ClinicalTrials.gg
CompletedNCT02732951Updated Mar 20, 2019Results posted

Safety and Effect on Central Retinal Thickness of BI 1026706 in Patients With Diabetic Macular Edema

A Phase 2 interventional study of BI 1026706 and Placebo in Macular Edema, sponsored by Boehringer Ingelheim. Completed at 35 sites in 8 countries. Open to participants aged 18 Years and older. Per ClinicalTrials.gov, last updated 2019-03-20.

Sponsored by Boehringer Ingelheim · Phase 2, Interventional, and Treatment

Phase
Phase 2
Study type
Interventional
Enrollment
105
Allocation
Randomized
Ages
18 Years and older
Sex
All
01

Study summary

This is a proof of mechanism trial to explore the effect of BI 1026706 on the central retinal thickness and to evaluate safety and tolerability of BI 1026706 administered orally for 12 weeks in patients with mild vision impairment due to center-involved DME

02

Conditions studied

  • Macular Edema

Browse trials for

03

In context

Macular Edema

848 studies on the registry are indexed under Macular Edema; 57 are open to participants now.

This study's enrollment of 105 is above the median of 50 across 624 interventional studies indexed under Macular Edema.

Browse Macular Edema studies →

Lead sponsor

Boehringer Ingelheim is the lead sponsor of 2,297 studies on the registry; 56 are open to participants now.

Of its 166 completed or terminated interventional studies of FDA-regulated products, 121 (73%) have results posted.

Counted across the registry records on this site, refreshed daily.

04

Who can participate

Ages eligible
18 Years and older
Sexes eligible
All
Accepts healthy volunteers
No

Go through the criteria one by one — yes, no or not sure — and take the list to your doctor or the study team. Kept in this browser only.

Inclusion criteria

  • Patients 18 years of age and older
  • Male patients or female patients of non-childbearing potential
  • Diagnosis of Diabetes mellitus type 1 or type 2
  • Retinal thickening due to Diabetic macular edema (DME) involving the center of the macula in the study eye as confirmed by the Investigator on clinical exam
  • Center-involved DME confirmed on Spectral-Domain Optical Coherence Tomography (SD-OCT) with central subfield thickness (CSFT) of at least 300 µm in the study eye at screening, confirmed by Central Reading Centre
  • Best corrected visual acuity ETDRS (Early Treatment Diabetic Retinopathy Study) letter score in the study eye of 84 or below, but at least 70 at screening
  • Further inclusion criteria apply

Exclusion criteria

Exclusion criteria:

  • Macular edema considered to be due to other causes than DME in the study eye
  • Additional eye disease in the study eye that, in the opinion of the Investigator, might affect macular edema or could compromise or alter visual acuity during the course of the trial
  • Anterior segment and vitreous abnormalities in the study eye that would compromise the adequate assessment of the best corrected visual acuity or an adequate examination of the posterior pole
  • Intraocular surgery in the study eye within 4 months prior to randomization or planned intraocular surgery, including cataract, during the study period
  • Proliferative diabetic retinopathy or iris neovascularisation in the study eye
  • Aphakia in the study eye
  • Any indication that requires immediate treatment or for which treatment is expected in the study eye with anti-Vascular Endothelial Growth Factor (VEGF) or with laser photocoagulation during the period, as per Investigator's judgment
  • History of prior laser photocoagulation or other surgical, intravitreal or peribulbar treatment in the study eye within 4 months prior to randomization, either for DME or an ocular condition other than DME
  • History of fluocinolone acetonide intravitreal implant in the study eye
  • Application of intraocular corticosteroids in the study eye within 2 years prior to randomization in phakic eyes or 9 months in pseudophakic eyes
  • History of topical steroid or nonsteroidal anti-inflammatory drugs (NSAID) treatment in the study eye within 30 days prior to randomization
  • Systemic anti-VEGF or pro-VEGF treatment within 4 months prior to randomization
  • Initiation of intensive insulin treatment (multiple daily injections or a pump) within 3 months prior to randomization or plans to do so in the next 4 months
  • Change in oral antidiabetic medication within 3 months prior to randomization
  • Patients with a clinically relevant abnormal screening haematology, blood chemistry, or urinalysis
  • Renal impairment with estimated creatinine clearance \< 30 mL/min (as calculated by Cockcroft-Gault equation)
  • Myocardial infarction or unstable angina pectoris within 3 months before randomization
  • Uncontrolled arterial hypertension defined as a single measurement of systolic >180 mmHg, two consecutive measurements of systolic >160 mmHg, or diastolic >100mmHg on optimal medical regimen
  • Further exclusion criteria apply
05

Study design

Phase
Phase 2
Primary purpose
Treatment
Allocation
Randomized
Intervention model
Parallel assignment
Masking
Double (Participant, Investigator)
Enrollment
105 participants (actual)

Study arms

  • Experimental
    BI 1026706

    Drug: BI 1026706

  • Active comparator
    Placebo

    Drug: Placebo

Interventions

06

What researchers measure

Primary outcomes

  1. Change From Baseline in Central Subfield Foveal Thickness (CSFT) at Week 12

    The change from baseline in CSFT at Week 12 and the BI 1026706 effect was compared between the BI 1026706 treatment group and the placebo group as measured by Spectral-domain Optical Coherence Tomography (SD-OCT). Baseline was defined as the CSFT value measured at the visit when patients were randomised. Mean presented here is an adjusted mean.

    Time frame: Baseline and Week 12

Secondary outcomes

  1. Number of Subjects With Serious Adverse Events (SAEs), Investigator Defined Drug-related Adverse Events (AEs) and Adverse Events of Special Interest (AESIs)

    Number of subjects with serious adverse events (SAEs), Investigator defined drug-related Adverse events (AEs) and adverse events of special interest (AESIs) comparing the BI 1026706 treatment group with the placebo group is presented.

    Time frame: From first drug administration until 4 days after last drug administration, up to 89 days.

07

Results

Posted Mar 20, 2019

Participant flow

This was randomised, double-blind, placebo-controlled, parallel-group trial to evaluate pharmacodynamics, safety and tolerability of orally administered Boehringer Ingelheim (BI) 1026706 for 12 weeks in patients with Diabetic Macular Oedema (DME).

Participant flow — Overall Study
MilestonePlacebo Matching to BI 1026706BI 1026706
Started5352
Completed4846
Not completed56
Withdrew: Other than listed10
Withdrew: Lost to follow-up01
Withdrew: Adverse event44
Withdrew: Protocol violation01

Outcome measures

PrimaryChange From Baseline in Central Subfield Foveal Thickness (CSFT) at Week 12

The change from baseline in CSFT at Week 12 and the BI 1026706 effect was compared between the BI 1026706 treatment group and the placebo group as measured by Spectral-domain Optical Coherence Tomography (SD-OCT). Baseline was defined as the CSFT value measured at the visit when patients were randomised. Mean presented here is an adjusted mean.

Time frame:
Baseline and Week 12
Reported as:
Mean · Micrometre [μm]
Change From Baseline in Central Subfield Foveal Thickness (CSFT) at Week 12
Micrometre [μm]Placebo Matching to BI 1026706BI 1026706
Change From Baseline in Central Subfield Foveal Thickness (CSFT) at Week 12-6.19 ± 11.6110.26 ± 11.64
Statistical analysis
  • Placebo Matching to BI 1026706 vs BI 1026706 · Mixed model for repeated measurements · p = 0.3199 · Adjusted mean: 16.45 · 95% CI -16.23 to 49.13Fixed effects of treatment, prior anti-diabetic macular oedema treatment status, visit, treatment by visit interaction, baseline, baseline by visit interaction; patient as a random effect; unstructured covariance matrix for within patient errors.
SecondaryNumber of Subjects With Serious Adverse Events (SAEs), Investigator Defined Drug-related Adverse Events (AEs) and Adverse Events of Special Interest (AESIs)

Number of subjects with serious adverse events (SAEs), Investigator defined drug-related Adverse events (AEs) and adverse events of special interest (AESIs) comparing the BI 1026706 treatment group with the placebo group is presented.

Time frame:
From first drug administration until 4 days after last drug administration, up to 89 days.
Reported as:
Number · Count of participants
Number of Subjects With Serious Adverse Events (SAEs), Investigator Defined Drug-related Adverse Events (AEs) and Adverse Events of Special Interest (AESIs)
Count of participantsPlacebo Matching to BI 1026706BI 1026706
Total with SAEs27
Investigator defined drug-related AE77
AESIs01

Adverse events

Collected over From first drug administration until 4 days after last drug administration, up to 89 days.. Non-serious events are listed at a 5% frequency threshold.

Adverse event summary by group
GroupDeathsSeriousOther
Placebo Matching to BI 10267060/53 (0%)2/53 (3.8%)12/53 (22.6%)
BI 10267060/52 (0%)7/52 (13.5%)14/52 (26.9%)
Most frequent serious events
Showing 10 of 11
Most frequent serious events
EventPlacebo Matching to BI 1026706BI 1026706
Myocardial infarctionCardiac disorders0/531/52
Inguinal herniaGastrointestinal disorders0/531/52
PneumoniaInfections and infestations0/531/52
Alanine aminotransferase increasedInvestigations0/531/52
Aspartate aminotransferase increasedInvestigations0/531/52
Haemoglobin decreasedInvestigations0/531/52
Red blood cell count decreasedInvestigations0/531/52
GlycosuriaRenal and urinary disorders0/531/52
Reactive perforating collagenosisSkin and subcutaneous tissue disorders0/531/52
Localised infectionInfections and infestations1/530/52
Most frequent other events
Most frequent other events
EventPlacebo Matching to BI 1026706BI 1026706
NasopharyngitisInfections and infestations4/536/52
HeadacheNervous system disorders1/534/52
Visual acuity reducedEye disorders2/533/52
Gamma-glutamyltransferase increasedInvestigations3/530/52
SomnolenceNervous system disorders3/531/52

Baseline characteristics

Treated set (TS): TS includes all patients who were treated with at least 1 dose of trial drug, either BI 1026706 or placebo.

Age, Continuous
Age, Continuous(Years)Placebo Matching to BI 1026706BI 1026706Total
Mean62.2 ± 9.763.9 ± 8.763.0 ± 9.2
Sex: Female, Male
Sex: Female, Male(Participants)Placebo Matching to BI 1026706BI 1026706Total
Female141428
Male393877
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)(Participants)Placebo Matching to BI 1026706BI 1026706Total
Hispanic or Latino448
Not Hispanic or Latino354378
Unknown or Not Reported14519
Race (NIH/OMB)
Race (NIH/OMB)(Participants)Placebo Matching to BI 1026706BI 1026706Total
American Indian or Alaska Native000
Asian101
Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander000
Black or African American000
White384785
More than one race000
Unknown or Not Reported14519
08

Study locations

35 sites
  • Brussels-UNIV Brugmann -Horta
    Brussels, 1020, Belgium
  • Leuven - UNIV UZ Leuven (Sint-Rafaël)
    Leuven, 3000, Belgium
  • HOP Nord
    Marseille, 13915, France
  • HOP Hôtel-Dieu
    Nantes, 44093, France
  • HOP Lariboisière
    Paris, 75010, France
  • Hosp National 15-20, Ophtalmo, Paris
    Paris, 75012, France
  • HOP Pierre Paul Riquet
    Toulouse, 31059, France
  • Universitätsklinikum Aachen, AöR
    Aachen, 52074, Germany
  • Augen Zentrum Nordwest, Ahaus
    Ahaus, 48683, Germany
  • Kamppeter Augenzentrum, Bayreuth
    Bayreuth, 95444, Germany
  • Universitätsmedizin Göttingen, Georg-August-Universität
    Göttingen, 37075, Germany
  • Universitätsmedizin der Johannes Gutenberg-Universität Mainz
    Mainz, 55131, Germany
  • Augenarzt Dr. Dunker und Kollegen, Troisdorf
    Troisdorf-Sieglar, 53844, Germany
  • Universitätsklinikum Tübingen
    Tübingen, 72076, Germany
  • Universitätsklinikum Ulm
    Ulm, 89075, Germany
  • Attikon, Panepistimiako Geniko Nosokomeio
    Athens, 12462, Greece
  • University General Hospital of Heraklion
    Herakleion,Crete, 71110, Greece
  • University of Patras Medical School
    Pátrai, 26504, Greece
  • Uzsoki Street Hospital, Budapest
    Budapest, 1145, Hungary
  • BAZ County Hospital, Ophtalmology Department, Miskolc
    Miskolc, 3526, Hungary
  • Univ.Szeged;Szent-Gyorgyi;Albert Heal.Cent.Ophtalmology Dep
    Szeged, 6720, Hungary
  • Hospital de Braga-Escala Braga
    Braga, 4710-243, Portugal
  • AIBILI - Association for Innovation and Biomedical Research on Light and Image
    Coimbra, 3000-548, Portugal
  • Centro Hospitalar São João,EPE
    Porto, 4200-319, Portugal
  • Hospital de Vila Franca de Xira
    Vila Franca de Xira, 2600-009, Portugal
  • Hospital Dos de Maig
    Barcelona, 08025, Spain
  • Hospital Vall d'Hebron
    Barcelona, 08035, Spain
  • Hospital La Paz
    Madrid, 28046, Spain
  • Instituto Oftalmológico Gómez-Ulla
    Santiago de Compostela, 15706, Spain
  • Hospital Clínico Universitario de Valladolid
    Valladolid, 47005, Spain
  • Frimley Park Hospital
    Frimley, GU16 7UJ, United Kingdom
  • Royal Surrey County Hospital
    Guildford, GU2 7XX, United Kingdom
  • Moorfields Eye Hospital
    London, EC1V 2PD, United Kingdom
  • Royal Victoria Infirmary
    Newcastle upon Tyne, NE1 4LP, United Kingdom
  • Southampton General Hospital
    Southampton, SO16 6YD, United Kingdom
09

References and documents

Related links

Study documents

  • Statistical analysis plan · Jul 26, 2017
  • Study protocol · Mar 7, 2016

Documents are hosted by the registry — open the source record to download them.

10

Updates

Tracking since Sep 25, 2026
No changes since tracking began. The registry record was last updated on Mar 20, 2019, before this site started recording changes on Sep 25, 2026. Its history is on ClinicalTrials.gov ↗
11

Registry details

Key details

Study ID
NCT02732951
Responsible party
Sponsor
First posted
Apr 11, 2016
Start date
Apr 14, 2016
Primary completion
Oct 23, 2017
Completion
Oct 24, 2017
Results posted
Mar 20, 2019
Last update
Mar 20, 2019

Study contacts

Boehringer Ingelheim
study chair · Boehringer Ingelheim
View the source record on ClinicalTrials.gov ↗

Not currently enrolling

This study is completed, as verified in Mar 2019. You cannot join it, but the record below documents what was studied.

Follow this study

Get an email when the registry record changes — status, dates, results — or when someone posts here.

Sign in to follow

Discussion

Questions and observations about this study, from anyone following it. Not medical advice, and not a channel to the study team — their contact details are on the registry record.

Sign in to join the discussion. Reading takes no account; posting does. You choose a display name, and a pseudonym is the default.

Nothing here yet. If you are running this trial, taking part in it, or weighing whether to, this is the place to say so.

Studies of the drug tested here: BI 1026706

Start the discussion