A Phase 1 interventional study of Pembrolizumab Pre-Resection and Surgical Resection in Renal Cell Cancer, sponsored by Merck Sharp & Dohme LLC. Terminated. Open to participants aged 18 Years and older. Per ClinicalTrials.gov, last updated 2020-07-16.
Sponsored by Merck Sharp & Dohme LLC · Phase 1, Interventional, and Treatment
This study will examine the effect of treatment with the neoadjuvant antibody pembrolizumab (MK-3475) on tumors of participants with renal cell cancer (RCC). The primary hypotheses are that pembrolizumab is well tolerated in participants undergoing RCC tumor resection; and that pembrolizumab will stimulate a 2-fold or greater increase in intratumoral lymphocytic infiltration in at least 30% of participants with RCC.
1,965 studies on the registry are indexed under Carcinoma, Renal Cell; 378 are open to participants now.
This study's enrollment of 10 is below the median of 42 across 1,480 interventional studies indexed under Carcinoma, Renal Cell.
Browse Carcinoma, Renal Cell studies →Merck Sharp & Dohme LLC is the lead sponsor of 2,114 studies on the registry; 133 are open to participants now.
Of its 489 completed or terminated interventional studies of FDA-regulated products, 362 (74%) have results posted.
Counted across the registry records on this site, refreshed daily.
Exclusion Criteria:
Participants received pembrolizumab, 200 mg intravenously (IV) once every 3-week cycle for up to 2 cycles followed by standard of care (SOC) renal cell carcinoma (RCC) surgical resection; and then received post-resection pembrolizumab 200 mg IV once every 3 week cycle for up to approximately 1 year (17 cycles). Post-resection pembrolizumab was only administered to participants who enrolled after Protocol Amendment 04.
Drug: Pembrolizumab Pre-Resection · Procedure: Surgical Resection · Drug: Pembrolizumab Post-Resection
Participants received SOC renal cell carcinoma (RCC) surgical resection; and then may have received post-resection pembrolizumab 200 mg IV once every 3 week cycle for up to approximately 1 year (17 cycles). Post-resection pembrolizumab was only administered to participants who enrolled under Protocol Amendment 04.
Procedure: Surgical Resection · Drug: Pembrolizumab Post-Resection
200 mg administered by IV, once every 3-week cycle for a maximum of 2 cycles
Also known as: KEYTRUDA®, MK-3475
Standard of care surgical resection of RCC tumor
200 mg administered by IV, once every 3-week cycle for a maximum of 17 cycles
Also known as: KEYTRUDA®, MK-3475
Number of Participants With an Adverse Event (AE) During the Neoadjuvant Pembrolizumab Regimen
An AE was defined as any untoward medical occurrence in a participant administered study treatment and which did not necessarily have to have a causal relationship with this treatment. The number of participants who experienced an AE during their regimen of neoadjuvant pembrolizumab was presented.
Time frame: Up to Week 16
Number of Participants Who Discontinued Treatment Due to an Adverse Event
An AE was defined as any untoward medical occurrence in a participant administered study treatment and which did not necessarily have to have a causal relationship with this treatment. The number of participants who discontinued study drug due to an adverse event is presented.
Time frame: Up to 56 weeks
Number of Participants Treated With Neoadjuvant Pembrolizumab With a 2-fold or Greater Change From Baseline in Intratumoral CD3+ Lymphocytic Infiltration
The number of participants who received neoadjuvant pembrolizumab and showed a 2-fold or greater change from baseline in intratumoral CD3+ lymphocytic infiltration is presented. Evaluations were based on pathologist score.
Time frame: Baseline and Week 7
Number of Participants Treated With Neoadjuvant Pembrolizumab With a 2-fold or Greater Change From Baseline in Intratumoral CD8+ Lymphocytic Infiltration
The number of participants who received neoadjuvant pembrolizumab and showed a 2-fold or greater change from baseline in intratumoral CD8+ lymphocytic infiltration is presented. Evaluations were based on pathologist score.
Time frame: Baseline and Week 7
Number of Participants Treated With Neoadjuvant Pembrolizumab With a 2-fold or Greater Change From Baseline in Intratumoral FoxP3+ Lymphocytic Infiltration
The number of participants who received neoadjuvant pembrolizumab and showed a 2-fold or greater change from baseline in intratumoral FoxP3+ (forkhead box protein P3 positive) lymphocytic infiltration is presented. Evaluations were based on pathologist score.
Time frame: Baseline and Week 7
Change From Baseline in Levels of Gene Expression of Immune Modulatory Receptors in Tumors of Participants Treated With Neoadjuvant Pembrolizumab
The change from baseline in levels of gene expression of immune modulatory receptors in tumors of participants treated with neoadjuvant pembrolizumab was presented.
Time frame: Baseline and Week 7
Change From Baseline in Number of T Cells in Tumors of Participants Treated With Neoadjuvant Pembrolizumab
The change from baseline in number of T cells in tumors of participants treated with neoadjuvant pembrolizumab was presented.
Time frame: Baseline and Week 7
Change From Baseline in Number of Activated T Cells in Peripheral Blood of Participants Treated With Neoadjuvant Pembrolizumab
The change from baseline in the number of activated T cells in peripheral blood of participants treated with neoadjuvant pembrolizumab was presented.
Time frame: Baseline and Week 7
Change From Baseline in Levels of Programmed Cell Death 1 Ligand 1 (PD-L1) Protein in Tumors of Participants Treated With Neoadjuvant Pembrolizumab
The change from baseline in levels of programmed cell death 1 ligand 1 (PD-L1) protein in tumors of participants treated with neoadjuvant pembrolizumab in participants who received neoadjuvant pembrolizumab was presented.
Time frame: Baseline and Week 7
Change From Baseline in Levels of Programmed Cell Death 1 Ligand 2 (PD-L2) Protein in Tumors of Participants Treated With Neoadjuvant Pembrolizumab
The change from baseline in levels of programmed cell death 1 ligand 2 (PD-L2) protein in tumors of participants treated with neoadjuvant pembrolizumab in participants who received neoadjuvant pembrolizumab was presented.
Time frame: Baseline and Week 7
| Milestone | Neoadjuvant Pembrolizumab + RCC Resection | RCC Resection |
|---|---|---|
| Started | 6 | 4 |
| Received neoadjuvant pembrolizumab | 4 | 0 |
| Underwent rcc | 4 | 3 |
| Received post-rcc pembrolizumab | 1 | 1 |
| Completed | 4 | 3 |
| Not completed | 2 | 1 |
| Withdrew: Tumor not of the required cell histology | 1 | 0 |
| Withdrew: Withdrawal by subject | 1 | 0 |
| Withdrew: Disease progression prior to rcc surgery | 0 | 1 |
An AE was defined as any untoward medical occurrence in a participant administered study treatment and which did not necessarily have to have a causal relationship with this treatment. The number of participants who experienced an AE during their regimen of neoadjuvant pembrolizumab was presented.
| Participants | Neoadjuvant Pembrolizumab + RCC Resection |
|---|---|
| Number of Participants With an Adverse Event (AE) During the Neoadjuvant Pembrolizumab Regimen | 4 |
An AE was defined as any untoward medical occurrence in a participant administered study treatment and which did not necessarily have to have a causal relationship with this treatment. The number of participants who discontinued study drug due to an adverse event is presented.
| Participants | Neoadjuvant Pembrolizumab + RCC Resection | RCC Resection |
|---|---|---|
| During neoadjuvant pembrolizumab | 0 | 0 |
| During post-RCC resection pembrolizumab | 1 | 0 |
The number of participants who received neoadjuvant pembrolizumab and showed a 2-fold or greater change from baseline in intratumoral CD3+ lymphocytic infiltration is presented. Evaluations were based on pathologist score.
| Participants | Neoadjuvant Pembrolizumab + RCC Resection |
|---|---|
| Number of Participants Treated With Neoadjuvant Pembrolizumab With a 2-fold or Greater Change From Baseline in Intratumoral CD3+ Lymphocytic Infiltration | 1 |
The change from baseline in levels of gene expression of immune modulatory receptors in tumors of participants treated with neoadjuvant pembrolizumab was presented.
No measurements were reported for this outcome.
The change from baseline in number of T cells in tumors of participants treated with neoadjuvant pembrolizumab was presented.
No measurements were reported for this outcome.
The change from baseline in the number of activated T cells in peripheral blood of participants treated with neoadjuvant pembrolizumab was presented.
No measurements were reported for this outcome.
The change from baseline in levels of programmed cell death 1 ligand 1 (PD-L1) protein in tumors of participants treated with neoadjuvant pembrolizumab in participants who received neoadjuvant pembrolizumab was presented.
No measurements were reported for this outcome.
The change from baseline in levels of programmed cell death 1 ligand 2 (PD-L2) protein in tumors of participants treated with neoadjuvant pembrolizumab in participants who received neoadjuvant pembrolizumab was presented.
No measurements were reported for this outcome.
The number of participants who received neoadjuvant pembrolizumab and showed a 2-fold or greater change from baseline in intratumoral CD8+ lymphocytic infiltration is presented. Evaluations were based on pathologist score.
| Participants | Neoadjuvant Pembrolizumab + RCC Resection |
|---|---|
| Number of Participants Treated With Neoadjuvant Pembrolizumab With a 2-fold or Greater Change From Baseline in Intratumoral CD8+ Lymphocytic Infiltration | 1 |
The number of participants who received neoadjuvant pembrolizumab and showed a 2-fold or greater change from baseline in intratumoral FoxP3+ (forkhead box protein P3 positive) lymphocytic infiltration is presented. Evaluations were based on pathologist score.
| Participants | Neoadjuvant Pembrolizumab + RCC Resection |
|---|---|
| Number of Participants Treated With Neoadjuvant Pembrolizumab With a 2-fold or Greater Change From Baseline in Intratumoral FoxP3+ Lymphocytic Infiltration | 0 |
Collected over Up to 77 weeks. Non-serious events are listed at a 0% frequency threshold.
| Group | Deaths | Serious | Other |
|---|---|---|---|
| Neoadjuvant Pembrolizumab + RCC Resection | 0/6 (0%) | 1/4 (25%) | 4/4 (100%) |
| Neoadjuvant Pembrolizumab+Resection+Post-Surgery Pembrolizumab | 0/1 (0%) | 1/1 (100%) | 1/1 (100%) |
| SOC RCC Resection | 1/4 (25%) | 0/3 (0%) | 0/3 (0%) |
| RCC Resection + Post-Resection Pembrolizumab | 0/1 (0%) | 0/1 (0%) | 1/1 (100%) |
| Event | Neoadjuvant Pembrolizumab + RCC Resection | Neoadjuvant Pembrolizumab+Resection+Post-Surgery Pembrolizumab | SOC RCC Resection | RCC Resection + Post-Resection Pembrolizumab |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Metabolism and nutrition disordersMetabolism and nutrition disorders | 0/4 | 1/1 | 0/3 | 0/1 |
| Infections and infestationsInfections and infestations | 1/4 | 0/1 | 0/3 | 0/1 |
| Event | Neoadjuvant Pembrolizumab + RCC Resection | Neoadjuvant Pembrolizumab+Resection+Post-Surgery Pembrolizumab | SOC RCC Resection | RCC Resection + Post-Resection Pembrolizumab |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| General disorders and administration site conditionsGeneral disorders | 0/4 | 1/1 | 0/3 | 0/1 |
| General disorders and administration site conditionsGeneral disorders | 0/4 | 0/1 | 0/3 | 1/1 |
| InvestigationsInvestigations | 0/4 | 0/1 | 0/3 | 1/1 |
| Metabolism and nutrition disordersMetabolism and nutrition disorders | 0/4 | 1/1 | 0/3 | 0/1 |
| Musculoskeletal and connective tissue disordersMusculoskeletal and connective tissue disorders | 0/4 | 0/1 | 0/3 | 1/1 |
| Skin and subcutaneous tissue disordersSkin and subcutaneous tissue disorders | 0/4 | 1/1 | 0/3 | 0/1 |
| Skin and subcutaneous tissue disordersSkin and subcutaneous tissue disorders | 1/4 | 1/1 | 0/3 | 1/1 |
| Eye disordersEye disorders | 1/4 | 0/1 | 0/3 | 0/1 |
| General disorders and administration site conditionsGeneral disorders | 1/4 | 0/1 | 0/3 | 0/1 |
| General disorders and administration site conditionsGeneral disorders | 1/4 | 0/1 | 0/3 | 0/1 |
| Age, Continuous(Years) | Neoadjuvant Pembrolizumab + RCC Resection | RCC Resection | Total |
|---|---|---|---|
| Mean | 66.5 ± 5.2 | 55.3 ± 9.1 | 62.0 ± 8.8 |
| Sex: Female, Male(Participants) | Neoadjuvant Pembrolizumab + RCC Resection | RCC Resection | Total |
|---|---|---|---|
| Female | 1 | 2 | 3 |
| Male | 5 | 2 | 7 |
| Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)(Participants) | Neoadjuvant Pembrolizumab + RCC Resection | RCC Resection | Total |
|---|---|---|---|
| Hispanic or Latino | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Not Hispanic or Latino | 6 | 4 | 10 |
| Unknown or Not Reported | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Race (NIH/OMB)(Participants) | Neoadjuvant Pembrolizumab + RCC Resection | RCC Resection | Total |
|---|---|---|---|
| American Indian or Alaska Native | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Asian | 1 | 2 | 3 |
| Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Black or African American | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| White | 5 | 2 | 7 |
| More than one race | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Unknown or Not Reported | 0 | 0 | 0 |
No study locations are listed for this record.
Documents are hosted by the registry — open the source record to download them.
Plan to share: Yes — http://engagezone.msd.com/doc/ProcedureAccessClinicalTrialData.pdf
This study is terminated, as verified in Jun 2020. You cannot join it, but the record below documents what was studied.
Get an email when the registry record changes — status, dates, results — or when someone posts here.
Sign in to followQuestions and observations about this study, from anyone following it. Not medical advice, and not a channel to the study team — their contact details are on the registry record.
Sign in to join the discussion. Reading takes no account; posting does. You choose a display name, and a pseudonym is the default.
Nothing here yet. If you are running this trial, taking part in it, or weighing whether to, this is the place to say so.
Merck Sharp & Dohme LLC