A Phase 1/2 interventional study of CC-122 and Ibrutinib in Leukemia, Lymphocytic, Chronic, B-Cell, sponsored by Celgene. Completed at 24 sites in 5 countries. Open to participants aged 18 Years to 79 Years. Per ClinicalTrials.gov, last updated 2021-09-20.
Sponsored by Celgene · Phase 1/2, Interventional, and Treatment
Safety, pharmacokinetics, and preliminary efficacy of CC-122 alone and in combination with ibrutinib and obinuzutumab.
CC-122 has multiple activities, including immune modulation of several immune cell subsets and antiproliferative activity in CLL. CC-122 has also been shown to have a tolerable safety profile with some preliminary signs of efficacy with early human experience.
The primary objectives of this Phase 1/2 Study are to determine the safety of single agent CC-122 and the safety, tolerability, and RP2D of CC-122 when administered in combination with ibrutinib and in combination with obinutuzumab to subjects with CLL/SLL. The secondary objectives are to evaluate the PK profiles of subjects administered CC-122 in combination with ibrutinib and in combination with obinutuzumab, to determine ibrutinib concentrations when given alone and in combination with CC-122 and to evaluate the preliminary efficacy of CC-122 at selected dose levels/regimens.
5,578 studies on the registry are indexed under Lymphoma; 825 are open to participants now.
This study's enrollment of 47 is above the median of 40 across 4,508 interventional studies indexed under Lymphoma.
Browse Lymphoma studies →Celgene is the lead sponsor of 419 studies on the registry; 13 are open to participants now.
Of its 100 completed or terminated interventional studies of FDA-regulated products, 29 (29%) have results posted.
Counted across the registry records on this site, refreshed daily.
Must have a documented diagnosis of CLL/ SLL requiring treatment (per IWCLL guidelines). In addition:
a. Presence of at least one clinically measurable lesion: i. nodal lesion that measures ≥ 1.5 cm in longest dimension (LD) and ≥ 1.0 cm in longest perpendicular dimension (LPD), or ii. spleen that measures ≥ 14 cm in longest vertical dimension (LVD) with a minimum of 2 cm enlargement, or iii. liver that measures ≥ 20 cm in LVD with a minimum of 2 cm enlargement, or iv. peripheral blood B lymphocyte count > 5000/uL.
Must meet the criteria for relapsed and/or refractory disease according to the IWCLL guidelines (Hallek, 2008) to ≥ 1 prior treatment (with the exception of Arm B) and have evidence of disease progression requiring treatment at the time of study entry as follows:
a. For Arms A and C, subjects must have received either prior chemoimmunotherapy or therapy with an approved BTK inhibitor with the following exceptions: i. Chemoimmunotherapy is not required if subjects have specific comorbidities that preclude the use of standard chemoimmunotherapy meeting at least 1 of the following criteria;
Serum bilirubin \< 1.5 x ULN unless due to Gilbert's syndrome.
o Serum bilirubin ≤ 1.0 x ULN unless due to Gilbert's syndrome, Treatment Arm B only (CC-122 in combination with ibrutinib)
No evidence of TLS per the Cairo-Bishop definition of laboratory TLS (subjects may be enrolled upon correction of electrolyte abnormalities).
<!-- -->
Unless practicing complete abstinence from heterosexual intercourse, sexually active FCBP must agree to use adequate contraceptive methods as specified in the PPRMP.
*For Arm C, subjects must agree to use adequate contraceptive methods for 18 months (please refer to the obinutuzumab IB, PI, and SmPC).
All subjects must:
ARM B ONLY:
EXPANSION COHORT 2 OF ARM C:
IWCLL2008:
i. Relapse is defined as a patient who has previously achieved a CR or PR, but after a period of 6 or more months, demonstrates evidence of disease progression. ii. Refractory is defined as failing to achieve a CR or PR, or disease progression within 6 months after initiation of treatment with an approved BTK or PI3K inhibitor (eg, ibrutinib, idelalisib) or venetoclax. iii. Intolerance is defined as the inability to continue treatment with a BCR PI or venetoclax due to toxicities or due to development of a contraindication that makes the subject ineligible to receive further treatment with a BCR PI or venetoclax.
Exclusion Criteria:
Uncontrolled intercurrent illness including, but not limited to:
i. The glycemic targets for subjects with diabetes should take into consideration age, comorbidities, life expectancy, and functional status of the subjects and follow established guidelines (eg, International Diabetes Federation, the European Diabetes Working Party guidelines, and the American Diabetes Association). For younger (\< 70 years old) or subjects with life expectancy ≥ 10 years, the target glycosylated hemoglobin, type A1C (HbA1c) should be \< 7.0%. The target HbA1c for older (≥ 70 years old) subjects or subjects with life expectancy \< 10 years should be \< 8.0%. Consultation with an endocrinologist is recommended when deciding if diabetes is optimally controlled.
c. Chronic symptomatic congestive heart failure (Class III or IV of the New York Heart Association Classification for Heart Disease). d. Active central nervous system involvement as documented by spinal fluid cytology or imaging. e. Uncontrolled autoimmune hemolytic anemia or thrombocytopenia. f. Other concurrent severe and/or uncontrolled concomitant medical conditions that could cause unacceptable safety risks or compromise compliance with protocol.
History of second malignancies with life expectancy of \< 2 years or requirement of therapy that would confound study results. This does not include the following:
Known seropositivity for or history of active viral infection with human immunodeficiency virus (HIV), or hepatitis B or C virus (HBV, HCV).
a. Hepatitis B screening is mandatory for all patients (HBsAg and anti-HBc). Patients with active hepatitis B disease should not be treated with obinutuzumab. Patients should be referred to a specialist if they are carriers before treatment starts (see PI or SmPC). Subjects who are positive for anti-HBc and/or anti-HBs but negative for HBsAg and HBV DNA may be treated after consultation with a hepatologist.
Impaired cardiac function or clinically significant cardiac diseases, including any of the following:
Chemotherapy, radiotherapy, investigational anticancer therapy or major surgery within 28 days of Day 1 dosing with the following exceptions:
a. Arm A: A minimum 5-day washout after discontinuation of ibrutinib therapy (or other BTK inhibitors) is required; only those subjects without rapid disease progression during the 5-day washout will be allowed to enroll into Arm A.
i. Rapid disease progression is defined as follows:
1 cm per day OR the diameter of the largest lymph node exceeds 5 cm during the 5 day wash out. 2. For subjects with lymphocytosis, the increase in the ALC exceeds 2x109/L per day OR the ALC exceeds 100,000 x109/L during the 5-day wash out; b. Arm C: No minimum washout is required after discontinuation of ibrutinib (or other BTK inhibitors) c. Approved PI3 kinase inhibitors: Subjects may start study treatment within 3 days of discontinuation of approved PI3 kinase inhibitors.
Arm B only (CC-122 in combination with ibrutinib):
Arm C only (CC-122 in combination with obinutuzumab):
An intrasubject dose escalation design was selected to determine the safety of single agent CC-122 (Arm A) in order to reach an optimal, clinically active dose and to mitigate the risk of early tumor flare reactions, based on earlier experience with lenalidomide monotherapy in CLL.
Drug: CC-122
Ascending fixed dose cohorts evaluated in a 3 + 3 dose-finding design will be used to determine the safety and tolerability of the combination of CC-122 and ibrutinib to determine the NTD, MTD, and Recommended Phase 2 Dose (RP2D). An intrasubject dose escalation cohort may also be evaluated at the discretion of the Safety Review Committee. The RP2D of the combination may be evaluated in ibrutinib-naïve and high-risk CLL patients in the dose expansion phase to continue to evalute safety and efficacy.
Drug: CC-122 · Drug: Ibrutinib
Ascending fixed dose cohorts evaluated in a 3 + 3 dose-finding design will be used to determine the safety and tolerability of the combination of CC-122 and obinutuzumab to determine the , MTD, and Recommended Phase 2 Dose (RP2D). An intrasubject dose escalation cohort may also be evaluated at the discretion of the Safety Review Committee.. The RP2D of the combination may be evaluated in CLL patients who failed a B-cell receptor pathway inhibitor or venetoclax in the dose expansion phase to continue to evalute safety and efficacy.
Drug: CC-122 · Drug: Obinutuzumab
CC-122 will be administered daily starting at Cycle 1 Day 1 in 28-day cycles until disease progression, unacceptable toxicity, or discontinuation for any other reason.
Obinutuzumab will be administered as an intravenous (IV) infusion at a dose of 100 mg on Cycle 1 Day 1 and 900 mg on Cycle 1 Day 2 and 1000 mg on Cycle 1 Days 8 and 15. The dose of obinutuzumab on Days 1 and 2 of Cycle 1 may be adjusted per institutional practice as long as the combined dose equals 1000 mg. Obinutuzumab will be administered at a dose of 1000 mg on Day 1 of Cycles 2 through 6.
Number of Participants and Severity of AEs
Number and severity of adverse events using the NCI CTCAE criteria (version 4.03), including DLTs
Time frame: Approximately 60 Months
Determination of Non Tolerated Dose (NTD) and Maximum Tolerated Dose (MTD)
Determination of the NTD and MTD in CC-122 in combination with ibrutinib and CC-122 in combination with obinutuzumab
Time frame: 52 weeks
CC-122 Plasma Concentrations When Administered Alone or in Combination With Ibrutinib or Obinutuzumab
CC-122 plasma concentrations when administered alone or in combination with ibrutinib or obinutuzumab
Time frame: Approximately 60 Months
Ibrutinib Plasma Concentrations When Administered in Combination With CC-122
Geometric mean concentration of Ibrutinib when administered alone or in combination with CC-122
Time frame: Approximately 60 Months
Best Overall Response (BOR)
Best overall response \[CR, CRi, nPR, PR, PRL (applicable to Arm B only)\] CR = Complete Response CRi = Complete response with incomplete marrow recovery nPR = nodular Partial Response PR = Partial response PRL= Partial response with lymphocytosis
Time frame: Approximately 60 Months
Minimal Residual Disease Response Rate
Minimal Residual Disease Response Rate in bone marrow and peripheral blood
Time frame: Approximately 60 Months
Duration of Response
measured from the time the response is first met until the first date that progressive disease or death is documented. Participants who neither progress nor die or who withdrew consent or are lost to follow-up prior to documentation of progression will be censored at the date of their last adequate response assessment.
Time frame: Approximately 60 Months
Progression Free Survival (PFS)
will be calculated as the time from irst IP (i.e. any study drug) dose date to the first documented progression or death due to any cause during or after the treatment period, whichever occurs first.
Time frame: Approximately 60 Months
Cmax When Administered Alone or in Combination With Ibrutinib
Peak (maximum) drug plasma concentration
Time frame: Approximately 60 Months
Tmax of CC-122 When Administered Alone or in Combination With Ibrutinib
Time to peak (maximum) drug concentration
Time frame: Approximately 60 Months
AUC of CC-122 When Administered Alone or in Combination With Ibrutinib
Area under the concentration -time curve calculated to the last observable concentration at time t
Time frame: Approximately 60 Months
| Milestone | Arm A | Arm B | Arm C |
|---|---|---|---|
| Started | 14 | 16 | 16 |
| Dose escalation 1 | 3 | 0 | 0 |
| Dose escalation 2 | 9 | 5 | 3 |
| Dose escalation 3 | 2 | 3 | 3 |
| Dose escalation 4 | 0 | 3 | 3 |
| Dose escalation 5 | 0 | 5 | 5 |
| Completed | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Not completed | 14 | 16 | 16 |
| Withdrew: Progression of disease | 5 | 1 | 6 |
| Withdrew: Adverse event | 3 | 0 | 2 |
| Withdrew: Death | 1 | 0 | 0 |
| Withdrew: Lack of efficacy | 0 | 0 | 1 |
| Withdrew: Withdrawal by participant | 1 | 2 | 0 |
| Withdrew: Physician decision | 1 | 2 | 1 |
| Withdrew: Transition to other treatment | 2 | 0 | 1 |
| Withdrew: Other reasons | 1 | 11 | 5 |
Number and severity of adverse events using the NCI CTCAE criteria (version 4.03), including DLTs
| Number | Arm A | Arm B | Arm C |
|---|---|---|---|
| Grade 3 AE | 8 | 8 | 9 |
| Grade 4 AE | 3 | 5 | 7 |
| DLTs | 0 | 0 | 0 |
Determination of the NTD and MTD in CC-122 in combination with ibrutinib and CC-122 in combination with obinutuzumab
| mg | Arm A | Arm B | Arm C |
|---|---|---|---|
| NTD | — | NA (NA to NA) | NA (NA to NA) |
| MTD | — | NA (NA to NA) | NA (NA to NA) |
CC-122 plasma concentrations when administered alone or in combination with ibrutinib or obinutuzumab
| Percentage | Arm A | Arm B | Arm C |
|---|---|---|---|
| CC-122 Plasma Concentrations When Administered Alone or in Combination With Ibrutinib or Obinutuzumab | NA ± NA | NA ± NA | NA ± NA |
Geometric mean concentration of Ibrutinib when administered alone or in combination with CC-122
| Percentage | Arm A | Arm B | Arm C |
|---|---|---|---|
| Ibrutinib Plasma Concentrations When Administered in Combination With CC-122 | NA ± NA | NA ± NA | NA ± NA |
Best overall response \[CR, CRi, nPR, PR, PRL (applicable to Arm B only)\] CR = Complete Response CRi = Complete response with incomplete marrow recovery nPR = nodular Partial Response PR = Partial response PRL= Partial response with lymphocytosis
| Percentage | Arm A | Arm B | Arm C |
|---|---|---|---|
| Best Overall Response (BOR) | 7.1 (0.2 to 33.9) | 87.5 (61.7 to 98.4) | 62.5 (35.4 to 84.8) |
Minimal Residual Disease Response Rate in bone marrow and peripheral blood
| Percentage | Arm A | Arm B | Arm C |
|---|---|---|---|
| Bone Marrow | 0 (0.0 to 23.2) | 0 (0.0 to 20.6) | 0 (0.0 to 20.6) |
| Peripheral Blood | 0 (0.0 to 23.2) | 0 (0.0 to 20.6) | 18.8 (4.0 to 45.6) |
measured from the time the response is first met until the first date that progressive disease or death is documented. Participants who neither progress nor die or who withdrew consent or are lost to follow-up prior to documentation of progression will be censored at the date of their last adequate response assessment.
| Days | Arm A | Arm B | Arm C |
|---|---|---|---|
| Duration of Response | 113 (NA to NA) | NA (NA to NA) | 602.0 (NA to NA) |
will be calculated as the time from irst IP (i.e. any study drug) dose date to the first documented progression or death due to any cause during or after the treatment period, whichever occurs first.
| Months | Arm A | Arm B | Arm C |
|---|---|---|---|
| Progression Free Survival (PFS) | 6.47 (0.43 to 12.29) | NA (NA to NA) | 22.57 (5.55 to NA) |
Peak (maximum) drug plasma concentration
| mg/mL | Arm A | Arm B | Arm C |
|---|---|---|---|
| Cmax When Administered Alone or in Combination With Ibrutinib | NA (NA to NA) | — | — |
Time to peak (maximum) drug concentration
| hours | Arm A | Arm B | Arm C |
|---|---|---|---|
| Tmax of CC-122 When Administered Alone or in Combination With Ibrutinib | NA (NA to NA) | — | — |
Area under the concentration -time curve calculated to the last observable concentration at time t
| Percentage | Arm A | Arm B | Arm C |
|---|---|---|---|
| AUC of CC-122 When Administered Alone or in Combination With Ibrutinib | NA (NA to NA) | — | — |
Collected over Approximately 60 Months. Non-serious events are listed at a 5% frequency threshold.
| Group | Deaths | Serious | Other |
|---|---|---|---|
| A (CC-122) | 2/14 (14.3%) | 7/14 (50%) | 14/14 (100%) |
| B (CC-122+Ibrutinib) | 0/16 (0%) | 7/16 (43.8%) | 16/16 (100%) |
| C (CC-122+Obinutuzumab) | 1/16 (6.3%) | 4/16 (25%) | 16/16 (100%) |
| Event | A (CC-122) | B (CC-122+Ibrutinib) | C (CC-122+Obinutuzumab) |
|---|---|---|---|
| PneumoniaInfections and infestations | 3/14 | 2/16 | 0/16 |
| Haemolytic anaemiaBlood and lymphatic system disorders | 2/14 | 0/16 | 0/16 |
| PyrexiaGeneral disorders | 1/14 | 0/16 | 0/16 |
| BacteraemiaInfections and infestations | 1/14 | 0/16 | 0/16 |
| Candida sepsisInfections and infestations | 1/14 | 0/16 | 0/16 |
| Enterococcal sepsisInfections and infestations | 1/14 | 0/16 | 0/16 |
| Troponin increasedInvestigations | 1/14 | 0/16 | 0/16 |
| Lung adenocarcinomaNeoplasms benign, malignant and unspecified (incl cysts and polyps) | 1/14 | 0/16 | 0/16 |
| Febrile neutropeniaBlood and lymphatic system disorders | 0/14 | 1/16 | 1/16 |
| DiarrhoeaGastrointestinal disorders | 0/14 | 1/16 | 0/16 |
| Event | A (CC-122) | B (CC-122+Ibrutinib) | C (CC-122+Obinutuzumab) |
|---|---|---|---|
| NeutropeniaBlood and lymphatic system disorders | 5/14 | 6/16 | 13/16 |
| AnaemiaBlood and lymphatic system disorders | 8/14 | 0/16 | 4/16 |
| Oropharyngeal painRespiratory, thoracic and mediastinal disorders | 0/14 | 8/16 | 4/16 |
| LymphopeniaBlood and lymphatic system disorders | 0/14 | 1/16 | 7/16 |
| DiarrhoeaGastrointestinal disorders | 3/14 | 7/16 | 4/16 |
| NauseaGastrointestinal disorders | 1/14 | 7/16 | 5/16 |
| StomatitisGastrointestinal disorders | 0/14 | 7/16 | 1/16 |
| Oedema peripheralGeneral disorders | 3/14 | 7/16 | 3/16 |
| Infusion related reactionInjury, poisoning and procedural complications | 0/14 | 0/16 | 7/16 |
| ThrombocytopeniaBlood and lymphatic system disorders | 2/14 | 2/16 | 6/16 |
| Age, Continuous(Years) | Arm A | Arm B | Arm C | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Mean | 67.4 ± 9.41 | 63.4 ± 9.98 | 61.5 ± 6.11 | 64.0 ± 8.78 |
| Sex: Female, Male(Participants) | Arm A | Arm B | Arm C | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Female | 4 | 8 | 2 | 14 |
| Male | 10 | 8 | 14 | 32 |
| Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)(Participants) | Arm A | Arm B | Arm C | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Hispanic or Latino | 0 | 1 | 0 | 1 |
| Not Hispanic or Latino | 14 | 15 | 16 | 45 |
| Unknown or Not Reported | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Race (NIH/OMB)(Participants) | Arm A | Arm B | Arm C | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| American Indian or Alaska Native | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Asian | 1 | 0 | 0 | 1 |
| Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Black or African American | 1 | 0 | 1 | 2 |
| White | 12 | 16 | 14 | 42 |
| More than one race | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Unknown or Not Reported | 0 | 0 | 1 | 1 |
Documents are hosted by the registry — open the source record to download them.
This study is completed, as verified in Aug 2021. You cannot join it, but the record below documents what was studied.
Get an email when the registry record changes — status, dates, results — or when someone posts here.
Sign in to followQuestions and observations about this study, from anyone following it. Not medical advice, and not a channel to the study team — their contact details are on the registry record.
Sign in to join the discussion. Reading takes no account; posting does. You choose a display name, and a pseudonym is the default.
Nothing here yet. If you are running this trial, taking part in it, or weighing whether to, this is the place to say so.
Celgene