.
| hr*ng/mL | Group 1 Cohort 1: Tedizolid IV 5 mg/kg (6 to <12 Years) | Group 1 Cohort 2: Tedizolid IV 4 mg/kg (6 to <12 Years) | Group 2 Cohort 1: Tedizolid IV 6 mg/kg (2 to <6 Years) | Group 2 Cohort 2: Tedizolid IV 3 mg/kg (2 to <6 Years) | Group 3: Tedizolid Oral 4 mg/kg (6 to <12 Years) | Group 4: Tedizolid Oral 3 mg/kg (2 to <6 Years) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Area Under the Plasma Concentration Time Curve (AUC) of Tedizolid (Active Metabolite) From Time Zero to Infinity | 29600 (22500 to 38900) | 21000 (16000 to 27600) | 27300 (20800 to 35900) | 17300 (13200 to 22700) | 24900 (19400 to 32000) | 17200 (13100 to 22600) |
Terminal elimination half-life (T1/2) of tedizolid (active metabolite) following administration of IV or oral dose. Pharmacokinetic sampling occurred at the following time points: Group 1 (6 to \<12 years): Day 1 immediately after infusion and 1.5, 2, 3, 4, 6, 12, and 24 hours; Group 2 (IV): Day 1 immediately after infusion and 3, 6, 12, 24 and 48 hours; Group 3 (6 to \<12 years): Day 1 at 1, 2, 3, 4, 6, 8, 12, and 24 hours after oral dose; Group 4 (2 to \<6 years): Day 1 at 3, 6, 9, 12, 24 and 48 hours after oral dose.
| Hours | Group 1 Cohort 1: Tedizolid IV 5 mg/kg (6 to <12 Years) | Group 1 Cohort 2: Tedizolid IV 4 mg/kg (6 to <12 Years) | Group 2 Cohort 1: Tedizolid IV 6 mg/kg (2 to <6 Years) | Group 2 Cohort 2: Tedizolid IV 3 mg/kg (2 to <6 Years) | Group 3: Tedizolid Oral 4 mg/kg (6 to <12 Years) | Group 4: Tedizolid Oral 3 mg/kg (2 to <6 Years) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Terminal Elimination Half-life (T1/2) of Tedizolid (Active Metabolite) | 5.18 ± 21.54 | 4.93 ± 13.82 | 5.51 ± 30.16 | 5.76 ± 29.20 | 6.15 ± 24.41 | 6.79 ± 10.85 |
CL of IV tedizolid phosphate and its active metabolite, tedizolid, in participants ages 6 to \<12 years (Group 1) and 2 to \<6 years (Group 2).
| mL/hr | Group 1 Cohort 1: Tedizolid IV 5 mg/kg (6 to <12 Years) | Group 1 Cohort 2: Tedizolid IV 4 mg/kg (6 to <12 Years) | Group 2 Cohort 1: Tedizolid IV 6 mg/kg (2 to <6 Years) | Group 2 Cohort 2: Tedizolid IV 3 mg/kg (2 to <6 Years) |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Clearance (CL) of Tedizolid (Active Metabolite) in Participants Who Received Tedizolid Phosphate Intravenously (IV) | 4164.60 ± 36.39 | 4145.73 ± 73.21 | 2582.66 ± 20.64 | 2461.08 ± 11.99 |
CL/F of tedizolid, in participants ages 6 to \<12 years (Group 3) and 2 to \<6 years (Groups 4).
| mL/hr/kg | Group 3: Tedizolid Oral 4 mg/kg (6 to <12 Years) | Group 4: Tedizolid Oral 3 mg/kg (2 to <6 Years) |
|---|---|---|
| Clearance (CL/F) of Tedizolid (Active Metabolite) in Participants Who Received Oral Tedizolid Phosphate | 4073.32 ± 21.14 | 2090.77 ± 50.27 |
The area under the plasma concentration time curve (AUC) of tedizolid (active metabolite) from time zero to infinity following administration of IV or oral dose, normalized to dosage, was calculated. Per protocol, this outcome used pooled groups as follows: The IV Group pooled Groups 1 and 2, who received tedizolid phosphate via intravenous (IV) administration; the Oral Group pooled groups 3 and 4, who received tedizolid phosphate via oral administration. Pharmacokinetic sampling occurred at the following time points: Group 1 (part of the IV Group): Day 1 immediately after infusion and 1.5, 2, 3, 4, 6, 12, and 24 hours; Group 2 (part of the IV Group): Day 1 immediately after infusion and 3, 6, 12, 24 and 48 hours; Group 3 (part of the Oral Group): Day 1 at 1, 2, 3, 4, 6, 8, 12, and 24 hours after oral dose; Group 4 (part of the Oral Group): Day 1 at 3, 6, 9, 12, 24 and 48 hours after oral dose.
| hr*ng/mL/mg/kg | IV Group | Oral Group |
|---|---|---|
| Dose Normalized Area Under the Plasma Concentration Time Curve (AUC) of Tedizolid (Active Metabolite) From Time Zero to Infinity | 5340 (4680 to 6100) | 6000 (5020 to 7180) |
An adverse event is defined as any untoward medical occurrence in a person administered a pharmaceutical product and which does not necessarily have to have a causal relationship with this treatment.
| Participants | Group 1 Cohort 1: Tedizolid IV 5 mg/kg (6 to <12 Years) | Group 1 Cohort 2: Tedizolid IV 4 mg/kg (6 to <12 Years) | Group 2 Cohort 1: Tedizolid IV 6 mg/kg (2 to <6 Years) | Group 2 Cohort 2: Tedizolid IV 3 mg/kg (2 to <6 Years) | Group 3: Tedizolid Oral 4 mg/kg (6 to <12 Years) | Group 4: Tedizolid Oral 3 mg/kg (2 to <6 Years) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Number of Participants Who Experienced at Least One Adverse Event | 2 | 1 | 2 | 0 | 3 | 1 |
An adverse event is defined as any untoward medical occurrence in a person administered a pharmaceutical product and which does not necessarily have to have a causal relationship with this treatment.
| Participants | Group 1 Cohort 1: Tedizolid IV 5 mg/kg (6 to <12 Years) | Group 1 Cohort 2: Tedizolid IV 4 mg/kg (6 to <12 Years) | Group 2 Cohort 1: Tedizolid IV 6 mg/kg (2 to <6 Years) | Group 2 Cohort 2: Tedizolid IV 3 mg/kg (2 to <6 Years) | Group 3: Tedizolid Oral 4 mg/kg (6 to <12 Years) | Group 4: Tedizolid Oral 3 mg/kg (2 to <6 Years) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Number of Participants Who Discontinued Study Drug Due to an Adverse Event | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
Palatability of oral tedizolid phosphate suspension in participants ages 6 to \<12 years (Group 3) and 2 to \<6 years (Group 4). Palatability was assessed using a 5-point hedonic scale and spontaneous verbal judgment. This hedonic scale consists of 5 pictures of line drawn faces corresponding to very bad, bad, neither good nor bad, good and very good. The participant was asked to mark or point to the face to show how they felt about the taste of the study drug. For preverbal children, the score was assessed by the parent/caregiver, or study staff administering or witnessing administration of the study drug.
| Participants | Group 3: Tedizolid Oral 4 mg/kg (6 to <12 Years) | Group 4: Tedizolid Oral 3 mg/kg (2 to <6 Years) |
|---|---|---|
| Very good | 0 | 0 |
| Good | 0 | 1 |
| Neither good nor bad | 3 | 2 |
| Bad | 1 | 3 |
| Very bad | 2 | 0 |
Collected over Up to 9 days. Non-serious events are listed at a 0% frequency threshold.
| Group | Deaths | Serious | Other |
|---|---|---|---|
| Group 1 Cohort 1: Tedizolid IV 5 mg/kg (6 to <12 Years) | 0/5 (0%) | 0/5 (0%) | 2/5 (40%) |
| Group 1 Cohort 2: Tedizolid IV 4 mg/kg (6 to <12 Years) | 0/5 (0%) | 0/5 (0%) | 1/5 (20%) |
| Group 2 Cohort 1: Tedizolid IV 6 mg/kg (2 to <6 Years) | 0/5 (0%) | 1/5 (20%) | 2/5 (40%) |
| Group 2 Cohort 2: Tedizolid IV 3 mg/kg (2 to <6 Years) | 0/5 (0%) | 0/5 (0%) | 0/5 (0%) |
| Group 3: Tedizolid Oral 4 mg/kg (6 to <12 Years) | 0/6 (0%) | 0/6 (0%) | 3/6 (50%) |
| Group 4: Tedizolid Oral 3 mg/kg (6 to <12 Years) | 0/6 (0%) | 0/6 (0%) | 1/6 (16.7%) |
| Event | Group 1 Cohort 1: Tedizolid IV 5 mg/kg (6 to <12 Years) | Group 1 Cohort 2: Tedizolid IV 4 mg/kg (6 to <12 Years) | Group 2 Cohort 1: Tedizolid IV 6 mg/kg (2 to <6 Years) | Group 2 Cohort 2: Tedizolid IV 3 mg/kg (2 to <6 Years) | Group 3: Tedizolid Oral 4 mg/kg (6 to <12 Years) | Group 4: Tedizolid Oral 3 mg/kg (6 to <12 Years) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| AppendicitisInfections and infestations | 0/5 | 0/5 | 1/5 | 0/5 | 0/6 | 0/6 |
| Event | Group 1 Cohort 1: Tedizolid IV 5 mg/kg (6 to <12 Years) | Group 1 Cohort 2: Tedizolid IV 4 mg/kg (6 to <12 Years) | Group 2 Cohort 1: Tedizolid IV 6 mg/kg (2 to <6 Years) | Group 2 Cohort 2: Tedizolid IV 3 mg/kg (2 to <6 Years) | Group 3: Tedizolid Oral 4 mg/kg (6 to <12 Years) | Group 4: Tedizolid Oral 3 mg/kg (6 to <12 Years) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| VomitingGastrointestinal disorders | 0/5 | 0/5 | 1/5 | 0/5 | 2/6 | 0/6 |
| PyrexiaGeneral disorders | 0/5 | 0/5 | 1/5 | 0/5 | 2/6 | 0/6 |
| AnaemiaBlood and lymphatic system disorders | 0/5 | 0/5 | 1/5 | 0/5 | 0/6 | 0/6 |
| TachycardiaCardiac disorders | 0/5 | 0/5 | 1/5 | 0/5 | 0/6 | 0/6 |
| DiarrhoeaGastrointestinal disorders | 1/5 | 0/5 | 0/5 | 0/5 | 0/6 | 0/6 |
| Faeces discolouredGastrointestinal disorders | 0/5 | 1/5 | 0/5 | 0/5 | 0/6 | 0/6 |
| Blood pressure systolic decreasedInvestigations | 1/5 | 0/5 | 0/5 | 0/5 | 0/6 | 0/6 |
| Blood pressure systolic increasedInvestigations | 1/5 | 0/5 | 0/5 | 0/5 | 0/6 | 0/6 |
| Haemoglobin decreasedInvestigations | 1/5 | 0/5 | 0/5 | 0/5 | 1/6 | 0/6 |
| Heart rate decreasedInvestigations | 1/5 | 0/5 | 0/5 | 0/5 | 0/6 | 0/6 |
| Age, Continuous(years) | Group 1 Cohort 1: Tedizolid IV 5 mg/kg (6 to <12 Years) | Group 1 Cohort 2: Tedizolid IV 4 mg/kg (6 to <12 Years) | Group 2 Cohort 1: Tedizolid IV 6 mg/kg (2 to <6 Years) | Group 2 Cohort 2: Tedizolid IV 3 mg/kg (2 to <6 Years) | Group 3: Tedizolid Oral 4 mg/kg (6 to <12 Years) | Group 4: Tedizolid Oral 3 mg/kg (2 to <6 Years) | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Mean | 8.2 ± 1.3 | 7.4 ± 1.1 | 3.4 ± 0.5 | 4.0 ± 1.4 | 8.5 ± 1.8 | 3.2 ± 1.0 | 5.8 ± 2.6 |
| Sex: Female, Male(Participants) | Group 1 Cohort 1: Tedizolid IV 5 mg/kg (6 to <12 Years) | Group 1 Cohort 2: Tedizolid IV 4 mg/kg (6 to <12 Years) | Group 2 Cohort 1: Tedizolid IV 6 mg/kg (2 to <6 Years) | Group 2 Cohort 2: Tedizolid IV 3 mg/kg (2 to <6 Years) | Group 3: Tedizolid Oral 4 mg/kg (6 to <12 Years) | Group 4: Tedizolid Oral 3 mg/kg (2 to <6 Years) | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Female | 1 | 2 | 1 | 3 | 2 | 4 | 13 |
| Male | 4 | 3 | 4 | 2 | 4 | 2 | 19 |
| Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)(Participants) | Group 1 Cohort 1: Tedizolid IV 5 mg/kg (6 to <12 Years) | Group 1 Cohort 2: Tedizolid IV 4 mg/kg (6 to <12 Years) | Group 2 Cohort 1: Tedizolid IV 6 mg/kg (2 to <6 Years) | Group 2 Cohort 2: Tedizolid IV 3 mg/kg (2 to <6 Years) | Group 3: Tedizolid Oral 4 mg/kg (6 to <12 Years) | Group 4: Tedizolid Oral 3 mg/kg (2 to <6 Years) | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Hispanic or Latino | 3 | 1 | 2 | 0 | 3 | 2 | 11 |
| Not Hispanic or Latino | 2 | 4 | 3 | 5 | 3 | 4 | 21 |
| Unknown or Not Reported | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Race (NIH/OMB)(Participants) | Group 1 Cohort 1: Tedizolid IV 5 mg/kg (6 to <12 Years) | Group 1 Cohort 2: Tedizolid IV 4 mg/kg (6 to <12 Years) | Group 2 Cohort 1: Tedizolid IV 6 mg/kg (2 to <6 Years) | Group 2 Cohort 2: Tedizolid IV 3 mg/kg (2 to <6 Years) | Group 3: Tedizolid Oral 4 mg/kg (6 to <12 Years) | Group 4: Tedizolid Oral 3 mg/kg (2 to <6 Years) | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| American Indian or Alaska Native | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Asian | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Black or African American | 1 | 2 | 0 | 0 | 1 | 0 | 4 |
| White | 4 | 3 | 5 | 5 | 4 | 5 | 26 |
| More than one race | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 1 | 1 | 2 |
| Unknown or Not Reported | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
No study locations are listed for this record.
Documents are hosted by the registry — open the source record to download them.
Plan to share: Yes — http://engagezone.msd.com/doc/ProcedureAccessClinicalTrialData.pdf
Data sharing details ↗ · engagezone.msd.com
Ran from May 2016 to primary completion in Dec 2018, 31 months.
Results were first posted in Dec 2019, 1 year after primary completion.
How these figures are worked out, and which studies are left out of them.
This study is completed, as verified in Dec 2019. You cannot join it, but the record below documents what was studied.
Get an email when the registry record changes — status, dates, results — or when someone posts here.
Sign in to followQuestions and observations about this study, from anyone following it. Not medical advice, and not a channel to the study team — their contact details are on the registry record.
Sign in to join the discussion. Reading takes no account; posting does. You choose a display name, and a pseudonym is the default.
Nothing here yet. If you are running this trial, taking part in it, or weighing whether to, this is the place to say so.
Studies of the drug tested here: Tedizolid phosphate
Gram-Positive Bacterial Infections →