A Phase 3 interventional study of Dexamethasone and Placebo Vehicle in Post-Surgical Ocular Pain and Post-Surgical Ocular Inflammation, sponsored by Ocular Therapeutix, Inc.. Completed. Open to participants aged 18 Years and older. Per ClinicalTrials.gov, last updated 2017-11-13.
Sponsored by Ocular Therapeutix, Inc. · Phase 3, Interventional, and Treatment
The objective of the study was to evaluate the safety and efficacy of OTX-DP (dexamethasone insert) 0.4 mg for intracanalicular use when placed in the canaliculus of the eyelid for the treatment of post-surgical inflammation and pain in subjects who had undergone cataract extraction with intraocular lens implantation
1,701 studies on the registry are indexed under Cataract; 230 are open to participants now.
This study's enrollment of 438 is above the median of 80 across 1,155 interventional studies indexed under Cataract.
Browse Cataract studies →Ocular Therapeutix, Inc. is the lead sponsor of 32 studies on the registry; 2 are open to participants now.
Of its 11 completed or terminated interventional studies of FDA-regulated products, 6 (55%) have results posted.
Counted across the registry records on this site, refreshed daily.
Exclusion Criteria:
OTX-DP (dexamethasone insert) 0.4 mg for intracanalicular use
Drug: Dexamethasone
PV (placebo drug delivery vehicle)
Other: Placebo Vehicle
Absence of Anterior Chamber Inflammation
Absence of cells (i.e., score of '0') in the anterior chamber of the study eye at Day 14
Time frame: Day 14
Absence of Ocular Pain
Absence of pain (i.e., score of '0') in the study eye at Day 8
Time frame: Day 8
| Milestone | OTX-DP | Placebo Vehicle |
|---|---|---|
| Started | 216 | 222 |
| Completed | 214 | 221 |
| Not completed | 2 | 1 |
Absence of cells (i.e., score of '0') in the anterior chamber of the study eye at Day 14
| percentage of total participants | OTX-DP | Placebo Vehicle |
|---|---|---|
| Absence of Anterior Chamber Inflammation | 52.3 | 31.1 |
Absence of pain (i.e., score of '0') in the study eye at Day 8
| percentage of total participants | OTX-DP | Placebo Vehicle |
|---|---|---|
| Absence of Ocular Pain | 79.6 | 61.3 |
Non-serious events are listed at a 0% frequency threshold.
| Group | Deaths | Serious | Other |
|---|---|---|---|
| OTX-DP | 0/216 (0%) | 3/216 (1.4%) | 63/216 (29.2%) |
| Placebo Vehicle | 0/221 (0%) | 2/221 (0.9%) | 86/221 (38.9%) |
| Event | OTX-DP | Placebo Vehicle |
|---|---|---|
| Retinal detachmentEye disorders | 1/216 | 0/221 |
| Cardiac failure acuteCardiac disorders | 1/216 | 0/221 |
| Lower gastrointestinal hemorrhageGastrointestinal disorders | 1/216 | 0/221 |
| NephrolithiasisRenal and urinary disorders | 0/216 | 1/221 |
| HypoxiaRespiratory, thoracic and mediastinal disorders | 0/216 | 1/221 |
| Event | OTX-DP | Placebo Vehicle |
|---|---|---|
| Adverse EventsGeneral disorders | 63/216 | 86/221 |
All randomized subjects
| Age, Continuous(years) | OTX-DP | Placebo Vehicle | Total |
|---|---|---|---|
| Mean | 67.3 ± 9.09 | 68.6 ± 8.37 | 68.0 ± 8.75 |
| Sex: Female, Male(Participants) | OTX-DP | Placebo Vehicle | Total |
|---|---|---|---|
| Female | 120 | 130 | 250 |
| Male | 96 | 92 | 188 |
| Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)(Participants) | OTX-DP | Placebo Vehicle | Total |
|---|---|---|---|
| Hispanic or Latino | 37 | 37 | 74 |
| Not Hispanic or Latino | 179 | 185 | 364 |
| Unknown or Not Reported | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Race (NIH/OMB)(Participants) | OTX-DP | Placebo Vehicle | Total |
|---|---|---|---|
| American Indian or Alaska Native | 2 | 2 | 4 |
| Asian | 8 | 1 | 9 |
| Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander | 1 | 1 | 2 |
| Black or African American | 28 | 25 | 53 |
| White | 174 | 189 | 363 |
| More than one race | NA | NA | NA |
| Unknown or Not Reported | 3 | 4 | 7 |
| Iris Color(Participants) | OTX-DP | Placebo Vehicle | Total |
|---|---|---|---|
| Brown | 106 | 101 | 207 |
| Blue | 61 | 64 | 125 |
| Hazel | 32 | 37 | 69 |
| Green | 15 | 18 | 33 |
| Gray | 2 | 0 | 2 |
| Black | 0 | 2 | 2 |
No study locations are listed for this record.
Plan to share: No
No publications or documents are linked to this record.
This study is completed, as verified in Oct 2017. You cannot join it, but the record below documents what was studied.
Get an email when the registry record changes — status, dates, results — or when someone posts here.
Sign in to followQuestions and observations about this study, from anyone following it. Not medical advice, and not a channel to the study team — their contact details are on the registry record.
Sign in to join the discussion. Reading takes no account; posting does. You choose a display name, and a pseudonym is the default.
Nothing here yet. If you are running this trial, taking part in it, or weighing whether to, this is the place to say so.
Ocular Therapeutix, Inc.