A Phase 3 interventional study of Nivolumab and Temozolomide in Brain Neoplasms, sponsored by Bristol-Myers Squibb. Completed at 123 sites in 19 countries. Open to participants aged 18 Years and older. Per ClinicalTrials.gov, last updated 2025-06-18.
Sponsored by Bristol-Myers Squibb · Phase 3, Interventional, and Treatment
The purpose of this study is to evaluate patients with glioblastoma that is MGMT-methylated (the MGMT gene is altered by a chemical change). Patients will receive temozolomide plus radiation therapy. They will be compared to patients receiving nivolumab in addition to temozolomide plus radiation therapy.
1,921 studies on the registry are indexed under Glioblastoma; 451 are open to participants now.
This study's enrollment of 716 is above the median of 36 across 1,618 interventional studies indexed under Glioblastoma.
Browse Glioblastoma studies →Bristol-Myers Squibb is the lead sponsor of 1,538 studies on the registry; 116 are open to participants now.
Of its 429 completed or terminated interventional studies of FDA-regulated products, 223 (52%) have results posted.
Counted across the registry records on this site, refreshed daily.
For more information regarding Bristol-Myers Squibb Clinical Trial participation, please visit www.BMSStudyConnect.com
Inclusion Criteria:
Exclusion Criteria:
Other protocol defined inclusion/exclusion criteria could apply
Nivolumab: specified dose on specified days; IV (intravenous) infusion Temozolomide: 75 mg (milligram)/meter squared daily during Radiotherapy, 4 week treatment break, 150 mg/meter squared Day 1-5 for Cycle 1 and increased to 200 mg/meter squared Day 1-5 for Cycle2-Cycle 6 as tolerated; orally (additional cycles may be permitted with approval of sponsor) Radiotherapy: 2 gray units (joule of radiation energy per kilogram) 5 times per week for 6 weeks
Drug: Nivolumab · Drug: Temozolomide · Radiation: Radiotherapy
Nivolumab Placebo: specified dose on specified days; IV infusion Temozolomide: 75 mg/meter squared daily during Radiotherapy, 4 week treatment break, 150 mg/meter squared Day 1-5 for Cycle 1 and increased to 200 mg/meter squared Day 1-5 for Cycle2-Cycle 6 as tolerated; orally (additional cycles may be permitted with approval of sponsor) Radiotherapy: 2 gray units 5x/week x 6 weeks
Drug: Temozolomide · Radiation: Radiotherapy · Other: Nivolumab Placebo
Also known as: Opdivo, Nivo, N, BMS-936558
Also known as: Temodar, TMZ, Temodal, Temcad
Also known as: RT
Progression-free Survival (PFS) Determined by BICR
The time from randomization to the date of the first documented tumor progression or death by any cause. PFS will be determined by a Blinded Independent Central Review (BICR) assessed based on Radiologic Assessment in Neuro-Oncology (RANO) criteria. Specifically, RANO response criteria indicates that within the first 12 weeks of completion of radiotherapy, progression can only be assessed if the majority of the new enhancement is outside of the radiation field or if there is pathologic confirmation of progressive disease.
Time frame: From randomization to the date of the first documented tumor progression or death by any cause. (up to approximately 4.5 years)
Overall Survival (OS)
The time from the date of randomization to the date of death. who have not died by the end of the study will be censored to last known date alive. OS is assessed in the randomized population with no corticosteroids at baseline population and in the overall randomized population.
Time frame: From randomization to date of death (up to approximately 4.5 years)
Overall Survival (OS) Rates at 12 Months
Overall Survival (OS) rate is defined as the percentage of participants surviving at 12 months
Time frame: From randomization to 12 months after first dose
Overall Survival (OS) Rates at 24 Months
Overall Survival (OS) rate is defined as the percentage of participants surviving at 24 months
Time frame: From randomization to 24 months after first dose
Progression Free Survival (PFS) Based on Investigator Assessment
The time from randomization to the date of the first documented tumor progression or death by any cause. PFS will be determined by investigator assessment based Radiologic Assessment in Neuro-Oncology (RANO) criteria. Specifically, RANO response criteria indicates that within the first 12 weeks of completion of radiotherapy, progression can only be assessed if the majority of the new enhancement is outside of the radiation field or if there is pathologic confirmation of progressive disease.
Time frame: From randomization to the date of the first documented tumor progression or death by any cause. (up to approximately 4.5 years)
| Milestone | Radiotherapy, Temozolomide Plus Nivolumab | Radiotherapy, Temozolomide Plus Placebo |
|---|---|---|
| Started | 358 | 358 |
| Completed | 354 | 355 |
| Not completed | 4 | 3 |
| Withdrew: Not reported | 1 | 0 |
| Withdrew: Participant no longer meets study criteria | 2 | 2 |
| Withdrew: Participant withdrew consent | 0 | 1 |
| Withdrew: Adverse event unrelated to study drug | 1 | 0 |
| Milestone | Radiotherapy, Temozolomide Plus Nivolumab | Radiotherapy, Temozolomide Plus Placebo |
|---|---|---|
| Started | 355 | 354 |
| Completed | 0 | 0 |
| Not completed | 355 | 354 |
| Withdrew: Disease progression | 193 | 226 |
| Withdrew: Study drug toxicity | 75 | 19 |
| Withdrew: Death | 2 | 1 |
| Withdrew: Adverse event unrelated to study drug | 19 | 20 |
| Withdrew: Participant request to discontinue treatment | 33 | 35 |
| Withdrew: Participant withdrew consent | 5 | 6 |
| Withdrew: Lost to follow-up | 1 | 2 |
| Withdrew: Maximum clinical benefit | 4 | 4 |
| Withdrew: Poor or non compliant | 0 | 1 |
| Withdrew: Participant no longer meets study criteria | 1 | 1 |
| Withdrew: Administrative reason by sponsor | 1 | 29 |
| Withdrew: Other reasonse | 21 | 10 |
The time from randomization to the date of the first documented tumor progression or death by any cause. PFS will be determined by a Blinded Independent Central Review (BICR) assessed based on Radiologic Assessment in Neuro-Oncology (RANO) criteria. Specifically, RANO response criteria indicates that within the first 12 weeks of completion of radiotherapy, progression can only be assessed if the majority of the new enhancement is outside of the radiation field or if there is pathologic confirmation of progressive disease.
| Months | Radiotherapy, Temozolomide Plus Nivolumab | Radiotherapy, Temozolomide Plus Placebo |
|---|---|---|
| Progression-free Survival (PFS) Determined by BICR | 10.64 (8.90 to 11.79) | 10.32 (9.69 to 12.45) |
The time from the date of randomization to the date of death. who have not died by the end of the study will be censored to last known date alive. OS is assessed in the randomized population with no corticosteroids at baseline population and in the overall randomized population.
| Months | Radiotherapy, Temozolomide Plus Nivolumab | Radiotherapy, Temozolomide Plus Placebo |
|---|---|---|
| All randomized participants | 28.91 (24.38 to 31.57) | 32.07 (29.37 to 33.77) |
| All randomized participants without baseline corticosteroids | 31.34 (28.62 to 34.76) | 32.99 (31.01 to 35.09) |
Overall Survival (OS) rate is defined as the percentage of participants surviving at 12 months
| percentage of participants | Radiotherapy, Temozolomide Plus Nivolumab | Radiotherapy, Temozolomide Plus Placebo |
|---|---|---|
| Overall Survival (OS) Rates at 12 Months | 82.7 (78.3 to 86.3) | 87.7 (83.8 to 90.8) |
Overall Survival (OS) rate is defined as the percentage of participants surviving at 24 months
| percentage of participants | Radiotherapy, Temozolomide Plus Nivolumab | Radiotherapy, Temozolomide Plus Placebo |
|---|---|---|
| Overall Survival (OS) Rates at 24 Months | 55.9 (50.5 to 61.0) | 63.3 (58 to 68.2) |
The time from randomization to the date of the first documented tumor progression or death by any cause. PFS will be determined by investigator assessment based Radiologic Assessment in Neuro-Oncology (RANO) criteria. Specifically, RANO response criteria indicates that within the first 12 weeks of completion of radiotherapy, progression can only be assessed if the majority of the new enhancement is outside of the radiation field or if there is pathologic confirmation of progressive disease.
| Months | Radiotherapy, Temozolomide Plus Nivolumab | Radiotherapy, Temozolomide Plus Placebo |
|---|---|---|
| Progression Free Survival (PFS) Based on Investigator Assessment | 14.09 (12.62 to 16.56) | 15.18 (13.11 to 17.12) |
The time from randomization to the date of the first documented tumor progression or death by any cause. PFS will be determined by a Blinded Independent Central Review (BICR) assessed based on Radiologic Assessment in Neuro-Oncology (RANO) criteria. Specifically, RANO response criteria indicates that within the first 12 weeks of completion of radiotherapy, progression can only be assessed if the majority of the new enhancement is outside of the radiation field or if there is pathologic confirmation of progressive disease.
| Months | Radiotherapy, Temozolomide Plus Nivolumab | Radiotherapy, Temozolomide Plus Placebo |
|---|---|---|
| Progression-free Survival (PFS) Determined by BICR - Extended Collection | 9.89 (8.31 to 11.60) | 10.25 (9.46 to 12.09) |
The time from the date of randomization to the date of death. who have not died by the end of the study will be censored to last known date alive. OS is assessed in the randomized population with no corticosteroids at baseline population.
| Months | Radiotherapy, Temozolomide Plus Nivolumab | Radiotherapy, Temozolomide Plus Placebo |
|---|---|---|
| Overall Survival (OS) - Extended Collection | 28.94 (24.57 to 31.64) | 31.84 (28.94 to 33.77) |
Collected over Adverse Events and Serious Adverse Events: (From first dose to last dose + 100 days): Approximately 48 Months All-Cause mortality (From randomization to end of study): Approximately up to 52 months. Non-serious events are listed at a 5% frequency threshold.
| Group | Deaths | Serious | Other |
|---|---|---|---|
| Radiotherapy, Temozolomide Plus Nivolumab | 263/358 (73.5%) | 259/355 (73%) | 351/355 (98.9%) |
| Radiotherapy, Temozolomide Plus Placebo | 255/358 (71.2%) | 217/354 (61.3%) | 343/354 (96.9%) |
| Event | Radiotherapy, Temozolomide Plus Nivolumab | Radiotherapy, Temozolomide Plus Placebo |
|---|---|---|
| Malignant neoplasm progressionNeoplasms benign, malignant and unspecified (incl cysts and polyps) | 75/355 | 73/354 |
| SeizureNervous system disorders | 48/355 | 40/354 |
| PyrexiaGeneral disorders | 16/355 | 4/354 |
| EpilepsyNervous system disorders | 15/355 | 12/354 |
| PneumoniaInfections and infestations | 14/355 | 5/354 |
| Pulmonary embolismRespiratory, thoracic and mediastinal disorders | 9/355 | 13/354 |
| GlioblastomaNeoplasms benign, malignant and unspecified (incl cysts and polyps) | 7/355 | 12/354 |
| Neoplasm progressionNeoplasms benign, malignant and unspecified (incl cysts and polyps) | 6/355 | 11/354 |
| Tumour flareNeoplasms benign, malignant and unspecified (incl cysts and polyps) | 10/355 | 7/354 |
| HydrocephalusNervous system disorders | 10/355 | 9/354 |
| Event | Radiotherapy, Temozolomide Plus Nivolumab | Radiotherapy, Temozolomide Plus Placebo |
|---|---|---|
| NauseaGastrointestinal disorders | 187/355 | 159/354 |
| FatigueGeneral disorders | 186/355 | 176/354 |
| ConstipationGastrointestinal disorders | 163/355 | 145/354 |
| HeadacheNervous system disorders | 142/355 | 135/354 |
| AlopeciaSkin and subcutaneous tissue disorders | 115/355 | 109/354 |
| Decreased appetiteMetabolism and nutrition disorders | 97/355 | 87/354 |
| VomitingGastrointestinal disorders | 90/355 | 75/354 |
| PruritusSkin and subcutaneous tissue disorders | 86/355 | 77/354 |
| RashSkin and subcutaneous tissue disorders | 85/355 | 58/354 |
| DiarrhoeaGastrointestinal disorders | 77/355 | 72/354 |
Demographic characteristics are based off all randomized participants
| Age, Continuous(Years) | Radiotherapy, Temozolomide Plus Nivolumab | Radiotherapy, Temozolomide Plus Placebo | Total |
|---|---|---|---|
| Mean | 57.9 ± 12.2 | 58.7 ± 11.4 | 58.3 ± 11.8 |
| Sex: Female, Male(Participants) | Radiotherapy, Temozolomide Plus Nivolumab | Radiotherapy, Temozolomide Plus Placebo | Total |
|---|---|---|---|
| Female | 153 | 161 | 314 |
| Male | 205 | 197 | 402 |
| Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)(Participants) | Radiotherapy, Temozolomide Plus Nivolumab | Radiotherapy, Temozolomide Plus Placebo | Total |
|---|---|---|---|
| Hispanic or Latino | 7 | 11 | 18 |
| Not Hispanic or Latino | 171 | 178 | 349 |
| Unknown or Not Reported | 180 | 169 | 349 |
| Race/Ethnicity, Customized(Participants) | Radiotherapy, Temozolomide Plus Nivolumab | Radiotherapy, Temozolomide Plus Placebo | Total |
|---|---|---|---|
| White | 301 | 318 | 619 |
| Black or African American | 4 | 4 | 8 |
| Asian | 35 | 33 | 68 |
| Other | 17 | 3 | 20 |
| Not Reported | 1 | 0 | 1 |
Showing the first 100 of 123 sites across 19 countries.
Documents are hosted by the registry — open the source record to download them.
This study is completed, as verified in Jun 2025. You cannot join it, but the record below documents what was studied.
Get an email when the registry record changes — status, dates, results — or when someone posts here.
Sign in to followQuestions and observations about this study, from anyone following it. Not medical advice, and not a channel to the study team — their contact details are on the registry record.
Sign in to join the discussion. Reading takes no account; posting does. You choose a display name, and a pseudonym is the default.
Nothing here yet. If you are running this trial, taking part in it, or weighing whether to, this is the place to say so.
Bristol-Myers Squibb