A Phase 3 interventional study of Duvelisib and Ofatumumab in Chronic Lymphocytic Leukemia and Small Lymphocytic Lymphoma, sponsored by SecuraBio. Completed at 92 sites in 11 countries. Open to participants aged 18 Years and older. Per ClinicalTrials.gov, last updated 2023-09-21.
Sponsored by SecuraBio · Phase 3, Interventional, and Treatment
A Phase 3 clinical trial to examine the efficacy of duvelisib monotherapy versus ofatumumab monotherapy in subjects with relapsed or refractory Chronic Lymphocytic Leukemia (CLL) or Small Lymphocytic Lymphoma (SLL).
This is an open-label, two- arm, randomized phase 3, superiority trial designed to evaluate the efficacy and safety of duvelisib compared to ofatumumab administered to patients who have been diagnosed with CLL/SLL whose disease is relapsed or refractory.
Approximately 150 subjects will receive a starting dose of 25 mg duvelisib BID initially over the course of 21-day treatment cycle followed by 28-day treatment cycles for up to 18 cycles or until disease progression or unacceptable toxicity (whichever comes first). After 18 complete cycles of treatment, subjects may receive additional cycles of duvelisib until disease progression or unacceptable toxicity if they, in the judgment of the Investigator, may derive benefit from continued treatment, and if the subject meets the criteria for additional treatment at Cycle 19 Day 1.
Approximately 150 subjects will receive a starting dose of 300 mg ofatumumab on Day 1 followed by seven weekly doses of 2000 mg. Thereafter, subjects will receive 2000 mg ofatumumab once every month for four months. Administration of ofatumumab will not exceed the 12 doses (within 7 cycles).
Must meet the following laboratory parameters:
Exclusion Criteria:
Duvelisib is administered orally and supplied as 5 mg and 25 mg formulated capsules.
Drug: Duvelisib
Ofatumumab is administered as an intravenous (IV) infusion and is supplied in single-use vials at two strengths, 100 mg/5 mL and 1000 mg/50 mL.
Drug: Ofatumumab
PI3K Inhibitor
Also known as: Copiktra, IPI-145, PI3K Inhibitor
monoclonal antibody
Also known as: Arzerra
Progression-free Survival (PFS)
The primary efficacy endpoint for the study was PFS, defined as time from randomization to the first documentation of PD as determined by blinded independent review or death due to any cause.
Time frame: From date of randomization until the date of first documented progression or date of death from any cause, whichever came first, assessed up to 3 years
Overall Response Rate (ORR)
ORR is a key secondary efficacy endpoint with overall response defined as best response of CR, CRi, PR, or PRwL, according to the modified IWCLL/IWG Response Criteria, with modification for treatment-related lymphocytosis as defined in the protocol.
Time frame: Until disease progression or unacceptable toxicity assessed up to 6 years
Number of Subjects With Hematologic Improvements
Subjects with hematologic improvement included those subjects with abnormally high values for neutrophil count, hemoglobin, or platelet count at Baseline determined to have consistently met the criteria of an improvement for those parameters for a period of at least 60 days during which the subject did not have a transfusion or exogenous cytokines.
Time frame: 3 years
Overall Survival
A stratified Cox regression analysis was used to test for any treatment effect.
Time frame: Every 6 months for up to 3 years after first dose
Lymph Node Response Rate
Lymph node response defined as greater than or equal to 50% decrease in the SPD of target lymph nodes
Time frame: 3 years
Duration of Response (DOR)
Duration of response is defined only for subjects demonstrating a response (eg, CR, CRi, PR, PRwL), with the response and progression statuses both determined by the blinded, central independent review. The analysis will be descriptive for each treatment group only.
Time frame: Time from the first documentation of response to first documentation of progressive disease or death due to any cause
Treatment-Emergent Adverse Events (TEAEs) and Changes in Safety Laboratory Values
An analysis of TEAEs with an onset within the first 24 weeks of treatment was performed to examine and compare the incidence of events across an equal period for each treatment arm.Twenty-four weeks was anticipated to be the median exposure to ofatumumab.
Time frame: From 04 Feb 2014 till 19 June 2018
Number of Subjects With Samples Available for Duvelisib Pharmacokinetics (PK)
Number of subjects with samples available for duvelisib Pharmacokinetics (PK)
Time frame: Cycle 2, Cycle 3, and Cycle 7
| Milestone | Duvelisib | Ofatumumab |
|---|---|---|
| Started | 160 | 159 |
| Number of subjects treated | 158 | 155 |
| Completed | 34 | 0 |
| Not completed | 126 | 159 |
| Withdrew: Adverse event | 55 | 6 |
| Withdrew: Withdrawal by subject | 13 | 7 |
| Withdrew: Death | 12 | 3 |
| Withdrew: Physician decision | 3 | 4 |
| Withdrew: Protocol violation | 1 | 0 |
| Withdrew: Other is reason listed by pi | 4 | 1 |
| Withdrew: Never dosed | 2 | 4 |
| Withdrew: Disease progression | 35 | 31 |
| Withdrew: Completed treatment cycles per protocol | 1 | 103 |
The primary efficacy endpoint for the study was PFS, defined as time from randomization to the first documentation of PD as determined by blinded independent review or death due to any cause.
| Months | Duvelisib | Ofatumumab |
|---|---|---|
| Progression-free Survival (PFS) | 13.3 (12.1 to 16.8) | 9.9 (9.2 to 11.3) |
ORR is a key secondary efficacy endpoint with overall response defined as best response of CR, CRi, PR, or PRwL, according to the modified IWCLL/IWG Response Criteria, with modification for treatment-related lymphocytosis as defined in the protocol.
| Participants | Duvelisib | Ofatumumab |
|---|---|---|
| Overall Response Rate (ORR) | 118 | 72 |
Subjects with hematologic improvement included those subjects with abnormally high values for neutrophil count, hemoglobin, or platelet count at Baseline determined to have consistently met the criteria of an improvement for those parameters for a period of at least 60 days during which the subject did not have a transfusion or exogenous cytokines.
| Participants | Duvelisib | Ofatumumab |
|---|---|---|
| Number of Subjects With Hematologic Improvements | 56 | 51 |
A stratified Cox regression analysis was used to test for any treatment effect.
| Months | Duvelisib | Ofatumumab |
|---|---|---|
| Overall Survival | 54.94 (43.00 to 67.99) | 63.25 (44.15 to NA) |
Lymph node response defined as greater than or equal to 50% decrease in the SPD of target lymph nodes
| Participants | Duvelisib | Ofatumumab |
|---|---|---|
| Lymph Node Response Rate | 136 | 25 |
Duration of response is defined only for subjects demonstrating a response (eg, CR, CRi, PR, PRwL), with the response and progression statuses both determined by the blinded, central independent review. The analysis will be descriptive for each treatment group only.
| Months | Duvelisib | Ofatumumab |
|---|---|---|
| Duration of Response (DOR) | 11.1 (9.2 to 18.3) | 9.3 (7.7 to 11.0) |
An analysis of TEAEs with an onset within the first 24 weeks of treatment was performed to examine and compare the incidence of events across an equal period for each treatment arm.Twenty-four weeks was anticipated to be the median exposure to ofatumumab.
| Participants | Duvelisib | Ofatumumab |
|---|---|---|
| Treatment-Emergent Adverse Events (TEAEs) and Changes in Safety Laboratory Values | 150 | 143 |
Number of subjects with samples available for duvelisib Pharmacokinetics (PK)
| participants | Duvelisib |
|---|---|
| Number of Subjects With Samples Available for Duvelisib Pharmacokinetics (PK) | 158 |
Collected over 39 months. Non-serious events are listed at a 5% frequency threshold.
| Group | Deaths | Serious | Other |
|---|---|---|---|
| Duvelisib | 78/158 (49.4%) | 124/158 (78.5%) | 149/158 (94.3%) |
| Ofatumumab | 70/155 (45.2%) | 50/155 (32.3%) | 130/155 (83.9%) |
| Event | Duvelisib | Ofatumumab |
|---|---|---|
| PneumoniaInfections and infestations | 25/158 | 5/155 |
| ColitisGastrointestinal disorders | 20/158 | 1/155 |
| DiarrhoeaGastrointestinal disorders | 18/158 | 1/155 |
| Febrile neutropeniaBlood and lymphatic system disorders | 10/158 | 3/155 |
| PyrexiaGeneral disorders | 7/158 | 1/155 |
| PneumonitisRespiratory, thoracic and mediastinal disorders | 6/158 | 0/155 |
| BronchitisInfections and infestations | 5/158 | 1/155 |
| General physical health deteriorationGeneral disorders | 4/158 | 0/155 |
| GastroenteritisInfections and infestations | 4/158 | 1/155 |
| Renal failure acuteRenal and urinary disorders | 4/158 | 2/155 |
| Event | Duvelisib | Ofatumumab |
|---|---|---|
| DiarrhoeaGastrointestinal disorders | 79/158 | 19/155 |
| NeutropeniaBlood and lymphatic system disorders | 53/158 | 32/155 |
| PyrexiaGeneral disorders | 46/158 | 15/155 |
| AnaemiaBlood and lymphatic system disorders | 39/158 | 16/155 |
| NauseaGastrointestinal disorders | 38/158 | 17/155 |
| CoughRespiratory, thoracic and mediastinal disorders | 36/158 | 22/155 |
| Infusion related reactionInjury, poisoning and procedural complications | 2/158 | 28/155 |
| ThrombocytopeniaBlood and lymphatic system disorders | 27/158 | 9/155 |
| ConstipationGastrointestinal disorders | 27/158 | 12/155 |
| FatigueGeneral disorders | 25/158 | 18/155 |
| Age, Categorical(Participants) | Duvelisib | Ofatumumab | Total |
|---|---|---|---|
| <=18 years | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Between 18 and 65 years | 48 | 54 | 102 |
| >=65 years | 112 | 105 | 217 |
| Sex: Female, Male(Participants) | Duvelisib | Ofatumumab | Total |
|---|---|---|---|
| Female | 64 | 64 | 128 |
| Male | 96 | 95 | 191 |
| Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)(Participants) | Duvelisib | Ofatumumab | Total |
|---|---|---|---|
| Hispanic or Latino | 8 | 7 | 15 |
| Not Hispanic or Latino | 130 | 133 | 263 |
| Unknown or Not Reported | 22 | 19 | 41 |
| Race (NIH/OMB)(Participants) | Duvelisib | Ofatumumab | Total |
|---|---|---|---|
| American Indian or Alaska Native | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Asian | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Black or African American | 1 | 1 | 2 |
| White | 150 | 142 | 292 |
| More than one race | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Unknown or Not Reported | 9 | 16 | 25 |
| Region of Enrollment(participants) | Duvelisib | Ofatumumab | Total |
|---|---|---|---|
| New Zealand | 6 | 6 | 12 |
| Austria | 3 | 8 | 11 |
| Belgium | 13 | 14 | 27 |
| Hungary | 35 | 30 | 65 |
| United States | 30 | 21 | 51 |
| Italy | 23 | 18 | 41 |
| United Kingdom | 7 | 10 | 17 |
| Australia | 9 | 12 | 21 |
| France | 12 | 18 | 30 |
| Germany | 1 | 3 | 4 |
| Spain | 21 | 19 | 40 |
Documents are hosted by the registry — open the source record to download them.
This study is completed, as verified in Sep 2023. You cannot join it, but the record below documents what was studied.
Get an email when the registry record changes — status, dates, results — or when someone posts here.
Sign in to followQuestions and observations about this study, from anyone following it. Not medical advice, and not a channel to the study team — their contact details are on the registry record.
Sign in to join the discussion. Reading takes no account; posting does. You choose a display name, and a pseudonym is the default.
Nothing here yet. If you are running this trial, taking part in it, or weighing whether to, this is the place to say so.
SecuraBio