CClinicalTrials.gg
CompletedNCT01835379Updated Jan 22, 2015Results posted

Study of Oasis Ultra in Diabetic Foot Ulcers

A Phase 4 interventional study of Oasis and Standard in Diabetic Foot Ulcer, sponsored by Healthpoint. Completed at 16 sites in United States. Open to participants aged 18 Years and older. Per ClinicalTrials.gov, last updated 2015-01-22.

Sponsored by Healthpoint · Phase 4, Interventional, and Treatment

Phase
Phase 4
Study type
Interventional
Enrollment
82
Allocation
Randomized
Ages
18 Years and older
Sex
All
01

Study summary

Many people with diabetes will develop a non-healing diabetic foot ulcer. Many ways are available to try to get a diabetic foot ulcer to heal, including application of Oasis Ultra. The hypothesis to be tested is that application of Oasis Ultra will cause more diabetic foot ulcers to heal than wounds treated with regular medical care. Subjects will have their diabetic foot wounds treated for up to 12 weeks with Oasis Ultra or regular medical care .

02

Conditions studied

  • Diabetic Foot Ulcer

Keywords

  • Diabetes
  • Diabetic Foot Ulcer
  • Diabetic Foot Wound
  • Non-healing foot wound
  • Oasis
  • Diabetic neuropathy
03

In context

Diabetic Foot

1,054 studies on the registry are indexed under Diabetic Foot; 222 are open to participants now.

This study's enrollment of 82 is above the median of 60 across 826 interventional studies indexed under Diabetic Foot.

Browse Diabetic Foot studies →

Lead sponsor

Healthpoint is the lead sponsor of 33 studies on the registry; none are open to participants now.

Counted across the registry records on this site, refreshed daily.

04

Who can participate

Ages eligible
18 Years and older
Sexes eligible
All
Accepts healthy volunteers
No

Inclusion criteria

  • Provide written informed consent, which will consist of reading, signing, and dating the informed consent document after the Investigator, sub-Investigator or other designated study staff member has explained the study procedures, risks, and contact information.
  • Subjects 18 years of age or older of either sex with a history of diabetes mellitus (Type 1 or 2) requiring medication (insulin and/or oral/injectable) to control blood glucose levels.
  • A non-healing, Wagner grade 1 or 2, neuropathic diabetic foot ulcer.
  • Willing and able to make all required study visits.
  • Able to follow instructions.
  • An ulcer present on any part of the plantar surface of the foot, which is 0.5 cm2 to 10 cm2 (inclusive), as measured at the Screening Visit prior to debridement, with a duration ≥ 6 weeks (documented in the patient's history or by patient report of onset) but not more than 12 months.
  • Separation of at least 5 cm (wound edge to wound edge) if ≥ 2 wounds are present.
  • Adequate arterial blood flow as evidenced by an ankle brachial index (ABI) of > 0.7 and ≤ 1.1. If the ABI is greater than 1.1, then a toe pressure of > 40 mmHg OR a transcutaneous oxygen pressure (TcPO2) ≥ 40 mmHg must be present. Either toe pressure or TcPO2 is also acceptable in lieu of ABI, but if both are obtained, each must meet its respective cutoff.

Alternatively, a Doppler waveform consistent with adequate flow to the region of the foot with the target ulcer (biphasic or triphasic waveforms) is acceptable (test result must be included in the source document).

  • Target ulcer is not infected based on clinical assessment.
  • Able to perform any required dressing changes at home or have a caregiver who can perform the dressing changes.
  • Willing to use an appropriate off-loading device to keep weight off of foot ulcers.
  • Blood counts and blood chemistry values as follows:

    • Alanine aminotransferase (ALT) ≤ 3x upper limit of normal
    • Aspartate aminotransferase (AST) ≤ 3x upper limit of normal
    • Serum albumin ≥ 2.0 g/dL •Pre-albumin levels of ≥ 10 mg/dL
    • Alkaline phosphatase ≤ 500 U/L •Serum total bilirubin ≤ 3.0 mg/dL
    • Serum BUN \< 75 mg/dL •Serum creatinine ≤ 4.5 mg/dL
    • HbA1c ≤ 12% •Hemoglobin (Hgb) > 8.0 g/dL
    • WBC > 2.0 x 109/L •Absolute neutrophil count > 1.0 x 109/L
    • Platelet count > 50 x 109/L

Exclusion criteria

Exclusion Criteria:

  • Contraindications or hypersensitivity to the use of the study device or its components (e.g., porcine sensitivity).
  • Participation in another investigational study within thirty (30) days of Visit 1 or planned participation overlapping with this study.
  • Subjects with evidence of gangrene on either lower limb.
  • Ulcers that require negative pressure or hyperbaric oxygen therapy.
  • The Medical Monitor may declare any subject ineligible for a valid medical reason.
  • Current treatment with disallowed medications or therapies. Subjects may not be enrolled into the study while using systemic antibiotics.
05

Study design

Phase
Phase 4
Primary purpose
Treatment
Allocation
Randomized
Intervention model
Parallel assignment
Masking
None (open label)
Enrollment
82 participants (actual)

Study arms

  • Experimental
    Oasis

    Oasis

    Device: Oasis

  • Other
    Standard

    Standard Care

    Other: Standard

Interventions

  • DeviceOasis

    Oasis Ultra will be applied once per week for up to 12 weeks.

  • OtherStandard

    Also known as: Standard Care

06

What researchers measure

Primary outcomes

  1. Percentage of Wounds Closed

    Time frame: At the end of 12 Weeks

Secondary outcomes

  1. Time to Wound Closure

    Kaplan-Meier (K-M) analysis was employed to estimate the median time in weeks to complete ulcer closure.

    Time frame: During the 12 Week treatment period

07

Results

Posted Jan 22, 2015

Participant flow

Participant flow — Overall Study
MilestoneOasisStandard
Started4141
Completed4141
Not completed00

Outcome measures

PrimaryPercentage of Wounds Closed
Time frame:
At the end of 12 Weeks
Reported as:
Number · percentage of wounds closed
Percentage of Wounds Closed
percentage of wounds closedOasisStandard
Percentage of Wounds Closed5432
SecondaryTime to Wound Closure

Kaplan-Meier (K-M) analysis was employed to estimate the median time in weeks to complete ulcer closure.

Time frame:
During the 12 Week treatment period
Reported as:
Median · weeks
Time to Wound Closure
weeksOasisStandard
Time to Wound Closure9 (1.0 to 12.0)11 (1.0 to 12.0)

Adverse events

Collected over Adverse event data was collected during the 12-week treatment period.. Non-serious events are listed at a 3% frequency threshold.

Adverse event summary by group
GroupDeathsSeriousOther
Oasis—10/41 (24.4%)0/41 (0%)
Standard—10/41 (24.4%)0/41 (0%)
Most frequent serious events
Showing 10 of 13
Most frequent serious events
EventOasisStandard
OsteomyelitisInfections and infestations2/415/41
Renal FailureRenal and urinary disorders2/410/41
Cardiac Failure CongestiveCardiac disorders2/410/41
CellulitisInfections and infestations0/412/41
PneumoniaInfections and infestations1/410/41
GangreneInfections and infestations1/410/41
InfectionInfections and infestations1/410/41
Deep vein thrombosisVascular disorders1/411/41
Pulmonary oedemaRespiratory, thoracic and mediastinal disorders1/410/41
AnaemiaBlood and lymphatic system disorders0/411/41

Baseline characteristics

Age, Continuous
Age, Continuous(years)OasisStandardTotal
Mean57.1 ± 10.956.6 ± 10.856.9 ± 10.8
Sex: Female, Male
Sex: Female, Male(Participants)OasisStandardTotal
Female91120
Male323062
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)
Ethnicity (NIH/OMB)(Participants)OasisStandardTotal
Hispanic or Latino101626
Not Hispanic or Latino312556
Unknown or Not Reported000
Race (NIH/OMB)
Race (NIH/OMB)(Participants)OasisStandardTotal
American Indian or Alaska Native000
Asian101
Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander000
Black or African American6612
White333366
More than one race000
Unknown or Not Reported123
Region of Enrollment
Region of Enrollment(participants)OasisStandardTotal
United States414182
Body Mass Index (BMI)
Body Mass Index (BMI)(kg/m2)OasisStandardTotal
Mean32.9 ± 8.933.6 ± 6.133.3 ± 7.6
08

Study locations

16 sites
  • Little Rock, Arkansas 72205, United States
  • Carlsbad, California 92009, United States
  • Fair Oaks, California 95628, United States
  • Fresno, California 93720, United States
  • San Diego, California 92103, United States
  • Evansville, Indiana 47713, United States
  • Madisonville, Kentucky 42431, United States
  • Shreveport, Louisiana 71101, United States
  • Saginaw, Michigan 48602, United States
  • Bayonne, New Jersey 07002, United States
  • Dallas, Texas 75224, United States
  • Dallas, Texas 75243, United States
  • Fort Worth, Texas 76104, United States
  • Houston, Texas 77036, United States
  • McAllen, Texas 78501, United States
  • Virginia Beach, Virginia 23464, United States
09

Updates

Tracking since Sep 25, 2026
No changes since tracking began. The registry record was last updated on Jan 22, 2015, before this site started recording changes on Sep 25, 2026. Its history is on ClinicalTrials.gov ↗
10

Registry details

Key details

Study ID
NCT01835379
Lead sponsor
Healthpoint
Responsible party
Sponsor
First posted
Apr 18, 2013
Start date
May 2013
Primary completion
Sep 2014
Completion
Sep 2014
Results posted
Jan 22, 2015
Last update
Jan 22, 2015

Study contacts

Herbert B Slade, MD
study chair · Healthpoint

Oversight

Data monitoring committee
No
View the source record on ClinicalTrials.gov ↗

Not currently enrolling

This study is completed, as verified in Jan 2015. You cannot join it, but the record below documents what was studied.

Follow this study

Get an email when the registry record changes — status, dates, results — or when someone posts here.

Sign in to follow

Discussion

Questions and observations about this study, from anyone following it. Not medical advice, and not a channel to the study team — their contact details are on the registry record.

Sign in to join the discussion. Reading takes no account; posting does. You choose a display name, and a pseudonym is the default.

Nothing here yet. If you are running this trial, taking part in it, or weighing whether to, this is the place to say so.

Start the discussion